Holding Pattern

By Charlie Johnston

A discussion group at St. Andrew's Episcopal Church in Scotia, New York, near Albany.

A discussion group at St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in Scotia, New York, near Albany.

Sorry folks. I know you expected me to be more voluble once I got home…and soon enough, I will be. We are going into a new phase of things. That always unsettles me a little. It was the same way last December when I saw the demons spreading across the world to create division, hate and confusion. You may recall I was relatively quiet for a few weeks. Ultimately, though, all the visits around the country came out of my contemplation on how to confront that issue.

Fact is, I am awfully proud of the regulars here – and who I met across the country. You think confusion and dissension is heavy now? We are about to go into hyper-drive. I have confidence that many who, here, are nervous on how to respond, will be true heroes as real chaos rises. How often it is that soldiers who have very bad jitters before the battle become true heroes once it commences. It all has to do with mental preparation and a resolve to do your duty. When chaos swirls seemingly out of control, I know there is a great cohort of people who have already mentally steeled themselves to be a sign of hope to those around them as they acknowledge God. That is going to be a decisive advantage in the early going. You know not to give way to despair, for things are not what they seem.

Meantime, when I get unsettled, I get a little crabby, which is part of why I am reluctant to post until I settle in. For now, I will share a few links of what is grabbing my attention these days.

First, our friend David Daleiden, who rocked Planned Parenthood and the abortion industry with his undercover videos, is in the midst of defending himself against a massive assault from the culture of death-media-governmental complex.

David Daleiden with LLDF Attorney Katie Short.

David Daleiden with LLDF Attorney Katie Short.

The Life Legal Defense Foundation (LLDF) out of San Francisco is defending him pro bono. Please keep him in your prayers and donate to the LLDF if you have a little spare change. It is striking a blow for resurrecting a culture that respects life.

In New York, the state has officially launched a “Crimethink” investigation against Exxon Mobil. It wants to damage the company or force it to adopt the left-wing group-think on “Climate Change.” Who would have thought we would reach the point in America where dissent from ignorant ideology would be a crime? But for the last three years that is where we keep progressively going. But remember, it is not what it seems. Those doing the assaulting have delivered themselves up to judgment. Their time is short – very short. But they have done much damage.

California enacted a law requiring Crisis Pregnancy Centers – which entirely through private funding, help young mothers without resources in their needs for the pregnancy and in helping them get started caring for the child – to provide mandatory abortion clinic referrals to everyone they see. It is not enough that the abortion industry largely remains unregulated and sucks up tax dollars, but the poor clinics who try, with private donors only, to support life constantly have the media, legislatures and left-wing shock troops trying to shut them down or funnel business to their death camps for babies. Thank God this is passing away.

The sign directing people to where I spoke in Portland.

The sign directing people to where I spoke in Portland.

Finally, a recent piece by the magnificent Victor Davis Hanson, who stares in almost palpable disbelief as he watches Western Civilization disintegrate. The tomb came before the Resurrection. The culture that gave the world more prosperity, freedom and hope than any in world history is not dead. It only sleeps. You here are among the front lines who are going to participate in bringing it back – and it will be done within a little over two years.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

100 Responses to Holding Pattern

  1. Becky-TN says:

    Thanks, Charlie. God Bless. Don’t feel like “a sign of hope”. Hoping it will kick in… And soon 😉

    Liked by 3 people

  2. You keep mentioning that two year period. I look around (I’m only 29 so I don’t have much history under my belt) and think how in the &;*% is this gigantic cesspool going to turn around that quickly, gracious me? But I do enjoy the final outcome on Jesus’ projects usually 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • justsayin392 says:

      For my widow’s mite’s worth, I’m being given to realize that now, each time I step forward in total trust, the mountain before me disappears, and about 10 yards of clear path beckons ‘sensibly’ to me. Each time, each ‘God appearance’ brings me a shade deeper into trusting that God’s Love and Providence have all well in hand. So, I make tiny odd ‘prudent preparations,’ like the aloe vera transplants, starting sweet potatoes, a rain barrel…all perhaps for someone else to find and use. The freedom is palpable – so I say, “Let the rich young man run away [happy], eager to ‘sell all he has, give to the poor and follow Me.'”

