Still getting back on track. Plans are underway for the visit to Louisiana and Texas in the fall. We have venues settled in Covington, Louisiana, Lubbock and Dallas. Mary tells me we need a host if we are going to get something together in Baton Rouge, Houston and San Antonio. If you live in any of those cities and would like to host a visit 0 or in any other Texas, Louisiana or New Mexico City, contact the scheduler, Mary, at I will spend a day or two visiting with Bishop Rene Gracida in Corpus Christi, but that will be a private visit. He put up this marvelous piece on how young people are vigorously rising up for life. I thought you would enjoy it.



Women Betrayed: A New Generation Rallies Nationwide to Protest Planned Parenthood (2204)

The July 28 events in 65 cities across the U.S. focused mainstream media attention on the reality that young, articulate pro-life women are an emergent cultural and political force.


07/30/2015 Comments (2)
Students for Life

– Students for Life

They’re young. They’re articulate. They’re well-organized. And it has taken only a spark to set them ablaze: The explosive Planned Parenthood “baby parts” scandal has ignited a raging fire in the pro-life women’s movement.

Women Betrayed” rallies in 65 cities across the United States July 28 drew more than 12,000 Americans, mostly young women, demanding that  Planned Parenthood be stripped of the $528 million in funding the behemoth organization receives annually from taxpayer dollars.

“The face of the pro-life movement is a young woman’s face,” observed Kristan Hawkins, president of Students…

View original post 4,141 more words

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.


  1. Thanks for posting this Charlie. And thanks for devoting a whole column to my response before (The Father’s Love). I feel the call to work on a number of pieces on how to overcome despair and stay calm and sane in the days ahead. It’s more appropriate for me to do this on a separate blog–so I began one here
    I’ll be asking a priest to oversee the project.
    I’m reluctant to promote myself on someone else’s blog, but there were a couple of respondents on this blog who wanted to hear more from me, and it’s for their sake that I’d like to make this known.
    God bless all of you.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Another observation that maybe indicates that the battle is heating up, and that the enemy is busy creating his own anti-church and anti-theology. Where I live, this is the second year in a row that there is a massive zombie walk planned for August 15th, which just happens to be the feast of the Assumption of Mary. Am I reading to much into this, or is this a deliberate attempt to parody the resurrection of the body?


    • charliej373 says:

      I don’t know if the people involved know it is a parody – but the devil knows it and he laughs malevolently because of it. May God have mercy on us.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Marita says:

        UH OH! Charlie, I have to admit to being a loyal watcher of “The Walking Dead”, I haven’t missed one episode since it came on tv. I could care less about the zombies though, they’re not even very scary, I watch it because it takes place in a post apocalyptic world with no electricity, or running water, and they’re a bunch of people trying to survive and keep their humanity. Their biggest enemy is not the zombies, but other humans who have lost their humanity and become rabid, souless animals. I watch it purely for the characters and not the zombies. Is this wrong? Is it considered demonic? They are making a sequel to it that starts in August and I want to watch that too because it deals with how the plague started and how all of civilization was taken over. I’m interested in that sort of thing, even though it’s Hollywood.


        • charliej373 says:

          No Marita, no problem in watching scary movies. Participating in a zombie festival where you dress like them and celebrate “zombie culture” on a Marian Feast Day is distasteful, though – and a mockery. Watch it all you want. Always remember, it is usually your disposition that counts…as Our Lord said, “It is not what goes into a man that defiles him, but what comes out.”

          Liked by 2 people

    • jaykay says:

      Yeah, Brendan Peter, like Charlie I wouldn’t think it’s deliberate. It’s a Saturday, after all, so… But I do find this whole zombie thing bizarre and, frankly, distasteful. Even were I younger I certainly wouldn’t be attracted to it. Think of the effect on those who’ve just had a death in the family, for example, perhaps in distressing circumstances. Not to mention on young children.

      And thank you for your witness. I’ll certainly visit your blog. God bless, J.


    • jaykay says:

      Also meant to say that since tomorrow is the First Saturday we can, of course, offer reparation for any possible deliberate offence to Her Immaculate Heart. And as was pointed out in a comment on a recent post here, we have the opportunity for a plenary indulgence (the Portiuncula) on Sunday. So grateful to have found that out. Blessings to all, J.


