Working in Dallas

By Charlie Johnston

A few have wondered where I have been the last few days. I am working on what I think to be an important, meaty post in summary of key things to confront the growing darkness. It is slow work, but I am pre-occupied by it. Meantime, I am not fully recovered from the nasty cold of last week, so am trying to balance work with recovery. I have an exciting and vigorous schedule in Dallas. Funny, it was probably the city I liked least on my first pilgrimage, but it is rocking for this one.

My hotel is just across a few fields from Cowboys’ Stadium and the Rangers Baseball Park. I looked at the post-season baseball match-ups and realized with some surprise that I have been in every city involved except Toronto since I began my presentations early this summer. Right now, my two favorite teams – the Cubs and the Cardinals – are matched up against each other. I’m a lifelong Cub fan, but I developed a great affection for the Cardinals during the five and a half years I lived near St. Louis. I know it is a rivalry – but it is not the sort of ugly rivalry that exists between, say, the Yankees and Red Sox. The Cubs and Cardinals are more like cousins who are in rivalry…the rivalry is real, but the affection is, too. I hope for the Cubs to win, but I will be rooting for whoever does the rest of the way.

Back in the 70s, many in Chicago floated the urban legend that if the Cubs won the series, that would be a sign of Armageddon. Ha! If Armageddon is upon us (not the end – but a decisive battle between good and evil), a Cubs victory would be a little consolation in the midst of the Storm. But now, having visited every city except Toronto…I will have fond memories of whatever city’s team prevails. Meantime, I will stick to my work.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

54 Responses to Working in Dallas

  1. José Tomás says:

    Charlie, I am afraid you were mistaken in interpreting “The Big Blunder” as the focus of the Pope’s addresses in the USA.

    Are you following what is happening in the Synod?

    God Bless

    Like

  2. Becky-TN says:

    Can’t wait for the next piece, Charlie!

    God Bless,

    Becky

    Like

  3. BD says:

    Wow, that is really a coincidence Charlie that you should mention the Cubs and Armageddon legend. I spoke to my brother last night (he lives outside of Chicago) and he asked me if it was me that told him about the Cubs and Armageddon story and I of course told him no, I never heard of it quite frankly. I did take the opportunity to mention the “Storm” that was coming and I am positive I peaked his interest. Only time will tell.

    Looking forward to your next post. Please take your time and cover as much information as possible, but can you hurry up already?

    Liked by 3 people

      • barb129 says:

        I’m laughing about all the talk about the Cubs. When the Bengals won on Sunday, I told my husband that it figures….the Bengals are finally doing well and it had to be this year! Hehe….

        Like

      • DanSouthChicago says:

        I’m surprised you remember the Armageddon “prophecy,” Charlie. Ha! Well, another saying we have in Chicago is that there are no Cub fans in Purgatory, as we’ve suffered enough already.

        I paid a visit to St. Maria Goretti on Monday at St. John Cantius church. Her relics were available for veneration and it was quite a powerful experience. We asked her intercession for you and the NRS family. Thank you for all you do. God bless.

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          Well, given who I am…and given how much I wanted the Cubs to win…you can see why this would cause mixed emotions in me.

          Like

        • peppermill says:

          I, too, paid a visit to St. Maria Goretti, but on Thursday at St. Mary Immaculate (was one among 15,600 visitors that day!) and I prayed for Charlie, his family and the NRS family as well. I owe you all so much.

          And, yes, GO CUBS!

          Liked by 4 people

  4. Anne M says:

    Charlie, you need to get yourself some colloidal silver. I use it allthe time and have not had a cold or flu in years. When I had c- diffnothing worked to heal me…I was dying…I came down stairs, goton the computer and the very first thing that popped up was anarticle on colloidal silver. I felt that God was leading me. I bought a machineand started making my own along with taking it every couple of hours. Withinone week that darned infection was gone! So if you have a nebulizer, you canuse the silver directly in your lungs and it will get rid of what ails you in a dayor two.If you would like me to send you some…just write back with your addy and I will drop it in the mail. That way if you start taking it you won’t have toget sick like this again. God bless you and thank you for working so hard for all of us,Carol

    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Catholic_Devotion_and_Prayers/ When I say “Hail Mary”, the heavens bow down, the angels rejoice; the earth jubilates, hell trembles; and the devils take flight! St. Francis of Assisi + Michael, Michael of the morning, Fresh chord of Heaven adorning, Keep me safe today, And in time of temptation Drive the devil away. Amen.

    __._,_.___

    Date: Tue, 13 Oct 2015 16:06:19 +0000 To: ireland_3@hotmail.com

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Okay, I appreciate everyone offering advice. However, since before my pilgrimage, I have lived a radical dependence on God. Whenever I take something designed to make me feel better, other than simple, over-the-counter stuff, I get very sick. The message is very clear to me. Trust God. So with respect and gratitude for all the kind wishes and concerns for so many out there, I will take NO more remedies or such offered in the best of spirits. After the Rescue, I will go back to normal and will remember some of these things. But for now, I will stay the course I chose.