      Liked by 8 people

      • jaykay says:

        jastsayin392: I do love your reference to the widow’s mite, because that is today’s Gospel (32nd Sunday). And the first reading is from 1.King’s, about how Elijah told the other widow to trust that her mite of flour and oil would provide for them all. It did, because she trusted. May we all, when the full darkness descends.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Mick says:

        Quite profound, JustSayin392. Thanks! 🙂

        Like

    • mikefichera says:

      Took 10 years (1531-1541) for some 9 millions Aztecs to become Christians after the miracle of Our Lady of Guadalupe – and that was a relatively small regional event. Imagine what will happen when the brakes are slammed on the rat race, there’s a global rescue, and the start of the promised Era of Peace? With God all things are possible.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. Another Karen says:

    Charlie,
    It is so reassuring to hear you say that you have confidence in our abilities – to say that I have the jitters about my abilities would be an understatement despite my trying to do my best and take the next right step. Thanks for the pep talk!
    Meanwhile, you owe no apologies….you are doing just fine and we appreciate you!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Centurion says:

      Another Karen, if I understand Charlie correctly, what God is saying is that our abilities don’t really even matter that much. It is our hearts that matter. If we acknowledge God and step out in obedience and love, then even if we do the wrong thing, God will take our lemons and make them into lemonade. We just need to trust Him and act in love (with a generous portion of prayer and fasting I imagine). It is always when things are darkest that God’s grace seems to abound all the more! Trust in His Divine Mercy.

      Liked by 3 people

      • charliej373 says:

        AS Professor Henry Higgins once said, “By George! I think he’s got it!” (Okay, he said ‘she’s got it’ – but you get the picture). The man with two talents whose devotion and love nets another two is far more blessed than the man with ten whose indifference squanders five.

        Liked by 2 people

  4. bogart says:

    ditto, I suspect the evils of this world are much greater and more hidden than we can even now see, and for that, I’ve come to realize how great of a blessing this storm will be, and how unconditionally merciful Our Lord is.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. Bob says:

    Pray God you are right Charlie about change coming within 2 years. Apart from God’s intervention all I could see is a long slow painful decline with only the hope that things would get so bad that people would slowly wake up.
    Several links of my own. The first is our Friend Mark on why faithful Jews should be considered equal partners in the work of restoration
    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/the-return-of-the-jews/
    Let’s pray God continues this great work in “His chosen” soon.
    And this is a sign of how sick and lost our culture has become
    http://abyssum.org/2015/11/06/with-transgenderism-the-world-has-finally-gone-completely-made/
    With such idiocy, apart from God’s action in our world, I would find it hard to have any real hope.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. YongDuk says:

    Some words jump out at you, “Holding Pattern” is one for me… and the Ministry to begin.

    Please pray for me to be faithful, for us all to be faithful!!

    Glory be to God

    Liked by 7 people

  7. little one says:

    Thank you Charlie for your example and encouragement. I was a sub in an emotional support classroom today at a local high school. One young poor soul bragged that she didn’t care if she died…she said she knew she was going to hell. I actually cried at her words and told her so later. Then a boy laughed and he would drive the bus for all of them to go to hell. Please pray for all the children and young adults!!! The poor children of today! They are longing for Love, truth and God!!! I am so glad to have all of you to talk with. It is like everyone is asleep around me and don’t see what is on the doorstep!
    Thanks for listening. Praise to you Lord Jesus Christ! King of endless Glory!

    Liked by 5 people

    • Bob says:

      I thought yesterday, as I work with drug addicts and with alcoholics, that these folks are the “canaries in the coal mine”, some of the first to suffer from our toxic culture. And your high school students are too. For if we take God and true values out of our culture, what hope do people have to live for, apart from the short term hopes which so quickly are passing away? May the people of the kingdom and the people of heaven quickly rise up with their prayers, that God may soon intervene due the great sorrow in heaven and among God’s people on earth that so many are being lost!

      Liked by 3 people

    • DanSouthChicago says:

      Oh my! Dear Lord, please manifest your love and mercy to these young people, so that their hearts are filled with hope and a desire to know and love you above all else. Thank you, Dear Lord.

