Forgiveness for Post-Abortive Mothers

the next right step

(A reader, Jay Yaney, designed the logo above and sent it to me. I like it a lot, but don’t yet know how I am going to use it. Thought I would share it with you, though.

I am asking for prayers, now. A close relative of one of our NRS family was involved in a fatal accident. He is okay, but was driving. He was perfectly sober and police have placed no blame on him. But this can lead to much slow-motion guilt and searing agony…and the family of those who lost the loved one will certainly be in shock. Please pray for them all. I am invoking the help of St. John Paul.

Our friend, Dan Lynch, pens today’s piece. He has been involved in helping women who suffer from the guilt of abortion to get healing and spiritual renewal for years. He is one of the most tireless evangelists I know.-CJ)

By Dan Lynch

Pope Francis wrote a letter dated September 1 to Archbishop Rino Fisichella, president of the Pontifical Council for the New Evangelization, regarding forgiveness for the sin of abortion. The Pope wrote, “The forgiveness of God cannot be denied to one who has repented, especially when that person approaches the Sacrament of Confession with a sincere heart in order to obtain reconciliation with the Father. For this reason too, I have decided, notwithstanding anything to the contrary, to concede to all priests for the Jubilee Year the discretion to absolve of the sin of abortion those who have procured it and who, with contrite heart, seek forgiveness for it. May priests fulfil this great task by expressing words of genuine welcome combined with a reflection that explains the gravity of the sin committed, besides indicating a path of authentic conversion by which to obtain the true and generous forgiveness of the Father who renews all with his presence.” Read more here. This merciful forgiveness would extend to repentant mothers of aborted children, as well as the repentant fathers, mothers’ or fathers’ parents or friends, doctors and their assistants who were directly involved with the sin of abortion.

Our Lady of Guadalupe, through her Missionary Image, has melted the hearts of many mothers who aborted their children and they have been healed from post abortion traumatic stress syndrome. Cathy was a young mother who became pregnant in college. She was confused, hurt, misinformed and went to an abortion center for help. After being shuffled through some paperwork, tests and a “counselor”, she was told “It will be okay.” She was not counseled on the option of giving birth and adoption.   “It was not okay,” she said. “I felt a ripping torment, hurt and devastation beyond description for killing my baby. Days turned into months that turned into years and I continued to carry the burden of shame, grief and guilt for ten long years. Then I attended a Marian Conference as a free-lance journalist where a special blessing awaited me from Our Lady of Guadalupe through her Missionary Image. I went before her to pray and the next day I interviewed Dan Lynch for a newspaper report.”   “During the interview he talked about how Our Lady would stop abortion and I thought well that’s just silly, it’s just an image. An image can’t stop abortion. So then, I asked Dan, “Well, how is Our Lady going to do that? How does an image stop abortion?’ ”                   “He replied, ‘She will melt hearts and the melted heart of a mother would never consider killing her innocent helpless child, she will reverence the life within her and bring it forth.’ At this point I broke down crying and told Dan, ‘I had an abortion ten years ago. You are the first person in the whole world that I have told. I named my son Joshua and I have asked him to forgive me.’ I couldn’t believe that I had shared it with him because I had shared it with no one at all that this had happened. Our Lady placed in my heart God’s mercy.”   “Dan quickly arranged for me to receive the sacraments of Reconciliation and Eucharist that day for the first time since my abortion. I felt great joy for responding to Our Lady’s call to come back to the Sacred Heart of her Son and His holy Church.”   A few years later, Cathy married and became pregnant. Her doctor told her that her placenta was damaged and that she would probably have a miscarriage. She called our apostolate and asked for prayers through Our Lady of Guadalupe. We prayed and when Cathy returned to her doctor, a sonogram showed a healthy placenta! She later gave birth to a healthy son, Alexander. Cathy is now a principal of a Catholic school.

You may view her testimony at the lower right hand corner here.

Pope Francis wrote, “The tragedy of abortion is experienced by some with a superficial awareness, as if not realizing the extreme harm that such an act entails. Many others, on the other hand, although experiencing this moment as a defeat, believe that they have no other option.”

