Interim Musings

By Charlie Johnston

I am working on the piece on Islam and what we are called to. Obviously it is meaty, so I am taking extra time as I have on some other important pieces – and not spending much time on other things right now.

Things are speeding up dramatically – and will continue to do so. We need to keep our feet on the ground and act with deliberation, considering all things – but also acting with dispatch.

I am getting more people sending me things about what Jesus told them. Obviously, I don’t discount such things given my own experiences. But I have to give a solemn warning. I do not credit something to a heavenly being unless I am commanded to do so or I am given leave to do so and can think of no other way to effectively get the point across. Do NOT think that crediting something to Jesus is an easy way to give your own thoughts or inspirations more heft and authority. It is a way to put yourself under a demanding responsibility and accounting to the Lord. Even if you say something that is completely accurate and true and accredit it to Christ, Himself, without having been given leave, you will be punished for it. Be very careful. This is very serious business and not something to dabble with. If you are not under solid spiritual direction, I strongly urge you not to publicly attribute some inspiration to Jesus. Just say it and be done with it. It will rise or fall on its merit. If it is from Jesus, the merit will show – though it will also draw ferocious attacks. When you publicly proclaim something as coming from Jesus, you unwittingly put yourself under the discipline of the most intense sort of Special Forces in history. Unless you are trained and prepared for it, you are in terrible peril. Fortunately, most such statements the Lord dismisses as the chatter of silly children. Please, please, please be very careful. Let your yes be yes and your no be no. There is honor in this to be sure, but it is a fiery honor that can consume if you do not live the discipline, obedience – and a rigorous accountability that you could scarce imagine. It starts with solid spiritual direction. Tell your promptings privately to your friends if called. But do not publicly attribute something to a heavenly being unless you are in solid direction, are obedient to your director, and are prepared to deal with the consequences.

Stay steady, be patient with me, and we will work together as heralds of the Rescue.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

141 Responses to Interim Musings

  1. Elena Selga says:

    Dear Charlie,

    What do you mean by “The Rescue”? Pls send link on your post explaining that. I couldn’t find a post explaining in detail, if there is detail, in what you mean. Is it when Russia is finally consecrated to The Immaculate Heart of Mary? And we’re rescued from the AntiChrist? Just wondering. Thank You.

    In JMJ,

    Elena

    Like

  2. Here’s what Jesus told me today:

    “If this day you only knew what makes for peace–
    but now it is hidden from your eyes.
    For the days are coming upon you
    when your enemies will raise a palisade against you;
    they will encircle you and hem you in on all sides.
    They will smash you to the ground and your children within you,
    and they will not leave one stone upon another within you
    because you did not recognize the time of your visitation.”

    (Today’s Gospel Reading.)

    As I’ve said before — keep oil in your lamps, my friends! (that is, a State of Grace, a life of prayer — Living in the Divine Will, and works of mercy). It is upon us. Raise your heads as well, for the Vindication is at hand.

    Liked by 11 people

  3. Ginny Allen says:

    Perhaps I need to be more careful.

    See,I am sending an angel before you, to guard you on the way and bring you to the place I have prepared. Exodus 23:20 In His Love, GINNY

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nance says:

    We’re trying, Charlie. We’re trying.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      I know, Nance. I recognize there is great trepidation right now. I am trying to – to make sure I give you solid material, well-considered and expressed.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Becky-TN says:

        “Confusion” was a great title to your last piece. I’m having a feeling of being more “torn” (seeing both sides, yet having a hard time making a decision) than “confused”. As beloved CrewDog says: “God Save all here”!

        Have mercy, O’Lord!

        Liked by 3 people

  5. Dennis says:

    Hi Charlie, I have a question, and I apologize if you have answered this before somewhere on the site. The six visionaries in Medjugorje were shown 10 “secrets” (technically, a few of them have not seen all ten yet). These secrets, according to the visionaries, depict tragic and grave events for humankind — with the exception of the 3rd secret, if I recall correctly. The 3rd secret speaks of a “permanent, indestructible sign” from Heaven that will lead to the conversion of many. So, my question is, is what you have been shown the same as what the visionaries have been shown, to your knowledge? Is the Shrine on Meeker the same as the 3rd secret? Thank you.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I do not know, Dennis. I pretty much stick to what I am called to do and don’t spend time worrying about whether it does or does not align with what others say. To do that could get me off track on what I am called to do.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Arby says:

        Hi Charlie,
        I was thinking of going on a short excursion for relaxation, daily mass, prayer reflection with some nice catholic friends; (sometime in December or January) not sure if that’s the next right step for now. Would hate to be away from home if the crash and panic comes. Any advice.

        Arby

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          Do the things you would normally do with prudence. God knows where you are and so long as you acknowledge Him, He will guide you in what He calls you to wherever you are. I do not call anyone to cower in fear waiting for something to happen. Live and trust.

          Liked by 3 people

      • DanSouthChicago says:

        Thanks for staying on track, Charlie. God bless you and all the family.

        Liked by 1 person

      • zeniazenia says:

        Good morning Charlie and TNRS!
        May Our Lady of Tepeyac help us.
        In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit Amen.
        By the power of Our Lord, Jesus Christ; to the honor of Our Lady, the Immaculate Conception; in service to her Immaculate Heart;, we ask your assistance with the forces behind Islam. Help us to keep our feet on the ground and act with deliberation, considering all things – but also acting with dispatch. Let us be sober students for our dedicated teacher Charlie, whom God has mercifully sent with messages for us. Never let his work making us heralds of the Rescue be lost due to our distractions. We ask for the intercession of St. Archangel Gabriel. Thank you for hearing our prayer. Thy will be done. Amen.
        We give it over to God entirely with trust.
        In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit Amen.
        May we all have a blessed Friday! Let’ us attend the Heavenly Liturgy today if possible –Jane

        Liked by 3 people

    • marcyc48 says:

      Didn’t the visiomaries in Garabandal say the same thing about ” a permanet imdistructible sign”?
      I know theirs is NOT a vision approved by the Church, but then again, the final approval of Medjugorje has not been made either.

