Grab a Helmet

(Joan of Arc - by William Etty)

(Joan of Arc – by William Etty)

By Charlie Johnston

It has been a rough week for the world. War intensifies in Syria and the Middle East. American pretentions and posturing are blown up by Russia. Hurricanes threatened the coastal areas where the Holy Father has just been. A young man murdered fellow students at an Oregon College, especially targeting Christians. The economy keeps misfiring like a car down to one or two cylinders, even as it keeps chugging along. As prelude to all this, the gloomy forecasts by the former Locutions to the World (LttW) site failed spectacularly.

It is time to get serious, friends.

When LttW imploded, I thought the Lord was giving many the chance to see what I had been taught mostly privately over decades. There is no shame in being deceived – particularly if the deceiver is likely sincere but errant rather than malicious. There IS shame in not stepping back and learning from the error rather than just continuing on the same path that led you to be deceived in the first place. LttW was perfect for this lesson. Though I may be wrong, I saw no intent to deceive – just someone who was deceived promulgating messages to people eager to hear them. This gave those outside the inner circle of the failed locutionist an opportunity to be both magnanimous and learn to adjust their own expectations so as to discern better.

Always, I objected to the tone the locutionist assigned to Mary. Our Lady never speaks in a bitter, hectoring tone. I do…people I know do. We little folks here have a hard time avoiding that entirely. But Our Lady is full of grace. She wants all her children home again – and she wants those of us who honor her to help her bring those children back to her Holy Son – not merely to denounce those children. Lesson: If a locutionist reports that Our Lady speaks in bitter, hectoring tones of denunciation, it is not Our Lady speaking.

It particularly irked me that at LttW Our Lady and Our Lord were constantly reduced to the role of play-by-play announcer and color commentator at a sporting event. I have said repeatedly that it is not God’s will that we know all the details of what is happening or will happen or focus on them. Rather, it is His will that we hold fast to Him and help His children do the same, that all might be rescued. Lesson: It is not God’s will that you occupy yourself trying to figure out exactly what is going to happen and when. That does not avail. Rather, He intends that you learn how to act according to His Will whatever happens.

Astonishingly, some people continued, after the deception was revealed, to relentlessly try to explain why that square peg really did fit in that round hole. Don’t you know that God allowed this both so the locutionist would learn and repent – and so that many would see how deeply flawed their own expectations are? If you continue with the same expectations, you will get the same results. Judge righteous judgment. Some, disappointed in LttW, are already restlessly trying to find a replacement to give them the regular play-by-play and color commentary, instead of examining their own flawed expectations. I have heard from several this week, hoping I will pick up the mantle of error so they can get their weekly fix, asking me about Russia, the hurricanes, and the Oregon shootings.

I don’t shrink from current events, but when I contemplate them, I look for signs of how they play into the larger sweep of things rather than just wallowing in the details. Start with the sure knowledge that God is not willing a wreck to occur: we have done that ourselves. Rather, God is mounting a rescue. From that perspective, you might ask yourself how some events contribute to Rescue. Let’s take a look at the three events I mentioned from this last week from that perspective.

