Hope Against Hurricanes

hurricane-sandy-oct-29_wide-38ef46f6faf0c92c291d55e1d49ec54acef79239-s6-c30

(I was very sick yesterday. Though a little weak today, thankfully it seems to have broken. I will be fine for my presentation in Katy, Texas tonight (though I may take one more nap before then), but thank God I had nothing yesterday, for I think I would have had to cancel. I reckon it is God’s providence, allowing me only to be ill when I don’t have anything else to do.

I particularly liked this article offered by Dan Lynch. I have long thought that weather is more volatile and violent than we know – and that it is God’s restraining hand that has usually protected us. That actually coincides with modern facts. Weather has not been getting more extreme in the last decade…it has been getting less extreme, fewer hurricanes and tornadoes. BUT, more often it has been striking populated areas. As we have increasingly insisted that God butt out of our affairs, I suspect He has obliged us for a time – and so we are more often subject to the raw violence of natural forces without His restraining Hand protecting us. Dan offers good advice on how we each can invite God back into our lives and nestle ourselves back into the protection of His restraining Hand. – CJ)

By Dan Lynch

Hurricane Joaquin’s recent sudden change of direction and subsequent severe damage reminded me of Hurricane Charley. The track forecast for both hurricanes shifted significantly eastward.

Hurricane Charley was headed to our apostolate’s small mobile home office in Nokomis, Florida, while we were at our center in St. Albans, Vermont. It was the hour of mercy and my staff and myself adjourned to our chapel and fell on our knees begging Jesus King of All Nations for His protection and to spare the office.

Jesus King of All Nations promises us His protection and to mitigate the severity of the chastisements upon our country. He said, “Each time me you say these prayers, I will mitigate the severity of the chastisements upon your country. Whenever there is the threat of severe weather, recite these prayers along with the prayers I will later teach you, and no harm will come to you or to those you pray for.” (Journal 41-42). He also promises “mercy, pardon, and protection in times of severe weather and plagues.”

(Journal 54).  You can see the Journal here:

http://www.jkmi.com/jesus-king-of-all-nations-1/books-booklets/the-journal-of-the-secretary

As we prayed for His mercy during the hour of mercy, Hurricane Charley took a sharp turn away from Nokomis and headed directly for its landfall in Punta Gorda. This sharp turn, in response to our prayers, occurred at 3:48 PM, spared our office and baffled scientists.

Hurricane Charley was traveling at 258 kilometers per hour, but suddenly changed direction within minutes of the coast. “There was a sudden intensification and a veering to the right of track, and we’re all trying to work out why,” said Mark Saunders, a tropical storm expert from Benfield Hazard Centre at University College London, UK. We believe that Jesus King of All Nations fulfilled His promised protection.

Here is a formula for protection, endurance and survival of chastisements:

God’s Survival Kit: Faith in God’s Protection, Prayer for Protection, Thanksgiving for Protection, Acts of Mercy for Victims and Hope for the Future. As Jesus King of All Nations requested, we should embrace His devotion, pray His prayers, wear His medal of protection, rely on His promises of protection, enthrone and venerate His image everywhere and pray through the intercession of St.  Michael the Archangel and Mary, Mediatrix of All Grace.

Hurricane Charley Survivors gave us by their examples this formula for protection, endurance and survival of chastisements.

Faith in God’s Protection. Jesus King of All Nations said, “I have come to entrust to you a message of great importance for the world.  I tell you…the days are coming when Mankind will cry out to Me for mercy.  I tell you, My child, only one thing will be given as a remedy.  I Myself AM that remedy!  Let souls give devotion to Me through My Most Holy Mother, who mediates to Me on their behalf, as ‘Jesus King of All Nations.’ ” (Journal 14).

“If you had faith before the hurricane, this just made it stronger,” said a volunteer coordinator for an emergency relief center in Punta Gorda, Florida, the epicenter of Hurricane Charley. “If you didn’t have faith, well, it probably made it worse,” he added.

“Some people only turn to God when they want something,” said a survivor. “But faith shouldn’t be a once-in-a-while thing. We need to live it every day.”

Prayer for Protection. He and his wife recited Psalm 23 at the height of the storm, while they held pillows over their heads. They were scared, but the Psalm gave them comfort. Another survivor recited the Rosary the night before the storm to calm her nerves. When Hurricane Charley bore down on them the next day, she and her husband, their two dogs and a neighbor squeezed into a closet in their home. As the wind roared and chunks of their house began flying away, she shut her eyes and invoked St. Jude, the patron saint of desperate situations and hopeless causes. “Help us survive this!” she pleaded. They did, and so did eight other family members who live in the area.

Thanksgiving for Protection. A minister greeted visitors to the heavily damaged sanctuary at his church. “I never saw any anger,” he said. “But, I heard a lot of ‘Thank you, Lord, for a new day to serve you.’ ”

Acts of Mercy for the Victims. A survivor directed the flow of cars into his church’s parking lot for a week. They unloaded cartons of food, water and ice dropped off by strangers, and helped victims choose badly needed items to get them through the crisis. He gave hugs, offered prayers and handed bottles of cold water to motorists stuck in traffic jams on the adjoining street. His house escaped damage. The way that he saw it was that if God had spared him, it was his responsibility to heed Jesus who said, “Whatever you do for the least of these, you do for me.”

“I know how blessed I am,” he said, “so I want to give back.”

Husband and wife survivors, who owned a contracting business, gave temporary work to local Mexicans left jobless by the closures of so many area restaurants.

“Give me one can of spaghetti sauce and I’ll feed 50,” said another survivor. He and his wife suffered storm damage, but they knew pretty much everyone else did as well. So, he volunteered to cook meals for the hungry on a propane camp stove in their church kitchen.

“Right now, there are so many holes in the dikes, and just so many fingers to plug them,” he said. “But God hasn’t abandoned us. If anything, this will give us a chance to see His grace more clearly in our lives.”

