No Good Deed Goes Unpunished


By Charlie Johnston

I am furious today. I just read that a Harris, Texas Grand Jury has handed down indictments against David Daleiden and his partner, Sandra Merritt, for obtaining the cover documents that allowed them to expose the atrocities Planned Parenthood is routinely committing – butchering babies and then selling off their organs.

Seriously, if you use governmental agencies to persecute – and prosecute – Christians and conservatives, that is no big deal. The IRS, BATF, FBI, Bureau of Land Management, EPA, Park Service and the vast and sundry resources of government have been deployed to harass and persecute ordinary Americans for their beliefs – NO one goes to jail – and the media argues it is the right thing to do. In fact, the abuses continue and multiply.  The ATF sells guns to Mexican drug lords to demonstrate guns are used in killings. Yes, they sure are – especially when the American government sells them to drug lords and assassins. But that’s okay…nothing to see there. I’m not going to go through a laundry list, though I am tempted. Suffice it to say that, in America today, if you are a left-wing ideologue, you can commit murder and it will be treated as jaywalking. If you are Christian or conservative, if you jaywalk, it will be treated as murder. The rule of law is long dead and cold as January in this country. The rule of raw power is all that is left.

It is not that I simply loathe what government has become. I completely reject its legitimacy altogether. It no longer commands my loyalty or respect. I recognize its coercive power – a power every tyrant and brute in history has wielded before being toppled for his abuses. It is heartbreaking, for not long ago, in this country, even if my side lost a battle, I knew we got a reasonable hearing – and could regroup and fight again with better organizing and a clearer statement of our case. Now the media-governmental complex uses the language of law to oppress and destroy all who oppose them – and then congratulate themselves on how cleverly they have mutilated the law. I used to be a Republican. In many ways I am more disgusted with the impotent eunuchs who sit in Congress whining that there is nothing they can do than I am with the barbarians who have utterly destroyed the rule of law. All these “important” people sit worrying how actually standing for something will affect their “viability,” and whther the New York Times might talk ugly about them. I have been grateful that the Lord has not allowed us to suffer the fullness of the Storm for a some time, but now I find myself thinking and praying, “Come Lord Jesus. Your people are groaning in sorrow and agony. Come Lord Jesus!”

We have delivered ourselves up to judgment. The fury of the Lord’s winnowing fan is upon us. Woe to all who mouth pious bromides while executing infants, who use the “law” to jail or strip mere ideological opponents of their goods and livelihood, who use the “law” to force nuns and others to betray their consciences or be destroyed. Come Lord Jesus!

I reprint below a piece on “My Purpose” that is available in the links above. I print it afresh for you – but mainly because I am so disgusted I needed to remind myself. Come Lord Jesus!

My Purpose

(This is a post I did explaining as much of what I am doing as I am allowed)

Though it is only a very few, some people have emailed me to suggest I confine myself to publishing things like my encounter with the Father – or other direct messages from my visitors. Others have had other suggestions. While all are, no doubt, well-intended, that is not the purpose to which I am called or directed. I write today to explain what I can about what my purpose is.

I have not found anything quite like what I am told to do anywhere in history. I see elements of it in many types, but none that match up well. That is not so terribly surprising, for we have entered into a period, the Storm, that is unique in salvation history. Though there are prophetic elements necessary to my work, prophecy is not central to it. Though I have a multitude of visions and visitations, I am not primarily a visionary. Most of these have had to do with preparation for the work upon us – and are not for the whole world. Though it is critical that I be grounded in good – and precise – theology, I am not a theologian. As things unfold, much of it will ultimately be miraculous on its face – and I am directed to just let it develop as it does. Even with my priests, we only speak obliquely of these things. They have gathered what they have through contemplation of the central prophetic message and my three prime duties.

Before we get to that, I want to describe the trajectory over the years. At seven years old, I first realized this was not common – and that most people who saw and heard people that others couldn’t were crazy. I told my angel I would like to go through the training he spoke of, but if he ever told me to harm someone I would immediately go to a doctor and tell him what was going on. We both had some constraints – which we both eagerly agreed to – and I continued. Until about 10 years old, it was fairly easy, straightforward and fun.

From 10 to about 25, it was incredibly frustrating. I was told many things, none of which would happen as I expected, though each would match up precisely with the words I had been given. I was told things about people – both good and bad things headed their way. Many times I was forbidden to speak to them of it, even obliquely. More than a few times I disobeyed – and every time I did, worse things than I originally saw ensued. It was a hard discipline to learn to live.

