Out of Time

(I am still struggling a bit with this nasty cold. Please pray for me that I will be completely well for my next presentation, which will be Sunday, Oct. 11, at 3 p.m. at Little Carver Center 226 N. Hackberry, San Antonio, Texas. I will be glad to be back in San Antonio. My Dad was stationed at an Air Base there when my Mom got pregnant with me…so it is kind of a place of origin for me and a reason a count St. Anthony among my seven key patron saints.

In the meantime, I am glad to publish this marvelous little piece submitted by an Irish reader, Jack Doherty. It is time to be serious. -CJ)

By Jack Doherty

Growing up catholic in 1970s Northern Ireland meant that it was compulsory to attend Sunday mass.

The following story I heard while at one such mass; and you know it’s funny that I remember it – because I remember so very little about that particular phase of my life – we moved to a different parish when I was 10 years old.  Anything before the age of 10 is really only snippets and flashes of memories to me; faces, places, names – that type of thing, all very happy memories…but as I say, all mere snippets.

Anyways, the chapel I went to, like all the chapels in our town –  was always always packed to the rafters for every Sunday mass; 8am, 9am, 10am, 11am and 12noon.  All packed-full.  If you didn’t make it in early then you didn’t get a seat – and you were forced to stand with all the other late-comers (- these days’ things have changed dramatically, but that’s another story).  The Long Tower chapel, pictured below, always seemed so huge and grandiose to me.  And to this day it still has that aura – though 4 decades later it somehow doesn’t seem so big.

Long Tower Chapel, Derry, Ireland

Long Tower Chapel, Derry, Ireland

What seems strange though is exactly what I retain as my main memory of this chapel, of this era in my life.  It isn’t any of its grandeur – though I do still wonder at its beauty every time I think of or enter it; it isn’t being late and having to stand at the back of the chapel through the entirety of the Mass – which at such a young age seemed like an eternity, and which always made my legs hurt; nor is it the boredom all youngsters seem to experience during mass; it’s not the memory of my first communion day; nor my confirmation day; no, it wasn’t even the black and white photographs of my parents wedding day – that took place in this very same chapel, and which hung on our living room wall.  You know, all this actually seems even stranger now that I’m trying to write it down.

The memory that I speak of is actually ‘a sermon’ – given by a priest.  Course, I can’t remember his name.  But why is remembering a sermon so strange?  Well, I suppose it’s odd on a couple of levels: firstly, because I was perhaps only about 6, 7 or 8 years old when I heard it; and second, because I really can’t recall a more insightful sermon since.  To this day I often think why I remember this particular sermon.  I can guess.  But I don’t know for sure.

If you will, I’d like to share that sermon with you, today.

The priest began that Sunday morning by giving his parishioners a scenario: he began by stating that ‘the devil was troubled’.  He told us that the devil was troubled because the people of the earth were turning to God – and hell was losing its war.  In response therefore, the devil had called a high-level meeting of his greatest, most experienced and most promising demons.

At this meeting he had asked for ideas that might help resolve this most pressing issue – and consequently turn people back to good-oul-evil-doing.

There was much jostling among the demons, the priest said.  Shrieks and shrills as they clamoured to convey their ideas.  The devil however demanded order.  Several hands were quickly raised and Satan duly heard the ideas of his enthusiastic charges.

The first to speak was a young boisterous and fearsome demon: he stood up and snarled his terribleness – telling Satan that he would go to the people of the earth and appear before them that they might see and fear his loathsome power.  But Satan, unimpressed, waved the youngster down.

“Do you not think that the sight of you would turn the people ever more toward God?”  Another demon suggested that they send an army of the most evil-demons hell could summon, and that they march in full view of the peoples of the earth – thus forcing them to serve!  But again, Satan dismissed this notion as counter-productive.  More and more of this similar bravado came from the clueless demons of hell.  All dismissed by their evil master.

Then, something unusual happened in hell. The demons fell silent. Satan was furious. He roared and insulted his demons.   All heads bowed in shame.  A tirade of obscenity washed the silence from the underworld as Satan vented.  Then, out of the corner of an eye, Satan caught an old, decrepit and wary looking demon at the back of the room, with his hand half-raised and he staring passively back at Satan.

“YOU!”

“YOU THERE!!”  Roared the father of lies, “WHAT SAY YOU!?!”

This old demon was different from the others.  As he spoke Satan sized him up.  The father of lies could tell this one was a thinker.  When hush had again descended Satan asked this old fella as to what he might do to turn the tide in the spiritual battle for souls.  The old demon coyly answered, “Tell them there is plenty of time…”

The other demons laughed and roared gregariously.  But Satan shushed his court and asked forclarification.  The old demon went on to explain that if the people were sold the lie that there is ‘plenty of time’ …then it stands to reason that they will be fooled into thinking that they can do tomorrow what must done today.  He continued, “tell them that they can start that diet tomorrow…. for there is plenty of time.  Tell them that they can give up the cigarette next Monday….for there is plenty of time.  Moreover, tell them that they can go to church next Sunday – instead of this, for as you and I know my dear Satan….there is not plenty of time!

Footnote:

It seemed kind of ironic to me that since my relatively recent return to the faith I would stumble across another inspiring sermon related to time.  And without going into the details, the crux of it is – that God uses time to heal us; to calm us; and to lead us back to the right path.  It is apparent to me that time is a very potent thing.  We do well to use it wisely.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Guest Columns, Spiritual Preparation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

103 Responses to Out of Time

  1. Lynette says:

    Thank you, Jack, and Charlie. This is very powerful. I’ve often pondered time; how we never seem to have enough of it, how we waste it, how we regret the past and fear the future, how the really good things sometimes take hardly any time at all but we think they should, and how God is above and outside of it all and offers Mercy….thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Jack says:

      Thanks Lynette. I’ve never really had the time to sit down and write – kind of ironic that the first thing I ever write about then is ‘time’! …it just sort of tumbled out of me, actually.
      Thanks again for your kind words..

