Video of Louisiana Visit with Mark Mallett and Kitty Cleveland

Ducks on the pond at the Lafayette, Louisiana Visitors Center. I slept there for a few days.

Ducks on the pond at the Lafayette, Louisiana Visitors Center. I slept there for a few days.

By Charlie Johnston

It has been amazing driving the route I walked four years ago through Southern Louisiana. Obviously, it goes a lot faster, but it boggles me how far I actually walked. What a joyful period that time was! When I tell you that even in the midst of great hardship and uncertainty, sublime joy rises, I speak from experience.

Along my way, visceral memories arose of who I met, a phone call with my son, a lady who saw me and gave me two peanut butter and jelly sandwiches when I was hungry. You see things differently when you are walking versus when you are driving. I remembered what a welcome sight it always was to see a water tower peeking up in the distance – for that meant food and something sweet to drink.

Now the video of the joint meeting in Mandeville, Louisiana with Mark Mallet and Kitty Cleveland is ready. I link to it here and have added it to the Visit Videos Page. It was taped professionally by Focus TV, an independent producer of religious content for independent religious and diocesan stations through the world. Focus relies on donations and subscriptions, so I will add them to the permanent links in a new class of media links.

Most of this post will be pictures from my pilgrimage in Louisiana four years ago.

My next presentation will be on Tuesday, October 6, at 7 p.m. at the Mason Creek Community Center,  20201 Kingsland Blvd.  Katy, TX 77450. It is just outside Houston.

Bob Scheich (left), the friend who lets me use the downstairs of his home as home base, flew down to Louisiana to visit his Dad, Don (center) and attend the presentation with Mark Mallett and Kitty Cleveland. We visited at St. John's Coffee Shop in Covington.

Bob Scheich (left), the friend who lets me use the downstairs of his home as home base, flew down to Louisiana to visit his Dad, Don (center) and attend the presentation with Mark Mallett and Kitty Cleveland. We visited at St. John’s Coffee Shop in Covington.

By the Old Louisian Capitol in Baton Rouge during my pilgrimage.

By the Old Louisian Capitol in Baton Rouge during my pilgrimage.

Rayne, Louisiana - the "Frog Capitol of the World." Every building has a frog-themed mural on it - and I think there are more frog statues in town than there are actual frogs.

Rayne, Louisiana – the “Frog Capitol of the World.” Every building has a frog-themed mural on it – and I think there are more frog statues in town than there are actual frogs.

Librarian Trudy Ronkartz at the Rayne Library. I stopped in and she is still there - and so is the lion in the picture. She was kind to me four years ago - and we were delighted to see each other again.

Librarian Trudy Ronkartz at the Rayne Library. I stopped in and she is still there – and so is the lion in the picture. She was kind to me four years ago – and we were delighted to see each other again.

The staff at the Acadia Parish Library in Crowley, Louisiana. These ladies were wonderful to me when I walked through - giving me fresh fruit, protecting the table I worked at, setting up a radio interview. Alas, when I re-visited a few days ago, only Sandra - at the center front, was there. We had a nice visit, though.

The staff at the Acadia Parish Library in Crowley, Louisiana. These ladies were wonderful to me when I walked through – giving me fresh fruit, protecting the table I worked at, setting up a radio interview. Alas, when I re-visited a few days ago, only Sandra – at the center front, was there. We had a nice visit, though.

My friend Allen Reed from Jennings, Louisiana. I helped him clear and seed a five-acre field four years ago and stayed for a few days at his place on the Mermenteau River. We got together and visited near the old field. In Louisiana they call a cabin on a river or lake a "camp," which is where this picture was taken.

My friend Allen Reed from Jennings, Louisiana. I helped him clear and seed a five-acre field four years ago and stayed for a few days at his place on the Mermenteau River. We got together and visited near the old field. In Louisiana they call a cabin on a river or lake a “camp,” which is where this picture was taken.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Speaking Tour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Video of Louisiana Visit with Mark Mallett and Kitty Cleveland

  1. LukeMichael says:

    Love the pics! Thanks for posting Charlie.

    Like

  2. Doug says:

    Looking forward to checking it out!

    Like

    • Marie says:

      Have watched about half of it so far, was a little surprised at the tactless pirate joke Mark took several minutes to tell; all I could think of was how Charlie said Our Dear Blessed Mother has such a congenial sweet tone-and I can’t imagine her finding that joke having proper decorum, or that she would find it amusing. Call it nitpicking, however that time, albeit brief, could have been better utilized with Charlie talking longer and a few more Q&A’s instead, yes? (jmho) I know I shouldn’t get caught up in a minor faux pas, so back to finish the tape. I am getting lots of encouragement from it overall so thanks for that,
      And I enjoyed all the beautiful music, indeed soothing to the soul!!

