Be Not Afraid

calming the storm

By Charlie Johnston

Word of this website and my message has grown rather robustly in the last few weeks. As it does, organized resistance has risen, as well. Some are well-intended but uninformed; some are just reflexive naysayers; a few are malicious; and a few are well-informed but opposed. Some make reference to my “dark, scary messages.” I don’t promulgate “messages,” as regular readers know – I have had a consistent message since I first began talking to my priests 20 years ago. I have a job to give people heart to endure the Storm that is upon us. I build that around my fundamental message. Yes, dark things are happening around us – but anybody can see that now from purely secular analysis, as some top historians, economists and investment analysts have been discussing for over a year now. That is not what is new in what I talk about. What is new is that the gathering darkness is NOT what it seems, but rather a great renewal of God’s people that will culminate in the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart and a renewal of the world based on faith, family and freedom.

Now, various people from around the country are watching where events are scheduled and calling the various dioceses to complain and get those events cancelled. These things must come. Funny thing, in four of my visits, high diocesan officials have been part of the organizing committee – usually anonymously. In one, several priests demurred on scheduling an event for their parish, fearful of what the diocese would think, blissfully unaware that the diocese was involved with planning the visit. Several of the better-known priests and other figures I have visited have been assaulted with calls and complaints in my wake. To their credit, almost all have told their interlocutors that they have heard me, they have read me, and that the critics are utterly wrong or completely mangling what I say. Some left-wing activists are now trolling, pretending to be faithful Catholics and making up nonsense to stop me from speaking.

Even so, I do not want to put the clergy into the midst of a controversy over me. They have enough to worry about – and I would rather support them in their efforts to clearly proclaim the faith with fidelity. If they get caught up in a controversy over me, they can easily get distracted from what is important, which is to proclaim the faith with fidelity. So I ask you, do not schedule an event at a Church, even if the priest is a long-time follower of the website and knows very well how orthodox and hopeful my authentic message is. To do so makes them a target of the trolls that are now gathering in my wake. Get a secular venue. It is not in danger of being targeted or cancelled and does not put any Priest, orthodox or otherwise, into a difficult situation. It is the message that is the key, not the venue. Also, do not think that all who oppose it are doing it from malice. Many are sincere, even more are misinformed…decrying what they have heard I say rather than finding out what I actually say. As you all know, I always point people back to the safety of the Barque of Peter while urging them to acknowledge God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope to those around them. It is understandable, for most people who talk about the things I do actually DO get into some very weird and hinky stuff. I think that when people actually hear me speak I benefit from some very low expectations. They are expecting some wild-eyed doom and gloom guy and when they just get the Trust-Do-Love message, they are both taken aback and joyful. That it is now encountering organized resistance is a good, not a bad sign. But don’t put your priest in a ticklish situation when he needs to be supported in proclaiming the faith with fidelity.

Meantime, the performance of the world markets today continues to jangle a lot of nerves. That is okay. Final crash will come soon enough and this round of the jitters will actually help steady you for when it does. I don’t think it is yet, but even if it is, remember: God wins. Stay steady. Acknowledge Him, take the next right step and be a sign of hope – and all will be well. You have entered into the great adventure that culminates in the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart.

Jesus the Lord is Master of all storms. Be not afraid. He is beside you so long as you hold fast to Him.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Speaking Tour, The Rescue, The Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

95 Responses to Be Not Afraid

  1. SteveBC says:

    Thank you, Charlie, it has been an unsettling day. On top of the market craziness, I just read an article that said that the US government is thinking it will end its commitment to the Multinational Force and Observers operation that has guaranteed the Sinai between Israel and Egypt since 1981. Apparently, the US signed up only to keep Israel and Egypt apart, not to guarantee peace against militants and jihadists.

    If the US decides to leave the Sinai, the operation will collapse, and the protection of Israel will end in that section. If anyone has confirmation of this, please feel free to comment on it.

    Liked by 3 people

    • NancyA says:

      No confirmation, Steve, just commiseration. I just late last night finished reading The Good Spy about Bob Ames, agent extraordinaire in the Middle East, who rose to highest levels and then was killed in the 1983 embassy bombing in Beirut. Much history was explained therein. Our role as a force for good in the world is being eroded to a dismaying degree !

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Very wise advice Charlie. These well meaning but wrong people who seek to ban and bad mouth others to stop them from speaking are a modern day inquisition except they are self-appointed guardians of the faith – which nearly always leads to fanaticism and uncharitable behaviour.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mary Ann says:

      And they are on all sides. Some people say we must put out front that Charlie is Catholic, emphasize Catholic devotions, have it at Catholic venues, etc. People are afraid of evil and error and react this way in defense. But we needn’t be afraid, just stand in truth with love. Now where have I heard that?:) Oh, yes, JPII: Do the truth in love.

