Steady On


By Charlie Johnston

In light of the stock market tumbling 1,000 points in America last week and significant economic burps and convulsions in other world markets, many are wondering if we are on the verge of the crash. Well, this old boiler is sure spouting a lot of furious leaks these days, but I don’t think it is quite ready to blow just yet. As I have said repeatedly, I do not know any dates here – only that all I have spoken of must be accomplished by late 2017, when we will be rescued by Our Lady the Immaculate Conception. But I do know there are certain things that must be completed before crash comes. There is one big one that I think must yet come – and a few lesser things that could come either before or after the crash. So while we are very close, I do not think we are quite there yet. There has been a lot of manipulation and contrivance going into the markets of late to try to prop things up and make them look better than they are. I don’t think those who are desperately trying to prop it all up are out of putty yet – but I bet they are all breathing a sigh of relief at the arrival of the weekend to interrupt the downward slide and give them some time to contrive a response.

This does give me an opportunity, though, to re-iterate what the crash really is. When crash comes, life will get harder and change for everyone, no doubt about that. What it truly is, though, is the visible beginning of the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart.

From the beginning of the time I began writing these things down for my priests 20 years ago, I have described “false dawns,” periods of seeming stabilization following the shock of each new deep crisis. I explained that the crises and false dawns would come in an ever-quickening spiral as we approached the Fullness of the Storm. There are two purpose to this cycle that I know of (there may be more – I never assume I know all of God’s purpose in such things – and usually I discover aspects I had missed as time goes on). The series of shocking crises, things that people never thought were likely to happen, are a grace that shake ever more people out of their complacency. The shocks show some of the arrogant that we are not the Titans, that human institutions are fallible, indeed. For these people, the shocks may lead to a new humility – and the burgeoning of a renewed faith in God as their faith in human institutions recedes. So the series of crises are a grace that opens the door to ever more people to re-evaluate their own lives and belief systems. These crises are, in fact, the primary factor in slowing the loss of souls to eternity even now. The false dawns allow the incurably vain to deceive themselves that they have everything under control – even though the cycle has already become clear. For those who are determined that there is nothing greater than themselves, the false dawns allow them to prop up the illusion. With every new crisis, a few more props are knocked out. This process has been primarily one of separating the sheep from the goats – and I don’t think God is done with that yet.

Many people assume that the crash is going to be a great trial for Christians. Well, yes, but it is going to be a great trial for all. But it is going to be a catastrophic disaster for secularist progressives. They are quickly going to be blown off the field like so much chaff in the wind. The truth is that secularist progressives are largely cowardly blowhards, who require both technology and institutionalized power to enable them to impose their will on the unwilling. They will be stripped of their power almost instantly and will lose much of the technological capacity that enabled them for a time. Their very illusion of control makes them unprepared for the pivotal crisis. Many Christians and conservatives fear that the government has made plans to intern them…that leaders who speak of these things are on target lists. Well, those fears are most likely justified, but are also utterly irrelevant. When final crash comes it will, above all, take the secularist progressives who are in control right now completely by surprise. They will be stripped of their tools of oppression before they have had a chance to put them fully into play. Already they have been stripped of much of the moral credibility they need to enact any truly nefarious schemes. Even now, if Martial Law were declared, how many would meekly co-operate? There would be immediate and substantial resistance around the country. The actual power of the secularist progressives has deflated unbeknownst to them even as their egos have swollen up.

So what crash means is that all the loudmouth bullies shrieking about “micro-aggressions,” the activists who strip normal people of their jobs, livelihoods and possessions for not believing what government tells them they must, those who systematically assault people of faith, are all going to be wiped away from the field (at least as far as relevance and power). They are utterly useless in rebuilding a broken society and restoring confidence to a sturdy, but assaulted people. It is the people of Judeo-Christian faith, those sturdy yeoman who have never given up on the virtues of faith, family and freedom, that will get us back on our feet to confront the real challenges which will come from Islam and China. No longer cowed by the “we know better than you” crowd, these people will become true heroes. Not Hollywood heroes, but the true kind who care for their family and neighbors – who, in fact, acknowledge God, take the next right step, and act as a sign of hope to those around them. The kind who know how little they can do…but do the little they can anyway, knowing that when they hand their two little fish to Jesus, He transforms it to feed a multitude.

So the crash signals the end of the secularist oppression and the beginning of an authentically Christian revival. Many of those who tormented you will desperately need your help to survive it. If they seek it humbly, give it to them, praying that they are given the mercy to transform their lives and trust God, too. But never let them take control of the levers of authority again. They have shown they are unfit for such service.

