A Recap on The Shrine

(Several new readers have asked me of late about the Shrine I often speak of. I reprint today a piece giving an overview of it that I wrote two years ago. I am in the midst of a big project today. If your comments don’t get cleared for a time, it probably is not because of content, just that I have a very busy day. Have patience with me. For now, enjoy the story to date of the Shrine of thanksgiving for our Rescue-CJ)

The Shrine

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in The Shrine. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to A Recap on The Shrine

  1. victura98 says:

    I look forward so seeing you all at the Shrine for the big Mass and reunion. Let’s also have a cookout, with Chicago style hot dogs. 🙂

    Liked by 6 people

    • Another Karen says:

      Hopefully post rescue means never having to say you’re sorry for eating Chicago style hot dogs (or paying for it gastronomically)!

      Liked by 2 people

    • CrewDog says:

      V-98 sez: “I look forward so seeing you all at the Shrine for the big Mass and reunion. Let’s also have a cookout, with Chicago style hot dogs. :)’
      ……….. crunchy French Fries and Cold Beer too 😉

      GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

      Liked by 3 people

  2. YongDuk says:

    Loved it the first time.

    Prayers for you,
    +YD

    Liked by 5 people

  3. YongDuk says:

    Feel so cheated for no new photo for this post…

    🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  4. So., so beautiful. \

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Arby says:

    The first time i saw the drawings i cried. So beautiful!

    Liked by 3 people

  6. Lisa Bartholomew says:

    I loved reading this article a few weeks ago when I did a search of your blog on “shrine” and another on “Mnt. Meeker”. I think is is beautiful how all these pieces come together from your original vision of the Shrine with your angel, to Fr. Mark’s order already having intentions to erect a place of pilgrimage in America, to the JP2 trail on Mt. Meeker and you walking it on the very day 19 years later without knowledge of it’s existence, and your screensaver of the location but at an angle which did not show the mountain! Beautiful from so many aspects! The Shrine is breathtaking in the drawings and I can only imagine it’s splendor in real life with the face of Meeker in the background! It makes me ponder whether JP2 had knowledge himself of the Shrine and location as he visited WYD in 1993 and chose to walk the trail at Mt Meeker. I was there at WYD. I was in the stadium when it rumbled with the stomping and joy filled screams of all the youth as his helicopter landed! I am filled with so much hope and am bathing in God’s Mercy as I take each day my own NRS and try to share God’s love with those around me. I have changed, am still changing, and all I desire is to grow more closer to Christ and His mother. Most my other interests are not so interesting to me at this time in my life. I await the labor pains so as to rejoice in the birth! As I wait I do all I can to let God and His holy mother guide me and my family to that day! Thank you Charlie for the hope you fill us with! I pray that I may be a great sign of hope to those around me when it is most needed.

    Liked by 6 people

  7. Snowy Owl says:

    Charlie the Shrine is truly just beautiful! I also love the little stone Chapel of St. Catherine of Siena!

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Tom says:

    Hi Charlie,
    I left a message on the original post by mistake LOL. Any chance of including a grotto For Our Blessed Mother in this shrine, nothing too fancy?
    Another inspiring post, incredible that were you started your pilgrimage will be the end of your earthly pilgrimage, The Good Lord indeed has a great sense of humour ; ) God Bless Tom

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Actually, Tom, I started my pilgrimage in Boaz, Alabama. But your point is solid: I ended my walking pilgrimage where I expect to end my earthly pilgrimage. Funny, when I first saw it in the vision, I saw it as a place of epiphany – where heaven and earth touch – and it felt like home to me.

