A Few Updates

Just a note that I have added a few links – both to articles in the top bar and to outside sites at the right side permanent links. I have added the ‘Go Forth’ and ‘Concerning Islam’ articles to the top bar links for easy access. They are important.

On the right side, I have added a new category of “Books” that are particularly useful in these times. The first link there is to the French theologian, Peter Bannister’s, marvelous defense of the legitimacy of Pope Francis and erudite deconstruction of the errors of the rising anti-pope apostates. It is entitled “No False Prophet.”

Also, I have come upon a site that emphasizes the fundamentals of the faith with marvelous erudition and integrity. It should be a great resource for people wondering about specifics of doctrine and why. It is eminently readable and covers a lot of ground. It is called “The Fullness of Truth Apostolate.” It is published by Timothy O’Keefe, an obviously gifted Catholic layman.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Discernment, General, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

102 Responses to A Few Updates

  1. Thank you for that endorsement, Charlie. It was very kind of you.
    – Tim

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh gosh…I stumbled onto your site a few weeks ago. I have read some great stuff on it. It will be a great resource for those looking for fundamentals of the faith. Thank you so much for publishing it. You are doing great work!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Kati says:

        Tim,

        I very much agree with Charlie and after skimming, have bookmarked your website in my Catholic Blogs folder. Thank you…as I will be using some of your material with the Religious Education volunteers in my parish. A big THUMBS UP, Tim. 😉

        Like

  2. Arby says:

    Thank you, Mr. Charlie, praying for you. Love you man.

    Like

  3. little one in PA says:

    Thank you Charlie!!! I can only imagine the weight on your shoulders. Thank you for all that you do. I am so glad I found the NRS family. It helps me in all that I do. Thank you! You are always in my prayers.

    Like

  4. prayingflower says:

    Charlie. Do you ever sleep?

    Like

  5. Read Bannisters ebook. Well done and thank u for suggesting it God bless Lawrence Canada

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Liked by 2 people

  6. beverly johnson says:

    Thank you, just a note, The Vatican is publishing a Biography of Luisa Picarretta, also for your info., Luisa,s Confessor is St. Annible DiFrancia.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Patrick of South Dakota says:

    Hi Charlie,

    This is unrelated to your post. But I wanted to talk about our President’s speech.

    It was painful and somewhat sad to watch a man self-destruct publicly. He’s in over his head and sinking fast. It was clear he was pressured (from within or without) to give the address when he obviously did not want to. His eyes were often half-closed, as if hoping this would all just go away. He looked tired and haggard (compared with his “We got Bin Laden” address in 2011). He was passionless. He was misleading and tried to redirect our attention. His unyielding defensiveness, political posturing, and unwillingness to adjust strategy demonstrate that he’s incapable of keeping his charge. He sounded like a university professor with hints of being a scolding parent — talking down to a country that, frankly, needed to be coddled.

    He is a man trapped by his own political rhetoric and promises. He obviously knows the true nature of this Muslim threat, in addition to innumerable other national security threats we face — as his grey hair and sullen features will attest. But he will not deviate from his plans because HE is more important than US — U.S.

    Of course, the disintegration of his office will likewise mean a world of pain for all of us.

    Perhaps because of what you had said, Charlie, about what will be the inevitable demise of his already disgraceful presidency, his flaws as a leader seemed even more obvious last night — immaturity, profound inexperience, unshakeable arrogance — traits that have no place in this war on radical Islam. Instead, we celebrated the mere fact that he verbalized what San Bernardino actually was, a terrorist attack.

    How curious that I found myself saying that it is God’s Will that Barack be in that incredible position of power, that he is who he is and does what he has to do. Obama is, unwittingly, doing God’s will. Tough and surreal to witness, but so it is.

    To you and your wonderful group of faithful, please pray for me, as I pray for you. Thanks.