      Like

    • EllenChris says:

      Everybody has been told for way too long that it is up to each individual to discern for themselves what seems right even when the Church has no objections. We all need better discernment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I find your message to be what an apostle of our Lord would say in these times. Knowing that things will change and bring about a correction in our lives is refreshing. God Bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pam Nicholson says:

    Israel will act, as it has seen the wavering support by our president. The Israelis know full well what they have been having to accept that they will have to stand on their own, without the support of the US, because we have a president who is anti-Israel unless it is to completely become a muslim state, but, which warring tribe will it be who will take charge? They will all probably fight among themselves, but, let us never forget that Israel is God’s bride, and He will never let a complete takeover of the “apple of His Eye” occur. I think, I don’t know for sure, that everything that has been happening for a very long time in human history has been about Israel. We have a lot of praying to do for the bride of God the Father. Whatever happens, God will be there in the quiet amongst the ruins. No matter what, God never loses and never leaves. I think that Charlie is offering himself to do what he believes he must. And, I have to give him credit for putting himself out there as few will do. He is a willing soldier, and we must pray very much for him right now. God bless you, Charlie. pam, from NJ.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Dave says:

      Pam,
      I agree with your comment about human history and Israel.

      World War 1 saw the collapse of the Ottoman empire and the ability of England and France to redraw the map of the middle east and hold great sway in that part of the world.

      World War 2 then saw the genocide of the Jews and led to the creation of the nation of Israel

      World War 3 will certainly include the attempt to erase Israel from the face of the earth.

      While there are numerous parallel processes now taking place, the struggle between satan and the Jewish people is surely one of them.

      Like

  5. I add my thanks to you, too, Charlie, for your words of Hope — please keep ’em coming, as the days progress. No matter how thoroughly we attempt to prepare ourselves, as things advance, the hairs prickle and a bit of panic knocks at the door. The very air surrounding us seems to be vibrating with urgency. The rubber seems about to meet the road — ready or not, I think we’re commencing to roll.

    I’ve been praying long about certain (serious) personal dilemmas that just have not received answers, and time runs out. I know I’m not the only one: could you respond to that concern that will keep cropping up for many of your readers?

    A related question that is asked by many across the board is this one: you’ve said something to the effect that, “if folks wait until the tanks are coming up the street, it will be too late to leave”. For all who find themselves praying but seem to hear no answers from above, HOW are they supposed to know if and when they should take off, while there’s “still time”?

    An extension of that, for those of us who don’t usually hear words from Heaven, we wonder how we will know anything once the internet is gone. Mine was out the last two days, and boy, there was a taste of that “left behind” feeling — hah! I’ll surely miss my virtual community.

    You wrote this week that you expect some big thing to occur before the Crash — are you able to you give us any hint about that? I’m guessing “no”, but still I ask. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      When I wrote the line about the tanks coming up the streets, Linda, it was in response to some widespread specific errors in thinking for that type of event. the way people were thinking about it was likely to create, rather than solve, problems for them. I actually do not think that particular event is worth worrying about now. Things are now happening fast enough that, however much officials might want to manage such a situation, there won’t be time for them before power has slipped away from them entirely. In fact, I think they have already lost the capacity to mount such an event.

      On how you will know things…most of what I say is not geared to show you what, precisely, will happen – but a different way of thinking, to trust God concretely and immediately, rather than abstractly and theoretically. That requires that you not know much of the detail you want – so you are forced to “stretch out your hand” and trust God when you don’t know. That is hard, but the more you do it, the greater and more serene your trust becomes. I know it is hard, for it is pretty much the technique that was used on me for many things. I sympathize, but tell you with absolute certainty that God never leaves you bereft, even though you cannot see how He will solve certain things.

      Finally for the last big thing that must come, I think I will keep that to myself. All too often I hear myself misquoted or misinterpreted and I think it will do more good for me to use that as a private benchmark so that I am able to tell people calmly when it is nigh – rather than having people watch for signs of what they think I mean and keep in a steady state of agitation.

      God bless you for the good work you are doing.

      Liked by 4 people

      • SteveBC says:

        I think you’re right to wait to discuss what is coming. The idea that you will give us a bit of warning also will help us relax now.

        Like

    • Petra says:

      linda: I lost my internet for about a week a few weeks ago (it was “spotty.” At times I could get on briefly, maybe for enough time to check for important emails, but then it would go down.) Because of it I had the experience of what life was like pre-internet, and I honestly felt the experience was Our Lord giving me a chance to see if I was dependent on the internet, or Him. I think I passed the test okay, because I found although I experienced a little restlessness and missed checking in here and on my regular blogs, I found I was fine, and was not too bothered by not being online. To me that means I am converting to dependence on Him, and not on mankind’s solutions, that can fail.
      One thing I like about the internet is being able to find out “how to’s” easily. For instance, I recently had the opportunity to get a couple of 55 gal. drums for free. I had saw on the internet a while back you can make a wood burning stove out of these. I watched a video on how that is done, and even found out where to order the kit that sells a door, legs, and collar for a stovepipe. Then just a couple of weeks ago I was offered the drums by someone who was throwing them away. I saw this as God’s way of providing me with a means to heat my home in an emergency, so I took them. I also think getting them now is God’s way of giving me time to get them, and my home, ready to install if we have no electricity (power tools). For me this is an example of how God provides and shows you what to do next. I didn’t seek out the barrels, although I knew about being able to convert barrels into stoves. When I was offered them, I took them. I then went online and ordered the conversion kits. This is how I see providence working. I don’t know if we’ll ever use them, but maybe someone else will need them. Who knows? Only God. I just follow along like a dumb sheep. 🙂
      So, that’s what I’ll miss most about the internet – how it makes finding practical things you need to know easy.
      God bless. Love your Summary for Newcomers. Awesome! 🙂