Hope for the Future. A victim of the hurricane said, “We’re looking at this as God giving us a new direction in life.”

She donated the inventory salvaged from their destroyed bakery business to a local church. She and her husband resolve that as soon as they picked up the salvage of their lives, they would go on with hope in some new business.

“We got a message and we intend to listen to it,” she said.

A survivor understood why some homeless victims were angry, frustrated and without hope. But, for those who told him so, he had a ready answer. “I told them that there’s a force stronger than Hurricane Charley that can change their life for the positive,” he says.  It’s hope!

“We feel blessed and absolutely grateful,” another survivor said. “Every day we wake up is a good one, even if things are a little difficult right now. Life is beautiful.”

You may see my book, Chastisements, Preparation and Protection against Them, here:

http://www.jkmi.com/jesus-king-of-all-nations-1/books-booklets/chastisements-preparation-and-protection-against-them-

“Let us move forward steadfastly together into the storm…keep calm and carry on!”

(Winston Churchill).

“In the shadow of your wings I take refuge till the storms of destruction pass by.” (Psalm 57).

Dan Lynch Apostolates promoting devotion to

Our Lady of Guadalupe, Jesus King of All Nations,

Our Lady of America and Saint John Paul II

Visit our website at www.JKMI.com

E-Mail Us at JKMI@JKMI.com

May Our Lady of Guadalupe keep you under the mantle of her protection andmay the Reign of Jesus King of All Nations be recognized in your heart!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Guest Columns, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

80 Responses to Hope Against Hurricanes

  1. mmerkle2013 says:

    I was in the path of that hurricane and, along with thousands of others, were praying the same prayers. Did God turned the storm into us because of your prayers? If He did, was it because your prayer was better? I prayed the Divine Mercy, but I didn’t know Jesus as King of All Nations then. Was that why we were not spared?

    I am sure your words were intended to inspire. But we are exhorted to be extremely careful with what we attribute to God. If this article triggered such emotion in me, imagine how devastating they could be to someone angry at God or his Church.

    Liked by 3 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      I can only speak from my own life experiences. I have weathered what seems like ongoing storms most of my > 50 years of life. It is said that God does not give us more than we can handle. I have many a time asked God not to give me so much credit, and begged for a reprieve. In every case I was able to see God’s grace and know that suffering is redemptive.
      God’s mercy is seen in the midst and aftermath of disasters. We are called to accept His mercy on His terms. I hope that you experienced and were even a vessel of God’s mercy during that storm. I am grateful that you survived and are here among us today.

      Liked by 6 people

      • Pam Nicholson says:

        Oh, so very true, all you say from the heart! Let us all pray for this greater insight we all need to and can grow in. Thanks so much for reminding me that I can take courage in all my sufferings, as I hope to someday understand more fully the way God uses redemptive suffering. May we all have peace in all our sufferings and the joy to endure it. Many blessings. pam, from NJ.

        Liked by 2 people

      • NancyA says:

        When I hear that platitude that God will never give us more than we can handle, I argue that He does; He wants us to ask His help when He does give us more than we can handle!!

        Liked by 3 people

    • Denise says:

      Although i wasn’t in either location, those were also my thoughts.

      Like

    • ann says:

      mm–I am so sorry to hear that you were hit by the hurricane. I’ve been watching the devastation on TV and it’s horrible. I know what you mean when you ask if somehow you didn’t get the prayer right–not knowing the Jesus King of All Nations prayer, but truly that is not the case. And I know for sure that is not what Dan Lynch intended. God hears all our prayers. Sometimes storms veer and sometimes they don’t. Sometimes our children are kept safe and sometimes they’re not. (I know this from experience.) When I have experienced tragedy (and I have) I just keep reminding myself we’re all in God’s hands and it means trusting trusting trusting. The prayer that did work for me and it wasn’t a formal prayer was “Blessed Mother help me” as I went through my own “hurricane” and she did indeed help me in ways I’m still discovering these many years later.

      Please don’t lose heart. I will pray tonight for you and for all those in the path of that dreadful storm. God bless you.

      Liked by 5 people

    • Christiaria says:

      As someone who lives in hurricane country, we’ve had many homilies about just this kind of thing. I’m curious to know Dan’s response to your heartfelt post.

      Many years ago there was a major hurricane headed to La., and it was pushed away at the last minute by a cold front–a cold front in August! Many took this as a gift from God, but then Florida got pounded. Did he not hear their prayers?

      Whatever the answer, Hurricane Katrina came a’ calling the following year. Was it a curse? Yes and no. Many unexpected graces and blessings followed that destruction, not the least of which was a lesson in the temporal nature of this world and the goodness of God and his faithful ones.

      God bless you, and I pray you’re recovering from any loss or damage as a result of that storm.

      Liked by 4 people

    • NancyA says:

      I understand your sentiments, mmerkle. It is a recurring theme for some. When something good happens to one, and they attribute it to prayer, but another has an opposite response, was their prayer not good enough? You are right to suggest caution…

      Liked by 2 people

    • mmerkle2013 says:

      Thank you for your kind words and prayers, and words of wisdom. My heart goes out to you Christiaria. I had fled northward when Kristina threatened, and watched in dismay for three days the unfolding of Katrina. You were in my prayers, and the nations, then and now. It is amazing that, even 11 years later, the wounds can open with a simple turn of phrase. While I lost much, others were completely devastated. Yet despite seeing other’s suffering, I am ashamed to say “Why me, Lord?” escaped my lips at least once a day. “Why not you?”, he finally answered. I realized that in asking “why me?” I was really saying “This happens to other people, but I’ve done everything right. I thought we had an understanding, Lord.” But it was not about what I did, or didn’t do, how I prayed or didn’t pray. It was about what I needed to grow closer to him, learning not only generosity toward others, but how to allow others to be generous toward me! That was the beginning of my healing. Then, for the first time, I truly saw Jesus working through the hands of His people, and I was deeply moved. Now the “why me?” was not self-pity, but amazement at the graces poured on my family and me by total strangers!