    • It is true that they also have a “day an an hour.” I was working at a disgusting place in 2005 when one day at lunchtime in the company cafeteria one of the planning team, a blatant homosexual who flaunted his lifestyle openly, had the audacity to sit down at the table with a bunch of Christians of various denominations. After getting in the conversation uninvited he proceeded to inform us that “they” (???) had set a date to wipe out all churches and anything that could represent a limit to sexual behavior. The conversation then moved on to a more “defense of the faith theme” with him on the militant atheist position. But by the time I left that table I had a notion that the nuts where assembling a Kristallnacht kind of operation and by now we must be pretty close to it. Curiously around the same time I had a dream where Our Lady promised me that I was going to in a tight spot (check!) surrounded by aggressive and violent people (check!) but that I was going to be protected while Our Lady “would lead the melody” (literal words, your guess is as good as mine.) Now I tend to associate this with the story of Queen Esther who interceded before King Ahasuerus of Persia for the life of her people, the Jews who were about to be exterminated by Haman the Agagite. In the end the Jews were permitted to defend themselves and they rooted their enemies completely including the leader Haman and his family. Assumption Day may be a hint if we relate it to the story of Esther, I see many parallels between Queen Esther and Our Blessed Mother, perhaps the Rescue will happen around Assumption Day. I was received in the Church on that day in 2001, just weeks before the demise of the WTC towers. Those days seem to me like part of a movie that I saw long ago. Imagine! I could fly to London at the drop of a hat, meet a Cardinal, get baptized, confirmed, receive my First Communion and fly back to Boston as effortlessly as I now walk down the street to buy a loaf of bread! Those were the fat cow years indeed! Today, far away from the northern hemisphere I see here how violent people are turning. Here people are vulgar and loud at any public place, they do awful things to upset others just for the pleasure of being a nuisance. This is perhaps an indication that the zombies are about to march against Amityville. The more I think of it the more I believe that the only safe place will be in Christ.

      Liked by 2 people

    • RealDeal says:

      Brendan / All,

      For a great and incisive commentary on the modern fascination with all things “zombies”, I highly recommend reading David Goldman’s article from a couple of years ago entitled “The Zombie Apocalypse – Ours and Theirs”. It maintains that the history of the world “is the history of humankind’s search for immortality” and that the fascination with zombies is a direct reflection of our cultural soul – neither dead nor alive as we race toward extinction.

      I’ve posted the link to the article below:

      Enjoy and God bless,



  3. mmbev says:

    And CMP released another video continuing the exposure of Planned Parenthood despite PP’s efforts to silence them.

    We need to pray for CMP, all the “younger” pro lifer’s who are making their voices and opinions heard loud and clear.

    I keep remembering what you said, Charlie, about abortion ceasing before the Storm is over. The fight has been long and intense and has exacted a cost from many. What a joy to know now that it won’t be in existence for much longer!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mary W. says:

    My husband and I are experiencing an overwhelming amount of hopelessness and despair today and the past few days. I try reminding myself to be a sign of hope to those around me. When my grand daughter told her mom (when they were over for dinner Monday past) that Grandma looks sad, I was taken aback, for a child is able to sense such things easier than others. how can I be a sign of hope if I look downtrodden? Ugh.

    Much prayer, silence and meditation is needed, more than ever. My internal self is hurting because of the abounding mass confusion obvious to many.

    Yesterday I had to be in the company of a gay person,who is pleasant and cheery enough, but a deluded liberal who boasted of the increase of parishioners at his local New Jersey Episcopalian parish….a church which makes gays and lesbians feel at home….while at the same time Catholic parishes are closing. He made many comments including promoting communism ( that Jesus would be a communist, not a capitalist). What could I expect from a graduate of New York’s Columbia U. ? That the Catholic church is hated and rightly so ….because everybody is a child of God. On and on. He dominated with his views.

    I was so stunned that I was speechless, or said something stupid. My husband was able to come to bat effectively several times however. I apologized to Our Lord today for not being able to defend him properly. I came home and reread Pelianito’s June 4, 2015 post : The Silent Mystery of God in hopes that my responses ( non- responses) served God’s purposes any way.

    The times are perilous and becoming more so. As Brendan Peter Thomas said above: the battle is heating up. A big thank you to everyone participating in this blog and the other blogs which Charlie has linked. They have been a go to for me outside my regular church and prayer routine.

    A question to anyone who can answer: Is the satan able to read what I just wrote?

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      The satan can read what you write and hear what you say, but he cannot read your thoughts – though he is very good at reading your face. Now I understand that sometimes the Lord blocks the satan from seeing some things, but you should never assume that. Remember, though, that he is utterly powerless over you so long as you hold fast to Christ under the shelter of Our Lady’s mantle.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Mary A. says:

        Charlie, I am a new reader of your blog and I am impressed and convinced by what you have to say. I have spent the last couple of days reading your archives and trying to wrap my head around what may happen in the very near future. I have one question that your last comment brought to my mind- why do you call the devil “the satan ” rather than Satan or just the devil?