      Liked by 4 people

  9. irishpm0 says:

    I lived in CO until I was 30. My youngest brother was having a terrible time because of my father’s alcoholism and being the last child at the house. I had my mom fill out the paperwork and I paid for my brother to spend a few weeks at Camp St. Malo. It was the early ’80s, and I remember walking to that chapel and telling my mother I would get married there. Well I didn’t 🙂 but I remember how beautiful and peaceful it was. I can’t wait to see the shrine…

    Liked by 4 people

  10. molchanie77 says:

    Thank you for posting this, Charlie. This is the first time I have read the post on the Shrine with all the details and it is breath taking! How often I have thought as I have read your posts, ” Charlie reminds me of Poustinia and I bet he would love that book!” Imagine how struck I was reading this post! How extravagant is our Father’s love and mercy!…a long time ago, God gave me to pray Eph. 3: 14-21 for the Family of God. It is meant as much for us as it was meant for the Church in Ephesus. And isn’t it fitting God would bring his people on pilgrimage to the foot of a mountain called “Meeker.”

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      My friend, the late Sr. Lucille, was the chief assistant to Katherine Doherty of Madonna House for several decades before she founded the Poustinia Retreat in the mountains. She gave me all of Doherty’s books. to read while I was in the mountain.

      Liked by 3 people

      • molchanie77 says:

        Wow! Did you know she has been proclaimed Servant of God? Madonna House Apostolate is a holy and blessed place. Catherine Doherty is a spiritual mother to me and my own mom had her vocation at Madonna House until her death in 2010. They live the charism of the Holy Family of Nazareth and are a living example of how we can live as the Family of God. It is a most remarkable place with men and women living in community as lay apostles in the vows of poverty, chastity, and obedience- together with about 30 priests. My husband and I go at least once a year to the Mother house in Combermere, Ontario, Canada. There are Madonna Houses in many countries of the world planted at the request of Bishops. O, well, I could go on and on about Madonna House. They have a website, madonnahouseapostolate.org.

        Liked by 4 people

  11. Lynn L says:

    This just hit me — last week in prayer I had an image of a mountain. Individuals were trying to climb this mountain alone and were tired. I felt God say who every climbs a without being thethered to someone. Then the song came to mind bind us together Lord with chirds that cannot be broken. Bindnus together in love. Then I saw on the mountain people in various places above and below and beside each other. I sensed in my heart the mesage if helping each other climb this miuntain of glory. God is wanting to take us from glory to glory to glory into His image and likeless. Humility. So then the next day at a weeky adoration service I we have I again saw the vision of the mountain this time many people coming to climb. The tears flowed. Last night at adoration the scriptures I felt led to read (i am given book and chapter and I dont always herenit right but this time i feel a cinnection). Isaiah 1 — vs 18-20 spoke to me of obedience. Isaiah 2:2,3&5 it shall come to pass in the latter days at the mountain of the house of the Lord shall be established as the highest of the mountains and shall be a raised above the hills and all the nations shall flow to it, and many people show come, and say: Come let us go up to the mountain of the Lord that he may teaches his ways that we may walk in his pass first 50 house of Jacob come let us walk in the light of the Lord. Apologize for typos. Afirmation of the mountain Shrine? Thank you Jesus.

    Liked by 2 people

  12. gotoJoseph says:

    Have thought about this since the first post, so I’ll take the opportunity to ask with this post: any special significance to Mt. Meeker (versus any other peaks) that you can share?

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      On that, I have no more idea than any of the rest of you. That was what I was shown and so that’s that. God is bigger on the what than the why many times, but it usually becomes clear sometime later. Though I don’t know about this. Why Fatima? Why Lourdes? Why Kibeho? All of these are household names to faithful Catholics now, but they were obscure places before and when they happened. So no, God has never given me any explanation on why Mt. Meeker – and I had no connection to it or experience with it before it was shown to me. So this is a case of “because Dad said so.”

      Liked by 6 people

      • YongDuk says:

        I always like to think that some places are just holy ground due to the souls that have lived there, walked there, prayed there. And Good honours that.

        I thought, “Why Mt Meeker except for the beautiful horned peak that reminds me of a Jewish mitre?” until I saw John Paul hiked there. . .

        Liked by 9 people

        • Mary Ann Parks says:

          When I went to Santiago, the faith of over a thousand years of pilgrims was palpable, and that alone made it holy, aside from the relics. Just seeing the stone worn by the touch of so many hands…. I think the same of Medjugorje. I personally don’t believe it is authentic, but whether it is or not, the faith of the pilgrims has brought great graces out of God’s mercy.