      Like

      • And yet, communication is so important in an emergency. I know of some preppers who are buying CB radios (remember that craze?) for emergency communications. They are relatively cheap, don’t use as much power as a ham radio so can be charged with a small solar panel, and in an emergency can be boosted in power to get longer range (I don’t know how; I just know they can). As for the how-to videos online, I too rely on those for everything from fixing my kitchen faucet to diagnosing that funny noise my car is making. I have started a notebook of how-to’s from internet videos. I am making sketches and writing down instructions of useful skills so that I will have a handbook of things I need to know how to do. Also, I go to library sales and junk stores and pick up cheap how-to books since I know we will be without technology for a while. Also, I am memorizing phone numbers and addresses again. It occurred to me that after I got a smart phone I no longer bothered to memorize any info like that. It is important to have that information in your head. I am also collecting maps again and memorizing routes and roads. GPS won’t help if you don’t have technology. Next project on my list: get a compass and learn how to use it.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Petra says:

          Such good ideas, especially getting books.
          I’m not too worried about communication. I guess I expect it will be like the old days – you just didn’t know exactly what was happening to others you loved that weren’t nearby. It accept that too. That’s life as God created it, but seems so hard for people nowadays. Or at least in former times people tended to stay put closer to their loved ones, probably for that very reason. Interesting all the changes that could happen because of loss of technology.

          Like

    • Erin says:

      Things are starting to roll. But let’s all say it together like the brave men and women on the flight that crashed in Pennsylvania on 9/11. “Let’s Roll” God is in control. Thank Mother Mary in advance!

      Like

  6. podt says:

    Thanks Charlie. You keep me calm , like a Cuban cigar.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jose says:

    “Blessed are they who are persecuted for the sake of righteousness, 9 for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. Blessed are you when they insult you and persecute you and utter every kind of evil against you (falsely) because of me. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward will be great in heaven. Thus they persecuted the prophets who were before you”. Matthew 5: 11, 12

    Like

  8. Kim Sevier says:

    Hi Charlie — the evil one must be really getting nervous. You are ruffling feathers! Thanks for being faithful! And thanks to all who share. Prayers go up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mary Anne says:

      I believe the evil one is not nervous, but even more hate filled. I consecrated myself Sat. at Mass to the Militia Immaculatae. A storm suddenly blew in, and as I was saying my Rosary (right after the Consecration but before Mass), the LOUDEST crack of lightening and thunder blew outside. The entire church gasped. In that exact moment I felt a very strong hatred from Satan towards me. I believe our Lady allowed me to feel it to show me how important it is now not to falter now, as the Lion waits to devour her children who stray from her mantle. Knowingly or unknowingly. Guard yourselves.

      Liked by 3 people

  9. Fran says:

    Thank you Charlie! God bless you as you continue. I am trying not to read much of the news right now and just enter into deeper prayer. I feel called to that this week.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. bflocatholic says:

    Thanks, Charlie. Keep fighting the good fight. I’ll keep praying.

    Like

  11. Larry & Elizabeth Smith says:

    Charlie,
    God gave me a wonderful peace as I watched the “Birmingham Dinner” video for the first time. It is a hard pill to swallow as you might say but your message is full of hope and peace. And as a business owner who has been trying to resolve an issue with the IRS on behalf of a client for over a year I’m hoping we can have change with that group too:)

    I am not surprised by the opposition you are experiencing. Look at the Old Testament and how the prophets were treated by the people. I appreciate you consistent obedience to the “Barque of Peter” as you put it. As I always tell my children, time will prove the Truth in all things.

    For the sake of His sorrowful Passion, God have mercy on us and on the whole world,
    Elizabeth

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Doug says:

    Very sound advice Charlie. Truth with such love and respect. God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. June1 says:

    I came across this video on Sign.org. I know Alex Jones is quite anti-Catholic, but things that this financial expert talked about (imminent collapse of the financial system) seem pretty spot on. He said he would advise against buying any stock after the 25th, that there is only about a week or two of a cushion left before markets completely crash. Seems pretty spot-on with Charlie’s message.

    http://www.sign.org/videos/expert-weeks-till-global-collapse

    I wanted to ask something, as well, Charlie. I have experienced a sudden tidal wave of temptations and spiritual attacks (some of which I have not been able to fend off–have to get to confession asap). Also–and I know this may sound a little silly–but all these terrible sex scandals from people who were perceived as wholesome (Bill Cosby, Josh Duggar, Jared Fogle the Subway guy) have completely shocked me. Well, in a way. You did say one wave after the other would crash. I’m just stunned at what the summer has brought (and also pretty devastated at Josh Duggar’s porn addiction/infidelity. I am a HUGE fan of the family and I can’t stop thinking about it. But we’re all hypocrites in a way, aren’t we?).