      Jack

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This might be a little off topic but not really. My Father was dying of cancer 35 years ago. He had been sent home to finish his life. There was no such thing as hospice or sending pain meds home with him. He was not able to sleep as he was so uncomfortable. I spent hours at night praying for him to just get a little sleep. I don’t know how I understood penance but I would hide behind a chair in his room and pray on the hardwood floor in the hopes that he would get a little sleep.

    We were talking one night about some of the good events of life. I said to him, “those were the good old days.” his immediate response to me was, some day you will be saying, “these were the good old days.” I couldn’t imagine that he said that but it was prophetic in the sense that so much darkness has come into the world in these past 35 years. It was difficult to watch the death of my father but this is a much more difficult time. May God keep us all in the Palm of his hand.

    Liked by 4 people

    • What touched me was the deep and pure love of a daughter who used her time well for her dad; who tried her hardest to give her father the best in the short time he had left- selfless prayer for his end days comfort. May God always bless you, Margaret.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Becky-TN says:

    Saw this yesterday on spiritdaily.com. Confirmation, I think…

    http://aleteia.org/2015/10/07/will-you-sleep-through-the-apocalypse/

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Kevin Malinak says:

    Wonderfully written!!! Thank You!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. SteveBC says:

    Thank you, Jack. entertaining and worthy. Charlie, I note your title to this post and have an update on two dreams I had in June which I reported on this site. Several people told me that they wanted me to update them if anything changed. Post this update or not as you see fit. I leave it to you.

    Two related dreams, the first of 10′-30′ waves in our harbor here, coming from the east with a powerful east wind, and tons of rain. A few weeks later a dream of looking south over the ocean and seeing a massive mountain range of a tsunami at least hundreds of feet high, possibly a thousand or more, stretching across the entire horizon and coming north.

    The update is that Joaquin was the first dream. The metaphorical elements of my first dream match what happened with Joaquin around October 3. I think the pair of dreams has been set in motion.

    The second dream occurred less than a month after the first in June. When I saw Charlie’s title for this post, “Out of Time,” I decided to update people here as requested. According to this dream pair, we have weeks, not months, to when the “Tsunami” I saw occurs, and I believe that image is not real but metaphorical. I don’t expect an actual tsunami but rather a wave of change and disruption so overwhelming that human institutions will be flotsam before it, and no human structure will survive unscathed (if they survive at all).

    As an interesting note, the Venezuelan mystic, Maria Esperanza, stated a number of years ago that the world would experience a massive collapse and that the collapse would begin in Venezuela. Venezuela is directly south of where I live, in the direction the Tsunami was coming from when I saw it in my second dream. I’ve been watching Venezuela recently. It is showing serious signs of disruption and possible collapse, as several of its regions have become seriously unstable. I believe I once read in a comment from Charlie that the Collapse itself would be imminent, within days, when a country collapses. That observation of his may be consistent with my second dream, as well as with the reality on the ground in that country in the present time.

    But, remember, that is all quite debatable. We are, after all, talking about a couple dreams here. So be careful to take my comments with several grains of salt.

    Nonetheless, according to this dream sequence, Charlie’s title is worth emphasizing – it seems we really may be about “out of time”.

    Liked by 9 people

    • oldkate says:

      Thank you SteveBC!
      I’m an old, sinful woman, 74.
      My sister in Christ, (now at Home with Him), & I, Both had “Intellectual Visions”, & Spiritual Dreams, that were Prophetic Symbolically. We also had Spiritual Directors, individually. We “Confirmed” our ‘Gifts’ through our SD’s 1st, then each other. We did our best to put our own prayer life for our families, 1st. ie: Daily Mass, Eucharist, Confession, & 2 retreats every year. (Our SD’s told us our Family Vocation was Most Important! “Bloom Where You’re Planted”!) We were also called to “share” & at times, WARN RC Laity, of the Errors being Promoted, especially in many RC Retreat Centers, and CCD Classes in our own Parishes! We were ignored, roundly, & at times, Rudely. The Laity of those years now have the Church THEY DEMANDED of their Parish Priests & Bishops! Not all of course, but sadly, most.
      I was given a forceful gift of “Discernment”. Discernment of Individuals, & Truths of our Faith that are Immutable. I absolutely believe the authenticity of your 2 Dreams, especially the 2nd one, using a Tsunami of Biblical Proportions, Symbolically!! Only the Great Mercy of Jesus, & Intercession of Mary have held it back for so long! Our Father’s Mercy shows through even the biggest Disasters! These have occurred primarily in places where the people are the most Innocent, &, Used to provide Cheap Labor. These people, for the most part, Treasure their Children & Families!! Surely, the Eternal Loss of Souls is Nowhere Near what it would be in our Comfortable Countries, ruled by “CHOICE”!!
      Pax Christi-
      Kathleen (aka-oldkate)

      Liked by 7 people

      • carol says:

        Dear Kathleen: There just isn’t anything in this whole world more important to me than my dear sweet husband and sons. In my little piece of this world most think I am crazy putting my family front and center instead of what I/family does for a living, how much money it pays and what that money can buy. Anyway, I just needed someone or something to let me know the value I put in my relationships with my immediate family are important. I feel so alone much of the time since the simple life we have chosen to live is looked down upon. Thank you. Carol

        Liked by 4 people

      • Kati says:

        Hey Kate! (Great Name!) 😉

        I know without a doubt that I like you and what you have shared….especially about your family vocation and its importance. Here in the very “comfortable” country of the USA, it is heartening to see the growth of groups who are praying, the practice of the rosary increasing, and the trust of parents and grandparents in Jesus Christ getting stronger. The worse it gets…the more of such things shall we see end experience. 🙂

        May our God bless you and all those you touch, Kate. Remember Lepanto!!!!

