God Bless My Archbishop


By Charlie Johnston

As most of you are aware, my Archdiocese is conducting an informal initial inquiry into the things I write and say. I have been restrained about speaking of it, so as not to affect the process while it is ongoing. Many other sites have quite freely speculated on it.

Contrary to what you might read on some of those sites, my relations with the Archdiocese have been courteous, respectful and cooperative. One Archdiocesan official had been concerned with what some sites claimed it was saying and assured me they had made no negative comments about me and would speak to me first before making any comments at all, other than that I was currently not an officially approved speaker. I chuckled and told him I had been involved in more than a few public political controversies before and well know that the media and websites speculate recklessly and even just make things up…nothing to worry about.

Certainly, there is one priest at the Archdiocese who has been actively hostile to me since I first met him several years ago. But everyone else, skeptic or not, has been just and kind in their dealings with me.

My restraint, up to now, has involved refraining from speaking much about the Archdiocese at all during this period, lest I be thought to be trying to curry favor or otherwise influence the process. But my Archbishop, Samuel Aquila, has scheduled something so marvelous and close to my heart, that I have to speak of it today, for it has made my heart leap with joy and admiration.

First, I will tell you a little on how I will react to whatever the Archbishop decides concerning me.


Archbishop Samuel Aquila

Sometime he will receive a recommendation from a three-man panel on the matter. Then he may consult whomsoever he wishes – and then he alone will publicly give me direction and say whatever he deems proper. On all matters of faith and morals, the public discussion of private revelation, even the public discussion of the faith itself, I will fully obey Archbishop Aquila. Before I began my pilgrimage five years ago, I knew that if I should ever publicly speak on these things, it must begin from the Archdiocese of Denver (from which I have no prior connection) and that it would be to the Archbishop of Denver that I owed my duty of obedience throughout the balance of the Storm.

Now you need to know it will not be some overly clever “wink and nod” obedience. It will be a true and faithful obedience. A few have asked me pointedly who I was going to obey, God or man. I have tried to conceal my anger when responding to such queries that I am a true believer, that Christ set up this Holy Church and gave it binding authority to which I am subject. If I disobeyed the lawful authority of my Archbishop, it would be to disobey God. Period.

Should there be a negative finding, I will go silent for a few weeks as I figure out how to fully comply with the direction.

I spent most of my life as either a secular political operative or a secular cultural commentator. It is, one might say, my default setting. I have a duty to both hearten the faithful and defend the faithful during these trying times. If necessary, I will live that duty from a purely secular and temporal standpoint after that period of silence. There would be no sly references to private revelation, nothing at all like that. I would simply go back to speaking in the manner I used most of my life. I will be absolutely obedient to my Archbishop’s lawful authority.

So what is it that has caused me to write today about this? On Saturday, March 5, at 10 a.m., Archbishop Aquila will lead a public Eucharistic Procession. While reciting the Rosary, the faithful will march around the Planned Parenthood facility in Stapleton, Colorado seven times. While some Bishops are trying to “dialogue” with those who attack both life and the faith, and while a few even forbid their Priests from praying outside abortion clinics, my Archbishop is leading the charge for the Culture of Life with a full-throated public witness of faith through the Eucharist and through Mary, our two strong pillars. And he is doing it with downright Biblical panache.

I took note that, last summer, when I heard some Church leaders speak about how to accommodate themselves to the Supreme Court’s imposition of “gay marriage” on the whole country, that Archbishop Aquila spoke in unambiguous defense of traditional marriage and religious freedom. I felt great admiration when my Archbishop moved the age of confirmation in this Archdiocese back, so that it not be seen as a graduation from the faith, but a graduation into a deepening of the developing faith. But this act, recalling Joshua before the walls of Jericho, the leading of this public Eucharistic Procession seven times around Planned Parenthood’s headquarters, has absolutely cemented my filial respect for my Archbishop. It has captured my whole heart. What would have been an act of duty, whatever I thought of whoever was Archbishop, will be an act of true filial devotion and respect to an Archbishop who has proven himself to be a true champion of the faith.

I will give you more information on the Eucharistic procession as it becomes available – and attach a flyer when I have one. If you live near Denver, I encourage you to come out for this great Eucharistic Procession. But for now, I say, God bless Archbishop Samuel Aquila!


About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Christian Persecution, Church Governance, Family of God, Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

182 Responses to God Bless My Archbishop

  1. El ingeniero de Tepeyac says:

    It is good to see your Archbishop taking the Next Right Step and being a Sign of Hope to others.