    My question is this–and forgive me if it has been asked before–: will this storm bring prodigal sons home, truly turn people from sin, and soften the hardest of hearts? I was talking to my new spiritual director about my husband and how he has fallen away from the Church and he told me that the truth is, there’s a chance my husband will never return and I just have to love him as he is. Definitely quite an assignment for someone who wants to be a saint. But the thought devastated me. That is why I am asking. All the readers here with angry/hostile/lukewarm/uninterested family members… we’re desperate for some hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      I have answered it, but it is worth repeating. Yes, many – maybe even most – will come back home as part of the grace the Storm brings even before the Rescue. But neither you nor I can browbeat anyone – and to nag them is likely to keep them out there longer rather than bring them in sooner. Always live your faith – and never deny it. But simply love those who are dear to you where they are at without participating or enabling their disorder. You CAN do something for them – but it is not what most people think. You can live penance for them, pray for them, trusting God – then wait for God’s time on the matter, trusting that He will have His time, not yours, for fully bringing them home. I have a few family members I deeply love who are in such dangerous territory. I know the fears, for I live them with you. When I say trust God, I do not mean just for yourself, but for them, too – and offer penance while maintaining your integrity and joy. Some of that is an acid test on whether you really trust God – or are determined that when it is someone you love rather than you who are at stake, you are determined to take the wheel yourself from God’s hands. Trust God, maintain a cheerful integrity in your own faith, love your family. and do penance for them. Then wait in confident expectation that when hope in human institutions passes from them, they will easily be able to take up the line of hope in God you have gently left in your wake.

      Liked by 8 people

      • Mary Anne says:

        The perfect answer. Our Lord constantly picks me up and lovingly sets me back behind Him. I think I’m helping them, but I’m not. He must do it. He will do it.

        Like

      • JEM says:

        Charlie, I have two sons in the military (they are both married, with children), one is slated to go to Afghanistan early next year and the other could potentially be going as well (in the new year). My question (and one I have wanted to ask for some time) is what will happen with the military? If there is a catastrophe here, will they still be sent out of country? Or will things be in such a shamble that all of the typical training will come to a halt? I must say that even if there wasn’t a storm coming, I would not want my sons to be deployed under this current leadership. Thank you for all that you do and God bless you.
        Sincerely, JEM

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          JEM, my godson is in the military. Though some of the top ranks have been purged, much of the military – the grunts and mid-level officers are going to be heroes and a great resource to a troubled world. Your son is where he can do a lot of good. I wouldn’t worry too much about deployments next year. Things are changing quickly.

          Liked by 2 people

      • Nancy says:

        Sounds like intercessory reparation–or reparational intercession. Either way, it is standing in the gap. If we do it in and through Mary, she will see to it that her children have all the graces necessary to get back home. I had found a consecration by St. John Paul II called Totally Yours:
        Immaculate Conception, Mary, my Mother,
        Live in me. Act in me. Speak in and through me.
        Think your thoughts in my mind. Love, through my heart.
        Give me your dispositions and feelings.
        Teach, lead and guide me to Jesus.
        Correct, enlighten, and expand my thoughts and behavior.
        Possess my soul. Take over my entire personality and life.
        Replace it with yourself.
        Incline me to constant adoration and thanksgiving.
        Pray in me and through me.
        Let me live in you and keep me in this union always.

        I give everything to her and ask her to do whatever she wants in and through me.

        Liked by 2 people

      • ann says:

        Thank you. I knew this all to be true but it always helpful to hear it once more. June 1 thanks for asking the question. And Charlie thank you for patiently answering it–again. Years ago, I was one of those lost souls–and by God’s grace, at the right time, and thanks I’m sure to my mother’s unrelenting prayer I responded to God’s grace. Now here I am for these many years traveling the same road she traveled but I see what happened to me and so I trust that God in His mercy will do the same for my children and husband. Scripture is full of Our Lord reminding us “No one who ever hoped in Me was disappointed.”

        Like

      • Sandy says:

        Thanks for that wisdom, Charlie. I was just about to make a big mistake by taking a loved one to task for not going to confession and Mass for years. They are not following your blog and it troubles me that they don’t realize what lies ahead. I have been so worried about them. I have so much yet to learn about true trust in the Lord. Please say a prayer for me. God bless you and all in this beautiful community of faith.

        Like

    • EllenChris says:

      A LOT of faithful Christians are experiencing exactly the same thing, June; you are far from being the only one. It is just the last gasp of wrath against us by the enemy. Trust the Divine Mercy always and be at peace.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Doug says:

      June, think Saint Monica. Prayers do matter. The evil one wants you to think there is no hope. I have a wayward daughter that is taking an “around the worldly tour” as I call it. Lord Jesus, please give your peace!