      Like

  6. Lynn Louviere says:

    Charlie
    I so appreciate your posts. Ive only been following you for a couple of months. Your last post had me a little worried that i had stepped into unchartered waters. I have had a friend or two tell me i have a gift of prophecy i have and continue to brush itnoff as i dont get messages. I am told to read scripture. A chapter and a verse specifically. I use it for private prayer and share with a few friends. I have been under spiritual direction but advised to discern what is for me personally and for our prayer community about 10 – 20 people. I have not felt anything was to share until Sunday when in orayer i said i don’t what details just what you want me to do. Again scripture. Joel 3:9. So I sent to friends and witnessed like i just dis here and asked for prayer. I sense I may be treading on the edge of somewhere i shouldnt without much more rigorous spiritual direction. Am I discerning your comments in this post correctly?

    Like

  7. Dennis says:

    Understood, and that makes sense. I thought it was interesting that the Shrine would be on Meeker. We used to live in Colorado. There are other more prominent peaks there (Longs, Pikes), but, then this verse popped into my head, “Blessed are the Meek, for they shall inherit the Earth”. As I understand it, the biblical understanding of meekness is to not over-estimate ourselves and our power, and to give credit to God. Maybe just a coincidence..Meeker, Meek… maybe not. Anyways, thanks for replying.
    Dennis

    Liked by 3 people

    • marcyc48 says:

      My nephew served 4 tours of duty in the Middle East, he has seen such horrific things that it is a blessing he is still sane. He is definitely NOT in favor of resettling Syrian refugee here among his fellow Americans! Their values and culture do not coincide with ours! We must pray always, and fight when necessary! Lord have mercy, Christ have mercy. Immaculate Heart of Mary, pray for us. Our Lady of Tepyac, pray for us!

      Like

  8. donna says:

    these are very confusing times, as your previous piece has stated….I am no longer interested in private revelation but focused on the sacraments, the Gospel, and the Rosary….with these 3 things, I stand strongly in the Barque of Peter. So many of my faith filled “heroes” are falling apart right now….I am in shock and awe….but you said it would happen Charlie, and by golly it’s happening….TNRS family, buckle your seat belts, we are in for a bumpy ride.

    Liked by 5 people

  9. Julia says:

    Hope I have not been responsible in any way for your strong words of caution. But point taken to heart just in case.

    I have never been given a message to share; nor a dream or vision or inspiration that I can remember sharing. Just things I have read, or felt and so stated, so hopefully all is good.

    I was given a message by a Priest at the end of the Sacrament of Confession on 1st September 2015, he said it was from the Lord. I did not understand how it was possible and went to Confession the following Saturday and asked another Priest how it was possible. He explained it to me. I understand it now; but again it is not relevant to anyone else for now so it stays secret while the Lord completes His task. So pray for me Charlie, I keep you and all on the forum in my prayers too.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I don’t know, Julia…I don’t keep names in mind. I have just had an uptick of the number of people who have been saying such things to me. If you get a powerfully insightful prompting, feel free to share it – but usually as your own prompting. Jesus is not so worried about not being given credit in such situations…all things will be disclosed in the end. He is concerned that all take responsibility for what they do and say, so as to make it more difficult for them to be deceived by the evil one.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Becky-TN says:

    Thanks, Charlie! God Bless!

    Like

  11. Joshua says:

    The most recent article from Mark Mallett, about the Virgin Mary and Islam (and related global issues):

    “Our Lady of the Cab Ride”

    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/our-lady-of-the-cab-ride/

    I hope that it will be helpful to some readers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Charlene says:

      Thankyou Joshua…….I am suprised Charlie didn’t post this link from Mark Mallette as he has in the past. This is an extremely powerful article that Mark has posted. IT IS BECAUSE OF Mark Mallette’s blog I was introduced to Charlie. Btw Mark Mallette sights Michael D OBrien and his web site is Studioobrien. and has many very good articles on it. Including the article Mark Mallette was talking about.

      Like

  12. YongDuk says:

    Charlie et al, years ago while just a new Marian convert, I said to my SD that I can’t wait to get to Purgatory.

    He blinked and blinked again.

    I didn’t mean to confound this Holy Priest, so I added that there I will learn to love as I should have loved here.

    Please all I ask for your prayers. What I have been blessed to have been shown pales in comparison to whom I am now. To be in the Little Kids Section of Heaven and St Faustina’s Warning and Charlie’s warning is daunting.

    Be assured of my prayers and indeed, per Beckita’s request, I bring you all to the Altar Stone of the Sacred Heart (I don’t know whose relics are inside so I say it that way) daily for you and your intentions. I humbly ask for your prayers in return that I make it at least to Purgatory (preferably straight to Heaven, but that would probably mean that I died a Martyr at this point).

    Remember squirrels are nice; put a Squirrel in your Tree today!

