Live It

jesus-and-peter-walking_on_water

By Charlie Johnston

It is striking to me that many of those who should worry least about the Storm worry the most while most of those who don’t worry at all have a lot to worry about.

Imagine you have outfitted a canoe to navigate through a chain of lakes and streams. It is best to lay out a plan on how to steer through the various streams and what direction to take in order to reach your desired destination, for you are in control…you are driving, as it were. That is normal life. Now imagine that same canoe at the beginning of a great series of rapids you are not familiar with. The first thing to understand is that you are not driving, but being driven. In this case, having a plan on where to steer and what direction to take will likely cause you to capsize – for you do not know what turns and dangers are coming or when they will appear. Instead, you are called to react quickly and skillfully to whatever turns and obstacles arise as they arise. Survival depends on how well you respond to challenges in the present moment.

Right now we are in the early stages of an intensifying series of spiritual rapids. I get a host of letters and comments these days telling me, with great grief, that no matter how someone plans something, it is not coming out right…or about deepening divisions in families…or in shock at the latest outrage perpetrated by the ruling and chattering classes. As St. Peter said, “Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal, which comes upon you to prove you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice in so far as you share Christ’s sufferings that you may also rejoice and be glad when His glory is revealed.”-I Peter 4:12,13. I have told you that these things must come – and so they have begun. I have told you that your only source of security is to abandon yourself to God, then do what is right in front of you, trusting that He will ultimately bring all things to right. Yet some have used what I have said to devise their own plans to avoid the consequences of all this – and now are frightened that their plans are not working out. If you are in that place, be thankful it is happening to you now, for it is simply God gently relieving you of the illusion that you can rely on your efforts rather than His Grace. Do not think I am chiding you: I had decades to learn this. As I have occasionally said, I hope you are all quicker learners than I was, for events have reached a pass where you must be. But if you have such sorrows now, be thankful that you are close enough to what you should be that God finds it profitable to reprove you and bring you along to a real trust. Save your sorrow for those who have no idea there is anything to be sorrowful about, for by the time many of them learn, it will be too late for them to correct their course without a heroic effort.

Are there painful divisions in your family and among your friends? There are the same in mine – and in almost every family I know. And those divisions have ratcheted up dramatically this year. But I told you late last year that they would. You will not convince anyone by becoming more manically insistent on what you believe. Rather you must imitate the farmer.

Consider the farmer: he plants a seed, then must wait up to a week for a sprout to appear. It is a month before a real plant takes shape – and even longer than that for fruit to appear. He conjures neither the plant nor the fruit, but merely waters the ground – and in due time, God raises up a plant which bears fruit. When you speak with confident joy about what you believe, you plant a seed. Once you have done that, simply live what you say you believe with the same joy. When you do that, you water the ground. But to continue to try to push on the unwilling what you believe is to constantly root around where you planted, disturbing the ground and perhaps choking the tender plant before it can take firm root. The farmer must trust God for the increase after he has planted the seed. So must you. Every day that you spend arguing the faith instead of living it with confident joy after you have planted the seed, you are actually withholding water from that tender plant even as you dig around its roots. Stop trying to frantically conjure fruit and trust God for the increase.

I will tell you now something that may seem like a boast, but if it is, it is a boast on the sure confidence we can place in the Lord’s providence. Only once in my life have I ever encouraged someone to become Catholic or Christian. I just don’t do that. My friends and family know what I am and how I live. I meet people where they are and, if they are of good will, share ordinary joys and conversation with them. All know what I believe in, but we are more likely to talk about sports, politics, movies or whatever than God at any given moment. (If you truly believe in God, all good things you discuss are ultimately about God, whether you name Him or not). Even before I went public with these things, when God was mentioned it was brought up far more often by my friends – even those who do not believe – than by me. This was simply because all people knew they could talk to me and get a conversation or an explanation without a harangue to go with it. I truly believes God reads hearts – and if there is good will there, He will bring it to fullness in His time. My task is to encourage the good will that is already there, not to stifle it by haranguing my friends. Even so, there are dozens – at least a hundred I know of from before I ever spoke openly of this – who cheerfully and spontaneously credit me with a major role in their conversion. Why? Because however peculiar I might have seemed at any time, I always lived what I spoke with cheery confidence. I meant it, not just spoke it…and many wanted some of that cheery confidence for themselves. Long faces and strident arguments make for meager evangelization.