      Liked by 3 people

  8. I am reminded of the opera “Dialog of the Carmelites”. The enthusiastic young novice who boasted how glorious it would be to be a martyr in the French Revolution made friends with the terrified young novice who was so scared she ran away from the convent. When the nuns were taken to the guillotine the boastful novice fell into despair and tried to run. She ran right into the arms of her timid friend who had found the courage to come back and die with her sisters. Together they climbed the steps of the scaffold. None of us know what we will do until the hour comes. Many a confident soul will falter and thus learn humility and compassion and be thankful for the lesson. Many a terrified soul will suddenly inflate like a sail catching the wind and lead a whole fleet of souls to heaven. God will give each of us whatever it is we need most in the darkest hour. If you really, really believe He loves you dearly, then believe this. In the meantime, live life to the fullest, as well as circumstances will allow. Don’t spend your last days of peace frozen with worry; live!

    Liked by 17 people

  9. Robert Cunningham says:

    Charlie

    Like many of your readers I have been walking closely with Jesus for many years. I am the least of my brothers and no authority at all but I have read many heavenly messages over the years. What I appreciate most about your message is that it has a ring of practical common sense to it. I could not have formulated what you have said but when I heard it, I thought, “yes, that is true”. It doesn’t change what I do daily but it does give me great hope. I still go to my Bible studies, faith share groups, Mass, adoration with my wife etc and try to help those that God puts in my path. I’m sure that your readers feel the same way. Keep posting

    Robert

    Liked by 6 people

  10. Shirley Bachmeier says:

    In one of your messages you gave part of it over to a group of religious prophets as Part I. It ended with an exhiliating message mentioning the entrance of Joseph in a special way in these end times. That was to be Part II. I have a special love for Joseph as protector of the Holy Family as well as the Family of God. If you could help me find Part II I would be grateful or has it yet to be published? Thank you Charlie for your sincere heart that is without guile.

    Like

  11. JG says:

    Praying for David! Hang in there David. You are a brave man. Reminds me of the battle of David and Goliath. Your videos hit them between the eyes – persevere through this persecution until they fall, and fall they will.

    Liked by 5 people

  12. Maybe quite off topic but I think worth sharing. I have 8 children all who, for more or less, have lived their lives quite well behaved and orderly. For the past few years I have been wondering, pondering, questioning, discerning… ( you get the picture ) of where we as a family are supposed to be and what we are supposed to do… Last night I felt and heard clearly “stay” ( you see I am a gypsy, wanderer, always looking…) “STAY” are not the words I want to hear, I want to hear “Go, Be, Shine” but I hear, “stay, invite, welcome, be” ( be with a little “b”) Today my two oldest boys were found to be in some slightly serious trouble, and you know what? I thanked God that we knew, that we were told, that we had this time to hone in on them and set them straight and know that they needed to be aligned with the one true leading and guiding star, Right? But what was extra cool was right in in the midst of a sorrowful day for any mother I received a book in the mail. My father, sweet and thoughtful as he is, sent me “The Apostolate of Holy Motherhood” and I am just devouring it, yes now, into these late hours. If you are a Mom and you are ready to put up your dukes and battle for your children and your family, I think this book is for you! I kept thinking about my boys and their “forever groundedness” today and thinking, ” ha, perfect timing!” We will use this time to battle the devil and make them MEN. Remember when the devil thinks he has you, God knows how to turn it GOOD if you let him! Let God in. Mothers, be encouraged. Take the next right step, because God is with you. I am ready for what times are upon us. Let’s be brave, together.

    Liked by 9 people

  13. Doug says:

    Thanks for the update Charlie. Wonderful people here!

    Like

  14. Jane says:

    thanks for whispering God’s message Charlie!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. CrewDog says:

    While orbiting in The Holding Pattern the below sounds good:

    Heartlight Daily verse – 7 November
    1 Timothy 2:1-2
    I urge, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercession and thanksgiving be made for everyone – for kings and all those in authority, that we may live peaceful and quiet lives in all godliness and holiness.
    Thoughts on today’s verse:
    God wants us to be a praying people. But more than that, God wants us to pray for people. The blessing of that kind of prayerful life is that we get to live peaceful and quiet lives full of godliness and holiness. So pray, dear friend in Jesus, pray as if world peace depends upon it, because it does!
    Prayer:
    Majestic and Holy God, your greatness is beyond my mind to grasp but your grace reaches me and teaches in a new way each day. Forgive me when my prayer life has not been passionate. Forgive me for letting my prayers focus only on what is wrong. Use your Spirit, O God, to ignite a hunger in my soul so that I come to find satisfaction only in you and your presence. Through Jesus Christ and the intercession of the ! Holy Spirit, I pray. Amen.’
    Visit heartlight.org for more