“I think in particular of all the women who have resorted to abortion. I am well aware of the pressure that has led them to this decision,” the letter goes on to say. “I know that it is an existential and moral ordeal. I have met so many women who bear in their heart the scar of this agonizing and painful decision. What has happened is profoundly unjust; yet only understanding the truth of it can enable one not to lose hope. The forgiveness of God cannot be denied to one who has repented, especially when that person approaches the Sacrament of Confession with a sincere heart in order to obtain reconciliation with the Father.”

May many post-abortive mothers and those who helped them to procure their abortions receive God’s merciful forgiveness in the sacrament of Confession.

There is hope for their healing. You may wish to read my book, Teresita’s Choices, a novel of post abortion life, healing and hope. You can find it here:

Please note that my links are provided for evangelization, not commercialization.

“Let us move forward steadfastly together into the storm…

keep calm and carry on!” (Winston Churchill).

“In the shadow of your wings I take refuge till the storms of destruction pass by.” (Psalm 57).

Dan Lynch Apostolates promoting devotion to

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Jesus King of All Nations,

Our Lady of America and Saint John Paul II

Visit our website at E-Mail Us at

May Our Lady of Guadalupe keep you under the mantle of her protection and may the Reign of Jesus King of All Nations be recognized in your heart!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Guest Columns, Solidarity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Forgiveness for Post-Abortive Mothers

  1. Donna says:

    I am very confused by this message from our Pope. Does this mean that if a woman had an abortion years ago – and realized the awfulness of the sin years ago she would not have received forgiveness in the confessional? What would she have been told? I thought all sins were able to be forgiven if the sinner begged God for forgiveness in the Confessional. Can someone please help me understand this better? Are there other sins that can’t be forgiven?
    Thank you all for your help here. I will pray about this today.


  2. Prayers for the NRS family and their close relative involved in that sad accident. Also prayers for the family who lost a loved one. I, too, really like the logo that Jay Yaney created. It’s powerful! A special thank-you to Dan Lynch for his article. Forgiveness and healing is much needed along with an end to abortion once and for all. I am joining some ladies at church to attend a prolife rally today. Please keep us in your prayers too.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Mom of nine says:

    I had three secret abortions as a young, terrified, Catholic girl. It’s very common for “repeat offenders” to occur for a multitude of reasons. It took me 25 years before I conceded to Our Lady of Guadalupe melting my heart. I hadn’t fully appreciated her direct involvement until just now…

    My healing was catapulted through the Sacrament of Confession with a very good priest persistently working with me one day. Forgiving myself was the biggest hurdle. He finally said,

    “Vanity. Who do you think you are that the Creator of the Universe, Lord of All, can forgive you in an instant, but you can’t forgive yourself, like your sin is special??” Boom. I got it.

    Then that led me to a Rachel’s Vineyard retreat, and I am now on a Rachel’s Vineyard team, praise God. I know the shame, I know God’s Mercy and Grace, and I know abortion is a sin that does NOT have an asterisk next to it, making it above personal acceptance of God’s forgiveness. It’s time to take the next right step toward healing!

    Liked by 9 people

    • I will pray that you have continued courage and help others heal, you are very blessed to have been lead to Our Lady’s love and to Rachel’s vineyard. There are so many women who need to hear stories like yours. Much love, peace, Maggie


    • Lola Maria says:

      Thank you Mom of nine for sharing your story with us and for the work you do on Rachel’s Vineyard. This whole post and your comment had me on the verge of tears


  4. Julia says:

    Dan, thank you for this article. I had already read it in your email newsletter, and it was well worth another read.

    I have been in turmoil since I heard Holy Father has extended the power for priests to absolve the sin of abortion. I always believed priests had that power since I always believed abortion to be murder. “Thou shalt not kill” is the sixth Commandment.

    I had made my own children (now grown up) aware that abortion was murder. Now it would appear the sin of abortion is more than murder. From what I have so far read, it appears anyone who is guilty of abortion is automatically ‘Excommunicated’ which it would appear will require a priest to contact the Bishop and get the ‘Excommunication’ lifted once a person confesses to this sin.

