Fractured Expectations

This is another of my favorite columns, as I think it gives a pretty clear explanation of how we often misconstrue things that are truly and accurately told us…how we confuse our own expectations with God’s promises. If we could learn, with the Psalmist, to “be still and know that I Am God,” – as he was told by the Almighty we would learn to wait for Him in real trust.

The Next Right Step

Hands_of_God_and_Adam_2-571x421

Sometime over 15 years ago I told my priests that my angel had told me that when the Storm set in, the most important power satan would have is that of deception, that is, the power to lead people into rebellion by actively mimicking a sort of pious orthodoxy. For many decades leading up to the period of ‘the rumblings,’ his most important power was seduction – to persuade people that objective good was actually evil and objective evil a positive good. The rumblings began in 2000 – and during their brief period (about a decade), I reported, satan’s most important power would be that of terror – which would manifest itself as large-scale institutionalized terror. We have entered the period when deception is the primary tool. As usual with things I am told, it is taking some turns I had not expected.

I am rather baffled why the death…

View original post 2,932 more words

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Fractured Expectations

  1. Beckita says:

    Thank you for re-posting another gem, so filled with wisdom and insight, from your previous writings! For my Sunday afternoon reading yesterday, I found my way to the posts associated with the photos on your Facebook page. They, too, are rich in instruction, edifying and thought-provoking. I imagine they are somewhere on this site as well. Continuing to pray for you, day by day, as you make your way on this current pilgrimage.

    Like

  2. Pam says:

    C– you are right on. Rather, what I understand from you and what you have learned from your angels. We must never forget that the church will always try to steer the faithful to where God asks them to be. To know, love and serve God. These are bigger things to do than they seem, but, they are true. p.

    Like

  3. mikefichera says:

    Considering the vast difference in intelligence between us humans and our Father and those in His heavenly court, I think we are like pleading dogs baffled why we aren’t invited to feast at the dinner table, offered only occasional table scraps. We can’t comprehend the reason for our limitations nor how limited we truly are. Fully aware that I, like a dog, just don’t get it, I’m really curious if, next time you communicate with your angel, you could ask, “what happened to Joey L’s prophesy about regaining his eyesight?” Or more bluntly, “Were the messages from Garabandal from heaven, or a deception?” I’ve heard you say it’s mostly a one-way discussion with your angel. What would happen if you asked that? Would you be rebuked for asking? Be told the answer but sworn to secrecy? Or is it obvious when you’re in the situation that you just don’t ask questions like that? Discernment can be so difficult with so many false prophets, especially since the 1980s, making noise drowning out the good messages of the true ones, that sometimes I just want to walk away and ignore them all. God bless you, Charlie.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I do not ask any but the most innocuous of questions, Mike for two reasons. One, every time you get an answer, you are given a heavy obligation. If you had to do the spiritual equivalent of wrestling three bears and a gator for every piece of substantive information you are given, you would get a lot less curious. I have. I trust that God will show me what I NEED to know to do the work appointed me. I have asked him long ago not to tell me a bit more than what I need to know. It is hard enough to deal with what is necessary. I know it seems like you could get some great answers – and maybe I could…but nothing comes without a price…and I have all I can bear as it is. I quit being curious about anything that wasn’t absolutely necessary a few decades ago. Rather, when I don’t understand, I mumble and gripe…gives the Lord a good laugh (He knows I will do whatever is needful), allows me an outlet for my frustration, and doesn’t require that I wrestle with any unnecessary bears and gators.

      Liked by 3 people

    • JenByrd says:

      During catechesis formation many years ago, a theologian said to our group God gives us each a glass overflowing with gifts, graces, and talents according to His divine plan to be used in love and service to others. Some the glasses are the size of thimbles and others the size of mugs.
      In 1998 at the Marian Conference in Rosemont Illinois, a Medjugorje visionary, Mirjana was present and took questions from those in attendance. A participant asked why some are chosen to be seers/visionaries while other are not, and Mirjana said lovingly that Our Blessed mother reminds us, blessed are those who have not seen and yet believe. She added that Our Blessed Mother loves each one of us immeasurably and that all of the love that each mother and father has ever, has now, and ever will have for their own children is a fraction of her love for us. It gave me shivers. We are all truly blessed.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Julie says:

    God bless you Charlie for your docile spirit and anointed words! Such a helpful summary of how to accept and perceive the mystery of prophetic gifts from heaven. I found it so helpful.
    In looking back, I see that I have been shown, as well as have the eyes of my family members been opened, with respect to The Warning. We all, separately, and in unusual ways, have received understanding about living in the Divine Will. My son, our daughter-in-law, their four, soon to be five children, as well as my spouse and I have consecrated ourselves to the Immaculate Heart of Mary during this time of The Warning. The opening of our eyes has led us to man our stations of duty. We are aware that what we are doing is of great consequence. Our prayers, our hopes, and even what we fix our eyes on right now, have eternal consequence. It feels like the entire world has been placed on a teeter totter which is perfectly balanced in a neutral position. All of us, as we are all One, sit on the one side and the evils of satan are on the other. Every prayer we say, every thought we have, every act, and, as I said, even where we fix our eyes, has eternal consequences.

    We, with the help of the preponderance of graces flowing out upon on us from the Immaculate heart of Mary, during this most astounding and tumultuous time in the history of man, plan to tip the teeter totter toward LOVE. Your comments have confirmed this within my spirit, and I thank you. God bless you!!!
    Julie from Arizona

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Mack says:

    Just to note, I heard an interview with Gerald Celente, an economic trends forecaster from a secular point of view. He predicts a global market collapse “before the end of this year” 2015. It’s interesting that even some secular people see it coming. But from our perspective, whatever is coming is all part of God’s plan and we need trust now more
    than ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doug says:

      James Rickard “The Death of Money” is a very fascinating read. The title is an attention grabber, but the economics appears sound. This is secular, but I learned a lot about China’s precarious situation. I read the book just before their stock market bubble burst. Thus, economic chaos in various places is not surprising me. My wife and I are taking some prudent steps to prepare for some tough times, but most importantly, preparing spiritually.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Marita says:

    Hi Charlie,
    This is off topic, but I just read Spirit Daily’s headline article from Mystics of the Church website. It’s all about the New Era and the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, although it is not stated like that in the article, in the article it is called The Coming Era of the Holy Spirit and Mary. It sure resonates with me of the Era of Peace and Mary’s Triumph. Everyone should read this, my spirit was overjoyed while reading it. http://www.mysticsofthechurch.com/2015/07/the-prophecy-of-madeleine-porsat.html
    I can’t wait for the rescue for all mankind! I can’t believe that after this rescue by Mary, that there would be a single person left on earth that wouldn’t be converted and live very holy lives afterward. Let’s storm heaven for that to be the case.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Mona says:

    Today they have opend a nursing home i Copenhagen for people that are homosexual, and have been living that form of life alle their life. It have been a great opening shown in national TV several times. The rainbow flag was cowering the building.
    Mona from Denmark

    Like

    • Mick says:

      Oh, Mona, how awful; and how sad. We must pray very hard for them, that their eyes be opened, that they turn from their sin and error, and that they throw themselves upon the Mercy of God.

      Like

  8. Kim says:

    “mimicking a sort of pious orthodoxy” What does this mean?
    Thank you!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      To mimic is to imitate. I hope pious orthodoxy is clear. An imitation of pious orthodoxy is a fraud, containing the form without the substance – a mere vanity used to try to dominate others.

      Like

      • Kim says:

        Hi Charlie,
        I am sorry to seem so ignorant but I still don’t understand what that might look like? Are you speaking of orthodoxy in the Church? Such as those that feel the Extraordinary form of the Mass is the only true Mass or as in the previous comment, that this Pope or others are not the “true” Pope? My experience is that there are many more who fall on the other side of the spectrum and speak of love and tolerance to the effect of allowing all things (relativism). Anyway, thank you for your reply.
        God bless.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          True orthodoxy is to be obedient to the assembled hierarchy and the Magisterium of the Church. Those who say the Extraordinary Form is the only valid form say they are orthodox, but they are not – they are in rebellion. Those who muster various and subtle arguments to discredit the validity of the Pope say they are orthodox, but they are not – they are in rebellion. True orthodoxy is docility to what the Church – the legitimate authorities Christ appointed, Himself, rule on matters of faith and morals.

          It is a tragedy that some who are disobedient claim that “orthodoxy” is the reason for their disobedience. They raise a false image of orthodoxy, mimicking it to pull people away from the safety of the faith.