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 7 people

  16. radiclaudio says:

    Hi all. I have still been faithfully reading Charlie’s blogs, his reposted blogs and the comments of all my brothers and sisters here. I have not been able to comment or like others comments due to something very weird with my phone (which worked perfectly except when trying to comment here) anyway, it seems to be working again. Yay! So now that i can again, i wanted to say THANK YOU to Charlie and you all, my RNS family here, as the noose tighens my fear seems to be giving way to peace as I believe we have been blessed with a foundation of calm, coming from Christ and our Lady through you all. God is good. I have been in a lot of daily Masses, weekly Adoration, and almost hourly prayer and you all (my community) are always included. Much love and affection. YBIC. Rich.

    Liked by 6 people

  17. JeanT says:

    Charlie thanks for the reminder to donate to those we applaud. I forget to do that most of the time. It is an easy way to encourage (be a sign of hope) those fighting the daily battle to continue. I loved when the Christian bakers who were fined for not making a wedding cake ended up with more support and funds through those showing their support. The same thing happened to Chik Fil A – their supporters more than outweighed the call from the left to boycott them.

    Liked by 3 people

  18. Donna says:

    Thank you, Charlie! The words you have written are like a shot in the arm, full of hope and encouragement…… just what I needed to hear, in order to pull myself up and stand my ground once more. (Although I stand in fear and trembling….of letting my Lord down.). So I pray, Dear Lord, through the intercession our our Blessed Mother, grant us all the grace to persevere in holiness unto the end!

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Carla says:

    Charlie, I didn’t know where to write you a personal note, so I am doing it here. Thank you soooo much for your prayers for my cousin Connie, she is sick with her spinal problem. They found out what the bacteria is (Staphylococcus aureus) and they are now treating her for that. But what has made me the happiest is that she wrote me a message saying she has found God in her struggle!!!! and she knows God is giving her a second chance to start a new life. I am soooooooooooo happy!! Praise the Lord!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Thank you again for your prayers!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 10 people

  20. jaykay says:

    The legal mugging against Exxon was reported on BBC news… in terms of barely concealed delight. The Beeb is a lefty hangout, of course, as with the majority of our “objective” media. What so sickens me, however, is how leftists – and this term covers a multitude – invariably portray themselves as the little besieged hero against the monolithic, intolerant, well-funded Establishment, when they themselves have become precisely that Establishment crushing any dissent, a.k.a crime-thought, out of their “safe space”.

    O.k., not exactly an original thought but really, it does seem to point to the Apostle’s reference to God making them mad once they abandon Him. Because that’s the only thing that can explain some of the absurdities going on, and increasing. We here in Ireland have an opportunity to strike a blow in the near future with our election, even if only a symbolic one since it’ll be more of the the same ol’, same ol’. Nevertheless, I fully intend to take it by letting them know exactly how I feel about the betrayals of the past 5 years. The very excellent “Family and Life” are organising a campaign to deliver leaflets to all homes outlining the anti-life and anti-family betrayal that the main parties have carried out, and I have great pleasure in contributing to it and other such initiatives. The future lies with those who support the family, the bedrock, not with the Belshazzars presiding over our Babylon. May they take heed of the writing on the wall, when finally they drag their stupoured eyes away from their death-feast to actually notice it.

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Wonderful for you, jaykay. The statist left still romantically believes it is storming the barricades of power. It is half right: the barricades are being stormed – But the statist left is the barricade.

      Liked by 4 people

  21. Rick says:

    I see the progressive decay of society as a supreme wakeup call for many of us who have accepted compromises of God’s laws over the years. Man has fallen so far that it is impossible to rationalize or justify much of modern day human behavior, which has progressively evolved to abominations far beyond what we could have ever imagined even a few years ago. The world seems very surreal, almost as if we are living within a disturbing movie. This makes me realize that any and all violations of the Ten Commandments, even if seemingly minor, have been gravely offensive to God and have widely opened many doors to where we are today.