    I had NEVER heard about the ‘Excommunication’ part of the sin of abortion before.

    About 30 or so years ago, we happened to have a parish Priest who had started life as a Barrister. He then rerouted and became a Priest. He gave the most amazing sermon on the sin of abortion. In his sermon, he told us from the pulpit that an expectant mother would find her judgement before God easier if she brought her child to birth, got the child Christened, then took it home and drowned the baby in a bucket of water; rather than submit to an abortion. He never mentioned anything about ‘Excommunication.’ So I am still reeling from what I am reading since Holy Fathers statement.

    Is anybody else as ignorant as I ?

    Of course I am aware of Holy Father saying in many cases the expectant mother was unwittingly guided into making this terrible choice. And it is so frightening to realise that (especially) parents who got their daughters to have abortions will be so culpable in the sight of God. Haw many ‘HOLY’ Irish parents sent their daughter abroad to get abortions rather than live with the shame. God save us all. No I have not fallen into this category myself by the grace of God. But how many people have died not knowing they had been excommunicated from what Holy Father is saying. God preserve us.

    I know I would like to have a lot more clarity on this. So I can inform those I love or have responsibility for in the sight of God. First, I have to re educate my own grown up children. And bread the news to them that abortion brings ‘Excommunication.’ I am so shocked.


    • Kim says:

      On Relevant Radio, a Priest explained that to be excommunicated because of an ex communicable sin, you have to have known the sin would excommunicate you.
      There are several sins that fall into this category. A Priest who breaks the seal of confession is one also.
      Someone who had an abortion is guilty of the sin bit not necessary excommunicated unless they knew that was the penalty before hand. If they went to confession with a contrite heart and confessed, they were absolved of their sin.
      Hope this helps clarify it.

      Liked by 2 people

      • ann says:

        Kim, I cannot thank you enough for this clarification. Some years ago I had a priest tell me this same thing but with the new letter from the Pope all the old anguish and doubt surfaced again. (I helped my roommate get an abortion in college but I was totally ignorant of the excommunication penalty) If only I could communicate to young women the years of sorrow and regret for having had a part in this horror–God lovingly forgives us and we must forgive ourselves but one of the consequences of this vile sin is a heart wound that never entirely goes away.


    • Sr Lorraine says:

      Julia, the penalty of automatic excommunication only applies if the person knows about it and goes ahead and gets the abortion anyway. Because few Catholic women know about the penalty, probably about 99% of those who have had abortions did not get excommunicated.
      Besides that, the respected canonist Dr Edward Peters thinks that the penalty is not for the women who have the abortion, but for the abortionist. He wrote about that in his blog. However on this point other canon lawyers have a different opinion.
      As others have noted, in the USA and some other countries, the bishops have already delegated to priests the ability to forgive the sin and the penalty attached to abortion in ordinary confessions. So the Holy Father’s directives would only be for those places where the bishops have not done this yet. I’m not sure where that would be, though.

      Liked by 2 people

      • ann says:

        Thank you Sr. Lorraine. You will see from my comment above that I am one of those 99% who were involved without knowing. Even in my ignorant sinful state at that time I think the sentence of excommunication –had I known–would have horrified me and stopped me from giving aid to my roommate. But what a burden your comment and Kim’s comment has lifted. God bless you both.


  5. Maeb says:

    Wonderful. I must add that priests have always had the power to absolve, but not the power to lift excommunication. In practice this was sometimes confused, especially during the Dark Times –😉 my term for the 1965-1983 However, in the US this power has been delegated to them by bishops for decades. As one who has worked in the field for many years as a pastoral minister with precisely and evangelism/conversion/mercy approach rather than a “healing” approach (because the former heals much better!), I must say that men and women are affected in equal numbers, that one challenge to reaching many post-abortive is precisely a hardheartedness that is a natural unconscious defense. If you see someone angry about abortion, pro or con, that person is often very injured by someone’s abortion. Finally, Pope Francis’ words were lovely. They were almost identical to what JPII said in the Gospel of Life, paragraph 99. There was only one thing missing, the awareness of the child. If you don’t bring up the child, post-abortion recovery is easy and false mercy. We can’t make peace with God without making peace with the child.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kati says:

    This is just simply BEAUTIFUL. it brought tears to my eyes and overwhelmed me with the “bigness” of God’s loving mercy. It is truly beyond human understanding. Thank you for it..