    +Yong Duk

    Liked by 5 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      YD, you are in my daily prayers. I just found a pattern online and will make an official NRS squirrel Christmas mascot for our family’s tree out of an old winter glove. https://www.pinterest.com/pin/341992165427506719/ 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

      • Petra says:

        Oh jlynnbyrd, I clicked the link and when I saw that squirrel —- I’ve been laughing ever since. I love the human looking body with the squirrel head. If that’s our mascot for this site, well, I guess God is calling me to forgive all the squirrels I have ever shook a fist at for living in the attic and chewing up the paper boxes up there, and for all the repairs to the fascia board where they chewed their way in.
        I’m bookmarking that link because I think whenever I need to LOL I’m clicking on those instructions. 🙂
        We used to be the .002 percent. Now I think we’re just getting *squirrely.”
        God bless.

        Liked by 2 people

        • jlynnbyrd says:

          Petra, you made me giggle out loud. My dear husband and I are big on recycling and restoring. That old glove will have new life on the Christmas tree.
          *
          /\
          / \
          / \
          ll

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mick says:

          Hee hee, Petra. I guess God is calling me to forgive all the squirrels I ever shook my fist at for running out in the road and about giving me a heart attack for fear that I would hit them.

          All this talk about squirrels is ALMOST persuading me to buy a squirrel ornament for our tree. Thing is, we have a rule at our house that no secular ornaments can go on the tree; they have to be related to the true meaning of Christmas. Help me out, somebody: how can I fit a square squirrel peg into a round Christmas hole?

          In any event, from this point forward, I will think of our NRS family every time I see a squirrel running around (and because we live in a rural, wooded area, we see a ton of squirrels). Love you guys! 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

          • SteveBC says:

            Ah, Mick, has your life been so barren of love that you have never heard of the Great Christmas Squirrel? He’s in there, as the loved and loving pet of the Dough-Boy Perfect Child all mothers carry around in their head. Go ahead, look inside right next to your Perfect Child. There! There he is! Yes, he’s there, the Great Christmas Squirrel, his cheeks stuffed and bulging with gifts for his favorite Dough-Boy puffball Child and more gifts stuffed hidden in all the unused nooks and crannies in your brain. If he doesn’t deserve to be recognized on your Christmas Tree, I don’t know who would be. Your Perfect Child (in its, what, five different manifestations?) will delight in that addition! 😀

            Liked by 3 people

          • Mick says:

            SOLD! 🙂

            Leave it to you, SteveBC, to bring together the squirrel and Dough-Boy memes such that now I am practically compelled to put a squirrel on our tree.

            So now, where do I find a squirrel ornament? As someone who hasn’t bought a Christmas ornament since the turn of the century (really), I’m rather at a loss.

            Seriously, you MUST write a children’s book starring a Mommy, a Dough-Boy, and the Great Christmas Squirrel, who disguises himself as NRS (Next Right Squirrel) when it’s not Christmastime. Beckita, can I get an “Amen”? 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • Beckita says:

            Of course, Amen! And it comes with a song about Earl the Christmas Squirrel and he’s a international traveler. Quite fitting for an international community, yes?:
            [audio src="http://www.scarysquirrel.org/holidays/xmas/earl/earlskwerl2.mp3" /]

            “Earl The Christmas Squirrel”

            Earl the Christmas Squirrel works form dawn till dusk
            Scurrying all around the world collecting Christmas nuts
            Walnuts, chestnuts, hazlenuts, peanuts
            And on his Hawaiian cruise
            He goes nuts over coconuts and macadamias too!

            Long ago on a winter’s day Santa was riding on his sleigh
            He saw Earl jumping through the trees
            he stopped to watch for a little while
            hi rosy cheeks tipped on his smile
            he said “Earl would you do that for me?”

            So Earl the Christmas Squirrel works from dawn till dusk
            scurrying all around the world collecting Christmas nuts
            Walnuts, chestnuts, hazlenuts, peanuts,
            And on his Hawaiian cruise
            He goes nuts over coconuts and macadamias too!

            So if you see a squireel up in a tree
            You never know, it just might be
            Earl gathering nuts for Christmas Eve
            Now he’s a part of Santa’s crew
            Just like the elves and Rudolph too
            Working all year long for you and me

            So Earl the Christmas Squirrel works from dawn till dusk
            Scurrying all around the world collecting Christmas nuts
            Walnuts, chestnuts, hazlenuts, peanuts
            And on his Hawaiian cruise
            He goes nuts over coconuts and macadamias too!
            He goes nuts over coconuts and macadamias too!

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Beckita, you are blessed and gifted in so many ways! Your lovely poem reminded me of my youth when we’d put out our shoes on St. Nicholas Day and in the morning they were filled with fruits and nuts. It brought tears to my eyes to revisit that old tradition. Thank you!
            Perhaps that would be Earl’s side job for Ole St. Nick.

            Like

          • Petra says:

            Well, Mick, you could find/make an ornament of woodland animals coming around the manger to worship the baby Jesus. Or how about a squirrel angel….featuring a squirrel high atop the tree with gossamer wings…. https://search.yahoo.com/yhs/search?p=squirel+angels&ei=UTF-8&hspart=mozilla&hsimp=yhs-001 🙂
            God bless.

            Like

          • Mick says:

            Beckita: Earl the Christmas Squirrel! Awesome! 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • Beckita says:

            Jlynn, you are so sweet, Actually the song and lyrics were written by someone else. The link just after my opening line in the comment can be copied and used to listen to the song. It’s really not my favorite genre for Christmas music (Chipmunky style) but I was high on squirreliness last night and did a 2 second search and voila! But the best result of posting the song is you sharing your Christmas memory. I repeat: you are sweet and I appreciate your presence and your comments here.

