Back to the Bayou

At the Covington Presentation. From left, Leah Mallett, me, Mark Mallett and Kitty Cleveland.

At the Covington Presentation. From left, Leah Mallett, me, Mark Mallett and Kitty Cleveland.

By Charlie Johnston

We had a little over 700 people come out to Mandeville, Louisiana Monday night for the joint presentation Mark Mallett and I gave. Kitty Cleveland did a breathtaking rendition of Gounod’s “Ave Maria.” (I love that version for its combination of delicacy, passion and power). Mark and Leah sang together. Kitty and I led the crowd in the Song of Thanksgiving at the end. It gave me goosebumps to have a crowd that large singing it all together.

My next event will be Saturday, October 3, at 6 p.m. at the VFW Hall, 1900 Country Club Rd., Lake Charles, Louisiana. In the mean time, I have a car for a few weeks and will delightedly be following the path of my pilgrimage through southern Louisiana into San Antonio, Texas. I will visit with some of the people I met along my way. I will share with you a lot of pictures as I go.

Kitty Cleveland and I leading the crowd in the Song of Thanksgiving.

Kitty Cleveland and I leading the crowd in the Song of Thanksgiving.

Mark and Leah Mallett singing to open the evening.

Mark and Leah Mallett singing to open the evening.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Speaking Tour and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

68 Responses to Back to the Bayou

  1. Acker Family says:

    WOW…..can’t wait for the video! Have a great time on your visit.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lin says:

    Charlie, It’s simply wonderful to see you with the Malletts and Kitty Cleveland! Will there be a video of this event?!? So happy you were able to meet one another…

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, I am told the video should be available in a week or so – and it will be added to the Visit Videos link here.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Can’t wait! Love you guys!

        Like

      • ChadPro123 says:

        Hello and good morning Charlie,

        Due to the imminence of the coming Storm and the resulting economic and social chaos, what is your recommendation for those of us in our late 20s/early 30s who have school loans, house payments, car payments, 401ks/retirement accounts, and other forms of (manageable) debt?

        I don’t want to cough up more than i have to if it’s going to be taken away from me in the very near future.

        I love your website and talks but because i am a practically-minded man of faith i am not sure how to address these issues.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Live your obligations well. That is your Christian duty. But you can use your surplus to get things that will have value when currency does not. But the first and foremost thing is to trust God. Much that must come will be unexpected, including by me. It is why I have become grateful that I don’t have much of anything…I really have nothing to lose and so I am not distracted from the need to trust God completely. Nest right step…that’s the ticket.

          Liked by 3 people

  3. lovedbyhim1026 says:

    Hi Charlie —

    So I don’t forget — I am getting emails from people wanting to know when the video and DVD of your visit here will be available.

    Maybe today at the meeting we can find out (they are going to give it to you so you can post the link) when it will be available and you may want to consider posting that information today.

    In recap — they will give you, Mark and Kitty the link so people can view for free. They are also taking orders online or people can call FOCUS to place an order. Also, Brooks, the executive director at FOCUS stated the taped interview they did of you last Friday will be averrable in about a month. They will make that available to you also.

    See you soon! P.S. — I don’t know if you noticed — that is Mark in the background of the first picture.

    Mary lovedbyhim1026@gmail.com

    Charlie Johnston website http://www.charliejohnston.org

    >

    Like

    • Charlene says:

      Is there a link to focus so we in the cyber world can order this video. So very exciting to see Charlie with Marc and his wife Leah. I Praise God for Our Lord’s wonderful folks.

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        The religious television company, Focus, videoed the event and is taking pre-orders for the DVDs here. I should note I receive no money from the sales of this video. In the release, they did agree to provide a link which I can put up on the Visit Video section of this site which you will be able to watch for free. They did a professional job – and I am glad to be able to support their work.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Vivi says:

    oh men, we will have to be patient… this preview was not enough!

    Like

  5. Becky-TN says:

    That’s so awesome, Charlie!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dorothy says:

    Ob…you are Beautiful, wonderful people!
    Cannot wait to see the video!
    I love Mark, to see him with his wife is heartwarming!
    What a great example of what loving, true marriage should be!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. David R. says:

    Would love to buy you lunch in Houston as you pass through. Wish you were doing a presentation here.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I AM doing a presentation there on Tuesday, Oct. 6, at 7 p.m. at Mason Creek Community Center, 20201 Kingsland Blvd. Katy, TX 77450. All of this is up in the “Upcoming Events” link at the top of the website on the black bar. Hope to see you there.

      Like

  8. Beth M. says:

    My heart is so full from this talk that I can’t stand it! What a JOY that I was included in this number, able to help in the background, and made some beautiful new friends. I was told the video would be up by Friday, Oct 1. Fingers crossed!