So it is all the more critical that as things get darker, you live your joyful confidence visibly and lightly. If you speak of joy but your countenance is ever clouded with worry or panic, your life gives the lie to your words. Live it. That is the witness that transforms lives. When you feel it, live it. When you don’t feel it, live it. When you are exuberant, live it. When you are exhausted, live it. If I had a dime for every convert who told me that my consistent easy confidence drew them into the faith, I would not be rich – but I would have a LOT of dimes. Live it.

Your friends hear what you say, but they also see your face. In the midst of the Storm, while Peter kept his eyes on Jesus, he walked on the water, too. When he was distracted by the terrors of the storm, he began to sink. Your friends see your face and know whether you have confidence in the Jesus you speak of, or whether you have been panicked by the storm around you. If it is the latter, know that however polite they might be to you, they have already decided the peace they seek is not here. Live it – and you will be a true evangelist. In these times, every time you give way to panic or stridency, you dishearten those you are called to evangelize. Your serene and joyful confidence IS the lifeline for multitudes around you.

I know this is hard. Even now, I often say to the Lord, along with the father of the troubled son, “I do believe. Help my unbelief.”Mark 9:24.

Love those around you and live it always.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Solidarity, The Storm and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

231 Responses to Live It

  1. A reader posted a comment in my blog with this Psalm (46) [ http://tinyurl.com/qjmf58z ] which I think is the best advise on what to do to be prepared. Resolve to trust in the power and mercy of God. He wants to save us more than we want to save ourselves. He will take care of us, He will heal us. We will emerge from this experience better and wiser than we are now. Fear him with godly fear of offending Him. Do not be indifferent, do not rely in your own strength or ingenuity. NO ONE on earth has ever gone through anything even remotely similar — believe not anyone’s words but the reliable word of Jesus: “For at that time there will be great suffering, such as has not been from the beginning of the world until now, no, and never will be.” Matthew 24:21 Eyes fixed on Him and pay no attention to the roaring winds around you. The biggest force in the Universe is there to rescue us.

    1 God is our refuge and strength,
    a very present help in trouble.
    2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth should change,
    though the mountains shake in the heart of the sea;
    3 though its waters roar and foam,
    though the mountains tremble with its tumult.
    4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
    the holy habitation of the Most High.
    5 God is in the midst of the city; it shall not be moved;
    God will help it when the morning dawns.
    6 The nations are in an uproar, the kingdoms totter;
    he utters his voice, the earth melts.
    7 The Lord of hosts is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our refuge.
    8 Come, behold the works of the Lord;
    see what desolations he has brought on the earth.
    9 He makes wars cease to the end of the earth;
    he breaks the bow, and shatters the spear;
    he burns the shields with fire.
    10 ‘Be still, and know that I am God!
    I am exalted among the nations,
    I am exalted in the earth.’
    11 The Lord of hosts is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our refuge.

    Liked by 7 people

  2. Charlene says:

    Good day to you Charlie. Just read Mark Mallett blog this thurs morning. Sure hope someone videos the night the two of you will be together. If my husband and I were able we would absolutely love to be there. God bless you and all our Our Lord’s Watchmen in theses incredible times.

    Like

  3. Pam Nicholson says:

    Now, this is all true! Are we all listening? Are we paying attention to the Signs of the Times? What we have is to learn how to live faithfully and to live holiness in our lives no matter what vocation we have chosen. I think one thing about Charlie’s writing that may or may not be true. It sounds true from all we are given by God through the deposit of faith. I do not try to change people’s faith, merely, that they live it. Most folks do not know what their faith espouses fully, or as fully as what has been given to them. If one plants a seed, a good seed with one’s words and actions, people will convert, not just to a particular religion, but, to faith in God Itself. Lest we never forget what Jesus did give us through His Sacraments. When we accept the Sacraments Christ gave us through His disciples, He did expect that they act upon what He “told them to do”. I am a joyful catholic, as sick as I am, being bedridden at times, I am joyful that God led me to the catholic faith. And, if I am not sounding loud enough, I wish I could shout it from the rooftops. God is my all, and with God, all things are possible. God bless you, Charlie, God bless you all. pam, from NJ.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anne says:

    I hope you are ding some flying charlie….. Some are fairly time consuming.