    It helps to counter-balance the sad news that Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia, a devout Catholic has died. May he rest in peace in the Kingdom of God and may Mary, our Mother comfort his family.

    Liked by 12 people

    • al chandanais says:

      I am sorrowed at the death of Justice Antonin Scalia, I am sorrowed that a great catholic man who was a strict catholic and fought for the church’s values all his judicial life, who was for our forefathers desires and our Gods is now passed to his rewards. I am sorrowed for those who love liberty and our nation of heroes who have fought and died that we are free. I am sorrowed for the many who grieve this wonderful man in black robes and shudder at the next pick by this president and that the left is joyous that a lefty judge will tip the scales of justice far to the left.
      I am elated that this doesn’t matter to me nor should it matter to you. If even our dear Charles is taken from us by the Archbishop Samuel Aquila for a time it is Gods work to get us through. Yes, I will miss His Honorable Antonin Scalia the just judge, but God has brought his son home and for that I am joyful. Things may get very bad for Catholics now with this shift in power so be aware, get close to God and stay there for the hour draws near for the great crash and evil has little time left. Hold strong little ones, our Ladies Rescue is soon after but many will need the guidance we will give. God Blesses us, one and all

      Liked by 12 people

      • Judith says:

        I agree. Judge Scalia was a wonderful, honorable servant of the people and a faithful disciple of the Lord and of His Church. One might wonder ‘now what’ for the pro-life community but after becoming wide awake at 3 AM last night, in prayer, I understood that God will withdraw even good people that we rely on until we trust in Him alone – just like Charlie said.
        A mighty warrior is our God. This is His battle. Put on His armor and wait on the Lord. Be strong in Faith. Grab your battle beads and “go weapons H.O.T”* (humble, obedient, trusting) – yes, the next right step. This Storm is a spiritual war!

        *go weapons hot – military term -prepare to engage so you next action has the desired effect.

        Liked by 5 people

        • vkmir3 says:

          Judith: When you said “I understood that God will withdraw even good people that we rely on until we trust in Him alone…” it struck a chord with me and helped me understand why our dear Fr. Logan, who was laid to rest today and was a champion in prayer for so many battle-weary people in our area and beyond, was taken from us. We now must take up the spiritual battle he was waging for all of us, follow his lead and trust in God alone! Thank you for inspiring that thought as we have been grieving and wondering why Fr. Logan was taken to Heaven at this time. Now I know and will remind the faithful. God bless all here as the storm continues. God bless you, Charlie, in your faithfulness and Archbishop Aquila for his leadership!

          Liked by 3 people

        • al chandanais says:

          That was my point, you said it succinctly and with eloquence, my sorrow is for those so interested in what is happening but truth is no one changes my life as does Jesus.

          Liked by 1 person

      • God rest his soul … Justice Scalia was one of the truly decent people still left in government/politics, who never failed to stand up for what is right and decent. I agree, this is very bad for us Catholics, and we need Gods help and mercy more than ever.

        Liked by 3 people

      • BlessedIam says:

        I so agree with your comments about Justice Scalia.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Snowy Owl says:

        al, I found this today about Justice Scalia…and it is so good! What faith he had and oh what a loss for our poor world and Country!

        Liked by 2 people

        • al chandanais says:

          Thank you Snow, how wonderful to have been blessed with a good Judge as he. He will be missed but the president cannot put another lib judge without the republicans oking it, and if that happened whats the concern, all will change soon.

          Liked by 3 people

      • Mick says:

        What a wonderful exhortation, Al. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

    • Jorge Bizarro says:

      I don’t know about you, but I sure have that uneasy feeling that Scalia death wasn’t ‘natural’ at all. See, Scalia was found with a pillow over his head. Considering the fact that Scalia was very physically active, enough to carry a gun in the woods and hunt, I doubt he choked on a pillow without a little help. And obviously a heart attack/cardiac arrest will follow, because that is what happens when you die, your heart just stops . . .
      We should all be positive, etc… but frankly, this entire issue, its timing, the place, just smells way too fishy for me. My 5 cents on it.


