Swaddling Bands

(I have been very busy all week – and in a spot where the Internet was by satellite and not particularly reliable or fast. I hope to get some work done here tomorrow.

Meantime, some are slipping into some bad habits I need to remind you of. Remember, this is a public spot, so if you recount a family story that could bring shame to someone who is recognizable, you need to use a pseudonym so you do not do that. We don’t engage in defamation here, so don’t make shadowy allegations or sinister defamatory comments. Make a vigorous argument from documented facts and make it with some grace.

I am getting a lot of mail from people shaken by the writings of Dr. Kelly Bowring. He was once fairly orthodox, but after being deceived by the fraud who was Maria Divine Mercy, instead of humbly repenting, he has taken up her mantle of trying to defame the lawful authority of Pope Francis – and so lead people away from the safety of the Church and the faith. What he is doing is execrable…and there are European former Catholics (I call them former because, while claiming they are Catholic, they too are trying to pull people off the ship into the Storm-tossed sea) doing the same and mounting an even more furious assault than Bowring. I warned of this last year. These things must come. YOU keep to the safety of the ship which is the Church. As this grows, I will consider other things to do, but for now pray and boldly proclaim your faith – and your fidelity to the Barque of Peter.

I feel kind of sorry for Francine, who wrote the lovely article yesterday on medical care during trying circumstances. Her primary point was to have faith, that help comes from unexpected quarters – and yet some started went into panicked prepper mode. May I remind you that the Storm comes to all…including a multiude of doctors and nurses who will take real comfort that, in the midst of the hardships of the Storm, they will be able to once again practice medicine instead of constantly pushing paper. God has a plan and you are not without recourse to Him. Make that your first principle and you will not be terribly frightened of the waves that wash over us.

Finally, I offer this piece by our dear friend, Pelianito, who offers some calming advice in these strange times. – CJ)

swaddling clothes

By Pelianito

From the Second Reading on the Twenty-Fourth Sunday of Ordinary Time

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wishes to come after me must deny himself, take up his cross, and follow me. For whoever wishes to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it.” (Matthew 16:24,25)


I have felt led to ponder lately on the swaddling bands of Christ and what they symbolize in the Divine Will. I was thinking about Jesus, the glorious, infinite Word of God, the Second Person of the Trinity, about whom St. Paul wrote:

“He is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of all creation; for in him all things in heaven and on earth were created, things visible and invisible, whether thrones or dominions or rulers or powers—all things have been created through him and for him. He himself is before all things, and in him all things hold together. He is the head of the body, the church; he is the beginning, the firstborn from the dead, so that he might come to have first place in everything. For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, and through him God was pleased to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, by making peace through the blood of his cross.” (Colossians 1:15-20)

I have to say, this is one of my favorite Scripture passages. It so clearly and beautifully depicts the glorious participation of Jesus in the act of Creation, yet more than participation, it speaks of Christ as the very reason that creation exists at all. It was a glorious gift from Father to Son, but not just something to be played with, not a bauble or a toy, but something to die for—literally! This passage says so much that we could spend a lifetime meditating on it and never plumb its depths.

All the more amazing, then, is the fact of our Lord’s Incarnation! In the Divine Will, Jesus “emptied himself, taking the form of a slave” and imprisoned himself in the darkness of the Virgin’s womb for nine months. He had the infinity of heaven and the entire created universe to move in before the Incarnation, now he had but a small bubble of darkness. When, finally, it was time for his prodigious birth, did he revel in the freedom? No! He allowed himself to be tightly wrapped in swaddling bands by the humblest of all people on earth—Mary!

What I believe this signifies and prefigures is not just Our Lord’s total surrender to the Divine Will, but also his willing submission to his holy Mother. In the womb, he became a prisoner submitting his will to the Father, but in the swaddling bands, he submitted his will to his Mother! What unimaginable humility and trust!

There is a profound message in that for us. We too are meant, not only to surrender our will to the Father, but to allow our Mother to bind us hand and foot and do with us as she wills! When we make our consecration to Mary, this is in fact what we are asking. We completely surrender our wills to her ministrations.

Swaddling bands restrict our movements—we do not go where we would like, we do not even move a finger unless she allows it. But swaddling bands also comfort. After the safety and warmth of the womb, the outside world is shockingly harsh, cold, and bright—the nine month embrace has come to an end. But our loving Mother is there. The swaddling bands help us feel coddled and safe. She will always keep us safe, even if at times we don’t understand why things happen that may be frightening or uncomfortable. We don’t understand, but she does. We only have to trust her. Our Celestial Mama is worthy of all trust, even when she lays us in a lumpy, scratchy, smelly old manger!