    Liked by 3 people

  9. nanannda2 says:

    Just thinking about 700 people singing the Song of Thanksgiving gives me chills. I can’t wait to hear it on the video. What a wonderful combination (you, Mark and Leah and Kitty) for that event. May the words of hope you all gave them cause a ripple effect of hope everywhere!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Judith says:

    What a great gift God’s given you, Charlie, to be able to retrace your journey, but under more comfortable circumstances. Perhaps the one who threatened you will come again,but this time with a loving heart. Safe travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Elena says:

    Ave Maria by Kitty on Sound Cloud was sung PERFECTLY- sooo Beautiful like an Angel! I kept playing it over n over. I could see a beautiful smile on Our Mother everytime she hears it. PRAISE GOD!!

    Like

  12. Debbie Portzlind says:

    Will there be a link to a video of the program with You, Mark and Kitty? Or was one not made for this particular event ?

    Like

  13. Fr. Frank says:

    I was so blessed to be there. I’m so thankful so many were moved to come to the beautiful sacrament of Confession! What most Catholics would never think of, though, is the fact that with 4 priests hearing confessions, *we* were able to go to confession to one another, too! What a blessing and consolation during a time that the devil is tempting so many of us to despair. Charlie, Mark, and Kitty were amazing, but nothing beats hearing those precious words of hope, “I absolve you from your sins . . . .” Thanks again for the privilege of being able to serve!

    Liked by 11 people

  14. Debbie Portzlind says:

    Never mind, I see this was answered. GREAT!!

    Like

  15. mmbev says:

    All I can do is echo all the sentiments above. I can hardly wait that long to see the video. Hope it includes EVERYTHING plus. ! ! ! Charlie, you give us so very much! No way for us to thank you except to use the trite words that can’t begin to convey the meaning behind them.

    Like

  16. We are looking forward to your visit to the DFW area, Charlie!!! Praying, organizing, sharing with others about your message and God’s love!!! Safe travels, and enjoy. Ellen

    Like

  17. Kelly says:

    I’ve been following your blog over the last two months since I saw a video that was sent to me of you with Fr. Mitch in attendance. I firmly believe that the time is ripe for a massive upheaval. The thing that convinced me the most was a conversation I had with Fr. MM years ago and after we watched the video my sister called him up (as he is a good family friend) and he said that you were legit. My question is this…I work for the Church and am a wife and mother first to seven children. I’ve been approved to go with our diocese to Poland next summer for World Youth Day and I have to say, I’m not thrilled. My husband says not to worry because he feels things will be crystal clear whether things are too bad to go, or it will be just fine. Thoughts or comments from you are appreciated.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I am not sure who Fr. MM is…but to be sure, when someone says I am legit (as many priests are now doing privately), that does NOT mean they endorse all I say, but that I am worthy of being heard and that my fundamental message – acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope is solid. Now if you do write back to say who Fr. MM is, please understand I won’t print it. I do not publicly disclose the Priests and Bishops who talk with me unless they have done so publicly. themselves.

      Like

  18. Kati says:

    Wonderful things all around, Charlie!!!!!!!!!!! I just don’t know HOW you do all of this. I am so busy with where God has me at present…that it is a special gift when I can come here and read these days….much less actually comment! YIKES!

    Special blessings from our Great God to all of you….

    Like

  19. donna says:

    Can’t wait for the video….and also your commentary on all the happenings today…..Russian airstrikes, Palestine flag at UN and hurricane off the east coast….whirlwind of a day….

    Like

  20. Fr. Frank says:

    Elena — how do I get the Sound Cloud copy of Kitty singing the Ave Maria? All the world would be converted if they heard her sing last night. She, through her one a capella offering, gave all of us God’s greatest natural gifts — the true, the beautiful, and the good — but also the supernatural gift of her own prayer! May the dear Lord and Our Lady bless, preserve, and keep her!

    Like

    • Elena says:

      At the top of this page: The Next Right Step. Click on Song of Thanksgiving. Takes you to Sound Cloud. After that song, she sings Ave Maria. On You Tube, see her name: Kitty Cleveland and find other songs. TRULY she’s God’s Angel voice. Today was the 1st time I ever heard her. She has an album. I’ve shared her on FB. Praying God’s touches souls thru her voice. TY JESUS!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Elena says:

      CORRECTION: At Top, Click Song of Thanksgiving, then in blue, “first version”, THEN it leads you to Sound Cloud. Sry, Fr. Frank.

