Heading Home

Praying at an abortion clinic in Riverside, California with Vanessa, my local coordinator.

Praying at an abortion clinic in Riverside, California with Vanessa, my local coordinator.

By Charlie Johnston

I finished my last talk of this series yesterday in Aberdeen, South Dakota. Since early June, I did 35 public presentations in 33 different cities, with at least 45 more private talks along the way. I have been mighty busy since the late spring! This will be mostly pictures today.

All across the U.S. I have been given an extravagant welcome. In a few places, authorities decided not to welcome me – though several of those called after I had left the region asking if I could swing back, having read the website and determined that I was okay, after all. Amazingly, across the country, I had only one heckler – a 91-year-old man in Los Angeles. But he heckled David Daleiden, the young man who made the Planned Parenthood videos and talked for a few minutes at my request, too. I think the fellow wants his old job as a heckler on the Muppet Show back.

At almost every venue with more than 70 people, I had a few come up and apologize to me afterwards, telling me they had come to take me down and denounce me for being a fear-monger. All said they had only heard of me before…and after hearing what I actually had to say, they were filled with peace and resolve. After I get home, I will organize all these pictures and give you a better sense of the visits. I will also exercise regularly to take off some of the pounds I put on from all the magnificent food people filled me with.

Thank you all. It has been a wonderful four and a half months traveling this great country and seeing the great heart, the great faith, the great hope that is rising even as the darkness clouds things. We shall overcome.

Where I spoke in Portland. The coordinators were amused at which room I was assigned.

Where I spoke in Portland. The coordinators were amused at which room I was assigned.

Terri Heaton with her grandson, Jack, after we had a bite to eat in the Pacific Northwest.

Terri Heaton with her grandson, Jack, after we had a bite to eat in the Pacific Northwest.

Steve Baker (Steve BC) and his Mom overlooking Nantucket Sound in Hyannisport. Mrs. Baker was the four-time club champion at Hyannisport Country Club - and still golfs regularly at 91.

Steve Baker (Steve BC) and his Mom overlooking Nantucket Sound in Hyannisport. Mrs. Baker was the four-time club champion at Hyannisport Country Club – and still golfs regularly at 91.

The crowd in Boston. I got my most amazing welcome there. Coming in just a few minutes before I was set to begin, they burst into applause and begin singing the Song of Thanksgiving.

The crowd in Boston. I got my most amazing welcome there. Coming in just a few minutes before I was set to begin, they burst into applause and begin singing the Song of Thanksgiving. (Yikes – this is not, actually, Boston. It is either Jackson, Michigan or Riverside California. I will get these sorted properly after I am home…but I still got a great welcome in Boston!)

EllenChris, one of our most astute commenters and me in St. Andrew's Episcopal Church in Scotia, New York. Her husband, Fr. Mike, is the pastor there. Both Mike and Ellen are Anglican priests.

EllenChris, one of our most astute commenters and me in St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Scotia, New York. Her husband, Fr. Mike, is the pastor there. Both Mike and Ellen are Anglican priests.

Fr. Mike and me hiking at Plotter Kill (Kill is Dutch for creek) in the Mohawk Valley, where all the James Fenimore Cooper novels are set.

Fr. Mike and me hiking at Plotter Kill (Kill is Dutch for creek) in the Mohawk Valley, where all the James Fenimore Cooper novels are set.

From left, my granddaughter Mya and grandson Camron - with their stepsister Samara.

From left, my granddaughter Mya and grandson Camron – with their stepsister Samara.

babe'sw chicken

Missy and her husband Tim with their little girl, Maggie, outside Babe’s Chicken – an iconic Dallas Barbecue Spot.

Leah and Mark Mallet with Kitty Cleveland (far right) and me in Mandeville, Louisiana.

Leah and Mark Mallet with Kitty Cleveland (far right) and me in Mandeville, Louisiana.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Speaking Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

101 Responses to Heading Home

  1. barb129 says:

    Love seeing the pictures!! Enjoy your time back home….=)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Patricia says:

    ok, we loved your visit but that is not us in Boston unless you photo shopped us!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LukeMichael says:

    May we all be wi th you in the Upper Room!