    Patrick

    Liked by 9 people

    • Patrick of South Dakota says:

      I don’t know if this is a secret or not, Charlie, but can we expect progressively more and more oval office addresses from Mr. Obama as next year marches on? Just wondering : )

      Like

    • Diane says:

      Very well put – you are right it is difficult to witness the failure of a man as it is happening. God Bless you all.Love. I do.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Dan Lynch says:

      Not God’s perfect will, but perhaps his permissive will. May he come to know and love the one true God!

      Liked by 1 person

    • ColleenW says:

      I read an article today that the President had a meeting with all his security advisors and how he wants them to down play the terrorism angle. According to the article the FBI is not happy. They are afraid they are losing all credibility with the public but they don’t want to cross the white house, which is ham stringing their investigation. (For instance investigating the mosque they belong to).

      Then you have the Attorney General announcing they will prosecute anti Muslim sentiment. Really!!! That’s what you have to say right after a terror attack!

      Liked by 2 people

  8. LukeMichael says:

    Off topic but a good brief defense of Pope Francis on First Things today.

    http://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2015/12/taking-aim-at-francis

    Liked by 3 people

  9. Beckita says:

    God’s Grace continues to flow and we must continue to pray, not only for conversion but for the protection of our new converts: http://www1.cbn.com/cbnnews/insideisrael/2015/December/Divine-Encounters-Breaks-Out-in-Iran

    Liked by 6 people

  10. CrewDog says:

    This Sheriff’s Video Statement is a Big “SIGN” Gang!
    He is one of several Sheriff’s and Police Chief’s messages, of late, that should be a Wake-Up Call to all here. The “Between the Lines” message should be very clear:
    1) They know a bunch of nasty stuff that we don’t!
    2) They are admitting that they simply Do Not have the ability to defend You, Me and those we care about in “These Days” due to Political Correctness and The Thin Blue Line getting thinner!
    3) At least in the USA, Our Founding Fathers had the knowledge and vision to see what would, surely, come one day! They demanded that The Constitution be amended before ratification with The Bill of Rights and it’s 10 Amendments. Number Two being the ability for Citizens to be armed!

    “VIDEO: Enough Is Enough, It’s Time To Say What Needs To Be Said To Protect Our Citizens”
    http://spacecoastdaily.com/2015/12/video-enough-is-enough-its-time-to-say-what-needs-to-be-said-to-protect-our-citizens/

    GOD GUIDE AND SAVE ALL HERE!!

    PS: Does anyone else here see the Irony in the fact that the Political Party/people that demand “Gun Control” and claim their purpose is to save lives are the very same people that are A-OK with 55 MILLION Plus Abortions and “OWN” every miserable crime, drugs, misery and blood drenched Urban S***Hole in The USA!!??
    Oh!! … and the same Folks who Hoot-n-Holler about Diversity … unless you are PRO – Life, Traditional Family, Guns or Christianity ;-(

    Liked by 7 people

    • Annie SH says:

      Crew Dog, thanks for sharing. That’s my sheriff in the video. I’m thankful for his honesty and forthrightness. We need more men like him!

      Liked by 3 people

    • Little Bee says:

      Thanks, Crew Dog, for the link. His safety advice, given near the end, is good knowledge to have.

      Like

    • Mick says:

      Irony duly noted, CrewDog. It seems as if the whole raison d’etre of Progressives is to create increasingly horrible problems, for which they blame the rest of us, and which can only be “solved” by more Progressive hogwash. I hate the thought of people suffering during the Storm; but, dear Lord, bring it already!