          Now, I have been critical of those genuine religious authorities who have been disdainful of traditionalists. Most traditionalists I have met are seriously and deeply pious – and do not condemn others who do not share their approach. But when they have a Bishop who tries to silence them, it creates a hurt they don’t deserve – and some lash out in response to that hurt. But that is a different situation than those who are aggressively trying to lead people away from the Church and be their own Pope. Schism is likely to come this fall both from the left and from the right. It is the same disobedience coming in different flavors, that is all. Stay in the Barque of Peter. It is the place a safety through the Storm – though it will get pretty “stormy” here, too.

          Liked by 3 people

  9. Donette says:

    Charlie, Talking about “God showing you ( me, all of us) what we need to know.” Have you seen Bishop Gracida’s latest article? I’ll add it here at the end of the post. Ever since Bergoglio, otherwise known as Pope Francis was elected, we all have been watching and listening; even scratching our heads while our brains spin at what he says. You have stated that what you do know from what your “heavenlies” have told/shown you, Pope Francis is the Pope who will lead the Church through the storm.

    I have observed this building up of the One World Government for some years now. Although I am not happy with the idea that the elite’s will be in control and the rest led into servitude which I saw the moment I had to fill my own gas tank and wash my car windows yet still pay an exhorbitant sum for the privilege of doing so, the thought crossed my mind that possibly, note, I use the word “possibly”, this is God letting the satan work his wicked ways and yet once there is a one world brought together, He can then bring about His Transformation of the world and there will be one Church and one Shepherd. I know this is a compressed way of describing what my thoughts have been. Pope Francis could lead the Church into this storm, but that does not say he will be the shining knight on the white horse that will lead God’s people to victory.

    Now having spouted out my pea sized brain thinking, let me copy Bishop Gracida’s latest post and you might get of glimmer of what I think I have been made to understand. Of course I could just be whistling Dixie.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Sorry, Donette. I deleted the article. I love Bishop Gracida, but Sandro Magister, who wrote the article, is banned from this site. Magister has been peddling the “Francis Anti-Pope” apostasy since near the moment Francis was elected. Magister is brilliant, and slips effortlessly from argument to argument trying to pull people away from the Church, dropping those arguments that don’t register while constantly trying subtly new ones. I have much regard for Magister’s intellect, no regard for his character in trying to lead people away from the safety of the Church. He is subtle and effective in doing his dark work – but nothing he writes is welcome here.

      Further, let me be clear, Francis IS a white knight. I said last Christmas he would make a major blunder sometime this year, but he is the Pope assigned to guide us SAFELY through the Storm. Not in a straight line…but he will be profound evidence of how God writes straight with crooked lines. You, of course, are free to think differently, but I must make sure there is no ambiguity in my take. Pope Francis is the right guy for these times to carry us to safety.

      Liked by 7 people

      • Donette says:

        Well that clarifies a lot for me, Charlie. I questioned material from Magister before, but seeing Bishop Gracida’s post I was about to re-evaluate my thinking. Now with your response, I will once again re-evaluate my thinking of Francis which seems to be a constant thing these days.

        Like

      • Mick says:

        Thank you for this, Charlie. Viva Papa Francisco!

        Like

  10. Judy says:

    Charlie, I know your angel told you when the Storm would end. Did he actually say the full crash would begin at the end of 2015? Or have you had to interpret? (I have read all your blogs, but I do not remember) ……Yes, I see the whole system falling apart worldwide. But I am asking about the moment when there will be no doubt by anyone. ….I have done everything I can do to prepare myself spiritually. And I know that this is the most important thing.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Hi Judy. The only time I have been specifically told is that of the Rescue. I know people keep saying I have written that crash will come this fall. I have NOT. I have made clear I personally think that it can’t go much longer than that, but that I have been told nothing about the time of these events – only that all must be accomplished before very late 2017.