    Liked by 5 people

  4. SteveBC says:

    You were and are most welcome, Charlie! It was a lot of fun to have you here for some R&R on your second trek through our country. I’m amazed at how much you’ve accomplished and how many lives you’ve touched in such a positive and helpful way. My mother and I send our prayers and best wishes to you, as well as to Mary who helped make it all happen. Have a good trip home and enjoy some much-deserved rest. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

    • EllenChris says:

      You and Mom looking good in that picture, Steve. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kim sevier says:

      SteveBC– pics are fun to see. Your mom is cute. Maybe you SHOULD come through Memphis on your way to Florida– my husband is an avid golfer. He could take her out for a round of golf! No wonder she spends her winters down there!

      Liked by 2 people

      • SteveBC says:

        Kim, you really made my mother’s ears perk up when you said “round of golf”. I’m wondering if we have the potential for a major navigational error as we drive into TN. “No, no, Steve, take a hard right here. We need to jog west just a wee bit!”

        When I told her that you had called her cute, she said that it’s been a long time since anyone has called her that, and then she laughed with appreciation. Thank you for brightening my mother’s evening! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  5. Beckita says:

    The photos are a great reflection of the beauty and blessings of your journey. Thanks for sharing, Charlie. Thank you, too, for your faithfulness. God is glorified in the mobilizing and strengthening of His people as we move forward. I am grateful to continue uniting my prayers with the many here who love and pray for you,

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Sally says:

    Greetings to all the people of God’s Blessed Remnant. Thank you for responding to Our Blessed Mother’s calling to gather !

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Diane says:

    Thank you for taking us along on your tour – it was lovely indeed. We did not have to lose the sleep, or travel the roads, but we were certainly there with you in spirt. And look at how much the storm has been churning since you began, each day brings a new awareness of where we are going. I was blessed to see you in the first leg of your talks – Fort Lauderdale – and I am so glad I made it. Now, as you take a small reprieve from your travels and talks, may God keep you safe and may you know that we here on this site keep you in our prayers. Love. I do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks, Diane. The skies have gotten darker, but many people’s hearts across the country have gotten more resolute and joyful. What a privilege to be able to serve the Lord in this!

      Like

  8. Becky-TN says:

    Safe travels, Charlie!!!

    Like

  9. Matthew says:

    Charlie:
    Your tour reminds me of that old movie, “If It’s Tuesday It Must Be Belgium.”
    Matthew

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Petra says:

    I think you going on this excursion (can I call it that? A tour? Well, I don’t know how to describe it. 🙂 ) gave a lot of people hope, even those who could not attend one of your talks. First of all, just you going during the months some other prognosticators were predicting the total collapse of the economy and infrastructure of the world made people more confident about moving ahead with plans they had made or their normal lives. Your example showed us how to approach the Storm.

    Secondly, providing videos, and then several videos, gave those of us unable to make it to one of the meetings, especially those far flung readers from other countries, a feeling as if they attended and a better more comprehensive understanding of your message. Of course, I’m sure hearing you in person and listening to the other attendees’ questions and seeing and meeting each other is a great gift of hope, but the videos do give a better sense of the tone of your message.

    The videos have proven to be a wonderful introduction and overview for sharing your message with others. They provide a comprehensive summary of all that you write about, and allow someone new to listen and judge for themselves whether they think you are credible. You being willing to let others witness your demeanor and attitude while delivering this message increases your credibility to those who may be new to you.

    And lastly, your going about the country built a sort of stronger network among the people who read here, and allowed for some to meet each other and begin a kind of real world interaction. I guess it’s like seeds being planted. Like Johnny Appleseed? Well, really, more like the early disciples who traveled to far flung areas to spread the Good News.

    I know you did come down with a nasty cold hear the end, but I do recall you asking for prayers at the beginning, worried about your tendency to push yourself beyond your strength to the point of exhaustion. I hope that never happened during this sojourn, and now you will be able to rest as you recuperate from your travels.
    God bless, and thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      It was a profound blessing, Petra. Though I was sick the last few weeks, the Lord strengthened me to live my public appearances okay. I did my convalescing in private. The Lord gives us what we need, not what we want. I am so glad you caught that I traveled in the midst of when some were predicting doom. I did not know it would not come then, but I wanted to live the example of joyfully taking the next right step in the midst of stormy times, for nothing is lost in God’s economy – and the Master always knows where we are and what we need. Hold fast to Him and all will be well.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Petra says:

        Charlie said, “Hold fast to Him and all will be well.”
        I hope so Charlie. I believe it. But sometimes the satan gets one past the Armor of God I’ve donned and it really stings, and sometimes even hurts. (I’m referring to situations arising from someone I’m having some conflict with. I’m trying to stay the course, but whenever we interact this person manages to say or do something that riles me. I’m mad at myself for taking the bait, and later tell myself next time I won’t, but then, bam, the person confronts me and I react in anger instead of taking a deep breath and taking the next right step.)

