Temporary Moratorium

Well, I wrote yesterday’s post hoping to tamp down some of the purely political commentary – and in some cases it seems to have ramped up. I don’t want to quench any line of serious discussion, but I do want to put a stop to regular political advocacy or disparagement, lest we lose our focus on the spiritual center of our call. So, I am putting a moratorium on any comments that even mention a candidate’s name until Monday. Let us contemplate how to speak in a way that builds each other up and remember that we are called to act as the Family of God.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

169 Responses to Temporary Moratorium

  1. Jacqueline Nevinger says:

    Ok. I have been sitting on this email for at least a week. So here goes. P Dear Charlie We are getting ready for Spiritual Adoption at our parish. It’s pretty simple. It is a commitment to pray the Bishop Sheen prayer daily from March 25th to December 25 for one unborn baby. We have bracelets available with a name as a constant reminder during those 9 months to pray for that unborn life. The short prayer is Bishop Sheen’s: Jesus, Mary, and Joseph I love you very much. I beg you to spare the life of the unborn baby, ‘Larry, Martha, Julie, etc’ that I have Spiritually adopted who is in danger of abortion. There is something to naming an unborn infant. It personalizes the baby from an unknown out there ‘thing’ to a real human being. With a name. We would like to offer this to the TNRS family but are not sure you would be on board with it (distraction from your main message) and we think we would have way more requests than we have bracelets made! Tho, there are prayer cards that could be uploaded that achieves the same thing. Naming and praying for an unborn infant. We are sure you get a thousand requests for doing this, that, and the other good deed. But Jacquie keeps getting whisperings to let you know. It’s up to you. All for now God Bless You Deacon Ron and Jacquie Sent from Jacquie’s iPhone

    Liked by 5 people

  2. EllenChris says:

    Wow, Charlie — you must have had to screen out a whole lot of wild comments, because all the ones I read were trying seriously to be reasonable. I would probably get a shock out of seeing what goes into your waste basket.

    Leaving now to take my husband to see the movie, *Risen*. I have already seen it, and I like it a lot. I highly recommend it to everybody. blessings to all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      The only ones getting through were the most reasonable…but some of them veered into advocacy or criticism. Best to sit back a few days and steady ourselves, I think.

      Liked by 2 people

    • victura98 says:

      I loved “Risen,” and want to see it again. I was chided by some friends who were disappointed at the fictitious elements of the story and wanted a strictly literal Gospel narrative, but I thought the story was downright inspiring, so I ignored them. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • charliej373 says:

        I am eager to see it, Victura. Everytime a Christian movie comes out, I wonder whether it is just preaching to the choir or whether it has the potential to reach out to non-believers. Everything I have heard about this one tells me it can speak to many who are not already firmly faithful. And the fictional device of using a soldier who is not sure about this stuff is magnificent – for it creates identification with a large audience and can help lead them to consider these claims in a way they have not before.

        Liked by 3 people

        • YongDuk says:

          Doesn’t it bother you, Charlie, having seen Christ or our Lady (I assume) and seeing someone else play them or not resemble them remotely?

          Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Rarely, YD. Keep in mind that heavenly beings often appear in ways that most comfort us. Every once in a while there is a painting or image that jars me because it is so far wrong. Far more often, I am upset when they are portrayed in ways that are dramatically contrary to their personality as I know it. When I was little, I did not like hardly any of the “Jesus” movies that played at Easter. He was almost always played as an effeminate bore who spoke in a breathy monotone. I would sometimes get beside myself in anger thinking that you did not need visitations to know what an insult these portrayals were. For heavens sakes, Jesus was charismatic, compelling, a Man who threw people of His time into upheaval and changed the world – and He is portrayed as speaking in a boring ethereal monotone? Seriously?! He was and is full of life…nothing anemic about Him.

            I loved many of the Old Testament movies, such as the “Ten Commandments” or “Samson and Delilah” – but both Charlton Heston and Victor Mature were able to play their characters as actual, interesting men. The only Jesus movie I truly loved was “Passion of the Christ,” though “The Robe” had some merit.

            Liked by 7 people

          • Doug says:

            YD, I view this just like Charlie’s fictional meditations. When my grand daughter hands me a stick figure of a girl and boy and says “this is you grandma and grandpa’, I gladly accept it based on the innocence, sincerity and beauty of my little grand daughter’s heart.