    Like

    • Dennis Tatuch says:

      Charlie, really enjoyed your E. Lansing presentation. Met a real great gal over there named Ann (Anne) who I’d like to keep in contact with. Not sure if this “Anne” is the “Anne” in question but if this is the Ann/Anne from Fenton, contact me via email, OK?
      Thanks.
      Dennis
      dennis.tatuch@gmail.com

      Like

  5. Marie says:

    I see that you and Mark Mallet have a joint appearance Sept 28th in Mandeville, LA; hope there
    will be a video recording?

    Like

  6. Kim S. says:

    St. Peter, please pray for Pope Francis and all our priests and help us be brave and faithful through our trials and tribulations. In Jesus’ holy name we pray, Amen.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Dhnt says:

    Hi Charlie

    In the spirit of…”Do not treat prophecies with contempt but test them all;” I don’t want to be a blind fool!
    Could you please speak to this?This gentleman does raise some good points.

    http://thwordinc.blogspot.com/2015/09/is-sasquatch-antichrist-or-temptation.html?m=1

    ” if the economy is going to collapse and money will be worthless, why is Charlie soliciting donations for his $50 million shrine? How can my cash be useful to him when it won’t be useful to me? ”

    Also, you should consider posting a letter stating that you are a Catholic in good standing from your dioceses here on your website and a letter from your Spiritual directors confirming that you are under their guidance etc.

    Thank you!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      This person simply made it up as he went along. I am NOT soliciting money for the Shrine. I do not have and never had a donation button at this website or any other. I have had people offer donations – either to me or to the Shrine, once for $5000. I decline and ask them to give it to one of the Go Forth sites I link to or find a crisis pregnancy center in their area that could use it. I am not interested in raising any support for the Shrine until after the Storm is over. This person just made things up all along this piece he did – then closed it to comments so no one could correct him. He also said I did not walk 3,200 miles on my pilgrimage citing the planes and cars. Well, I have always been candid that I interrupted the pilgrimage several times – once when my mother died. If I included the mileage in planes or cars through the course of it, the total would be about 28,000 miles. I walked 3,200 miles – and there were thousands of contemporaneous witnesses virtually following me along my way. Sadly, a cottage industry has grown up trying to make me out to be a shyster. Occasionally, someone brings up a solid point – and I try to respond to that. But most just decide I must be a fraud and then try to garble what little they glean to support the malice they have already chosen. It would be a full-time job to try to refute such nonsense – that any honest person can refute by research and checking on their own. So I don’t bother. My job is to hearten people to endure the Storm, not to get into senseless arguments with malicious people who make things up about me.

      Liked by 10 people

      • Bob says:

        To this skeptic and there can be honest instead of malicious skeptics,but some seem to delight in attacking what they don’t understand, I am sure it will “All come out in the wash as they say”. So let’s all wait and see.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Oh there are honest skeptics, Bob. They don’t bother me at all. But when people literally make things up, attribute them to me, and then condemn me for what they have completely fabricated, that is not an honest skeptic.

          Liked by 1 person

      • connie says:

        A couple of things I want to mention that I was keeping to myself because I thought it was really of little import to anyone else, although it took me a bit by surprise. But I will share it now after reading the link from Dhnt.

        I have a neighbor who is neither Catholic nor attends any church, although she tells me she comes from a Baptist background. We talk about many things but never about religion – she knows I am Catholic and she knows my faith is important to me.We just talk about other things in our everyday lives. Last week somehow we got on the subject of the strange things happening in this country and of some things troubling her and so I felt is was a good time to tell her about Charlie and the storm and bouy her up with some hope and courage. I really expected her to listen politely and shrug it all off or maybe even to avoid me for a while! Well, instead, she listened intently and then told me she remembered seeing a local news story on Charlie and his travels. She also told me that I had reminded her of something her mother said shortly before she passed away. She said that her mother had been unresponsive a couple of days before she died but then suddenly woke up and said out loud to the family “that a storm was coming”. My neighbor said no one knew what in the world her mother was talking about at the time, and this was years ago, but she never forgot her mother’s words because they were so strange.