So if for a time, we feel restricted, tied down, paralyzed even, it may help to meditate on whether this is Our Mother working for our good. The world is a dangerous place. Sometimes she has to restrict our movements. She knows best. For our part, we can never be wrong if we entrust ourselves completely to her.

Hail, Full of Grace. Bind us to the Divine Will! We love you and we trust you! Amen.

Pelianito

Isaiah 37:30-32 And this shall be the sign for you: This year eat what grows of itself, and in the second year what springs from that; then in the third year sow, reap, plant vineyards, and eat their fruit. The surviving remnant of the house of Judah shall again take root downwards, and bear fruit upwards; for from Jerusalem a remnant shall go out, and from Mount Zion a band of survivors. The zeal of the Lord of hosts will do this.

 “Children, again and again I have told you, do not be afraid! Surrender to me. Live in my will. Be docile, humble, little. Filter your thoughts through the sieve of humility. Use the finest sieve to filter out the least impurity of pride. Pride is what you must fear. Let humility be your safety. Ask our Mother to teach you the ways of humility. No creature was ever more perfectly humble, or perfectly human than she was. Even now she keeps nothing for herself, but everything that comes to her passes out again. The prayers of the faithful she adorns with her merits and presents to her Son. The graces showered on her by the Holy Trinity she in turn showers on all who receive them with a sincere heart. Take heed my children—humility is the antidote to the world’s ills. Ponder this, my children. It has never been more urgently needed.”

Heavenly Father, humility is a difficult discipline and we buck against it. Therefore, through the limitless graces that flow from our Mother, grant us every grace we need to grow in humility. Mother Mary, teach us! Queen of Humility, lead us! Amen.

Litany of Humility

O Jesus! meek and humble of heart, Hear me.

From the desire of being esteemed, Deliver me, Jesus.

From the desire of being loved… From the desire of being extolled … From the desire of being honored … From the desire of being praised … From the desire of being preferred to others… From the desire of being consulted … From the desire of being approved … From the fear of being humiliated … From the fear of being despised… From the fear of suffering rebukes … From the fear of being calumniated … From the fear of being forgotten … From the fear of being ridiculed … From the fear of being wronged … From the fear of being suspected …

That others may be loved more than I, Jesus, grant me the grace to desire it.

That others may be esteemed more than I … That, in the opinion of the world, others may increase and I may decrease … That others may be chosen and I set aside … That others may be praised and I unnoticed … That others may be preferred to me in everything… That others may become holier than I, provided that I may become as holy as I should…

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Discernment, Prayer. Bookmark the permalink.

98 Responses to Swaddling Bands

  1. carrasco_roxanne@yahoo.com says:

    Hi Charlie, Will you be able to post something to let people know about the documentary being aired tonite on Fox News at 7:00 pm Pacific Time and 10:00 pm Eastern Time Regarding Planned Parenthood? David Deliedan’s videos… Roxanne

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia says:

    Charlie,
    “God has a plan and you are not without recourse to Him. Make that your first principle and you will not be terribly frightened of the waves that wash over us.”

    I am willing to bet that the fright and fear you are reading in the emails is because most people are not frighten for themselves but for their children whether they are home or not or whether the children believe in God or not. It is not too difficult to know that things have been ratchet up quite a bit unless you have your head in the sand. Yes, I know some people do. However, I have had many people speak to me of their children and I pass on your advice b
    ut it does not make the fear go away.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I can’t do much more than what I wrote in the column, Live It, a few days ago. I know that it is hard to truly trust in God…and we all want to take the reins from Him when our children are involved. But prudence and trust are the only answer – and I guess everyone is going to have to walk through that valley of darkness to find that truth.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Patricia says:

        Yes, that is true. We have no other choice.

        Liked by 1 person

        • TLM says:

          I understand you completely Patricia, your fears and tears for your children. I am at this point what it seems to me as being ‘between a rock and a hard place’ with my grown child. ‘Up against a wall with nowhere to go’. At least at first this is what seemed to be. After much prayer and asking Our Blessed Mother for guidance in the course I should take through my Rosary, I began to settle down and really think the situation through. I decided to do what was logical for right now, and although it’s of course not a perfect solution, it’s the only thing that seemed to make sense to me, and allow Our Good Lord to handle the rest. I have so much peace now and of course, realizing that the religious life of my child is far from perfect and that my child is a ‘work in progress’ for Our Lord, it will require I’m sure continuing logical and prayerful steps from mom. I am secure in the knowledge that even if I don’t do things perfectly, Our God is a GREAT BIG GOD that can rectify my stumbling along. I’m not sure whether this is called ‘The Next Right Step’ but I feel very peaceful in the process, and am learning to allow God to be God and me to be a loving and accepting mom to my child while at the same time taking a stand for Christ in HIS Church. My child KNOWS where I am coming from and what I believe and why in regard to my Catholic faith. I have made that crystal clear. My child, although brought up in the faith, has not been catechized to the extent that I was growing up in the Church. Being brought up in the Church in the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s, there were ambiguous and confusing directions from many clerics inside the Church that we as parents had to try to explain and redirect. Upon a conversation with one of our Deacons he called them ‘The Lost Generation’. But, that as well I am leaving to the Good Lord to handle. He KNOWS our children better than we, and He KNOWS what is truly going on in their minds and hearts, the conflicting messages they have received, and how to bring them into the fullness of His light. I do believe that our job is to pray and sacrifice for them, and live for Our Lord Jesus thru His Blessed Mother in the Church to the best of our ability, allowing our light to shine thru to them, standing up for the teaching of the Church without stepping on their toes to the point of driving them away. It seems like a balancing act, but with prayer God will show us how to walk the raging waters and do our best, even falling in at times, while putting ALL OF OUR TRUST in Him to work it all out. With many of us, I can see that He is bringing us to the point of HAVING to trust in HIM without reservation, even if the situation seems hopeless, and if we seem to be up against a wall, we must TRUST that He will be the one to break it down.

          Blessings to all

          Liked by 2 people

          • Patricia says:

            TLM,
            I am with you. When I first started reading Charlie and for many many months I did still fear for my children, three of whom live across the country, never mind out of state. However, I have calmed down quite a bit. Charlie had dinner with two of them accidentally one night along with a niece. Later that night, he said they are young adults he would like to “hang out ” with if he was that age even though they did cross- examine him and told him they did not believe him one bit. For their part, they enjoyed his company but thought religion and God wise he was off his rocker. Anyway, I know when it all comes apart they will remember his words and mine and that gives me great comfort. Also, I am binding them to the BVM with my rosaries daily.
            My comment above is about the fears Charlie is reading and hearing from people suffering with worry. By and large, that is what I am hearing. Generally, the people I speak to are not worried for themselves but their children and as Charlie says trust is the only answer and we will have to find that out.

            Liked by 4 people

          • Doug says:

            Beautiful!

            Like

          • Doug says:

            TLM, before I came to the Lord, a friend tried to witness to me. I was not interested and he backed off and remained my friend. Well, a year later, when I was really searching, I went right back to my friend. God had prepared my heart in the mean time. Now, I do not know what I would do without my Jesus. God bless you!

            Liked by 1 person

      • Toni Pesson says:

        Thank-you for helping us find the truth.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Barbara Dore says:

      Patrica, I fully agree with you. I am worried about my children. They still reject our Catholic faith. O Mary, with this rosary, I bind my children to your Sorrowful , Immaculate Heart for your protection and guidance. Please have pity on us, Mothers of wayward children, Pray for us and our children. amen,

      Liked by 1 person

      • TLM says:

        The Blessed Mother DOES hear our prayers for our children that reject the faith Barbara. Some of them, as mine are, are so confused that they think all Christian faiths are the same, and that Catholicism is nothing special. They have bought the lie that as long as they believe in Jesus, Mass or even going to a Non Denominational Church is optional. They have also bought the lie that no matter what they do or don’t do, there are NO eternal consequences. Besides the Blessed Mother who is ever so powerful and ever so compassionate and has so much PULL with Our Lord, we also have St. Monica. Her son, St. Augustine was a wayward among waywards, but thru her pain and her tearful PERSISTENT prayers, and her TRUST, he became one of the greatest Saints and Dr.s in the Church. She is telling us to hang tight, be persistent in prayer, be ALL TRUSTING in Our Lord’s Love and Mercy for us and our children. It took 30 years of constant prayer from her. He indeed does hear us thru Our Blessed Mother and St. Monica who intercedes for us. We just need to keep on keeping on.

        Liked by 1 person

      • vkmir3 says:

        Amen! I needed this reminder. Thank you.

        Like

      • jlynnbyrd says:

        Beautifully said & I pray for all of our wayward children my own included. As devout parents we have instilled the faith and the Holy Spirit and guardian angels remain with them to guide them. Jesus and Our Blessed Mother cover and protect them and God loves them. Our arsenal has stronger weapons. Still I pray with all of my heart and abandon myself to trust.