            Liked by 2 people

        • Mary Ann Parks says:

          I am told it has a very Protestant depiction of Mary. Try “The Spear” by Louis de Wohl for a good post-Resurrection story.

          Like

          • victura98 says:

            Agreed. “Risen” did not capture the Blessed Mother well at all. She was portrayed as emotionally unhinged. Fortunately, her scene was very short, and it did not detract from the rest of the film, but caused me to actively imagine the composure and dignity she must have actually shown, standing at the foot of the cross.

            Liked by 4 people

          • LB says:

            I have often wondered about that . Did Mary cry uncontrollably as her son was persecuted ? Was she a tearfuk mess? Or was she well poised, sad but able to hold it together . I can see either being true , simply because people react differently to tragedies and overwhelming suffering differently.

            I don’t think her depiction in the movie was “Protestant like” . I don’t think Simeon’s prophecy or any divine knowledge or graces would have necessarily barred her from experiencing the full range of emotions any mother would have for their child, as he is tortured and killed . However, I plan to watch it again and will be sure to pay more attention to the scene she is in. I do think that the depictions of Mary in some movies as “having no clue” about things can be misleading for sure !

            In all, I LOVED the movie and look forward to seeing it again with other people . And I will check out “The Spear”

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            When my mother died, I wept almost uncontrollably while talking with a friend on the phone. Alarmed, he noted that I am certain of heaven, so why should I be so disconsolate. I asked him what Jesus, Lord of life and death, did when His friend, Lazarus, died. Our Lord shares our sorrows. It is good that we express them.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Jesus wept when Lazurus died even knowing he was going to raise him from the dead. I imagine Jesus mother is just as human and given she is female, probably has deep emotions in this area.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Well, it says in the scriptures in the words of Simeon to Mary that “a sword will Pierce your own soul too”. I think the Blessed Mother feels the very close to if not the same pain Jesus does for lost souls, but Mary experiences this as a tender mother. Oh what great love and intercession we have from Mary!

            Liked by 1 person

        • EllenChris says:

          The script of *Risen* is written very simply and without a lot of oooey-goooey stuff. The actor who plays Jesus looks really Jewish. He does not look like what we might picture — for example the Face of the Shroud, etc.,– but the personality he conveys is wonderful. Very real and human, yet loving and genuinely caring without becoming mawkish. They did a good job with the Ascension, I thought. As for the Tribune being inserted into the narrative: well, they keep the narrative true to the Gospel, and he fills the place of the person hearing the story of the Resurrection; for me he seemed almost like an “Everyman” sort of figure. He has to decide what he believes, and so does everyone who hears of Jesus’ resurrection. Also, they allow the Apostles to be genuinely happy that Jesus is alive. Like, “Wow!! Yay! He really did rise from the dead.” They are not stiff or wooden. Bartholomew is a riot.

          I also hate the kind of biblical movies that Charlie described. This was really refreshing. It was reverent enough in good ways.There is a healing that is deeply moving. I think it would really truly, hit unbelievers where they live, and challenge them to think it all over.

          And Charlie, they had the scene where they go out in the boat to fish, and Jesus tells them to throw the net into a certain place. That one really hit home, as you may remember. Loved the movie. Do go see it.

          Liked by 4 people

      • Beckita says:

        I agree, Victura. I was impressed with the acting as well. The story line was so believable and made me think of the John 21:25 line: “And there are also many other things which Jesus did, the which, if they should be written every one, I suppose that even the world itself could not contain the books that should be written. Amen.”

        Liked by 1 person

      • Alex Ireton says:

        I would like to mention the book I wrote two years ago “The Centurion Scrolls”. It’s from the perspective of the Centurion on the road to Caperernia. It’s on Amazon and it’s got very good reviews. The question is why would a Romam centurion want to save a servant from dying and travel for four days to find a Jewish rabbi to cure him. It’s a novel of forgiveness redumsion and conversion.