    Liked by 2 people

  7. CrewDog says:

    With 55+ million abortions “Out-There”, we and The Church have no choice but to follow Jesus’ example of Faith, Forgiveness and Healing. The children are with The Lord and helping Him with their prayers to bring the rest of humanity to Him.
    Likewise, The Pope has decided it’s past time to address the divorced Catholic situation. Way too many folks have been “lost” to The Church due to PC, Ostrich Syndrome or Holier Than Thou attitudes.


    PS: I hate to always inject Politics into my rants but it is time for plain speaking! I don’t believe that anyone here believes that Abortion, Drugs and Sexual Perversion does NOT destroy human lives and families …… Yet! … We have a Democrat Party in our USA that not only glorifies and promotes the above but with the assistance of Media and unelected Black Robes condemns, persecutes, ruins and jails those that object to their Agenda ……. and we have a “leadership” in Catholic Church USA where damn few voices are Raising Hell about it all. I’m really fearful of what I’m going to see when Pope Francis shows in the USA two weeks hence …. and if my worst fears are realized!?
    Perhaps those Locution people are “For Real”. I suppose we might have other “matters” to attend to!

    Liked by 3 people

      • Pam Nicholson says:

        You know, when I first became a catholic, I was learning about things like what a divorce really is but then, as the years went by, I had to contemplate what it is to God. Wow! I had to learn that God is a part of marriage as He invented it. It is a means in a vocation which He invented to help us learn that He is right there in it with those who are married. We choose this vocation that He invented, and then, when we decide we are out of love with this person we made solemn vows to God to have as our forever friend and mate, we have told God, “No thanks anymore for this solemn union you gave me to choose, and now, I choose to throw this and whatever this thing was and move onto someone else, and who knows how that will turn out, but, I don’t care anymore about that anyway”. I know I have said a mouthful, as usual, but, marriage is a creation of God from the beginning. He was there in the Garden of Eden with the happy couple, and they chose to ignore His command not to eat of the fruit of one particular tree only. The tree of the knowledge of good and evil. Why!??? Guess we are all too curious, but, so are little kids. That’s why there is mercy, but, we keep forgetting that God is with us in every sacrament of the Church. If we have a marriage which has been given a stamp of approval by law, God, we chose, is not needed with us in this particular marriage, if not in valid marriage of the church. But, people I have seen in the church who had marriages like this, had a divorce, and learned it is possible to have a much closer relationship with God in every situation in life. The Church has always been about the truth, and marriage is one of the teachings, regarding annulments has been consistently teaching the truth of how God sees this in the world He created. So, there better be a darn good reason for a divorce, but, contemplating a divorce is serious business too. Always must take this to confession with us, as you never know what kind of healing might occur as a result of a good confession. I love confession as I know God is there. It is time we stop taking God and His Church for granted and doing things our own way. It might not be His. I still recommend that all practicing Christians get and use the big book, “The Catechism of the Catholic Church”, and keep it on hand for your own use. Keep one in your home, and it will always be there to give you all the answers you need, and then some. Keep God in all decisions, and we cannot go wrong. Blessings. pam, from NJ.


  8. singingjuls says:

    Hi Charlie!

    Prayers going up to Heaven for your friend, the person that died, and all involved. Hail Mary… Eternal Rest…

    I love it that you posted Dan’s writing today. The beauty of how God turns something sad into something so beautiful never ceases to amaze me. I live about a half mile away from an abortion clinic. It’s kind of weird that it used to be the medical building my mother took us to when we were little. We quit going when she found out that they were performing abortions there. There is a priest that leads the 15 Mysteries of the Rosary and the Divine Mercy Chaplet with a group of people faithfully every Saturday morning at this clinic throughout the year, and the priest is the one who baptized my son! What a small world. He is a great man of faith.

