What A Day!

dog-chasing-tail

By Charlie Johnston

I was up at 4 a.m. today to get some work done before catching an 8 a.m. flight with American Airlines to Aberdeen, South Dakota.  There was a mechanical problem with the plane that delayed it for two and a half hours. I had an American Airlines (AA) connector in Dallas and a Delta connection in Minneapolis. The delay derailed that particular transportation train. No problem. AA was wonderful in putting together alternate plans and offering me options. But alas, though Delta had another flight to Aberdeen from Minneapolis just a few hours later, it would not honor the connection. It told AA I would have to pay a full new fare. After almost an hour of trying to reason with them, the embarrassed AA Agent told me what the problem was – and that AA did not have flights to Aberdeen.

It was astonishing, but AA offered several options that would have got me there. Unfortunately,  all were complicated by certain time issues and logistics for my return to Denver. Finally, the AA Agent suggested she could get me to Sioux Falls early in the afternoon – a two-hour drive from Aberdeen, but with a discount car rental, it could work. I took it.

When I got to Sioux Falls, my luggage wasn’t there. I called AA – and they found the baggage change order had not gotten down in time, so my luggage was in Minneapolis. Once again, AA was wonderful. They are getting my luggage to Sioux Falls, where I will pick it up tomorrow before I drive on to Aberdeen.

Hoping that maybe we had gotten a bad apple at Delta, I asked my coordinator, Mary, to call Delta and ask if we could switch the Monday flight from Aberdeen to Denver to originating from Sioux Falls. Basically, the Delta agent told Mary it was not their problem and I was stuck. Mary said we change flights all the time with Southwest (my preference) and they never charge so long as we do it in advance. The Agent sniffed that Southwest is a “no-frills” airline, while Delta is “established,” and does not need to do such things. Perhaps, but I know two frills Southwest never scrimps on: courtesy and customer service. The corporate boneyards are littered with entities that were well-established until they decided courtesy and customer service were frills they needed no longer concern themselves with.

Anyway, my day has been so hectic I completely lost my temper at one point – and had to apologize to the very helpful people I vented on. Hopefully, tomorrow, my luggage will have arrived, I will pick it up, and have a nice ride in South Dakota. So tomorrow night I will write something serious for you.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

96 Responses to What A Day!

  1. VIvi says:

    Charlie it reminds me about a story u told us when u got stuck in traffic. I was stuck in houston due to plane mech problems but i was happy i was not in that plane. Yes you were blessed today. Praying for ur trip.🙏🙏🙏

    Liked by 2 people

  2. barb129 says:

    Good grief!! That was an awful day…here’s hoping and praying that things improve!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. nanannda2 says:

    So sorry you had such a frustrating experience getting to South Dakota! I pray your day goes well tomorrow, you get your luggage, and you have a peaceful drive up to Aberdeen. I also pray that this means your visit to Aberdeen is going to be EXTRA special for all your troubles. God bless you and sleep well. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Simone says:

    They didn’t know with whom they were dealing. I hope a tall lanky chestnut haired individual doesn’t pay them a visit. 😉 On a more serious note, I haven’t usually had great experiences with Delta.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I was really shocked at how bad and arrogant they were, especially after I gave them a “mulligan” and a do-over. The clerk talking to Mary bragged that she had 16 years experience and knew what she was doing. She would make a good petty bureaucrat.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. alee106 says:

    So sorry you had to go through all that. I would have lost it MUCH earlier than you did, and I don’t have to live with the constant suffering you do (I am clueless how to handle physical or mental stress and be as pleasant to others as you are!) Praying for peace, safe and pleasant travels as well as the return of your luggage, all through the intercession of your “gals,” Sts. Therese and Joan of Arc.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Shannon Larson says:

    I’m so sorry they happened to you! How frustrating…
    I hope tomorrow is better!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Ah…I needed a little penance and purification. And I was delighted to see how genuinely helpful and kind so many people with American Airlines, the car rental company and also a lady from United Airlines baggage claim was. And how kind they were when I had to apologize for my small hissy fit. Funny, at one desk there were two agents. I the young man next to me had a much smaller problem than I did…and he was abusive, threatening and really very ugly. The agent with me smiled and said quietly, “Boy, am I glad I got you.”