        So I realized that God puts the Truth in hearts willing to receive, and that my neighbor and I had confirmed in one another the Truth. There was something about you Charlie that my friend remembered from 3-4 years ago on the local news for a 2-3
        minute segment. And there was something that caused her mother to speak a prophetic word on her deathbed. God does work in mysterious ways.

        Liked by 7 people

      • Dhnt says:

        Thank you for responding Charlie… You are in my prayers

        Like

      • Honestly, I first heard about you, Charlie, early this year but I didn’t feel any urge to come here and read what you had to say. But the curiosity came alive recently, and here I am with no intention of shaking the dust off my heels and leaving because I know Truth when I see it.

        Liked by 1 person

    • That person works sometimes for EWTN a respectable Catholic media outlet with a considerable monthly budget well into the millions of dollars. EWTN executives and workers are paid good salaries, as it should be, because “the worker deserves his wages.” In some Catholic quarters some appear to believe that no one can ask for a voluntary donation without being some kind of scoundrel. What that person insinuates is that people like me that have a donations button on a blog are practicing some variation of simony, a mortal sin. Well, in my discharge I must say that since my appearance at EWTN years ago I lost all my clients, income, etc. because Catholic segregation is not imaginary in the USA. If I had known I would have never appeared in EWTN and I would be living happily of my very good income, thank you very much. While I was making a six figure income I used to donate generously to EWTN and other venues. No one forced my hand. In fact, a few people tried to “make me” donate funds but they got nothing. Now I am living on a $220 US monthly budget and I am glad to report that I have received many thankful letters from readers who turned their lives around, learned something new, or were otherwise made stronger in the faith. Several dozen people have either converted or returned to the Church after reading my sites. Those are the one I know of. Also let me report that quite a few people have asked me to do work for them and never paid me — others to this day steal what I write and publish it under their own name, I could point at their websites and you can see for yourself. Other national publications, knowing my penury, request that I write articles for them but never pay me a penny — although they dutifully send the check to Scott Hahn or Fr Pacwa if they are the writers. So let me say this out loud to those Catholic stone throwers like Mr X who go around finding false prophets: YOU ARE the false prophets and if it was the case that I had money for lawyers many of you would be in jail for crimes I have witnessed myself.
      Allow me to add one anecdote that I may have told here before — forgive me if I did — One day while sitting in wait for HOURS waiting to participate on an EWTN program I dared to share a cup of tea with another participant, a married female and a very well read lady. We had our Styrofoam cups of tea (several) while engaging in a lively conversation mainly about Shakespeare and the history of Protestant persecutions of Catholics in England. We were sitting smack in the middle of the only EWTN studio at the time while different teams moved around setting the stage for the next program. At one point I walked on my own to the cafeteria to replenish my cup of tea and was rudely interviewed by a young priest who basically accused me of adultery. I was too shocked to give that man what he deserved. I blurted an “Excuse meee!” and he left the set “offended” by my “attitude”. Months later it became public knowledge that Father Righteous was assisting a young female in that area to the point that they had a beautiful child without the complete assistance of the Holy Spirit I must add. Today Fr. Righteous sells some brand of “health juice” for a living. The child was conceived (I did the math) a few months before my visit to EWTN what makes Father a complete hypocrite of the worse kind. I don’t care what they may say about what Charlie, Mark Mallet, I read them because I find good things there, I would read 100 pages of Charlie or Mark before spending time boring myself to death with some of the drivel that EWTN produces — like that sex ed course where they recommended Catholic married couples to have a taste of sodomy — EWTN has become boring while costing truly foolish Catholics 2-3 million per month. Sorry but I have to say this. To Mr. Finder O’Fault please declare how much were you paid for producing that bad acting pieces where you actually stink. I rather have a re-run of Fr Peyton’s old movies. I am sure they paid you well for that. And do not make me go to WHOM is giving EWTN the big bucks lately.

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        Well, I had never heard of the fellow who wrote that sloppy sheet of defamation on me, but I would be surprised if he was still a contributor to EWTN. I have made many friends at EWTN – and they have much higher standards of accuracy than that. I just say that I think very highly of EWTN’s work and am glad they are there.