            Like

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Thank you Beckita. The feelings are mutual. ❤

            Liked by 1 person

      • YongDuk says:

        Oh my, Jlynnbyrd:
        I have a hard enough time with buttons!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beckita says:

        LYNN!!! What a perfect Christmas craft! Start taking orders from NRSers with proceeds going to the Shrine of Thanskgiving Fund?!!! What? You’ve got other things to do before Christmas? 😉

        Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Precious beyond compare, YD, is the gift of prayer from your priestly heart for us, particularly those offered on the wood of the cradle which became the wood of the Cross and is now the wood of the altar. Blessed be God in you, Dear Father!!! Blessed are we!!!

      Liked by 2 people

      • YongDuk says:

        You know you and NancyA were right with the title the other day, but amongst family YD… Like Peter and John. …just in case…

        Remember squirrels are nice; put a Squirrel in your Tree today!
        +

        Like

    • SteveBC says:

      I’m beginning to wonder about you people. You’re all getting a little squirrelly. 😀

      Liked by 3 people

      • YongDuk says:

        Steve, the Squirrel merely represents the Virtue of Fortitude/Courage mixed in with a certain je-ne-sais-quoi.

        Put a Squirrel in your Tree today!
        +

        Liked by 4 people

        • MarieUrsula says:

          I live in a forest amidst different kinds of squirrels. 🙂 I’m very fond of them. The big grey squirrels with the glorious flowing tails are out and about all winter, as are the Douglas squirrels. The golden-mantled ground squirrels and their close relatives, chipmunks, have gone into hibernation. Now when I see any of them, they’ll remind me to pray for you ~ and all of us!

          Liked by 3 people

        • Elizabeth K. says:

          How funny; for several years “fortitude” has been my “word”, so to speak–and I’ve been increasingly beset with squirrels in the yard! I had no idea they represented the virtue I’ve been working on–God really does speak to us through circumstance, doesn’t He? And I love that He always has such a sense of humor!

          Liked by 3 people

      • Beckita says:

        Well now, Dear Steve our NRS Geek, you’re not one bit exempt from this squirrely descriptor. In fact, I just checked and discovered a link: “Squirrel Store – Apps to go nuts for”

        But Guys, Guys Guys!!! The most exciting discovery for this evening: Charlie HAS been holding a detail from us. This is the most amazing discovery!!! I’m not even kidding one bit!!! We need more than a drum roll here… it’s gotta be timpani and trumpet sounds!!! The source of the market crash will be none other than…………………………………………
        Please, please, please, sit down. Steady yourselves. The source of the market crash will be SQUIRRELS!!!!!! YES, People. It’s absolutel true! Why, here’s the link to prove it: http://www.theatlantic.com/business/archive/2015/07/squirrels-trading-new-york-stock-exchange/398108/

        Liked by 4 people

    • SteveBC says:

      Here I thought TNRS meant “The Next Right Step.” Now I find it means “The Next Right Squirrels.” Our community has gone nuts! 🙂

      Liked by 8 people

  13. Bob in Minnesota says:

    Damm.
    Winter arrived today, snow, wind and cold weather in the 20’s. Tonight into the teens, soon in a few weeks the temperature will reach well below zero.
    I am deeply concerned about the people when the electrical power shuts down during the early part of the storm; and their is no electricity to operate the heating furnaces.For all the events Charlie has communicated to happen before the end of 2017 the storm has to start any day.
    There is going to be BIG TIME suffering in the northern parts of the USA and Canada.
    No one especially the young adult people have experienced this before or given any thought about it. What is going to happen to the people, good and bad alike.
    Those who have no faith, no relationship with the Holy Trinity, have nothing to hold onto.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Katherine says:

      I know, it’s supposed to be another brutal winter. I read that some scientists were studying the effect of the Siberian snow pack and its influence on New England weather. My poor parents in Boston got five feet of snow last year, and this year the snow pack in Siberia is worse than last year’s. It’s up to us who have something to hold on to to check on our neighbors and see what’s what. There is one family I trust enough nearby to invite into my home for the winter, they only have electric heat, and down the street from me there is a church and a town hall (really just a big gym) which can be retrofitted with wood stoves. Luckily we live in an area where lots of people like to collect antique wood stoves .. . possibly mostly because they are kind of hard to throw out . . . and we live near a wood stove dealer. I would say, look around you, wherever you are, and just make a mental note of the resources at hand. We just might be the people called to give some direction so that panic won’t have time to really grip our neighbors. I imagine it helps to have a plan in your head, or a vision of something to work towards in place so that no time is wasted. I suppose that for those who have nothing to hang on to, we’ll let them hang on to us until they are able to grab hold of God for strength.

      Liked by 6 people

      • zeniazenia says:

        Last Saturday a HUGE dead tree blew over on the community property. While typically it would be removed promptly, I asked that it be left where it is so people in the neighborhood can use it for heat throughout the winter if necessary. I believe it will stay. Thank you Lord for all your good gifts!- —

        Liked by 4 people

    • Beckita says:

      They can hold onto our prayers, Bob, as we hold them, every single one of them, in our prayers. Praying, too, that God will raise up an army of NRSers who don’t even know yet that they have this moniker, people who will reach out to one another in LOVE with concrete and ordinary deeds of Mercy and then discover, once again, that God dwells in each human heart and that He loves us so much and has waited and waited and waited for these days when we would turn to HIM.

      Liked by 2 people

    • audiemarie2014 says:

      Bob in MN, I met you when we first arrived at the meeting, I think. I’m sorry we didn’t talk more while we had the opportunity. I agree with you about the cold and how hard it could/will be without the heat we are accustomed to having up here. As you say, especially the young people. Am praying for all.

