Christ Has No Body – St. Teresa of Avila


(On this Feast Day of St. Teresa of Avila, I offer this poem written by her.-CJ)

By St. Teresa of Avila

Christ has no body but yours,
No hands, no feet on earth but yours,
Yours are the eyes with which he looks
Compassion on this world,
Yours are the feet with which he walks to do good,
Yours are the hands, with which he blesses all the world.
Yours are the hands, yours are the feet,
Yours are the eyes, you are his body.
Christ has no body now but yours,
No hands, no feet on earth but yours,
Yours are the eyes with which he looks
compassion on this world.
Christ has no body now on earth but yours.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Discernment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Christ Has No Body – St. Teresa of Avila

  1. Bob says:

    Speaking of St Teresa I was just reading a bit of her “Interior Castle” online.
    As Mark Mallott once reminded us there are many good thngs about the lives of the saints and the truths of our faith available yet how few seek them!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Becky-TN says:

    Sadly, I needed that reminder, Charlie. I get so wrapped up in my own little world of selfishness. I forget.
    God Bless,


    Liked by 4 people

  3. Beckita says:

    I love our St. Teresa of Avila. What a fitting sequel to yesterday’s post!
    St. Teresa of Jesus, pray for us.

    Liked by 6 people

  4. rocky123 says:

    Charlie, I have just finished Michael O’Brien’s Elijah in Jerusalem. Right on topic!

    Jo Ellen



  5. Marie O. says:

    A few of us who are a part of a Next Right Step group in the area attended Mass together this morning. The priest celebrating ended his homily on this feast of St. Teresa of Avila with the very prayer you display with her picture. “Let nothing disturb you…” When we heard it, our heads immediately snapped around to glance at each other. We each had the same thought — this is a prayer we should be praying at all of our meetings! And then… your post confirmed it! Thank you, Charlie, for always reminding us where (or I should say, on Whom) our focus should be.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Anne says:

    And we can only be Jesus in the world if we open our entire hearts and stay close to the source of Grace… In fact in the Divine Will we have Divine Life flowing through us…. No longer our human will in charge but the Divine Will living in us.
    Hence all up forgiveness, bitterness…. All sin must be cleansed and an open channel is available fo Divine Life to flow through us to us.
    Only in this way can we truly live sacrificial love not selfish love.
    Cut the flow of grace …. No prayer, no sacraments…. And the flow goes back into me and self love. Keep ones eyes on the cross.
    Now and in the height of storm much sacrificial Love will be essential. please Jesus and Mary….. Help all who come here remain open channels of Grace.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Bob says:

    John Michael Talbott his take on her words

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Barbara says:

    I just came home from the RCIA class at our parish. They asked me to talk on divine revelation.
    Before I started,
    I played guitar and sang the song “Christ Has No Body Now But Yours” and introduced them to St. Theresa of Avila. I loved coming home and seeing this post. And yes, the prayer is so incredibly fitting for us at this time.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Jo Ann says:

    It is said that the angels envy us for two things: the Eucharist and that we can suffer. Been comtemplating the ‘power’ of each. I have a son who is suffering terribly, and I’m seeing unexplained miracles happening. Much prayer by many goes into this, and the way the people of God are leading even when they don’t know it, is such an example of the Body of Christ functioning as it should. Things are happening so very fast.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Mary Ellen Ventimiglia says:

    Hi Charlie been reading the blog since the summer on Wendy Cukierski recommendation. Have been reading Mark Mallett and Michael Brown for years. Both of your writings along with Wendy’s bring me calm and more clarity. when I saw your post today on St. Teresa I smiled. She feels like a special friend to me like St. Therese Liseux. On my Facebook page this morning I posted the same thing as you. All the Saints and angels and Our Lady and Jesus are watching over us. We need to be at peace now and not let fear overtake us. As St. Padre Pio said, Pray, hope and don’t worry. Amen.

    Mary Ellen V

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Beans says:

    Such a beautiful prayer. It reminds me of Hunt’s painting, The Light of the World, where Christ is looking out at the viewer, beseeching us to help Him bring His light to souls we encounter. To stand with Him, as it were, at the door of each soul praying for it to open to His grace.
    Thank you for your Fiat, Charlie.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Thank you Charlie, I will try to follow StTeresa of Avila more closely. I pray for everyone on this site every day . Christus Vinci.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Pam Nicholson says:

    So very, very beautiful! pam, from NJ.


  14. Melba Pourteau says:

    Yesterday I thought my ‘next right step’ was to select the locations for downspouts and rain barrels and meet with the installer. After our visit, I noticed a long neglected aloe vera plant listing to starboard in its 10 ” pot, nestled underneath the azaleas! Ever the skeptic, I engaged the Lord, “Really, Lord? You want me to spend the next three hours doing this?” His silent reply came unmistakably in a sudden awareness of the mild breeze and sun’s warmth – it was good to be there. I couldn’t help but notice that much of the time was spent on my knees in the grass, as I freed the generations of aloe vera plants from the pot. Slowly it dawned on me – “What a lesson, Lord! Your Providence just waiting to be ‘unearthed’ in silent, tenderness, patience and awe – in another tiny ‘next right step’ because God has no hands but ours.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Daphne says:

      If you have air conditioning, may I recommend adding the a/c condensation line into one of the downspouts that will run into a rain barrel. I easily get 5 gallons on the days that I run my a/c – and I live in a dry climate.