  1. Russia goes all in with the Middle East: Since the adoption of American “smart” diplomacy (which I call notso), the Middle East has degenerated into a violently boiling cauldron of murderous mayhem that has already spread to parts of Africa, Asia and Europe – and is threatening to spread further. At its best, America has always played good cop. With the good cop’s withdrawal from the field, the traditional bad cop (Russia) has stepped into the fray. It does not shock me that Russia has behaved as it always has. Knowing that, in the end, Russia and America will be steadfast allies in resisting an ultimate evil, I am grateful that Russia is acting to re-establish some order and contain the chaos that is bubbling up from the Middle East. Yes, I wish Russia had taken a different side – but that is the good cop’s role and the good cop has abdicated its responsibility. But by the very act of jumping in with both feet, Russia has established its presence. ISIS and the other bad actors know that Russia is not going to be rolled or played for fools, nor fail to attack them if they get provocative. That makes it less likely that the chaos will continue to spread – and more likely that if any try, it will be ruthlessly knocked back down. Russia is not the storekeeper I would prefer, but I am glad someone is minding the store again instead of just mumbling empty platitudes. It means less destruction before the time of Rescue.
  2. Hurricanes trail the Pope’s visit to the U.S: I wrote last week that I suspected the blunder I had been shown the Pope would make was simply to emphasize the political rather than the spiritual – to concentrate on trivia while the faith and faithful were under siege throughout the world. The hurricanes that threatened each city where he had been suggest to me that I interpreted that properly – and that Pope Francis’ prelude to greatness is over. Now he enters into his greatness. I know that the satan, in his impotent rage, loves to attack people and places around what he is forbidden to touch. His impotent rage in the aftermath of the Pope’s visit here suggests to me something major happened here, a great transition, that does great damage to the satan’s efforts to destroy souls. I frequently say that, though the errors we make won’t get us where we need to go, we should not disdain them – for often God has something in those wrong steps that will be useful for us in taking the right steps later. The Pope’s political emphases of the last year emboldened those who are enemies of the faith within the Church to reveal themselves. Bishop Cauchon used his spiritual authority to wrongfully and maliciously condemn St. Joan of Arc to curry favor with English secular authorities 600 years ago. He has some spiritual heirs in the Vatican and the world. They now stand revealed to this Holy Pope – who they thought would be their champion but will, instead, be their nemesis.
  3. The murderous targeting of Christians in Oregon: It was hideous. When officials and the media routinely treat Christians with hateful contempt, it is only a matter of time before they are targeted by the unbalanced. But what most struck me was something else. I hear all the time about how lost people of the younger generation are today. But all the people who were murdered for their faith were in their teens or 20’s. Perhaps the first did not know what would happen when he confirmed he was a Christian, but the second had to have a pretty good idea. After that, there could be no doubt. Yet each of these young people, knowing that to affirm their faith in Christ would mean a bullet to the head, confirmed their faith anyway. I would not be surprised to find that some of these who died had not been sure before that. When the time came to make their stand, they did. I have sometimes told people that regardless of how things look right now, the young generation of today will become the true greatest generation. And I have prayed to these martyrs that when it is time to make my stand, I live fidelity to Him who is Lord of all as they did.

I do not much worry about the progressive anti-Christian statists who currently hold transient power. Events are discrediting them by the day and their power is waning. I have always known that when upheaval comes, they will be swept away like so much flotsam and jetsam. It was a productive vein for the satan to mine, but it is already played out. His last gambit is to convince some of the faithful to mutiny against the Church or, failing that, to seduce some to occupy themselves trying to know His mind rather than do His will. I was grateful to see that Padraig Caughey, who runs the marvelous Mother of God Forum out of Ireland, and Glenn Dallaire, who runs the Mystics of the Church website, covered the controversy over the LttW failure. I was even gladder to see that both of them have forbidden debate on whether Pope Francis is legitimate and have closed off further commenters from trying to tortuously square the circle of the LttW failure. For any of us who now run religious sites with wide audiences that take comments, it becomes important to make people aware of such controversies without allowing your site to be hijacked by those who would try to lead people into the shoals.

I sympathize with those who are drawn to look with fascination on the wreckage developing around us. There was a time when I bitterly and constantly complained that my life had been a torture, forced to watch an oncoming train wreck in slow motion without being able to stop it.  But God did have a plan. He did not lead us to the wreck. We have done this to ourselves with our reckless hubris. It is He who mounts the Rescue – and those who would serve Him are called to gather the ambulances.

So I tell you, God is not calling you to be spectators to the crash. He calls you to be participants in the Rescue.

Grab a helmet and get into the game.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Prophecy, The Rescue. Bookmark the permalink.