From 25 to 35 I mainly doubted these things. I suspected this was just the way my mind processed a very powerful intuitive capacity – one that was very useful in my work. I did not think I was crazy any more. I had watched carefully for signs of progression or obsession and they just never developed. My visits had a rhythm – a range if you will. Sometimes more frequent and intense, sometimes quieter, but the range never degenerated into anything else. During this period, though I doubted, I did keep to the constraints I had promised – things you probably would not expect, but things the angel said were important. I figured, just in case it were true, somebody would need to have accepted the discipline.

I was received into the Catholic Church when I was 35. For almost a year after that, I was practically struck blind spiritually. Not only did I have no visitations, my intuitive capacity completely deserted me. That was a brutally difficult year with the intuition gone. But I figured if that was the trade – my special abilities for my reception into a spiritual home I could finally give my whole heart to, it was an excellent bargain.

At 36, my visitors were back big-time. My angel was very pleased that I had shown over the previous year that I loved God more than I loved being special – but now it was time to get down to serious work, for things were about to go into the final approach to the Storm. This began the period of what I call “Great Visions.” These were very detailed visions of things to come – and what was wanted from me in order to help people weather the Storm. This opened up the period where I could no longer reasonably attribute anything to intuition, for much of it was too specific – and the world was already starting to look like the dystopia I had been shown. It was the period where I began Spiritual Direction and first told another person about these things. It was when I desperately tried to find a way out and, if that were not possible, where I could advise in secret. Even after I fully accepted the work in ’97, I spent another five years trying to find a way to stay hidden on the matters. I went through a sort of miniature five-year Storm during this period, too, to bolster my fortitude, trust and resolve so I would be less likely to falter when it came upon the whole world. This lasted from 1998 to 2003.

From 2003 until the end of my pilgrimage in 2012 was the period of radical abandonment. I quit trying to escape, accepted intense instruction – including things that were very hard to swallow and had been, even just a few years earlier, impossible to swallow. And now, since late 2012, I have begun the active phase, finding my way and trying to live the early days of my work effectively.

I am sent to be a sort of sherpa, a guide through treacherous times, to help encourage and rally people to endure – to trust that rescue will come. I was not given mystical wisdom in some easy, quiet, gentle way. Rather, I quietly lived vanity and a hidden storm while everyone else lived their lives. The 15 years where I misinterpreted everything were brutally frustrating, but taught me not to trust to myself, nor to try to encapsulate God in my expectations. Once that was secure, then I limited the details of my interpretations far more, but was almost always right, though often miscalculating the times. In fact, it probably would not be too far a reach to say I was seldom right in a significant way until I was 35, and have rarely been wrong in a significant way afterward – though I am smart enough not to trust that. The biggest of the training was to learn to see less as we see here and a little more as the heavenly host sees there. As part of that, vanity and certainty in my own competence were burned and beaten out of me – and a fortitude that relied on God entirely developed. We have many surprises and terrors ahead.

At the heart of what I am called to is a central prophetic message and three prime duties. Attached to the three duties are job titles I am given. I will elaborate on the message and the duties here, though I do not care to speak of the job titles.

The central prophetic message is:

Be not afraid: God calls all men to salvation.

This seems simple, but embeds some serious subtleties. How can you be not afraid when the greatest period of violence and terror in history is engulfing you? You will be swept away if you trust to yourself and your mighty strength. The ONLY way is to hold fast to God. It is a call to a radical reliance on God. The second portion is routinely violated by most of the most pious people. They think God calls all people “like them” to salvation – or that they are to teach people to be “like them” in order to attain salvation. Before this Storm is over, almost everyone is going to be broken down and rebuked – taught that we all have been tried and found seriously wanting. Many of your greatest certainties are going to be crushed and you are going to feel completely lost and alone. Then you will understand the fulness of this message: it is not that God calls you to go out and convince more people to be like you; it is an assurance when your vanity and petulance, your shortfalls are fully revealed to you that God has not abandoned you, but intends your reclamation and salvation.