      Liked by 2 people

    • JoyInTheLord says:

      I don’t want to reinvent the wheel but what have you stored for the ‘stormy winter’ that are nonperishable food items? I reckon we could stock up on these and give them away to those who would be in ‘panic’ because food is scarce on the shelf. Thinking of the time when the stormy winter finally knocks at the unsuspecting door and what I can do as the next right step.

      Like

      • Beckita says:

        Amen, Joy! I have simply chosen to stock (not a lot) some canned foods comprised of foods we like to eat. Anything and everything we have in this house is open to those in need… I am now mentally getting ready to begin the exercise of slowly decreasing my quantity of food intake that when life becomes especially difficult, I’ll have more to share.

        Liked by 3 people

    • snowowl says:

      Bob, I am also from Minnesota and have been praying about this for quite sometime! Maybe all of us in MN think this way 🙂 The cold here is lethal! I have encourage everyone here, family and friends, to get alternative heat sources, and thankfully many are looking into it. The ones who have not or can not afford to prepare for this have been invited to come here when the time is right.. and will probably end up at my home because we have wood stoves and 10 acres of woods to burn! That’s OK by me 🙂 but we’ll all be sleeping on the floor because this log cabin is pretty small!

      Liked by 3 people

      • audiemarie2014 says:

        Snowowl, I really like your profile picture! I also really like the idea of a wood stove. Tried to talk the husband into it, but it didn’t work, so we’ll see what happens when it happens.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. Phillip Frank says:

    St John of the Cross writes on the spiritual pitfalls and responsibilities associated with the gift of mystical visions, locutions and such. Important reading for anyone living a holy life in general. If anyone wants to expound on what Charlie is warning us about in this regard, he is your man.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Josh in ND says:

    Charlie’s advice is solid and very much in line with St. John of the Cross. St. John is quite emphatic that one dismiss any words, visions or locutions and move on with only a few exceptions. First, most messages are inspired by our own thoughts and vanity and are not from the Lord. Second, we come to feel that we are special because He has spoken to us and we begin to love thinking ourselves special instead of loving Christ. I myself have experienced something I thought to be supernatural and found myself longing for another experience instead of for Him.

    Further, If it truly is from the Lord, His word alone creates the desired effect on the soul, even if we cannot perceive it. Our active discernment and participation are not required.

    In the few exceptions John makes, he insists on discernment with a reliable spiritual director.

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Fr. Frank says:

    The Consecration of Russia *has been accomplished*, okay?!? At the end of every Mass I celebrate, I say “That the Lord may grant the people of this nation the graces of true repentance and conversion, we pray ‘St. Michael the Archangel. . . .” Remember that Our Lady said that Russia would spread her errors throughout the world. She did, and their new home is here in the United States. Russia now has prayer in all public schools, and a president (whose soul I cannot judge) who appears to be the only head of state who is willing to publicly stand up for the Christians of the Middle East. Charlie is right. It’s right before our eyes. Russia will be our ally, but I believe we will have another 9/11 in the US before our president believes and is converted. Still, even his personal conversion will not save the nation.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Margaret Godfrey says:

      Russia has not been consecrated to Mary. For further reading to anyone interested, there is a good article on http://www.catholic exchange.com in which the author, Richard Russell, asks the obvious question I would put to you: If Russia has been consecrated to the Immaculate Heart, where is the fruit?

      Like

      • charliej373 says:

        We have discussed this at great length here, Margaret. I find acceptable those who say it is an ongoing process which will end with one more consecration, but I find those who bluntly say the ’84 consecration was not accepted unacceptable. To hold that position one must believe St. John Paul was a fool and Sr. Lucia a liar. Dangerous position to put oneself in. I will not repeat the various arguments that you can search for here already…but as to your “where are the fruits” question, one quick take: it is Russia who is defending Christians being persecuted in the Middle East right now, not the U.S – and it is Russia who is gathering a coalition against ISIS, not the U.S.

        Liked by 10 people

      • YongDuk says:

        Charlie, Jlynnbird and Doug said that the comet will be squirrel shaped; Beckita and MP said it will be like apple cider…

        I say it is more like Play Doh: Already, not yet.

        Keep on Trucking!

        Liked by 3 people

    • BD says:

      Perhaps you are right that the Consecration of Russia has been accomplished and accepted by Heaven. I believe it will however be repeated again in the future and specifically naming Russia this time.

      What is needed more desperately is the Consecration of the United States to the Immaculate Heart of Mary so this poor nation can be truly converted.

      Liked by 5 people

      • SteveBC says:

        How right you are, BD. Let it be so.

        Liked by 1 person

      • YongDuk says:

        Not to be contentious, but the United States of America is under the Patronage of the Immaculate Conception.

        Not even saying that that trumps “consecration”, but in my opinion it shows you how far the USA has fallen and what incredible grace it has spurned.

        I would not want to stand before God as a Catholic who knew and contributed to this fall and answer for the blatant disregard that ensued.

        Thus,I do posit sadly that there is quite the difference between Russia and the USA in this regard.

        Liked by 2 people

        • BD says:

          YD. You shall forever more be known as the Contentious Squirrel. But I do agree with you, it is now a matter of how low can the US go?

          Liked by 1 person

        • Beckita says:

          Indeed, YD, we have spurned incredible grace in this country… and, mea culpa, mea culpa, mea maxima culpa… My own sins are responsible for the breakdown in responding to grace… not only in this country, but throughout the world.