  2. What a guardian at the gate your Archbishop is! Prayers that processions would break out over the whole world!

    Liked by 6 people

  3. Daphne says:

    Make sure Abp Aquila remembers to bring the 7 trumpets – as well as 7 trombones, 7 French horns, 7 trombones, 7 tubas, 7 cymbals, and 7 gongs.🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Maggie says:

    I will be there on March 5th. Only God can bring down the walls of that brick fortress for killing.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. Jean says:

    God bless your archbishop! Jean

    Liked by 2 people

  6. leel004 says:

    Thanks for this strength of hope…let us know times for those of us who can not be there in person, can be in prayers, especially if can be done in front of the Eucharist!

    Liked by 3 people

  7. victura98 says:

    I was inspired by this image. It inspired me to prayer, spontaneously, imagining what the Holy Father might have been praying at this moment, and what the Blessed Mother has planned through him. (I know this is off topic, but when something inspires me, I share it!)


    Liked by 2 people

  8. zeniazenia says:

    Happy St. Valentine Day to all TNRS, May God bless you with His sweetness and Archbishop Aquila today, as he plans to lead a public Eucharistic Procession, reciting the Rosary with the faithful and marching around the Planned Parenthood facility in Stapleton, Colorado seven times. If I cannot be there in person on Saturday, March 5, at 10 am, I will be present with them in solidarity and to our Lord and Lady in a Holy Hour, here, EST. Our Lady Queen of Tepeyac– pray for us

    Liked by 5 people

  9. little one in PA says:

    YAY!!!! Praise be to God!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Dick says:

    Charlie, attached is an article by Archbishop Samuel J. Aquila from January 22, 2013.


    I think this article will give all the readers of TNRS group an insight to how Archbishop Aquila views the Cultural of Life.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Jeff says:

    Hello everyone, and hello again Charlie, thank you for all you do.

    This post stirred me to remember a moment from two weeks ago. Here in central Minnesota, I attend a men’s group that gathers in the basement of a wonderful Catholic church built by Germans about 110 years ago. Usually about 14 or so men attend. At the end of our time together in early February, after prayer and some wondering and sipping of the worst coffee you can imagine, my friend Dan started up a pitch for something recently written by Rev. Thomas Olmsted, the Bishop of Phoenix. Charlie’s piece here reminded me I took a photo of the first page, but only today have circled back to read it in complete astonishment.

    I append the link, with the confidence Charlie will let the post stand. It is an exhortation to Catholic men, devout, fallen away, and possibly doomed, and it shook me up and inspired me at once.

    God bless you all, Jeff in Minnesota

    Liked by 6 people

  12. Beckita says:

    A report about the Coronation of Our Lady of Guadalupe/Tepeyac:

    You can view the blessing of the crown at the end of Mass when you move into the footage at about 1:53, the ending of Cardinal Carrera’s address. Then at about 2:11 you can view the Holy Father entering his time of solitude and contemplation with our Mother of Conversion. How blessed are they/we who kept prayerful solitude with our Papa!
    Blessed be God forever! Ave Maria eternally! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JGhi_ANpSfA

    Liked by 2 people

  13. Paul says:

    Hey Charlie…look forward to comments you may have on Judge Scalia situation…the Storm continues to intensify…

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Joseph77 says:

    WOW! WOW! WOW! for the absolutely marvelous, beautiful, courageous, powerful, witness of the Archbishop’s faith to Jesus Christ in the Eucharist and to our Catholic faith! Wish all the bishops had done this before Roe v Wade!

    Liked by 4 people

  15. Joyce Brown says:

    Holy smokes! Just had to come in here and share. Since finding Charlie and reading and contemplating his writing and the writing of others on this website, I find myself seeing his message all over the place.

    Just now, I was reading today’s reflection in a book I pull out every Lent, “The King, Crucified and Risen” by Benedict Groeschel, C.F.R. and in today’s prayer: “….Give us the grace of the Holy Spirit to know what we must do and the strength to take the next good step.” That just makes my eyes pop out. Charlie’s message (not about the storm specifically) IS the message, and it’s been around me my whole life, and I’m just NOW seeing it and hearing it. God just never gives up on ANY of us, and I feel so very grateful to be alive at this particular time in history.

    I’ve been lukewarm since returning to the Church (after the initial fervor wore off) but I never realized it because I always compared my Faith to the rest of the World, and compared to my friends and family I was a “holy roller”, but when you compare yourself to nothing, ANYTHING looks pretty enthusiastic. But now, it really IS as though scales are falling from my eyes and things are clicking in my mind and my heart daily! It is like a switch has been flipped in me. He must increase, but I must decrease.

    I feel so grateful for so many things and every person here contributes to my spiritual maturation and growth.

    Thank you.

