Pray for St. Louis

(A piece here from our friend, Dan Lynch, offering prayer and calling for the intercession of Our Lady of Guadalupe on behalf of the people of St. Louis. I lived there for five years on the Illinois side of the river, so I’m praying for my friends and neighbors – CJ)

gateway-arch.jpg

By Dan Lynch

There are 17 million people nationwide living in areas where there are flood warnings and thousands of homes in Missouri and Illinois threatened by floods. At least 20 deaths were blamed on flooding.

Missouri Governor Jay Nixon said, “We’ve never seen water this high. At its peak, the Mississippi should be at its highest level ever, beating the highest level of the Great Flood of 1993.”

St. Louis’ Great Flood Prematurely Receded

I spoke at the St. Louis Eucharistic Congress during the height of the Great Flood of 1993. In my talk, I explained how Our Lady of Guadalupe interceded to save Mexico City from a horrible flood in 1634. The flood had already killed 30,000 people. The desperate citizens, imploring Our Lady’s help, carried the Miraculous Image through the knee-high floodwaters from the Basilica to the Cathedral in Mexico City. This was the first and only time such a procession has taken place. The flood miraculously ended.

After my talk, Congress participants asked me to imitate that procession and take the Missionary Image to the flooding Mississippi River. This river was originally named the River of the Immaculate Conception. Our Lady of Guadalupe is a representation of the Immaculate Conception.

I made an announcement of a spontaneous procession with the Missionary Image to the River. About 200 people joined me and we processed from the Cathedral of St. Louis to the great arch of the Gateway to the West and down the flood-swept steps to the riverside.

Hundreds of on-lookers joined us there and I sprinkled holy water into the river and prayed in the pouring rain for an abatement of the flood, the salvation of the dead and the healing of the sufferers. We concluded by singing “America the Beautiful.”

As we processed back, the rain suddenly stopped as we sang the very last note of the ‘Hail Holy Queen’ and the cathedral bells unexpectedly rang out jubilantly at 5:20 p.m.!  As we placed the Image into a van, a large flock of swallows suddenly swooped over and circled continuously overhead. There were no other birds seen anywhere else. The next day, the floodwaters began to recede on the day before the predicted high crest. The high crest never came. The Congress organizers credited this to Our Lady of Guadalupe.

Yesterday, I received an email from Sara Connelly Zervos who was in that procession. She reminded me of the grace of the premature receding of the Great Flood. She wrote,

“In 1993, you spoke at the St. Louis Eucharistic Congress with the Missionary Image of Our Lady of Guadalupe during the height of the Great Flood. Of 1993. The forecast for that weekend was for the flood stage to go to its highest level in history, and by Tuesday it did.  Forty-nine point six (49.6) feet above flood stage, which was expected to inundate St. Louis.

“On Sunday, the small group at the Congress, led by the Missionary Image of Our Lady of Guadalupe, processed around the St. Louis Arch, praying for God’s mercy through the Mother of God.

“The next day, the levees broke north of St. Louis and south of St. Louis, but St. Louis was saved. I was privileged by God to be there and witness this miracle. Please notify people of this miracle on your email/website and ask people to pray again for St. Louis and for all of those along the Mississippi River.

Thank you!”

So, let us pray through the intercession of Our Lady of Guadalupe for an abatement of this flooding, for the protection of the people and the homes and businesses, the healing of the sufferers and the salvation of the dead. Let us pray our National Conference of Catholic Bishops’ Novena to Our Lady of Guadalupe, Queen and Mother of America

 

dan lynchDan Lynch is the Director of Dan Lynch Apostolates promoting devotion to Our Lady of Guadalupe, Jesus King of All Nations, Our Lady of America and St. John Paul II. He is an author, public speaker and a former judge and lawyer in Vermont. He has appeared many times on radio and television and has spoken at conferences throughout the world. You may learn more about Dan here.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Call for Help, Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to Pray for St. Louis

  1. Teri fuentes says:

    Wouldn’t it be wonderful if a movie was made of the miracle. It may get people back to worshiping.