        • charliej373 says:

          I guess it is just an expression of my contempt for him, Mary. There is no special significance to it. It is just that he had such a Divine Father and knew it – he didn’t have to struggle for it like all of us here must. Yet he spurned the Father. The satan is the only true bastard in the universe, because he chose it, knowing what a magnificent, loving Father he could have had. He is utterly contemptible – and this is a small expression of my contempt for him.

          Liked by 1 person

    • Mary it sounds like you are feeling low and full of despair in reaction to seeing lots of people around you succumb to lies–especially in the church. I know exactly how you feel, having recently got caught up in a facebook conversation trying to defend my archbishop (he is standing strong for not re-defining marriage) against Catholic detractors. There are weeds–errors and sins–everywhere in the Church. I would suggest not getting caught up in the polemic–at least not in a reactive way. The battle can’t be won on their level. We have to ascend to the supernatural level of staying in God’s peace, sometimes proclaiming the truth boldly, sometimes remaining silent as Jesus did in front of his accusers. I’ve found that it helps immensely to resign yourself to the fact that you can’t change how people think–only the Holy Spirit can. I think there are also times when we just need to accept that we now appear to be fools, and that there’s nothing we can do about it–it’s part of God’s will. Suffering this patiently and graciously can be a powerful witness in itself. Stay in the centre of God’s will, don’t react emotionally to all the shouting, don’t get caught up in the rabid polemic. Speak from out of the heart of God’s peace and God’s power if you speak. The world is going through a massive psychotic episode. Don’t engage in the psychosis and its rebellious fury–don’t enter into it. Abide in the heart of God, and speak simple truth into the darkness without being affected by it.
      Another idea that just came to me is that we mustn’t think of the battle in worldly terms. It’s not like a football game where if you’re a supporter for one team, and the other team has far more points, there’s every reason to be discouraged. What God is able to do, and what God is going to do, cannot be projected from the status quo that you see around you. Remember this and hold onto it–that’s what hope is.
      I think I’ll develop this a bit more on my own blog!
      I pray that you find hope and peace Mary. Pray for me too.

      Liked by 5 people

    • Lauraelel says:

      “I feel like you are attacking me and my religion. Let us change the subject and agree to disagree.” Liberal progressives are all about feelings. Serve others to get out of the depression funk. This puts the focus on someone else. Are there women in your parish who have had a baby recently? Make them a dinner. Are there any nursing homes nearby? Go visit a resident who never has any visitors. Offer to take grandchildren on a short excursion so their mom can get something accomplished without constant interruption.


      • Mary W. says:

        In all due respect Lauraelel, if you only knew what I have accomplished in my 70 years of life (with God’s grace) you would not have written what you had. Certainly you meant well, but the diagnosis of depression funk along with the proposed remedies is a bit off the mark. Let us pray for each other.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Praying that Jesus restores peaceful equilibrium for you and your family, Mary. I see Peter gave good advice about discerning when and how to respond. I wish to share two thoughts:

      Twenty-three years ago Our Lady convicted me in Medjugorje to become a meditating reader of God’s Holy Word. The Scriptures are healing medicine. In moments such as what you describe, we could turn to biblical passages to replace temptation to ruminate over difficult, painful encounters and news. As Pharaoh and the Egyptians were advancing on the Israelites during their great escape, the Israelites cried out to the Lord and again whined about their fears and plight to Moses. “But Moses said to the people, “Do not be afraid, stand firm, and see the deliverance that the Lord will accomplish for you today; for the Egyptians whom you see today you shall never see again. The Lord will fight for you, and you have only to keep still.” (Exodus 14:13-14)

      I also share that a great source of comfort came to me as a new, youngish widow ten years ago when I “discovered” the messages given to “Anne, a lay apostle.” These messages were thoroughly investigated by her diocesan local ordinary, Bishop Leo O’Reilly, Bishop of Kilmore, Ireland. After the diocesan commission completed its work, everything was sent to the Holy See. Meanwhile, Anne has been assigned a diocesan priest as spiritual director of the apostolate, Direction for our Times, and all the writings have received Bishop O’Reilley’s imprimatur.

