Changes in Contacts


(Today, the contact system for general emails has been changed. I knew I had to do this about a month ago, as the press of the work was just overwhelming me. Thankfully, Steve Baker agreed to take on this project and oversee it. He writes about how the system will work below.

Meantime, the new contact email address is – CJ)

By Steve Baker

On September 10 Charlie published the post he called “Changes Coming” here:

In it he said the following: “Shortly, I am going to put a new “Contact” email address up and remove the old one. I will keep the old one and use it for communication with colleagues, priests, pastors and regional coordinators, but will not leave it published or answer general queries from it. I will get a team of people to respond to questions from the new address (I already have someone in mind to lead the team) and alert me to anything that needs personal attention from me.”

Well, I read that and thought, “That poor schlub he’s picked is going to have *his* life overset, fer sher.”  Literally 30 seconds later I went to my Mail program and found an email from Charlie saying essentially, “Well, Steve, you’re that guy.”  I felt an odd mix of horrified, flattered, and challenged all at the same moment.

Since then I have worked out the basics and asked several people to help me do this.  All are commenters on this website.  I would like to introduce them to you now.

I knew right away that if I were to focus on keeping our efforts in service to Charlie’s Message and mission while watching over and developing our team, I would need help on the operations side.  I am deeply grateful to commenters “Doug” and “Lambsie37” for being willing to take on this set of vital functions.  They even happen to be married, so they can cover for each other!  They will not be answering emails, but they will work with the others on our team to keep all of us focused on replying to the emails we get.  They are both tech-savvy, so I am looking to them to help make our efforts easier, more productive, and enjoyable.

I also knew that I cannot do all the replying work either.  We will be handling somewhere around 50 or more emails a day starting today, and we already know Charlie has been overwhelmed while trying to do this by himself.  I have asked three commenters to form the core of our “Replier” team to take the lead on answering those emails every day.  By spreading the load out over three repliers, we hope nobody will end up too busy.  I am delighted that all three of those I asked said they would help.  In alphabetical order by screen name, they are Beckita, EllenChris, and Mick.

I am about as certain as I can be that Doug, Jacki, and I will need to ask more commenters to help us out as members of our replier team.  However, we decided to keep to three while we figure out how all this will actually work now that we are going live today.  Once we’ve worked out some of the kinks, I may contact some of you to see if you would be willing to join us in helping Charlie in this way.  I’m trying to keep each person’s work to an hour a day or less, which means that more repliers means less work for each.  And of course, we all get a great retirement package when we get to the Rescue in 2017!

Charlie has published contemporaneously with this post a new “Contact” page.  We now have several options set out for people to use to find topics, posts and other information on the site more easily and without needing to send an email to our TNRS Answers team which would mean having to wait a couple days for an answer.  (There is much to be said for instant gratification in this instance.)

However, if an email turns out to be the only real option for someone visiting this site, we will always do our best to help.  We intend to answer the vast majority of emails we receive in 2 days or less (not including Sundays).  If we have to do some research in order to answer the request, or if we have to confer within the team, our reply might take as long as 5 days total.

We are also going to work with Charlie for the next few weeks to reduce the backlog of emails he has built up in his Inbox.  For those who previously emailed Charlie and have not yet heard back from him, you may end up hearing from our TNRS Answers team instead.

Wish us luck and pray for our TNRS Answers team.  We’re gonna need those prayers!  :-D

Update (10/5/15): I just want to say how much our TNRS Answers team appreciates all of you who have been so supportive of our team with your comments.  Your words and your prayers have been a wonderful boost to all of us.

On behalf of our team members: “Thank you.”


About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Changes in Contacts

  1. Simone says:

    Way to go, guys!! Good luck and we will lift you up in prayer.

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Carmen says:

    I don’t comment often but I have followed all of you for over a year and the team is well chosen and heaven sent! I will continue to pray for all here, for Charlie, and now for this wonderful team following our Sherpa up the mountain who keep our eyes focused upwards with confidence! Beckita, I think we even met when my husband and I came through to visit you and Fr. while were with DFOT (Carmen is my screen name) . And I had the joy of meeting the owner of FULL of GRACE at the World Meeting of Families (such a lovely woman). I now feel even closer to all of you having that personal connection. You are all such beautiful Christians. God Bless you all with courage and the discernment for the next right step. We are right behind!