        Liked by 1 person

        • vicardwm says:

          I would apply this piece of wisdom (slightly adapted) to the author of that piece, who has been critical of many fellow Christians: “If you find a false prophet in the morning, you’ve found a false prophet. If you find false prophets all day long, you’re the false prophet.”

          He also says that he’s not writing new posts for his blog at the very top of his blog, lol. He seems to have an anti-supernatural bent and is not aware that he is embellishing, misconstruing, and rationalizing many things to shoehorn them into his conclusion. That’s the charitable interpretation anyway.

          Liked by 2 people

        • I meant to post this one. Although the other is also good.

          Like

      • Doug says:

        You recognize a tree by its fruit. A good tree produces good fruit. A bad tree cannot produce good fruit

        Liked by 1 person

        • Pam Nicholson says:

          Well, I could give you a long dissertation regarding how Mother Angelica and all it has provided to me all these years as a convert to the catholic faith. I learned from whatever had been very powerfully going on during the early 1990s, just before my conversion, I knew I had to become a catholic. I knew it when I was about 18 years old, living in a primarily catholic part of NJ, as a fallen-away lutheran, and that one day, I would be giving some kind of testimony about how I got to becoming a catholic. I think that there are a lot of people like me out there who converted around the same time as I did to the catholic faith. I learned that God definitely had sent His Holy Spirit to earth, and I learned that this little prayer I found and took to heart to remember to pray each day, would get me closer to being a little child of God. I want to be a little child of God. It is what I do know He is asking, and that is very good fruit to me. God bless. pam, from NJ.

          Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Dhnt, I just cannot see how defamation spouted in a vile and vicious style comes anywhere near an honest testing of spirits. May God have mercy on each of us.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Marie says:

    P.S. I notice Mark Mallet’s website has a ‘Donate’ link, but your site does not? I feel like I get so much from your posts, that I should donate what I’m able to now and then.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Mark works full-time at his ministry and has a large family to support. My kids are grown, my needs are small, and I manage with little bits from the Full of Grace Supply House and a few friends – as well as the $300 fee at every place I go to pay cover transportation and incidentals. That is the way I want to keep it. There are already people out there accusing me of trying to get rich. Everyone who actually is in contact with me knows better. It’s actually kind of funny: even my worst enemies in politics never called me stupid. If what I am doing now is a get-rich scheme, it is a singularly incompetent one that regularly turns away offers of donations and does not allow collections. My need are small, so I will let it stay at what little is needed for me to do my work.

      Liked by 6 people

  9. Donette says:

    For Charlie and some of the posters who have been with Charlie for awhile. Remember the advice of some posters to others not to get on a bus or train for an encampment? Did you see Drudge Report today?

    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/hungary-opens-budapests-main-railway-station-after-twoday-standoff–but-cancels-most-trains-10483964.html

    Like

    • Mona says:

      This refugee probleme is huge. 60 million people in the world are now on flight or living in refuge camps. A lot of people dyes every day passing the Mediterranean. We in europe see pitcrures of dead children floating in on the beaches in hollyday places.
      Does the US take any of these refugees? Obama talks about the refuggees, but what does he do?
      I live all alone in a big house. I am thinking I should invite a refuge family into my house to help them adjuste in this new country they have come to.
      But will I do it?
      Mona

      Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh yes…filed under the “these things must come” folder.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Heavy heart. Be not afraid, keep your eyes on Christ.

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Quiet Person says:

        Charlie, something I wanted to ask last night but did not have a chance . . . I understand that serious rebuilding will begin when the crash begins, or when enough of the chaos from that has cleared. That is something to look forward to. I don’t understand though how any of this rebuilding can survive the war with China. I think we here are all looking forward to the rebuilding but I can’t help but feel some sense of futility about it, knowing what we know regarding China. Any thoughts on that?

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Quiet, I note at every opportunity that God will begin to reveal His Hand in this. Wait for Him and you will see. We rise by building each other up. He does not lose, even when you can’t see how He is going to get through. It is important that we not be able to figure it all out, that we may begin to see how small we are – and then see how great He is when He acts to rescue us.