        Liked by 3 people

  3. Beckita says:

    Thank you, Charlie, for addressing Kelly Bowring. Amen to your advice. Please just delete my post to you concerning this and I apologize for any inconvenience.

    Thank you as well, Pelianito. The Litany of Humility is one of my favorites. When I first prayed it many years ago, I actually halted on sincerely getting some of the invocations out.

    Thank you both for your faithfulness. Praying for all of us as we make our way…

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh, it’s not an inconvenience at all, Beckita. I have been contemplating for over a year how to deal with all these people who are trying to seduce people away from the safety of the Barque of Peter. As they rise, we will all have to act with greater effectiveness to call people to safety – not to follow the modern sirens to destruction. I pray that I will be inspired when I need to be…and yours and others comments help me to know that the time is nearer when this must be confronted as well as shunned.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beckita says:

        Thank you, Charlie. The rumblings of this offensive and bold attack began at the very inception of Pope Francis’ papacy, didn’t they? I found the text of Bowring’s newly released video and he has amped his odious and demonically inspired game to new levels. For example, he claims one of his main themes is “Blessed Are Those Who Take Offense at Pope Francis.” What a perverted use of the language of the Beatitudes! I painfully read the text to the end and read it aloud to the canon lawyer in this house and he was appalled. Equally shocking to me (and I really am not one to regularly use such strong language), is that the video was forwarded by people who I thought would immediately see the content for what it is and never forward it.

        I accept that so much must come, yet, wish to do whatever is within my power in my sphere of influence to alert others to the danger and defend our faith.

        Here’s a succinct statement written today:

        Pope Francis – Vicar of Christ, from Rev. John B. Wang, PhD, JUD
        1. Pope Benedict XVI announced his resignation on the morning of Feb. 11, 2013 effective at 8 PM local time, of Feb. 28, 2013. He did this freely and properly in accordance of Canon 332 §2. So, the See of Peter was vacant starting from that time.

        2. Pope Francis was duly elected on March 13, 2013 by a majority of two-thirds of votes cast by 115 Cardinals.He accepted the election in accordance with Canon 332 § 1. Jorge Mario Bergoglio became the 266th Roman Catholic Pope and acquired full, supreme, and immediate power to govern the Church as Vicar of Christ from that day.

        3. To be a Roman Catholic, one must accept the legitimately elected Pope as the head of the Catholic Church.

        Liked by 3 people

        • charliej373 says:

          Thank you for your fortitude, Beckita. The coming of this vicious slander to the forefront is what I have dreaded above all things in the lead-up. I pray that Bowring and his European counterparts will return to the fold, but this is most assuredly demonically inspired. Vanity and arrogance once more. It is why when people have asked me at meetings whether I feared a schism, I have said I don’t fear

            a

          schism; I fear

            several

          schisms. It is a blasphemy, a terrible terrible blasphemy. May God protect the little ones and keep them to the safety of the Church.

          Liked by 5 people

    • Bekita, I laughed when I read this; I thought I was the only one who couldn’t get some of the invocations out of my mouth. I finally did, but only through gritted teeth. This is going to sound really weird but when I need a reminder of humility I read or watch Lord of the Rings again. The reason Frodo was chosen to get the ring to Mount Doom is that he was the humblest creature in Middle Earth. That’s why is took so long to affect him. But, as in real life, even Frodo could not save himself. He and all of Middle Earth, like us, were saved by Mercy. For the ring (the effects of Original Sin) has power over all of us. Only Tom Bombadil was free of it because he represented Adam in the unfallen state and what Man could have been had he resisted that first sin. LotR reminds me of the far-reaching, total devastation caused by pride, even those “little” sins that I carelessly dismiss as being not very important. Those little tugs of the ring on our hearts that gradually turn into obsession. I hope at the end of my life I can say, like Galadriel, “I passed the test. I will diminish (achieve true humility) and remain myself and go into the West (Heaven).”