      In the Storm that now rages, if someone asks us “Why me?” , will we try to answer for God, or will we allow God to work through us according to his plan, and answer that question himself? Charlie’s advice to acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around us will not just help others, but may very well save us from falling into self-pity ourselves.

      Liked by 5 people

      • EllenChris says:

        Thank you for sharing this, mmerkle. What you say here is the whole point. The event itself does not determine our response. How we respond comes out of our relationship with God, the way that we turn to Him with our questions, and how we listen to Him for *His* answers. St. Paul tells us that, “All things work together for the good for those who love the Lord and are called according to His purposes.” He will always bring good out of even the worst situations, if we turn to Him and open our hearts. The same situation can be a blessing or a curse as we either curse God or bless His Name for His love and Providence.

        After a disaster, people will sometimes say, “God saved me out of that” without thinking about the people who died or were injured. Did God love those people less, or not care about them, or want to punish them? The answer to all those questions is, “No.” There always needs to be sensitivity to those who are suffering. We do not fully understand God’s Will except as we begin to learn to accept His perspective — which is His Love and care for everyone always even when the circumstances are difficult for us to understand.

        Liked by 2 people

        • Beckita says:

          Thank you, Ellen for this guiding comment! With all of it worthy to ponder, I’m extracting this one profound thought which now becomes my meditation this day as it is an aspect of the first step, “Acknowledge God”: “How we respond comes out of our relationship with God, the way that we turn to Him with our questions, and how we listen to Him for *His* answers.”

          Like

    • joanp62 says:

      MM, I was thinking the same think as I was writing my reply to this article. I was living in the Tampa area at the time of Charley and while I am grateful we were spared, the fact is that it just hit another part of the state and others were not so lucky. I do truly believe that God is in control, but He does not answer the prayers of some at the detriment to others as far as I can tell. We just know that God’s ways are higher than our ways and whatever He permits to happen to us is only because He sees the bigger picture and knows what is for the good of our souls.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Dan Lynch says:

      It’s not a matter of “better” prayers, but the mystery of God’s providence in answering them. Please see my comment down below for more.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Dan Lynch says:

      It’s not a matter of who has “the better prayers”, but a mystery of the divine providence of God. Please see my comment below.

      Like

    • Pam F. says:

      You reminded me of something Fr Benedict Groeschel used to say when he was giving his Mountains and Valleys spiritual retreats, “God does not cause evil to happen, He causes that the evil that happens shall not be the worst”. Who can really know why some are spared and others happen to be right in the path of destruction. We can only know that God truly loves us all.

      Like

  2. Sandy says:

    Glad to hear you are feeling better, Charlie. Thanks be to God. I am so happy you posted this article from Dan Lynch. We are blessed to have enthroned the image of the Jesus, King of All Nations devotion in our home, as well as in 2 family members’ homes. I am working on the 3rd family member who has been away from the church. Asking all here to pray for him so we can do the enthronement soon. It will be a challenge, but the Lord is faithful.

    I am amazed that Hurricane Joaquin made a sharp right turn away from us in Florida. It can only be the merciful Hand of God. Thanking Him and praying for our brothers and sisters in South Carolina.

    God bless you all:-)

    Liked by 3 people

  3. EllenChris says:

    Thanks for this encouraging article, Dan

    “Our” Charlie (not the hurricane) visited us here in the New York “Capital District” in July. About 2 to 3 weeks before his visit we had two weird “weather incidents” right in our neighborhood, about 10 days apart from each other. A mini-tornado hit about 3 blocks away from us here, and then either another mini-tornado or micro-burst came up the next street over from ours, lifted up a large old maple tree and threw it against a house.

    Charlie had written here about how really wild weather had either preceded or followed him while he was on his walking pilgrimage. He also mentioned this odd circumstance while he was speaking here in July. Duh! I only put it together after he left here. We have a little tornado in Upstate NY once every 25 years or so. We had two within a couple of blocks of Charlie’s venue in under two weeks, right before his visit. So, I guess the enemy felt that it had to throw a couple of trees around just in a fit of pique. However, no one was hurt. The insurance company bought my neighbor a brand new roof (which she needed anyway), and Charlie’s visit went on unimpeded.

    It is all a matter of trusting God, and realizing that He alone is Lord of our world. We are in his hands. Prayers for the folks of South Carolina — and for all of us to just do what we can.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      Amen. Amen. Amen!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Pam F. says:

      Funny you should mention the odd weather around a Charlie visit! Two weeks after Charlie left us (Seattle visit) we had extremely high winds and a couple Seattle area tragic deaths due to falling trees. We had a large pine tree in our yard that we had been getting a little worried about due to the drought this summer. It was not looking too healthy but I worried because we didn’t have the funds to have it taken down properly. Well it came down while we were all home inside because of the storm. Our guardian angels must have positioned it perfectly! It missed the house, it missed the fence and it missed the truck parked in the driveway. The top of the tree landed within the 30 inches between the front of the truck and the garage door. And our good Lord removed that dangerous tree for free. So many blessings! I wouldn’t have traded a visit with Charlie for all the trees in Washington!

      Liked by 3 people

      • SteveBC says:

        Pam F., definitely. I see the same thing. People who need healing and things that need fixing are breaking in unusual numbers. I am grateful for these incidents, because it means things get fixed before the Collapse, things that will be very hard or impossible to fix after the Collapse but would cause a lot of trouble then if not fixed now. It costs money and emotion, but I view it all as blessings and graces.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Dan Lynch says:

      For hosting Charlie, EllenChris!