        Liked by 6 people

    • Doug says:

      Oh good movie Ellen. I saw it last weekend with Lambzie, my daughter and son in law.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Anniecorrinne says:

    Good! May I suggest a good book: 33 days to merciful Love by Gaitley…I just started it on 3/1
    And a pamphlet: Contemplate My Wounds (CMW Marian Press)
    Just a thought….from my experience of 21 grandchildren…..people don’t read thoroughly….it could
    be many people had not read your original thought. Thank you though….we need to get on with the
    Lord’s work…..time is moving on quickly!!!!!

    Liked by 5 people

  4. LadyHannah says:

    Hello Charlie,
    I have been following since February of 2014. This is my first time commenting. I would like to share a link to a blog by a young priest in Ohio. I have often felt that what he writes somehow connects with things that you write. He has also spoken of things that connect with Mark Mallett”s writings. Maybe it’s just me but I find comfort from reading his homily blog. I do not personally know this priest. http://fatherkevinestabrook.blogspot.com/2016/03/homily-thursday-of-3rd-week-of-lent.html?m=1

    Liked by 7 people

  5. Snowy Owl says:

    I apologize, Charlie. 🙂

    Like

  6. Chris says:

    I have to ask…was this the most response ever from one of your posts?

    Like

  7. Pam says:

    Charlie, we’re all getting sucked into the black hole, whether we like it or not. Let’s try to let the light of Christ escape and be seen from the darkness.

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      And so…a brief moratorium. I know the heart of most of the people here and how good it is. But it is good to step away from temptation for a few days that we may strengthen our resolve together.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Yes, and to refer back to a metaphor you often use, haven’t we all had contentious political arguments around our family dinner tables that resulted in a similar moratorium for the sake of family love? No different here.

        Liked by 2 people

  8. Deborah Seiter says:

    AMEN! Thank you Charlie.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Andrea says:

    Good idea. I read Pat Buchanan, Phyllis Schlafly and the Wall Street Journal and I have tried my best to read some good historians but, I try to see where we are at in history, and what will be in the permitting Will of God. I was wondering if anyone knows if in scripture there is something to the effect of God giving us the leaders we deserve at a given point in history?? I’m not sure if I made that up??

    Like

    • Phillip Frank says:

      1 Samuel 8 is a passage used often to tell of the “sin” of the people in wanting a leader (king) who is not Him (God) and later goes on to describe the demands their king will roll on them, thus giving them what they ask for and deserve.

      Liked by 4 people

  10. Flora says:

    Amen Charlie!

    Like

  11. Maria says:

    Amen!

    Like

  12. anna819 says:

    In order to change our focus to something more positive for our spiritual well-being, I would like to offer this piece from our friend Daniel O’Connor’s blog. He is a contributor on this site under “Insightful Christian Writers” which can be found over in the right hand column. He lives in the diocese of Albany, NY and the name of the article is An Extraordinary Opportunity for Grace. Here is the link:
    http://dsdoconnor.com/2016/02/29/an-extraordinary-opportunity-for-grace/

    Liked by 4 people

  13. Mona says:

    I will love this chance. It is kind of uninteresting whith all this American politicks. I usually read everything here, but ladely I have skipped reading because It do not interest me. Hold the fokus on God and how to grow.
    Mona from Denmark’

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Mmarie says:

    Thank you for being watchful for the well being of your “sherpas” and the tone and tenor of the posts in your comment pages. Ideological passions can shortcircuit rational thought and polarization rapidly ensues.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      How well I know. I lived it once. When I was very young, it scared me to realize how passion could so quickly lead to disorder and division. Politics was a great training ground for me. When you can learn to bridle your passions there without becoming irresolute, it builds a real discipline – and great peace.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Joseph J says:

        Its interesting that you mention the danger of unbridled passion, because I am currently reading a biography of Lincoln and this was one of his major political concerns. 19th century America was quite wild politically, and the rhetoric tended to default to hyperbole and slander of an intensity that is quite shocking to us now. But this kind rhetoric seems to be making a comeback, possibly due to the intellectual degradation of our entertainment-obsessed culture combined with the dehumanizing effects of internet communication.

        Liked by 2 people

  15. Anne W. says:

    Charlie, as I just caught up with emails, and read your words from yesterday, I was reminded of Mother Angelica. Years ago, she said we were beyond human help, that only God could change things and save us. Well, we’re truly at that point! I’m so glad to have found what you offer here and keep saying to myself and my husband, “God is in control!” I already knew that, but you reinforce it! God bless!

