The Bond of Trust is Forged in Fire

Our reader, Beckita, just read this post and much enjoyed it. She asked me to re-post it. Since I have been both busy and sick today, this is what you get. Hopefully I will be better before the weekend is out.

The Next Right Step


I have previously briefly discussed that I was warned, before I accepted my work, that upon acceptance I would very quickly enter into a prolonged period of intense suffering. Though I was not shown details, I was fully shown how intense it would be. My visitors have always played fair with me, enough so that when they are reticent to tell me something needful, I am content to wait, knowing that I don’t even want to contemplate it until I have to bear it. I, of course, told my priests before I accepted. Shoot, what I had been shown on the intensity of it kept me from accepting for a long time. But I was told it would steel me, burn away vanity and prepare me to be strong for when the Storm came, so I would not wilt when others were counting on me.

When it came, it lasted…

View original post 1,583 more words

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Bond of Trust is Forged in Fire

  1. greehil says:

    Thank you for this post. I am  Fr Dan’ Reehils  Mom.   I just had brain tumor surgery. My daughter lost her job and was diagnosed with breast cancer. She had a double mastectomy. We definitely are in the battle. Thru it all God is very present to us. But your post today confirms that we are not alone and others are battling too.  God bless you for rallying us in these times Gladys Reehil

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      What a wonderful, dedicated man and priest your son is, Gladys. Thank God for him. I pray that St. Raphael will tend to both you and your daughter, to comfort and guide and give you hope – as you give others hope with your fortitude.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I see Michael Brown of Spirit Daily has an post today concerning prophecy…for all of our discernment. God Bless and I will pray for you and your family.


  3. Rosemary Amor says:

    We have had 18 years of trials with our daughter who became a heroin addict, all while I worked in ministry and formed a new community. We had a lull for a few months and my husband was nearly killed in an auto accident, hit by a texting driver. A year later, our daughter was hit and neary killed by a teenage driver. It never seems to end. The heroin issue squashes one like a bug. I have had to let go of all my own notions about how our lives should look and surrender all (and I mean every noonk and cranny) to God. It is the only way a parent can find peace. My heart went out to you when you first wrote about your daughter. May we all gain strength in our weakness. Blessings from Rosemary.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Beckita says:

      Praying for you and your family, Rosemary, with faith, hope and love.

      Liked by 1 person

    • mmbev says:

      What a tremendous amount of courage, what trust and cleaving to Him! Eighteen years, no end in sight. God is surely transforming you…..and all you can probably do is stagger forward into the next day, hoping, trusting, calling His name.

      Your comment makes you shine with brilliance for us. We can’t ever see the His light that we reflected to others, but believe me when I say that there’s no bushel basket near you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bob says:

      I will pray for your daughter Rosemary. As I work with addicts and have dealt with addictive sins in my own life I have learned that once a sin or habit becomes addictive and I deal with heroin addicts almost every day, the only to get that 1000 lb demon off of their backs is for them to fully rely on God. If your daughter can make some progress in surrendering all to God hopefully she will make some progress herself, although that doesn’t say she would be totally free of all slips and relapses but real freedom is possible too. But how few of my addicts are willing to really surrender to God and they are often seeking an easier less radical or short term solution. I think that is often because they are not willing to break with other sins in their lives also. How I wish God would make gaining freedom from enslavement to sins of various kinds easier!!


  4. Maureen says:

    Charlie, thank you for this timely reminder. It is so easy for all of us to fall into various levels of despair and self-pity. As an old commercial said, “Thanks, I needed that!” I sure hope you feel better soon. May God give you the strength you need.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Christiaria says:

    Thank you for that encouraging post, Charlie. Prayers for your healing and consolation on this Feast of the Assumption. By the way, might you be bringing your trumpet with you to Louisiana? I think that we might need to have a little jam session to your “Song of Thanksgiving” and/or “When the Saints Go Marching in!” Something to look forward to.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. mirrose says:

    This question of suffering is dealt with a bit in what Luisa Piccarreta reveals about what she was told by Jesus during the revelation of His Divine Will to her, here esp. regarding her immense suffering:

    The Lord explained to her that such pains and crosses act like a press for the soul. Just as in a wine press the grape peels are separated from what will become the wine, in her the crosses and sorrows act like a press. They peel the soul of pride, passions and all that is human, and leave behind the pure wine of the virtues. Whenever He has manifested to Luisa the truths about His Will, crosses and pains have always preceded them. The higher the truths that He makes known, the greater have been the sorrows for her. This was the press that He exercised in her, in order to peel her of what is human, so that these truths would not be mixed with the skin of human passions.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Bob says:

    Last week my wife and I visited a good friend and his wife who moved to the country years ago and who prays often and believes he has heard God on dealing with the hard times coming but he believes God may permit a more gradual decline as we (as a whole) must experience the painful consequences of our sins and our turning away from God. And I wondered why is God not speaking or nudging all of those who seek God’s direction in the same way regarding our future? And I think our friend Mark Mallott would see a bit more gradual decline also than would Charlie as in times of being deprived of the Eucharist during persecution, etc. . God is Mysterious, So we will see. So for some of us our storms are now smaller and more private, as for a co worker whose brother David recently committed suicide. Pray for him please. And we must be prepared to follow God if he gives us great storms individually,or if he allows a slow decline and the Chinese water torture of the drip of a slowly forming persecution or if he allows a more quick and dramatic worldwide storm to come upon us as Charlie believes.


Leave a Reply