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Barb M. says:

    I was a life long St. Louis resident until a decade ago. And I was at the Marian Conference in 1993. And the events happened as Mr. Lynch described with one exception. There was also a tornado that day. I just drove in from St. Louis this evening, and the flood is worse in areas than even in the great flood of 1993. Please keep the St. Louis Metropolitan area and surrounding communities in prayer. God bless you all, Barb

    Liked by 4 people

  3. Mary Anne says:

    In my 52 years in south St Louis county, I have never seen it like this. All major highways…55, 141, 44…and all other roads crossing the Meramec river are either shut down completely or have only one lane open. We are getting by, but boy, things are very different. No New Years celebration as traffic is completely congested. My sister can’t even get to St Louis county from Jefferson county!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Patrick of South Dakota says:

    I will pray to Our Lady of Tepeyac asking her to protect those threatened by floods.

    I ask you to pray for a peaceful death of a friend named Dennis in Wisconsin, and also the repose of the soul of Wayne Rogers (Trapper John from M*A*S*H).

    Thank you.

    Liked by 6 people

  5. SteveBC says:

    May everyone’s 2016 be filled with marvels and miracles.

    Happy New Year to all here. 🙂

    Liked by 11 people

    • zeniazenia says:

      Thank You Steve, May you be open to God’s Love and protection always! Happy New Year to you and all checking in at TNRS.:)

      Liked by 3 people

    • Karen says:

      Oh yes Steve – may it be especially so in this Jubilee year but oh how so sad that people do not know or believe in the power of Blessed Mother’s intercession in times of threatened devastation as in our ordinary daily life. Please everyone let us pray the prayer requested by Our Lady of All Nations and petition the Holy Father for the proclamation of the Fifth Marian Dogma. Praise God for the mission of both Charlie and Judge Dan. Honestly, where would we be without the fervour of these two men and those of their ilk – our brothers and sisters in the Lord who operate in the public eye? May the Lord bless them and the Holy Angels protect them and may the rest of us truly rally behind them in 2016. Every grace is being provided us for the transformation of this world – poor, wounded humans that we are – it is not just our sinfulness that limits us but our imagination, or lack of same. God has glorious things in mind for the restoration of His Creation and oh the gentleness and humility of His Plan that seeks to involve the frailty of His beloved prodigal children! Even as I think and write this prayer on the first day of yet another new year, here am I – a scared little worm who believes in nothing else but His Love and Desire for us, and His Power to bring it all about through the inestimable Gift of the Holy and Divine Will. Come Holy Spirit, come by means of the powerful intercession of the Immaculate Heart of Mary, Thy well-beloved Spouse. Let not pride arise – the enemy of His Beautiful Plan and the obstacle of our Next Right Step. Guide us straight and true, O Star of the New Evangelisation!

      Liked by 3 people

      • Diane says:

        What a beautiful prayer – I am going to repeat it often – says it very sublimely – Love. I do.

        Liked by 2 people

      • Beckita says:

        Beautifully written, Karen, and Amen! Been gratefully praying the prayer given by OLAN for years now… we carry on, in prayer and in living the Way of TDL as we await God’s Perfect Ways and Timing for the unfolding of so much before us, one blessed step at a time.

        Liked by 3 people

    • Karen says:

      Thank you Steve. May I leave this link from the Australian Bishops wherein they regale the one who obtains marvels and miracles for us: http://www.evangeliseaustralia.com/from-the-bishops/our-lady-star-of-the-new-evangelisation-and-living-example-of-the-kerygma.html

      Liked by 2 people

  6. jlynnbyrd says:

    Back at ya SteveBC and to all!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      (Sorry Charlie. I posted a link without a comment. How DO you do it, Centurion?)
      There is a caption to the link: AYE MATIES! BLESSED, HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL!

      Liked by 2 people

      • charliej373 says:

        Meh…you’re one of the key team with this website helping to handle mail and compiling transcricts, so you have a little latitude. On the other hand, the top lieutenants DO need to set a good example.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Beckita says:

          Amen and LOL from the north to the south of these Rocky Mountains!!!
          I’m trying, Charlie, please pray for me.

          Liked by 2 people

        • Beckita says:

          And PS Charlie: All you need do is access the link and you’ll forgive me straight away when your eyes feast on the adorable fellow posted on your domain! Er… maybe you shouldn’t think feast, knowing your affection for these critters, rather think protector possibilities on board the Barque of Peter!

          Liked by 1 person

      • Mick says:

        Awesome picture, Beckita! I’m so glad that you (on this thread) and SteveBC (on another thread) figured out how put up Pirate Squirrel. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • victura98 says:

      I too have tried to post a photo, and I have no idea how these other miracle-workers do it.