The first duty is to:

Defend the Faith

This seems straightforward enough, but it entails more than defending the faith from the assaults from without. The unconscious assaults from within, borne by disordered vanity are, in many ways, more dangerous in these times. There are theologians and intellectuals who have reduced the Scriptures to a mere intellectual Rubik’s Cube. they think they have learned the essence of Christ and are its exclusive arbiters. While it is good to seek wisdom, the best of our wisdom is as flimsy as straw. There are those who impose mystical significance on everything, constantly gilding the lily of God’s work. They mean well, but they have gilded so much that outsiders see all gilding and no lily – and reasonably conclude this is of man’s making, not God’s. Too much mystical overlays have obscured the lily for those who do not already believe. Trust me, God is not pleased about this.

I am usually very hard on those who seek, with great erudition, to undermine the legitimacy of the hierarchy. A Catholic man I know asked why I am so hard on that when I so freely greet Protestant brethren as full partners in the work before us. I am on the ship of Catholicism. It does not trouble me (in fact, it soothes me) that there are many other boats in our vicinity, all headed in the same direction we are. That is a whole different thing from assaulting the ship from without or fomenting mutiny from within. I will be equally vigorous in defending the faith from either. Now if the mutineers would cease to dishonestly call themselves Catholic and get their own boat, I would be glad to have them nearby for the journey provided they also ceased their assaults.


Hearten the Faithful

This website is one of the first public steps in that particular duty. I do not write it to give you prophecy, theology, or reports of visitations, though all are incorporated into the purpose. It is to give people heart – to see that God is there, that He is close at hand to YOU, and that He asks only the simple things from you that you can do – and will reveal Himself to you as you live that with fidelity. As times go on, though, things will get trickier. God’s anger is not just kindled against those who overtly oppose Him. His anger has been kindled against almost all, for like Job’s friends, most of us have absorbed ourselves in our expectations of what God should be rather than engaging with the Living God. The biggest of those expectations are going to fall like old timber under the onslaught of a flood. As they do, many will have their faith shaken – and I will work to give them new heart – to see with clear certainty that it is merely their expectations that have failed, not God. I know many expect an undeniable, visible worldwide miracle before the rescue. I am almost certain it will not happen that way. First, it almost never does – God always leaves room for plausible doubt. Second, I am informed that while God will reveal Himself in small groups that are cooperating simply with each other under His guidance, He will seem to have forsaken the larger world for most of the Storm. That is because He intends that EACH of us fully see how pitiful our competence is, that our confidence in ourselves be crushed so that we may turn our hearts decisively to Him. After all have lost hope, then He will manifest that most rarity of rarities, a visible undeniable miracle visible to all – the Triumph of the Immaculate Heart and our rescue. It is because we will not be suited to populate the world as He intends it until all vestiges of vanity and self-will are crushed. I will help give people heart by telling them credibly what is actually being crushed – and what is being built.


Defend the Faithful

This is fairly obvious, too. But it does NOT just refer to “spiritual warfare.” We in the west have lived in a coccoon of safety for several hundred years now. It has reduced our thinking on temporal battle and strife to mere formulaic platitudes. But the violence you read about with horror is coming to your door soon enough – and formulaic platitudes are not a defense. The Scripture that “…he who lives by the sword will die by the sword…” is often quoted to urge unrelenting pacifism. But it is tyrants and oppressors, those who rely on force to compel their will, who live by the sword. To defend, even with violent force, those who are violently assaulted, is not living by the sword. And now both you and nations have a great and terrible responsibility. If you attack with violence when diplomacy would have resolved the strife, you will be held to account. If you allow people to be violated when you could have stopped it with vigorous force, you will be held to account. Sounds impossible. It is. So you better trust God, do your duty, and abandon pious-sounding formulas.

Even in the little things, God prepares things so that all may see the evidence of His grace. There will be a time when I spend much time visiting and offering hope to many refugees who have been forced to flee their homes and are homeless. It will be a comfort to them to know that I made myself homeless for a year and a half when it was not necessary, but for love and trust during my pilgrimage – and that I come to offer them hope not as one who has not known privation and exposure, but as one who has lived by choice what they are living by necessity. It is a benefit of my pilgrimage that I did not recognize until after it was over.