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beckita says:

        Beautifully said, singingflowers. “… even those “little” sins…” yet approached via the wisdom of one of Charlie’s confessors, while focusing love. For me, it is love poured out in striving for the opposing virtue. I also appreciate Fr. Jacques Philippe’s admonition (paraphrasing here) to get over ourselves when we sin. We are sinners. We sin. We simply and peacefully, with contrite heart, confess and rise again, focusing on LOVE.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. Jason says:

    Hey Folks, this article gives a good perspective on the Holy Father. Short read.
    .http://americamagazine.org/issue/not-maverick-pope

    The Holy Father tends to make me crazy but maybe that’s his job to shake things up a bit. Making me crazy isn’t hard though, just ask my Mrs. God bless all, keep the faith!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Diane says:

    Thank for the constant, gentle reminders to TRUST, not panic, prep, and pander to fear. Thank you also for the invaluable information on Dr. Kelly Bowring, of which I didn’t know. A couple years ago, I skimmed through a book of his I was considering reading, the spirit of discernment stirred in me and felt I was not supposed to read any of his works. Thank you Jesus! I am trying to focus on the prayer, the Sacraments and Adoration as my prep, I feel The Lord asking this of me.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. rdlafleur says:

    Help me to be content showing your love to others and not to strain to be someone that I’m not. Be content with the direction you lead and not anxious because I am not like my brother.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Irish7 says:

    Lovely, Janet, thank you… a mother’s soothing balm for us..from Mary’s heart and your own.

    Liked by 2 people

    • mmbev says:

      No soothing balm this for me. And I know I probably am not alone with this experience. Of course, what I look for is “control”, and what I am not, not going to get is control.

      My physical, emotional and spiritual experience this week has been exactly what you have described. Swaddling clothes. I can’t move an inch. I guess, now that I have a better clue what is happening, I should qualify that statement. I am not going to be able to move an inch under my own direction even when I think I am not trying to control.

      If I must be “restrained” with no direction just now, at least I understand now that I am being halted and I must wait a time until God allows me to proceed. I realize now that He is busy elsewhere arranging things so that I may move securely in His will. Even my computer quit working and I don’t have any idea why, and it started working again and I have no idea why.

      I hope He doesn’t mind if I am saying, “darn” because this is really, really hard and fearful for me to do. Did I say “trust”?

      Liked by 3 people

      • Beckita says:

        Praying for you, Dear Bev, for all your needs and for a grace-filled infusion of Peace from Our Lord and Our Lady.

        Liked by 1 person

        • mmbev says:

          My grateful thanks. Last night I told the Lord I would do the things that I was able and leave the rest until He opened the path He allowed me to follow. This morning that was by first prayer of the morning.

          He opened the major direction for me. It was sort of incredible. Well, not even sort of. And as usual, He did it in a way I would never have thought was possible. When He’s clear, He’s clear!

          How fantastic and amazing our God is!! When He does things, it truly is done. Which means that the things on “hold” are there for a reason, not because He hasn’t taken care of that already. We are the ones locked into time and space, not Him.

          All praise and glory be His forever and forever. Amen.

          Liked by 4 people

          • Petra says:

            mmbev: I love this. You are so right. I understand that sense of being blocked for a time. At first when this would happen I thought it was something about me. When I finally understood it was the action of Our Lord, I began to go along with it and wait. And my experience was like yours: He had a plan and the path opened in ways I never expected. It can be worrisome and frustrating to wait when you feel so urged to act, but I have learned to follow, not lead, in those situations. Sometimes people think I’m stupid or lazy or just blind to a situation when they see me not acting yet, but I don’t care. I don’t care because they aren’t the ones who are going to save me. He is. I listen to Him. Being thought stupid is a far lesser hurt than causing a loss to my soul or losing God’s protection. At least I think so.
            God bless, mmbev. Hang in there!

            Liked by 4 people

          • Doug says:

            Praise God!

            Like

          • SteveBC says:

            Wonderful news, MMBev! I’m delighted to hear this. Like you and Petra, I have learned somewhat better as I have grown older that sometimes it is better to honor the delays.

            However, it is still tough to do that sometimes! 🙂

            Like

    • This post holds a new and deeper meaning for me this week than it had when I wrote it! Sorry for the late responses to your comments, friends. As it happened, my second grandchild was born on September 7 and I was away from home from Sept 3 to 15 looking after the first little guy. What blessings! Yet coming home has opened up new sufferings, or perhaps old wounds and I am going to use your prayer, mmbev to ask for a new way in this situation. I also pray as Charlie does, not that the trial would be removed, but that I would be given greater strength to endure it. God be praised in all things! And may he have mercy on us all.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. kathyk1 says:

    Thank you, Janet, for this beautiful word. Our Blessed Mother is our inheritance – from the cross, Jesus bestowed His mother upon the disciple He loved. That disciple is you and me, and every person who gives Him their Fiat! I’ve been hearing in prayer that, If we ask, she will form us into the new wine skins necessary for the new era.