          Liked by 1 person

      • gotoJoseph says:

        Thank you Charlie. 25 years ago, I stayed in cabins near there – it is breathtaking. A few years ago, I began the practice of praying the Hail Mary during the playing of the National Anthem (we have season basketball tickets to the local college). As the Patroness of the Americas, I would visualize Mary looking out over the fruited plains from a vantage point at the Basilica of the Immaculate Conception in Washington D.C., with the flag high above me and the song in the background. After deeper research of Tepyac Hill (your prompting) and then with your original post of the “Shrine”, my visual while reciting the prayer during the song is now of Mary with outstretched arms, reaching from D.C to Mexico to Mt. Meeker, gathering her children towards her Son. There is rarely a Star Spangled Banner that gets played where my eyes don’t well up, both in sadness at what we’ve done with the gift of America we were given, and in joy knowing our Mother is still taking care of us.

        Liked by 6 people

      • Amy says:

        Are not all of those places in the mountains Charlie?

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          Lourdes is in the foothills of the Pyrenees and Kibeho is near the Albertines, but though Fatima is rugged and rocky terrain with many hills, it’s elevation is only about 1,000 feet above sea level. But your larger point that God frequently uses mountains as places of epiphany and revelation is, I think, sound.

          Like

          • victura98 says:

            I had the unusual privilege of visiting Kibeho and speaking with one of the visionaries. Nearly all Rwanda is mountainous, yes.

            Liked by 1 person

  13. Mary Ann says:

    This is so inspirational – praying I and family survive to see this Shrine. Thank you Charlie.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. zeniazenia says:

    Good morning!! “Speaking to the crowds gathered in St. Peter’s Square for the weekly General Audience,(today) the Pope’s catechesis was inspired by the Holy Year of Mercy and he reflected on God’s fatherly love and forgiveness.
    When God’s children err in their ways, the Pope said, God calls out to them lovingly and never disowns them. “The most evil of men, the most evil of women, and the most evil of peoples are His children” he said. The Lord never disowns us; he always calls us to be close to Him. This – the Pope said – is the love of our Father, the mercy of God. “To have a Father like this gives us hope and trust” he said.
    And commenting on the fact that “when a person is sick he turns to the doctor; when he feels he has sinned” Francis said: “he must turn to God – because if he turns to the witchdoctor he will not be healed”.Pointing out that “we often choose to tread the wrong paths in search of a justification, justice, and peace” Pope Francis said that these are gifts that are bestowed upon us by the Lord if we choose the right path and turn to Him.
    “I think of some benefactors of the Church, who come with an offer for the Church and their offer is the fruit of the blood of people who have been exploited, enslaved with work which was under-payed” he said. “I will tell these people to please take back their cheques. The People of God don’t need their dirty money but hearts that are open to the mercy of God” he said.
    Reflecting on how the prophet Isaiah presents God in the Scriptures, he said that this fatherly love of the Lord also involves correction, a summons to conversion and the renewal of the Covenant.
    If he chastises his people, the Pope said, it is to move them to repentance and conversion, and in his mercy, he asks them to turn back to him with all their hearts and to receive a righteousness that is itself his gift. “Though our sins be like scarlet, he will make them white as snow” he said.
    And with a special thought and mention for the many refugees who are attempting to enter Europe and do not know where to go, Pope Francis invited the faithful to be open, during this year of grace, to our heavenly Father’s merciful invitation to come back to him and to experience this miracle of his love and forgiveness. ”
    (Linda Bordoni) Vatican Radio
    St. Agnes of Bohemia — pray for us :D)

    Liked by 5 people

  15. jayman92 says:

    Would it be wrong to begin setting up t-shirt stands and taco wagons in the greater Mt. Meeker area in advance?

    Just a joke! The Lord gave me this sense of humor. I feel compelled to use it.

    Please don’t give me the “money changers in the temple court” treatment!

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      As long as there is a real Chicago hot dog stand, I’m good. People gotta eat!