    Liked by 6 people

    • Beckita says:

      Oh Carmen! How about that… and a great breakfast, Mass and photo session it was together! God bless you and your husband in whatever ways you are stepping right now as your dynamism as loving servants is inspirational.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Doug says:

    Nicely done Steve.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. EllenChris says:

    Each of us has pledged to stick to Charlie’s message. You wont be getting just our own opinions, but rather what we have learned from Charlie, and we plan to “tell you true” what *he* has said. If there is a question about Church teachings or personal needs, we will do whatever we can to make those clear.

    Just a reminder I would like to make to all and anyone: Being given a prophetic gift in the sense of a charism of the Holy Spirit does NOT make a person into a fortune teller. If you are disappointed that now you won’t be able to get the secret inside scoop on your own personal specific future from Charlie himself, don’t be disappointed. Charlie would not have given that to you anyway. He has been shown the big picture and overall Vision from the larger perspective. The way to find our own individual places in that picture is to learn to pray and listen to God more and more deeply. The answering team will point you in that direction and try to help you hear and discern what you are hearing in the context of the “Faith once received from the Apostles” — the teachings of the Church.

    I am very glad to try to be of help in this as God gives me His Grace. I will pray with love over those inquires I receive, and will strive to listen to God with you. The rest is up to Him and to your own willingness to trust Him, take the next right step and to be a sign of Hope. Many blessings to all, Ellen+

    Liked by 11 people

    • Beckita says:

      So well said, Ellen!!! You went right to the heart and soul of what our tasks shall be. I echo your message conveying the intent to honor God at work in each individual and/or family while releasing each one to walk in the dignity of personal responsibility before the Lord.

      Thank you to those expressing prayers already ascending. I have been praying, since considering the acceptance of this work, to reply with God’s wisdom and love under the banner of Heaven’s mission and message entrusted to Charlie.

      I consider this work a great privilege, an opportunity to serve, to link arms with the team and ALL here as we continue this journey into and through the Storm, ready to embrace the Rescue. May we never tire of returning to the core of how we shall move forward, building our trust in the One Who never disappoints via the profound yet simple way of acknowledging God Who is with us at every moment, taking that next right step and, by God’s mercy, truly being a sign of hope to those around us.

      Liked by 9 people

  5. Kim in Ohio says:

    May God guide everyone helping Charlie and his readers in honesty, truth, and holy discernment. St. Paul, St. Clare, pray for them. In the name of Jesus, I pray, Amen.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Anne says:

    Thanks to those helping. Things have grown… Demands on time….. I think these changes show common sense ….. Hopefully Charlie’s time will become more balanced.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Janise McElveen says:

    Wow guys. Thanks for responding to the call to assist Charlie all for the Glory of God! Be assured of my prayers, uniting with His Most Holy Will.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. audiemarie2014 says:

    Thanks Steve and all! God bless you.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Deon says:

    Luck, no, that’s superstition. But prayers for God’s blessings. In abundance, please. And Lord, thanks for soaking rains in northern CA. More please!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. chase says:

    Hello Mr. Johnston,

    I’m a recent convert to the Catholic Faith and have been following your site for about two months. It is truly comforting; I’ve even shown it to a Protestant friend of mine who works with me.

    Anyway, after reading as much as I could (and trying to put what I’ve read into practice), I have a few questions (these are lengthy, but with three children under 4- and making ends meet on a school teacher’s salary- I have zero chance of making a trip to one of your talks to ask you these things in person).

    1. Will people be able to regularly attend Mass in the midst of the Storm?

    (I live about 30 min from the nearest Catholic Church, and if there is barter economy and cultural chaos going on…it’s just…I wonder how I will be able to drive 60 miles even once a week, or if there will even be anyone there, like priests, deacons, altar boys, a choir, etc.).

    2. Is the Year of Mercy anything at all like God’s “last call to mercy” before the truly dire tumult begins (truly dire meaning the collapse, the global civil war, etc.)?

    3. Does the upcoming Synod on the Family have anything to do with the Storm? Does one affect the other?

    Even if you don’t get around to answering these, thanks for all that you do, Mr. Johnston. Keep me and my family in your prayers and I will try to do the same for you and yours (we could all use extra prayer!).

    God Bless,


    P.S. Just read a little about the shooting in Oregon. Lord, come quickly. Holy Mary, Mother of God, have mercy upon those souls passing before your Son for judgment.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Hi Chase…I do not expect widespread or long-term disruptions of people being able to get to Mass. Even so, when I began my pilgrimage, I began in the Bible belt where Catholic Churches can be few and far between. I went wherever Christ was truly proclaimed and walked with God throughout. It made it all the sweeter when I did come upon a Catholic Church. I expect the Year of Mercy is more keeping a pathway back after chaos has begun for those who will take it rather than a delay of all that must come. The Synod on the Family will be a grace that both helps to heal families and re-assert the priority of truth…AND reveals many hearts.