    Liked by 6 people

  16. johnmcfarm says:

    God bless you Charlie…all will be fine.

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Laura Crane says:

    Totally agree! We look at the prize ahead, not the mess (storm) we’re in now. God bless all of you. Met Charlie at Daughters of St. Paul in late summer. Thank you everyone for all of your great incite. Sincerely, Laura

    Liked by 4 people

  18. Tom forbes says:

    Playing a ‘trump’ card I see! Good idea since I’m from Virginia and would love to stay away from politics!

    Like

  19. Terri says:

    Praise be to God for your words, Charlie. I’m often reminding myself to pray for the ones that make me want to pull out my hair. If I pray blessings into their lives, it brings peace to me.

    Liked by 3 people

  20. Frank says:

    Very wise move.

    Liked by 3 people

  21. Nancy D says:

    Charlie, your post yesterday was spot on and I think we would all do well to contemplate it for these next few days. Thanks for the moratorium. As for me, I actually decided just two days ago that I need to back off completely from the ridiculously repetitive political coverage in the media, hopefully to restore my peace, get re-centered on Jesus and what matters to Him, and focus on the walk I’ve chosen to walk since becoming part of this TNRS family. While we have some responsibility to be educated on what’s going on in the realm of politics, it truly is an insignificant part of what taking the next right step is all about. I will use this “down time” to look at just where the subject of politics ought to be placed on the list of priorities right now. I am reminded of Our Lady’s advice not long ago: “Talk less and pray more.” Seems appropriate at the moment.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Dennis L says:

      Nancy, you are spot on! I to am through with the hourly, day by day politics. I’m also taking a respite and back to a more prayerful time! Always trying to make Jesus the center of my day.
      God bless!

      Liked by 2 people

  22. YongDuk says:

    Hey, Doug, who is your favourite write-in candidate?

    Mine is Big Bird.

    (See if this makes it through the moratorium!)

    Liked by 4 people

  23. Elizabeth Smith says:

    Thank you. God bless you all and keep your souls safe.

    Liked by 1 person

  24. YongDuk says:

    (Everyone else feel free to share their ridiculous write-in candidates if Charlie allows, I am not being exclusive. Doug is just the person I play off of for things completely ridiculous; MP–for things ridiculous, but soundly-yet-deeply ridiculous.)

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      When my son was in second grade he wrote a short story that I cherished. Unfortunately, I lost it in a house fire. As I remember it, it went like this:

      “The tiger was coming up the street. He was biting all the peoples. Then Donald Duck came and made him go away. The End”

      So I think my son’s write-in would be Donald Duck…at least when he was eight and before he discovered the Ninja Turtles.

      Liked by 5 people

    • Reminds me of an old Navajo legend when the bird clans assembled to choose a leader. Oriole was discussed, but although he looked spectacular they were concerned that he never spoke much. They considered mockingbird, but passed as well because he talked too much. He also had a habit of speaking poorly of others and mocking them. They ruled out bluejay because he was like mockingbird, stubborn, and a braggart to boot. Finally they settled on roadrunner, simply because he was fast for running to bird clan gatherings and spoke well.

      I’m going with roadrunner, but it’s got to be the original WB cartoon version. I’m sure someone will write in Wile E. Coyote to keep it interesting.

      MP

      Liked by 4 people

      • charliej373 says:

        Wile E. should certainly be able to count on Acme Corporation to fund his campaign!

        Liked by 2 people

        • Phyllis says:

          Hi Charlie… How about write in St. Oswald and his trusty running mate, Squirrel!
          On a more serious note, I’m really looking forward to participating in my first Eucharistic Procession with Archbishop Aquila in Denver. The procession will circle Planned Parenthood seven times. There will also be a Traditional Latin Mass afterward of which I haven’t been to one since my grandmother took me when I was a little girl.
          Another sign of God working in His ways: The Eucharistic Procession will begin at 10am, exactly the same time as Fr. Bill Carmody’s funeral in Colorado Springs. Fr. Bill is nationally known for being the voice for the unborn. He will be remembered by many for his tireless service and ear to ear smile. May God grant him acceptance into Heaven where his intercession may be called upon. Please keep Fr. Bill and the unborn babies and their parents in your prayers.

          Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            The Priest at church last week invited us to Fr. Carmody’s funeral to celebrate a Priestly life well-lived. But I am from the Archdiocese of Denver and the Jericho March takes precedence for me. But I will offer up a prayer of thanksgiving for Fr. Carmody.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            May the soul of Fr. Bill Carmody, with all the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God rest in peace. Amen. Praying for all expectant parents and their babies.

            Liked by 4 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Phyllis, I will keep the repose of Father’s soul and the innocent babies in my prayers.

            Like

    • the phoenix says:

      My father, as a college prank, once ran a presidential candidate named “Nobody.” He had “Nobody for President” signs made up, and if I remember right, he even appeared on at least one talk show.

      Basically, the platform was along the lines of:

      “Who do you like for President?”

      “Nobody.”

      “Fair enough … now here’s your chance to vote for Nobody.”

      I like to think I inherited my Dad’s practical joking sense of humor. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • Doug says:

      I have voted for Mucky Mouse and Lambzie in the past. Not sure why they did not win. That can’t be v ridiculous.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      CrewDog! Mickey Mouse would be my second choice (I hear that he gets written in during Chicago elections a lot).

      Liked by 3 people

  25. Mona says:

    Remember that you now are international.
    Love you a lot.
    Mona from Denmark

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Ha, I know…and I often tell friends “I’m big in Denmark.” When they ask me why, I shrug and tell them I don’t have a clue. But Denmark is almost always among the top seven countries I get visits from each day.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mona says:

        I think it is me. I go in to your site many times a day. Marie from Copenhagen also visit often. I sent your webadress to all my contacts once, but I do not think they follow you. They do not respond. Recently I reccomentet you to my lokal protestant priest, and all you came op whith was American politiks. I do not know what he think If he read you. He must think I am nuts.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Mona says:

        If there are Danes following this site please comment. I will like to hear that you are here. It is not dangerous.
        Mona from Denmark

        Liked by 2 people

  26. mbrandon8026 says:

    Dear Charlie

    Recently, I noticed that the comments after one of your excellent posts expanded the horizon of the post itself, and they were, in fact, visualized for me, as rays of light emanating out to the world.

    But, it seems when it comes to things political that we are political animals, by training, if not in fact, and are burdened by the political shenanigans of those we have elected. As a Canadian I was flabbergasted by our recent elections, so can empathize with our frustrated American siblings.

    But, it is not on us to try and convince our siblings who to vote for. It is incumbent on all voters to vote their conscience, and to inform their conscience. It is not incumbent on any of us to presume that we know who God wants to lead our countries, nor how God can use even the most recalcitrant sinner.

    As God gave the Jews a king when they bugged Him for one, and the Kings turned out to be exactly what they deserved in their hard heartedness, so too our political leaders are what the people deserve. The quality of our political leaders is indicative of our hearts, and so we should be reminded daily of our need for much deeper repentance.

    The leaders we have, get their authority from God, as all authority is from Him. We must lift them all up in prayer from the great Saint to worst sinner.

    We also must remember that our words have power, power to curse, and power to bless. When we denigrate someone we are cursing that person, who like us, has been created in God’s image.

    God Bless You and all who come here.

    Michael Brandon

    Liked by 6 people

  27. Bob says:

    So we will go for 4 days without discussing politics. Any who believe they will suffer withdrawal or need detox from this? I will pursue referrals for those needing help!!!

    Liked by 7 people

  28. Joseph J says:

    I was just in the middle of writing a comment about two of the candidates when I saw this moratorium! I think it is a wise idea actually.

    Instead of mentioning the candidates I will stick to my general point, which is that this election seems important to me only in how it is revealing people’s hearts. Just as the recent Synod brought to the surface many simmering tensions and hidden weaknesses, so too this election seems to be doing the same thing. Much of the world follows the American elections, and if the Storm breaks soon, the ugliness of this election might enable people to have a better sense that we are being chastised.