      Liked by 2 people

      • charliej373 says:

        Ah shoot, Marie…it did give me the opportunity later to point out that I actually was wearing a red shirt. Mark and I had a great evening and really enjoyed being able to finally meet each other in person instead of just talking over the phone or via email. I think you will find the way we interact during the Q and A was really good – so good we talked about less presentation and more an interview Q and A type session if we get the chance to do this again.

        Liked by 4 people

        • This was so uplifting Charlie! I’m so impressed with Mark! His powerful and faithfilled commitment to “gather the wagons” is beautiful. I’ll be looking for the man who wears the Red Shirt during the storm for sure.

          Liked by 1 person

      • kathyk1 says:

        I loved the joke. And I can tell you from years working as a nurse, in times of crisis, humor is balm for the soul. Maybe we should all get a book of jokes for our storm supply!

        Liked by 3 people

        • Great idea kathy! I come from a huge Irish Family, we laugh at wakes and funerals!

          Liked by 2 people

          • Mick says:

            Hee hee Kathy and Kathleen! I already have joke books in my Storm preps. I also come from a large family (Black and Irish… does that make us “black Irish”?), and we also laugh at wakes and funerals. Well, maybe not so much at the funeral; but we most definitely get rambunctious at the reception (“party”?) immediately following the funeral. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

        • Marie says:

          Humor is like art, what one finds funny or beautiful, another is free not to. And after many years of being a full time care giver for my mother, who had severe alzheimers, in our home, and yes cleaning up many said ‘messes’, I guess, the humor is lost on me.

          Liked by 3 people

          • God bless you Marie, my hope is you find your joy. I remember after my husband died it was a very long time before I could freely smile again or laugh out loud. The wonderful thing about God is He is never changing and patient. I was able to once again find my own joy, and laugh with others. Before I knew it my smile was natural again…😊🙏

            Liked by 3 people

          • Beckita says:

            So true, Marie: taste in humor and art as well as other things is so personal and influenced by our experiences as you have written. More than a few times I have offended someone with my little giggle at something the other looks appalled to consider the least bit humorous. It’s a bit of a juggling act sometimes to be authentic to self while respecting the many, varied and sometimes unusual tastes of one another. I’m just grateful you’re here and we’re all here, together making our way along the path of our Rescue as People of the Kingdom!

            Like

        • donna says:

          agree, humor is my best weapon against hopelessness. I get to laugh at myself and lift my spirits….

          Liked by 3 people

      • jobrower says:

        I have to say that I was not insulted by Mark’s joke. We need a little levity in these days where we will be challenged as never before. Thank you Kitty, Mark and Charlie for a wonderful, uplifting, and, most importantly two hours of reality and truth!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Dawn Walker says:

    “Rayne, Louisiana – the “Frog Capitol of the World.” Every building has a frog-themed mural on it – and I think there are more frog statues in town than there are actual frogs.”

    -This is SO FUNNY! One of those funnybone moments for me. It just struck me that way!
    God Bless. +Pax, Dawn

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      The first time I walked into Rayne, I couldn’t stop laughing at all the frog murals. I aqlso found a great place to make camp there at the far end of town…one of my favorites of the entire journey.

      Like

  4. Becky-TN says:

    Loved the video!!

    Jesus, I trust in you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. the phoenix says:

    Nice to see how far you’ve come, Charlie! And your brown hat kinda reminds me of my favorite hat, which in my case is inspired by Indiana Jones and the motto “art is an adventure.” In your case, your motto “taking the next right step” has led to an army of steps and a continuing adventure.

    I have some relatives in Louisiana that I never met. What’s notable about them is that when hurricane Katrina was coming in, they rigged up a series of two-by-four wooden beams high up in the garage and placed food and water dishes for their cats on the wooden beams. Then they sprinkled holy water around their home and prayed before getting in the car and evacuating out of state. On their return, they found both their house and pets safe and sound. If I remember right, they lived somewhere near Lake Pontchartrain.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Alex ireton says:

    I loved the combination of you and Mark Mallet. A fabulous video. Thank you both.
    Prayers and blessings

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Ruthd says:

    I just watched the video. All I can say is WOW…I rarely watch videos on my computer, I just can’t watch for any length of time…I watched this and was totally blown away…I had never heard Mark Mallet speak and was really impressed..I am hoping to be able to get copies to give to people. Thank you Charlie for everything and always your great insights and answers.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Shirley Bachmeier says:

    I have been waiting with great anticipation for this video and it was all and more than I expected it to be. What a pair of encouraging, caring, excited prophets so desiring to be the spokesmen for Our Lady, and her triumphal mission inviting us to join her in her army of faithful warriors. You failed to mention the graces and prayers that we in your video audience would be receiving as well as the 700+ that were present. Thank you for your ever present loyalty to the Church, the Magisterium, and Pope Francis, giving you both credibility in these days of great deception. I believe that your messages will ignite an explosion of the Holy Spirit fire rushing and breaking through walls of unbelief, apathy, lukewarmness, fears, lethargy; rewards for speaking the TRUTH that they have been looking for. The Father and His favorite daughter will show us the next right thing. Our God reigns!

    Liked by 4 people

    • Beckita says:

      Well said, Shirley. I felt we were there! I actually experienced a precious healing during one of the prayers led by Mark.

      Like

    • 700! Gosh after watching it I wanted to be there! So much unity and community! The fire of the Holy Spirit spoke through both men!

      Liked by 1 person

    • jobrower says:

      Charlie, when Kitty asked how many in the audience were familiar with you or Mark, it seemed that she was amazed at the response. Did I interpret her correctly: was she amazed because there were so few? Also, it looked like she was surprised by the “number”, be it “few or many” who had heard your song. I know curiosity is not good, but I am hoping that there were many people who had not been exposed and that the numbers in Mary’s army will grow exponentially!

      Like

  9. alee106 says:

    Thank you Charlie. I’m glad I’ve seen your other videos first though. I can follow your simple message and am calmed by your easy going hopeful outlook. Trying to mix your message with Mark’s is a strain on my brain, very confusing for me. I hate to see your message diluted with others. I start wondering who is right. I don’t know much about Mark, but am grateful you’ve been under direction by your priests for as long as you have, and that a priest I highly respect knows one of those priests.

    Like

  10. Mick says:

    Just finished watching it. Awesome!

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Catma27 says:

    Wow Charlie!! You were so close to where I live and I did not get a chance to see you or hear you !!! Rayne is a great place and my sons mother in law painted most of the cement frogs in front of the stores and schools . Her husband was mayor for many years ! Great people , and Crowley is where I live !! Just was not in Gods plan that we meet , but a day does not go by that I don’t think about taking “the next right step” and doing it !! It’s given me such peace and direction !!! So many good people on this site , I enjoy it so much !! A friend said Mark Mallet was very good in Milton LA.
    May our good God bless you more than I could ask or imagine !!! God bless America !! St Michael protect us !
    Daddy God, “Renew Your wonders in this our day as by a new Pentecost ” St Pope John XXIII
    PS. Rayne has a frog festival and there is a frog derby and that frog just might get a kiss from the beauty queen !!

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Wow, so glad to hear it, Catma! I loved Rayne and Crowley. In Rayne, I made camp in the woods just north of I-10 across from the Burger King. It was one of my favorite places…well covered, close to places for food and with a great clearing to settle in at. I would walk every day down to the library on the south side of town. Trudy at the library was always very sweet to me.

      Like

  12. Beckita says:

    Oh how the Joy of the Gospel is woven throughout this delightful video!!! I LOVE the humor: Charlie like a bird bath! and Mark’s playful impression of St. John Paul II. Heartfelt prayers abound! The teachings and discussion are so worthy for what is new and what is review. The music is mightily moving! Kitty, your a capella rendition of the Ave Maria is ethereal and plies the heart to surrender ever more deeply to our Mother’s Maternal and Immaculate Heart. Mark and Leah harmonize in true beauty. To hear the crowd sing the Song of Thanksgiving with Kitty’s descant was a moment of exultation! (Already in the summer this melody was pressed to my heart, and continues to be hummed throughout the day, sung with gusto as Father and I sit down for dinner and echos in my head at adoration time.) Time for sleeping and my heart is full. Thank you for sharing!!!

    Liked by 5 people

    • June1 says:

      This video floored me in a good way. I finished it beaming. And then I had to go back and listen to Kitty’s Ave Maria again. The chills…
      Just incredible. I wish I could share this video (and a couple of other presentations by Charlie) with people but I just feel in my heart it isn’t the time. Everyone I try to share even a one-minute video about anything with people close to me, they either won’t watch it or make a big, grumbly scene about having to give me a minute of their time. Two hours would be impossible right now. Oh, well, The only thing I can do is try to take the next right step, eh, Charlie? I have been trying to discern more and be open to the Holy Spirit in seeing what to do next. This video has truly helped. Plus, I got to see Mark in action! As a fellow Canadian, I had to laugh because I guess our “abouts” really do sound like, “aboots.” Hee hee! God bless you all.