    Liked by 16 people

  16. Gloria says:

    Charlie, I will keep in prayer that you will continue to lead and help prepare us in this Storm. But, whatever Archbishop Aquila’s decision is, it will be according to God’s Holy and Divine Will.

    God bless you!

    Liked by 5 people

  17. Julie of WI says:

    Amen! Hallelujah!! I will be praying for all and be there in Spirit!!

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Julie of WI says:

    I didn’t know anything about your Archbishop Samuel Aquila, Charlie. I came across this recent article in case anybody else would like to read his story. http://liveactionnews.org/denver-archbishop-i-became-pro-life-after-stumbling-on-the-body-of-an-aborted-baby-in-a-sink/

    Liked by 5 people

  19. RJW says:

    Oh how I would love to be part of that procession!! God bless him indeed.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Judy says:

    God bless Archbishop Samuel Aquila!

    Liked by 2 people

  21. Vanessa Joy says:

    Thank you Archbishop for having the courage to suit up and show up with Jesus at the local planned parenthood in March!! When priests show up things begin to shake , rattle and roll!
    At our local planned parenthood, we had a priest show up during the vigil. It was a miracle as I have not been able to secure any priests on a regular basis to pray with us despite the fact our Catholic Church is one street over from the mill.

    Any who , masses were said for pro lifers by a faithful Bishop who comments quite a bit here and when I was at the mill this past Friday, there were two saves in a 2 hour time frame! Moreover, some angry patron did not like my pro life signs and threatened me and I counted the minutes until the cops came to question me about my behavior and signs. My faithful little 9 lb paralyzed Pete, terrier mix protected me along with all the angels .
    The cops came. I turned the tables and took the offense and was profusely grateful that they showed up! I even introduced Pete to them ( my little furry friend) when I saw their Suv coming down the street, I waved them over and thanked them immensely for coming to set the record straight that I was not in violation of the law and I was in my legal rights to post my signs in the grass. They agreed . I then asked them to check out the grass blocking the implied easement sidewalk next door to the mill as it was roping off access to walk over the grass but also access to the fire hydrant .
    They agreed that it was very illegal to rope off the grass and “we’re going to report the violation !”👍🤓
    It was a touché moment to say the least as I had no intention of reporting the incident regarding the roped grass initially but when that angry lady called the cops on me, I seized the moment to ask the question, what do you think about this roped grass area officers?
    God indeed works in mysterious ways!
    Btw, the car that pulled in the driveway just after I posted my signs and stopped long enough for me to share with them , they came out later without having the abortion ! The next car in was that angry lady who told me to take down my signs!
    After the cops left , I had another opportunity to speak with a young black couple and pray with them and encourage them to choose life! They did just that and left complete with a new baby outfit in hand and hope and joy in their heart💗❤️! Two babies rescued from the brink of death by God’s amazing graces! Thank you all especially for the Masses for pro life counselor son the front line because the battle rages around us.

    Liked by 10 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Faith in action. It produces results. It is time for Jericho to fall.

      Liked by 5 people

      • YongDuk says:

        Nice to hear other Bishops are here saying Masses incognito as they may be🙂

        Liked by 4 people

        • charliej373 says:

          YD, I have been heartened by the amazing number of Bishops, Priests and Deacons who are finding their second wind, as it were and rising to the challenges of the time. Many of them are quietly gearing up, but more and more they are becoming silent no longer on the fundamentals of the faith.

          Liked by 5 people

        • Vanessa Joy says:

          It was your mass last week that brought the saves at the mill as well as the two saves this morning!!🎉🎉🎉🎉👍🙋🙋
          Charlie sent me an email last Friday that you mentioned my name as a pro life counselor in Ca at your Mass and when Charlie let me know that reality , I made a beeline down to the mill last Friday afternoon ! Thank you Yong Duk for your faithful service!
          Blessings and prayers always !!!!!🙏🙏🙏😇😇

          Liked by 6 people

          • YongDuk says:

            Vanessa, my life as a Bishop is very much marked by the Evils of Abortion and the Beauty of the Healing Ministry to those women AND men who have suffered this…

            I would boast that you will find me in the “kids'” section of Heaven, but how I got there is indeed tragic.

            Serve with humility and generosity!

            Liked by 6 people

      • Beckita says:

        Amen! To all the Angels, Saints and Holy Souls: pray for us as we, by God’s Grace in our actions, bring ’em down, Baby!

