Heading Home

charlie and tracy

My son, Charlie, and his fiancé, Tracy. They will be married next May.

I am heading home today. First I want to make you aware of a great new book available on Amazon by the French theologian, Peter Bannister. It is a definitive rebuke to those apostates, such as Kelly Bowring and Antonio Socci who are trying to make Pope Francis out to be an anti-pope. It is a must have in the arsenal for defending the faith. I will put up a permanent link to it. A few readers have noted the enigmatic dedication of the book to Charlie J. and Mark M. I couldn’t say who those guys are…but God bless them for helping to inspire this marvelous and important work🙂

Also, I figure I would share a few pictures from my visit to my old home – and boast a little about how deeply pleased I am about my son’s engagement. The woman is wonderful – and her friends are wonderful. I was able to spend a little time with them during my summer tour. I told my son then that if he let this marvelous woman get away he was an idiot. My son is not an idiot.

A friend shared the picture below of my ex-wife, Carrie, and I from 30 years ago. I eventually had to  give the glasses back to Harry Caray. I spent part of Thanksgiving visiting with Carrie and with my daughter, Christie – and then with my grandkids and former son-in-law.

Carrie and me

My former wife, Carrie, and me from 30 years ago.


I met one of my granddaughters, young Lily, for the first time this trip.

Hope you have a great season of Advent.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

142 Responses to Heading Home

  1. Mack says:

    About Pope Francis, I’ve realized that in Popes Benedict and John Paul I had every confidence in them, knowing that they excelled in theology and philosophy. I think part of my trust in them was a human trust based on their knowledge, wisdom, and holiness.
    With Pope Francis, to be honest I do not have any confidence in his theology and philosophy, because he seems rather deficient in those areas and often speaks in a confused and confusing way. But I aboslutely trust in him as Pope, not because of any human qualities he has, but precisely because he is Pope, and Jesus promised that the Holy Spirit would not allow any pope to teach errors.
    So I think that by sending us Pope Francis, Jesus is making sure we trust in him, Jesus, and not in the human qualities of any pope. I have no doubts that Pope Francis will never officially teach any errors, even if Jorge Bergoglio, the rather leftist Jesuit, might have done so on his own. The Storm is really shaking all our foundations. For the first time in my life I have no confidence in the pope as a man. But I have every confidence in him as the one appointed by Jesus to lead the Church.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. stephen maresch says:


    I see that your son is getting married in May, are you not worried that what you have been describing in the storm may put a damper on there wedding plans? I would think they would try to get married sooner to avoid any interuption in their plans.h


    • charliej373 says:

      Stephen, I tell everyone to live their normal lives. Do you think I would tell my family something different? We are well aware that things may be in flames by then – but if they are, God knows where we are and will lead us through. I don’t just say it, I live it – and I expect those who are closest to me to do the same.

      Liked by 3 people

  3. zeniazenia says:

    Speaking of Mother Angelica- in her Mother Angelica Live Classics show Sept. 26, 2000, she speaks at the 28 minute mark about the Woman of Genesis returning for all to see. She believed the scholarship of a woman researcher and her son who studied Our Lady of Fatima’s message for 14 years. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1OoR70R2eY. She is so excited to tell about it.🙂 –Jane


  4. Cloe Roesler says:

    Hi Charlie–It’s about Pope Francis. I hope you can give me some insight about what’s going on right now, since the Synod. Credible sources are reporting that at the end of the synod he scolded the prelates who upheld the constant church teachings that some liberals were seriously trying to change. I love the Holy Father so this has made me sad and discomfited.


    • charliej373 says:

      I am going to link to a marvelous piece George Weigel wrote on what really happened at the Synod for first Things. Weigel is the marvelous biographer of St. John Paul. It is a long piece, but solid. He writes about the “three” synods – the one that actually happened, the “media” synod, and the “blogosphere” synod. I am going to write a longer piece about this. But start with this (which I will again link to in the longer piece) and you will have a better baswe of knowledge than you have gotten anywhere else.

      Liked by 3 people

  5. Interesting discussion. I had mentioned in a comment many posts ago that I once asked God to let me see myself the way he sees me, a kind of prelude to the “Warning” that has been foretold. Boy howdy! Did he answer that prayer! This is a profoundly humbling experience…no, that’s too mild. It is a devastating experience. Just a suggestion here but I really think that those who think they are preparing for the Storm are not preparing at all unless they are saying this same prayer, every day. If you aren’t, you are simply not going to be prepared emotionally or spiritually for what is coming. You aren’t. Trust me. This giant worldwide “reset” isn’t going to happen just to “other people” (you know, the “sinners”? ) It’s going to happen to YOU, no matter how good you think you are! If you fear to say this prayer, dont; I failed to mention the other side of the coin. Not only does he reveal your most terrible shortcomings, he reveals also your strengths, the things you have done that make the angels sing with joy, and he reveals how much he loves you. All together this makes you feel like a speck of disgusting mud…and at the same time like a glorious shooting star! It also obliterates any desire to ponder over, condemn, or inquire into the sins of others. Just my humble opinion here but I think this blog is not about Charlie. It’s about all of us (including Charlie). It’s about a bunch of sinners around the world who have seen self-inflicted disaster coming but who nevertheless have a predilection for hope. Justify that hope. Be brave. Say the prayer. Ask God to show you how he sees you, good and bad. Then make a good general confession based on what he reveals to you. You will find that afterwards you will stay at the back of the church whispering “Be merciful to me, O God, a sinner” with childlike trust. You will pray for your fellow sinners with uncurious detachment of judgement. You will know confident joy and thanksgiving for seeing the truth. You will enter the Storm at peace. The “Revelation of Conscience” is a gift of Divine Love! Ask for it! Don’t wait until it must be inflicted at the hour of death, as a final remedy. Make good use of it now.