        This person really seems like an enemy, because I believe they think I am an obstacle for them, and they believe I am obstructing something they want. Actually, I am not, but I believe their frustration and desire mixes to make them think I am thwarting them.

        Oh brother, sometimes this next right step stuff is HARD! But thanks for the wise counsel and reminder that all will be well if I hold fast to Him.
        God bless.

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          It’s a good thing to work on, Petra. It helps build both peace and humility. Contemplate what he really needs, try to see beneath the bombast. He may merely need to agitate you. If so, light a candle for him, then divest yourself of him.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Petra says:

            Thank you for this great advice. It is spot on.
            You know what Charlie, because you mention it, I think the problem is a matter of humility. I think he’s hitting a place of pride in me, which is why I’m being riled. Thanks for that clue. I do need to dismantle that place in me that is harboring pride and that he pokes at during our interactions. I have a little time before our next scheduled meeting, and I will be able to pray and reflect on this. I will light a candle for him and I understand what you mean by divest myself of him if need be. I will always keep him in my prayers. My sorrow will be that I used to respect him a great deal, but since these latest interactions, I am seeing something I respect less (not his soul, but his behavior when he doesn’t get his way.)
            God bless.

            Liked by 1 person

        • June1 says:

          Petra, your situation kind of reminds me of St. Therese’s reaction to nuns she lived with who were rude to her or annoyed her. Maybe you already know about it but she would actively put herself in positions where she would encounter the person or people and offer it up, humble herself (e.g., not correct a person who would make a mean assumption about her) or do both. This still stuns me every single time I think about it. Who among us has the strength/humility to do this? And she did it at the age of 15!!!

          I’m just wondering what might happen if you tried to remember this the next time you encounter Mr. or Mrs. Annoying-Pants and responded with total peace, love, resignation and humility. He/she might get really angry but that would be his/her problem. Each one of us is accountable to ourselves. That’s one thing my spiritual director keeps telling me: we can only control OUR actions. It really stinks sometimes, I know. I will keep you in my prayers and pray that the Holy Spirit give you the perfect words. 🙂 Please update us if you like.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Petra says:

            No, June1, I had never heard that about St. Therese. I have read some about her life, but don’t remember that about her in particular, but only know in a general way many saints practice this kind of patience and humility.
            Yours is a great suggestion and I will keep it in mind and I will speak with St. Therese (in prayer, of course! 🙂 ) and ask for her help to keep this in mind as the situation arises. Thanks so much for telling me about this. It’s really helpful!
            God bless.

            Like

  11. Sarah says:

    The old guys on the Muppet Show were named Statler and Waldorf. For you hotel fans.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. N Wright says:

    Charlie, rest well..you deserve to. I enjoyed seeing your pictures..grandkids especially. If I had known you were in Boston, my husband and I could have taken the 12 hour rode trip form Moncton, to attend your talk. God bless!

    Like

  13. Cindy Lopez says:

    Greetings Charlie, Thank you for your “yes”. I was in Aberdeen yesterday and appreciated your candid reality about what we have been and will have to contend with in the near future. I had originally intended to go to your talk in Sacramento,since I am from California (sometimes referred to as “the Belly of the Beast”). My plans to visit family in Aberdeen gave me the opportunity to go hear you there. Sincere thanks again, be blessed always.

    Like

  14. Doug says:

    Jacki and I are on the bus now to the airport heading to Medjugorje. We will be bringing everyone here with us!

    Liked by 6 people

  15. Heartwarming pictures! You know, there are many references to “upper room” in the Bible and, among others, I’m really fond of this one: 1 Kings 17:7-24

    I’m delighted that a number of folks had the opportunity to attend your gatherings and get past the confusion, misinformation and other faulty (and sometimes malicious) ‘news’ sources.