      Liked by 6 people

  7. Lynette says:

    Something similar happened to us as we were leaving Lourdes…I won’t go into details. As I was crying, nearly hysterically, wondering how we would catch a connecting in Paris, then to Vienna before heading back to the US, I was “told” to pay attention. I was in southern France driving through quaint villages with loads of history and it was my “gift”. We went on to be connected to a much better travel plan, more relaxed and much more beautiful, with kind fellow travelers. My prayer is that you recognize your gift tomorrow on your way north, and that your travel be blessed with good weather and good roads.

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Linda Concert says:

    Charlie—I wonder if a caution from you regarding the new chipped credit cards might be helpful. I had delayed activating some I received because I dislike the idea of the possible vulnerability of the chips and I have not gotten a metal credit card case yet.  But this morning I decided I should not wait until the last minute to activate and use, because ONE OF THE ISSUES THAT MIGHT OCCUR DURING THE STORM IS THE FAILURE OF ABILITY TO USE CREDIT OR DEBIT CARDS.  It occured to me that if many people wait until the last minute to activate, and fail to get through to the credit card companies, or fail to activate and possibly have the old card rejected (might that happen???) some people will see that as evidence that financial collapse is upon us, when hopefully it is only a temporary problem caused by human delays. The end of October is the deadline for retail establishments to start using the new card readers. I do not know  what that means in terms of using the old non-chipped cards, but it may alleviate some unnecessary panic if people are reminded that a temporary problem MAY NOT be the collapse. We are going to use credit cards for as long as possible and save our cash. We have a small amount of silver and I’m not sure whether to hang onto it or not, so we probably will.   

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      With respect, Linda, we are going to see a flood of serious and scary things now. I need folks to act like steadfast Christian soldiers who are going to calm troubled waters for others, not easily frightened children. We have reached an important stage now. As the Master said, there will be wars and rumors of wars… I have already given the answer for all these: keep your eyes on Jesus, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around you.

      Liked by 6 people

      • Anne says:

        We have reached an important stage…… By this do you mean things will be more in the immediate now stage…… Like an arrival to what used to be considered a little more distant.

        Like

          • Patricia says:

            Charlie, things must be here because flies ( yes, real flies not fleas) have been landing on me and bugging me for the past two days. They should be gone. Next, I am waking up depressed with a general feeling of anxiety and do not feel better until I say my prayers all the while telling myself “I will feel better, I will feel better.” And probably the biggest is that people in my family have projects falling in their laps which will be very important for their futures but are four to six months away. I have been privately dismissing these things thinking “great but not going to happen”. Then, after reading one of your comments to this post, it hit me. These are answers to prayers and God answers prayers perfectly. So if the storm is here (which it is) and these things do not come to fruition, then offered it up joyfully because God is in charge and he knows all this and will take care of us in ways that are better than this if we trust HIm.

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Beautiful, Patricia…simply beautiful. God is calling you to pray more intensely – and by gum, you’re doing it.

            Like

          • Anne says:

            Thank you Charlie.

            Like

      • Becky-TN says:

        Jesus, I trust in you!!

        Like

  9. Paul says:

    Hey Charlie…Rumley Air’s not so bad!

    Hope you get a good nights sleep.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. texasooz57 says:

    Totally understand the venting, Charlie. Perhaps the satan is having some fun with you today 😉 He’s probably not happy that you have stirred up the faithful with all your traveling. Praying that the rest of your trip goes smoothly.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Kristen says:

    Thank you, Charlie for being humble enough to share this. You give hope once again.

    God bless you, Kristen

    Liked by 2 people

  12. jlynnbyrd says:

    Charlie, it sounds to me as if though you handled the snafus of the day with the patience of a saint. You never cease to amaze and inspire me. Bless you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Beckita says:

    Joining in prayer for safe and joyful travel in South Dakota and home again, Charlie, with a fruitful evening with the folks there.