    Liked by 4 people

  9. Kevin Malinak says:

    Wow, it is as if those last few paragraphs were written just for me…

    Like

  10. Annie Reschak says:

    Thanks for the heads up about Kelly Bowring. I didn’t buy a book of his because of a summary that mentioned Maria Divine Mercy. Very sad what is happening in the church and the attack on Pope Francis. Your encouragement about all of this is helpful.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Jay says:

    Charlie-
    I am so enjoying your blog. I feel akin to you in that I am a former political speech writer and former political junkie. I’m so disgusted with the state of our Republic and those who claim to lead her that I can barely follow the news.
    My question to you is, when the storm reaches its full strength, will we still be able to receive your insight and encouragement? Will there still be means of mass communication?
    Thank you for your sacrifice and dedication to our Lord.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Communications may be interrupted for a time, but you won’t be shed of me until the Rescue has come.

      Liked by 9 people

      • marie says:

        Yay!!! So happy to hear we will still have our Sherpa 🙂 I had somehow (mistakenly) thought we would lose all contact once the crash comes within the next few weeks or months. I didn’t realise that we would still be able to receive your guidance during the fullness of the Storm. I clearly still have not quite understood how all of this will play out. So hard to wrap my head round it all..

        Liked by 2 people

      • Carmelite says:

        Ach, and I am confused yet again. Easy for me :-/
        Charlie, you say ‘Communications may be interrupted for a time, but you won’t be shed of me until the Rescue has come.’
        Well, we need electricity to receive these communications, the rescue is late 2017 .. so power must be restored somewhere in there? We might actually have heat and light after 6 mo. or so?
        Like marie says, ‘So hard to wrap my head round it all..’ sigh. Sorry for being so much trouble 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  12. JoyInTheLord says:

    What a beautiful and calming post, Pelianito! Thank you, Charlie, for posting it for us. The Angelus Prayer is a very good reminder for us all to keep in mind the Holy Incarnation of Our Lord. So humble indeed. And after having Himself borne of Mary, subjecting Himself to His foster parents, Mary and Joseph, and going through all the Passion and Death and Resurrection —He has not left us still! He kept Himself imprisoned once more in the Tabernacles all over the world, assuming the form of Bread, just for the love of you and me. What grand humility! What love infinitely!

    Liked by 4 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Jesus descended to the dead to save all who went onto death before him and is now present daily the Blessed Sacrament until the end of time. The Alpha and Omega. The ever giving and everlasting Light and Love.

      Like

  13. Doug says:

    While in college, My daughter went to Medjugorje where the blessed Mother is allegadely appearing. She prayed to Jesus and asked what she should do (life question) and heard “Go see my mother”. She went to the apparition hill site and asked Mary what she should do and the response was “Go see my son”. So simple, yet so prfound. Mary is such a beautiful intercessor who always, so gently points us to her son Jesus. As an aside, I could not be more proud of my daughter (good kind of pride).

    Liked by 6 people

  14. Ceecee says:

    Thank you so much for helping me find solace in your writings. I am somewhat confused, though. You have said that you were directed NOT to read other prophetic messages, so how then can you assert MDM a fraud? I love my catholic faith, and am also confused by what I read about Bishops and Cardinals. Thank you so much and God bless you and yours.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      In the early days I was directed not to read such things, except those my priests wanted to get my take on. That ban has long since been lifted. I still do not read much of such things unless someone of substance asks me to take a look and give an informal opinion. One of my priests sent me the messages of MDM from the very start to see what I thought. I am rather (and maybe undeservedly) pleased that from the first, I was revolted by her seemingly harmless early messages and told my priest I thought she was carefully laying the groundwork for an apostasizing revolt.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Beckita says:

        Yes, Charlie! From the beginning, the MDM messages were clearly replete with theological errors and outright heresy. What still perplexes me is how fooled well meaning people were and are.

        Fr. John Abberton, the exorcist for the Diocese of Leeds in UK, testified about praying over a woman, who had followed the cult of MDM. He explains this person had demons from others sources as well, yet, when specifically praying to deliver her from anything associated with MDM there were demonic manifestations and subsequent deliverance of what Fr. Abberton called “… something big…”

        Liked by 4 people

        • I try to not judge a book by its cover, but when I first saw MDM, honestly, she gave me the creeps. So, while I read what she had to say, I did my best to avoid looking at her photograph. Sadly, it didn’t make me wonder then, why I felt repulsed by her. Now I know, and hopefully, I have a learnt a lesson for the future.