    Liked by 10 people

    • SteveBC says:

      SingingFlowers, you are indeed brave to do what you did. I know the Storm will be tough, but I also know that I cannot conceive of how tough it will actually be.

      As for the occurrence of an Illumination for me personally, well, I know I have many imperfections. However, in the main I just set my jaw and assume I’ll make it through such an experience somehow, that like you I will find mud *and* stars and that that will be OK. If it happens, I’ll pick myself up afterwards, go back to taking the next right step, and work to bring its lessons into my life.

      However, I do not minimize the impact such an experience will have on me, and your cautions and your words contain excellent advice and not a little wisdom. I think I will add a prayer that says I am open to such an experience if God believes it will do me good to have it some time before we enter the Storm.

      Liked by 2 people

    • BD says:

      Singingflowers. What a remarkable experience. I will contemplate such a prayer but I have not yet done so. During the past few weeks I had several reminders of things that occurred in my past life, that shall we say, I am not so proud of today. What I found interesting was these fleeting thoughts of events were in some cases decades old, but the clarity was as if they only happened yesterday. It may be coincidence or not but one thing I am certain this is totally new for me. I know this pales in comparison to your experience but I wonder if anyone else has noticed the same lately? Thank you again for sharing your moving experience with us.

      Liked by 1 person

      • jlynnbyrd says:

        BD, I too have had fleeting recollections of past hurts, that I thought I had long forgiven and let go of. Apparently I have not! They are creeping back in while I am trying to sleep, pray in church, driving in my car, and other unsuspecting times. Some are repetitive, and I suddenly felt led to repent vs. forgive for anything I did on my part to cause others grief, whether I was fully aware of it or not.
        While praying 33 days to Morning Glory, I am learning anew just how the Holy Spirit lives in Mary much more than has been revealed to me before this grace! For this I am truly grateful and humbled. With that knowledge, my prayer is that I become a more holy and pure Temple of the Holy Spirit in a powerful way in light of Anthony’s article, God’s Blueprint for Your Role in the Kingdom of Divine Mercy and Sanctification to Come on Earth Through His Mother and the Holy Spirit.
        Having these moments is an open door to cleanse and purify my Temple for the sake of souls, is my hope.

        Liked by 2 people

        • BD says:

          jlynnbyrd. I like your terminology better than mine, fleeting recollections better describes these thoughts. There is no pattern and I immediately feel remorse or sorrow and they are gone. So far no repeats. I am talking about 5-clear and distinct instances, although I am sure many more could be brought up if God so desired. I intend to talk to my friend that is a Franciscan about it. “The world is nutty enough and then you have to call with me with this”, will be his standard response. After we laugh together for awhile, I am sure he will give me some guidance. Thanks for sharing. It is good to know others have had similar experiences.

          Liked by 4 people

      • He knows what we can and can’t stand. He reveals these things a little at a time…but he doesn’t go back over those things we have confessed already. He brings to mind the things we have buried, minimized, dismissed.

        Liked by 3 people

    • zeniazenia says:

      What a way to start the Year!! Thank you Singingflowers (I have asked that prayer–silence)
      The reset will be devastating but the present evil must end — Please Dear God !

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Amen, singingflowers. Thank you for your witness. Surrendering my sinfulness to God’s Light brough His response of taking me through a process of intermittent enlightening, burning, pruning, interspersed with all manner of gentle, tender care. It was remaining in serious sin that was most wretched, frightening, and anxiety-ridden for me with true happiness an illusion. Each confession was sweet medicine bringing peace and healing with sure and certain strengthening.

      Jesus says it best in St. Faustina’s Diary:
      Write, speak of My mercy. Tell souls where they are to look for solace; that is, in the Tribunal of Mercy. There the greatest miracles take place [and] are incessantly repeated. To avail oneself of this miracle, it is not necessary to go on a great pilgrimage or to carry out some external ceremony; it suffices to come with faith to the feet of My representative and to reveal to him one’s misery, and the miracle of Divine Mercy will be fully demonstrated. Were a soul like a decaying corpse so that from a human standpoint, there would be no [hope of ] restoration and everything would already be lost, it is not so with God. The miracle of Divine Mercy restores that soul in full. Oh, how miserable are those who do not take advantage of the miracle of God’s mercy! You will call out in vain, but it will be too late. (1448)

      Daughter, when you go to confession, to this fountain of My mercy, the Blood and Water which came forth from My Heart always flows down upon your soul and ennobles it. Every time you go to confession, immerse yourself in My mercy, with great trust, so that I may pour the bounty of My grace upon your soul. When you approach the confessional, know this, that I Myself am waiting there for you. I am only hidden by the priest, but I myself act in your soul. Here the misery of the soul meets the God of mercy. Tell souls that from this fount of mercy souls draw graces solely with the vessel of trust. If their trust is great, there is no limit to My generosity. The torrents of grace inundate humble souls. The proud remain always in poverty and misery, because My grace turns away from them to humble souls. (1602)

      Liked by 3 people

  6. Carol Kelley says:

    Very sweet pictures of grandaughter and you Charlie.


Leave a Reply