228 Responses to Grab a Helmet

  1. What a great article Charlie!

    And for anyone wondering how to “get in the game” … I would ask you to reflect on this passage from the Diary of St. Faustina, whose Feast we celebrate today:

    741 Today, I was led by an Angel to the chasms of hell. It is a
    place of great torture; how awesomely large and
    extensive it is! The kinds of tortures I saw: the first
    torture that constitutes hell is the loss of God; the second
    is perpetual remorse of conscience; the third is that one’s
    condition will never change; (160) the fourth is the fire
    that will penetrate the soul without destroying it — a
    terrible suffering, since it is a purely spiritual fire, lit by
    God’s anger; the fifth torture is continual darkness and a
    terrible suffocating smell, and, despite the darkness, the
    devils and the souls of the damned see each other and all
    the evil, both of others and their own; the sixth torture is
    the constant company of Satan; the seventh torture is
    horrible despair, hatred of God, vile words, curses and
    blasphemies. These are the tortures suffered by all the
    damned together, but that is not the end of the
    sufferings. There are special tortures destined for
    particular souls. These are the torments of the senses.
    Each soul undergoes terrible and indescribable
    sufferings, related to the manner in which it has sinned.
    There are caverns and pits of torture where one form of
    agony differs from another. I would have died at the
    very sight of these tortures if the omnipotence of God
    had not supported me. Let the sinner know that he will
    be tortured throughout all eternity, in those senses
    which he made use of to sin. (161) I am writing this at
    the command of God, so that no soul may find an excuse
    by saying there is no hell, or that nobody has ever been
    there, and so no one can say what it is like.
    I, Sister Faustina, by the order of God, have visited the
    abysses of hell so that I might tell souls about it and
    testify to its existence. I cannot speak about it now; but I
    have received a command from God to leave it in
    writing. The devils were full of hatred for me, but they
    had to obey me at the command of God. What I have
    written is but a pale shadow of the things I saw. But I
    noticed one thing: that most of the souls there are those
    who disbelieved that there is a hell. When I came to, I
    could hardly recover from the fright. How terribly souls
    suffer there! Consequently, I pray even more fervently
    for the conversion of sinners. I incessantly plead God’s
    mercy upon them. O my Jesus, I would rather be in
    agony until the end of the world, amidst the greatest
    sufferings, than offend You by the least sin.
    742 My daughter, if I demand through you that people
    revere My mercy, you should be the first to distinguish
    yourself by this confidence in My mercy. I demand from
    you deeds of mercy, which are to arise out of love for
    Me. You are to show mercy to your neighbors always
    and everywhere. You must not shrink from this or try
    to excuse or absolve yourself from it.
    I am giving you three ways of exercising mercy toward
    your neighbor: the first — by deed, the second — by word,
    the third— by prayer. In these three degrees is contained
    the fullness of mercy, and it is an unquestionable proof
    of love for Me. By this means a soul glorifies and pays
    reverence to My mercy. Yes, the first Sunday after
    Easter is the Feast of Mercy, but there must also be acts
    of mercy, and I demand the worship of My mercy
    through the solemn celebration of the Feast and through
    the veneration of the image which is painted. By means
    of this image I shall grant many graces to souls. It is to
    be a reminder of the demands of My mercy, because
    even the strongest (163) faith is of no avail without
    O my Jesus, You Yourself must help me in
    everything, because You see how very little I am, and so
    I depend solely on Your goodness, O God.

    Happy Feast of St. Faustina!
    Mercy Radio

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Hello, I’ve been on “vacation” for a couple weeks and so haven’t had the chance to chime in on the LttW issue before it got old and tired, other than that I had put up a quick bit of an editorial on my forum which collected my initial thoughts. My hopes were that there would be an explanation forthcoming, not merely this abrupt cut-off that left everyone involved with huge question marks.

    Back home now, I’ve been reading the multitude of opinions here and at other venues, and having seen how the wind prevails, I just felt the need to offer my own viewpoint, since it seems to fly just a little contrary. Do I dare voice it?