          So well said, BD: “This was for our benefit and not only was Russia not timely Consecrated but we have collectively failed to fully heed Our Lady’s Fatima Message.”
          Yet, Infinite Love Himself NEVER gives up on us. As revealed to St. Faustina His Mercy is Unfathomable!

          Liked by 2 people

          • BD says:

            Thank you for the kind words Beckita. I must say I often enjoy your comments that you tirelessly post on this site. Your quick response to people’s prayer requests are becoming legendary.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Beckita says:

            Thank you, BD. I’m in a phase of life where I’ve been able to ponder and pray with and for everyone here as I’ve had the time to check in frequently most days. It’s simply a constant NRS for me.

            Liked by 4 people

      • Mick says:

        BD, the United States HAS been consecrated to the Immaculate Heart of Mary… twice. The US bishops made the consecration in 1959, and again on November 11, 2006. I watched the 2006 consecration on EWTN, which had a film crew at the Basilica in DC. It was beautiful.

        http://www.tldm.org/News9/USConsecratedToOurLady.htm

        Liked by 2 people

        • BD says:

          Hi Mick. You are quite correct concerning the Consecration of the US and I should have stated a Consecration by the Pope and all the Bishops of the world. However I believe there is a bigger point that should be made on the Consecration topic. God knew for all eternity the Consecration of Russia to the Immaculate Heart of Mary would not occur prior to 1960. This was for our benefit and not only was Russia not timely Consecrated but we have collectively failed to fully heed Our Lady’s Fatima Message. The consequences for these failures are playing out right now, right in front of our eyes. I am afraid the failures have been so great, they will require a miracle to save us. Thank you God for the “Rescue”. Amen

          Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Thank you, Fr. Frank. Please remember us all here in your prayers. Praying for you and your ministry as well.

      Like

  17. Joseph77 says:

    Charlie,
    I have been wondering about the year of mercy which Pope Francis has proclaimed and The Storm. How will the year of mercy, beginning in late 2015, affect the full force of The Storm in 2016 to the end of 2017 when there will be the Rescue? .Do you think the Year of Mercy will somehow mitigate The Storm in its fury so that many more souls will be saved. It seems to me that Pope Francis was inspired by the Blessed Mother Mary to proclaim the Year of Mercy “just in the nick of time” to prolong the time of grace for the conversion of sinners. Of course, all is in accord with God’s will..

    Like

    • Mack says:

      I don’t presume to speak for Charlie, but if he doesn’t mind, in a previous reply to a similar comment Charlie said that the year of mercy will be a great grace for the conversion of people. But those who do not repent by the time it ends will have to face a serious accounting from God and a stiff judgment. So we need to pray for the conversion of people. That is the most important thing.

      Liked by 3 people

  18. Carmelite says:

    Dear friends, I am sorely confused. So much talk of ISIS and islam and terrorism. Who’s behind it all. Remember 9/11 !
    I read with much interest the comments about the ‘highly intelligent’ Obama. A lot I suspected, but wow, didn’t know.
    As I have no words of wisdom, I usually just read and learn (so much) from Charlie and all you other brilliant and spiritual people. So maybe you can help me out. Is the following site for real or just another conspiracy theory blog? I bookmarked it a while back … I think I found the original link from someone’s comment on this site, don’t know. Happened to read it tonight:

    Like

  19. mspahni says:

    I like you, Charlie 373! I’m new to this. A friend sent your August video to me and I signed up for this. 67 years young, retired high school counselor, spiritual director last 7 years and loving those our Jesus sends me! I’ve shared your video with 6, including my spiritual director, who alerted me to you two years ago.

    God bless and protect us, and prosper us with Your wisdom and discernment, dearest Lord!

    Maryann in lincoln, NE BEST DIOCESE IN THE USA!

    >

    Liked by 3 people

  20. LukeMichael says:

    I find great comfort in the Psalms!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Brad J says:

    Wow! Just read your post Charlie. It always boggles my mind how there is usually a complete discussion about your posts already up by the time I get to look at them😉.

    God bless you Charlie, how you resonate with my soul. I often wonder how many times the Holy Spirit has had to take the blame/credit for people’s inspirations which may or may not come from the Holy Spirit. I pray, God help me your weak and sinful servant, to guide my family to release our wills and submit and bind ourselves totally to Your Divine Will, forsaking all else and trusting in Jesus…

    Brad

    Liked by 2 people

  22. David R. says:

    Charlie, Sadly, you seemed to have called this one a year ago…
    Pope Francis said today, “Christmas festivities will seem empty in a world which has chosen “war and hate” http://news.yahoo.com/christmas-festivities-charade-world-war-pope-183159295.html

    Like

  23. Leslye says:

    Regarding the fruit of Consecration of Russia: did they not then break up as the USSR and become more open and democratic — starting at the end of the same year as the Consecration, I believe? I remember almost weeping at Mass because of it, at the time!
    Obviously we’ve needed to make better use of the opportunity given since then…

    Like

    • Julia says:

      Leslye, I believe the fruits of the Consecration in 1984 are still ongoing. And we can still assist Our Lord in His promise of Mercy for our time by, for example;

      Making the 5 First Saturdays in Reparation for offenses and outrages against the Immaculate Heart of Mary. Following is how to do this.
      On the first Saturday Go to Mass and Holy Communion with the intention of reparation, and Confession where you mention the intention along with your sins. Say a Rosary in the Church and also meditate for 15 minutes on one or more Mysteries of Holy Rosary. I have found it easier to make the Stations of the Cross for the meditation sometimes.