      Liked by 3 people

  11. Kati says:

    Charlie,

    I thought you might like to see this article that confirms a good bit of what you said a while back regarding Pope Francis. It also includes information about the plot by four persons in Italy and Kosovo to assassinate him. It was published today on First Things:

    http://www.firstthings.com/web-exclusives/2015/12/taking-aim-at-francis

    Thanks again for all you do as Sherpa. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Lilia Florentiae says:

    Off topic. Charlie, what a strange and perhaps (?) coincidental event that this year, La Scala Theater in Milan will open the season with the rarely staged opera “Giovanna d’Arco” by Giuseppe Verdi. La Scala Theater always open the season on December 7th, on the Feast day of Sant’Ambrogio, who is the patron saint of Milan.
    (This was the only article I found in English:
    http://www.newser.com/article/39d0de8c3df546df8a0ed8950827cde6/la-scalas-gala-premiere-of-giovanna-darco-takes-on-new-resonance-after-paris-attacks.html)

    Tomorrow, December the 8th, the Immaculate Conception, is a festivity in Italy, so schools and offices are closed. Happy Immaculate Conception Feast to everyone! It’s traditional to make presepio on Dec 8th. Unfortunately, also here, some progressives wants to abolish presepio in public places and schools. But in my son primary school, (thanks God!) a large presepio has been built.
    Thanks for everything, dear Charlie.
    Lilia from Italy

    Liked by 4 people

  13. Lyn Barnett says:

    Thank you Charlie. Hey, just wondering if you have ever read Abraham Lincoln’s “Proclamation Appointing a National Fast Day” on April 30, 1863, exactly when the Union was suffering most during the Civil War. http://www.abrahamlincolnonline.org/lincoln/speeches/fast.htm This date was also the start of the Battle of Chancellorsville, another Union defeat, but like the battle of the Coral Sea in World War II, is now viewed as the true turning point of the War by some historians. It was during this battle that Stonewall Jackson’s troops accidentally shot him (he lost an arm and died soon after from pneumonia). This left Lee to lead the Southern cause alone and lifted Union spirits. The high water mark for the south was reached only two months later during the Battle for Gettysburg. I wish we had a president today who would make such a well stated appeal to our Lord on behalf of all Americans and the troubles we have brought upon ourselves. Maybe this can be done as a lay movement. Thanks again!

    Like

  14. LJD says:

    Charlie,
    Can I ask you to briefly comment on something that has been troubling me lately. I am asking here instead of privately because I suspect others here may feel the same.
    I have been really bothered this holiday season by what I can only call the demonic distractions and disorientations. What I mean is the sense that I can barely scrape together some genuine Christmas seasonal joy because of the in your face consumerism and non stop distractions from a never ending to do list! I know it’s been materialistic and become for all intents and purposes a pagan holiday about ‘me’ and what will I get from Santa. It’s been that way for a long time generally speaking, but I feel so swept away by the undercurrent that it takes all the energy I can muster to just sit and be. To reflect on the real beautiful significance of the Holy Day of Christmas. I just feel that day to day life has just filled my time all day long and consumed my energy that I am getting lost in this world. I used to balance out those in my home and family who aren’t really believers, but I have no energy to fight it and be that example. I hope this makes sense.
    What can I and any others in my position do? I pray for the crash simply because this instant gratification and ‘I gotta have it all’ mentality is killing those I love dearly and I am not being much of a sign of hope. I feel like I am treading water, and that’s on a good day. Will this be the last gorge on our desires Christmas? Will we be back to a truly Christian holiday season next year? (Lie to me Charlie, haha)

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Well, LJD, I understand. I was with some people at Christmas some years back that were intensely consumer-driven. Usually, I actually enjoy some of the commercialization, as it can truly be a culture-wide celebration…and I so love Christmas that it doesn’t faze me. I see with the eyes of a child at Christmas. But I was really uncomfortable with those folks who were so intensely consumer-driven…so much so that one of the women noted that I obviously did not like their focus on shopping. Around Thanksgiving, I like to find those 24-hour Christmas song stations. This year, I was deeply disturbed when I realized that the stations I heard in Chicago, Milwaukee, Western Illinois and Denver ALL focus on more secular holiday songs and shy away from true Christian Christmas hymns. So I got a few more CDs that do.