          Liked by 2 people

          • A Quiet Person says:

            Thanks Charlie. This settles me. When I hear “rebuilding” I jump to thoughts of rebuilding physical structures and that was primarily where my question was coming from. But really, I am thinking now that the rebuilding is first of all the rebuilding, strengthening, and fortification of our relationship with God. From that will be the rebuilding of relationships within our families, neighbors, and on into the rest of society. So, even if schools or hospitals, for example are closed, there will still be teachers and students, medical professionals and those in need. The dynamics of those relationships will be renewed and purified so that the doctors will be out their treating their patients rather than at their desk dealing with paperwork. Teachers will really be teaching, not jumping through hoops. This can happen whether there is a physical hospital and school or not. If those physical structures are rebuilt and destroyed again, the important thing has not been destroyed. . . the relationships that have been build up and the good that has come from them. Then, when the time to really rebuild physical structures comes, after the Rescue, maybe it will be somewhat reminiscent of the barn-raising parties from days gone by when men would gather to put up a barn for a neighbor in need while the women had their quilting bee. It was natural to gather to help one another. As a society, that has ended for us a while ago, but surely it will come back before too long.

            Liked by 3 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Brilliant, Quiet. You have it very well.

            Like

          • SteveBC says:

            Quiet Person, I think this is quite brilliant. I am going to try to keep it much on my mind.

            Thank you!

            Like

  10. Mary Ann says:

    Charlie, I do try as I have reached my later years not to preach to my grown children/grandchildren. It is so difficult when you see them miss Mass, never go to
    Confession. I do pray fervently for each of them, but is there anything I should be
    doing other than example and prayer? I want so badly to send them to your blog,
    but they think I’m somewhat over-the-top with my faith. My husband and I are
    on the same page. Should we say anything at all to them? God bless you for
    all you are doing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Perhaps ask them to watch the Birmingham Video. Some sort of graces are attached to that, I think. It gives a good overview and the questions are pretty solid.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Pam Nicholson says:

      For my take, Mary Ann, I guess I also am over-the-top, as I want to shout my faith from the rooftops, as I have felt this way in my heart so much since I became a catholic and found out how much good fruit is packed into Catholicism. I think that if you continue to do as you are doing, all will come out as God plans, not as we hope sometimes. Upon reading so much about the approved apparitions of Our Lady alone with corresponding messages to each of these approved apparitions, I was so surprised that so many catholics have no idea about the Fatima apparitions alone. That alone had me so excited about the faith, and what my own faith could possibly turn into if I followed the examples of these little kids at Fatima. Mind-blowing! So, have faith, and you are doing well with what you know is right and key to conversion of the heart. Be of good courage and do not worry. Worry is opposite of trust. Hang in there for them. They will get it some day. You plant good seeds! pam, from NJ.

      Like

    • Mary Ann,
      It’s so much easier to give people books or use subtle coercion of sorts to get people to follow a path you think is right.
      On the other hand, it is so difficult to do what you are doing – living the Truth and putting your hand in God’s (prayer). Look at me – I’m more action-oriented, but it doesn’t always bring souls to God because I tend to run ahead of God. Prayer and being an example is downright challenging for me.

      Be at peace. Stay by Heaven’s door. If you need to do something differently – He will write it on your heart and you will know.

      Like

    • Mary Ann says:

      Now we have two Mary Anns and a Mary Anne! I will change my screen name to maeb to avoid confusion.

      Like

  11. Dan Cheely says:

    Boy, did I need this one! Great advice. Thanks!

    Like

  12. emma says:

    Just a few moments ago while doing my Rosary asking God for more faith, I got terrible distracted thinking about the need to get more food in here and making other plans. While looking out the window I watched a black bear take the suet from the bird feeder. After retrieving the suet holder a thought occurred to me. I think God is telling me if he takes care of the animals he’ll take care of us.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Bob says:

      And why do I think a good bullet for the bear would provide all the food many need if in extremes. If so bear needs to be well cooked to avoid the trichinosis which is the same they used to say about free ranging pork.

      Like

      • emma says:

        I didn’t know bear needed to cooked well to avoid trichinosis. Thanks for the info, though we really don’t see too many bears here. Usually only a couple times in the summer.