      There is a great 33 day preparation for Consecrations to Sacred Heart of Jesus through Immaculate Heart of Mary from John Martinez. It can be found at the end of his 12th Contemplation. I am on day 16 ready for 8th December 2015. You could start ready for Christmas or New Year if you wanted.

      We can also make the 9 First Fridays in reparation for coldness, ingratitude and indifference towards the Sacred Heart of Jesus pierced by a lance on Calvary for our Redemption.

      The above will make you armed and dangerous to the satan in the coming Months. And a mighty instrument in the army of God for His Glorious Victory, already guaranteed through the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart of Mary. Charlie tells us to persevere and things will be much more clear to us by the end of 2017. Praised and Glory to our Triune God. And God bless Charlie. I hope you don’t mind Charlie as it is musings.

      Like

  24. Mary says:

    I have had a strong urge for the past 2 years to pray for my ancestors and my husband’s ancestors. Like a nagging feeling to look up names and just intercede and ask for heavenly help. It’s kind of strange but I have learned a lot about them that I didn’t know before.

    Liked by 4 people

  25. NancyA says:

    And we can ‘pray it forward’ for our own descendants, too!

    I am reading Immaculee Ilibagiza’s _TheRosary_. Most may know her story, praying the rosary for 91 days hidden in a tiny bathroom with 7 other Tutsi women in Rwanda during the genocide prophecied by the Blessed Mother in the early 1980’s. It occurs to me to note that during those apparitions, what Mary showed the schoolgirls was not symbolic. It was not a heavenly interpretation of deeper mysteries. She showed them the actual horrors that came to pass. She also begged the praying of the rosary to convert hearts. Thank you, Mother!

    I want to share this very down to earth interview of three French nationals. Very telling, from a magazine not well known, but which I respect, Regina. http://reginamag.com/paris-in-pain/

    Bishop, you are a joy and delight. But you called my dog a bologna! No squirrel in my tree. The squirrels dance on the roof of the hen’s fly and tease my dog, named St. Basil, btw. There’s enmity between those squirrels and me! Lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Laurie Harris says:

    Last week I traveled to see my mom in Massachusetts. She is 90 years young, and I did begin to worry about how my mom would fare in this storm we’re in should the electricity go out, but I’ve resolved to just pray about, not worry about. I just have found so much peace in prayer, my daily scriptural rosary, doing small acts of kindness and mercy to those who are in need, baking a meal for those who are sick in our church community, and getting to know some members of my church where in the past, I would have been too busy to take the time to build a relationship. Be not afraid, that does keep coming up. God is with us. I’m taking little steps, but I know each one is the right step. I also started the “33 Days to Morning Glory” Marian consecration, and find that giving myself to Mary, all my works and prayers, is the best way to offer prayers for those in most need – I’m now offering my mother Mary to take all my works, all my prayers, past and present, and give them to those who need them most. Yes, we live in troubled times, and we also live in a time where church communities are coming together, growing, and organizing to get to know and help each other, their neighbors. I go to bible study too, and today I remembered something Charlie posted last week, about the church he went to on his pilgrimage where the manner of receiving communion was not correct. I shared with my bible study group that if we simply speak among ourselves about the Bible passages we’ve studied, and make no effort to go out and try to help those who sin or who just don’t know God, then we are missing the boat on what our true purpose is here on earth – to bring more souls to Christ. These are Jesus’ people, no one better than the other and ours not to judge, and we all need to care for them and love them unconditionally, no matter where they are on their own personal spiritual journey. We need to show those around us the peace that surpasses understanding through our actions that demonstrates our ability to see Christ in every person we interact with every day. And when we do that, perform works of mercy (feed the hungry, clothe the naked, visit the prisoners, give drink to the thirsty, shelter the homeless, visit the sick, bury the dead) without expectation of anything in return, and demonstrate God’s love through our actions, we experience peace, and indescribable calm in the midst of the storm.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      Thanks for being a sign of hope for me, Laurie. I’m praying for God to mobolize someone near your mother to offer her any assitance she may need when the STorm intensifies.

      Like

    • Whitney says:

      Beautiful Laurie! Keep doing what you’re doing! I’m south of Boston. You can always let me know if your mom’s nearby. I have family north of Boston as well.

      God bless, Whitney

      I know the prayer of miraculous trust here on Charlie’s site would help you with
      Placing trust in God concerning your mom.

      Like

  27. El ingeniero de Tepeyac says:

    Hi Charlie (if you will permit me this familiarity with you), I was reflecting on your previously written words whereby you stated that there won’t be an election in 2016. The thought struck me, the way things are going politically I can see the President and his advisors suspending the Constitution and proclaiming martial law.

    I’m not conspiracy follower but we definitely are living in strange times.

    Please pray for me that I would receive the graces necessary to do God’s Will.

    I have begun to network and organize with the neighbors. I am hoping to get about 20 families organized in the next 6 months

    Liked by 2 people

  28. Kim sevier says:

    With the spiraling tension I feel an increase in graces about. Our Lord uses the small and weak, does He not?

    Like

  29. Douglas Dudley says:

    What solid advise. God bless your work.

    Like

  30. John in central IL says:

    I think I said this months ago, but, for those of us who grew up in the post-War era, it was a matter of record that the USSR and its satellites propagated atheistic materialism. How true. This is just a friendly reminder that at least in today’s Russia, the Russian Orthodox Church is growing in numbers and influence, to the point that secular American liberals complain about it’s role in the country. Another friendly reminder, the Orthodox – while out of communion with Rome – are real churches, with real priests and sacraments, and a deep centuries-old devotion to the Mother of God and the saints. They put the vast majority of Catholics, including me, to shame in their love and devotion to her and her Son. I find it hard to believe that the consecration “didn’t take”, when the country today is filled with myrrh-streaming icons bearing her image, bursting-at-the-seams seminaries and monasteries. May St. John Paul’s dream of a church that breaths fully with both lungs be fulfilled soon. God bless all here.