      Liked by 5 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      I love that and salute you Lieutenant Beckita – five stars!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beckita says:

        Testing, Jlynn… This is the real me lieutenant. Usually my halo’s slipping, now it seems there’s a missing star. https://edc2.healthtap.com/ht-staging/user_answer/avatars/479972/large/open-uri20121106-379-nwyh9v.jpeg

        Liked by 2 people

        • SteveBC says:

          Beckita, it looks as if you have placed the URL for the pic on the same line as your descriptive text. I think it needs to be on its own separate line. Put another test comment in here with the squirrel jpg file URL but type a Return just before the URL to make sure it’s on its own line with no text or spaces to the left of it. That should work.

          Liked by 1 person

          • YongDuk says:

            On Gun Violence and ADD:

            I can’t stress enough how unsafe that squirrel with a gun is. If flying from branch to branch or scampering through buckthorn, that squirrel should get its earring caught and the poor thing’s ear gets damaged, it could affect the function of its auricle and it might find itself prey to a raptor more fearsome than HSNE as it won’t be able to hear the grim reaper coming as well.

            Please write today to Obama about the spread of guns amongst squirrels and this dangerous trend. You too can help prevent Auricular Dysfunctional Disorder.

            “Squirrels are nice; keep them in a Tree: Stop ADD related gun violence!”

            Paid for by Buckthorn Priorities USA

            N.B. I merely pasted the photo’s Web address into this here comment box like this:

            ctrl-v*

            And VOILA!

            *or whatever that is on a Mac.

            Liked by 9 people

          • Kim sevier says:

            YongDuk– I think this is the funniest comment yet. Have you thought of being a stand up comedian on the side? Love the squirrel’s 3 corner hat and sword too. Who needs TV when we have this site for entertainment? So much talent here!

            Liked by 5 people

          • Mick says:

            YD, you are simply too funny! (Is that an OK thing to say to a bishop? Oh well; if I have erred by what I said, I guess I’ve helped release some souls from Purgatory.) 🙂

            Liked by 6 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Once, my son’s Bishop was the guest at a reception at his Parish. Chaz watched him talking and greeting everyone – and positioned himself by the punchbowl. When the Bishop walked over to get some punch, my son said to him with a big grin, “I like that pink beanie you’re wearing.” Startled, the Bishop said, “Actually, it’s magenta.” Undeterred, Chaz said, “Where could I get one like it?” Again, taken aback, the Bishop said, “You have to become a Bishop to get one.” Chaz added, “It’s very stylish. If they would sell to more people, you could become a trend-setter.” Now the Bishop caught on to Charlie’s fun – and asked, “You think it could go viral?” They laughed together for about 10 minutes – and for the rest of the reception the Bishop kept edging back over to share a few laughs with Charlie whenever he could.

            Later, Charlie told me he remembered how formal people could be with some of my prominent clients at such events and what a relief it was for them to get a little real, playful interchange. He said it looked like the Bishop was suffocating, so he figured he would give him some relief.

            I am glad that YD came here to get a little real dialogue without the formality. I am pleased that he felt comfortable enough here to share his rather wacky sense of humor. And I am delighted you all made him comfortable enough that he disclosed he is a Bishop (something I suspected from about his third post after we cleared up the initial misunderstanding). So everyone don’t start treating him fancy, lest he start to feel like this is just like hanging around the chancery. Let him come be just folks here. Trust me, it is a relief. I would tell you to be respectful, but we are respectful to each other all the time without being formal. Let us continue to act as the Family of God and this will be like a drink of cool water on a hot day for all who come here – laymen, religious, priests, pastors and bishops.

            Liked by 9 people

          • Mick says:

            Kim, this site is definitely more fun than the dumb (and oftentimes immoral) tripe that passes as comedy on television.

            YD, you’d be great at something like Theology on Tap; your sense of humor, coupled with your eruditeness (is that even a word?) would certainly win over many young souls.

            Liked by 4 people

          • charliej373 says:

            I think the word is actually “erudition,” Mick. But your formulation works quite nicely.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Kim sevier says:

            Mick you are so right about tv. If I watch anything it is old classic movies and old TV shoes. I love lucy, leave it to beaver, burns and allen, Jack benny, Andy griffith. I have abandoned the games on my phone– bridge, yahtze, etc. No time for them now. Spending my time on this site. Love y’all! Sure hope we can have a get together some day. We have gotten to really know each other.

            Liked by 3 people

          • YongDuk says:

            Thank you, Charlie; yes, this is better and more fulfilling than my old way of relaxing after a long day (internet, nap, removing squirrels from trees).