      Like

  4. Diane says:

    Our parish in Miami prays a Protection Prayer against Hurricanes and Storms every Sunday after the Creed and have done so ever since Katrina – we really feel blessed to have been spared so many times, and most of know that that prayer is the reason we have been spared. Andrew was devastating to our community, we did not have a church to enter the day after the storm yet so many came to mass, ragged and worn out, and there to give thanks and praise after being tossed by the winds. St. Alphonsis of Liguori says that we do think that God is not guiding the storms and natural disasters is a disaster in itself. Love. I do.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jean says:

    Thank you so much for this! I did not know about these prayers and I am going to start praying them for our Country.
    I would like tell a story about a tornado here in my State and the Blessed Virgin. I was outside calling my kids in and praying because the clouds were black and the air was green! In Minnesota, that usually means a tornado is forming! I looked up in the sky to pray for protection and saw the black clouds parting in the perfect shape of our Lady of Grace, and then I could clearly see her there, all in glowing white, she had her hands folded in prayer, praying and then I saw her hands spread out to each side as she was looking down at us. I was very shocked to see this but also extremely grateful because I was instantly filled with trust and peace and I prayed that Jesus would protect all of us from this tornado. The place we lived was not well built, no basements and no shelters…only a tiny closet and so many children living there! The tornado formed directly above us but it did not touch down, it traveled a few miles and eventually touched down later and threw one truck off of the road… the man in the truck had stopped and jumped out into a ditch and was not injured. That was it! That was the only damage done and I know God protected all of us and heard our prayers! He is so Merciful! Thank you Jesus and Mary! I now no longer fear storms as I know God will protect us when we trust Him.

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Petra says:

    Sorry to hear you were so sick yesterday Charlie. I hope someone was able to get you what you needed in terms of food and drink and maybe some over the counter medicine. Well, it’s getting to be that cold and flu season, and being in crowds, shaking hands and hugging puts you more at risk.
    I’ll say some extra prayers for you so that Our Lord will keep you healthy and strong so that you won’t have to miss any talks. Oh, and it wouldn’t hurt to take large doses of Vitamins C and D! 😉
    And Dan, love this article. I often ponder the acts of God in nature. His mercy is sometimes so evident.
    God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. After reading this post I looked at the clock and realized – it is the Hour of Mercy … an appropriate time to share a couple passages from the Diary of St. Faustina, which came to mind as I read.

    Some believe St. Faustina will be the next declared “Doctor of the Church.”

    St. Faustina had a vision of the Storm …

    991 February 26, 1937. Today, I saw how the Holy Mysteries were being celebrated without liturgical vestments and in private homes, because of a passing storm; and I saw the sun come out from the Blessed Sacrament, and all other lights went out, or rather, they were dimmed; and all the people were looking toward this [one] light. But at the present time I do not understand the meaning of this vision.

    Through St. Faustina our Merciful Savior tells us how to face the Storm:

    1731 Today I was awakened by a great storm. The wind was raging, and it was raining in torrents, thunderbolts striking again and again. I began to pray that the storm would do no harm, when I heard the words: Say the chaplet I have taught you, and the storm will cease. I began immediately to say the chaplet and hadn’t even finished it when the storm suddenly ceased, and I heard the words: Through the chaplet you will obtain
    everything, if what you ask for is compatible with My will.

    48 I promise that the soul that will venerate this image will not perish. I also promise victory over [its] enemies already here on earth, especially at the hour of death. I Myself will defend it as My own glory.

    Pray the Chaplet, Venerate His Image of Divine Mercy and put the message into practice through Deed, Word and Prayer. Learn more at Mercy Radio

    Liked by 3 people

    • Petra says:

      “Through the chaplet you will obtain everything, if what you ask for is compatible with My will.” I love that promise.
      Those words often come to mind when I am worried about something, or something seems very grave and unresolvable. Those words give me great comfort. Thank you for bringing them to mind again.
      God bless.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Andrea Olynick says:

    Here in Connecticut we believe St. Maria Goretti moved the storm as we have the privilge today of having her at our Church. St. Theresa Church in Trumbull Ct. It is wonderful. We feel very blessed.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      That is such a blessing Andrea! Our church, St. Mary Immaculate, will be the only one in Illinois outside of the Chicago Archdiocese to host her relics next Thursday. I will be serving as an adorer for the event and will bring all of your prayers and petitions with me. Relevant Radio had a great interview about her life and the miracles that have already occurred during the exposition of her relics here in the states. http://www.cantius.org/uploads/maria-goretti-chicago-morning-air-10-5-15.mp3
      When I taught CCD to seventh graders, I loved the chapter that included a biography of St. Maria Goretti. It was an opportunity to stress the virtues of purity and chastity, and remind the students that they can live saintly lives at their young age too.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sr Lorraine says:

      Yesterday the relics of St Maria Goretti were in the cathedral in Boston, and I went with another sister. It was beautiful and moving. The tour of her relics is a prelude to the Year of Mercy. She is a saint of mercy because of her heroic act of forgiveness for her killer, who later was converted. She appeared to him six years later, in his prison cell. In the apparition she was in a garden and picked 14 lilies that she gave to him, one for each of the stab wounds. That spurred his conversion and he led a holy life after that.

      Liked by 2 people

    • NancyA says:

      Andrea, I am taking my daughter, 13, and granddaughter, 13, to venerate St. Maria Goretti, tomorrow, here in NJ! I am very happy that my oldest daughter has decided to take her younger 2, as well. This is at the church where she was married, and since her heartbreaking divorce she has been unable to go to that church…. I was planning to bring a photo of their family, for St. Maria’s intercession… seems she’s already interceding!

      Liked by 1 person

      • jlynnbyrd says:

        That is wonderful! I hope that you all receive special blessings and graces.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Andrea Olynick says:

        Nancy A -I’m so happy to hear that you are going. The Mass was wonderful and I am so thankful. I will join your prayers for intercession of this wonderful Saint for your daughters and granddaughter. Please pray for my daughter Justine. She is away from the Church.

        God Bless All

        Liked by 2 people

        • NancyA says:

          thank you, Andrea: I appreciate your prayers and will add mine for your Justine!