        Liked by 2 people

    • Mack says:

      thanks, Steve, I’m interested in the update on your dreams. Once you said that you had had similar types of dreams before 9/11, so perhaps they are prophetic in some way. The Venezuela connection is good to note too. The tsunami in terms of massive changes could correspond to the final crash.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Charlie, you won’t hurt my feelings if you don’t want to post this.
      I also had a striking tsunami dream many years ago. It was clearly symbolic. I was walking along a large beach on my way to see the bishop. I don’t know which bishop; I think it was just symbolic of the Church in general. The bishop’s house was a large, ornate mansion setting alone in the sand, front door facing the sea. As I turned to go up the walk toward the front door an angel joined me. I turned to look at him (oh what a sweet, powerful, joyful, peaceful, glowing face!) I saw over his shoulder a huge wave rise up out of the sea. It was, oh I don’t know, 300 feet or more. It came towards us so fast I only had time to say “Run!” and run we both did toward the porch. While running I saw a huge city in the distance, maybe a mile away, with skyscrapers. The wave overtook us just as we reached the bottom step. The steps were flanked by two huge pillars, pillars far too large for the size of the mansion. I sat down at the base of one pillar and wrapped my arms around it as far as they would reach and the angel sat down at the base of the other and did likewise. He was very calm. At that instant the wave reached us and I braced for impact. But instead of washing us away it stopped just at the end of my toes and arched up and over the bishop’s house, leaving it untouched. I could see in my mind’s eye that it rushed on and overtook the city and destroyed it. I knew as long as I held onto the pillar the water could not get me. Somehow, I knew that if I let go, even to go into the house, it would wash me away. The wall of water was fascinating; I could see fish swimming in it. Suddenly I saw something else swimming in it, too. It was a huge dragon. The dragon broke through the wall of water and attacked the angel. The angel did not let go of the pillar and though the dragon snapped at his feet it could not bite him. The angel’s face was very serious and focused as he stared down the dragon . I yelled at the dragon and started kicking at him to get him away from the angel. Bad idea. He turned towards me and began snapping at my feet. Oh, rats, I hadn’t thought of that. I knew that under no circumstances whatsoever could I let go of that pillar. If I did the water would wash me away. But the dragon seemed only centimeters away from getting me instead. I kept kicking and yelling at it. And then a funny thing happened. I noticed that gradually, gradually, the dragon was getting smaller and smaller. The longer the waves roared over the house, the smaller the dragon got. Until finally he was as small as a lizard. When he shrunk down to lizard size the wave rolled back into the sea and all was calm. I jumped off the steps and ran around to the back of the house and looked toward the city. It was all rebuilt, all shiny and new. The angel was gone. Then I woke up.

      Liked by 11 people

      • SteveBC says:

        SingingFlowers, thank you for this. I’m astounded. Truly. What a beautiful image for what we may be about to go through as well as how to handle ourselves during the coming storm. Wow. Just wow.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Karen says:

        Singing Flowers, what amazing imagery your dream provides! In my life I have had a couple of dreams which I believe are Heaven-sent but do not relate here. I only say that because of St Paul’s admonishment not to reject the help of the Holy Spirit and to add the name of another recipient of dreams such as yours and SteveBCs. You in the USA may be more familiar with her than I. I was cleaning out some papers today and came across a Dr Patricia Green who in the last couple of years has had 3 tsunami dreams in which Jesus says to her that He has shown several people as a warning. I don’t wish to link but you can do your own search – the LTTW serious episode causes me to hesitate. Those like Charlie who seem to discern well are free to set us on the right path. I note a criticism today on a blog somewhere of the millions of lives taken as related to Charlie – Patricia has been told likewise. Heaven is shouting – we have our ‘ears on’ – let us work in the Divine Will according to God’s Plan!

        Liked by 2 people

        • Yes, Karen, you are right. I have learned that it is impossible to interpret these things ahead of time but easy to recognize the meaning when they occur before our eyes. I think of all those years the Rabbis and elders of the Temple recited the Psalm that begins “My God, why have you forsaken me…” and wondered what it meant. Until Jesus hung on the cross and recited the first line of it. Those standing at the foot of the cross who had prayed that Psalm for years must have started reciting the rest of it in their heads while seeing the very manifestation of it before their eyes. They must have said.”Ohhhh, THIS is what it means!”

          Liked by 1 person

      • Mick says:

        Steve and Singingflowers… Yikes.

        Like

      • Colleen DeRose says:

        Very interesting that the waves themselves diminish the dragon. Sounds like what Charlie keeps saying about the storm itself being the precurser to the rescue. The order must be scoured clean and reestablished. And 2 pillars like in St. John Boscoe’s dream…hmmm. And the part about you not trying to engage the dragon on your own also echoes C’s admonitions not to think we can act that way without peril.
        What an interesting dream, singingflowers; thanks for sharing.

        Liked by 4 people

      • Barb H says:

        Steve and Singing flowers,

        I had a dream a few days ago that struck me. I seemed to be in a tall building or hovering over the scene and I was looking out at a huge area almost totally under water. I could see only roofs of houses as far as the eye could see. It was frightening but I felt a sense of calm though I can’t explain why. There was no body of water to have flooded the area, no ocean nearby, but there was no dry land anywhere the eye could see.

        It certainly could be the result of the recent storm, but I was struck in the dream that it was just miles and miles all under water.