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Ed says:

    May God bless your journey and let everything run in order, if that is His will. Hope you get to your destination with luggage in hand on time. Safe journeys.

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Sr Lorraine says:

    It was probably the satan trying to prevent you from doing good there with your talks.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Noah603 says:

      Yeah, but get used too it. The satan’s gonna be mad for the next two years because he knows he’s gonna get his butt kicked by a Girl.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Becky-TN says:

        Oh, how I laughed when I read this. Yep, butt kicked by a girl, indeed! No offense, Blessed Mother!!! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Doug says:

        Now that is true woman power!

        Like

      • Mick says:

        Nice one, Noah! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • A Quiet Person says:

        Oh Noah, thank you for that! I laughed so hard and that is not so easy for me to do because I would not say I am particularly chipper or upbeat (and that is a gentle and generous understatement!). In just the past month I have been diagnosed with high blood pressure, acute anxiety, depression, (all of this unsolicited, mind you) and my doctor just added this one to some paperwork to keep me from getting fired. . . adjustment disorder. I’ve never even heard of that before. I guess I am having trouble adjusting to the corruption, lies, and overall ugliness of the school system I work for. That one I will take for a compliment. Anyway, I was sitting in the car waiting for my son to finish his workout in the gym today and when I read your comment I literally burst out laughing and I could not stop. As soon as I wiped away the tears, I would start all over again. Then, for a brief moment I thought, “Oh, my gosh, I hope there is no mental health professional walking around looking for something to do because, I know this does not look right – laughing my head off while sitting by myself in a parting lot! What in the world would I say? “Well, you see, there is this Storm coming . . . and life as we know it is going to be forever changed, we won’t win the war with China so don’t get your hopes up about that and in the meantime demons are trying to mess things up for us but we will be rescued . . . so we all better get it together and repent before it is too late “. . . all the while laughing my head off. They might have thought it was already too late for me!

        Liked by 4 people

  16. Tim says:

    God bless you, Charlie. Maybe God has a reason for it all, and that’s the fun part! 🙂 Be well, and get some rest.

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Kris R. says:

    Oh my! I am so sorry Charlie. People seldom believe me when I say’ “You can’t get here from there”. There is no interstate coming into Aberdeen. Only one airline services Aberdeen. Our own mail is no longer handled here so any letter mailed to my neighbor must go 100 miles south then return before making it to its destination. And by the way, you have at least a three hour drive tomorrow, not two. Perhaps that is why our population never grows. All that said, I think you will appreciate the simple life we have. Hopefully it will be well worth the frustration it took to get here.
    Comfort food awaits. What is your favorite?

    Liked by 2 people

  18. YongDuk says:

    Honestly, Charlie, I am sorry to hear your frustrations, but am happy to hear you got upset… Gives us other less mystically blessed hope that God does indeed take our imperfections and slowly works with them to bring Him greater Glory! …even if it is often as St John of the Cross says that He leaves us with imperfections — even grave in nature — to keep us humble. Glory be to God for His Glory that He shares and Glory be to God for St. John of the Cross who helps us see in the dark night and glory be to God for giving us someone so human!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Kati says:

      YongDuk,

      This is exactly what convinced me that Charlie was authentic. He is so real and holds nothing back. I have seen no effort on his part to hide anything about himself. In fact, that is REAL humility from what i understand. It gives me great hope that I too can be transformed by my God.

      Thanks for that insightful post!