Most everyone knows that shortly after a particularly great earthquake, there are often aftershocks, serious in themselves but with only a fraction of the elemental power of the real thing. Fewer people know that in a particularly big one, there are also foreshocks – significant but smaller quakes BEFORE the big one, acting as harbingers of what must come. Now come the cultural and economic foreshocks. They foreshadow the fall of the secularist empire and the re-emergence of the Christian Republic. Prepare prudently and fear not – for the beginning of your deliverance is at hand.



About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in The Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

175 Responses to Steady On

  1. Bob says:

    False dawns and crisis. While you charlie are referring to the major societal ones I believe in our individual lives there are false dawns and crisis which God allows to knock us out of our complacency and pride too. A while back I was talking to my confessor about my struggles with various sins and when I was getting proud and complacent I would invariably go back to my old filth and again learned, hopefully more deeply, my need for reliance on God and not on myself. And our other crisis too can certainly allow us to realize our need for utter reliance on God. As my dad used to remind me “there are no atheists in foxholes” and the hard part is continuing to trust during the good times after a rescue.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fr. Frank says:

    I have just discovered your site, and am so thankful. Please tell me what prudent preparation entails so that I can help my people. Thank you so much for listening all these years! May we all reap a harvest of souls !

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Hi Fr. Frank…welcome to the website. I recommend you use the search feature to look for “preparation” articles to get an idea. Most importantly, preach with both clarity and charity and you will prepare your people to hear. Also, if you have specific concerns, send me an email at I always give priority to the clergy in responding. (Unfortunately, these days, that often means you will hear back from me in two weeks instead of six…but I try to flag them for quick response. I know well that you all are on the front lines – even those of you who don’t yet know it – so anything I can do to give you a little heart and fortitude I well know helps give a multitude the same. God bless you for your dedication to the people in your care).

      Liked by 1 person

    • A Quiet Person says:

      Hi Fr. Frank. I am thankful that you have found this site as well. I am encouraged when Charlie mentions that there are a number of priests and bishops that are paying attention to what is going on. I am glad there is now one more!


  3. Becky-TN says:

    Charlie, I know this is not the place to ask this, but…is there a way to follow the blog (meaning new comments by “posters” get sent to my email) without actually posting a comment? I tried to just click the “Notify me of new comments via email” without writing anything in the comments sections, but that doesn’t work.

    Haven’t posted a lot lately, but praying for everyone here and your intentions. God Have Mercy on Us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      The only way I know Becky is just as with any – refresh the page regularly. But also, there is a column at the right of the page that gives a thumbnail of the latest comments.


    • barb129 says:

      If you go to the blog page and “follow” his blog, they give you a link to “manage” your account with this blog. Here, they give you an option to have all the new comments and posts emailed to you. This is what I have done and all of the comments and posts are emailed to me whenever they are cleared.

      Liked by 1 person

      • marie says:

        Barb 129, many thanks for this! Like Becky, I would also like to read all the comments. I don’t have time to check this blog more than once, or perhaps twice, a day, and I’m aware I have missed a great many comments. I’ll also have a look at your instructions, Petra, thanks.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Petra says:

      Hey Becky-TN, I wrote detailed instructions on how to do this on the Contact page (of Charlie’s blog, found at the top of the page) on July 24, 2015. I hope it helps.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. False dawns indeed.

    “While people are saying, “Peace and safety,” destruction will come on them suddenly, as labor pains on a pregnant woman, and they will not escape.” 1 Thessalonians 5:3

    When the worldly stock-market watching pundits of CNN and what have you are insisting all is well and those with tickling ears greedily pour money into these stocks in expectation that their money will multiply without any actual work… that’s when the *real* crash will come.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jacqueline Marie says:

    Regarding the last sentence of your blog……….I say Yea!!!!! Waiting in love…….Come, Mary, come Lord Jesus, come.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Debbie says:

    Thank you for all the suggestions on finding the page I was reading. I haven’t found it yet and was thinking maybe that is okay. As the days go by since I first heard about “The Storm” , the words pray, trust, and take the next step come to mind when I am feeling fearful about what is to come. I will continue to come here and read all the posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Looking back, at the time, it did appear that what was happening in the stock market was going to lead to the Big Crash. A loss of a thousand points was startling. Back then (and before I discovered your blog), I thought to myself, “This might be IT!” Many people felt the same way. Of course, it wasn’t.

    Nonetheless, you were right on the money (no pun intended) in your analysis. In fact, you mentioned in this post that a certain “big one” situation or event has to take place before the Big Crash. Could the “big one” situation or geopolitical event have anything to do with North Korea (since you have repeatedly mentioned North Korea in the past), or is it something else entirely different of which we are not to know now?


  8. The reading of the “re-emergence of the Christian Republic” gave me tremendous joy. It was very heartening to read that especially when we see so-called “progressives” winning the day and gloating over their triumphs. It is nice to know that soon the tide will turn!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