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Kathy says:

    Funny that you mention the Cubs and Armageddon. My hubby says that if the Cubs do go the World Series, the global financial collapse will occur just before the Series begins OR the day before they are poised to win the Series. Because that’s how things roll when you are the Cubs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      My best friend (who is from St. Louis) said it is a Cubs fan’s luck that we would be leading in the eighth inning, about to win the series, when suddenly…BAM. I chuckled ruefully and said we Cub fans would not be surprised.

      Like

      • Tom says:

        Goats, Bartman, if now it’s The Storm ending another promising season I’ll certainly chalk that one up to God’s sense of humor.

        On the other hand, mabye He’ll take mercy on we long suffering Cub fans and will allow us to get one win in before He hits the reset button 🙂

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Well, God does what He wants…but I have rather petulantly told Him that if He interrupts a Cubs series victory, I hope He will be kind enough to let me live long enough to see one after the Storm is over – and I don’t want to have to live 100 more years to get it.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Patricia says:

            Charlie,
            As one who half heartedly listens to the Red Sox games until they win the pennant, like a lot of Bostonians, could you, in a brief fashion, explain why it is so important that the Cubs win? The question has to do with sports lore not the storm. thanks

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Because it is my team…and it has not won in my lifetime, my father’s lifetime, or my late grandfather’s lifetime. We Cub fans need to have a bone tossed our way. After that, coming generations of Cub fans can live their own hopes and frustrations.

            Like

          • Patricia says:

            Oh you poor thing. I remember well the great disappointment of the 67 Sox. I was in 8th grade at St. Joseph’s. The nuns were great fans and our school day stopped when the game started. The tv went on in every classroom and that was that. Worse was the 75 Sox. We thought the curse was forever. I hope you get your wish.

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            I was in Boston during the ’75 World Series – probably the single most dramatic and exciting series of my lifetime. Sorry you lost, but it truly was one for the ages.

            Like

  6. Beckita says:

    Thanks for the update, Charlie. Praying for you, your work and everyone connected to your site, both near and far.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We love having Charlie here with us – but have to correct the record – he is in the Dallas/Fort Worth area!!! Dallas is a whole lot different from Fort Worth where we went to mass at St. Patrick’s Catheral this morning. Actually, most of Charlie’s time is in Arlington while he graces us in the DFW area with his presence!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Donna says:

    CUBS!!! No Cardinals. From Donna in Cincinnati. (The Cardinals are our biggest rivals!)

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Cheryl McCarthy says:

    Dear Charlie:
    I am very grateful for your posts as it helps me to remember there are others who are good christian soldiers, just trying to be in God’s will. Sometimes it is so very easy to be in God’s will, and for those times it is difficult, he seems to pull us together to bring comfort. Praise God.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Melba Pourteau says:

    Just a note of thanks to God for His Graces flowing through your work to bring ‘next right step’ into focus for me. Over the past 2 1/2 months I’ve tried to read and/or view much of your postings – I am not a blogger so the idea is foreign to me! Mulling over postings, reading for an evening Mass, I flipped on EWTN Radio’s ‘Kresta in the Afternoon’ only to catch a listener’s question and Kresta’s repoly before I again flipped off the program. “Q: How can you tell if a corporation donates to Planned Parenthood? A: Oh yeah, sure. You can go to Life Decisions.org. They have a comprehensive list. Their research is accurate. you can get the list for a very nominal or no fee.” A day later, I remembered the Q & A and casually completed the search. To my great surprise,the list read like a who’s who of the companies I with whom I do business. I took the matter to prayer the following day, still shocked. I argued with God. “Maybe the information is outdated. I’ll ask for my own answers.” God humored me. As the responses came came back – or didn’t – I eventually confirmed Life Decisions’ results. It was then that I experienced the liberation that comes with taking the ‘next right step’ God asked of me. I began to unwind my three decades-long relationship with my bank – as simple as a few calls to direct depositors and writing a check at the new bank to transfer funds while leaving enough behind for outstanding checks to clear. But the freedom i felt was indescribable! Next I made the decision to discontinue using my credit cards (both issued by a different offending bank, one linked to an offending airline). More peace. Next right step, unwind the investment company relationship – also a big offender. A year ago, any one of these steps would have been unthinkable for me. Now I can focus on the endless possibilities for what work God wants those funds to accomplish – no longer ‘blood money.’ Peace is flowing like a river. Who would have thought? God sends us a very ordinary messenger with an extraordinary charism. Thank you for your ‘yesses.’ It was good to hear your in Katy, Texas.

    Liked by 3 people

    • June1 says:

      Thank you for this, Melba! I checked and I think the website you are referring to is fightpp.org. I’ve already been boycotting a few companies but I will read through and add more to my list.

      Like

  11. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    My very pro-Cardinals’ daughter is fretting because in the “Back to the Future” movie franchise in the 80s, apparently it was said the Cubs would win the World Series in 2015. Haha..she is more disturbed at that being a sign than in anything you have said, Charlie! I told her, “You are worried about that and then tease me for quoting Charlie?” 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  12. My grandson tells me that in one of the “Back to the Future” movies, it said that the Cubs would win the World Series in 2015. Prophet or profit??? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. LukeMichael says:

    I gRew
    Up in a big Irish family in New England. Yankees and Red Sox. It really split the family, pretty much 50:50. It was never really virulent though. It was fun. I long for those days where aunts and uncles, brothers and sisters really loved each other despite our different loyalties. We all went to Mass on Sunday’s and never seemed too worried about the world at large.