      Like

  21. Fr. Frank says:

    Got it, Elena! Thank you and don’t apologize! I pastor 2 parishes with over 3800 families. My life every day has to do with how I messed up! I’m not nearly smart enough to know how to keep people from being mad at me all the time! I worry for my own soul when I think of all the people who, at their particular judgment, will say, “I left the Church because of Fr. Frank.” Please ask Jesus and Our Lady to help me be a better priest! God bless and keep you, and all you love.

    Liked by 7 people

    • Elena says:

      Always praying the Rosary/Litany for Priests after Mass/front of Blessed Sacrament, Fr. Frank, especially for you and ALL Priests….who are BATTLING in the front lines under HEAVY attack. Us prayer warriors (increasing in #) gotchur back united w/Jesus and Mary. 🙂 Ty n God Bless You too!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Father, thank you for your priesthood. I’m so grateful that you said “yes” to God when he called you. I know what you mean about the particular judgment; I wonder what God is going to say about the kind of wife and mother I’ve been. I try my best (well, sometimes), but MAN, do I mess up a lot! 🙂

      I will pray for you and will ask Jesus and Mary to help you be a better priest. Please pray and ask Jesus and Mary to help me be a better wife and mother. And, if you wouldn’t mind, please pray for my 19-year-old son, who is trying to discern whether God is calling him to the priesthood. Thanks, Father, and God bless you. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      Praying for you, Fr. Frank, and all your brother priests! Ministering to over 3800 families is no small task. Father, people will be mad at you no matter what you do so I’m especially praying angels will minister to you that you don’t absorb misguided or scapegoated anger. If you are teaching the fullness of Truth and giving God your best as you live in persona Christi and someone in your parishes leaves the Church while blaming you, I perceive a deeper problem within that individual.

      Thank you for your FIAT, Fr. Frank!

      Liked by 3 people

      • charliej373 says:

        I have to say, Fr. Frank brought several other priests with him from Baton Rouge on Monday night and they heard Confessions both before the presentation and later after the presentation. It was a real community of believers with everyone there that night. What a wonderful gift that so many priests gave generously of themselves that those who came might benefit from the joy of Confession.

        Liked by 4 people

    • ann says:

      Fr. Frank–I pray every day for priests, for protection from the enemies of their souls and for sanctification. You are now on my list as a specific intention, rather than just the general intention. God bless you. Don’t get discouraged–easier said than done, I know–but truly God knows what you contend with, what forces are relentlessly coming against you. I am sure I am not the only one here or out there in cyber land who has heard that call to pray for the spiritual and physical protection of priests. And I know at my particular judgement God will question me about my failure to pray for priests who are the front line, the shock troops of our Church Militant. Whenever I hear people criticize or complain about priests, I now just remember that abiding and terrifying question: “Did you pray for them???” Because that failure makes us complicit in any of their failures. I felt that even during the scandals of the last years. Where were we? Were we praying and offering sacrifices for our priests. The answer at least for me was shamefully “no” but I am now. I am now! So I’m sure I’m not the only one. Anyone else out there get that call from the Lord to really hunker down and pray for our priests??
      May Our Blessed Mother keep you Fr. Frank under the crossing of her arms, now and every day until you join her in heaven.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Petra says:

      Fr. Frank, I certainly will pray for you because I cannot imagine the onslaught priests face in their everyday spiritual life. Father, I have often thought when I see I priest who I thought has gone off track, that he must have stopped praying the Divine Office daily. I can tell if you are worrying for your own soul as to your ministry you are probably not one of those! But Father, I am convinced if a priest stops praying every day and spending time in front of the Blessed Sacrament, he is like a soldier on the front lines who is out of bullets.
      I most certainly will pray for all priests, and for you in particular Father. I am proud of you, that you are one of God’s own, doing all you can for His kingdom, bringing Him to us in the Eucharist and confessional. Thank you.
      God bless.

      Liked by 1 person

    • JoyInTheLord says:

      Father, I do morning adoration on Thursdays and for quite some time, I thought that particular day is meant to pray for priests and religious. You can count on my prayers and in fact, I am about to add your name to the list of the priests I am praying for. Do pray for us as well, Father. And I praise and thank the LORD that you responded generously to His Call.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Fr. Frank, I wrote this letter for all the priests I know personally and hold dear, as well as all faithful priests everywhere. Please accept this ‘thank you’ from my heart.