      Liked by 2 people

  19. Irish7 says:

    The picture says it all. ;). Hilarious. And no happy Cubs sports talk for you on that drive either. Hang in there and safe travels, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. jnursester says:

    Dear Charlie: you are so very right about courtesy and customer service. Our whole family and Jerry and I have had MANY experiences with AA and Delta such as you describe. Whenever we can and have a choice, we ALWAYS go with SW, almost nobody is as good as they are anymore. And, if Southwest’s corporate policies of the employees owning stock in their company and having a personal investment in success are an example of a “no-frills” airline, well, I say, bring on the no frills airlines! Love in Christ and Mary, and prayers for your safe journey home; Judy in Lubbock.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      The folks at Southwest really are always cheery, it seems. I love that you get two bags to check before they start charging…and that you get to find your own seat. And they do always change flights cheerfully if you have a problem.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Melba Pourteau says:

        OK. Probably just for my benefit
        (i.e. not necessarily to publish) – Charlie, but in a post to another old thread here, I recounted how my recent next right steps included abandoning my favorite airline for it’s ‘donates free airfare to both pro-life and ‘pro-choice’ organizations, including Planned Parenthood’ stance. Am not mentioning the carrier by name but my ‘yet to be booked’ travel plans will no longer include my former favorite airline. Guess I was too attached to those frequent flyer miles and the credit card that purchases that earned them. God bless your irritability for blessing us with the example of humility and gratitude to God for all His gifts – especially for inconvenience and ‘messed up’ plans!

        Liked by 1 person

  21. narnialion54 says:

    Love the photo of the dog with his tail in his mouth! 😉
    Blessings and peace, Charlie, and a good night’s sleep.

    We sing this every night, my sons and my husband.
    (My parents sang it to all six of us every night as we grew up, too.)
    And we all sang this to my Dad, now robustly healthy, after 4 units of blood and nearly dying.
    Many of you prayed for him….Thank you!

    Angel of God
    My guardian dear
    To whom God’s love
    Commits me near.
    Ever this day
    Be at my side
    To light and guard
    To rule and guide.
    Amen.

    Liked by 6 people

  22. Andrea says:

    I always think God must have saved me from some worse fate. Oh well, someday we will know if it was that or penance, penance, penance. God Bless!

    Like

  23. Mary Ellen Ventimiglia says:

    Hi Charlie., on my Catholic calendar it says tomorrow is the feast day of St. John Paul II. We know what a great traveler he was so he will watch over you for the rest of your trip. God bless, praying for you on Long Island NY – Mary Ellen V

    Liked by 5 people

  24. YongDuk says:

    Of course, Charlie, it having been the Vigil of one of your Seven [Main] Patrons… what to expect?

    From tomorrow’a Collect:

    God, who are rich in mercy
    and who willed that Saint John Paul the Second
    should preside as Pope over your universal Church,
    grant, we pray, that instructed by his teaching,
    we may open our hearts to the saving grace of Christ,
    the sole Redeemer of mankind.
    Who lives and reigns with you in the unity of the Holy Spirit,
    one God, for ever and ever.
    – Amen.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. aj says:

    Well Charlie ole chap, the Lord is teaching us that taking the next right right step isn’t always as easy as saying the words. Your rant on those helping you would have been the next wrong step…and your apology would have been the next right step to the next wrong one (the rant) 🙂

    As funny as that may seem (to me at least lol), Mercy (your apology) always puts us back on track to take the next right step…which may be Confession for you hehehe. I actually had some customer service challenges in Orlando this August and took some wrong steps too…had to confess pride and arrogance…I think American culture sometimes goes overboard with the customer service expectations; expectations that a customer service rep should go and fix the brakes in a faulty rental rather than try to get another solution. I’ve witnessed people being just nasty and mean to someone because they’ve paid for a service and there is a “small” human error in the transaction…oh how we need the Storm!!!

    JESUS I Trust in You!!!

    Your friend,
    aj

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Actually, I am pretty patient in such circumstances. I realize that the folks I am dealing with are trying to solve the problem and that they did not create it. Ha…it actually felt kind of good to vent. I think the folks downstairs at Sioux Falls Airport knew I was something of a fraud at my little fit. I stepped into a windway for my tantrum – and everyone was trying to suppress snickers when I came back in. They were very kind as I apologized. The fellow at the Hertz counter took great pains to give me a map and tell me what the nicest places in town to see were…and that I should enjoy a few before I leave. Falls Park is something he raved about.