        Barb H

        Liked by 2 people

        • Pam Nicholson says:

          Ah, oceans of mercy! pam, from NJ.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Many, many ordinary people are receiving dreams and messages but won’t tell anyone because they fear ridicule. I vigorously agree with Charlie that God loves the ordinary and we should too. I think it was St. Teresa of Avila who said in exasperation one day after dealing with a difficult sister, “God deliver me from mystics!” and warned us not to desire or seek out mystical experiences. But it seems to me that God is taking extraordinary measures for extraordinary times in his hurry to warn us all. The devil knows this too so we must be extra careful to be extra discerning. I take these dreams seriously but I also try to be detached at the same time. I read a great book that explained it well. The Theology of Vocations. Can’t recall the author. He said that charisms of the Holy Spirit such as visions, prophecy, healing, etc. do not sanctify the soul nor do they indicate that the person is holy. The Holy Spirit is free to use anyone at all and often uses the most unlikely persons for these mystical experiences to show that it is God’s power, not human power. One must humbly recall Balam’s donkey, for example. These charisms are always for the benefit of someone else, not the one who is manifesting them. They are for the hearer of the dream, not the dreamer, the one being healed, not the healer, etc. They are considered lower gifts. The highest charisms of the Holy Spirit, the ones that both sanctify and indicate the presence of true holiness are faith, hope and most of all charity. This is why St. Therese, the Little Flower, is such a great, great saint. Her charism was living and explaining true love.

          Liked by 7 people

    • Beckita says:

      Thank you, Steve and Singingflowers, for sharing your dreams. They bring to mind this passage from Acts 2:17-21…
      ‘In the last days, God says,
      I will pour out my Spirit on all people.
      Your sons and daughters will prophesy,
      your young men will see visions,
      your old men will dream dreams.
      18 Even on my servants, both men and women,
      I will pour out my Spirit in those days,
      and they will prophesy.
      19 I will show wonders in the heavens above
      and signs on the earth below,
      blood and fire and billows of smoke.
      20 The sun will be turned to darkness
      and the moon to blood
      before the coming of the great and glorious day of the Lord.
      21 And everyone who calls
      on the name of the Lord will be saved.’[c]

      Liked by 4 people

    • Beckita says:

      SteveBC, I also took note of this title, accompanied by Charlie’s exhortation at the end of his introductory remarks here: It is time to be serious. -CJ This is preceded by Charlie’s stand alone exhortative sentence as the second paragraph in “Grab a Helmet”: It is time to get serious, friends.

      Amen!!!

      Take, O take me as I am;
      summon out what I shall be;
      set your seal upon my heart
      and live in me.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you shared about the dreams, Steve. Reading it stilled me from within – which is normally the way God tells me to pay attention. I take your sharing as a call to prayer and one I will not neglect as I did before. Years and years before, I worked in an office that overlooked the sea. Used to see ships way out in the distance. Then, over 2 consecutive nights, I dreamt of ships crashing through the high rise office, and into the ground floor bus terminal. It was an almighty scare but I was very young then and didn’t know that it was a call to prayer. I put it down to being a nightmare. Then the terrible tsunami of 2004 and the Japanese one of 2011 happened, and I saw pictures of ships flung so far inland, stuck into buildings. The impossible had happened.

      I knew then that the old dream was no nightmare.

      Liked by 4 people

  6. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    Please get better, Charlie! Our prayers go with you.

    “Lord Jesus, Master Physician and healer of all souls, bodies and minds, grant to your servant Charlie, a quick return to robust health, so that he may continue to serve You and all faithful followers.”

    P.S.
    Great bit on the Satan using the “there’s enough time” ploy. Funny, isn’t it, that the Accuser and Adversary would use a concept (“time”) against us, whereas God, our creator and savior is NOT BOUND by either time nor space. Seems like a prescient contrast between the physical world and the infinite. Ah…what loving mysteries to wrap oneself in.

    Heal us all, Lord! Charlie first.

    Liked by 5 people

  7. Hopenjoy says:

    My Catholic brother-in-law was visiting us last weekend, he is almost retirement age and mentioned that it was kind of scary to think about getting old or dying. I immediately piped up with, “Oh, but we are so blessed! You can go to Confession, you can stay in a state of grace, you can have Jesus living in you from receiving the Eucharist. We can always be ready to die!” He looked a little startled, I guess he’d never thought of it that way. Several times in the Bible Jesus admonishes us to be ready, to be prepared, you never know the hour or the day. I guess these dreams and prophecies are telling us the same thing. And those of us who are a little bit more “in the know”, in terms of following Mark Mallett, Pelianito, and Charlie’s writings, have a greater responsibility to be ready…both for our own souls and to be ready to minister to those around you…yep, you know it…acknowledge God, take the next right step, be a sign of hope to others.

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Petra says:

    I remember when I first heard of Medjugorje back in the 1980’s, one message that really stuck with me was that we should *convert* (meaning turn back to God with all our hearts) before it was too late. I tried to look it up, and I’m not sure if this is the one I heard, but it conveys the meaning I took to heart:

    “My angel, pray for unbelievers. People will tear their hair, brother will plead with brother, he will curse his past life lived without God. They will repent, but it will be too late. Now is the time for conversion. I have been exhorting you for the past four years. Pray for them. Invite everyone to pray the Rosary.” (Thursday, August 15, 1985 (Feast of the Assumption))

    I definitely didn’t want to be one of the ones who put it off and then found out later it was “too late.” I thought at that time the *Secrets* and promised signs would come by the 1990’s, and I haven’t seen that happen yet. But as I look back over the years I see my conversion took/is taking a LONG time!! Yes, there was the immediate return of the Prodigal, and the joyous welcome home by Our Lord, but the restoration of what was lost is taking a long time! So, I guess even if Medjugorje proves to be false, Our Lord used it to bring me closer, so for that I am grateful. I am not sorry for even one minute for the time I’ve spent in prayer, at Mass, or for the renunciation of worldly things and ways! I just hope (and pray!) I don’t have to spend a lot of time in Purgatory.

    God bless.