With Job, throughout my life it has pleased God to take me into the whirlwind with Him. Like Job, what I have seen does not convince me how wise and clever I am – but exactly the opposite. With Job, I put my hand over my mouth for I have seen marvelous things too great for me. That, in the end, is what God wanted me to see above all. Theology, while useful, will not lead us certainly to God. Prophecy, while useful, can endanger us if we are filled with pride over our ‘understanding’ of it. Mystical experiences can come from the devil as well as from God – and will come from satan if that is what we glory in. The only safe, sure path I know to God is, in submission to the authority He established over us, to acknowledge Him, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around us. Trust. Do. Love. That is the sure path. To keep that reality vivid before a world in turmoil, a world falling in on itself, is what I am sent for. And when the rescue is complete, I will leave the public scene entirely except to advocate for and raise money for the raising of the great Shrine of thanksgiving for our rescue.


About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Christian Persecution, Culture, Solidarity, The Storm and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

540 Responses to No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

  1. 14 years ago, I walked down into my kitchen, was hit by the smell of coffee, and instantaneously was nauseated. That could only mean, one thing–that I was pregnant. And in that instant where I realized I was pregnant, God spoke to me and told me it was twins. Just the word “Twins”.

    I mean, this is a really easy one, you either are, or you’re not. So it was God, or I was nuts.

    At 7 weeks I went in for an ultrasound, and sure enough, twins. But God, what was the big deal? Why tell me? Well, He knows, you know. I had had a bulging disk at the time, and as the weeks went on, I went from being able to walk, to at 10 weeks being bedridden, and in ferocious pain because I couldn’t take pain meds. I could not see how on earth I was going to make it the whole 40 weeks–even in bed. It was that bad. So I would pray, and pray that God heal me.

    At 11 weeks, my disk ruptured. I was left on a gurney screaming for 8 hours while the Drs tried to figure out what to do with me, and I was sent to a better hospital, where I had to wait another day for my Drs to fly in to operate. And here’s where God’s one word brought us through. God whispering that one word to my heart gave me the courage, and the faith to know that He was going to give me twins–that they would be born. I accepted the counseling of the hospital with quiet resignation–they had to tell me there was a high possibility that the babies would be lost. I also remembered Abraham and Issac, and all of the other saints that went before me holding onto God’s promises.

    The girls are 14 years old now, and I learned a huge lesson. Sometimes your healing is God leading you through the worst thing you could imagine–not healing the disk, but breaking it, and how when He speaks, He will bring it to pass. (there have been a few other instances like this in my life that are private, but still the lesson is the same)

    I share that only to say that God has told us He will bring us through this. We need to have courage, and to have faith that He will bring it to pass in the way HE sees fit, not how we would want it. We can’t sit and dwell and imagine on HOW He will do it. We just have to trust that He will.

    So David, I will be praying for you. Americans are screaming out for justice in our country, but only God can bring the kind of justice, mercy and healing that we need now. No presidential election will fix what ails us. Thank you for taking the mask off PP and exposing the truth. God will bring you through this–awful though it may be– and you have many that are praying for you.

    Liked by 14 people

  2. Bob says:

    So let’s see, we can tear babies apart and sell their organs but we’d better not try to fake a driver’s license to prove wrong doing. So we see what happens when he attack the “Sacred cows” of those in power these days!

    Liked by 6 people

  3. Snowflakesdancing says:

    David, please have courage and know that what you have done is a very great thing. I am praying for you and am going to share a story for you. May God bless you abundantly and keep you safe!
    It’s going to cost me much to tell this story because of how lost I was and because of how many times I betrayed God and His love and mercy. But David, you are in prison… Every time I remember this, remember what God did for me it causes immense pain in my heart and in my soul but also great joy. It hurts physically to remember what I did but I happily carry that cross and will till I die. God never gives up on us ever…so I will tell it. That it might help even one person to trust in His love and mercy.
    When I was in my very early 20’s I had already left the Church and was running wild, living the ‘good’ life, free from God free from the rules free to be me (sigh). Deep down I knew I was in trouble..deep deep trouble.. but I ignored my conscience and continued on my merry way.
    I woke up one morning and realized I was pregnant. Everything stopped. I had no idea what I was going to do. I tried to ignore it but I of course couldn’t. I finally went to see a very old nun I knew and told her I could not have this baby as I was too messed up and too immature. She talked me out of an abortion and I left angry that she did. Later, realizing I could not raise a child, I turned to a catholic adoption agency and picked a family. I left devastated but knew I was not capable of being a good mother.
    My own mother tried desperately to talk me out of giving the baby up but I refused to listen knowing who I was. That night I had a dream and I saw my daughter and when I saw her I fell in love with her and then a nurse grabbed her from me and took her away. My daughter was crying for! I woke up crying for her trying to grab her! While I was in the hospital giving birth one of my sisters came into the room and whispered to me that my mother was at home praying and crying in the shower and had been doing so for 45 minutes. When I gave birth to her, I saw her and she was the same baby in my dream… that was all I needed. I knew I was not going to give her up. I had to trust God. The nurses at the hospital were furious with me for changing my mind and tried to take her from me…but I ignored them and went home with her asap!