    That said, the hope Charlie provides in placing our complete trust in the Lord is a powerful reminder that we are truly blind to the powers of the world and that God is our only way out of this mess, to guide us to refuge. Our leaders have elevated themselves as gods, and man in his arrogance thinks he can correct where we are today. But ultimately only God and His army of saints and angels can successfully intervene on our behalf, and we need to keep praying for the faith the believe and discern and follow His will.

    Liked by 4 people

  22. James Ignatius McAuley says:

    Charlie, my apologies if another reader has brought this to your attention. Have you read Pat Archbold’s article in the Remnant newspaper titled, Apocalypse Now? Another Great Sign Rises in the Heavens. The url is http://remnantnewspaper.com/web/index.php/articles/item/2127-apocalypse-now-another-great-sign-rises-in-the-heavens. It fits in right with what you are telling us. And of course, Pope Francis’s year of mercy is tied into all of this.

    For those who worry unduly about Pope Francis (stop worrying and start praying as my granny always said), Mark Shea has this greeat article,http://www.patheos.com/blogs/markshea/2015/11/a-reader-struggles-with-his-faith.html

    Charlies, just are reminder that Veterans days is the feast of two great saints, St, Martin of Tours, who, regrettably has become forgotten and St Theodore of Studion, the great defender of both marriage and the holy icons.

    Love, hugs and prayers!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks. The article on the great sign touched a lot of nerves. I have had about 20 people forward it to me.

      Like

      • jobrower says:

        Charlie, there was a phrase in that article that caught my attention. It made reference to the “false year of mercy” which begins on Dec. 8. Made me think the author is biased. If I misread or am wrong, don’t post this. . . . But I just wondered what you thought about it.

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Could you tell me which article, Jo? I linked to four – and I just read through each of them and no such phrase jumped out at me. Maybe I missed it, so could you direct me to which article and the paragraph?

          Like

          • Anne says:

            At the very end ….. 2 last paragraph……. Can be seen 2 ways. Not necessarily referring to false mercy by pope. I think writer means world is in false mercy …… Laws passed are false mercies.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Well, I am just lost. I have read the last two paragraphs of each of the four articles twice now – and see no reference to false mercy, nor anything even resembling a reference to the Pope’s proclamation of a Year of Mercy. Someone help me out here.

            Like

          • Beckita says:

            Here’s the quote from the Remnant Newspaper: “Speaking of our current crisis, in this era of false mercy, I must also note that the date the astronomical event begins, November 20, 2016, is the very day that Pope Francis’ declared “Year of Mercy” comes to an end. The very same day is the Feast of Christ the King.”

            Rather than referring to the Year of Mercy as false, the writer used the phrase “false mercy” to describe a problem for these times.

            Like

          • charliej373 says:

            Okay, I have it now. It was NOT from any article I linked to – but an article a commenter linked to. And your interpretation, on looking at the article, Beckita, is the right one.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Beckita says:

            I meant to add: the quoted text is the second to the last paragraph of the article, as Anne said.

            Liked by 1 person

          • jobrower says:

            Thank you Anne, Beckita, and Charlie. Praised be Jesus Christ, now and forever.

            Liked by 1 person

        • JG says:

          Charlie,
          Is it worth reading the links you were posted? Isn’t the Remnant a Pius the X publication? Sorry but I avoid SSPX. They have so much rhetoric which causes division and that part of their cause is upsetting to the main goal – reconciliation. Sorry if my statements cause anyone to be upset. I prefer the Latin Mass so it’s not pre -Vat 2 bashing where I’m coming from.

          Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            I didn’t post that link, JG…but I have seen it before. I agree with you about the site, generally, but that was not a bad piece.

            Liked by 1 person

          • JG says:

            Thank you very much for your input. Sorry I wasn’t clearer. It sounds like you were sent and read something different than the Remnant. The ones you read initially was what I was asking about.

            I try to stay away from so much who want to divide the church. Too much going on in the big bad world to have all that tension rattling around in my pea sized brain. It’s enough work trying to stay focused on Christ – Practicing authentic charity in such an uncharitable world is difficult work. I’m trying to be a sign of hope – hopefully taking the next right step.