      Like

      • June1 says:

        Absolutely, Doug! I always think of St. Monica and St. Rita in times like these. I’m actually doing the novena to St. Monica right now (although I have fallen 3 days behind and am scrambling to catch up) in the hopes of dragging loved ones’ souls out of the muck and toward the light of Christ. I will also pray for your daughter! I have two small children and the outcome of the storm makes me hopeful for their futures. Just one day at a time, I guess (and tons of prayer!).

        Liked by 1 person

      • Pam Nicholson says:

        Always a reason to hope. What a precious sign how God works in your life. Without hope, we are truly losing but we never lose with hope in God. Blessings on your path, pam, from NJ.

        Like

  14. EllenChris says:

    This is a good opportunity to say what has been on my mind for a while. It is amazing that it is only just a little over a year that Mark Mallett mentioned The Next Right Step on his blog which caused most of us to come here. Over that year a lot has changed for me. I had a deep but incoherent sense of dread and doom without a whole lot of clarity about what was coming. Now I feel a great sense of Hope that God is so truly in control — as Charlie said, “The Master of the Storm.” I am no longer afraid — honestly — about what is coming. The bad guys may seem to have power now, but they DO NOT get to win!

    It has been my experience that the demons always try to whip their tails around at us just as they are being pushed out the door. They always try to cause fear and sorrow just at the point of a great breakthrough into new peace and freedom.

    For what it is worth, I am utterly convinced that we are truly, concretely on the very edge of a new and wonderful time. This is only the last gasp of evil making a pretense of taking control just as it is being defeated. The “Storm” is only a backlash, a final attempt at wreaking havoc as the Kingdom of God establishes God’s Peace and Goodness on this earth.

    We live and move and have our being in the Will of the One, infinite, eternal, all-powerful Being Who is the Holy Trinity. The enemy has no real power over us except that which we give to Him. Is this all-powerful good God Who is Light and Love a liar? No, really — do we believe that He lies to us? Is our Good Mother, Our Lady St. Mary a deceiver? Does She not love and care for Her children? The Church and the Holy Scriptures have given us the Truth which God has revealed to us, and that Truth is that the Kingdom of God IS coming into the World — even now it is at our fingertips.

    Believe in God!!! Trust in Him!!! This is the great Time of the fulfillment of His Promises, and His promises are sure. Somehow by God’s Grace I am not afraid anymore. Our Lady assured us that Her Immaculate Heart will Triumph, and It will. The Church and the World will be Awakened in a new and marvelous way. The Bride will be brought into one, without spot or wrinkle. *Fear Not!*

    Jesus in the Gospel of Luke, chapter 21: “And you, when these things come to pass, lift up your heads, for your vindication is at hand!” Yes, Lord!

    Liked by 13 people

    • Beckita says:

      Another insightful post by you Ellen. Thank you.

      From my own experiences, reading and being mentored in the ways of spiritual warfare, I totally agree: “It has been my experience that the demons always try to whip their tails around at us just as they are being pushed out the door. They always try to cause fear and sorrow just at the point of a great breakthrough into new peace and freedom.”

      A New Day is dawning. Blessed be God! Ave Maria!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Sr Lorraine says:

      That’s a beautiful reflection, Ellen, thank you! I get so much from reading the comments here, as well as Charlie’s articles. It’s finally starting to get into my head too that despite the hardships that may come, we don’t have to be afraid because God is coming to our rescue. It’s made me more hopeful, too. Another thing I’ve noticed is that quite a few people I know of, like relatives of some sisters, have died this summer, many unexpectedly. Charlie said once that we should expect more deaths in the runup to the Storm as God plucks certain persons for his own reasons. It really is happening, and that’s a confirmation for me too. also, a couple cases of persons getting healed spiritually from spiritual afflictions that have been with them for decades. It’s quite amazing, but God is faithful.

      Liked by 3 people

      • denmomof3 says:

        I also thought I had read that at one point a while back, that we should expect more deaths in the runup to the Storm. Interesting how this has been in my mind for a little while now and I had wanted to look up that link where Charlie had mentioned this. It seems like I have been attending more funerals lately. Sr Lorraine, do you know which link it was in which this was mentioned?

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          There is so much here now even I don’t know which link it is on – but I have said often that in these times, as a grace, God is taking many who could not survive the Storm with their soul intact, and in their final state of grace, plucking them so they are not lost to eternity. They can then become great helps to us from the other side. We all are going through the Storm together – and the people of the Church Triumphant are with us all through it.

          Liked by 3 people

      • ann says:

        Sister Lorraine—we too have experienced death in greater numbers among friends, and they seem to be sudden. And then in the news it seems sudden death is falling upon (seemingly randomly but not really) many people, news reporters, policeman, innocent bystanders…I’ve noticed too just this summer the increase in emergency vehicles running past our house with sirens screaming. We never ever had such a volume of it in all the years we’ve lived here in this peaceful rural place but this summer it’s been a steady stream…God have mercy! I pray at every Mass for those who will die “this day” especially those in peril of losing their souls. It is wonderful to hear of healings of spiritual afflictions.