    I did not go back to the Church… 2 years later I got pregnant again, trying to find a husband…and betrayed God.. yet again.sigh. This time I was so completely humiliated and terrified I decided I simply had to have an abortion. No one would forgive me this time. I called PPH and ended up in a huge argument with the woman on the phone because she was lying to me about the baby not being a baby…and I couldn’t listen to the lies. She ended up crying and I doubt she stayed working for PPH. I hung up praying for her and knowing that no matter what happened to me, I could not kill my son ( I knew the moment I got pregnant I had a son) and gave birth to him 9 months later. Both fathers abandoned us but God did not.
    Immediately after he was born Mary rescued me and brought me back to the Church. It began with my letters to Jesus and hearing about Medjugorje. I learned that God not only forgives but that he forgets and not only that, He opened the flood gates for me and showed me and gave to me many gifts as if I had never offended Him. The Joy! The gratitude! After this I lived a very poor but miraculous life of joy and love with my 2 kids and I fell literally in love with Jesus and Mary and offered my life in sacrifice for love of them. From the start I asked Jesus to give me His forgiveness for the fathers of my kids and taught my kids to pray for their fathers, to love their fathers even though they had never met them. I needed to do for them what God had done for me. When my kids were old enough I told them this whole story and they have both been healed. There is no anger, hate or judgment. God never ever stops loving us. He has continued to miraculously intervene and is now calling their fathers back to Him and we three are still praying for them both. I pray that Our Lady of Tepeyac will put an end to abortion as she is about to do! God overcomes all. Amen!

    Liked by 14 people

  4. zeniazenia says:

    The difference between the Jews and the baby Christians, before and after the destruction of Jerusalem in 70, was that the Christian’s intention, as followers of Jesus, was to convert the Romans and they prayed for the Holy Spirit. The Seat and Keys of Peter are there now, Peter’s and Paul’s bones are the foundation. “Veni, vidi, vici” Caesar’s motto on the obelisk which remains to witness in St. Peter’s Square for 2000 years, is engraved on the very monument said to hold Caesar’s ashes. I do pray we can step up our love and prayers for the PP insiders first and build chapels or playgrounds after the PP buildings are leveled.. We have been praying Proverbs 25:22, but we contemplate again, ‘In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head, and the LORD will reward you.🙂

    Liked by 6 people

    • Petra says:

      zenia: I think it is so profound to try to pray for our enemies. To pray for grace, and blessings, and mercy for those who we consider the epitome of evil is a very big challenge. I love your call *step up our love and prayers for the PP insiders*. And that means to pray for them as if they are our own lost loved ones; not with hopes of their destruction, but with hopes of their salvation.

      When I reflect upon this sort of thing, I am often reminded of the conversion of St. Paul, and wonder, were the nascent Christian communities following Jesus’ instruction and praying sincerely for Saul, the man who was going around with decrees permitting him to hunt them down and have them killed? I bet they were. And so the startling story of Saul’s meeting of Jesus in blinding light.

      God bless.

      Liked by 7 people

      • zeniazenia says:

        Yes Petra, I had a blinding light one day (Easter Sunday April 3, 1988) so I know someone was praying for me, maybe grandma? It was really more like a 2×4 hit me in the back of my knees and took me down for a while. God is so good –I can’t say it enough! Love Zenia Jane

        Liked by 5 people

  5. Jorge Bizarro says:

    This is not a ‘spiritual’ post, but a tip to a book every US citizen should read to know how to understand and ‘cope’ with your ‘hijacked’ Judicial System:
    Wayne Barbuto’s: “It’s not the Law…”
    God Bless and…let’s pray.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Christiaria says:

    Friends, in reading Charlie’s post it reminded me how much suffering he has endured over a lifetime in order to be here for us in the present and coming darkness, a true light unto our path in these unprecedented times. Forgive me if I am speaking out of turn, but there must be a loneliness he has had to live with because of his singular experiences.

