The People of the Kingdom Rising

troops rising

By Charlie Johnston

For over 20 years I have spoken a consistent message to my priests – and for the last two to all of you. Now, some secular commentators and religious analysts have caught up somewhat with what I was saying from the beginning. They see that our cultural, social and justice systems are entering into crucifixion. But they have not fully caught up with what I have been saying from the beginning, for while they usually only see crucifixion, I have seen and described resurrection from the beginning. Perhaps they will catch up with me on that soon enough, too. But I am convinced that that is largely why I have such a booming audience these days. Everyone sees cultural crucifixion on the horizon; I speak of cultural resurrection – for that is what I have been shown from the beginning.

Already, the solid yeomanry, men and women of faith throughout the country are rising. Those in the seats of power are already become irrelevant even before the fall. They issue their orders, and people ignore them and rise. Just two quick stories:

First, the American men who stopped the terrorist attack on the train in France last week. Had we left it to government, they would be droning on about workplace violence and such while telling us that Islam is a religion of peace. In fact, the train security forces ran for cover as soon as danger reared its head. But the off-duty American soldiers acted as truly noble men should everywhere: they defended those under assault and were a profound sign of hope to hose around them. God bless the government of France, which immediately and gratefully recognized their heroism. People know true heroes when they see them.

The story I absolutely love is this one from Todd Starnes – where an entire town gently but firmly told a smarmy judge that they would not stand for it anymore. I love this story so much, I reprint it in its entirety:

Todd’s American Dispatch

School band told to stop performing ‘How Great Thou Art’

A man shows his support for the Brandon High School band in Mississippi.  (Courtesy: Brittany Mann)

A man shows his support for the Brandon High School band in Mississippi. (Courtesy: Brittany Mann)

There was no halftime show under the Friday night lights at Mississippi’s Brandon High School — the marching band had been benched.

The band was ordered off the field because the Christian hymn “How Great Thou Art” was a part of their halftime show — in violation of a federal court order.

Click here to join Todd’s American Dispatch – a MUST-READ for Conservatives!

“The Rankin County School Board and District Office are very saddened students will not be able to perform their halftime show they have worked so hard on this summer,” the district wrote in a statement to the Clarion Ledger newspaper.

In 2013 a student sued the district over a series of Christian meetings that had been held on school property, the newspaper reported. The district later settled the lawsuit and acknowledged they had violated the student’s First Amendment rights.

In July, U.S. District Court Judge Carlton Reeves ruled the district had violated the agreement after a Christian minister delivered a prayer at an awards ceremony.

Judge Reeves, who was appointed to the bench by President Obama, came down hard on the school district — ordering them to pay thousands of dollars in fines. He also warned the district that future violations would cost them $10,000.

“Defendants are permanently enjoined from including prayer, religious sermons or activities in any school sponsored event including but not limited to assemblies, graduations, award ceremonies, athletic events and any other school event,” the order reads.

Word about the band getting benched spread across the town quicker than kudzu. I must have received emails and Facebook messages from nearly the entire state – from Desoto County to Yazoo City.

Something must be done to right this wrong, people said. A message had to be sent to the likes of Judge Reeves. Locals  gathered in coffee shops and garages to devise their plan.

And what they did — would become known as the musical shot heard around the world.

During halftime of Friday night’s game – a lone voice began to sing the forbidden song.

“Then sings my soul, my Savior God to Thee,” the singer sang.

Brittany Mann was there and she witnessed the entire moment of defiance.

“We were just sitting there and then one by one people started to stand,” she told me. “At first, it started out as a hum but the sound got louder and louder.”

She said it was a “truly incredible” moment to watch hundreds of people singing together in the stadium.

“At that moment I was so proud of my town – coming together and taking a stand for something we believe in,” she said. “It breaks my heart to see where our country is going — getting farther and farther away from the Christian beliefs that our country was founded on.”

I suspect Miss Brittany wasn’t the only one who felt a sense of pride in the Magnolia State on that warm summer night.

“We may be pictured as toothless, barefoot, uneducated people around the country, but we are far from it,” nearby resident Mandy Miller told me. “I’m from Mississippi and I’m not ashamed to take a stand.”

Oh what a sight it must have been — as hundreds and hundreds of people stood together and with one voice — sent a message to Judge Reeves.

“This is the kind of thing that makes me proud to be from the South,” Miss Mandy told me. “We are getting tired of being told to sit down and shut up. People are ready to fight back.”