    Liked by 5 people

  9. BlessedToLiveNow says:

    This is so timely, no pun intended. Since July, I have had three people I know, die suddenly (around the age of 50) of massive heart attacks and later found by family and friends. One, a week ago today. I have been in a bit of a funk about it and been in deep contemplation about the direction of my life and what God is calling me to do – turning down a major career opportunity yesterday due to what I feel I should be doing now for my spiritual growth. Charlie, you blog has helped me to understand that through both the Sacred Heart and the Immaculate Heart, I too need to come from the heart in all my life decisions – which in the past seemed much more mental and financially oriented. Thank you for all you do and share!

    Liked by 4 people

  10. Shirley Sinko Waselk says:

    Charlie—Get Umcka fast active berry packets for your cold. Health food stores sell them. Nature’s Way makes them… Take 4 or 5 per day- spread out and it usually kills a cold for me – especially before it starts big time…..Shirley

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Pam Nicholson says:

    Well, I do feel very blessed to have had the chance to read this and hope it goes viral. I have said, and I believe this with all my heart, that we cannot get back the days we said we would do something, especially something very important to us in some way. We dare not believe that although it is good to plan and hope for the future, that for any one of us, that time we planned for may never see the light of day, so to speak, for those who die before they can do what they keep putting off until tomorrow. And, we must remember that God’s time is not like ours. His clock is divine plan for the good of all people, not just for those who ask for prayers to be answered. His time is the true time mankind is completely and strategically given a slot of time for our coming to having a closer relationship with God. That time is now. For many, it is now or never. But, in God’s mercy He gives us ample time to do whatever we need to do to get it right that His time is always the best time. Time to share and care for what we believe is what God has planned for us and for our salvation. So, thanks for this piece, it is inspired and it is important to note that we all have a place in salvation history, every single one of us. So, let’s take the next right step, and do what we can do today, and forget about putting off until tomorrow, unless, God intervenes and helps us see that somethings can wait until tomorrow, and by whom. Blessings, pam, from NJ.

    Liked by 3 people

  12. jaykay says:

    Jack Doherty: wonderful! Would that we had sermons that mentioned the “H”-word these days, not to mention the other Last Things. We in Ireland are sorely in need, as you know. Your memories of Sunday (and Holy Day) Masses are similar to mine i.e. packed churches. Can’t say I recall any actual sermons, unfortunately, although the priests in my school were pretty good on teaching us the real stuff. Being Marists, they had very strong devotion to Our Lady, and October and May were special: Rosary and Benediction three nights a week. Being in the choir I had to be there. I loved it, although no holy Joe I, nor my friends, but it was just so much part of the very atmosphere, in the family and the whole society. God bless them, all gone now. And how much it’s all mocked these days by faux-sophisticates. Just over 40 years ago but it almost seems like a dream these days – how could it all have changed so rapidly?

    O.k., I know how, but that picture of your beautiful church evoked so many memories. Sorry for going on in this vein but it makes me so sad. Not defeated, however. Vivat Christus Rex, qui regnat et imperat in aeternum (they were pretty strong on teaching us Latin as well 😊). And thanks, Charlie, for giving Jack D the opportunity to post this wonderful piece. God bless all, J.

    Liked by 4 people

    • NancyA says:

      “twas not only in Ireland that the churches were full with standing room only. I lament the passing of those days, and it does not seem so very long ago, really… fifteen years, maybe twenty at most, it was still like that. 😦 No longer so in most “developed’ places.

      Liked by 2 people

      • jaykay says:

        Yes, NancyA, even up to the nineties in Ireland there was still good attendance, albeit down on the numbers of the ’60s & 70s. And you rightly refer to “developed” places. Why, here in Looking-Glass Ireland we’re so “developed” that we can believe as many as six impossible things before breakfast! Such as that two people of the same sex can be married…

        Et lacrimatus est Iesus

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Michael and Andree Chol says:

    Dear Charlie, I met you in Mandeville. I’m sorry your under the weather. If you don’t mind, may I make a suggestion for quicker recovery? Get some epsom salt and apple cider vinegar and take a very hot bath with 2 cups of each in it, soak for about 20 min, until sweating, then rinse off completely. Repeat this daily, even 2x/d, if possible, with rest in between for a quicker recovery. Drink a glass of water every hour. I know you said you now have many women advising you, without a wife, so hope this is not a nuisance to you, but I wanted to help you revive for the road. Thank you for your visit with Mark. It’s good to be with people of like mind and heart. God Bless You, Andree Chol Baton Rouge,La.

    Liked by 4 people

  14. James Ignatius McAuley says:

    “All the time you have is the time before you die. That is all any man has.” Dialogue of Reginald, Cardinal Pole in Lucy Beckett’s historic fiction novel “The Time Before You Die,” Ignatius Press, 1999.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. barb129 says:

    Thank you for sharing with us, Jack…a very powerful witness.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Noah603 says:

    Eh. I’m gonna read this tomorrow.

    Liked by 6 people

      • JoyInTheLord says:

        I was there at the meeting in Houston. Thank you, Charlie, for all the pilgrimage stories. Those are real situations and are good tools to remember. Yes, they are actually ‘useful tools’, not stories. Now I understand what you have been talking about regarding the fireworks. That IS a reality check for me. I also like the simple admonition of doing the right thing on hand. Can’t go wrong with that. (No puns intended.)

        Hopefully, you’ll be truly okay when you give your presentation in San Antonio. I could tell you were not really feeling very well the other night but you gave us your best just the same. That’s the generosity in you. Please keep us Houstonians in your prayers.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Anne says:

      Hey Noah …. Even time was up for building the ark and getting all on board!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  17. Judy says:

    Thanks for a great post. 😉

    Like

  18. JoyInTheLord says:

    Very good post, Jack! Thank you! Now I have another ‘story’ to tell over dinner when everyone in the family is at home.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. N Wright says:

    http://larchecommons.ca/users/upload/SPIRITUAL%20LIFE%2005.003EF%20Song%20book%20_%20Livre%20de%20chants.pdf The song “Children of the Light”, sung in our diocese in Canada for years now, has always bothered me…it says we have plenty of time for we have just begun. Also it says let the earth feel the warmth of the love in our hearts..not the Lord feel the warmth. It has a catchy tune.
    I do hope and pray that your cold is gone soon Charlie.