    Would you consider joining me in offering a spiritual bouquet of Memorares for Charlie, both in thanksgiving for his generosity and in solidarity with him? If you’ll join me in offering a Memorare (or any they prayer) for him, please click the “Like” star to encourage him with our love and prayers.

    Many of your loyal followers, myself included, feel a true filial love for you, Charlie. You are a true hero, and we thank God for you. Kitty

    Liked by 26 people

  7. radiclaudio says:

    Gulp! Please God forgive me. Please take my will and replace it with Yours.

    Thank you God for EVERYTHING, including bringing Charlie into my life and me into his RNS family.


    Liked by 8 people

  8. Alphonsus says:

    This is a statement in Crisis Magazine by Charles Limandri, one of David Daleiden’s attorneys, at Freedom of Conscience Defense Fund.

    Liked by 4 people

  9. janetjoyvic says:

    I was just thinking about David Daleiden and how perfect that his name is David. King David put on the armor of God as he fought the great big Philistine GIANT Goliath and won through bravery and faith in God. He stayed focused and took down the giant. God sure does have a hand in our chosen name…I’m sure of that! God said to Samuel “I have found David, a man after my own heart he will do everything I want him to do!”
    Heavenly Father you have brought David this far in battle, please help him take down THIS giant! In Jesus’ name!

    Liked by 8 people

  10. Bob says:

    From LIfesite News: Further evidence of the incestuous relationship between abortionists and the DA in Houston:

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Tom from Georgia says:

    Come, Lord Jesus, yes! Come now! End this insanity! How many times have I prayed this over the last, what, 30 years? More times than the number of days that have passed. But tonight as I stared into the night sky I remembered Moses praying, “Why, O Lord, is thy indignation kindled against thy people, whom thou hast brought out of the land of Egypt, with great power, and with a mighty hand?”. From me tonight, “if thou wouldst be patient a little while longer, Lord, my brother will repent.”

    Liked by 7 people

  12. Josephine says:

    “LIke” for Kitty’s post, for a big spiritual bouquet of prayers for the man who has an attribute described by Snowflakedancing with a word of 29 letters, which gets another “like”!

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Carol Teves says:

    Charlie I look forward to reading your blog everyday. Thank you. I live in the Philippines and I imagine that when the storm comes in full force , the Internet will be gone? How will you continue to inspire us to hope and trust in God?

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      God will never let us be without recourse to Him. You don’t need to know how – you just need to know God will give you consolation. If you don’t have this site for a while – or even for a very long time – God will give you plenty to keep you consoled.

      Liked by 8 people

      • Beckita says:

        Amen and Alleluia!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Al Chandanais says:

        I want to thank you Charlie because in reading your posts and your answers to others Lord Jesus has so beautifully used you to help me in many ways to grow closer to him, I love him in a deeper way since I started living, (lack of a better term) in this community. I know we have a short time before we will not hear from one another but you are helping us to lean more on Jesus than on you and that my friend is why I know this is truth. God’s hand is on you, us and this blog and I will be forever thankful Jesus led me here through my sister. I hope some day to meet you my brother and I shall Lord willing in this life or the next, though i am hoping in this life, before the storm makes it impossible to travel. I think it a good idea to all agree to meet at the Shrine of our Lady in Colorado after the rescue. You’ll know me because i’m certain to be skinny and wearing a hat. LOL

        Liked by 6 people

        • charliej373 says:

          Oh rats, Al…I was going to require that all skinny men coming to the Shrine wear hats😉 Guess I’ll have to loosen up. Seriously, thanks – but you never know…we may be able to keep talking for all but a few interruptions. And even when I used nothing but my legs, I was able to travel.

          Funny, I always planned to spend the holidays near San Diego with two of my brothers. I loved to joke that I had to leave in February to get there, because it was a long walk!

          Liked by 3 people

          • Al Chandanais says:

            I love ya Charlie, a man of vision and obedience, humble and meek, filled with wisdom and fortitude and a pip to boot. Yup we’re buds.🙂

            Liked by 3 people

        • Al, I think a lot about my dear, faithful internet friends, and how terribly I will miss them when we can’t communicate.

          We’ve exchanged addresses but still…

          Meeting TNRS readers at the shrine would be fun. Charlie will have to leave a visitor log there and we can sign with our handles and a TNRS after our names, God willing.