      An open letter to our beloved Catholic clergy, here in the Syracuse Diocese, and everywhere | Godversations
      https://godversations.wordpress.com/2015/09/18/an-open-letter-to-our-beloved-catholic-clergy-here-in-the-syracuse-diocese-and-everywhere/

      With gratitude and love!
      Karen

      Liked by 3 people

      • Stella17 says:

        Beautiful, just beautiful and the truth!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Fr. Frank says:

          Dear Karen,

          I am leaving Monday morning for our annual 4-day priests’ retreat. It has always been my habit to take one piece of reading to retreat for prayer and reflection, using it as an opportunity for the Savior to to speak to my poor hardened heart. I am taking your letter as my point of contact with my Lord, and I thank you so much for sharing it! Please ask Jesus and Our Lady to help me stand by my post, faithful and true, and to be a good priest bringing many souls to the Father’s House. I ask you, pray on my behalf the words of Samuel: “Sprak, Lord. Your servant is listening.” May the Holy Family bless, guard, and keep you and your family, dear sister!

          Liked by 3 people

          • Oh I will pray Fr. Frank! Thankfully there is much I have to offer up in my day-to-day 😉. And thank you for your beautiful example – we should all be listening – the Lord certainly is speaking! May He come into your heart in a new and beautiful way this week!

            Like

          • MT Butterfly says:

            Praying for you, Fr. Frank, and all our priests and bishops.

            Like

    • Little Bee says:

      Fr. Frank, my rosary intention tomorrow will be especially for you.

      Like

      • Fr. Frank says:

        Thank you so much! Please ask Her to help me just climb up on Her lap and wrap me in Her mantle of healing graces and mercy! May our loving God bless and keep you and yours, and bring us and all our loved ones safely home to the Father’s house!

        Liked by 2 people

  22. Pam Nicholson says:

    Oh, I hope and pray that hearts were converted at this blessed event. God bless all! pam, from NJ.

    Like

  23. Gabi says:

    Hi Charlie, there seems to be a change in the air and it looks like some of what you talked about re: the storm is coming to pass. Russia has started attacks against ISIS and rebels in Syria. It seems like the leaders of our world are starting to take the threat of Islam a little bit more seriously. Not everybody but Russia is definitely a big one. As such I started keeping an eye out for conversions and something seems to be going on. Spirit daily had a headline today that thousands of Muslims are seeking out baptism! I am hoping these are the subtle whispers and the beginning of much bigger conversions to come. Thank you for all that you do!

    Liked by 3 people

  24. It is been such an incredible week having you here in Louisiana! What a gift it was to see you and Mark together Monday night! Y’all, something really magnificent happened in Louisiana this week. It was an anointed time in which the Lord was knitting together relationships in a preparatory way for the coming storm. Kitty joked at the presentation that I was the reason it was happening because I turned her on to Charlie’s writings, but in a very real way it was such a privilege to see Charlie and Mark deepen their understanding of what is to come through each other! Charlie, thank you for your boldness and simplicity. And I loved getting to give you a big hug in person! I hope I get to see you again one day, Caroline (the little sister)

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Mack says:

    I just read this on Martin Armstrong’s blog, which is similar to what Charlie has said in regard to Russia and China. The Storm is indeed starting to pick up more speed…

    “There are also reports that now China has entered the game ALSO sending in troops to Syria. Obama is creating a threat of world war for the opposite side is now alignment of Russia and China together in Syria opposed to US policy. The is a direct confrontation all because US policy has been out of its mind trying to topple what it calls dictatorships from Iraq and Libya to now Syria. There is no alternative replacement and this brain-dead policy dreamed up in Washington has no end game objective.. . .
    The other side of 2015.75 (ie. Oct 1) is much more serious than many suspect. This is a concentration of confidence in government which marks the peak and from here on out, this will not be a video game – this is real.”

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Bob says:

    This one is from American Family Association and it is hard to believe that our military has fallen so far in it’s standards. AFA does not make foolish accusations so I am sure they have checked this one out:
    http://www.afa.net/action-alerts/take-action-army-kicking-out-green-beret-for-protecting-a-child-against-abuse/

    Like

  27. eightlambs says:

    What joy for you to finally meet and fellowship together!
    It blesses us all!

    Like

  28. Chris says:

    it was wonderful having Charlie and Mark in Louisiana. There are no words to describe an event of that magnitude…..great job Kitty and friends.The love, the outpouring of the Holy Spirit, such holy priests hearing confessions and so many of our community all in one place at the same time was overwhelming. It reminded me of a big wedding where all your loved ones, family and friends are all gathered together with song, laughter, excitement and lots of conversation. We learned a lot from Charlie and Mark and now as a community, we can all be on the same page, anointed together to go out and do the the Lord’s work which is in front of us.

    Charlie, if you are reading this I am so glad I was able to get the first hug when you entered the room, thanks to your delightful friend Bob. He was a joy to speak with. Please tell him I will be praying for his safe travels.
    Feeling blessed to be part of this NRS family. Lovin ya’ll from way down south in Louiisiana🇺🇸

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