      Liked by 1 person

      • pineconejill says:

        Reminds me of the time I asked my future husband to show a group of families how to drive a nail (we were co-workers for a a self-help housing program where we taught families how to build their own homes–you’d be surprised how many people cant swing a hammer). He swung–and smacked his thumb. Without even flinching he straightened up, turned and walked quietly out of the room. He returned a few moments later and said “that is how NOT to drive a nail”. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry–so I did both.

        Liked by 4 people

  26. Eileen Vacheresse says:

    Charlie- I was a flight attendant for 10 years with a charter airline and flew all over the world. I now work with EWTN in a customer service capacity. Customer service is so important to me that my customers, passengers and now EWTN Family become close friends. Just this past weekend, my husband and I visited Our Lady of Good Help up in Greenbay, WI. I finally met a delightful customer of mine who was purchasing a statue from the religious catalogue. Her name is Betty and I have never met someone who loves Our Lord as much as she does. She is so joyful ! Excellent customer service equals friends for life … And new brothers and sisters in Christ!

    Liked by 4 people

  27. Mary Timmons says:

    Sorry to hear about your frustrating day Charlie. That tells me the next event (the one you were traveling to get to) must be an important event. The devil is getting irritated. Keep fighting the good fight. Praying things go smoothly from here.
    Mary from Danville, IL

    Liked by 4 people

  28. MomOfSeven says:

    Sorry to hear about your airline ordeal. God brings good out of all things if we totally trust in Him. I am fairly new to the group and this is my first post. I was wondering why when I clicked the link for Linda Summerfield’s site it says “website no longer available”. Is this just temporary? Wendy Cukierski recommended you and I am glad that she did. The three simple steps of your mission have helped put things into perspective for me. God bless you Charlie

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      It must be temporary. The site is humming right along.

      Like

      • The Yuku server that hosts the forum has been suffering from some unusual outages lately, and early today was one of those times. They assure us that things should be back to normal now. From their keyboards to God’s ears!

        Thanks for visiting “Our Blessed Hope”!

        And Charlie, I loved that picture of the dog — good choice! I’m sure that image was putting it mildly.

        Liked by 1 person

    • SteveBC says:

      MomOfSeven, do you mean the link in the “Summary for Newcomers” tab in the navigation bar? If you do, I just checked it, and it is fine. I also checked the Blessed Hope forum link toward the bottom of the right-hand column, and it is also fine.

      Sometimes the internet fumbles the ball or there is a temporary issue with the destination server. I suggest you simply try it again. 🙂

      Like

      • MomOfSeven says:

        Thank you for the replies. What a warm welcome to the group! Evidently the problem Linda mentioned regarding the servers that had glitches yesterday have been resolved. It was weird that after several tries yesterday the message kept coming up that the “website was no longer available”. Thanks and praise be to God that it is up again. I was hoping to share the link with others. Charlie, I will admit that when I first started reading your information I did look at real estate in the Mt. Meeker area. Ha…Ha…I could envision myself as a helper at the beautiful shrine to be. I used to live in Colorado and miss it from time to time. However, the Lord currently has our family in Oregon. I will go wherever he sends us. FIAT !

        Liked by 2 people

  29. Mary says:

    Looks like you have had your own little storm there Charlie! Utterly frustrating indeed. One would have to suspect the evil one has been having a very fine time with your travelling plans and luggage. Prayers to you for it to all smooth out for you.

    Like

  30. MaryM. says:

    So sorry that happened,Charlie. We lived in different areas in SD for a while and I love it there, except the winters, of course! 😉 We also had some issues with Delta and will never fly them again unless its absolutely necessary. We also love Southwest and being able to choose our own seats. The attendants are also very entertaining!
    One thing that Southwest does, that we found out 8 years ago, is they are very helpful to families with medical needs. We needed to take my son from FL to his doctor in KC, KS and they let us fly for free and I paid a minimal fee to take my other two children. The application was very easy too! I don’t know if they still do that, but I don’t see why they wouldn’t.
    My friend and I loved listening and talking to you in Ft. Lauderdale. We have a few friends who now follow you too!
    Thank you for all you do! God’s Blessings to you and your ministry.