          Liked by 3 people

    • Doug says:

      Carol, do you have a church family you are close to? Other people close by you that share the same beliefs and concerns? Charlie is a special gift to us all here, but your real trust is in or God who knows your whole situation way more than anyone here. Trust God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope to others. If you do this, you will do ok. God bless you!

      Liked by 2 people

  14. Al Chandanais says:

    A number of years ago i suffered a TIA, a slight stroke caused by 2 slipped discs in my neck which were also bulging. For 21 days i endured what felt like a crushed left shoulder, stabbing pain in my left forearm and what felt like 2nd degree burns from my left elbow to my thumb and index finger. my doctor prescribed 28 different medications for me and most were for pain and muscle relaxers, which didn’t help much when i moved this way or that. For those 21 days i sat at the end of a queen Anne chair and slept periodically till i moved and was awakened by incredible pain. Lord Jesus was with me the whole time of course and we became very, very close in my agony. Around the 10th day he bid me off the chair and kneel before him which I did, it was 2 AM, after my Mrs went to bed. I fell so deeply in prayer that I found myself laying prostrate before him till sunrise then he would have me look out the window over the front lawn where i saw sheep overflowing the front yard into the street and said “Alfred, do you see? yes Lord I replied, “Feed my sheep!” which I replied yes Lord. This continued for the remainder of time I was disabled. Agony during the day and evening, no sleep but when my wife went to bed everything changed. His nightly visits were incredible and every sunrise he would show me more and more sheep till they were across the road, down the street in my neighbors yards as far as i could see and always the same question, “Alfred do you see? and my reply, “yes Lord”. “Feed my sheep!”
    On or about the 21st day the stabbing pain in my arm stopped, soon after that my shoulder was back to normal soon after that the fire in my arm and hand stopped and so did the visits. My time with him was incredible, my agony torturous, my life changed in ways i would have never conceived and in the end I never want to go through that again, but I sure am glad I did.

    I believe the storm will be of similar nature, we will suffer greatly but Jesus will be with us, and in the end we will be joyful we went through it, but will never want to do it again.

    Liked by 10 people

    • Snowflakesdancing says:

      So beautiful, Al Chandanais.

      Liked by 1 person

    • marlonancy says:

      Wow thank you. What a blessing to read this.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Petra says:

      Al: thank you for sharing that. It’s valuable to know how near our Lord is to us when we are suffering. I don’t have such experiences, but to know you have had such an experience helps me to know even though I can’t see or feel Him, He’s there. So thank you.
      God bless.
      P.S. So glad your stroke was only a TIA. I know the pain was horrific, but at least you retained (or regained) all your functionality. Bless His holy Name.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Al Chandanais says:

        Three major things in my life changed, my love for fishing, and for cooking. I always felt kin to Peter with fishing taken but cooking? still don’t like it. The third was an unquenchable desire to write, poems and short stories were a magnificent way to be with Lord Jesus, He would give me the words and I would type them out. You know Petra, i would have to read what he gave me after writing it so I knew what I had written.

        Liked by 3 people

    • Becoming broken is the hardest thing to endure, but the mercy and graces are beyond our comprehension.

      I remember that pain so well I shuddered reading your story, and you are right, you never want to do it again, but to hear how Jesus walked with you through it is amazing.

      Liked by 3 people

    • lambzie37 says:

      God has given me an affinity for fuzzy sheep (actually I love all things fuzzy) but your post here has allowed me to connect the why of that affinity-I believe Jesus is calling all of us in this time of insanity to feed his sheep in all ways, physically, spriritually and emotionally. And further still, we are to go and gather the lost sheep to bring them into his flock. In this coming time of utter desperation, our clarion call will become a welcome invitation to those who seek refuge and who long to return home to the bosom of their creator!

      Liked by 5 people

  15. Chris says:

    Just wanted to say thank you to Beckita, Mick, Zenia, Doug, jlynnbyrd,BrianaE, janet333, and LukeMichael for your kind words and prayers. Our post abortion testimony was well received by the girls, apprimately 150 students. In three of the classes, many were crying. The 4th group asked a lot of good questions. By the time we got to the 5th group, I had to stop and apologize for not being able to finish, because I mentally shut down but they were wonderfully compassionate and understanding in the questions they asked. Some of their little faces were so sweet and innocent looking, They were precious. They were a sign of hope. One of the teachers was very grateful we were there because she said she was having a hard time dealing with what happened to David and she was telling her students that one day this man would be known as a great saint.

    Liked by 5 people

Leave a Reply