        Like

        • SteveBC says:

          Ann, I’ve noticed the same things. Lots of ambulances. A recent sudden death. People acting in ways that speak of subliminal tension and worry. Markets acting out their own worries. All of a piece. All strange.

          Like

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            I think the media knows well what kind of panic it wants to instill in the hearts of men who attach so much to their vice of gambling/risk-taking with money. Money has become the god of choice and this market collapse, when it comes, and it will, will hurt those mainly who have so much to lose as their addiction to risk-taking is all encompassing in all areas of their lives whether they know it or not. They may actually care about the damage caused by their addiction, and we can hope they do, with humility. Addiction of any kind needs food. Let’s not feed it anymore by paying too much attention to the exterior, and more to the interior. After all, we will all be judged according to the good we have done. Thank God we have a God who remembers our sins no more once we prepare ourselves to make reparation, and then, do our penance when given, and God remembers the sin no more. How many of us can say we do that? Most folks will never believe this is possible. So, we have such a merciful God Who can do the unbelievable. Wow! That’s why He is Who He is. And, we, are sadly and humbly, who we are, and we still have and always will have a good portion of the stain of original sin to wipe away. But, we must want to wipe it away, and, we must then, want to be great saints. That is, after all, those who occupy Heaven and who will pray for us when we need it, and when we humble ourselves, as we hopefully learn, we need it very much all the time. Blessings, pam, from NJ.

            Like

    • ann says:

      You just hit it out of the park, Ellenchris. Grand Slam!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      Ellen, this is awesome! Thank you for the pep talk. 🙂

      Like

    • Jennifer says:

      Ellen, me too! I feel peace now and I came on this blog around the same time you did. Before I struggled much with worry. But God is really showing me how He only asks that we respond and trust Him for the rest. Recently I have had many financial miracles in providing for 7 children with my wonderful husband. I still need a few more! But He is teaching me trust and dependance.

      Like

  15. Terif4008@aol.com says:

    Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Rev. Jackie Jones says:

     Hi Charlie, I want to encourage you to keep proclaiming the Truth. Soon enough, the world will see what you are  talking about. I have waited to see a post about your visit to St. Andrews, in Scotia, NY. I know that you have been busy. However, I have a nagging feeling that you don’t want to publicize that you gave a presentation in an Episcopal church and it was well received. I feel it is extremely important, given the recent decision on gay marriage, that the Christian community know that there are Episcopal churches, which continue to preach and teach the True Word of God. In the name of unity in the Body, please tell the world about St.Andrews.God Bless, Mother Jackie Dowling

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      You are incorrect in your nagging fear, Jackie. I have also not put up Philadelphia, Boston or Vermont yet – which came before Albany. It is just because I am swamped. I am behind on much and I do these in order (except Sacramento – where the host wrote an article that was nicely done). I am proud to have been in that faithful Episcopalian Community and I look forward to getting up the story. I have pictures in front of the sign with Fr. Mike and one of me doing one of the reading during Evensong Prayers. Mr. Ellen offered to have everything done at a Catholic church to honor my Catholic sensibilities – but I told her I wanted to do it at their Church to underscore that I mean it when I say all faithful Christians are to be treated as full and equal partners in the work before us. It was a delight to see that room of about half Catholics and half Episcopalians joining together for Evensong Prayers…and how we all will go forward. I understand your concern – you have been on the receiving end of such timidity before. I am not timid – just swamped.

      Liked by 6 people

    • EllenChris says:

      Hiyah, Jackie! Welcome to the blog! Good to see you (if you are indeed the Rev. Jackie I know) and welcome anyway even if you are someone else.

      Like

      • EllenChris says:

        Woops — I didn’t see your final signature. Good to see you all around. I hope your new situation is proving to be wonderful.

        Like

  17. Kati says:

    It IS an adventure with the entire heavenly cohort with us!!!

    Be ready…if you are part of a parish, let them know about the great things that Lighthouse Catholic Media is doing. Get involved and encourage your parish to be a part of the Worldwide Consecration to Jesus through the Immaculate Heart of Mary. Buy a few books or CD’s and share them with others. The Holy Spirit will guide you. Let the Religious Education people in your parish know that they can purchase terrific programs, retreat guides, CD’s, etc. from Lighthouse for good prices. Check out the Symbolon program for parish renewal. There are many really GOOD things available to us now. 😉
    http://www.lighthousecatholicmedia.org

    PS Lighthouse Catholic Media is non-profit and I do NOT work for them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      Kati, a number of the parishes in my diocese (including my own parish) have Lighthouse Catholic Media CD’s available in the church vestibule. It’s a great thing to see, and these are great resources available for a very low cost. Thanks for putting the word out. (Oh, and I don’t work for them, either; I just really like their stuff.) 🙂

      Like

  18. diane says:

    Steady as she goes, I have been at peace with all the chaos around and I know that that can only come from God. Everynow and then I get a hic-up of anxiousness, but then I say a quick prayer and focus on Christ and all gets reeled into a calmness and peace once again. My son is settled in PA, I had such a moment with his promotion and the satan certainly threw some curve balls at him and me to try and thwart us from doing God’s will. I had to wonder sometimes, if it was truly the will of God for him to leave Florida, because thats where we all are. Then I remembered Charlie’s remarks about how you really should not step in the way of the path God has designed, or it will be worse. So many times as each hit came against us I had to seal my lips and not speak of why I thought maybe my son should not leave. Boy, was that difficult. Because sometimes I thought maybe, just maybe God was sending messages to us for him to stay. But, then realizing that God does NOT bring chaos or confusion, that only comes from the satan. I eventually told my son, once he was there that the company he works for does not want him there as much as God does because it was very much a struggle to get him there. All is well.
    I am going to put our saying, “Acknowledge God, Take the Next Right Step, and be a sign of hope to those around you” “Trust-Do-Love” on a Holy Card and leave them at church and different places for people to find. You all are in my prayers always and I thank you for yours. God is Good to allow us the moment in time to get things where they should be. Out of the hands of Progressives and into the hands of Him who loves us so much. Sometimes I shake my head and wonder how in the world did we get so off balance. And then I remember what so many saints warned us of – The world, the satan and ourselves – and for some reason original sin keeps us from claiming our inheretance i guess because we are so weak and feeble minded from the slaughter that it caused. Oh How Great He is, that we have the hope of living our lives with dignity again. I have a feeling that after the rescue, even those of us who have great faith now will be amazed at how weak it actually is and will be overwhelmed with how much we missed out on, but how much more we will have when we are fully vested in the Love the Father has for his children. Love. I do.

    Liked by 7 people

  19. Jason says:

    Hey Charlie and folks, nice article about Charlie and other matters on spiritdaily.com today
    http://spiritdaily.com/cahnshemitah2.htm

    Charlie, you got me off the smokes and on the vaper!!! Keep fighting the good fight. The world is groaning with pain and the whole world is seeing it from Drudge, to our protestant brothers and sisters and to even the secular progressives.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Great news, Jason! Vaping satisfies without harming your lungs or disturbing others. I was skeptical when my son pushed me to try it, but I am so glad I did. The only downside is that your sense of smell returns to you with much greater intensity – and you discover a lot of things you couldn’t smell before smell pretty bad.

      Liked by 1 person

      • NancyA says:

        Ahh, but YOU no longer do(smell pretty bad), and that is wonderful for all around you!

        Liked by 1 person

      • José Tomás says:

        I’ve been vaping for two years and a half and couldn’t be happier.

        However,I am a little bit concerned about if I will be able to get access to liquids and coils doing the storm… Time to start some stockpiling. 🙂

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Well, I have been a bit concerned about what happens if I don’t have electricity. I guess I would return to smoking. I’d probably lose a little weight in the process. But whatever will be will be.

          Liked by 2 people

          • NancyA says:

            LOL, no worse than those of us wondering if we’ll still be able to get chocolate…we’ll probably lose a little weight also. (all the more reason to have some on now?? 😉 )

            Liked by 1 person

          • laura says:

            My husband bought a small solar powered charger specifically for our E-cigs. 🙂

            Like

          • NancyA says:

            you know, cigarettes and alcohol have been high on secular recommended lists for items to stock up on for bartering. I cannot bring myself to purchase cigarettes for that purpose.

            Like

          • José Tomás says:

            My grandma survived and cared for my mom and my uncle / aunts after WWII in Hungary and Germany by stocking cigarettes and hiding them under my mom in a hidden space in her cradle… It was the only currency available.

            Like

          • maryj says:

            Bulk bags of rolling tobacco are in my prepping closet,along with rolling papers….I have wondered how many eggs I can barter for how much tobacco!

            Like

          • Petra says:

            maryj: did you know you can preserve eggs for a year (or more, I think) by rubbing them with mineral oil and periodically flipping the carton? Here’s a link for the info on a site called Prepared Housewives. She gives instructions here: http://prepared-housewives.com/preserve-eggs-with-mineral-oil/
            And she shows the results of a test she did herself on eggs one year later (which is pretty impressive) here: http://prepared-housewives.com/preserving-eggs-experiment-1-year-later/

            Anyway, I guess the next thing is to stock up on mineral oil and eggs.
            God bless.

            Liked by 1 person

          • I asked in prayer how to preserve eggs as the hens lay great in summer and much less in winter.
            God was quick to answer

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            I love it!

            Like

          • Petra says:

            Margaret munck: re: asking in prayer about eggs and getting the info here – That is amazing to me! And says to me none of us, not even one of us, should doubt for even one second that regardless of what is coming upon us as individuals, no matter how dire and how much we fear it, God is watching, hearing and taking care of even our most minute concerns. Really, your post says it all! Thank you!
            God bless.