      Like

      • There’s a guy on the web, Dr. David Abbot, who has a “positive thinking” website. He long had a dream of sailing around the world with his family. When his kids were teens he accomplished that goal. He tells a story of part of his trip that changed the way I think about these impending events. He said the happiest leg of his trip was the long sail to New Zealand and Australia. The family had a great time with lots of fabulous adventures and beautiful things to see. It was the happiest time of his life. When they got to Australia/N.Z. they rented a car to go sight-seeing. On that road trip they had a terrible accident and Dr. Abbot was seriously injured. He broke nearly every bone in his body and was hospitalized for months, enduring a painful and difficult rehab. It was the worst experience of his life. He said that the thing that got him through was his memories of the great trip across the ocean and the love and teamwork of his family on that part of the sail. It occurred to him that if God had revealed to him what was waiting for him when he got to N.Z. he would have been worried and depressed and miserable in anticipation all during the trip. The knowledge of what he was about to suffer would have ruined the happiest time of his life. There’s a lesson in here for all of us. While it is clear that God wants us to know IN GENERAL that we are about to go through a great storm there is a good reason for Him not revealing all the gory details to us. If we knew exactly what we, individually, were going to suffer it would ruin the time of peace we have left. I think of these last days of peace as that trip across the ocean which we should fill with family time and with making good memories. Those good memories will help us get through the dark times ahead. I don’t want to know the details, the precise when and the exact what that will happen to me. I want to live well the days that I have now and trust that God will give me strength to endure whatever comes, when it comes. I want to know whatever God wants me to know but I don’t want to ask Charlie for any details any more than Charlie wants to ask the Angel any more questions than is absolutely necessary. We may not be able to carry the weight of the answers.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Doug says:

          Wow! Such a beautiful piece Singing Flowers! Good life lesson!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Colleen DeRose says:

          Perfect! Thank you for posting–it is confirmation to me in many ways about my own plans for the immediate future.

          Like

        • SteveBC says:

          SingingFlowers, Just an hour ago I was thinking how beautiful this summer has become, even as I felt that “fin de siecle” feeling that it may be our last such beautiful summer for a while. I think I remember reading once that the summer of 1914 was a lovely summer in Europe. You are right to remind us to love where and when we are.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Picket Fence says:

          Singingflowers, I can personally attest to the truth of your words. You are wise to write them for us. We really do not want to know any more than is necessary.

          Fourteen years ago I was diagnosed with a life threatening, incurable disease. It came out of the blue, and I was actually very fortunate to get a correct assessment of my illness within two months of it starting. The physician that treated me told me at the start that it was usually a 5 – 7 year process to get things under control. Soon after that he amended the timeframe to 7 – 10 years. I didn’t really believe him,and was convinced it was going to be a shorter ride for me. And he had never given me a level of the seriousness of where I started. He did that on purpose.

          It turned out to be a 7 year battle. Several years in I heard him say to another doctor that my condition was very serious when I first came in, and he had less than a handful of patients who were as bad off as I was, and needed the amount of drugs I needed. I was shocked. But I finally accepted that it was going to be a long, hard struggle. And it was. I did everything the doctor told me to do, and thanked God that I was in the hands of one of the few experts in the world that could treat my illness.

          Years later, I saw that there was a light at the end of the tunnel, and I could look back and reflect. At the seven year mark I was able to go off all medications and bravely step forward without those “crutches” that had kept me on the road to health. And I felt like Lazarus coming out of the tomb!! But if I had known everything that was ahead of me at the time of it’s starting, then I would have been absolutely crushed by the illness and not had hope for recovery. I had to deal with a lot of damage to my body over the next few years, but I was very fortunate to have good results from that battle, too. And I thought to myself “Well, that was hard,and a difficult thing to go through.” And I thanked God for His mercy and love.

          And then I went through something even more painful and difficult when my husband died just before our 33rd anniversary. God spared me a flare up of my disease at that time, and I praise and thank Him for that. But it’s been a painful 4+ years. And I see that only Jesus is necessary to life. So now maybe I know one thing, and one thing only.

          It’s that I really don’t know anything. Except that God is Life, and Life is God. His mercy endures forever!! He is with us every step of the way. Alleluia!!

          Liked by 1 person

  11. mirrose says:

    Uh oh…..now the Dow’s “DEATH CROSS”….just in time for the lead up to all fall predictions!!

    The ‘Death Cross’ Forms on the Dow Chart

    http://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2015-08-11/death-cross-forms-in-dow-industrials-down-5-since-record-high

    Like

  12. Just wanted to share this beautiful talk by Johnathan Cahn from just yesterday.


    Liked by 4 people

  13. Mack says:

    If more Catholic priests preached like this guy, the Church would be in much better shape!
    I think he made an important point in saying that in the Bible, desecration often precedes judgment. The Supreme Court ruling was a desecration of natural marriage as established by God. He said it was a huge event in the spiritual realm, which reminds me of what Charlie has sometimes said, that some things on earth are like shock waves in the spiritual realm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