    There is a such variety of Catholic Christian as myself, who is able to calmly and rationally read all kinds of prophetic messages with the sincere intention of seeking to understand the Father, and Jesus, and Mother Mary better — to comprehend them and their plans for us more deeply, and therefore merge with them more truly — while continuing to pray and meditate and study Scripture and go to Mass and all the other usual spiritual endeavors — not *instead of*, as the story is too often assumed. It’s not either / or. The gloating being heard out there seems petty, and I feel sadly that it’s unwarranted. We are *not* all “running after” sensations for hand-wringing excitement. So I speak.

    Thanks be to God, I was converted to the Catholic faith by way of Medjugorje, and with the many Catholic-inspired spiritual treasures out there to benefit from — including two thousand years’ worth of saints writings up to the present time — I look into many of them. Daily. Those who have seen my Blessed Hope Forum know that I collect a limited number of certain ones that I have found especially interesting, and I post them so that others “can see what’s being said” — simple as that, with no guarantees. I figure if God and His Family is speaking, He wants it heard, and people should hear. Far be it from me to say, “No thanks, I don’t need it.”

    The Locutions were part of that set of messages that I offered to be read and considered, with judgement left according to the discernment of the reader. After what occurred during my time away from home, I wrote a little editorial, then left them up for the time being, I may click the button to make them invisible to the public later. But first…

    I never suffered any fear from the Locutions. In fact, I was positively encouraged by them, and looked forward to their “promises” of helps and understanding. I felt closer to Mary in them, believe it or not, and I feel that somebody has to say this out loud, because I have heard from a few others who were also encouraged by them, but are reticent to say so, in the face of all those now chastising them for “being fools”, and recommending no more need for words from Heaven — now where does *that* come from?

    I still do not believe that the “message receiver” invented them from her own mind — they did previously prophesy unforeseen coming events, and, nobody wants the kind of humiliation that finally resulted. Really read them, and you’ll get past that theory. And I still have a hard time seeing them as coming from satan, as they were too enthusiastic about glorifying the Father and the Son and the Catholic Church, which the “source” wanted to shine as a beacon of Light in this dark world. That coming from satan? If so, he sure lost me over it, it effected the opposite of his wish. Then there was the warning months before that satan was going to try to destroy Mary’s plan by destroying her messages. Allegedly her messages. Well, that looks to have come true.

    I did not see the Locutions as perfect: I had one possible reservation concerning them that is never brought up, so I keep that mostly to myself, but I saw them as worthy of consideration.

    As far as some folks feeling fear from the Locutions messages, I have to say that I have seen more terrifying details written about in other prophecies, and even from here at The Next Right Step. There is plenty in our prophesied scenarios to feel fear from — *I* feel it, in general, as it’s naturally a worrisome bit of “knowledge” to walk around with. But such terrors were minimal in the Locutions, compared to other prophetic offerings, including Medjugorje, which scenarios have sometimes terrified the visionaries there, and has said that “you can not imagine what the Father will send to the earth” and hints that many, if not most, people are going to die from what’s coming. Approved Akita instills holy fear, with its fire falling from the sky. Other prophecies talk in frightening detail of nuclear war, veritable monsters, and half our country being destroyed and drowning under water.

    So if the Locutions were taken as false because people feared their warnings, we’ll be needing to throw out MOST of the rest, including Medjugorje. God will get our attention: it will be, what it must be, Lord help us.

    Lastly, and please, please do not take this the wrong way, Charlie, as I have only high regard for you and your mission…. but I really do fail to see how this “obvious mishap” over what was prophesied to occur during the Pope’s visit, according to the Locutions’ “source”, differs from when you quoted Jesus as having personally told you at Thanksgiving, 2013, something to the effect that “this will be the last traditional Christmas” (I assumed, as did we all, that it was speaking to us in general) — and then, at least for Americans, we went on to celebrate a traditional Christmas right through 2014’s.

    Now, I wouldn’t bet on us having a traditional Christmas of 2015 (I wouldn’t bet on any of them), but when as many Westerners had a traditional one in 2014 as did the year before, it left that prophecy looking, well, suspicious, you know. Anyone demanding 100% accuracy left your building right then.