        Like

    • I think at the darkest point we will only have Christ. If we have Him we have everything. Remember how the prophet was fed in the cave, how the widow of Zarephath and her son were miraculously fed. 1 Kings 17:7-16 Prepare well but also trust in Divine Providence. I am not quite good at this but I can preach it very well! 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  13. Christiaria says:

    In today’s reflection from “Magnificat”:

    “The example of the faithful often transforms the hearts of listeners more than a teacher’s words.” St. Gregory the Great

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Rick says:

    You might be interested in the book Pierced by the Sword by Bud MacFarlane. Fiction, but almost prophetic in its description of a storm, not unlike some of what has been discussed on this site.. Marian at its core and an excellent, if not essential, read, especially in these times.

    Like

  15. Maryj says:

    Charlie, I know you will be in Isle Minnesota on the 13th of September…here’s an invite!! We will be “Living it” in the diocese of Duluth on Saturday September 12. We have 1700 people signed up already!! Oh Sacrament most Holy! http://events.r20.constantcontact.com/register/event?oeidk=a07ebff0a939f93ef93&llr=4ochqhjab

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t make it to the gathering in Isle, but if you do anything in Duluth, I can be there! Let me know — Charlie can give you my email if you’d like to get together for anything In Duluth (most) anytime. I can’t physically do the procession, though. God bless!

      Like

  16. Karen Wilson says:

    I very much needed this tonight my son commented to me that I am panicked especially over the last few weeks, I need to correct t his to the best way I can that I have prepared what I could and I really do not have a clue what to do other than to love pray and hope for mercy as my family is not where I had hoped we would be. Thank you Charlie

    Like

    • TLM says:

      Exactly Karen where I am with mine. The only thing we can do is TRUST in Jesus…..and yes, love, pray and get ourselves into the best possible spiritual place we can be. I can see Jesus making sure we only have HIM to lean on. NOTHING else. He will strip us of everything except for HIM. He seems to be in the process of smacking us down (so to speak:) so that we have no choice but to TRUST in Him and in Him alone.

      Like

  17. Alphonsus says:

    Like everybody else, I have been thinking about a coming Storm or no Storm, a coming chastisement or no chastisement, etc. Honestly, I just don’t know which side to fall on when I read. I rely heavily on what the LORD expresses to me during prayer, and I do not get any alarm bells from Him. He tells me not to worry. I look at the news and how the world (especially the people in it) is going and I get red alert sirens blaring all over the place. There are lots of people convinced that something awful and changing is coming and they are blaring alarms all over the place, too. How to sort it out?

    This is what I have come up with. I made a choice a long time ago to throw all in with Jesus. I have chosen to stake my life on Him and His promises, without any proof in terms of how the world judges proof that He even exists, much less that what the Church teaches is true. A deliberate act of faith. Totally irrational to the world, but totally unavoidable to my soul. If a Storm is coming – or is not coming – the duty and consequences of my choice for Jesus will not change from what they have been since I made that choice. I will have to carry on with them come hell or high water. Persistence till then end, whatever that may be. That’s the duty and consequence of the choice. In that, I find peace. And that peace is Jesus Christ Himself.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Now there you have taken a very wise approach. I often tell people that knowing what will happen is very over-rated; knowing how to behave whatever happens is what counts. Sounds like you are ahead of the curve.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Petra says:

      I LOVE this! You put this so sufficiently and clearly.
      I agree so strongly. I’m “all in” too; without proof as the world sees it, based only on His revelation. I often think, like Peter saying, Where would we go Lord? You have the words of eternal life. Thanks for this Alphonsus.
      God bless.

      Like

      • Doug says:

        You see and believe. Blessed are those who don’t see and believe. Often when I pray for a sign, God leads me to this verse. Not what I want to hear most times, but usually his answer to me. The sign sometimes comes, but usually after.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Shirley Bachmeier says:

      Alphonsus, I could have written every word of this. I agree with you totally as I feel most of “us” do. We won’t have all the answers and proofs. What God holds as mystery, may stay just that. I will stake everything on what I do know and thank Him for the grace of what He has opened to me. Holy Spirit, give us the faith that is as firm as an anvil that will keep us tight in Your will for this time of testing and trials.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. TLM says:

    My goodness Charlie……I felt as if you were talking to me SPECIFICALLY and DIRECTLY, on my specific family situation! On second thought, you WERE talking to me SPECIFICALLY and DIRECTLY as was inspired by the Holy Spirit. Our God is an AWESOME, AWESOME GOD, is He not??