    It is amazing to see how the world has changed under the influence of the satan these last 60 years. I can’t wait for the Rescue! May God our father strengthen us all!

    I’m pulling for the Cubbies!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Dorothy says:

    Dear Charlie,
    This me Dorothy again .
    I asked you today under the previous posting a question …
    I felt bad about being too nosy, asking too much but it was on my heart heavy ….
    My question again was if the Storm will cause only political, economic changes or will it affect the geological changes in our earth ??

    Charlie I just read a new posting by Mark Mallett … Unbelievable !
    The timing is just unbelievable , our dear Pelianito and others are quoted in Mark’s article too!!
    Charlie you did not want to go into details but God surely answered my question today !!!
    It is ok, I am grateful this is what my heart is telling me anyway. No fear, just sadness
    that we people are sooo stupid and brought all of it on ourselves!!!
    Let’s pray divine Mercy Chaplet daily as much as we can !!
    I will try !! B

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Cindy says:

    Greetings Charlie and to all your faithful readers. I recently saw you in San Antonio and could easily see that you were fatiqued and weak. Yet you stood there for 3 hours relating your clear message and answering questions from the audience. Charlie, your personal example of commitment to the mission, total reliance on God, and “keeping one’s eye on the ball” is extremely vital. I’ve attended two of your talks in the past several months. Reason being that you literally model how to remain calm and steadfast amidst global unraveling. You have endured your demanding tour of talks despite illness, repetition of attendee questions, and absence of familiar surroundings and routine. Undoubtably, God is blessing you along this tour but the sacrifices you have made and continue to make are very meaningful to me. Because of your tangible example, I feel that I too can weather whatever God should ask of me (with His Grace and Mercy). Thank you Charlie.
    Cindy

    P.S. I bake a mean oatmeal cookie and fully intend to share some with you should I ever have the good fortune of attending another of your talks.

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Robert Cunningham says:

    Hi Charlie

    Your site and shared experiences have been a great source of hope. I appreciate that very much.

    By the way, I know that Dallas wasn’t very nice to you on your cross-country walkabout but since you are staying in the Texas Rangers back yard while you are here this time it would be good to cheer for them tonight as they hopefully beat the Blue Jays

    Like

  17. Bob says:

    Today I interviewed one our our heroin addicted clients and I asked her how many of her High School classmates were not using drugs and she replied that of about 50 only about 5 or 6 she estimated were not using some kind of drugs and one of my coworkers who was homeschooled said her dad was a teacher and when he would send kids to the principal for poor behavior or for having bad grades he, the dad, was often the one who had to answer to the principal for why the kid was having problems. So with our kids attending increasingly Godless public schools in which they are being allowed to blame everyone but themselves for their bad behavior what do we expect? Reminds me of Adam, “She made me do it, and Eve, but the snake made me!!”
    God help us!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Blessed be God for we are in the Rescue zone as this Storm intensifies. Oh! How we need this Rescue!

      Liked by 1 person

    • DanSouthChicago says:

      Wow, Bob. That’s 90% of her class that at least tried a drug of some sort? Unless we hang onto Jesus, it’s easy to get swept away in distress, aimlessness, fear or even boredom. Very scary. Thank you for the work you do and for your posts. God bless.

      Like

  18. Eileen Ehret Vacheresse says:

    Go Cubs!! Go Ohio State! Go Notre Dame! Go Greenbay Packers! Go Indianapolis Colts! hmmm lets see, oh yes, Go IU! ok… that’s enough. One thing is for sure, there is nothing I look forward to more than anything is Sunday Mass with my Pastor, Fr. Gray Bean. For those who love a great conversion story, please go to http://www.YouTube.com and type in Fr. Bean conversion story. He was a Baptist minister who studied at Oxford in England and came back Catholic. My life has been so blessed because of him. We have 200 families at our little Parish at St. Theresa’s in Leeds, AL. We have over 30 Catechumens in such a tiny Parish because Fr. Bean is so incredible.I thank God for the gift of having such a wonderful Pastor. Life is so good that it is hard to believe the Storm is coming. And yet I know it is.

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I know personally that Fr. Bean is magnificent. I participated in several Masses he celebrated when he was in Gadsden. He is a wonderful, lively – and funny – priest. God bless him!

      Like

  19. Maeb says:

    Perhaps it was in this section, or maybe another, but someone mentioned Zenit as a trustworthy news source. I don’t think so. As someone who fought to expose the evils in the Legion and its cultic arm Regnum Christi for 20 years, and who saw Zenit coverup and disseminate the company line, I ignore Zenit, and am surprised that the world has such a short memory.

    Like

  20. Doug says:

    Cubs and Cardinals have two great pitchers from the Redsox. I miss them up here in the North East. I am for the Cubs as I like to root for the under dog. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