    If the Storm is global, everyone will experience chastisement, but it seems to me that America will experience it the most (in a sense) because it is the leading nation in the world and prides itself on the fact. I’m not sure if Charlie agrees with Mark’s identification of America with ‘the whore of Babylon’ in the book of Revelations, but it seems to make perfect sense to me. Babylon is the spirit of worldly pride, and exists wherever we find godless power (Ancient Rome, 19th century London, 20th century New York and California). Its seems to me that America is both the best and worst country in the world. It is the refuge of robust, orthodox Catholicism in the west, and yet it is also effectively corrupting the morals of the whole world through its entertainment industries. It seems to me that I can seen this moral split in the qualities of certain of the political candidates. Since the system is broken and will soon be reset, as you say, I think what is important at this point is not so much the political policies in question as the qualities of character that are being exhibited and supported.

    Liked by 5 people

  29. kate says:

    Charlie, that blog of Daniel O’Connors has a lovely prayer suggestion started March 1st. I would never have heard of him, had it not been for your list. It is a beautiful meditation.

    Liked by 1 person

  30. Wise and most prudent Charlie. We are drowning in a deluge of words coming at us from every corner. Time to be silent and spend some quality time with THE Word!

    Liked by 3 people

  31. Anne says:

    Thank goodness for your decision Charlie!!
    I could sense an uneasiness growing in me…… I was reminding myself of being grateful for What I had learnt on this site Trust, Do, Love…….. But was close to not reading much anymore.
    I felt so built up by articles like Church as Family of God ……. Then a change happened.

    Liked by 2 people

  32. patriciaacmg says:

    Salud, Charlie — my very first post even though I have read about everything for several months. I deeply appreciate this site and love all the people commenting. I am glad for the “moratorium” — wish it could be permanent! However, that being said — our youngest son has his Masters in Public Policy and is passionately committed to the whole spectrum of issues related to the Culture of Life.
    OK, I want to mention the thrill I had in your “Recap on The Shrine” post. You mentioned “Catherine Doherty” and “Poustinia”. I had always thought your face picture was your cabin in the mountains. Your Poustinia could have been relocated right from Madonna House in Combermere, ON, Canada — place Catherine founded one of the new “Association of the Lay Faithful”. Five years ago, our oldest daughter took Final Promises with that community. We have visited many times — a wonderful setting to pray, work and play. I did read her book: “Gospel Without Compromise” more than 40 years ago — dynamite.
    Well, want to keep this on the shorter end. My gratitude runs deep for each and everyone of you.
    And know, my prayers are daily in behalf of all — especially Charlie ;o)
    All through Mary to Jesus …. Pat

    Liked by 5 people

  33. Charles Walther says:

    A very wise, wise, wise decision Extremely prudent, thank you for you guidance. No worries!!!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  34. Slid Ireton says:

    Amen Charlie Amen!

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Judy says:

    I am sure that it is a good thing to keep discussion of the pros and cons of the candidates out of the blog. We all have an opinion and we may even change those opinions over time. …. Today I was asked my opinion and gave it…and my reasons for that opinion. I immediately began to think I should have just kept quiet. The election will not deliver what we hope, if Charlie is correct. So why waste the time and effort for the argument? In the end, I did say that I did not think any one candidate could ‘fix’ our country. The problems are much bigger than one man.

    Liked by 2 people

  36. BlessedIam says:

    Amen.

    Like

  37. Maureen says:

    Hi Charlie,

    I had mentioned this in another email before but wondered if you could place the “Operation Storm Heaven” in the Devotions link? You can do a search of operation storm heaven or go to Catholicaction.org to sign up. Those who have already signed up have been uniting their rosary with Cardinal Burke’s Mass & Rosary every 1st day of the month during the “Year of Mercy.” Cardinal Burke started this prayer movement on Dec.8, Feast of the Immaculate Conception. Their goal is to get a million prayer warriors to sign up. Can u imagine the power of that prayer? We are trying to do a modern day “Battle of Lepanto.” We are praying for our country, sanctity of marriage, end to abortion just to name a few. Also your own prayer petitions can be added. Please check it out!

    Thanks & Pax Christi to all,
    Maureen

    Liked by 2 people

  38. Sandy k. says:

    Amen.