    Liked by 8 people

    • Tarja says:

      Earlier today I found this video with a beautiful song “Merciful Father” and many Russian Orthodox photos. They tell about spiritual life in Russia: confession, prayer and Eucharist. When I saw John’s comment, I just thought: I send you a visualization of those facts he mentions.

      I have tried to tell about Russian Orthodoxy earlier on another forum but it’s very difficult to make people believe how very deep Faith many Russians have in their heart. It’s real devotion with whole heart (soul), spirit and body…. Well, you understand what I mean if you have time to watch this video.

      In Christ, Tarja

      Liked by 2 people

  31. snowowl says:

    Hi Charlie, I opened my new WordPress account and my real name JeanE was taken so now I am snowowl (@v@) hoot hoot!
    Anyway, after reading this, I felt concerned. Can we say God gave us or inspired us or I received this from God, knowing it could not have come from ourselves? I have always understood that when God inspires us it comes through our own faulty selves and so isn’t said or even always understood perfectly. I am just concerned because I have said here that I ‘received my writings’- (which are in no way prophetic, just the journey the soul makes to God) and I do not want to and never meant to offend God or be on dangerous ground. If this is wrong I need to say it differently and so how do I say it? I do claim they are mine so is this what you are talking about?

    Like

  32. Mona says:

    A questian from a unknowlegable protestant.
    I thaugt Russian Orthtodox and Greek Orthodox Church was Catolic. I just wisitsd a Greek Ortodoks Church in Istanbul, and it was old and different from the Ceatholic Churches I have seen different other places.
    Mona

    Like

  33. Ann Ammar says:

    Dear Charley, my friend Ann Ammar and I have a blog https://walkingwithourlord.wordpress.com/
    in the latest blogpost we mentioned you and your blog and left a link to your blog at the end of the post. We have been reading Mark Mallet’s blog for years now, and from his blog discovered you as well. We wonder whether you could take a look at our blog, maybe have some comments on it, and if you could place our Link on your blog? The blog is mostly about Ann’s spriritual life and experiences, some very miraculous, and lately we have added another section called “The battle cry” which is about the days we live in and evangalization…
    would love to hear from you!
    God bless you and your ministery.

    Ann Ammar and Marianne Eichhorn

    Like

  34. Robert Cunningham says:

    Mona

    The Church has always been called Catholic (universal) and Orthodox (right). The terms were interchangeable depending on where one lived in the world for the first roughly 1,000 years of Christianity. The Coptic (Egyptian) and Ethiopian Churches split from Rome over Christological terminology in the 5th century but that rift has began to heal since St John Paul Paul II visited St Catherine’s Monastery. The Armenian Apostolic Church is not Orthodox but has its own ancient Liturgy and was the first kingdom to declare itself Christian even before Constantine made his edict. Constantinople split from Rome in 1054 (it was mutual). Two councils tried to restore unity, Lyon and Florence (12th and 14th centuries) but they failed. The fall of Constantinople and the acts of some of the Crusaders coming back to Europe from the 4th Crusade hardened the hearts of the East. JP2 began to give back to the Eastern Churches many of the saints’ relics (like St Nicholas) that were taken at that time and that has helped. wounds to heal

    The brothers Sts Cyril and Methodius were from Constantinople but went to Rome to obtain the Pope’s blessing to receive a mandate to evangelize the Slavs around the 9th century. This includes much of Eastern Europe today. So, much of the Eastern countries (except Poland and Lithania) celebrate Divine Liturgy (Holy Mass) in the Byzantine tradition. The people of the land of the Rus (Ukraine and Russia) converted in 988.

    The Fathers of the Church said that where Peter is there is the Church. So, unity with the Bishop of Rome is essential in order to be Catholic, however, the Catholic Church states that the aforementioned Churches have a valid priesthood, valid sacraments, valid bishops etc but we are not in full visible communion. This is all supported in the Catechism. JP2 visited all of these countries except Russia, although he wanted to. I have always felt that they would be the first step to unity as we have the same heart – the Eucharist and love of Mary.

    The Protestants severed much more when they split with the Church starting in the 16th century but most still maintain some unity in their Baptism with us, if the Baptism is Trinitarian. In recent times the Lutheran World Federation and the Catholic Church have made some astonishing steps towards unity without Rome sacrificing any truth. I have always though that they too (and others) would return to unity quickly after the Orthodox. Charlie’s message on Christian unity is simple, to the point and encouraging.

    That is a quick and rough tour. In the end, unity will come as a gift from the Holy Spirit and perhaps through our Lady. it has been 2,000 years since Christ established his one Church on Peter and it will be one again.

    Robert

    Like

    • Tarja says:

      LIKE VERY MUCH, Robert!
      Well said and told…

      Our Lady of Soufanieh – through Myrna Nazzour from Damascos – told me to become friends with Catholic people….it was an absolutely clear piece of advice for me. That’s why I am hanging around here 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  35. Robert Cunningham says:

    Thanks Tarja

    Charlie has said that unity would be like a family reunion where all bring a covered dish. I look forward to all of us sharing those family recipes of prayer and spirituality with each other freely without fear of condemnation or condescension.

    Robert

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