Miss Mandy is absolutely right. The time has come to stand up to the secularists.

The time has come to put an end to their cultural jihad.

I hope the Rankin County School Board will reconsider its decision and allow the marching band to resume performing “How Great Thou Art.”

And should Judge Reeves make good on his threat to financially punish the school district, I will personally pay the $10,000 fine.

Todd Starnes is host of Fox News & Commentary, heard on hundreds of radio stations. His latest book is “God Less America: Real Stories From the Front Lines of the Attack on Traditional Values.” Follow Todd on Twitter@ToddStarnes and find him on Facebook.

All I can say is that the Song of Thanksgiving has already begun to be sung spontaneously throughout the world.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Solidarity, The Rescue, The Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to The People of the Kingdom Rising

  1. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    This story is music to my ears.😉

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    And, ironically, I don’t even like that hymn ( How Great Thou Art) — give me “Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence” or “Praise We Christ’s Immoral Body.” But, I would have sung with the Mississippians on this one!🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

      Yes, that would be “Immortal Body,” not “Immoral.” Not sure if that was a typo or my old nemesis the “autocorrect,” but either way, that was obviously the incorrect hymn title. And, I even thought I proofread it!:/

      Liked by 3 people

    • mmbev says:

      Um, that second song sounds interesting. Would you please teach all of us?


      • mmbev says:

        Well. so much for that one!


        • connie says:

          Well, I can no longer resist. Bev, you made me do it.

          Was watching a Mother Angelica classic on EWTN yesterday and Mother was going to make a point about something and started about by saying condoms instead of condominiums – needless to say it got the whole audience laughing a good belly laugh! Bless her, Mother is as real as it gets. I got a good belly laugh out of it too- and was happy for the little lift in my spirit it brought. Thank You Mother Angelica for being you!


          • Mick says:

            Monica, MMBev, and Connie… Stop it! You’re making me cry, I’m laughing so hard!🙂


          • Doug says:

            I used to live in a condom, I mean condominium until we moved to New Hampshire from Massachusetts. Oh, I digress, probably not the right venue for this. I will say I am for NFL, I mean NFP my daughter practices it (I’m so proud of her) By the way divorce rate for people that use NFL, I mean NFP is about 2-3 percent. I am 54 with 3 grown kids and my only regret is I wish I had more kids.


  3. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    The seeds of righteousness have been sown by our Lord and Savior; we see the sprouts arising. May we see an immense revival and return to God.

    Liked by 9 people

  4. Bravo Mississippi! Thanks for sharing.


  5. Donna says:

    How Great Thou Art, indeed!! I had not seen the story until you shared this, Charlie. I love that a small town has decided they will no longer be victims! Go Brandon!
    Charlie, your perspective about the need to look ahead to our rescue is a good one. The easiest way for someone to lose hope would be to forget how the story ends. Mary, our blessed and amazing mother, will bring God’s victory! If we really remember the glorious light in the last chapter, we will be sustained and hope filled! Keep posting, Charlie. 🙂. There is a good reason why your readership is up!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. terif4008 says:

    Thank you

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE smartphone


  7. Mack says:

    These examples are so inspiring. There was also the young American, Keith Broomfield, who volunteered to go to Syria to fight ISIS and was killed earlier this summer. Keith turned his life around after a religious conversion, and believed that God called him to go there:

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Carmelite says:

    What an absolutely heartwarming story!!! God bless the American soldiers, the people of Brandon High School, and ALL who stand up and sing for freedom.
    Thank you, Charlie, for sharing this :-)))

    Liked by 1 person

  9. The band will play on you’ll see. The people have spoken or sang as the case may be!! Let’s all join in the chorus How Great Thou Art!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      This was such a thoughtful and touching way to take a peaceful moral stand. I was so inspired by the story. My favorite rendition of this song is by Elvis Presley. I am partial to Precious Lord Take My Hand and There Will Be Peace In Valley also sung by Elvis. I play his gospel music at Christmastime each year reminiscent of my deceased mother. May we all keep hope and a song in our hearts as we brave The Storm. Be assured that all of you and your intentions are in my daily prayers as well. God Bless.

      Liked by 2 people

      • charliej373 says:

        My uncle was the original bass singer in the Masters Quartet. They featured him in a rendition of this that is till my favorite. It was back in the 60’s…alas, his copies of the LP album were all destroyed in a flood and I have never been able to find another one.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ed Allison says:

          Is this it Charlie?


