Back in Action

Sorry folks…I was without internet service for a couple of days. That is going to happen from time to time on the road. I will have something up tonight…maybe something quick up later. First I need to clear out some of the messages that have come in over the last few days and then I have a barbecue in Sacramento tonight.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Back in Action

  1. Simone says:

    Enjoy, Charlie!

    Like

  2. Teresa SCARDINO says:

    Thinking about you, Charlie… Twenty-nine years ago, you were standing up in our wedding. (Standing, sitting, laying???) We have wonderful memories with you & lots of laughs together. God is Good for keeping our marriage in tact. We almost lost it in our own storm.

    Let us know when you’re traveling through. There’s always a room here if you need one.

    xoxo Rick & Terri

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Rick and Terri Scardino, by the way, are dear old friends going all the way back to high school. They are my children’s godparents (and going only for the best, they are Sicilian). Rick’s family had several restaurants – and his uncle had an Italian bakery in Chicago. It is why I am so discriminating in my taste for Italian food. And when they had Canoli Cake from the uncle’s bakery, they had to get two – one for me and one for everyone else. God bless you Rick and Terri.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. mmbev says:

    How good to know you are up and running! Have a great time at the BBQ.

    Like

  4. No problem. At this point in the game I think all of us feel the same way: do what you can; don’t worry about what you can’t. Those of us who are going through that weird avalanche of incredible trials (myself included) certainly understand. Though we do really look forward to your posts because of the strength your words give us, we get it; we need to find our ultimate strength in a close, close, close relationship with God. If the day comes when we can’t read your posts anymore, you will have prepared us well. Anyway, we can wait patiently until you can get to it. Enjoy the BBQ. Even though it isn’t Texas BBQ, which everyone knows is the best. Just sayin’.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Lizette S. says:

    Hi Charlie! It was a wonderful surprise and gift of Mother Mary that we got a chance to meet you in person @ St. Mary’s Cathedral in San Francisco! Thank God for divine providence who made me see the posting on FB the day BEFORE, otherwise I would not have known about your talk. Thank you Lord for the graces you give Charlie to continue your work in him! It was great to hear your sharing, your words of encouragement for us – as you said the faithful remnant in the San Francisco bay area. We sorely need it! I’m the lady who gave you the cd and booklet on the Divine Will =) As you said you wrote about it but I only read your blog a few times prior to Saturday, so I’m reading to catch up. =) God Bless you and yours, Fiat

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Suzanne says:

    Welcome to Sacramento! I hope you are ready for our 105 degree weather! I hope to see you at your talk tomorrow evening. I have never commented but I am a long time reader.

    Like

  7. Louis Hart says:

    I’m having internet problems and I haven’t even left home. I look forward to your updates, whenever they come.

    Like

  8. Bill Freeman says:

    are you coming down to southern california? I heard something about dana point? I think you should put out a calendar of stops with locations and times

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Bill, from the very beginning there has been a calendar with locations and stops. Look at the bar of links at the top of the website and click on “Upcoming Events.” I know it can be easy to miss if you are not looking for it, but it has been there since before I first set out – and is regularly updated.

      Like

  9. Carolyn C. says:

    Charlie, this is a heartfelt thank you from me and my son Daniel for coming to Portland and speaking to those of us gathered to hear your message and words of encouragement for the days that are upon us. I felt strengthened and pleasantly surprised to see a number of folks I know! May the Holy Spirit and Mary be with you as you continue your travels!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Thank you, Carolyn. I loved Portland – particularly the Grotto. I would be lost there regularly if I lived there – but would probably get banned, for there is no way I could stick to the paths without wandering into the woods. You folks keep building each other up out there.

      Like

  10. NancyA says:

    Hmm, Charlie, you were recently in San Fran? anything to do with the earthquake? lol We actually had a small earthquake in NJ just a few days ago, too.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I was right in the zone in South San Francisco packing up to head to Sacramento when it came. I didn’t feel a thing. I didn’t know it had happened until I heard it on the news later – and looked at where it happened, figuring it must have just missed me. I rode through Berkeley and Emeryville on my way to the train. One had been delayed for reasons I did not pay attention to – but mine was on time. I should have felt it, but nothing. Like Mr. Magoo, I just went about my business completely unaware that anything had happened.

      Liked by 1 person

      • barb129 says:

        That’s so funny that you didn’t feel it! I thought of you too when I heard about this morning and thought that somebody didn’t like you speaking in SF….

        Like

  11. Pamela Nicholson says:

    Maybe there was a good reason things went down for a few days. Always need time to replenish and reflect on other things. Other opptys God gives us to do His will. Praise Jesus! pam from NJ.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. A Quiet Person says:

    During the fullness of the Storm, when power is out for real, when the internet may be non-existent, and transportation may be impossible or too dangerous, how will you be able to continue to be our sherpa? I think we are all totally availing ourselves of your guidance and care for us now and have your basic message of trust-do-love ingrained in our hearts. But in the midst of the Storm, will we be able to hear from you?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, Quiet, God never leaves us without recourse to Him. There may well be a time when I am quiet for a while…but I am told I am to hearten the faithful until the Storm is over, so I trust God will provide a way. I don’t know how, but I trust in Him.

      Like

      • Pamela Nicholson says:

        Charlie, you speak truth. There is a lot of suffering going on now, but, you know in your heart that when the time comes, and all is as it is to be in God’s plan, His way, you will be back to wherever He needs you to be. Thank God your trust is in Him, and not in anything of the world. Be vigilant, but, staying focused on what God wants is key. God bless. pam from NJ.

        Like

    • Mick says:

      Hi, Quiet! Great question. But don’t forget (as I do, sometimes) that when the “national/international scene” breaks down, the “local” situation may be better. So, if Charlie has to go dark because of communication breakdown, we Next Right Steppers in a particular region may still be able to communicate somehow, support each other, and be a sign of hope to each other and to the community at large. There are quite a few of us here in Michigan; and I’m hoping that after Charlie’s visit, we’ll be able to stay well connected. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