    Who knows what they came out to see, but I’ll bet most left with the confidence that they had seen a joy-filled, regular guy with a simple message of TDL that has been consistent all along. Nothing scandalous, confusing, unclear or scary in that. Why not TDL?!

    I was pondering this and a number of other topics from your recent comments section on this morning’s run. Mostly, I was still pondering a slice of salvation history in the figures of Saul and David from the Old Testament (starting with 1 Samuel 8), which I had started reading again during Adoration this weekend. I refer to it as a “slice,” but how very important and meaningful it is in light of Christ and His Kingdom. Imagine picking up 1 Samuel 8 and stopping at about 1 Samuel 10.

    What am I comparing this to? Basically, I’m comparing this to looking at the ‘news’ and trying to make heads or tails of some of the conspicuous characters currently on the scene and the events swirling around them. Some folks are content knowing that they will never get the full picture of salvation history in this life, but how many are determined to continue chasing after short-sighted things at present.

    Watch and pray. I was on the final stretch of my run today and noticed a gray hawk dive bomb a flock of mourning doves right in front of me. They all scattered and I could see just a slice of the hawk standing behind some scrub.

    It’s pretty common that I see a variety of hawks, eagles, falcons and the like on my runs. How noble they can appear when standing on some lofty perch. How majestic in flight, circling high overhead on some unseen current. On closer inspection, this one was standing proudly on the ground in front of me with a helpless, flailing dove pinned under his left talon, and he wasn’t the least bit intimidated by my presence. I found the little scene striking. Not striking when one considers that this hawk was doing exactly what one would expect from the breed, but I also happened to be thinking of a particular political figure at the time, one currently on the scene with the thick ether of confusion and a lack of clarity surrounding him.

    I’m firmly in Charlie’s camp on this one, definitely not willing to annoint any little ‘king’ on today’s scene as a comforting Godsend, much less a savior of peoples.

    Watch, pray and cling to the Truth. He is Christ Our Lord Who Never Fails Us, and His Kingdom Comes!

    God Bless,

    MP

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Fr. Frank Bass says:

    Dear Charlie,
    I was so honored by the time we spent together after your talk in Mandeville, La. Since you’re headed home, I want to let you know about the fruit of your prayers for my family and me. Thanksgiving week I will be traveling to my hometown to receive my 84 year old mother and 96 year old father (Missouri Synod Lutherans) into full communion with the Catholic Church. Know that I keep you and this ministry always in my prayers. Again, thank you so much for driving to Baton Rouge, coming to Mass, and spending time with me afterwards.

    Liked by 5 people

  17. Mick says:

    Charlie, I loved the pictures of your grandkids! I’m a little bit jealous… I always hoped I’d end up with a redhead amongst my kids. Sigh; I guess I’ll have to hold out for a redheaded grandkid.

    Oh, and that picture above must be from Riverside, because it’s not from Jackson (looks like you had way more people in Riverside than we had here). 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  18. EllenChris says:

    Wow! Thanks for including the pictures taken here in the Mohawk Valley, Charlie. We were so glad that you spoke here at St. Andrew’s, and we had a great time on that hike at the waterfalls (even if they were pretty much dry at the time). I am still trying to liberate the video disk from the guy who video recorded you here. He keeps insisting that he needs to edit it before he will give it to me. I have told him we will edit it for him, but we remain at an impasse. If I ever get him to give it to me, I will pass it on for the collection of videos that you made on the trip. If you ever make a another trip back East, let us know — we will be so glad to see you again.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. LOL!!! I didn’t manage to get a good picture of just you and me Charlie! Love the Babe’s Chicken with Missy, et al from our last day with you. SO glad you made your way to the DFW area, and SO glad for you that you are able to be home. God bless, and thank you again. Your piece on the Pope yesterday, once again, put things right where they belong – tag teaming with Mark Mallett!!!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      As I went through a few photos, I wondered where one of you and me together was. I am sure I will find it after I get back home. (I will actually be back home tomorrow, not today).

      Like

  20. Mack says:

    The pictures are great–good to match faces with some of the familiar names here!
    I have a sense that now that you have finished this round of talks, we are entering a new phase. Maybe things will start changing even more quickly. The fullness of the Storm is nearing.