    Liked by 1 person

  19. jlynnbyrd says:

    Today, on the feast of St. Padre Pio I was directed to this link:
    http://padrepiodevotions.org/padre-pios-words/
    St. Pio’s words are prophetic for the preparation for The Strom. It is quite lengthy, but well worth the read. May God bless us all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pam Nicholson says:

      Oh, yes, to St. Padre Pio, a great patron of mine as he directed me to go to Our Lady not long after I read one of the many books about him. He did give many prophetic words to the world, and thank God, I was very open to them, my heart was, that is. I knew so little about the saints as a Lutheran and really did not want to know much. But, when I read this book about him, wish I remembered the name as I would like to have a copy, I put it down, and said, “How come catholics are not shouting their faith from the rooftops!”. This is a true story, and in time, I would talk to Mary with words from my brain, but, I did not think she was hearing me, so, I would kind of forget about her as I did have to live life day-to-day like anyone else. Then, human catastrophe hits. Then, you know you need more and I just could not turn to drugs or alcohol, this was all too easy a way to an early grave, and I knew I could not put my husband through this. He already had been so well acquainted with this in his own family. So, I cried out to Our Lady, and asked her if she was really my mother, where was she (I read this in the book about St. Padre Pio and remembered it)? Well, I was suddenly surrounded with the smell of roses. There was no doubt about it. I was in my basement, as I would go there to do my talking to her with my head when I was about to do a load of laundry. I had not even put the laundry on when I cried out to her for the very first time with all my heart, and she made her presence known. I had not thought of it at the time, but, I did recall reading this understanding about the odor of sanctity from the book about St. Padre Pio, regarding his wounds from the stigmata. When I finally wanted help from her, she came, and she helped me to take the next right step, and this is the beginning of my real running to the Church to become a catholic. I had been in the presence of great love, and now I know Jesus was probably with her, I never doubt that He is with her when she is coming for a wonderful purpose. So, hold tight to your catholic faith, everyone, we have a lot of next right steps who need to be guided to where God gives the greatest solace in the world, your catholic faith. Never leave home without it! pam, from NJ.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Doug says:

        Very nice Pam! Beautiful! I think suffering can only truly be understood through the Catholic Church.

        Like

        • Pam Nicholson says:

          Oh, I know you are right. I did check out Judaism before I read about St. Padre Pio, and saw that this notion of suffering is seen as a scourge, not a blessing in disguise as we do in the catholic faith. We have seen too often that good will always come from evil, i.e., 9/11. Look at the speech the pope made at the memorial. He shows us with words that which has been reiterated by God many times in the way God works in the world He created. Man has no real tie other than to be stewards to this planet and to each other, but especially God. We must keep looking up to Heaven not a 101 story building. God bless. pam, from NJ.

          Like

  20. Pingback: Live It Redux | The Next Right Step

  21. Pingback: Just One More Thing | The Next Right Step

  22. Pingback: Charlie Johnston: Threat or Menace? | The Next Right Step

  23. Pingback: The Eve of Joy | The Next Right Step

  24. CrewDog says:

    Speaking of REDUX and Charlie. CJ warned us that The 2017 SHTF Moment might well be set-off by North Korea unpleasantness. Unless you have been napping for the past 90 days, you may have noticed that De Pot is Boiling Over-There. We have known since 1953 that A Day of Reckoning would come when the 53 Cease-Fire would be broken …BIG!! ….. 2017? ..2019? … who knows but something’s gotta give. 64 years of appeasement and whistling past the graveyard has got Seoul up to 12+ Million people, a weak-n-worn out US Military crippled by PC and gutted by Obama Budgets. Oh!! … and Iran and the NORKs are in bed together ….. and China ain’t our friend … Really!!!
    I spent over a year of my AF career in the ROK and I fear for my friends and comrades in arms “Over-There” … PRAY!!

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 7 people

    • Mick says:

      CrewDog, I’ll say a prayer for your friends that are over there, and for all our military over there, and for all the innocents who are in harm’s way.

      Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