          Like

        • NancyA says:

          Unfortunately, my middle daughter, left on a trip to New England on Monday. She misses this visit in NJ, was enroute on Monday so could not attend in Boston, even though she was headed up that way, and then CT is too far south for her to make it. I told her she’s just a step behind St. Maria, all the way… darn! Of course, she’ll be carried in my heart. I am encouraging my young adult sons to go, as well! what a grace!

          Like

    • Petra says:

      The relics of St. Maria Goretti are coming to St. John Cantius Church in Chicago next Monday, Oct. 12 (Columbus Day!). The church will be open for 24 hours for the event – 6:00 am Monday to 6:00 am Tuesday. There will be a Solemn Pontifical Mass celebrated by Archbishop Perry on Monday evening at 7:30 pm in the church. I am really looking forward to this event and the blessings this relic will bring. The church will be open for veneration of the relic throughout the night hours, so if you are in the Chicago area, please come.
      Here’s a link to the official web site: http://www.mariagorettichicago.com/
      God bless.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Petra says:

      Just wanted to add the information that for those living in the Chicago area, the relics of St. Maria Goretti will also be at St. John Vianney Church in Northlake, IL on Oct. 13,at St. Francis of Assisi Church in Orland Park, IL. on Oct. 14, and at St. Mary Immaculate Church in Plainfield, IL (as mentioned by jlynnbyrd previously) on Oct. 15 .
      You can find the entire schedule of the tour here, and see if the relics are coming to someplace nearby you in the coming months. It appears the tour ends Nov. 13.
      http://mariagoretti.com/tour-schedule-3/
      God bless. St. Maria Goretti, pray for us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • vkmir3 says:

        Petra: Thank you so much for this information. It just so happens that I’m going to be about 2 miles from the church in Plainfield on the 15th. This will enable me to venerate the relics of Saint Maria Goretti, the Saint I picked for my confirmation name. As the information on the website mentioned, this is a good way to prepare for the year of mercy. I will lift all of our intentions today at Adoration and on my visit to St. Maria.

        I will especially lift up the intention of God’s grace and peace to descend on all. It just seems like there’s so much dissension among family, among friends, and even in prayer groups and apostalates. Maybe it’s just me and my surroundings, however people seem to have short fuses and many misunderstandings. We all know whose work that is! I pray that the Holy Spirit and St. Maria Goretti (who had the ultimate ability to forgive) will fill each and every person with God’s grace, peace and love.

        Many thanks again for the information, Petra!

        Liked by 3 people

        • jlynnbyrd says:

          I am glad to know that we will be together in adoration on this special day. I feel less alone out here in the burbs knowing you, a fellow Next Right Stepper, is nearby. I hope to see you there. I too will bring all NRS intentions and petitions with me. On Thursday, October 15th, you will all twice blessed, (at least) 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

        • Beckita says:

          Thank you, vkmir and jlynn!!!

          Liked by 1 person

          • Susan, MI says:

            St. Maria Goretti is in Michigan today through Sunday.

            Thursday October 8
            Our Lady of Good Counsel
            47650 North Territorial Road
            Plymouth, Michigan 48170
            734-453-0326

            Public veneration of St. Maria begins: 3:00 pm
            Solemn Mass celebrated in St. Maria’s honor: 7:00 pm
            Public veneration ends: 11:30 pm

            Friday October 9
            (Reserved for a prison)

            Saturday October 10
            Sts. Cyril and Methodius Church
            41233 Ryan Road
            Sterling Heights, Michigan 48314
            586-726-6911
            Public veneration of St. Maria begins: following the 9:00 am Mass
            Solemn Mass celebrated in St. Maria’s honor: 9:00 am
            Public veneration ends: 10:00 pm

            Sunday October 11
            St. Scholastica Church
            17320 Rosemount Avenue
            Detroit, Michigan 48219
            313-531-0140

            Public veneration of St. Maria begins: following the 10:00 am Mass
            Solemn Mass celebrated in St. Maria’s honor: 10:00 am by Rev. Fr. Michael Scherrey
            Public veneration ends: 11:00 pm.

            May this Saint of Mercy touch many hearts and bring many graces to those who ask her intercession.

            Liked by 2 people

        • Petra says:

          vkmir3: Wow! A *God*incidence! – that you will just happen to be nearby the church in Plainfield on the day her relics are there, and that St. Maria Goretti is your chosen confirmation saint. How blessed!
          I also would like everyone to know I too will be praying during my time with St. Maria Goretti and at Mass for the intentions of all those here, and most especially for your teens and young adults.
          God bless.

          Liked by 2 people

          • vkmir3 says:

            Petra: It truly is a *God* incident as I will be in the Plainfield area working on a project and I am leaving to return home on that day. I live about two hours west of this area and only learned that I will be working in the Plsinfield on Monday. So, it was definitely God’s plan for me to have this opportunity, as it has been His plan discovering Charlie and this community about 6 months ago. Without this community, I would not have learned of this opportunity and would have been in a state of panic about all that is going on in this world!

            Like

  9. Pam Nicholson says:

    Oh, what a wonderful formula! Oh, I do so very much believe prayer and fasting can mitigate storms of all kinds. It reminds us when we see this particular activity that God never wants to see His children hurt, but, He so wants our loving and humble attention to His Will. Let us all be so very loving and prayerful children trusting in God’s plan always. pam, from NJ.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. I’m a new follower here. I want to ask prayers for my daughter, Christa. She just lost her husband, August 8th. (There are drugs involved in this family’s trials…and a young child affected by it. Please pray for them. Star and all, as this is a very public site, I don’t allow people to go into explicit detail that could defame or have legal consequences for private persons. I know your sorrow and I pray for your family. -CJ)

    Liked by 1 person

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Star, welcome to the NRS family. I have prayed the Prayer of Miraculous Trust asking for the intercession of St. Monica. May your family be lifted from the snares and burdens of addiction, and may the repose of the soul of your son-in-law rest in peace.