    Like

  20. Bob says:

    The only sermon I remember from my youth was a description of heaven and hell. In both heaven and hell all were seated at wonderful banquet tables but in both all needed to eat with 5 foot long forks and those in hell were starving as they tried to feed themselves but those in heaven were well fed as people fed each other. Of course with 5 foot long forks no one could feed himself.

    Liked by 2 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      I love that! In my 7th grade CCD classes, I gave my students a treat to hold in their hands. Then I told them to stretch their arms in front of them and challenged them to eat the snack without bending their wrists, elbows, or shoulders. They learned that they had to feed each other too. 😛

      Liked by 2 people

    • Kathy D. says:

      Hey, I’m 62 years old and I heard that same story when I was a kid! And I remember homilies starting with the priest bellowing out “my dear people!!” And there I was gazing at the stained glass windows wishing I could be in those peaceful places with Jesus. I know I was under 10 years old because at that time our family moved and I never had stained glass windows like that again. I still remember thinking how awesome God must be to have people build such beautiful churches for Him. No kid would feel that in the church I go to now. Nothing inspirational there. Ah well, things change but I am still awed by God…just have to look in other places!

      Liked by 1 person

  21. Debbie says:

    Please pray for Dan tonight. He has a fast moving cancer and they are not sure he will survive the night. Keeping you in my prayers for healing, Charlie. Hope you feel better soon.

    Like

  22. Get well soon Charlie!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. John Doherty says:

    Dia dhuit
    Hello ….this is for Jack Doherty…we live about 30 mile from Derry….might it be an idea to connect on the ground…my email doherty.john62@gmail.com

    We as a family get a lot from your site Charlie, thank you. To you, all the support team, and folk such as Jack who take the time to share their experiences/council.

    Best regards John Doherty

    Liked by 3 people

  24. Charlene says:

    ThanKyou Jack…. I needed to read this today wow. Prayers for your feeling better Charlie

    Like

  25. Beckita says:

    Thanksyou, Jack! You have written with dynamic detail a powerful recounting of a captivating story.!!! As I reflect on what you have shared with us, I offer a prayer of St. Theresa of Avila for those tempted to waste “time” regretting lost time::

    O my God! Source of all mercy! I acknowledge Your sovereign power. While recalling the wasted years that are past, I believe that You, Lord, can in an instant turn this loss to gain. Miserable as I am, yet I firmly believe that You can do all things. Please restore to me the time lost, giving me Your grace, both now and in the future, that I may appear before You in “wedding garments.” Amen.

    Liked by 4 people

  26. Jackie Dowling says:

    Wow! Hit that one right out of the ballpark!!

    Like

  27. Debbie says:

    Thank you for all the prayers for Dan. He passed away this morning.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      My deepest condolences, Debbie. May the Lord welcome him into the kingdom and may he now intercede on behalf of all of us through the trials before us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jaykay says:

        May God give you and your family strength, Debbie. Eternal rest grant unto him, O Lord, and may his soul, and the souls of all the faithful departed, rest in peace.

        Liked by 1 person

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Debbie, may God comfort Dan’s soul and all those whose loved him.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      I’m so sorry, Debbie. I’m praying: May Dan’s soul rest in peace. May Christ’s Perpetual Light shine upon him! May the Lord bring you, and all who loved Dan, consolation and strength.

      Liked by 1 person

    • barb129 says:

      My sympathy Debbie…Eternal rest grant unto him, O Lord, and may perpetual light shine upon him. May his soul, and all the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God rest in peace.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Petra says:

      Debbie: So sorry to hear Dan has passed.
      May the angels lead him into paradise; may the martyrs receive him at his arrival and lead him to the holy city Jerusalem. May choirs of angels receive him and with Lazarus, once a poor man, may he have eternal rest. (Roman Missal)
      I will continue to pray for the repose of his soul, and for his family and friends who grieve him.
      God bless.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Jackie Dowling says:

      So sorry that your heart is broken over your loss. Be of good cheer, I’ve had the grace of dying and briefly visiting Heaven. Words cannot describe the beauty and the joy! All sense of connection to this world is severed. There is memory or our lives here, but no pain at its ending. Rejoice! You will be reunited soon.

      Liked by 3 people

  28. Nancy says:

    Hi Charlie & Jack,

    Thank you for sharing. I have read something like this from St. Bosco’s prophetic dreams.

    Nancy

    Like

  29. kate says:

    C.S. Lewis. The Screwtape Letters. That is the book, in which the story of the demon conversation takes place, just incase anyone wanted to read similar

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Jason says:

    Debbie, I am praying for you and your family.

    Like

  31. Doug says:

    This is good. Use of time is all about priorities. When we say we are too busy for something, we are saying that the something is more important.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Agreed Doug. I was at a Catholic conference and a speaker said busy =
      B eing
      U nder
      S atans
      Y olk.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Doug says:

        Very good acronym. I say it as as much for myself as I am quite guilty of it. Thus, the storm will be for me personally. In a way, I am looking for it to move into full swing to slow me down. Of course, I may regret it later when things are in full swing. God bless you!