    Liked by 2 people

  21. AnneEstelle says:

    Hey Charlie, I know we were a little group (30+) in a small town in the middle of nowhere, but we are so grateful you travelled so far to talk to us. God will give the increase and already has for my mother and her cronies in Frostbite Falls. The other attendees will say the same, I am sure. AnneEstelle, Kathy, and Joy. P. S. If anyone who attended the Isle, MN, talk who has pictures, please post. I didn’t take any! AEO

    Liked by 1 person

  22. donna says:

    I feel so blessed to have seen you when you came through our area on your rock and roll tour of the country…..can I order a T shirt? 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  23. Debra says:

    Have a safe trip home, Charlie. And may God bless all the wonderful people that helped you along the way in your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. Robin says:

    How wonderful to see all of these photos! You speak of the great hope, I don’t know if you remember but you told me that you had a good feeling about my family. On the Vigil of the Feast of Our Lady of Mt. Carmel, my husband was reconciled to the Church. I thought you might like to know that! The whole story is such a miracle, perhaps I can share it sometime.

    Your driver in Atlanta,
    Robin

    Liked by 5 people

  25. Fera Henri says:

    Dear Charlie,
    Meeting you was like a dream for me. For me it was a big blessing, shaking hand with a man of God whom God chose for a mission on earth. I thought I was dreaming and I thank Our Lord Jesus very much for answering my prayers. I want to let you know that I await your posts everyday. I feel blessed to have the Prayer of the Miraculous Trust card, I put it on my Home Shrine and I use it to pray for my brother. I would like to ask you if you would please repeat what Our Lord Jesus said to you when he threw the stick to the dog. and I apologize if you had already written about it before. Thank you so much.
    In Jesus through Mary.
    Sincerely,
    Fera

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Bob says:

    Charlie I was at the meeting/talk in Isle Minnesota.
    Today was listening to one of the many web sites that have been placed on the internet about you. In the interview you communicate that Gabriel the Archangel was sitting next to you at Christmas Mass and he stated we (humans) got this one right the date Jesus was born.December 25. But the year is off.
    I have watched and purchased the movie titled “The star of Bethlehem by Rick Larson” brief outline, Rick studies Bible looks at stars to make sense of it all. Discovers NASA program of star movements on computer plays it a few (two) years before 1 AD an finds the stars line up to tell the story of Jesus. In it the stars communicate Jesus was born in June 2 BC; the Annunciation was in September 3 BC; the three Kings visit on December 25 2 BC; Jesus dies April 3 33 AD.
    Look at he video http://www.bethlehemstarmovie.com then reply to my comment.
    thank you
    Bob

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      It sounds really cool, Bob and I am glad you found it. I must apologize that I have not bought nor watched it. I don’t mean this smart or anything, but I don’t watch confirmation or refutation of what I have been told directly. It is – and so I take it at face value. This is not the first – or the 10th – time that I have heard of empirical evidence later of what I was shown by grace earlier. It is not that I am not intrigued…just that I have time for my work and for rest…and I just don’t use much time confirming what I already know. Did you have a question you wanted to ask? I do thank you for telling me of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  27. Anne says:

    On a light note……
    Young Kate doing psych at uni told me about Ted Talks on youtube. Specifically Dan Gilbert on Synthetic Happiness……
    Very entertaining.. Love his reference to marinate us in info…..
    It totally confirmed me in Jesus, I trust in you.
    Oh Lord You really do have a sense of humour.

    Like

  28. Therese says:

    What a delight to see all the wonderful pictures that you shared with us about your recent Journey. My grandson Jack is the little 18 month old boy that Charlie is holding in the picture “after we had a bite to eat in the Pacific N.W.”

    Jack has since become a big brother. He had a little sister, Capri Elise, who was born on the 98th Anniversary of Our Lady of Fatima (October 13). Our daughter’s due date was the week of the 13th. She was scheduled for a repeat C-Section. She asked her Dr. If she could do her delivery on October 13th since it was the Anniversary of Our Lady of Fatima.

    Her Obstetrician, who is Catholic, said that it was her day off but would absolutely come in and deliver her daughter on that day. She shared that she is Portuguese and as a child in Southern California recalls incredible memories of the celebrations and week long festivities the Portuguese community would have celebrating Our Lady of Fatima. Her mother was even the Queen of the Our Lady of Fatima one year.