      Like

    • Petra says:

      Star: I will pray for your daughter Christa (such a beautiful name!) and her family. Rest assured Our Lord knows the details very well, and so He will see to it to intervene in the best possible way. Thank you for coming to here to ask.
      God bless.

      Like

    • barb129 says:

      I’m praying for your daughter, Star, and your whole family. I am also praying praying for the repose of the soul of your son-in-law. May our dear Lord and His Blessed Mother surround all of you with their peace and comfort.

      Like

  11. joanp62 says:

    I remember that year, 2004. I was living in the Tampa area. There were 3 hurricanes I believe that hit Florida that year, criss-crossing the state, Jeanne and Charley and Frances. I remember driving down through Punta Gorda after Charley some months later and seeing street light posts on the highway bent over like straws. In spite of the storms, where we lived we never got the brunt of them, just the outer bands, although we did loose power on our street for 4 days due to a downed tree. I thanked God that we were spared.

    Like

  12. Dan Lynch says:

    Thank you, commenters for your compliments and for practicing the devotion to Jesus King of All Nations.

    Some people wonder whether those who suffered from chastisements were guilty and deserved it. Other people wonder why some people who prayed for protection from a particular chastisement received it, while others, who also prayed for such protection, did not receive it. It doesn’t seem fair to them.

    I don’t think that those who suffered from chastisements are more guilty than other people, or that those who did not receive protection for which they prayed were unfairly punished by God.
    Jesus King of All Nations promised “protection” for those who pray His prayers and wear His medal. You may read about it here:

    http://jkmi.wsiefusion.net/the-prayers
    http://jkmi.wsiefusion.net/his-protection-from-chastisements

    “Protection” does not necessarily mean that you will not suffer from chastisements. It may also mean that you may receive protective graces if you do suffer from chastisements. God’s chastisements fall upon the guilty as well the just, as do His graces.

    Just people can suffer from chastisements, but may receive the grace of protection against despair and the graces to perform the works of mercy for those who suffered with them.

    In my personal case, I prayed for the protection of my office in Nokomis, Florida against Hurricane Charley and it was spared. Other people prayed for protection against the Hurricane in Punta Gorda, Florida, but were not spared. This does not mean that they were guilty or that their prayers were not efficacious. Many of them received protective graces against despair and the graces to perform the acts of mercy that are set forth in my post.

    Perhaps it’s a greater grace to suffer from a chastisement, but to receive the protective grace of enduring the chastisement, performing the spiritual and corporal works of mercy for the victims and of being a sign of hope to others.

    “Let us move forward steadfastly together into the storm…keep calm and carry on!” (Winston Churchill).
    “In the shadow of your wings I take refuge till the storms of destruction pass by.” (Psalm 57).

    Dan Lynch Apostolates promoting devotion to
    Our Lady of Guadalupe, Jesus King of All Nations,
    Our Lady of America and Saint John Paul II
    Visit our website at http://www.JKMI.com
    E-Mail Us at JKMI@JKMI.com
    May Our Lady of Guadalupe keep you under the mantle of her protection and
    may the Reign of Jesus King of All Nations be recognized in your heart!

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Joshua says:

    Regarding the “Devotion to Jesus King of All Nations”, I think that it is important to do a discernment about whether the alleged private revelations -the “seers” are anonymous persons once again- are true or false (the same as has been done with Locutions to the World, etc).

    The main critique comes from theologian Ronald Conte Jr., who says that the private revelation in itself is false (although it is 100% correct to pray to Jesus as “King of All Nations”). It is important to take time to evaluate those arguments (either to approve or discard them).

    Also, the concerns about “redirecting” a Storm to another area, and having other people suffer or die from it, are quite legitimate.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Okay, Joshua, you need to exercise a little more discernment. First, Ron Conte Jr. is not an actual theologian. He is a crank who claims on a website to be a theologian and true prophet. He is constantly making false predictions for specific dates, changing them when they don’t come true and denouncing almost anyone else who claims private revelation in an effort both to discredit competition and shift attention away from his own errors and outright deceptions. Among his claims have been,

      “Jesus will return in 2437 AD”, “nuclear attacks on New York in 2010 [which launches World War III] and Vatican City in 2013.” He predicts that the Holy Father will die in 2009 or 2010, to be replaced with two popes (both killed in the nuking of Rome in 2013). Hillary Clinton will be elected President and will become pro-life in 2009, Muslims will dominate the world from the 2020s to 2040s; then domination goes to Russia, to be followed by the dominance of Africa, India and China in the 23rd century. The tribulation will start on April 10, 2009, when each person on Earth will be presented with a vision explaining his or her sins.”

      You do not impress me when you come attacking a devotion that is allowed in the diocese from which it originated by quoting a complete and known nut-job’s criticism of it. So please do not quote that crank again here.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Hm. “Crank.” I had to look that one up. Praying for you, Charlie. I can only imagine the joy you experience in your recent travels, as well as the demands and rigors.

        I previously mentioned that I trekked up to Bell Pass to witness the recent super moon and eclipse because I thought it was worth it. Unfortunately, I was toting about 40 lbs. more (camera gear and extra water) than I usually carry, so the switchbacks towards the top were brutal. Up top I enjoyed a cool breeze, stunning views and a great deal of peace. Coming down in the dark was no treat, since my little flashlight was giving out and I got a lesson in what “take the next right step” is all about. Well, life is both a great challenge and a joy at the same time, isn’t it? Of course i just share snippet of nothing really, and there’s some very real, major suffering going on in the world. That said, I’m certain everyone suffers, no matter appearances, and I’ll continue to pray accordingly.

        I was catching up reading on the patio last night and feeling unusually ornery. Honestly, nothing seemed to be able to snap me out of it until I somehow ended up on youtube listening to some classic collections of Irish pub songs (don’t drink, but I am Irish). I was tempted to think of Jesus, sitting there with a bemused expression that said, “you’re a real piece of work, MP.” Instead, I ended up contemplating how merciful He is with me and how very, very much I owe Him. Everything, in fact.