      I will not let anything destroy the joy of Christmas for me, so I just adjust and pretend to be oblivious to most of the lame stuff around me. I have been notably dazzled by Christmas since very small…my family sometimes calls me Mr. Christmas. The sights, the smells, the music, the lights,…oh how glorious it all is. My unbridled enthusiasm has, on a few occasions, sparked the same in former Christmas grinches. Just hold on to the joy – knowing that a true, joyful, exuberant celebration of Christmas will rise throughout the world again. We are in darkness, but must be guardians of the light which comes from that blessed manger.

      Liked by 11 people

      • CHADPRO123 says:

        Apropos of commercialization, I’ve been wanting to ask:

        Charlie, what wrist watch do you wear?

        I am a huge watch buff (i can talk about watches the way some people talk about wine) but i can’t help but notice that in most of your pictures and in many of your videos you wear your watch “nurse style” with the watch face resting on the underside of your wrist and the buckle on top.

        Little details like this obsess me with people that i see or read regularly. 3 brief examples: I used to like Tag Heuer until i learned that Obama wore a Tag. I never used to like the Cartier Tank until i found out that Truman Capote wore one (and he is the author of one of my favorite books: In Cold Blood). Lastly, Pope Benedict XVI wore the coolest watch out of all the Popes in my lifetime (b. 1989). A gold Erhard Junghans. Google it. But be warned, you may need a drool cup. If Pope Francis wore this watch he might actually expire. It costs btwn $5,000 and $7,000. Not exactly the type of thing a “Pope for the Poor” would wear.

        An educated guess: Judging by the fact that you once traversed the United States on foot i am going to guess that it is comfortable: leather strap or some sort of canvas. It is almost certainly quartz and not automatic. It has a white face. It was purchased by you for tactical/practical purposes and not received as a gift. It is a Timex Expedition.

        So, watchyougot?

        Liked by 1 person

        • charliej373 says:

          Holy Cow…it is a Timex Expedition…about $30 bucks at Walmart. When I was young I couldn’t wear a watch. I had too much electrical energy in my body and it would stop them within an hour or two. That finally mellowed about 10 years ago. I still didn’t wear a watch because I just had never got in the habit of it. Then I got one on the pilgrimage for obvious reasons. Cheap and comfortable does it for me.

          Like

        • prayingflower says:

          Amazing!

          Like

      • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

        Charlie,
        I copied your two paragraph answer and sent it to my daughter, who loves all things celebratory and usually turns on Christmas music in October for her own pleasure. I have tried to gently exhort her to celebrate more liturgically, but she just can’t help herself! Based on what you wrote, though, I thought she should know she has a kindred spirit in you! And, I have to admit, I do enjoy the outside Christmas lights on homes even in Advent, because when it gets dark so early, those lights are cheery. 🙂 Plus, as you say, even in its ignorance, the world is celebrating our Savior’s birth.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Snowy Owl says:

        Charlie, I love this comment of yours! I was the same as a child, I lived for Christmas! I still love it and for the past few years it’s been a little harder to celebrate… but this year I am going all out! I can’t help myself! Christmas is the joy of my life! 😀

        Like

      • barb129 says:

        I have always loved Christmas too! I am so looking forward to those future joyful Christmas celebrations!!

        Like

      • janet333 says:

        “I will not let anything destroy the joy of Christmas for me, so I just adjust and pretend to be oblivious to most of the lame stuff around me. I have been notably dazzled by Christmas since very small…my family sometimes calls me Mr. Christmas. The sights, the smells, the music, the lights,…oh how glorious it all is.”

        Ha ha Charlie that is me…I am Mrs Christmas! I love it all! Its such a shame though to find that the majority of the Christmas films are mainly about Santa and not a mention of Jesus. 😦

        Liked by 3 people

        • charliej373 says:

          That has gotten so weird. I am eager for the Rescue, in part, because artists in all walks, including movies, will unselfconsciously focus on the sublime story of Our Lord’s Nativity again.