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Brad J says:

    What a very beautiful and inspiring event! Thank you so much for making this available to those if us far away. My family and I watched it this evening. You folks work well together I believe because of your humility and commitment to living the Truth in Love. You teach us how we will need to work together as well…Charlie I just LOVE your sense of humour!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Bob says:

    And Charlie says that the storm is the beginning of the rescue. I was thinking of some of the addicts I work with and how the 2X4 which may lead to them going to jail or family leaving is sometimes their only hope of getting clean and sober as they need to be separated from their drugs for awhile. Now if only God will soon clean up our world so that our addicts will not have to return to the same sick environments they come from after they are released from Jail.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Teddy says:

    Ha! Rayne is the next family trip. My son will love those frogs! Great pics.

    When you share the stage your message gets diluted. I see what you’re trying to do here and I know you’re trying to reach as many as possible, but I like the Charlie who is sitting comfortably, puffing on his pipe, speaking about the Next Right Step (ala Alabama) , than the Charlie dressed in a tie, sweating under the lights, with guys like Mark (God Bless him!).

    Your simple approach is what is so appealing and draws so many in (like me). I just want to hear you, not the guy with the head mic cracking corny jokes (God Bless him!). Sorry if I am out of line…sometimes I think I know better than everyone, but I am just trying to give some constructive criticism. I want you to do well and succeed. Be simple like St. Theresa and solo. Be careful and God be with you, brother!.

    Like

  16. Carmen says:

    I found the video a very prayerful experience in so many ways. I prayed along with everyone ‘in the room’, putting myself there outside of time and space, knowing that God is timeless and ever present!! The presence of the Holy Spirit was palpable. All of it was great!!! I couldn’t help thinking what a great DAD Mark is… can you imagine him telling you good night stories with his gift of different accents? What fun! I of course enjoyed the music (Leah and Mark are so in sync in their singing that obviously reflects their marital relationship), Kitty’s voice is angelic and Charlie is just too cute at being…. himself. Charlie, your laugh cracks me up! And Mark’s charismatic passion was amazing… I have mostly read his work… how inspiring to have it preached with joy!!! Thank you all for a great ‘retreat’ and allowing us to be there with you in spirit. I ordered the video from FOCUS and look forward to sharing with others soon.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Pam Nicholson says:

    Looks like this was a wonderful pilgrimage experience. God is with us. pam, from NJ.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Amy says:

    What a beautiful, Holy Spirit-filled talk. I was moved to tears several times. My kids are probably wondering what’s going on with me today. This is the only way I would ever be able to hear either Charlie or Mark speak because of my personal responsibilities and I found it a true blessing to be able to watch and even to hear some things that I’ve never read in MM’s writings. It took me far longer to watch it than the run time because I watched it between home-schooling and caring for 6 kiddos. It was worth every second. I hope to watch it again with my husband! Thank you, thank you for taking the time to do this and to Focus TV for making this available to those of us who could not be there in person. I can’t tell you what seeing this has meant to me.

    Liked by 4 people

  19. LukeMichael says:

    It was great to see Mark in p
    Erson(I mean on the video) as his wonderful meditations are so profound! We are so lucky to have you both! Praying for all through St Faustina and St Pio!

    Like

  20. Leslye killian says:

    I too loved the video; but found Mark’s unchallenged remark about Judas And Cardinal Kasper too close to directly comparing them. I also thought God is allowing the stage to be set for all players to show who they really are — something we don’t know fully, yet: Cardinal Kasper does actually make one good point, about Pastoral case by case in lieu of a person’s ‘internal’ status — which we need to avoid judging ourselves.

    Like

    • Pam Nicholson says:

      Oh, yes, yes, yes, yes, yes!!! You are so very correct! I see this synod, and the manner in which it has been set, for the Holy Father to get to really know who believes what, and with the aid of Pope Emeritus, who may know more about who believes what, regarding what the bishops may or may not have been teaching. Let us continue to watch and pray! God bless you for being so insightful! pam, from NJ.

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Hereford says:

    Wonderful video presentation! So inspiring to listen to and watch! Just one observation, is there a reason during this presentation that you said the rescue would be in “late 2017” instead of how you said it in the Birmingham video, that it would come in “October 2017”? Has something changed? Just wondering.

    Like

Leave a Reply