        Jesus, I trust in You!

        Liked by 6 people

      • Dan Lynch says:

        The original revelations of the Jesus King of All Nations Devotion contained in the Journal were granted the Nihil Obstat that is a declaration that they were free from doctrinal and moral error. Jesus revealed that the Devotion is a companion devotion to the devotions to the Sacred Heart and to Divine Mercy.

        Bishop Enrique Hernandez Rivera D.D., Bishop of Caguas, Puerto Rico, granted the Nihil Obstat on August 15, 1993. The Bishop said that he recognized “the need to foster more devotion to Our Lord and Savior Jesus the Christ, True King of All Nations.”

        After alleged private revelations have been said to contain nothing contrary to Catholic faith or morals, the faithful are authorized to prudently believe in them (without obligation), and they may be published.

        The revelations of the Devotion are confirmed by many graces of conversion, healing and protection. No Bishop or other Church authority has condemned the revelations or issued a negative judgment on them.

        The mystic who received the revelations is anonymous on the advice of her priest spiritual director, a renowned theologian, so that Jesus will be at the center of the Devotion and not herself. She is anonymous, similar to St. Catherine Laboure’ to whom the Miraculous Medal messages were revealed. She remained anonymous until her death.

        Ronald L. Conte Jr. operates a website called Catholic Planet found here:

        http://www.catholicplanet.com/apparitions/false34.htm

        Mr. Conte labels the revelations of Jesus King of All Nations “false” even though Bishop Rivera adjudged them to contain nothing contrary to faith or morals. Mr.Conte is not a bishop or theologian recognized by the Church. He has no authority to approve or disapprove alleged revelations. That authority is reserved to the Church alone through its bishops. In fact, he approves some revelations that the Church has disapproved and he disapproves some revelations that the Church approved.

        For example, he finds “trustworthy” alleged revelations to Gianna Talone Sullivan that were disapproved by her Bishop. He finds “false” the revelations to Ida Peerdeman, some of which were approved. He also finds “false” the revelations to Barnabas Nwoye of the Precious Blood Devotion which were approved and even received a Nihil Obstat and an Imprimatur from his Bishop.

        For these reasons alone, the statements of Ronald L. Conte Jr. that critique revelations of Jesus King of All Nations are not worthy of belief.

        The Church still stands by the rules set down in the eighteenth century by Pope Benedict XIV that “assent to apparitions is of human faith, following the rules of prudence.” We give divine faith to public revelation as authoritatively taught by the Church. For private revelations, such as in the Jesus King of All Nations Devotion, only human faith is involved.

        The Fathers of Vatican II spoke about the prophetic office of the holy people of God, noting that the Holy Spirit distributes special graces among the faithful of every rank: “. . . these charismatic gifts are to be received with thanksgiving and consolation, for they are exceedingly suitable and useful for the needs of the Church.” Though extraordinary gifts are not to be rashly sought, Church authorities are reminded at the same time not to extinguish the Spirit, but to test all things and hold fast to that which is good. (1 Thes. 5,12 and 19-21). Prophetic revelations can be counted among the charismatic gifts that are meant for the building up of the Church.

        Therefore, you can be at peace about the revelations of Jesus King of All Nations. They offer us protection and encourage us to convert, pray, to receive the sacraments, and to have hope and confidence in Jesus.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Let me be even more clear about Ronald Conte Jr., Dan. When first directed to him some time ago, I thought it was a reasonably credible source. He claimed to be a theologian. I was taken aback when he declared Mark Mallett to be false – by saying something Mark had never said or maintained. My suspicions went up. Then he listed me…and found me to be false by discrediting something I have never come close to saying. I certainly have legitimate critics, but I found it striking that a theologian should do such sloppy, slap-dash work. So I dug a little deeper.

          I won’t bother discrediting Conte with my arguments. I will let him speak for himself. First, his credentials as a theologian from his WordPress account. There is no advanced study there, he is not under supervision by anyone. He is a theologian because…he says he is one…and according to him, he don’t need no stinking credentials.

          Then I went further. He claims to be a “true prophet” who takes seriously the business of discrediting false prophets. Here is a page from his website, Catholic Planet, outlining his prophecies from 2005. He is wrong on just about everything. I captured a screenshot of this, lest he gets smart enough to remove the evidence.

          Ron Conte is not a real theologian. He is a moonbat with a website. And he is not to be used here again to smear any of the serious people who are trying, in their little ways, to advance the faith rather than satirize it.

          Liked by 1 person

          • donna says:

            some of the many who have been kicked off his site have been Padraig and me…..but, it was the catalyst for Padraig starting MOG forum so God works in mysterious ways 😉

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            I did not know that, Donna. I guess I do owe the fraud a little thanks, then, for the Mother of God Forum that Padraig started is a treasure.

            Liked by 4 people

          • donna says:

            yes, apparently the Blessed Virgin Mary had other plans for the “heretic” Padraig….there are many of us “heretics” that were banned from Conte at MOG…..in Our Lady’s Living Room

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mack says:

            I agree that Ron Conte is not a reliable source. When I read his website a couple years ago, many things on it just struck me as odd. Then I saw that his predictions about the Warning, etc., were completely arbitrary and didn’t work. I was shocked when I saw he even predicted a date for the Second Coming of Christ! (despite the Gospel, “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father”–Mt 24:36). So I just dismissed him too as an oddity.

            Liked by 1 person

      • Joshua says:

        Hi Charlie, I just want to comment that “questioning” an alleged private revelation is not the same as attacking it, which was not at all my intention. I know that Ronald Conte Jr. has failed on most of his predictions (and I don’t like people who are always making “apocalyptic predictions” of this kind), and that he also unjustly condemns too many private revelations, including those approved by local bishops. However, he does says something legitimate, with the following: “I have noticed that visionaries who are anonymous are almost always false. There are many false private revelations in the world today. If any are from an anonymous visionary, you should consider them likely to be false.”