          Liked by 1 person

      • Kim S. says:

        Good morning Charlie. I heard quite some time ago that MDM should be avoided. I had to give proof to a Catholic man I know about it. He mentioned her last year and I gently told him we were warned that she was not approved by the church. He did not believe me. Then Spirit Daily gave us the info to back it up a few months ago and I told him about the articles. He asked me to send him copies if I could since he doesn’t spend time on the internet. Out of the 30 something pages, I sent him 8. That was enough. He is a senior and attends a church that say Mass in the Latin rite. He was very flustered and a bit angry I could tell. He was angry at the pope too. She had something to do with that I’m sure. Please pray for him and his group of friends that followed MDM’s messages. May God heal their wounds. Good people do get duped. I think he is okay now and appreciated that I was still on speaking terms with him. Pray for him and his family as he has sacrificed money and time to prepare a Catholic refuge near by and he and his wife have had health issues. We must always speak the truth with love and pray for one another.

        Liked by 2 people

  15. Stephen Graham says:

    We, my wife and I, have been reading the Humility prayer every day (at least trying). It has been most helpful in our daily journey.

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Patty says:

    I am glad to know what happened to Kelly Bowring. I read several of his books, and learned a lot about Marian Apparitions, and I almost fell into the same trap about our Pope until I read Mark Mallett’s article and found peace. I didn’t know Kelly Bowring went off the deep end. How incredibly sad! I am struggling with the schisms, in our Church and with family and friends, and trust the good Lord to protect and guide me and give me His light in this dark time.
    Let me just add that my husband and I really enjoyed meeting you in Lansing. The people who came with us were filled with joy and we had a great time.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Beckita says:

    Thanks again, Pelianito! Your piece here has been my morning meditation on this First Saturday.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Larry & Elizabeth Smith says:

    I want to thank Francine for your very insightful post. And totally feel inspired to do as she suggests that if you can, use some of your monies to help others now.

    Our family is doing the “33 days to Morning Glory” retreat starting today. Well actually I already started reading it because I was so excited about it. I have done the Marian consecration using St. Louis de Montfort’s book but had the Missionaries of Charity sisters suggest I use the “33 days to Morning Glory” by Father Gaitley. As I was reading last night about giving “everything” to Mary I was so relieved in a way and I see this same abandonment in Pelianito’s post. As a convert, I am so appreciative of all God has brought me about His Mother through the Church.

    Liked by 2 people

  19. sunnibaran says:

    Looking at the Holy Father through the lens of the coming storm, for me, makes what he says clear, relevant, and full of Charity. Until I began to see that, his speaking primarily to the world at large was confusing. Again, Trusting in the bark of Peter is essential to Peace for me. Charlie’s message has brought clarity.

    Like

  20. DanSouthChicago says:

    I never considered the swaddling clothes. Thank you and God bless.

    Liked by 2 people

  21. ConnieB says:

    I want to say that it makes me very sad for Kelly Bowring. We went to a conference in Albany several years back and he spoke there. At that time, he was an extremely devout knowledgeable Catholic, a great speaker and a great family man with a large family. My husband and I had even offered to have him come and speak somewhere here, because he gave such a good message. He inspired us to do better! I don’t think God will give up on such a man. As with all of us, somehow he just got off on the wrong path. Please pray for him and his family.

    Liked by 3 people

    • NancyA says:

      He is not alone.. the devil really goes after those who start off on the right path… Some do stray. We can only pray for them, and those who follow after them… Maybe their conversions will be part of the remarkable things that will be done before us.

      Liked by 1 person

  22. Elizabeth Anne Zsengeller says:

    Dear Charlie,

    It has been a real blessing finding your site, so resplendent with meditation and peace. I found out about you, thanks to your video taped presentation in Birmingham, AL where Father Mitch Pacwa was present — and this only, because Wendy Cukierski shared it — AND that — only because a dear friend had just recently directed me to her — or I never would have known; what a route!

    I have gone to visit your website regularly since, and today, discovering the comments section, I have signed on and will love to receive updates. Having been aware since childhood really (and I am 62 now) that a culmination was inevitable, I am thrilled that Our Blessed Lord will deliver us from evil by it, and frankly, I can hardly wait and long for it to happen, so that God’s Glory may be revealed to all and Our Heavenly Mother’s Triumph will take place. Whether I live or how I live through The Storm, I’ll hold on, one hand each in the Hands of Jesus and Mary.

    Thank you for these most beautiful posts accompanied by such splendid artwork,
    Miss Elizabeth in Ohio, USA

    Liked by 4 people

  23. Pelianito, thank you.

    Liked by 3 people

  24. Doug says:

    Just saw an absolutely wonderful movie called “War Room” with my wife tonight. God bless our protestant brothers in the Lord!