      Liked by 4 people

      • janet333 says:

        “The Synod on the Family will be a grace that both helps to heal families and re-assert the priority of truth…AND reveals many hearts.”

        Oh thank you for this information Charlie. I have been so worried!

        God Bless You

        Liked by 1 person

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Chase, you and your family are in my prayers. We are all the church, outside of the bricks and mortar as the communion of saints. We can pray daily for a spiritual communion with Jesus. We are/will be a sign of hope to and for each other. May God bless you and your family.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Doug says:

      Welcome to the Catholic family Chase! If you don’t mind, what state do you live in? I have a young daughter in CA, Catholic, married with kids and I live in NH. If close by, would love to sync up. I am also a convert to the Catholic faith. I felt like I came home when I was confirmed. One thing I like is there is a smorgasbord of different things in the faith and you can go as deep as you want.

      We are having once a month get togethers which we call storm dinners. We pray, fellowship, eat delicious pot luck supper, and being Catholic, share a little wine. One major goal is to build each other up and give each other strength.

      God bless you!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      Welcome aboard, Chase! I’m a convert, too. I will pray for you and your family.🙂


  11. jlynnbyrd says:

    Bless you all for your gifts of time and talent to our NRS family! Bless you too Charlie for your dedication, trust and perseverance.

    Liked by 3 people

  12. NancyA says:

    Oh! I wish I’d known some of this community were at the WMOF! Did Full of Grace have a booth? I never did make it thru all of them ! Darn!

    Steve, I was hoping you were who Charlie had in mind when he first said that! Thanks for your accepting the task !

    Liked by 1 person

    • SteveBC says:

      Thank you, NancyA. That’s a very nice thing to say, and I appreciate it. I have been so pleased that those I have asked to be on the starting team have all said yes and are replying to emails and helping people with some lovely – and loving – replies. I’m already proud of them all. 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

      • barb129 says:

        Thank you, Steve, and your team! All good choices! I know you’ll do an awesome job. I’m praying that the Holy Spirit will guide your thoughts and replies….

        Liked by 2 people

      • audiemarie2014 says:

        Steve, it’s so good to see your face! Just as it was seeing Charlie in person, seeing your face with your name makes this community more, well, human and real. 🙂 Thank you and your crew for helping Charlie (and us) out. God bless everyone here.

        Liked by 5 people

        • NancyA says:

          Audiemarie, when I saw your comment in my inbox, I had to ‘come in’ and see Steve’s face.🙂 But also, I have been thinking of you and wanting to tell you that I appreciate you, how you’ve made it your mission to be a silent greeter, liking comments. I think of you a lot, but how would you know… so I wanted to tell you again: thanks! xo

          Liked by 3 people

          • audiemarie2014 says:

            Nancy, you just warmed my heart. So kind of you…it is true that it doesn’t take much to help a person smile and feel a little love inside. I appreciate you too, Nancy, and what you write here. Thank you for bringing your wisdom, knowledge, and love to me and everyone else here.

            Liked by 3 people

        • NancyA says:

          WHOOOPS! AND, totally forgot to say that I agree with Audiemarie! I really enjoyed putting name and face together, Steve! You’re a beloved part of this community, as Audiemarie is!

          Liked by 3 people

        • SteveBC says:

          Audiemarie and NancyA, thank you. Both of you are very kind to say so and have given me a reason to smile, which is always welcome. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  13. Dona-Marie says:

    God bless all of you & may you continue to allow the Holy Spirit to lead you. God Bless your ministry.

    Liked by 4 people

  14. nanannda2 says:

    Thanks to all of you who said “yes” to this very important work, which will allow Charlie more time and freedom to take all those next right steps the Lord is putting before him. Our prayers will be with you as you seek to fulfill this task the Lord has given you. I know you will be blessed and so will all who benefit from your faithfulness. We can do all things through Christ who strengthens us!

    Liked by 4 people

  15. janet333 says:

    This is a great idea. I don’t know how Charlie has managed up till now.

    God Bless you all.

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Another Karen says:

    Thanks to all of you who have undertaken this monumental task….it is indeed an inspired team!

    Liked by 4 people

  17. Jennifer Cordova says:

    great job, you have our prayers I bet this is a daunting task!