      Liked by 2 people

  15. NancyA says:

    Trust, trust, trust. Ordinarily I enjoy the insights offered by Dr. Moynihan in his Letters from the Vatican, but the most recent was disheartening. In it he suggested that the planned proceedings of the Synod be interrupted by a 24 hour call to prayer, followed by an urgent appeal to Pope Emeritus Benedict for guidance, as if Pope Francis is not capable of handling the confusion that is being broadcast. I was so saddened to see his proposal, and that it can inflame those who are so ready to find fault and failing in our Holy Father. I know that Dr. Moynihan means well, and has a love for the Church at his heart, but we must allow the Holy Spirit to direct and trust the Holy Father to take it all and make it truly reflect the promptings of the Holy Spirit.

    I prefer to believe that the Holy Spirit IS leading, the Bishops ARE in prayer, that Pope Emeritus Benedict is in prayer, and that Pope Francis will snip all the loose strings when the brocade is complete and ready for presentation. Then we will see the fruits of the whole. And it will be good.

    No more hand twisting. Pray, trust, wait and don’t worry.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      I agree with your assessment, Nancy, after reading the recent letter. I also find the proposal for 24 hour prayer actually redundant; in my view, it de-emphasizes the reality that so many individuals and groups have been assiduously praying long before the opening session and they continue to pray for the current synodal proceedings..

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Kathleen from NJ says:

    And yet another confirmation! Charlie I’ve been saying a similar prayer every weekday for the last 2 weeks. It is entitled “My Gift to the Christchild”:
    Lord Jesus, I give you my hands to do your work,
    I give you my feet to go your way,
    I give you my eyes to see as you see,
    I give you my ears to hear as you hear,
    I give you my tongue to speak as you speak,
    I give you my heart that you may love in me your Father and all mankind.
    I give you my spirit that it may be you who prays in me,
    I give you my whole self, Lord Jesus, that it may be
    You who grows, works, loves and prays in me.

    Keep those confirmations coming – I LOVE IT!

    Liked by 2 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Kathleen that is lovely, thank you for sharing it with us! Another clear confirmation comes from our Holy Father in his daily Joy of the Gospel excerpt. 🙂
      Friday, October 16, 2015
      The Joy of the Gospel – 288 Closing Prayer

      Mary, Virgin and Mother,
      you who, moved by the Holy Spirit,
      welcomed the word of life
      in the depths of your humble faith:
      as you gave yourself completely to the Eternal One,
      help us to say our own “yes”
      to the urgent call, as pressing as ever,
      to proclaim the good news of Jesus.
      Filled with Christ’s presence,
      you brought joy to John the Baptist,
      making him exult in the womb of his mother.
      Brimming over with joy,
      you sang of the great things done by God.
      Standing at the foot of the cross
      with unyielding faith,
      you received the joyful comfort of the resurrection,
      and joined the disciples in awaiting the Spirit
      so that the evangelizing Church might be born.

      Obtain for us now a new ardour born of the resurrection,
      that we may bring to all the Gospel of life
      which triumphs over death.
      Give us a holy courage to seek new paths,
      that the gift of unfading beauty
      may reach every man and woman.

      Virgin of listening and contemplation,
      Mother of love, Bride of the eternal wedding feast,
      pray for the Church, whose pure icon you are,
      that she may never be closed in on herself
      or lose her passion for establishing God’s kingdom.

      Star of the new evangelization,
      help us to bear radiant witness to communion,
      service, ardent and generous faith,
      justice and love of the poor,
      that the joy of the Gospel
      may reach to the ends of the earth,
      illuminating even the fringes of our world.

      Mother of the living Gospel,
      wellspring of happiness for God’s little ones,
      pray for us.

      Amen. Alleluia!

      Given in Rome, at Saint Peter’s, on 24 November, the solemnity of Our Lord Jesus Christ, King of the Universe, and the conclusion of the Year of Faith, in the year 2013, the first of my Pontificate.



      Liked by 1 person

  17. nicky says:

    Mark Mallett has a wonderful reflection on what happening regarding the Synod. I am starting to feel peace as all unfolds. Reflecting on tomorrow’s Gospel regarding if we don’t deny God he won’t deny us. Thinking of Joan of Arc and the graces given to her to stand for Christ in persecution. Little self denials strengthen us for the bigger ones.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Mimi Sternhagen says:

    Thank you Charlie for your encouraging words. You are a real blessing!


  19. Bob says:

    And St Teresa reminded me of her cohort John of the Cross. Of him here is JMT rendition of John’s poem “One Dark Night” Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Where can I read the St. Teresa prayer “Christ has no body” in context? Need a reference.


Leave a Reply