          Liked by 5 people

        • Mick says:

          Regarding Christmas movies, Janet, one notable exception is the 2006 made-for-television movie called The Christmas Card. It’s a Hallmark movie, and it is my favorite Christmas movie ever. There’s not a single mention of Santa; but there’s family prayer, two church scenes, a mention of Jesus and the Holy Family, and several Christmas carols (religious ones). If you get a chance, it would be a great movie to watch (I think Netflix and Amazon have it available for rent).

          Liked by 2 people

  15. dianebelv says:

    Hi Charlie! I am new here and happy to be here. I was told about your blog a month or two ago and have been busy reading the summary for newcomers and then going back to the beginning and reading your messages from then up to now. I love the people who come here and want to do the right thing, take the next right step. I pray that I might be able to do those things too. I started out scared when I first read your blog and now find myself taking deep breaths, talking to God more often and trying to be the best person I can be each day as it comes. I am thankful for you and for all those who come here to be a help to each other. God Bless You.

    Liked by 12 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Welcome, Diane. Glad to have you here.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      It’s great to have you with us, Diane!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Kim says:

      Diane, I would also like to read Charlie’s posts from the beginning but I’m not sure where to start. I’ve just been entering dates into the search bar and reading from there. How do I find the beginning of Charlie’s posts?

      Like

      • “I would also like to read Charlie’s posts from the beginning but I’m not sure where to start. I’ve just been entering dates into the search bar and reading from there. How do I find the beginning of Charlie’s posts?”

        I’ve got Charlie’s posts listed by title in chronological order in this thread of the “Our Blessed Hope” forum: http://blessedhope.yuku.com/topic/103/12-CHARLES-JOHNSTON-BLOG-INDEX-VIDEOS-Catholic-Prophecy

        Liked by 5 people

        • pattyami says:

          Linda, I have wanted to thank you for a long time for your wonderful Blessed Hope Forum. You have put a tremendous amount of work and time in to it and we are very thankful! Patty

          Liked by 4 people

          • prayingflower says:

            I couldn’t agree more, pattyami. It was lindasummerfield’s blog that first drew me here and I am so grateful for that. Yes, a LOT of (sacrificial) work, indeed! Thank you, linda!

            Liked by 3 people

      • Petra says:

        Hi Kim. For anyone looking for the beginning of Charlie’s posts, simply look along the right side of his blog page until you see the word *Archives* with a drop down box under it. You can selecte the month and year. It begins at January 2014. (It should automatically load the month’s posts, but if it doesn’t, hit *Enter.*)
        The posts appear in reverse calendar order, with the *newest* on top. So scroll down the page to select earlier posts.
        Enjoy, and be filled.
        God bless.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Beckita says:

        Kim, you can find the “archives” bar on the right side of this page, just under the most recent comments posted. Here’s a link to get you started, the beginning piece: https://charliej373.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/6/ God bless you!

        Liked by 2 people

      • dianebelv says:

        Hi Kim! I’m sorry it’s taken me so long to reply to your comment. I see the other great people here have given you ideas as to how to start from the very beginning. For me, after I read the summary for newcomers, I then went to the link in the top row of the blog entitled “contact/faq’s/help and as I was reading that, it suggested that everybody start at the beginning and posted a link to the first message Charlie ever posted. So that’s how I happened to find the beginning! :o) Peace!

        Liked by 1 person

    • victura98 says:

      dianebelv…you’re not alone! I too just finished reading the entire blog, having begun back in September. Latecomers like us are warmly welcomed here. 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

    • milliac says:

      I’m also new here, and this my first comment. I also started with the archives, and am up to December 2014. I’m am trying to read all comments and the current posts.