          • charliej373 says:

            Wow, it might be, Ed. It has been over 40 years…it may be a later iteration of the group…I actually think it is. I recognize some of the singers…but the bass doesn’t quite sound like Uncle Billy. I have sent it on to my cousin to have her check with him. I am amazed that you found this. I think on the album he is credited as James W. Johnston.


  10. Kim Sevier says:

    Another example–a couple days ago a police officer in Louisianna was shot in the head during a traffic stop. Several people stopped to help the officer, called for help on his radio, and subdued the shooter who was taunting the officer. Unfortunately the officer who had a wife and child did not survive. We are steping up! Alleluia!


  11. Jeanna says:

    I’m starting to see so many similarities between the situation the early Christians found themselves in and the situation we are in today. Other prophecies I have read (by saints) suggest that the coming era of peace will be even greater than Christendom was in the middle ages… and of all times God chose to place us in human history he put us here in this day. These are exciting times to live in for sure! Jesus, I trust in you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bob says:

      Jeanna I was thinking today of how Gandalf in Lord of the Rings, I think, once said that the quest of the small band is like “A fool’s hope” and yet the victory was won by many next right steps and the grace was given. So hold on during the trials which must come.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. NancyA says:

    I think it’s important for all to know that the three originally identified Americans were not all servicemen. (I have NOTHING against servicemen: my husband is an AF veteran) One of the young men was “just” a college student. The newly id’d man who is still hospitalized is a professor. I make the distinction because I am so VERY proud of young, “real” Americans right now.

    When I FIRST heard the news, and heard that it was three Marines (none were Marines), I presumed that they were following a suspected terrorist, knew of the plot and were ‘ready.’ So far from how what turned out to be true, and I am so impressed, moved and proud!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. aprolifer says:

    Todd Starnes, don’t you DARE pay a $10K fine. That just encourages the b…s. Nobody should pay it. There are better things to do with your money, like help out the Louisiana cop’s family.


  14. Bob says:

    Charlie you are responsible for this. I keep hearing a little ditty in my head and it starts with “And the people of the Kingdom… and ends with … And God shall Rule”!!! And lately my prayers have been that God would act to make our world better and soon. May His Kingdom soon come.

    Liked by 1 person

    • mmbev says:

      That’s why Our Lady had Charlie sing the song for us. The Triumph doesn’t have to wait until the moment WE decide the “Crash” has happened. It’s happened. The day that the car began going downhill without gas was the moment the Triumph began. And all heaven was in rejoicing. (Nothing like will happen when we get to the end. Whether we will recognize that “end” who knows. We will recognize something.)

      And Charlie will stand somewhere on Mt. Meeker, and sound his trumpet alone, but with the entire heavenly host, above and before, behind and around him. The clear, clean sounds will carry throughout the universe; and knowing this, I wonder if any other human except him will hear. He will know when.

      He played it for the call into battle although I’m not sure if he knew it then. And he will sound the ending notes. It is his privilege and honour, and well deserved. The reverberation of his notes will ring and ring through ages, telling of Our Lady’s Triumph, of how Our Lord Jesus honoured His Mother by having her Immaculate Heart “birth” Him into the world a second time.

      Did not the heavenly host shatter the heavens with their song then? That was not presented as a battle. This truly is one. That is why Charlie has been chosen to sound the horn at the beginning and will sound Her Triumph and Her Son’s presence signalling for heaven to break it’s silence and rejoice. As ancient Israel did, so it will happen again.

      We are all His people.

      “If today you hear His voice, silence not your hearts.”

      So let our hearts swell with song now! Now is the time, now is the hour! The song was not delivered with an orchestration. It was just sung words. (Charlie?)

      Sing without ceasing of the praises of the Lord. Is it possible that we could do less?! If in our hearts, the sound is not silent – all heaven, breathlessly, waiting, hears it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • connie says:

      Me too, Bob!


  15. SH says:

    Here is a “must hear” version of the song by Carrie Underwood. It interesting how God is forming different types of “faith communities” big and small and I admire the leadership role of the person who dared to start the singing. I would love to hear Mark Mallett and Carrie sing a duo. Two amazing singers.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Laura says:

    Charlie, How can i contact you for a personal conversation?


  17. Michelle says:

    What a lovely way to fight back……with a song.