        Liked by 2 people

  22. 1.2012 says:

    Charlie, any comments about the apparent heating up of events on the borders of Syria? Please pardon my curiosity. IF the reports are true, then this will have very grave consequences well beyond the Middle East.


  23. Lilia Florentiae says:

    I have no knowledge of the Catholic Church in the United States.
    But, sure, Charlie, your archbishops’ surnames ring very heroic and legendary in my Italian ears. Some time ago you spoke of a “Saviour Lionheart”, now you mention an “Eagle”, well… beautiful names…even suggestive in these rough times…
    Ciao, grazie,
    Lilia from Italy.

    (Post scriptum: Aquila means Eagle both in Latin and in Italian)

    Liked by 6 people

  24. Cheryl says:

    God bless your archbishop. The past is our battle plan ~ I think that’s why studying history ( authentic history as in unfolded in God’s design ), and the lives of the saints are so important. The Battle of Lapanto gave us the key. St. Faustina wrote in her diary that she told the Lord she would propagate HIS message only so far as her superiors would allow. He accepted her answer… why would he not?? When people act out of disobedience to proper Church authority I think they prove themselves an easy mark for satan. I think that obedience to proper authority is a gift, really…. it makes it ‘easy’ for us to stay in the fold, and for those of us lowlings takes the pressure off…. all we need is the proper humility to do it. 😉 I can see why the Pope is constantly asking for prayers. He has ( literally) the entire world on his back.

    Liked by 2 people

  25. Cheryl says:

    PS: don’t forget the flower petals to toss before the Lord!! Where
    i live every feast of Corpus Christi the Friars have a very public procession. The children dress as angels bearing baskets of flower petals that they toss as they walk before the Lord. It really is beautiful.

    Liked by 2 people

  26. Rich says:

    Hi Charlie,
    Thanks for keeping us posted on what is going on with your bishop. I will keep you and your mission in my prayers that whatever happens will be the will of God.

    Liked by 1 person

  27. Julie of WI says:

    Awesome Vanessa Joy! You are so brave and what wonderful graces you have been given. You have made my day reading your post. There is hope!!

    Liked by 2 people

  28. Donette says:

    Charlie, Now that the Archbishop is going to have an informal inquiry into what you write (and say?) can you tell me if at this time he will also look into anything or anyone that he may consider as an influence in what you write or say? From what I read, it seems to me that the Church wants nothing outside of the individual or writings of that individual to be influenced by his personal surroundings or relationships. I hope I’m expressing this correctly so you understand that I am trying to increase my knowledge and understanding and not challenging who you choose to have relationships with.

    For example: I know you have communications with Mark and Janet. I know there inspirations are not the same as what is given to you, but will that be a detriment to the inquiry? Perhaps there should be a line of demarcation in those communications so what you say and write will not be tainted…or considered tainted by the inquiry. I don’t know. I’m only asking your thoughts.


  29. Pam says:

    I loved this article and the need and encouragement for these processions. About three years ago, I wrote to every bishop listed in the USCCB website, imploring them to process the statue of Our Lady of America into the BNSIC, so that Our Lady could fulfill her revelations to help our poor country, as given to Sister Mary Ephrem (Mildred Neuzil). I did receive some favorable responses, but I was so disappointed to receive one reply telling me I was “presumptuous.” I couldn’t understand that, and wrote back to him asking if Joshua was presumptuous in obeying God’s directive to process the Ark around Jericho 7 times in order to bring down the walls. His only reply was asking me to write to Cardinal Dolan.

    Liked by 2 people

  30. Jorge Bizarro says:

    OH! – If only all Bishops, Cardinals and Priests of the Church had the same Faith and Trust in Our Lord and on ‘supernatural ways’ of putting Evil away… Can’t but recall Pope Francis call to Prayer in front of the Blessed Sacrament that aborted Obama’s plan to ‘carpet bombing’ Syria!

    Lastly, to reinforce Charlie’s stance I would like to recall that Sister Lucy of Fatima wrote almost everything we know about Fatima out of pure obedience, having to put off with lots of personal reluctance, even repugnance, to achieve it. Glory be to God!

    Liked by 1 person

  31. avaeadie says:

    This was a beautiful tribute to your archbishop, Charlie. And your attitude about accepting God’s Will, however it reveals its self in all of this is testimony to your understanding of humility. I appreciate you more and more for all of it…May you be held close in the Sacred Heart of Jesus and the Immaculate Heart of Mary, and May Mother Mary especially pray for you, ♥†♥

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