      I love the group you all have here. I’m in a unique situation, as my husband and in-laws that live with us are Hindu. Our entire social circle and neighbors are mostly Sikh or Hindus, so I really appreciate having this Catholic fellowship, especially as the events are unfolding. I pray God give me the strength to lead them, while remaining strong in my faith.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

        milliac,
        Wow! May God give you rich blessings and wisdom in your situation. You are truly a Christian light shining amongst those who do not know yet Christ’s burning love for them. What an opportunity, and yet what a challenge! I have longed prayed for my husband and his family to join me in my Catholic Faith (for almost 30 years now) so I know the long haul it can be. What a beautiful mission, though, you have!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Beckita says:

        Welcome, Welcome, Milliac! I’m so happy you’re taking time to read the comments as well. So worth it, isn’t it? Praying for you and your witness to your family, friends and neighbors. God bless you in your very special situation!

        Liked by 2 people

      • dianebelv says:

        Welcome to you too milliac. I just posted my first comment shortly before yours. You have a unique situation at home for sure. I’m glad you found Charlie’s blog too. May God be with us all in our journey.

        Liked by 2 people

      • prayingflower says:

        Welcome, milliac. I will pray for your and your family. Stay close to Our Lady’s Immaculate Heart.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Mick says:

        Welcome, Milliac! Great to have you. You said, “I love the group you akk have here.” Well, you’re part of the family now; so you should change that to “I love the group WE have here.” 🙂

        God bless you and your family. I will be praying for all of you.

        Liked by 4 people

    • Mick says:

      Welcome, Dianebelv. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  16. zeniazenia says:

    Dear Charlie and all NRS — Happy Feast Day! Happy Year of Mercy! Please spread the Mercy message! Let them say, ‘ When they found betrayal– they sought Mercy, they found healing! ‘n= Our world needs healing. Jesus gave us the authority to use His power of healing.
    In thy name, Mother, let us pray for Mercy (which looks like justice sometimes. and looks like healing other times) I am so happy to be back- immersed in your merciful thoughts and prayers.–Zenia Jane

    Liked by 6 people

    • Beckita says:

      Indeed, Zenia-Jane. I awakened in the night and turned on EWTN’s coverage at the Vatican and just luxuriated in the richness of God’s Mercy proclaimed from our Home in Rome, knowing this isn’t just for Roman Catholics. This Extraordinary Jubilee Year of Mercy is for ALL God’s children. Welcome in. Welcome home to all your churches, Catholic, non-Catholic, whatever and wherever the One True God has made a home for you on this earth. Soon enough, He’ll unite as one flock under one shepherd; just come home!

      May each and every one respond to the torrents of God’s Grace now flooding the earth and follow the prompting of their hearts to repent, to return, to newly find God, Who is, in extraordinary ways, placing His Holy Finger in every human heart to touch and heal the tender tissue of old festering wounds, to unshackle whatever binds, ready to extinguish shame and fear, whispering in myriad ways that He’s been waiting and waiting for so sooooo long He no longer stands at the door but runs, taking a thousand steps for every baby step one might take toward Him, to welcome each and every soul to His Arms which only ache from years of extension, yearning to forgive, forgive, forgive as NO sin is too much for His Love on the Cross.

      I was also able to see the little crowd gathered round the statue of Our Lady as Pope Francis prayed aloud what he had written for this occasion of appealing to the Mother of Mercy. I cried like a baby, for doesn’t every child of God need our Mother of Mercy?

      Blessed be God forever! Ave Maria eternally!

      Liked by 6 people

      • luvmercy5775 says:

        CJCUC | Jewish-Christian relations & Bible study center

        Beckita, Copied above is the link you and others requested for the “Orthodox Rabbinic Statement on Christianity” we recently discussed. If the link doesn’t copy properly — a problem I often run into with Word Press — just google CJCUC and it will come up.
        Truly an historic statement that should bring hope to all. “For if their rejection is the reconciliation of the world, what will their acceptance be but life from the dead.” Romans 11:15 To God be the glory. His mercy endures forever! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

      • Beckita says:

        Our Beloved Papa expresses the focus of our Jubilee Year of Mercy far beyond my capacity to do so. Enjoy, if you haven’t yet seen this!