    An unexpected gift was given to me as well. I had to run several errands before heading to the hospital to be with our daughter that day. When the bank teller, gas attendant, or grocery clerk asked me how my day was going, I said I was going to have a new granddaughter that day and was able to share the story about Our Lady of Fatima. Each person that I encountered was in awe of the Miraculous story and were surprised that they had never heard about it before. They even said they would look it up. Thank you Jesus for making it so easy to witness.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Petra says:

      Wow! What a wonderful birth day! I pray Our Lady will bless this new grandbaby in a very special way. And so wonderful the doctor changed her schedule for that reason. I pray she also is blessed in her practice for honoring the Mother of God in this way. Such a great story. Thanks for telling it!
      God bless.

      Like

  29. Love the picture of you sitting and praying Indian style on the grass!… and the grandkids… and (the famous), SteveBC and EllenChris! All the pics are a sign of hope! Your creating a wonderful family album of NRSers for us.
    And Charlie, in light of your teaching, to “be a sign of hope” … I was hoping you would possibly consider a “NRS family reunion” – for all of us to finally meet. I’m sure that plenty of us would volunteer to pull it together! It would certainly be a sign of hope, and something to look forward to after the rescue.
    Say… Near Mt Meeker, Spring 2018?
    Pretty please? 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Sounds like a plan…fairly geographically central, too.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Mick says:

      Howdy, Maypacemcumte! A couple or three months back, some of us were batting around the idea of a “family reunion” on the one-year anniversary of the Rescue. We would convene on Mt. Meeker on “Rescue Day” 2018. How’s that sound to you? You in? 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

      • SteveBC says:

        Mick, it will be very late in 2018 for the reunion time if it’s a year after the Rescue. It will be punishingly cold, with snow all over the place. We could certainly do it then, and our energy for celebrating may keep us warm enough after all.

        However, maybe we should pick the 6-month date, which would be in May or June, maybe after school lets out, end of June? It will be beautiful then but given the times, likely still be a pilgrimage with a fair degree of difficulty. There will be more places to stay that are open, and camping will be a lot easier.

        I intend to come if at all possible, whether it’s summer or winter. I think the turnout will be better if we aren’t in the early stages of a Rocky Mountain winter.

        What do you think?

        Liked by 1 person

        • Beckita says:

          What a great suggestion, Steve. May is a traditional month for honoring Our Lady. Then again, from the shared link here: “As usual for Colorado, conditions can range from the beautiful sunny high pressure in summer to howling, white-out blizzards in the winter. Or, the other way around!”

          Charlie how much of a hike up the mountain will the shrine actually be placed?

          http://www.summitpost.org/mount-meeker/151182

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mick says:

          Ah, SteveBC… ever the voice of practicality and reason. 🙂 In all seriousness, it hadn’t occurred to me that Colorado is IN THE MOUNTAINS (duh), where it will be cold and snowy and treacherous late in the year. Very nice catch.

          I like your idea of late June. Travel should be easier for a ton of reasons (not the least of which is that there will be more hours of daylight in late June than in late fall). I like the idea of late June rather than earlier because for those of us who farm and garden, May and early June is a very busy time for planting (so it would be terribly hard to get away for a couple of weeks for a pilgrimage).

          So, Family Party on Mt. Meeker in Mid 2018?

          Liked by 1 person

      • Absolutely! …If it’s God’s Will, of course:)

        May, Pacem cum te (Peace be with you!)

        Like

  30. Steve says:

    I wanted to share some of the fruits of Charlie’s visit here in Escondido, CA. My brother (David) and I were the coordinators, and we had a small group of volunteers who helped in arranging the venue, the private meeting, and a private luncheon. After Charlie left our area, we decided, as a group, to hold a monthly meeting to get together to discuss various issues and to keep watering the seed that Charlie’s visit planted in our area. The first meeting was held at a Panera Bread restaurant and we had maybe 10 to 12 people in attendance. I passed to all attendees that I would look for another venue and asked them to invite others who were interested to attend our meetings. Just a few days prior to our 2nd meeting (which occurred on Oct. 20th), one of our members talked with a local Anglican Priest who pastors a local retreat, and the Priest graciously offered us a permanent meeting place for our meetings. When we held the 2nd meeting, we had over 20 people in attendance, and I expect it to continue to grow! God works in mysterious ways, indeed!

    Liked by 5 people

Leave a Reply