        Like

        • jlynnbyrd says:

          Since becoming unemployed, I am finding that often I tend to be in the “idle hands are the devil’s workshop” camp, physically and mentally, although I am more amplified spiritually. I believe that both extremes busy/idle give us tools necessary to weather the storm and that we not only exist during these times for a purpose, but that our lives demands, or lack thereof are also preparation the refining we must endure and the gifts we share.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            Hi! I have a favor to ask since you said all you have said. I am not in a position to go to Eucharist Adoration, and I was wondering if you would go on my behalf. Even if you go for 15 minutes and speak to Jesus for me. I am not kidding. I miss this oppty to go there when I was more able. Do you think you can be a proxy for me? pam, from NJ.

            Like

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Pam, it would be a joy for me to go to adoration on your behalf. Yes, indeed I will do that for you. I will also share our virtual adoration chapel link so you can be there in spirit anytime you chose. Bless you dear. http://www.smip.org/VirtualAdoration

            Liked by 2 people

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            Oh, thank you ever so much dear sister! I have found out I have bronchitis now in addition to my usual chronic condition I don’t much like to share with people because I believe it is just to hard to describe why I am so limited as it is neurological. My ability to fight off infection of any kind is always an issue if there is something going around. And, it got me again. But, I cannot thank you enough, all of you, for your prayers. I need them very much now. God bless all. pam, from NJ.

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            You are most welcome Pam! My father lost his autonomic nervous system functions and I’ve studied anatomy. You may be surprised how many may be able to relate to the state of your health.
            In any case, my daughter has Crohn’s disease and I understand being at a disadvantage for fighting diseases, ailments too. Wendy Cukierski @ http://cukierski.myshopify.com/pages/about-us (which Charlie has linked on his blog under Supply House) has an immune booster and other great products that have been a Godsend for us.
            Praying for you and as you by proxy. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            Oh, aren’t you something! God does have a way of reminding us of things that can help us right at our front door. I know all about immune booster and the recent studies on it. I do plan to stock up on it again. I think if I get a little nudge from Our Lord, maybe I can make of gift sets of this with some of the other products they sell. I love their site and I buy my beeswax holy candles from them. I love the surprise free gifts Wendy sends, too. She always has a little something just for me in the mix. God bless her and the tribe. Thanks ever so much! Many blessings and mercy! pam, from NJ.

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Hi Pam! This morning I spent one hour adoring Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament outside, on your behalf. Today we have the relics of Maria Goretti at church. I spent the first couple hours volunteering in hospitality setting up for our anticipated guests. Due to the large numbers of patrons and pilgrims, security and make shift traffic control lanes, the chapel is in a locked down area today.
            The open end of the tents was tied back at both sides. The sign-in registry and podium was off to the left upon entering. About ten rows of twelve chairs were set up on both sides of the main isle leading to our Eucharistic Jesus encased in the monstrance on the altar. The large tent was illuminated with soft white light globe balls that adorned the three enclosed sides at the seams.
            As I prayed the luminous mysteries of the rosary, which I also offered for you, classrooms of students came in with their teachers to adore Our Dear Lord too. The sun was out and there was a mild breeze that made the tent anchors chime on the medal posts. It was truly a unique and splendid experience and made all the better because of the dedication to you. God bless!

            Liked by 3 people

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            There truly are no right words to thank you for what you have done because your heart is huge with love. I must say I have been always very touched by St. Maria Goretti’s story, and continue to be each time I am blessed to see it on EWTN. What blessed and beautiful child of God she is. To have had both Eucharistic Adoration and veneration of the relics of this most blessed saint given in my name, is beyond all human expression. I cannot thank you enough for having such a loving and giving heart. I will be keeping you also in my prayers for all the needs of you and your family. God bless ever so much! pam, from NJ.

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            You are welcome.
            If you would like, I can send you the relic cards from the veneration yesterday. One is a prayer to The Little Saint of Great Mercy, and the other is a prayer of petition for Alessandro Serenelli towards the appeal for his sainthood.
            I brought Divine Mercy and Miraculous Prayer cards of my own that I touched to St. Maria Goretti’s relics for my own keeping. You can email me at jlynnbyrd@comcast.net. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            Oh, how very wonderful and kind of you to do this for me! You will hear from me straight away. Thanks ever so much! I love them both, and look forward having a card for Alessandro. God bless. pam, from NJ.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Yes. I guess it is about balance and proper perspective. Thanks.

            Liked by 1 person

          • LukeMichael says:

            The Virtual Adoration link is fantastic!

            Like

          • LukeMichael says:

            Should have put this in my last post but Pam I will go to Eucharisic Adoration on your behalf on Fri Oct 16th.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            Oh, thank you so much for your scheduled visit to Eucharistic Adoration on my behalf. I do look so forward to it. I also direct you to go to http://www.spiritdaily.com to read the headline story on Michael Brown’s Lourdes bath experience in which he describes what it is like to wait on line, prepare, enter and leave the bath. This experience he could not have known was also for people whom I pray for — just about anyone. Please do go read the story right away, and anyone else who has been praying for anyone on this blog. There are a few miracles out there to be had. I did not ask Michael to report this Lourdes bath description, so I know he was given to know to do this by Our Lord and Our Lady for all of us poor sinners who have recourse to thee. God bless all. pam, from NJ.

            Like

          • Petra says:

            jlynnbyrd: Remember that movie title: “If This Is Tuesday, This Must Be Belgium.”? Well, if this is Thursday you must be at St. Mary Immaculate in Plainfield, IL! 🙂

            I just wanted to comment about my day on Monday when the relics of St. Maria Goretti were at St. John Cansius. I volunteered and was assigned to work in the kitchen (I was surprised they were going to offer food, but I was not in on the planning, so, who knows, right?) from 8am until 11am. I arrived as scheduled, but the woman in charge of the food preparation was not there, so I busied myself wiping tables and then a woman came by asking if she could purchase a soda. She told me she was from Kansas City and had come to Chicago especially to venerate the relics! She was going to stay and attend the Pontifical Mass in the evening, and go home the next day. I was astounded. That someone would be so moved by Our Lord to travel so far! I was impressed.