    Liked by 2 people

  25. donna says:

    Thank you Charlie and Peli…..I have to learn to put my prayer button on Receive, not Transmit….thus my pursuit of secular Carmel….it’s going to be a life lesson….please may Jesus’ Divine Will be with me today.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Brian says:

    Christ came for sinners. Our Pope is going out to sinners and the poor just like Jesus.
    I think that we are sometimes like the “good” son from Jesus’ parable.
    This post was just what I needed. What blessing.
    I pray that Mary and our good Pope can bring all sinners to Jesus, the font of mercy.
    I am at my worst when I am preachy and self satisfied. Yet, I sin constantly!. Trying to stay humble and get to confession. Keeping you all in my prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Pam F. says:

    Janet (Pelianito), what a lovely meditation! So much to ponder. Humility and surrender to God is really the key to the storm. I am so grateful for everyone who contributes their thoughts and Holy Works on Charlie’s site to be a help to us all. Often I will do the surrender novena with the humility prayer. It can truly be a rough but spiritually strengthening nine days. Surrender Novena http://pelianito.stblogs.com/files/2010/08/Novena-of-surrender-to-the-will-of-God.pdf

    Liked by 1 person

  28. Brian says:

    Charlie. I am a little afraid to ask this, but recently I felt called to contact you about helping with the “after the Storm” planning. I am concerned that this might be a vanity, since I am subject to the sin of pride. I am sure it must be a herculean task to think through how to rebuild a fundamentally broken society financially, politically, and above all spiritually. A friend who has been following you longer than me said that your plans are already finalized, only waiting for implementation. If you need any help, and your spirit inspires you that my motives are pure (I am not sure myself), feel free to contact me. For what it’s worth my background is in business/marketing and I am a Philosophy major. I’ve spent a lot of time analyzing various government and economic concepts (as a hobby really). I am probably only a B-minus leader however and B-plus intelligence. If not, I understand. God has also inspired me (I think, I hope) to organize my little neighborhood of 75 homes into a plan for hunting/fishing/foraging and defense. Back in 2008ish, I started to receive very strong premonitions/calls to “Prepare!” but it took me a few years to figure out what that meant. I started out as a hoarder/prepper but now I know I am called to “feed the 5,000” with what I stocked for my family (2 years worth). I printed out your Prayer of Miraculous Trust and know that I will need to call upon it frequently. Your blog made my heart leap and made everything make sense to me. I now have total peace in my heart and I hope to be able to continue my complete trust in the Lord (but as you have said, we will all lose heart in the end, so…)

    Anyhow, I am happy to play my local role, but if you need any help please give me a buzz. I’d love to see Mount Meeker one day.

    -Brian

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, after the initial chaos, I will have work to do to help us rise from our knees to confront the difficulties we must face. But after the Storm is over, except for raising support for the Shrine, I have no work in the rebuilding. My job is to help us all get to the other side of the Storm. Except for a little mop-up over a few months, it ends completely then. So you may, indeed, have work to do with all the good people who will rebuild a world after the Rescue…but I am specifically ordered not to interfere with that. If you send an email, I will be glad to talk to you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Brian says:

        Thanks Charlie. For sure it seems you will have your hands full leading us to the other side of the Storm. God willing, I hope my wife, 5 kids and I will live to see that day. It is a bit humbling to think that for 2,000 years saints and many martyrs have worked tirelessly to build the “city of God” and the new era of peace and Christian unity, and now our generation has both the blessing and the challenge to endure to see it in our lifetimes. With sin and decay all around us, I am hopeful that my children may live in a better world.

        I would love to be able to chat with you, but I don’t know your email address (and not sure I should post mine publicly).

        Like

  29. Doug says:

    Charlie et al, I just recently learned of a very informative Web site that describes political islam. The gentleman, Bill Warner, has a very keen 14 lesson insight on Islam. It explains a lot that people don’t understand and filled in a lot of holes in explaining many world events in this area. I mention this here since you recently touched on how Islam is a deception of which I strongly agree. The Web site is: http://www.politicalislam.com

    Like

  30. Janet. I loved “SWADDLING BANDS.” I used to wonder what, exactly, swaddling bands were in the Jewish tradition of infant care! But you have given such a beautiful meditation on this little detail of the gospel. I shared the post with my Love Crucified Community, more specifically, with Lourdes, one of the founders, and she was delighted with it. Thank you so much for your devotion and fidelity to Our sweet Mother.

    Liked by 2 people

  31. janet333 says:

    This is for all of us
    You’ll Never walk alone

    When You walk through a storm…..

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