      I have found the ten volumes to be especially instructive and comforting. There are messages from saints and angels which give solid advice and words of encouragement. As Charlie has noted, The Storm will be like none other in the history of civilization yet the struggles and battles we are experiencing were experienced in a similar fashion, albeit in different times and circumstances, by the cloud of witnesses who have gone before us. And in these times, say the saints allowed by God to address us in these volumes, the Lord is granting great graces to be distributed to help us on earth, we who were specifically chosen by God to live in this time in salvation history. As ever, we need only ask. There is an online library of these messages at the webiste:

      That our Heavenly Father would tend to us with bountiful graces to see us through The Storm makes perfect biblical sense to me. A medicinal treatment I enjoy is to ponder Romans 5:20 “But law came in, with the result that the trespass multiplied; but where sin increased, grace abounded all the more.”

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mary, give your heart to the Lord as an oblation. The way you feel is a great grace indicating that your heart is fit to be rescued by the Lord. I undeservedly felt like that for weeks on end and I know now it is a gift. That is the way Lot felt: “If He rescued righteous Lot, oppressed by the sensual conduct of unprincipled men (for by what he saw and heard that righteous man, while living among them, felt his righteous soul tormented day after day by their lawless deeds), then the Lord knows how to rescue the godly from temptation, and to keep the unrighteous under punishment for the day of judgment, and especially those who indulge the flesh in its corrupt desires and despise authority.” 2 Peter 2:7-10 — The things we have to endure are signs of the Lord’s approaching. Your husband responded to the wicked but he got the lesser gift. As a man of God he was led into the fight, you as a woman of God received a more important task: To those nearest to His heart, Jesus reserves the choicest splinters of the Cross. Rejoice in the nearness of Him who walks with you.
      My prayers are with you and your family.


  5. Dorothy says:

    I do not recall Charlie ever saying that abortion will be finished at the end of the storm ???
    If he did that is most wonderful news !!!
    The fruits of the suffering will be pure life that is
    Wonderful news!!!!


    • charliej373 says:

      Legal abortion will soon be history.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Patricia says:

        I find it most interesting that the doctors shown on the first four tapes are females. Also, the story out and it may not be true, but I’m willing to bet it is based on what we already know of the industry, is that the tape being withheld by court order leads one to believe that babies were being born alive before harvesting their organs.
        My gut tells me that America was given two final tests which we are failing miserably, never mind the Church. The first was the SC decision on marriage (not a peep from most altars) and now these tapes on abortion. As most of you know, even though the videos have received enormous coverage, the video regarding the death of the lion went viral on the first day not so these videos. We are at the point where these two issues, which are now literally in our faces, should cause all Americans, not just the pro-lifers, to be in the streets protesting like the Greeks over their money, yet for the most part, not happening. I suspect the statement that legal abortion will soon be history may have had its beginnings in 1973 with the pro-life movement but will have started its end with these tapes.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Beckita says:

          Surely these videos exposing the truth of what PP has attempted to hide for so long is another segment, if you will, of the Illumination of Conscience. In the Birmingham video, Charlie expressed so well the importance of discerning and pondering messages from Heaven for we too readily miscue the meaning and intent of the words.

          I believe this exposure of PP comes from the Mercy of God and it is both heartening and hopeful to see increased prayers and fasting rising around the country in response to the videos. This is an opportunity to rescue souls in our prayers.

          The story of Gloria Polo witnesses to the power of a simple man’s prayer. She was a dentist in Columbia, South America who was struck by lightening, died, met the Lord, was shown supernatural realities and commissioned to return to earth to tell, again and again, what the Lord had shown her. As so many in our time, she was headed for hell. What saved her? A prayer offered by a simple, humble countryman who had walked to church from his poor farm, praising and thanking God for his many blessings. After Mass this dear man purchased a meal of fish which was wrapped in old newspaper. In the paper the man saw the story printed concerning Gloria being struck by lightening. What did he do? He began to weep and cried to the Lord, in all sincerity and as if Gloria was his own child, to have mercy on the soul of the woman from the story.

          In her testimony, Gloria acknowledges the Lord gave credit to the poor man’s prayer as the instrument of His Mercy in Gloria’s salvation. The testimony can be found on You Tube. All glory to the Mercy of God!

          Liked by 2 people

          • Kati says:

            Wow! That IS an amazing story. What an encouragement to pray for the souls around us, the driver who cut us off, the drivers of big trucks on the road today, all those who enter Walmart, the people in the movie theater, the sad man sitting in the back of the Church. Perhaps we are all going to be amazed some day at what our prayers have wrought.


      • marie says:

        Praise God!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. NancyA says:

    a prayer is never wasted. Let’s not withhold one single prayer we might offer…


Leave a Reply