            As for Chaz and the pink beanie and getting you a hair extensions, Paul says to Timothy, “if a man desire the office of a bishop, he desireth a good work.” Thus, like Peter in the third chapter of Acts, I can say, “Silver and gold and Butterfingers, I do not have, but what I do have…”

            Liked by 4 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Ha, YD, I was really counting on the Butterfinger Peanut Butter Cups!

            Liked by 2 people

          • SteveBC says:

            YD, at least the Pirate Squirrel is not running (or flying or jumping) with scissors, a far more dangerous act. 🙂

            On a Mac you copy with “Command-C” and paste with “Command-V”. If you continue to spread squirrelous rumors about “Control-V” on a Mac, then for everyone’s safety, we may have to take away your keyboard. 😀

            Liked by 4 people

          • Beckita says:

            LOL, YD! This is totally hilarious EXCEPT I see some reports that Obama is ready to sign an executive order for gun control. Haven’t checked the validity of the report but somehow I wouldn’t be surprised.

            Charlie said it well: rather whacy sense of humor! Your humor is both delightful and charming, YD!!! From personal experience I can tell you: being ADHD is a wonderful way to have my head wired. When I discovered it about myself (after doing much research to figure out ways to help students) I actually did a trial of meds for support. I discovered I was so focused, I didn’t like my new disability of incapability to keep my eyes, head and heart on all the action in my classroom. While there’s no cookie cutter person in this way of being, without the H our pirate is pretty tame, just cute.

            OK now I’m really on my way. The Padre was a bit delayed and as I’m ADDicted to this site, of course I had to have one last peek. Time for hunting road kill while enfolding you all in the Rosaries on the Road!

            PS LOVED the story about your son, Charlie. He surely takes after his father.

            PPS Thanks for the additional Mac info, Steve. Does it work with Windows? (Or whatever the heck the correct terminology is.)

            Liked by 3 people

          • SteveBC says:

            Beckita, I don’t do windows. 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • Snowy Cherry Blossoms says:

            What? A Bishop of the Church has called me HSNE? *Fainting* 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Ha, Charlie… another soul released from Purgatory!

            I guess this is what happens when a math geek attempts to word-smith. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

    • dianebelv says:

      Ha! Great picture!!!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Snowy Cherry Blossoms says:

      Beckita, Great picture! 🙂 when I clicked the link, my snowy owl picture came up and it told me click and join- so I did. Now I guess I will get updates whenever you post a picture there. Is it public so anyone can post pictures? Sorry, I get so easily confused by all of the techno stuff 😦 ……..I have this great HSNE picture- special for YD

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beckita says:

        Snowy, I’m doing a quick check on posts then turning in early. It might take until Lent before I sort it all out. Actually, sorting it out would be a fine Lenten practice for me. But I will get back to you unless SteveBC wishes to simply inhale once and out would come the perfect answer.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Snowy Cherry Blossoms says:

          Thanks Beckita, just so you know when I clicked to go see the picture…something popped up and it said library so I clicked it and it disappeared… LOL. I sceeedaddled outta there! Me + WordPress = migraine x heartburn 😉 lol sorry if I messed anything up!

          Like

          • Beckita says:

            Actually, Snowy, I decided to delete the pic from my library last night. I thought since this is a public forum, I might not like just anybody visiting my library. I imagine that’s what prompted the experience you have described. Sorry I didn’t give the heads up first.

            Like

      • SteveBC says:

        Beckita, you are very funny. 😀

        Snowy, I didn’t even know that one could sign up like that, so I have no idea if you will get update emails if I add another photo. I have added the existing photos there manually, and as far as I have set matters, you cannot add photos. You’ll need to find your own photo site to put your photos on. Once there, you may be able to get a URL for it (a web address) and enter the URL into a comment. The photo must be on the web somewhere. It can’t just be sitting on your computer.

        I wish I could make it easier for you, Snowy. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        • Snowy Cherry Blossoms says:

          SteveBC, thank you but please don’t worry about it. You have no idea how funny this is. I can usually figure stuff out – at least to the degree where I can get it to work a little- but this WP is set up so weird! I’ll keep messing around until I figure it out or until my computer has a melt down!
          One thing I did wonder about- when I clicked Beckita’s link to see the picture, it immediately connected me to my google email account…maybe that’s it? I recall it saying it was public. And I’m wondering if the library thing that popped up was from my google account to add a picture? I didn’t know I had a library…so you can clearly see how confused I am :O

          Like

          • SteveBC says:

            Snowy, persistence is all when it comes to computers and to life! 🙂

            Yes, Google will put you into *your* Google Mail-Docs-Photos-Etc. account. You cannot log into the TNRS Answers account where I put Beckita’s Pirate Squirrel photo. When you click on the link we provided, you *should* be able to see the Pirate Squirrel photo, but that’s all. If you try to upload a photo, Google will put you into *your* photo library.