            Thanks to your guidance, I take one day at a time and don’t worry about “the Storm”. We are in it; nothing we can do but frequent the sacraments often,say our prayers ,and stay close to the two pilars -Jesus, in the Eucharist and the Blessed Mother. To be apart of the rebuilding of civilization starts today for me not in the climax or end of the Storm. Thank you for being here and helping us through the turmoil of these times.
            May God bless you -and all here!

            Liked by 2 people

  23. Sheri G. says:

    Hi Charlie! I am so glad I had the chance to meet you in Michigan!! My husband has cancer and he has more faith and trust than I could ever have!! I was just reading him this post and comments and he said “Jesus only had 3 years when He started His public ministry to accomplish all that He had to do but He didn’t get hung up on the ammount of time he had. He just kept ‘taking the next right step and being a sign of hope to those around Him!’ And look what He accomplished!” Wow! I think he has a good point! Thank you for all of your encouragement! God bless you, Sheri

    Liked by 9 people

  24. Mack says:

    Knowing about the Rescue is such a gift; it gives me courage when I see everything going on around us. Otherwise, I’d be completely depressed about it. The Year of Mercy is such a gift, too. It will give so many people the little extra time they need to convert. God is so good to us!

    Liked by 5 people

  25. Judy says:

    I like the photo for directions to the Upper Room. Made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Kati says:

    Charlie,

    I think many people may also be unaware of what this federal administration is attempting to do to churches (and other entities too…though it is clear that the main target is churches) via changing certain tax policies and work hour requirements, how many hours can be counted as *volunteer* work, those who are not salaried, etc. This can affect how parish secretaries, bookkeepers, maintenance personnel are paid, health care required for them, how many hours they can work, etc. It is going to place a great burden on what an individual parish is allowed to do…and will require very advanced and more expansive accounting procedures, which is something most smaller parishes simply cannot afford. In fact, it will negatively impact the smaller parishes most. It could affect how many things in a parish are taking place. Example: Our pastor had been quite generous with everyone by purchasing good catechisms. bibles, etc. and then reselling them to people for about half that price, even less in some cases according to need. Most parishioners could not afford to purchase them without such help. Now, he will be required to tax them as well when he resells them and everything MUST be accounted for. One bishop that I know of is trying to control all such accounting through more advanced software simply because the smaller parishes cannot afford it…but it will have to be done to protect the diocese from legal problems. The cost to do this is considerable. The pace of evil is speeding up…however, I take this to mean…that we are moving closer to the eventualTriumph of the Immaculate Heart! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  27. Judy says:

    Charlie, if you are crankie and somewhat frozen in your tracks (as I become when I am frightened), I tremble at what the next stage will bring.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. gettimothy says:

    Charlie, thank you for your work; You are a blessing from God.

    It is a small thing, but your frankness (here and in past comments) of being crabby or testy (with Angels!) gives me great comfort. I too am a bit frank with our Lord from time-to-time and I have always known that He delights not in the crankiness, but in the faithful approach via Calvary to Him as I am.

    blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Donette says:

    On The slightest possibility that those who leave replies and question here for Charlie might not have heard of The Star of Bethlehem, DVD. I will put the URL here for you to review. The nudge to do so came to me when James McAnuly’s post about the Remnant and “another great sign to appear in the sky was mentioned in the replies above. I Have the DVD and it is both educational and entertaining.

    Like

    • CrewDog says:

      With Christmas coming and………………….
      This is worth watching and buying as gifts for Family…. as I did several years ago!

      GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

      Like

  30. BlessedToLiveNow says:

    From my morning reading and it seemed appropriate. This is from Imitation of Christ, Book 3, Chapter 7:

    “He who would be too secure in time of peace will often be found much dejected in time of war. If you could always continue to be humble and little in your own eyes, and keep your spirit in due order and subjection you would not fall so easily into danger and offense. It is good counsel that, when you have conceived the spirit of fervor, you should meditate on how it will be when that light shall be withdrawn.”

    I hope this helps, as it really struck me as it not only applies to the Storm, but in all things. Have a blessed Sunday!

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Beckita says:

    I posted this comment on another article and will repost it here because of the resources included. They are gems not to be missed, IMHO, because I have noticed there are many here who are very concerned about family members.