    Liked by 4 people

  18. Julia says:

    Does that mean this little comments bit will be gone. Or does it mean this little reply box will no longer work, unless we use the new email address above. Sorry, I am

    Sigh. It was good while it lasted. X Peace.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Comments and private emails are two entirely different things, Sheila. This is only about emails.

      Liked by 1 person

    • SteveBC says:

      Julia, comments will continue to be available to all. Some people may have questions or concerns that they don’t feel comfortable publishing here as comments, so we offer an email service as an alternative they can use instead.

      Charlie and I (Steve Baker) both want to encourage anyone who wishes to comment here to continue to do so. This has become a big and loving family. Feel free to participate by reading comments and by publishing your own comments.

      Liked by 1 person

    • EllenChris says:

      I have already received an inquiry asking why our answering team did not post a certain comment. I just want to underline what Charlie said: We have nothing whatsoever to do with comments; we do not see them before they are posted, and then only see them like everyone else. We have no mechanism to post or delete them or anything like that. We only deal with email.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Sandy says:

    Will pray for Charlie and his whole team, as well as all here. May God bless us all.

    Liked by 4 people

  20. Charlene says:

    Prayers for the entire team. Thankyou for your time and talent to help us all as a community, to acknowledege God, Talk the right next step and to be a sign of Hope to thoses around us.

    Liked by 5 people

  21. donna says:

    Go Team…….((((((((Take the Next Right Step))))))

    Liked by 5 people

  22. singingjuls says:

    May God shower this team with abundant blessings, courage, and wisdom. Thank you for acknowledging God, ‘stepping’ up and being a sign of hope for Charlie and all here. ~juls

    Liked by 4 people

  23. Karen, OCDS says:

    Reminds me of when Moses chose 70 to receive a portion of God’s Spirit to help him administrate the needs of the people. May God bless you all.

    Liked by 4 people

  24. EllenChris says:

    Thanks to all for the kind and encouraging words — and especially for the prayers — keep them coming.

    Liked by 3 people

  25. SteveBC says:

    I want to echo EllenChris’s comment thanking all who have commented here for their kind and encouraging words, and for their prayers. Especially, we need prayers to help us stick to Charlie’s Message, and to acknowledge God in our efforts to serve those who email us. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Kathleen Vacheresse says:

    May the grace of the Flame Love spread over all NRS and all of us to bring the truth to every heart

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Julia says:

    Thanks Charlie, glad we can still share on your site. I am hoping you will have more time to write articles. I enjoy the other writers but no offence to anyone, Charlie’s are my favourites.

    Liked by 2 people

  28. I’m sure being the barer of God’s message must be exhausting in and of itself Charlie! I was surprised actually when I recieved a reply when I emailed you a while back. I really didn’t expect one in return.

    There are a lot of great things about social media and this lil blog is proof of that! It has created Community. The first lure often when joining a church is Community. Someday after the Storm, we may be sitting around a lamp lit table again sharing the Good Word and this will all be gone. So be it, the Word will go on, thats all that matters. No amount of darkness can squeash the Light which is Christ! I think your attentiveness has been endearing. Like the prophets, you sheperd your lil flock with care.

    I agree that preparing our own hearts and not drudging through the “”What if’s” is counter productive. The shootings in Oregon reminds us to be prepared, we know not the hour….

    God Bless and live today with Joy!

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Mary W. says:

    What a strong and loving (and good humored) team God arranged for this task (just my opinion after taking part in this site for over a year). Receive my prayers and love !

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Beckita says:

    I’m posting on this thread since it’s freshest… In reiterating the core message which includes taking the next right step, I thought of the many times commenters have earnestly pondered: “How DO I proceed in knowing the next right step?” Yesterday, our own Holy Father offered a very concrete means to propel us, with confidence, on our way:

    I chuckle a bit here when I reflect that the Holy Father is asking us to do just what our dear Sherpa has been striving to do as he fulfills his mission. Each one of us, too, has a precious mission. Come Holy Spirit!

    Liked by 4 people

  31. luvmercy5775 says:

    Excellent choice of helpers. All have proven themselves worthy contributors to this blog. God bless all of you.

    Liked by 2 people

  32. jeanO says:

    Prior reorganizations centered around Kim. How is she?


  33. Just want to let you know that if there is anything I can do to help out with your technical needs, i.e. domains, hosting, email, marketing, design, video, audio, production, etc., please don’t hesitate to contact me. I will welcome any opportunity to help in this mission with my company Kruse Solutions

    Of course I will also continue promoting this great work at my other site Mercy Radio

    Happy Feast of St. Faustina!

    Jesus I, Trust in You!


Leave a Reply