    Liked by 1 person

  31. Doug says:

    Just shows you are still human. I know the feeling traveling many a time myself and getting stuck. One time, I missed a connection by literally 1 minute. Christian charity was not to be found in me. I’m still working on that. As an aside, my brother is an American Airlines pilot. I actually had him as a pilot when I flew home from Beijing once. He got me into first class. That made up for a lot of past frustrations.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. May God be praised for how He uses suffering.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. Jennifer says:

    Things have changed in corporate America. A generation ago this never would have happened. It’s the kind of thing GK CHESTERTON warned would happen if the corporations got too big and powerful (in their own eyes). But this is the kind of banana republic stuff that’s going to be coming down the pike from government, and business. This is why we need to help each other, interceed in prayer when things get wierd, and have the ability to connect with what’s good (even a trace) in people. There’s a lesson in this for sure.

    Like

  34. Thelma Klase says:

    I Love you Charlie! Your just the average Bear!
    To GI’d be the Glory!!!

    Like

  35. Deon says:

    Hi Charlie,
    I had a well intentioned day earlier this week that turned into a hissy fit drama of me being the prideful spoiled brat, not a role I relish. Later that night while driving home, I passed two people walking home in the dark. These are folks I’ve had challenges with in the past. I didn’t want to stop, but I felt prompted to. So I pulled off the road as soon as I safely could, moved things all around the car to make room for my two passengers, and returned to look for them. They were nowhere to be found. I ent the long way around another few miles to see if they had diverted. Satisfied that I had done my bit. I was now ready to head home. However, I listened to the promptings of Grace at the turn to go home and was sent back one more time. There they were further up the road. I called to them and got them in where I had previously moved all of my stuff around in the car. I apologized for being so close to their destination, but explained how I had been looking for them. The woman said she was very grateful for the ride, because this was the stretch of road with no place to safely walk and a lot of cars going very fast. I gulped to think what it would have felt like if I heard the next day that she was injured or worse walking along that road in the dark and I hadn’t stopped, as prompted. After dropping them off, I went home praying and grateful that God had allowed me to take the “Next Right Step” at the end of the day after being so selfish and petty earlier. Thanks be to God!
    God’s blessings to you for safe travel.
    Deon

    Liked by 4 people

  36. Brad J says:

    LOL…Charlie I got quite a chuckle out of your story. Having done a bit of flying myself the whole thing vividly came alive for me. I often tell my Flight Attendants at the beginning of the day that we get to see folks for such a short snippet of their life and we have no idea what has been going on in their lives and if they seem a little off, it might even be because of a frustrating experience they have just had with our airline. Often lending an ear for a few minutes and caring for them as individuals makes the problem go away.

    Adhering to the Golden Rule would be a very good business model…I am sorry you had to deal with that and thanks for your humility in sharing it with us all.

    God bless you and all,

    Brad

    Liked by 2 people

  37. Whitney says:

    Oh boy! What a day. Thanks for sharing. I was praying the rosary today and at the 3rd luminous mystery was struck by how you’re going around the country and spreading the word of God like our early Apostles. I am sure with very little and not many places to stay or even being shunned – or heavens persecuted- it was such a trial. Thank God for them and their perseverance. Holy spirits help Charlie to grow in humility and strength.
    We all could use these insights/trials and offer it up. This sounds like a disastrous day for you. Hope today is better! Hold on tight to the Lord as here we go! I pray daily that the Lord give me strength and fortitude to make the right next step. I am happy to go wherever the Lord leads whether straight to him or time here to weather the storm.

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      People have been wonderful to me. And as it happened, yesterday was a great day…I met a lot of very patient, caring people (and only a two jerks) and was able to offer up all of my frustrations for a special intention my son had asked for. The good Lord gave me what I needed – and I pray my son will soon be overjoyed.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Barb H says:

        Praying a rosary for your (and your son’s) intentions! I love the Luminous Mysteries!