        Liked by 2 people

      • dianebelv says:

        wow. that was beautiful Beckita!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      This morning, I saw two Year of Mercy posts at other blogs. They are by two of our very own: Daniel O’Connor and Janet Klasson. Both of the posts are excellent:

      http://dsdoconnor.com/2015/12/08/and-so-it-begins/

      https://pelianitoblog.wordpress.com/

      Liked by 3 people

  17. jayman92 says:

    At mass this morning, during the reading of the Gospel, at the part in which Our Blessed Mother was visited by the Archangel St. Gabriel, did anyone else think, “I know a guy who has had Earthly conversations with that Angel?”

    Does it ever blow your mind, Charlie, that you are blessed to have visitations and interact (in a more traditional, temporal sense) with some of the very individuals told about in Holy Scripture?

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Sometimes…but having long known them, I am as used to it as I suppose anyone can be in this mortal plane. What I most worry about is disappointing or failing them.

      Liked by 8 people

      • LukeMichael says:

        Yes I thought of Charlie and Gabriel this am as well but I must admit that the Church Triumphant seems a little closer to us all the time.

        Liked by 4 people

      • Dolly says:

        When I first read about St. Gemma Galgani and the relationship she had with her Guardian Angel, I was taken back to learn that her angel would let her know when he was displeased with her and even reprimand her for seemingly small things. I grew up a little that day. My guardian angel was who I called on for help with various things and I thought that was something to be pleased about because at least I acknowledged I had a guardian angel! The thought of being displeasing to him and even reprimanded by him blew me away. That didn’t fit the image, the childish image I had of a guardian angel. I have a clearer picture now, thanks to St. Gemma and what you have written about your relationship with your visitors. They are serious about their job and thank goodness they are!

        Liked by 5 people

        • Snowy Owl says:

          Dolly, amen to that! When I first realized my Guardian Angel was always with me and really thought that thru, I think spent a few months apologizing to him for all my bad behavior, I still do! My poor angel! They must really love us, they are so long-suffering and faithful. 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      It IS amazing, jayman. Equally amazing to me is while Charlie, by God’s design, has his unique and special relationship with his Heavenly visitors, each of us has access to developing a relationship with each of those visitors as well, albeit in a much more ordinary way. It is heartwarming to see so many lifting you in prayer, Charlie. We are blessed!

      Liked by 2 people

  18. Bob says:

    An article about conversions in Iran. I have read too that many Muslims have dreams which lead to their conversion:
    http://www1.cbn.com/cbnnews/insideisrael/2015/December/Divine-Encounters-Breaks-Out-in-Iran

    Liked by 2 people

  19. teddy says:

    Yes I do too, Jaymann92, and I often thank God He has sent us Charlie. No better dude for the job.

    Liked by 4 people

  20. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Charlie,
    I think you have said this will be a growing time of confusion, and I admit to feeling it. I read today how the Archbishop of Indianapolis “welcomed” a Syrian refugee family against the express wishes of the Governor of the state of Indiana, who asked Catholic Charities to refrain from resettlements from that area of the world until a better vetting process is in place.

    Charlie, I love my Catholic faith…love it, all of it. This action pains me so much, though, to see an archbishop basically defy the request of the governor, who does have a duty and responsibility to protect the citizens of the state. What (for a thought exercise) if this family turns out to be terrorists? (For the record, I doubt it.The archbishop’s statement is they have been heavily vetted,etc). Still, what if they would be? Then, you have the successor of the apostles having put his fellow citizens in harm’s way and possibly mortal danger. Is it really so hard to just take a pause from bringing in more immigrants until we get a handle on the process? If this family is Christian, I would feel alot better about the situation, but the archbishop does not say, which leads to think they may not be. Actually, I have long been grieved and prayed over the plight of persecuted Christians, but given the governor’s hesitation and the archbishop’s silence, I doubt they are Christians. Regardless, the archbishop’s action in denying a legitimate request from a duly elected governor is disturbing to me.