            Then, because I didn’t know when my “boss” would arrive and I didn’t want to not be there when she did, I began to chat with a priest who was sitting nearby. It turns out he is a canonical hermit! Wow! Our conversation was wonderful, but cut short when the woman in charge arrived, but I felt so blessed to have had the time to talk with him.

            We began prepping food, and after a half hour or so my “boss” put me on the stove in charge of the Italian sausage and hot dogs. We were doing this on a massive scale, and I think I probably cooked 2000 sausages and 500 hot dogs. For 3 hours I didn’t stop!! (I stayed an hour longer than I had planned, until noon. The only reason I left is because I had an appointment.) And during that time I prayed as I worked for all the people upstairs in the church who were venerating the relic.

            Before I left I spent a brief time upstairs venerating the relic and praying, then I rushed to get to my appointment, but I felt so much joy I can hardly tell you! I marveled at the morning, and how happy I felt! I thought about my chat with the priest who is a hermit, and how he told me, just before I had to get to work, that often our very work is a prayer! He told me that, and then I lived it! Praise and Glory to God! The glow of that day still is with me when I think of it. I hope this is how life will be after the Rescue!

            I wasn’t able to attend the evening Mass, but I felt I had not had enough time in prayer, so I went back to the church very late, around 11pm, thinking it would be empty. But no. There was a line outside, down the steps and almost to the rectory, waiting to get in!
            I went in a side door, and spent an hour praying, and mentioned all those who have asked for prayers here and for all the teens and young adults and family members of everyone here who are far away from the Church.
            God bless.

            Liked by 6 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Goodness Petra, what a wonderful experience!
            I woke up and discovered that I have the onset of my second adult bout with singles. It’s just a small but distinguished rash now. So on with my day as planned. I started in hospitality from 8 to 10am. Then adoration from 10 to 11am. I then went home to rest before the evening mass at 7pm. I arrived at 6pm in order to go to confession first and qualify for the plenary indulgence. Mass ended at about 9pm. I then joined the pilgrims in line to take the time to venerate St. Maria Goretti’s relics and made a few new friends over the two hours in line. We were supposed to end at 11pm and we still had a mile of lines outside and around the building too. What an incredible event that combined mercy, patience, reverence, adoration, sacraments, many cultures, one faith. I understand how this could resemble a sneak preview of humanity after the Triumph of Our Blessed Mother’s Immaculate Heart.
            I offered the mass and prayed for the intentions of all here. I prayed for healing with my ailment or to have a brief and painless stint this time around.

            Liked by 3 people

          • Pam Nicholson says:

            Oh, jlynn, I will pray very much for your shingles now. Not to worry, the prayer warriors are on the way! God bless. pam, from NJ.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            Thank you so much for your prayers, Petra!

            Liked by 1 person

          • vkmir3 says:

            Jlynn! I was at your parish this morning beginning at about 10:30 for the veneration of St. Maria Goretti! I guess I didn’t realize that it was your parish. I remember seeing the hospitality room. I could not believe the number of people that were there! What a beautiful experience. It was so moving for me as Marie is my confirmation name. The volunteers were incredible and kept things moving well considering the number of people. What a beautiful parish. I wanted to spend more time there but I had to get on the road home as I had a 2 hour drive. It would have been wonderful to meet. Maybe another time. Vicki

            Liked by 3 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            So glad that you were able to participate in St. Maria Gorreti’s mercy tour. It was truly an inspiring faith filled day! I’d love to spend some time together next time you are in town. 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          • Beckita says:

            Praying for you, jlynn, to recover swiftly and well! PMT for you right now.

            Like

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Thank you Beckita. I have been more care-free and calm than I ever remember being, and it is alright. I think that is a long awaited life lesson learned. Perhaps my next course of action is to take this peace and available time and do something constructive with it outside my comfort zone, i.e. my house, my parish/neighborhood, internal prayer life, etc..

            I’ve been pondering activism for just causes, i.e. pro-life, freedom of religion, restoring our amendment rights, fighting for Judeo-Christian protection, go out on a limb and attempt to mend relationships with my children, in the “big city”, etc.. I’ve been a bit reserved since armed with the assurance that in late 2017 the Triumph of Our Lady’s Immaculate Heart will provide the Rescue and God willed corrective religious, familial, social and political environment for the new era of peace.

            I can’t help to think, however, Our Blessed Mother will still need foot soldiers on the ground. Am I willing to risk rejection, become a target, be imprisoned, and/or perhaps give my life in the field of this holy war; will I stay safe and just convince myself and try to convince our heavenly advocates, that my fasting and prayers are sufficient? Will my meek and content demeanor be put to better use in ways I can’t imagine currently. I discern and pray. I move on, progressing on all fronts (baby steps) and see where I am guided knowing that I may make mistakes, and it’s ok, I will be corrected and shown the way.

            Bless you for your prayers and blessings which I appreciate beyond words!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            “I discern and pray. I move on, progressing on all fronts (baby steps) and see where I am guided knowing that I may make mistakes, and it’s ok, I will be corrected and shown the way.”

            Amen and prayers for you, and for all here, as we continue to discern, jlynn.

            Like

  32. Becky-TN says:

    Pam,

    I didn’t have 15minutes, only about 10, but I did go to Adoration this morning. I prayed for you and on your behalf. I’m sorry you are not able to go to Adoration. We are blessed with 24/7 Adoration at our parish.

    God Bless,

    Becky

    Liked by 3 people

    • Pam Nicholson says:

      Oh, you had 10 minutes to be with Our Lord for me! I would have been so very thankful for even 5 minutes! Thank you so very murch. I pray for you through my illness now to raise you up for many graces from Our Lord and Our Lady. There are no proper words to convey my gratitude. God bless you most profusely! pam, from NJ.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