    One of the most helpful and inspirational series of talks I’ve heard on the topic of praying for loved ones are those by Vernon Robertson, a convert to Catholicism and a gifted evangelist. Here’s a short bio on Vernon: http://www.seminarofhope.org/vernon.html When you move around the navigation bar on the page, you can find a sample of one of his talks. I discovered the CD series several years ago and now see there is a DVD series. I highly recommend it as a fear-buster and trust-builder when it comes to praying for the conversion of sons/daughters/grandchildren as well as any family member or friend.

    I also wish to mention the tremendous contribution of Fr. John Hampsch CM in the field of healing the family tree. He discusses this topic from a scriptural standpoint. He also makes the case from a psychological and spiritual counseling perspective, replete with anecdotal, real-life stories, that praying for our deceased family members frees the living from all manner of demonic influences. His website of resources: https://catholicbooks.net

    Each First Saturday, we have a Mass for Inter-generational Healing and the added prayers are comprehensive in praying the Precious Blood of our Redeemer over and through the family lines that have gone before us, seeking release for our dearly departed, freedom from bondage for the living and the Precious Blood of Jesus to flow through the generations to come in our families.

    The phrase, “for all the families represented here,” is repeated continually in the prayers. Charlie, you and your family have been represented there. Every single family of our NRS community who read and comment here also have been and will continue to be anchored in those prayers. Me, I’m nothing. (No self-denigration whatsoever in this reality… no intended pukey false piety either [sorry if that’s crass-sounding]). We all know this is about God’s Love and Mercy in our midst. We ARE people of HOPE!

    Liked by 4 people

  32. Katherine says:

    I learned about all of this in August, so I spent all August in a controlled panic, all September ready but waiting for the sky to fall, all October ready but somewhat impatient, and now it’s November and I’m both ready AND patient. I needed the past three months, I guess, to go through all of the mental stages that come with learning about the Rescue. The funny thing is, I’m trying not to be TOO optimistic. But it’s my nature. I know that there will be suffering, and I know that life will be harder for a while . . . but, you see . . . I’ve kind of always wanted to live a more self sufficient lifestyle anyway and I’ve always loved survival stories. Ever since I read “My Side of the Mountain” when I was like 10 I’ve wanted to live in a tree in the woods. Now that I’m grown, of COURSE I don’t really want to live in a tree, especially with my family, but I’m looking ahead to the challenges with a certain amount of naive cheerfulness. I’ve decided it’s a good thing. It’d be ridiculous to try to make myself worried and fearful. There will be plenty of time in the near future to be miserable, I suppose. But not forever. That’s part of the reason why I can’t stop being cheerful about all of this. A big part. It’s not going to be forever and it’s for a wonderful purpose and I will rise to the challenge ahead. There’s a fighter in me that’s ready to go.

    Liked by 3 people

  33. Mimi Sternhagen says:

    Hi Charlie, thought you might like this article: Share with Friends | | *November 06, 2015* | Permalink Bumper Drive Leads to Repeat O-fenders

    The buzz is usually about who’s *in* police cars — not what’s on them. But that’s all changed after the explosion of the national motto bumper stickers cropping up on vehicles across the country. No one knows exactly how it started, but since mid-summer, it’s become a national phenomenon. In Illinois, Kentucky, North Carolina, Missouri, Texas, Florida, and other states, policemen are combatting the negativity about law enforcement by proudly sticking “In God We Trust” on their fleets.

    Florida’s Bay County Sheriff Frank McKeithen thought the idea was so great that he offered to pay for 200 of them out of pocket. But he never got the chance. An anonymous donor stepped up to buy hundreds for the local stations — a trend that’s continued in counties all over America . “I’m not hiding from the fact that it’s religious, and I’m not trying to make an excuse for the fact that it’s religious,” McKeithen said. At his agency, he explained, “We still pray. We pray before we go to a horrible situation where we think someone could get hurt or killed.”