  18. Charlene says:

    Love the article about the folks in Brandon MISSISSIPPI. fyi in case this has not been posted. A clip from the folks in Brandon singing how great thou art….love it

    thankyou so very much for letting us know. God Bless your day.

    Liked by 3 people

  19. Doug says:

    Makes me say bring on the storm, but I know I will probably regret it when in the middle of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. SteveBC says:

    Charlie, I think you should also put a link to your Birmingham video in the “Summary for Newcomers” tab in your navigation bar.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. EllenChris says:

    I like some of Stephen King’s books because he recognizes evil as evil — not just some point of view — and his heroes are courageous people who fight evil with love and truth and *defeat* it. Probably the best of his books is *The Stand* in which people gravitate to good or evil after a kind of apocalypse. The person who is the embodiment of evil has created a fascist state in Las Vegas, and he is seeking to destroy the colony of the good people in Colorado (maybe just a little prophetic?!). Near the end of the book, some of the good people who are spying in Las Vegas say something like, “this place is changing; his hold is crumbling — can’t you feel it? He is losing his grip — you can feel it.”

    That is the way I have begun feeling now. People are beginning to “Stand”! The good folks are not just laying back and letting evil run roughshod over us all. “He” IS beginning to lose his grip, the enemy is. God knows His own, and we are finding what we need to show that goodness is Good, and evil is not desirable. This whole point in history is not about The Storm, with a Rescue tagged on at the end. It is about the New Era in which God SHALL Rule. It is coming right NOW. And the Storm is just the last temper tantrum of an already-defeated foe.

    God loves us completely. He is not seeking to wreak some arbitrary punishment upon us. He is allowing the enemy’s temper tantrum as a means to purifying us enough to be able to live peacefully and joyfully in the New Era.

    The only things we will lose will be our idols. The Idols must and will go. Whatever we surrender to God will be held in His Heart.

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Elegantly and accurately put, Ellen.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Anne says:

      Only yesterday I was filling in for a year one teacher. A student in a brand new picture book by a Stephen King…….. Had a quick glance. Theme was Hope…. Cannot remember whole title but the Darklings was in title. I have never read Stephen King…. I sense it is same person. Then EllenChris comments here!!!


    • ann says:

      ellenchris–yes!! Beautifully said. It makes me think of The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe when suddenly the trees started dripping and the snow melting and the ice cracking. The White Witch was losing her grip, inch by inch, and Aslan was “on the march.” Of course there was the dreadful battle yet to come but the grip was definitely loosening…just like The Stand. I loved the character who embodied the good and led the “good” people–what was it she said, “I’m 90 years old and I can still bake m’ own biscuits” thus proving none of us are too old to get a dog in this fight.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. ann says:

    This brave stand from the Mississippi high school band gives me chills. It reminds me so much of the scene in Casablanca (wonderful classic WWII movie)when one by one the people at Rick’s night club, in defiance of the Nazis singing their militant march, start to sing the Marseillaise, voice by voice until it’s a thundering chorus, drowning out the Nazis. What I love about this movie is it was made in 1942 when the war was going so badly and there was no knowing whether the Allies would be able to hold their own let alone win. It lends a real power to the whole movie and especially this scene. Dare I say it resembles our situation right now. We’re in the battle of our lives for our country and it hasn’t been going well but here are the brave band members and audience in Mississippi rising up against the “Nazi” rule and singing a song praising God. What a beacon of hope.

    Liked by 5 people

  23. Charlene says:

    Casablanca is one of my all time favorites. Just watched it again last week and I remember that part very clearly. Interesting

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Bob says:

    It might be nice for us to get the address of that judge in Mississippi and to flood his courthouse with mail with the lyrics to “How Great Thou Art” and in the future the ideal would be that every time a judge or some misled person makes that kind of ruling it would serve as an opportunity to do more of what the elites want us to do less of.

    Liked by 3 people

  25. Mary Ann says:

    I am thinking that for the next game the band can leave the uniforms at home, bring their instruments to the game, sit in the stands randomly, and play along with the crowd!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Exploring the Many Aspects of Liberation


God speaks to us on every page of Scripture


Extraordinary lessons in ordinary moments

Veil of Veronica

A Catholic Mom's Spiritual Journey

The Next Right Step

Abraham's Journey


Commentary on all things Catholic, Roman that is!

Cafe con Leche

An American/Caribbean Catholic couple keeping it real!


Christ based, indepenent, sustainable living