        Also, I fully agree with Katherine’s comment (October 7, 2015 at 10:53 am) about the personal freedom to choose a particular devotion.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Certainly the anonymity is a legitimate avenue for questioning, Joshua, but you should have done that under your own name. You have established some credibility here. But when you quote a completely fraudulent pretender and moonbat like Conte to support your point, it makes me question your judgment. Particularly when you quote such a fellow to attack someone who actually went through his local Bishop and took the time to get a Nihil Obstat. You have made enough reasonable comments here that I enjoy having you here. Please be more careful to make sure that your sources are credible in the future.

          Liked by 1 person

          • If I could throw in my “two cents” …. It’s been a long time since I have heard about or looked at Conte’s site … Now I remember why I took him off my radar many years ago. After looking over his site and lists of what is supposedly legitimate or not, I am thoroughly disgusted to see the Flame of Love Messages to Elizabeth Kindelmann (among others) on his list of “false private revelations.”

            Again I am reminded of St. Faustina who wrote:

            939 A soul that will not fully submit its inspirations to the strict control of the Church; that is, to the director, clearly shows by this that a bad spirit is guiding it. The director should be extremely prudent in such cases and test the soul’s obedience. Satan can even clothe himself in a cloak of humility, but he does not know how to wear the cloak of obedience and thus his evil designs will be disclosed.

            With that in mind, Conte is clearly not obedient to judgments already made by legitimate Catholic Church authorities on various private revelations, like those to Elizabeth Kindelmann and others. The Holy Spirit brings peace and order, not confusion. Conte’s site is another source of confusion for those not prepared or able to discern. Not cool!

            Our Lord once told St. Faustina:
            381 Yes, when you are obedient I take away your weakness and replace it with My strength. I am very surprised that souls do not want to make that exchange with Me.

            Liked by 2 people

    • Katherine says:

      Remember that prayers are not magic spells with which we control the will of God. The responsibility ultimately falls to God. We don’t pray for the rain to fall on someone ELSE’S parade, rather, we pray that, if it’s God’s Will, He will have mercy on us and spare us from suffering. It’s not our job to worry about everything and try to foresee everything. Our job is to be like children, and just ask, knowing that the real responsibility lies with the Father. And on devotions: I view these devotions, in a way, as God bending over backwards multiple times to get us to ask Him for things and as tools to help us unite our wills with His. They are things which help us to get to know Him and help us to learn to trust Him. They open up a dialogue. Some people might worry that if they don’t do EVERY devotion they hear of that promises protection, God will forget about them or smite them. “Well, you didn’t pray this certain devotion . . . you’re more a of plain old rosary person . . so, now your house will burn down.” That’s not how He operates. So, I’d just relax, if “Jesus King of all Nations” isn’t for you, pray the Chaplet of Divine Mercy instead.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Tom says:

        Amen, Katherine! Some poor souls get lost chasing after every devotion, prophet, etc. that they lose sight of the forest for the trees and lose their effectiveness and sight of the mission God has for them.

        I think the reason that there are so many different devotions and so many different prayers is that God knows that we are all unique, He created us after all. So each of us has our own charisms and each of us will be attracted to one or two of the devotions, but not to all of them. Just as He made each of us different, there are different devotions that each speak to a set of unique people. Now the Our Father is meant to speak to all of us. But after that, you can wind yourself up into a ball of knots and get lost chasing after everything.

        Liked by 4 people

  14. EllenChris says:

    Katherine said: “Remember that prayers are not magic spells with which we control the will of God. The responsibility ultimately falls to God.” Amen, Katherine! When we pray with Faith and trust and seek the Father’s Will, all things are possible. Too often there are some people who do regard special prayers as “magic spells.” I would never accuse Dan or others here of doing that, but there are those who do. Thanks for pointing that out. God is God — and we are not God. Many blessings to you.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Beckita says:

    Charlie, were you facing north when you were sneezing in the last few days? Offering my sneezes and sniffles for your complete healing and, hopefully, sending someone from Dallas to give you a virus-free hug from me.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Dan Lynch says:

    This is from my friend Debbi Vinnedge at Children for God for Life who took the next right steps after Hurricane Charley and was a sign of hope for others:

    I remember this day very well as Hurricane Charley was originally supposed to head directly into Tampa Bay. We boarded our home and waited and watched and prayed…and then yes – Charlie took a turn early and never reached us.
    When it hit and caused such devastation, we took all we had hoarded for the coming storm and reached out to others in our community as we were so very blessed and sent the goods down to the Port Charlotte area via truck. I personally implored help to all nationwide through Children of God for Life and went down there to help in whatever way we could. I would be remiss if I did not mention that the Catholic Medical Association also sent a large amount of prescription drugs and medicines to help St Vincent DePaul (who was badly damaged in Port Charlotte)
    I think this moment in time was perhaps the most profound witness I have personally made to the devastation and aftermath of a horrible storm. At CoG for Life we did an “adopt a family” program to help those in need and raised over 25,000.00 from across the country to help those in need – 100% of which was sent to a local Catholic Church for distribution. In retrospect, it seesm small. We do not know those who benefited nor was it important at the time. We just did what we knew had to be done and praise God for those who were able to help.
    I will still never forget the photo taken and sent to me…the sole burning candle in front of the Tabernacle despite the storm, that remained untouched and unwavering despite massive flooding and destruction of the local church….it will remain forever etched in my heart…our beacon of hope in the midst of the worst darkness…Jesus, our Lord and Savior – thank you…remembering 2004 and always…

    Much love in Christ,
    Debi Vinnedge
    https://cogforlife.org/

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Doug says:

    Nice Dan!

    Like

  18. Pingback: Sharing some information

Leave a Reply