            Liked by 1 person

  20. annef444 says:

    Thank you Charlie for all that you do. You are the best. I wouldn’t ever want to trade places with you. Which is why you are the best person for your job, you would take my place or others if you could. The message is so simple ‘do the next right thing and be a sign of hope’. We are not to worry about semantics. Just do the next right thing. I think the reason people like me and even your daughter have only known life as a storm is to have a calmer readiness. A stronger focus. Not to shy away from the difficult. To have a different understanding of others, but most important confidence in God’s never failing love. I am a better person for walking through hell. Life is difficult. I hear that in your message. Some don’t know real difficulty and hardships. What I feel in your message is not to fear, trust and love God, do right and we will come through. Like getting scared when you hear a noise in the middle of the night only to find it was a raccoon in the garbage. Next time you hear the noise your not afraid, maybe aggravated because you know you have a mess to deal with, but your not afraid. You have giving us the message so we know not to fear. I am not afraid for I love and trust God. You can’t make up the Truth. God bless you Charlie

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Jeanne says:

    God bless you Charlie, and God bless us all. The Chinese financial collapse and Wall Street seem pretty interesting, eh? Just want you to know that I’m trying to gently share YOU with my loved ones, and am meeting resistance and skepticism. That’s fine with me. I am sharing your message: acknowledge God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope to those around you. My husband is listening with a “grain of salt” – my sister in law and I are getting prepared as best we can. God bless us all!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      There have been a lot of graces associated with the Birmingham Video – and it gives a good synopsis of what I am saying. Sometimes people emphasize the crucifixion while forgetting that my primary message is about resurrection.

      Like

    • EllenChris says:

      I am a member of the Anglican Franciscan Community of the Holy Cross. Just this past weekend we had our yearly retreat and chapter meeting. (Which was really wonderful this year, BTW). Our current Guardian (a Franciscan equivalent of a “superior” in other orders) is a little bit skeptical concerning the specifics of The Storm. In our chapter meeting, the discussion turned to the difficulties that people are now experiencing and also see coming. I didn’t need to mention Charlie or the prophetic stuff as such. I just said: “If we are really trusting in God, then all we have to do is help each other and the people around us for whatever is needed at the moment, and then we will show people that there is great Hope in having a relationship with God in Jesus Christ. They will see that we have Hope, and they will want what we have.” Everybody immediately and completely got the message, and had a lot of peace about it. As Franciscans, we really resonated with this.

      So, really I think that what Charlie is doing and saying is the real point. If we just share, “Trust-Do-Love” then people don’t have any problems and can get on board easily.

      Liked by 3 people

    • José Tomás says:

      Here’s my approach:

      I tell people that these things (the Storm) MAY come. I point to the financial situation, and to the [ insert disaster of the day/week here ] and then I say: If the Storm DOES NOT come, never mind. But if it DOES come, it’s not the end of the world and actually it’s a hopeful situation because [ insert hopeful counsel here appropriate to listener].

      Liked by 2 people

  22. grateful says:

    Charlie,

    Thank you for being a witness and a model for us as the storm approaches.

    I look forward to the triumph and the rescue; however, I do have a question that has been troubling me in the meantime. My boyfriend and I have been discerning marriage over the last two years, and are at a point where an engagement is possible within weeks (possibly days). Our coming to this conclusion has had nothing to do with a rush of trying to beat impending or future events – only that this is the amount of time that we have needed. I feel that moving forward in confidence, united in the holy sacrament of marriage would be an important source of grace for each of us (and others) during the turbulent times ahead. (I also hope that he and I might have the opportunity to raise a holy family in the era of peace that lies beyond). I am wondering if you echo and support my thoughts? Or, if it is possible that the storm might somehow change our call or vocation due to circumstance? I hope it is the former and not the latter – but I do appreciate your thoughts. Thank you in advance for your guidance.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I had a young woman ask me in Portland whether I thought it was prudent to have a child now. I told her I could think of no more courageous and authentic faith that could be lived right now. I have had several people ask me about marriage. Again, I think it a profound and refined act of faith and trust in these times. God bless you and (I hope) your fiancé.

      Like

    • June1 says:

      Grateful, I will be praying for your and your boyfriend’s discernment. I am desperately hoping that the end result of the storm will cause my husband’s heart to be opened up wide to Christ but also to accepting gifts from Him and having more children (which it is definitely not right now). Please pray for us, too.

      Like

      • Pam Nicholson says:

        June, everyday we live and are still able to consume all that God provides is a gift. I had to learn that, and still have to remember that. It is a good time to pray and reflect on what we want in our relationship with God. We all have such precious little time on this earth to decide to begin a relationship, and one of them is what we do best. Count on Him for everything He is still providing for us to live. What would we do without Him then? Blessings on your path. pam, from NJ.

        Like

  23. Susan Martell says:

    Hello Charlie, My friend Margaret Munck said you were not able to read her blog – maybe this will help http://womenespousingpurity.blogspot.com I just used it and it worked.

    Thank you for your blog. I am trying to keep up!

    Like

  24. kathleenmary514 says:

    God Wins! >

    Like

Leave a Reply