      Liked by 5 people

      • sweetwaterhaven says:

        That would be a fitting penance for me –– to pull a hot dog cart with me on my trek to Mt. Meeker. Might make it easier for YD and Doug to find me though. Just look for the cowboy-hat-wearing penitent pulling the cart emblazoned with the Vienna Beef sign.

        All joking aside (although the penance fits), The Mt. Meeker Shrine and the story surrounding it is a real sign of hope. There are the smallest of things from folks here that lift and inspire me, then the great things like the Mt. Meeker Shrine that have the same effect. All are connected. God is good!

        God Bless this work,

        MP

        Liked by 5 people

      • Petra says:

        Dibs on the Italian Beef and Sausage combo concession….!!! (This is my favorite sandwich too Charlie, only with hot giardiniera peppers, not mild. I like this so much that it counts as something to give up for Lent, and not even chocolate counts for that for me!)
        Course, I’d probably not even break even, since I’d be so excited to share this with others I’d be handing out “samples” and probably use it all up. (Good at business I am not. 🙂 )
        But my mouth is watering with the talk of these Chicago favorites. (Now, who’s gonna do the Gyros, and the Chicago Deep Dish pizza stands????) 🙂
        God bless.

        Liked by 4 people

        • Patricia says:

          Petra,
          If you are keeping the list please hold a spot for a coffee and chocolate dessert trailer called Holy Cacao. Hey, we need out sweets and caffeine, do we not?

          Liked by 2 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Jayman, your sense of humor is very calm and refined compared some of us here! I mean for Heaven’s sake, there’s a spit-ball fight going on on another page lol… so no worries! 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  16. Billy Franz says:

    Do you know the Frick family in Dallas?

    Like

  17. Snowy Owl says:

    Does anyone remember which Saint it was that talked about how Angels help men build beautiful churches? I keep thinking it might have been St. Patrick but I can’t find anything! Charlie, this came to mind reading about your Angel showing you the Shrine. …and of course the Angels will certainly be helping with this Shrine!

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Few things disgust me more than when “Catholic” Universities make themselves platforms for attacking the faith. I trust Ave Maria University in Florida and Benedictine University in Kansas to actually be Catholic, but that is about it these days.

      Liked by 3 people

  18. Elena says:

    I am glad to know that our next leader Will be a stable leader even If this leader isn’t coming from the political system. While praying, I await to see how God will bring this leader into office. Will continue praying for God’s Will to be done with this election.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Karen says:

    Maybe the Holy Father, Saint Pope John Paul II had Mt Meeker in mind when he wrote his 2003 Encyclical, Ecclesia de Eucharistia:

    8. When I think of the Eucharist, and look at my life as a priest, as a Bishop and as the Successor of Peter, I naturally recall the many times and places in which I was able to celebrate it. I remember the parish church of Niegowić, where I had my first pastoral assignment, the collegiate church of Saint Florian in Krakow, Wawel Cathedral, Saint Peter’s Basilica and so many basilicas and churches in Rome and throughout the world. I have been able to celebrate Holy Mass in chapels built along mountain paths, on lakeshores and seacoasts; I have celebrated it on altars built in stadiums and in city squares… This varied scenario of celebrations of the Eucharist has given me a powerful experience of its universal and, so to speak, cosmic character. Yes, cosmic! Because even when it is celebrated on the humble altar of a country church, the Eucharist is always in some way celebrated on the altar of the world. It unites heaven and earth. It embraces and permeates all creation.

    And just a couple of borrowed quotes to encourage us (if needed!) to further promote Eucharistic Processions:

    Saint Pope John Paul II wrote in the Apostolic Letter, Mane Nobiscum Domine (Stay With Us, Lord) October 7, 2004: “Our faith in the God who took flesh in order to become our companion along the way needs to be everywhere proclaimed, especially in our streets and homes, as an expression of our grateful love and as an inexhaustible source of blessings.”

    Emeritus Pope Benedict XVI said in a homily on the Feast of Corpus Christi (2005): “In the Corpus Christi procession, we walk with the Risen One on his journey to meet the entire world.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