    And they aren’t alone. In Missouri, Stone County Sheriff Doug Rader made no apologies for the move. “There has been no better time than now to proudly display our national motto,” Rader explained in a post that’s had more than two million views. “I’m very humbled at the amount of support behind it.” As usual, the spoilsports at Freedom from Religion Foundation (FFRF) are desperate to put the brakes on the craze. But so far, they haven’t had much luck. The initiative is so popular that the Foundation was forced to hunt for an offended party in blast emails. “Specifically,” they wrote in a recent all-call, “we’re searching for police officers and sheriff’s deputies who are being affected by this — these bumper stickers — and being forced to drive around cars that proclaim religious belief.”

    In the meantime, the group has sent more than 50 cease and desist letters to law enforcement agencies across the country. If that was supposed to scare people like Texas Police Chief Adrian Garcia, it didn’t. “Go fly a kite,” he wrote back. Another station fired back “NO” in big letters.

    In Bay County, another one of the Foundation’s targets, a reporter asked if Sheriff McKeithen would pull down his viral videos after FFRF’s legal threat. Actually, he shrugged, “I plan on adding a few more.” In most cases, the stickers were donated by local citizens. But even that didn’t satisfy the secularists. “The fact that these stickers were privately funded indicates that you know it is inappropriate for the government to fund religious statements.”

    Of course, the irony is that the government has been funding religious statements since 1957 — on our currency. The national motto didn’t suddenly become unconstitutional just because it’s on a police car instead! Texas’s Lt. Governor Dan Paxton agrees. This week, he released a formal opinion responding to the Foundation’s complaint . “There is an unbroken history of official acknowledgment by all three branches of government of the role of religion in American life from at least 1789.’ (*Lynch*, 465 U.S. at 674.) A law enforcement department’s decision to display the national motto on its vehicles is consistent with that history. Thus, a court is likely to conclude that a law enforcement department’s display of ‘In God We Trust’ on its patrol vehicles is permissible under the Establishment Clause of the U.S. Constitution.”

    Good for him! Surely, America’s police force has more important things to respond to than a petty lawsuit. While the fringe groups like FFRF try to recruit people for their intimidation campaign, most people agree with Sheriff McKeithen: “Morals and ethics [are]… what law enforcement’s supposed to be about.” With reminders like this one, he hopes more people are convicted — in a different kind of way.

    Liked by 2 people

  34. James Ignatius McAuley says:

    JG and Beckita,

    Thank you for your comments. Long ago, I learned from the great Henri DeLubac to have a filter and to periodically, check my filter. What we must do is make a proper spiritual discernment of spiritual intelligence. I was fortunate that as a teenager, my father helped guide me in this process (Thanks, DAD!). When I first found this site, I examined it, read comments about it, and prayed on it (Ask your guardian angel and Holy Spirit for help!) before I decide to regularly read it. That approach should be done with all Catholic websites. Some contain useful information, some are spiritually toxic, some are downright heretical, and so on.

    The same should be understood with liturgical, devotional or catechetical works. Without a spiritual director as a guide, you can read devotional works, for example and make bad choices, such as the flagellents who came about as a response to the Black Death. A beginner learning about the faith should not step in and read St. Maximus the Confessor’s Disputation with Pyrrhus lest they wish to become totally confused regarding Christology. Reading about liturgical reform in the Catholic Church solely dependent on the late great Michael Davies’s trilogy liturgical revolution will lead to a deficient and one sided picture of the creation of the Novus Ordo liturgy.

    Love, hugs and prayers to all!

    Like

  35. EllenChris says:

    I have had an unusually busy week — weddings, Baptism, funeral and yesterday sent my husband to work on a healing retreat for emotionally/spiritually wounded veterans, “The Welcome Home Initiative.” So, it has taken me a while to answer.

    But I want to thank you, very much, for including St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church in the pictures of your journey, Charlie. Much appreciated. Just an FYI for newer readers here, our diocese, the Episcopal Diocese of Albany is one of only a few in The Episcopal Church (USA) which is still holding out for total orthodoxy. We are under siege, but standing firm, so prayers appreciated. Several elements of the Body of Christ came together that day (including our recently retired bishop, who was favorably impressed), and we are just beginning to enjoy the fruits of that. So — Thanks for including our picture! And blessings on your continuing recuperation from the epic trip. 🙂

    Liked by 4 people

  36. justsayin392 says:

    When I see how God is reaching out to embrace all His flocks, I can almost imagine the newly rescued ‘people of the Kingdom’ cresting the brow at St Milo’s.
    God bless you and your congregation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