    But, the rest of us all love you, Charlie, and we have skirted around that prediction, figuring, “well, this…”, and “well, that…”, making excuses, but I fail to see how that one differs from this one that apparently “failed” to materialize, either. Most of us admit that we have heard of accepted prophecy sources who had their embarrassing moments (to put it mildly) and yet life went on positively, with much more to treasure later.

    The Locutions lady quoted Mary. You quoted Jesus. What is the difference? I’m sure it’s enough to make prophets want to go hide underground.

    I won’t belabor it, but I have to admit that I am not completely convinced that this Locutions embarrassment didn’t have as possible an explanation as your Christmas revelation of 2013. I’m open to hearing where I may be mistaken, I strive for the truth.

    I look forward to 20/20 hindsight. I just think it’s not impossible that the Locutions lady, while currently humiliated, may eventually prove to have been in the right.

    I have read enough prophecy for it to seem to me that Mary speaks to different receivers in different ways, in voice, and in substance. Certainly the visionaries of Medjugorje have sometimes come away in tears from the wrenching strength of the messages received, and from sometimes having been rather personally chastised, too. I have seen that it’s not all sweet lilies and roses in Marian messages, and so I weigh that on the balance.

    Or, Lord help me, maybe I’ll be shown mistaken — it’s happened before.🙂

    I know I’m dragging up the rear here, so maybe this won’t even be seen, but I wanted to speak something for the “other side”. I see it’s long, but I don’t write much very often. You see what happens!

    The Peace of Christ to all here, and the truth that sets us free.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      I had cut off defenses of LttW, but because of your many contributions both here and at the Blessed Hope Forum, I give one more specifically for you. This is the last.

      I was a bit troubled that I think you erected more than a few straw men here…but I will only deal with the one involving me. I was surprised that anyone thought the comment regarding the last traditional Christmas was in error. I realized in the aftermath that many people had assumed that I meant we would not be allowed to celebrate Christmas at all. That had never occurred to me. Even in Nazi Germany and Communist Poland, the governments were hostile to Christianity, but many continued to celebrate it in their homes and churches if they could. Hardly traditional though. In 2013, the administration was saying that IF the IRS and other government agencies had actually targeted serious Christians for punishment because of their beliefs, it was wrong. The administration was still maintaining the façade that it WOULD make accommodations for conscience in the execution of Obamacare. In 2014, both the administration and a substantial number of “progressives” in Congress started arguing that it was RIGHT for government agencies to target Christians for living what they believed, rather than just mouthing it on Sundays. The administration dropped the fig leaf of accommodation, insisting that every knee must bend before government coercion. The only “accommodation” would be if a court ruled against the gov’t…and then they would try to figure another end-around. It is how they still try to force the Little Sisters of the Poor to participate in abortion coverage. By Christmas of 2014, for the first time in ALL of American history, Christianity was an OFFICIALLY disfavored religion, whose adherents were subject to government abuse and suppression. That there was no serious defense put us in the situation led us to the situation where now serious Christians are regularly fined, fired, and even jailed for living their beliefs.

      I take some pains to be specific about things that will involve temporal fireworks – an economic crash, which is coming, will make currency worthless. A global civil war will be fought primarily on cultural rather than political lines. But if people impute there must be fireworks and explosions for everything I say to be considered accurate, you are going to find a lot more “failed” predictions. I frequently tell people we miss prophecy unfolding because we almost always insist on a fireworks show to believe – and usually don’t get it.

      Now, on the other hand, if, instead of saying what I actually did, I had said that there would be an economic crash during Advent of 2014 and the Pope would be forced to address the changed world situation instead of his normal Christmas homily, that would have been, at best, a failed prophecy. If I had said that Our Lady had said that, I would have been a false prophet. What the locutionary of LttW did was the latter.

      If one says something and it comes to pass in a different way than some expected, it can be grounds for individuals to dismiss them, but it is a matter of interpretation. But if one says that the sign for these events will be specific, measurable, striking temporal events, if those events do not happen, it is a failed prophecy.

      In any case, thank you for all the great work you do, Linda. It is a profound contribution.