    I also love, love, love the picture by Jay. My first thought when I saw it, was that it would make a great profile picture on Facebook. The Arabic letter is one that some of the teens from our church use as their profile pictures to stand with the persecuted Christians in the middle east. Very proud of those kids!

    Thank you for your posts as you continue to share God’s messages of trust and hope. I am hoping to come to Isle on the 13th to hear you speak, but if not will pray that others hear and act on your messages of TDL. Thanks Charlie! ~juls

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Donette says:

    In regard to the picture of the logo on this post. I get the storm in the background & the advice, but the symbol? Is that a scrawled C for Charlie? Please explain that part of the logo


    • charliej373 says:

      No that is the symbol of nun, Donette. It is a symbol for Christians used in the Arab world…first targeting some for destruction, and then defiantly by some Christians.


      • Jean says:

        I’m wondering the same thing…it looked like the crescent moon of Islam and there is a figure at the top that looks rather spooky. Maybe this logo needs some explanation to explain the meaning behind it which I am sure is good.


        • charliej373 says:

          Sorry…it was so widely reported when the ISIS persecution broke out – and almost every religious site of any stripe has covered it extensively, I assumed all knew what it meant. My mistake. Of course, it is not nearly as creepy as the cross as a sign of worship would have seemed in the first century, A.D. It is a long Christian practice to take a symbol of persecution and turn it into a symbol of triumph. I will go back and find the best articles on this and use it as a permanent link to explain.


          • Pam Nicholson says:

            You are talking about the fish symbol, right? I knew what you meant as in the movie, “Torn Curtain”, with Julie Andrews and Paul Newman, Newman is at a house he has to go to to get information. He makes a fish symbol in the sand outside where he is standing so the person answering the door knows he is the one she was waiting for, as previously arranged before he ever got to East Germany to plan a defection (which of course will not come off). This was all so Newman, as a scientist could find out for the US what the Russians knew or had, and then, he and Julie Andrews eventually flee their captors. What a movie. Still puts me on the edge of my seat. Blessings. pam, from NJ.


  10. Ellen Lopez says:

    Charlie, not to be a bother, but this image design from a reader feels/appears very Islamic, doesn’t it?


    • charliej373 says:

      Well, gosh, Ellen, I am a little surprised to see more than a few here who do not recognize this symbol. It IS a Middle Eastern symbol…that was used by ISIS to mark the homes of Christians for death and destruction. It then became a sign of defiance used by many Christians in the Middle East to make their stand. It has become as ubiquitous a symbol for Christians in the Middle East, with the attention of the world focused on it, as the fish was a symbol during Roman persecutions.

      Liked by 5 people

  11. Frances Sparks says:

    Isn’t this the sign used by ISIS to identify Christians in their area?

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes…and also a sign of Christian defiance used by many Christian in the Middle East – and a sign of solidarity adopted by many Christians in the west and Orthodox countries.

      Liked by 3 people

      • John says:

        I heard it is an Arabic(?) letter for “N”.
        N stands for Nazarene….meaning “follower of the Nazarene” , a Christian.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Lola Maria says:

          I read or heard the same thing as John…the Arabic letter for N, which stands for Nazarene or “follower of the Nazarene”
          Interestingly, I’ve been thinking of putting it up as my Facebook profile picture. I’m not even on FB that much anymore, but I figure it would let ISIS and others know that I follow the Nazarene🙂


        • Julia says:

          Yes John, your description of an Arabic ‘N’ for Nazarene meaning follower of Nazarene or Jesus Christ is how I understand this symbol.


      • Fr. Ben Kiely was just on Glenn Beck’s show The Blaze, please everyone check it out! Not only is he from Vermont, ( home to my father, Dan Lynch, and where I was raised ) but he is going GOOD! Yes this is our symbol, we need to stand in solidarity. Peace!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Pam Nicholson says:

    Thanks so much for this Charlie. Not far from me, near the PA border, is an abortion mill. Maybe it is me, but, this place is like what one would feel when approaching a knowingly haunted house. You can feel the allure of evil there, the senseless slaughter of the innocents. The highly publicized “doctor” there is finally in prison, but, the scars of this place have left so many women so badly battered by what they experienced there. At one time, there was a religious store next to the place of slaughter, run by a former real estate agent, Ann Foose. On Saturdays, the KofC from the local parish would come with other persons (sidewalk counselors) and the groups would pray the rosary. Ann Foose and others were brought up on charges for talking to women as they would be going into the place of slaughter, by the now imprisoned “doctor”. Eventually, Ann and others were there to witness so many of the things that have happened there. I was told of her and others who rushed women to the hospital as they walked out of the place of horrors bleeding and in a faint so bad there was no time to wait for an ambulance. That is medical care? Ann now does talks about abortion all over wherever people want to hear a message of peace that can come from the merciful forgiveness of God for all those involved with abortion. There was such a lack of information about abortion out there, that I think people just thought this was a convenient form of ridding themselves of a “problem”. I used to believe that was okay, but, how can murder be okay? Most people seem to think of this as just a medical procedure. How can this be? Women who have been forgiven, this is a blessing, a big blessing, but the scars will remain, sadly. But, there is so much reason for hope that abortion, which has sadly been around a long time, will be extinct like the dinorsaur. It had its time to do such utter destruction, and now, it must die off, never to return again. Peace and blessings to all. And, please pray for Ann Foose in her promise to God that she would continue to help raise greater awareness to all that there is hope for all who have ever been involved with this evil thing — abortion. Life is precious. Another “doctor” took the imprisoned “doctor’s” place now, so the hell there has not ended. Please everyone pray that this place does close and the place soiled with blessed salt when it is torn down, we can only hope and pray. Peace and blessings to all. pam, from NJ.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jack says:

    Hi Charlie
    What do you make of, they were shut down earlier today. I managed to get in though after much trying – and it said that a major MAJOR economic event would occur during the popes visit to your country at the end of the month?

    Are things to begin so soon?


    • charliej373 says:

      I don’t make anything of it. With respect, I do not consult other sites to see what I should think or write – and I have said repeatedly here that while I respect the orthodoxy and the sometimes insightful quality of the LttW, I do not currently regard them as supernatural in origin because of the frequent bitter, hectoring tone they attribute to Our Lady. I do not read them at all anymore except when people here post about them.

      Liked by 3 people

  14. Jay says:

    I thank Charlie for posting this design. It is a gift to him to use as he pleases. As he mentioned, the nun symbol has been used by Isis to mark the homes of Christians in the same way the Nazis marked the homes of Jews with the Stars of David. Those brave Christians now defiantly use that symbol to identify themselves as belonging to Christ.

    Liked by 4 people

  15. Doug says:

    Very nice post!


  16. Jorge Bizarro says:

    On this issue, I would like to point out to this beautiful movie – “Bella” – in case you don’t know it.


  17. A Quiet Person says:

    Two nights ago I had just a quick snippet of a dream where it seems as if I was being requested to ask aborted babies to pray for the moms through the intercession of Our Lady of Guadalupe. Is something like this even possible?

    Liked by 1 person

  18. janet333 says:…/breaking-us-house-votes…

    BREAKING: US House votes to defund Planned Parenthood in wake of baby parts scandal

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pam Nicholson says:

      Yeah, now it has to go to the senate. Duh! I remember some time ago that a seer, maybe Maria Esperanza, said that Roe v. Wade would not be overturned, but, that women would no longer go for abortions when they see the harm they have been doing to themselves more fully. Maybe this will come with the storm or warning? I hope so. pam, from NJ.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beckita says:

        “Maybe this will come with the storm or warning?” It will most definitely be a fruit of the Storm, Pam. God bless us one and all.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Pam Nicholson says:

          And, we are still counting on grace and mercy. We must hold true to our catholic roots. Good roots, good fruit. We sure need this Warning from God as soon as He decides. And, we just have to keep counting on Him. We cannot count on human beings, too many agendas to get votes next year. We cannot count on elected officials for something which God makes holy from the start. Thanks Beckita. You are a faithful trooper for God. Stay on fire for God, we have a ways to go yet in the new evangelization. pam, from NJ.


  19. janet333 says:

    Praise the Lord! A big thank you to the young man who made the videos.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