    I have appreciated your insight into the refugee/immigration issue and that you have not just said our Christian faith demands us to take all who want to come here without making sure of the safety and viability of our country. So, to see an archbishop go against the request of the governor in an area of, it seems to me, prudential judgment (ie, this is not an objectively moral question like abortion, for which an archbishop’s competency requires him to speak out) is, well, deeply disturbing. I don’t know how to defend such an action to my conservative circle. This is not an internecine issue, such as, for example, a given action by Pope Francis; this affects the very real safety of all citizens (like those recently massacred in San Bernadino), whether Catholic or not.

    I don’t know if I have expressed this well, and if I am off-base, and whether you would want to address the issue at all, or even publish this comment (feel free not to). No matter what, thanks for allowing me to express my concerns and I do appreciate feedback. I want to be a good witness for Christ and my Catholic faith.

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      You have expressed it well. When Bishops make simply politically defiant statements or acts, they undermine the whole infrastructure. Something such as this could have been resolved by working with Bishops in the Middle East to see this family settled and given refuge until it was appropriate here. It would not have been as showy – and would have required some humility and due respect for the legitimate prudential authority of another, but it could have been quietly effective.

      One of the great evils of this generation is the number of laymen who, ignoring their own duties, fancy themselves Bishops and the number of Bishops who, neglecting their duties, fancy themselves lay officials. God is not pleased – and will set things to right. So all who do that had best enjoy their admiring chorus in the establishment media – for they have their reward.

      Liked by 6 people

      • YongDuk says:

        Charlie, I am going to make a wonderful unpopular comment. Or just a true one.

        I came home tonight and I thought how wonderful it would be to say “Mass”/”Divine Liturgy” in one of the Rites in which I am “bi-ritualized”.

        I got out my newly approved liturgical texts (within the last–hold on, let me be accurate for once… well, let’s be non-biographical and say “within the last five years.”) and I sat down trying to find today’s Feast, which is a universal Feast of the [Entire] Catholic Church, East and West. I couldn’t. I checked the Indices in all the languages. Nothing. I had to go back to an archaic “Book of Feasts” from a couple decades ago.

        I scratched my head honestly. And honestly, I thought of you as this Mass was to be a Devotional Mass I was going to pray for you (and I still shall).

        I was tempted to post my first inspiration: This explains why these Churches [sui iuris] are in trouble in the Middle East. It doesn’t justify our lack of help, but, honestly, it explains a lot! And I mean that with absolute humility and yet as I have said… there is something about being given Authority and a Sword of Authority. And yet, Charlie, I am sad for them.

        So, I will say it: Your so-called Bishops in the Middle East … ugh. No. Please pray for them.

        They betrayed their folks. And if any were reading this, I would break being non-biographical and write-in-the-sand.

        Mercy! But they have betrayed their folks in their pride of being “sui iuris”.

        Recall the Council of Florence and you might have a glimmer.

        Pride and pride and pride.

        If this is happening to them; what will happen to the United States of America who is placed under the Patronage of the Immaculate Conception?

        Perhaps, your beautiful “remnant” in love with Her has made a difference and mitigated a lot; whereas, the Bishops of my Beloved East have spurned grace upon grace through the Woman Clothed with the Sun, Immaculate and Crushing the head of Satan from the First Moment of Her Conception and their faithful have been complacent in pride.

        Ugh.

        I wish I knew less than what I know…

        pray for me.

        I shall sing this Liturgy for you and the Anaphora of St John Chrysostom!

        In the Immaculata,
        + a wishful nobody

        Liked by 1 person

      • Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

        Thanks, Charlie, for taking the time to hearten me.

        Like

  21. Nancy says:

    Just watched the opening of the Holy Door of Mercy at St. Peter’s.–what a year of grace and mercy we have ahead of us. Just a small problem for me–does anyone know how I can get the prayer that Pope Francis said just before he opened the door. It is so beautiful.

    Like

Leave a Reply