  3. kims1111 says:

    Talk about all things coming together, this morning as I listened to the daily readings from my Laudate app, the reflection after was from The Daily Bread site speaking about proficy and our culture of death.
    Here is a link to the

    Please make time every morning to read and/or listen to the daily mass readings.


  4. anthony says:

    Hi Charlie,
    Very good article. Especially the bit about Russia’s involvement in Syria. I think your right maybe Russia might be able to stop the further spread of Isis across the middle east. One bit of news I’ve found out about Locutions to the world. On the web site News and they have revealed that the person receiving the Locutions is a cloistered nun from Pennsylvania. Maybe this explains why Monsignor Esseff believed these locutions where worthy of belief.
    God bless

    Liked by 1 person

  5. CrewDog says:

    Removed in the dark of night:…mmandments-monument-under-court-order-n439806
    ….. and recently this:…-petition-arkansas-for-a-place-at-the-capitol
    …… and Christians being murdered for standing for the Faith in the USA by a crazed killer, apparently, influenced by Islam and/or satan …. and Obama, Media and Pals only interested in Gun (People) Control ’cause Christian Lives DON’T matter and a half black killer with Islamic/satanic ties does not advance the agenda/template of the godless Left ….. and will not be reported upon!
    It’s an ancient tactic of satan and pals to destroy God’s Faithful be they Christian or Jew or ….. Mock, Demonize, Legislate Against, Drive Underground and Exterminate. We are well into the Drive Underground phase in Europe/USA and in the Exterminate phase in areas ruled by Islam…….. Oh!! Obama/his Ilk want your guns!!
    There are enough Alarming small “Dots” out-there that if connected and added up would equal The Big One! Get Prepared … NOW!!


    Liked by 4 people

  6. Jean says:

    Thank you for this Charlie, I don’t know why but reading this today was really very painful and yet very much a blessing. I love your humility and I also love your love for Pope Francis. What I am learning and what is really changing me right now, is to love in complete abandonment and trust in God’s Mercy, which is Jesus Himself. To forgive everyone, to accept all things from God. I wish I knew better how to express this. It is a very deep and profound lesson that continues to go deeper and deeper, at least for me. God bless you and keep you always!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Kathryn Masters says:

    Interesting indeed. Blessings of Gods peace! Kathie

    Sent from my iPhone



  8. CrewDog says:

    “Government-Mandated Speech: Jerry Brown Signs Law Forcing Pro-Life Pregnancy Centers to Promote Abortion”
    “Woe to you that call evil good, and good evil: that put darkness for light, and light for darkness: that put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter. Woe to you that rue wise in your own eyes, and prudent in your own conceits.”
    Now Class! Does the above quote from Isaiah remind you of any particular persons or political party?


    Liked by 2 people

  9. Bob says:

    And I thought Jerry Brown was once a Zen Buddhist. I thought Buddhists believe all life is sacred. My how politics and power can corrupt. God please save us from those snares of the devil and quickly in the most merciful way possible bring down those towers of Babel!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. LukeMichael says:

    Thought police. Atheistic materialism. The work of the satan! This will all be destroyed by the Immaculate Heart of Mary. My mama!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. CrewDog says:

    Talk about “Big Brother End Times” developments:
    ‘People were less inclined to reach for comforting religious ideas’



  12. Kim sevier says:

    Feels like the twilight zone! Unreal.


  13. unsound1 says:

    Sorry I am new here and I have a question for Kruze,
    Although I have never done anything wrong to anyone in my life does this mean I am living in hell now? According to your statement they all fit me perfectly.


    • charliej373 says:

      So you know, what Kruse put up is an excerpt from the diary of St. Faustina, not a statement of his own. Also, since you put this as a reply to him, but as a free-standing comment, he is unlikely to know you asked him anything. I think you ought to read the comment again. He was quoting a mystical visit to hell by a saint. How that fits your experience may be a worthy contemplation for you, but such individual experiences, while they may ignite insight, are untransferrable. What it most assuredly does NOT mean is that you are living in hell.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