        Like

        • Whitney says:

          Barb H that’s so kind of you. I love praying for people on here as well. God bless you. I am doing really well with James right now and in return he’s my mirror. So he’s been doing great. God is always with us.

          Liked by 1 person

  38. Becky-TN says:

    Praying for a better day and safe travels for you, Charlie!!

    Like

  39. Brad J says:

    I can’t help but think that after the rescue this sort of thing will not be so common😉. In the mean time thanks for the reminder to always offer it for something good.

    Liked by 2 people

  40. alee106 says:

    Did St. Anthony “your gals” and JPII come through with your luggage yet?

    Liked by 1 person

  41. patrick says:

    Hi Charlie. This is Patrick. I’ve only recently seen your work, and I’ve decided to drive from Rapid City to Aberdeen to see you this coming Sunday. I look forward to traveling across this beautiful State, and to meeting you as well.

    See you soon.

    Yours in Christ,
    Patrick

    “Let us pray for the dying today, those for whom tomorrow will be too late.” ApostolateForTheDying.org

    Liked by 1 person

  42. CrewDog says:

    It appears that there may well be many “What a Days” ahead of us and I believe that the Faithful have been guided to this site and countless others to form a Christian cadre … perhaps .. no most likely … the Faithful of other Religions too … open to The Holy Spirit’s voice. That means, like it or no, You are tasked to be an Agent of The Lord. The below verse seems to be an apt one for “These Times”:

    Heartlight Daily Verse – 23 October

    Proverbs 15:23
    A man finds joy in giving an apt reply — and how good is a timely word!
    Thoughts on today’s verse:
    Knowing the right word at the right time is a great gift. But even the best of speakers has to admit that the best of his or her words are not nearly as good as those the Spirit gives. Nevertheless, we must not excuse ourselves of insensitive speech, unkindness, or even missed opportunities because we were not paying attention to what was said, were not spiritually in tune with the needs of our companions, or simply did not know Scripture well enough to bless others with gracious speech at the appropriate time.
    Prayer:
    Loving Shepherd, I will spend much of my time today with people. Some of them know you, but most do not. Please give me wisdom to say things that lead people closer to you. Give me words of help and hope for the broken. Give me words of tenderness for the fainting. Give me words of direction for the confused. Father, I pray that whatever words I say today may reflect your will and be led by your purposes. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.
    Visit heartlight.org for more

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 2 people

  43. Beth in Covington says:

    Now that you have finished your tour around the country, you have united the NRS family and gotten to know those who have loved you from afar as our faithful Sherpa. Would you agree that one of the benefits of this tour is that you now love every member of our NRS family? If yes, then that means we are ALL GETTING INTO HEAVEN! Right? Right?!?!?!?!?

    God said all of your loved ones would get into Heaven. We are now included in that number, I hope, just like St. Pio and his spiritual children. I kind of freaked out over this the other night with another NRSer… Don’t tell me I’m wrong!

    Thanks for loving all of us, Charlie. 😉

    [I can’t find where you talked about that, and I did search for a bit.]

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I have, indeed, been told that, provided I keep faith to the end. So y’all have to pray for me! And yep, I do love my entire NRS family. (Beth, by the way, has the single biggest passenger vehicle I have EVER encountered that was not, actually, a semi-truck).

      Liked by 3 people

      • Simone says:

        Hey all. Maybe we can all ask Our Lady of Tepeyac for her intercession over those areas threatened by Hurricane Patricia.

        Like

      • mmbev says:

        And there isn’t a person in the “NRS” family who doesn’t love you and yours, too, Charlie.

        May our reunion in heaven, as He draws us there, be just fantastic.

        I keep thinking of all the people I will meet finally face to face once we are all there. Every time anxiety rears it’s ugly head (which is often enough), that thought helps to squelch it’s ugly feelings.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Another Karen says:

        Music to my ears, Charlie! I can use all of the love (and help) I can get to finish the race and make it home to Heaven, and you are/will continue to be in my prayers as well. Thank you for the wonder family that you have gathered here at NRS – we are blessed!

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