            So just enjoy Beckita’s picture and let it go. 🙂

            I should add that if you want to add a picture to one of your comments here at this site, you first must upload the picture to your own Google Photo library. Then ask for a Share link to the photo and put that link into your comment here. Any photo to appear in a Post or a comment *must* be stored on the web somewhere and have a unique and complete URL address. Google Photos will give you that kind of link if you look for it.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Snowy Cherry Blossoms says:

            Steve, thank you…I let it go and it flew away! 😀
            (you have no idea how freeing that was LOL)

            Liked by 2 people

        • Beckita says:

          And you, Dear Steve, are a patient man. Thank you. Quite remarkable really: the doc and the patient, all in one!

          Liked by 1 person

  7. YongDuk says:

    Happy New Year, may it be filled with blessings and peace and growth in Holiness!

    Oremus pro invicem,
    +YD

    Liked by 8 people

  8. Kim sevier says:

    Happy New Year! Praying for St. Louis. I was born near there in southern Illinois and lived in St. Louis for a while as an adult. I love it there. God bless all here!

    Liked by 4 people

  9. Theresa Otto says:

    There have been many miracles with Dan Lynch’s copy of Our Lady of Guadalupe. Around 2003 we had Our Lady of Guadalupe here in the Allentown Pa. area.. Many people especially doctors heard the Beating of her heart by placing a stethoscope on the Picture.
    Praying for the receding of the flood waters in St. Louis and those that lost their lives.
    Happy New Year to all.

    Liked by 6 people

  10. Lawrence says:

    Dear Charlie
    Off topic: I was helping my wife put away Christmas decorations and listening to her ipad playing “Shelter from the Storm” by Bob Dylan with a video which includes a pic of Our Lords passion and a picture of Our Lady and thought of you. Check it out and wishing you and your family a grace filled New Year

    Lawrence

    Liked by 4 people

  11. Praying for all affected by the floods and storms and wishing all of you a Blessed and grace-filled New Year as we continue to “take the next right step.”

    Liked by 4 people

  12. dianebelv says:

    Praying for everyone here as we begin this New Year. God Bless You All.

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Charlie,
    Off topic in a way, but very much on topic to “Pray for St. Louis:” there is a battle brewing here over what turns out to be the legacy of the Manhattan Project radioactive waste that has been mishandled, consequently contaminating and sickening many, many residents. I am providing a link, but as it is really not a focus if this website, the link is more for someone who is intrinsically interested in this type of topic:
    http://www.coldwatercreekfacts.com/media/downwinder.php

    I do post for several reasons, though. First, prayers are needed for the region; there is an underground fire not far from the radioactive waste, and no one is sure if/when the two might meet, but the MO Attorney General’s report was worst case scenario of three to six months– the three months is already up. This whole situation has the potential to be regionally destructive, if not even greater. For example, the creek that flooded, resulting in the shut down of I 70, if I am not mistaken drains from where radioactive waste was stored and supposedly secured. Charlie, you lived right across the river, so I also thought you might be familiar and interested in the issue on a more personal level. And, finally, situations like theses are basically beyond the ability of man to fix anymore–” no matter where these materials have been ‘stored,’ they have leached into their surrounding environments.” It is not only the culture that will need rescuing.

    To be clear, I would not consider myself a rabid environmentalist, but definitely appreciate we are stewards of the environment. However, it turns out my husband worked in the 80s right where some of this waste was illegally dumped and discovered, and he is a thyroid cancer sufferer, which is almost always and only caused by radiation exposure. 😦 The timeline of his exposure to disease presentation is almost perfectly correlated to when he worked at that job as a young man.

    Liked by 4 people

  14. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Mick, thank you so kindly. I was showing my husband one of the maps tonight and he said, yes, that is right by where he used to walk at lunch for exercise. 😦 That radioactive waste they actually are thinking came from a captured U boat after Germany fell; it was being shipped to Japan to help them win the war. Fascinating history if it wasn’t so sadly deadly and destructive to so many. 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