    Like

  39. Tresorgirl54 says:

    Excellent idea for the Moratorium! Besides “Risen”, I want to see “Miracles from Heaven” and “The Young Messiah.” And since The Ten Commandments was mentioned, I thought I would comment that Charlton Heston was my favorite actor and I loved his voice. If I’m lucky enough to make it to Heaven one day….I hope I won’t be too disappointed if the real Moses doesn’t sound like Charlton Heston!!! I hope they met and that Moses was honored to have been portrayed so honorably by an Christian actor who was married to his wife for over 50 years and made him “come alive” for me when I first saw the movie when I was very young!!!

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Back in 1996, Heston did a fundraiser for a client of mine. I had a picture taken with him. Alas, I lost it in a fire a few years later. But it was pretty cool to get my picture with Moses!

      Liked by 4 people

      • Tresorgirl54 says:

        Charlie, he was such a good man. In love with his wife, honored her, loved his children, was the head of his family, won the respect of his fellow actors and headed the NRA! And wasn’t he also at one time the a president of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences? Or am ai thinking of my other hero, Ronald Reagan?? Anyway, it CERTAINLY WAS COOL to get your photo taken with MOSES! Tell me…was his voice as wonderful and distinctive in person as it was when he was Moses????

        Liked by 2 people

  40. Lauraelel says:

    It makes me sad when I read, ‘We get the leaders we deserve.” Do we? I’m sorry I don’t believe Mary and Joseph deserved Herod.

    Like

  41. Sally says:

    We acknowledge all of us are at different stages in this journey and the constant need for mercy and cutting slack to one another by God’s grace. I listened to a talk by Father Larry Richards. He said the sin that bothered St Padre Pio the most, was gossip. St Padre Pio refused to give absolution unless the penetant promised they would never gossip again. I felt numb.

    Liked by 6 people

    • deereverywhere says:

      Hi Sally, did you know that St. Pio’ penance to one gossip was to get a feather pillow, cut it open and let the feathers out. It was a windy day and the feathers went everywhere. She went back to St. Pio and he said “now go pick them up” The woman said “I can’t, they went everywhere” he said “just like your gossip.” She tried to get the feathers back, though. That’s why I wonder if a vowel of silence would be good. There would be only you and God discussing everything in your head and you would not be expected to respond, or feed egos.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Sally says:

        EXACTLY ! I need to pray for the people around me to help me not to fall in to the terrible sins of gossip. Just in case, I should carry duct tape for back up

        Liked by 6 people

        • deereverywhere says:

          But Sally, wouldn’t it be fun to put the duct tape on other people’s mouth. That will really give them something to talk about!

          Liked by 3 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Deer, you’re such a whipper-snapper! 😉
            Remember that old word? lol

            Liked by 2 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Yes, Snowy but it was always prefaced by young, as in young whipper-snapper. I left young a while back. I think we may be able to make an infomercial using duct tape as a facial hair remover. When we are conversing with someone we no longer wish to hear we could offer them free facial hair remover in order to hush them up. Then we get out the duct tape. We need to think of a catchy name for it. They may be on to us if we call it duct tape. Any ideas?

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Haha! You’re right, it is young whipper snapper.
            Ideas hmm..The quicker ripper hair zapper- on a roll…order now and get a second one free. ALL for the low low price of 9.99? But not sure how well that’ll go over!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Order by midnight and get a second one free.

            Liked by 2 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Hey, who do you think we could get to demonstrate how it works? Would Doug be a good model? He could even demonstrate on squirrel s?but wait…a squirrel cook book worth $29.99 yours free just pay shipping and handling. Beckita already came up with a sweet and sour recipe, I could do something with Rotel tomatoes since the guys seem to like that. I’ll even include a secret cornbread recipe!

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            What a deal, but Charlie will not like if use it on his squirrel buddies.

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            I do get a little grumpy whenever anyone speaks of “barbecue’ squirrels or squirrel “cookbooks.”

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            Ha!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Beckita says:

            Oh Boy, Doug! Good thing we weren’t fully vetted concerning squirrel activities before being hired here. we’da’ never gotten da’ job, sweet n sour or not!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            I bet it’s a cover up and Charlie really has a secret stash of frozen squirrel meat ☺

            Liked by 3 people

          • charliej373 says:

            God forbid! I saw a black squirrel outside the cabin today. I love black squirrels. First saw one in Nova Scotia when I was 19…and I have loved seeing them ever since.

            Liked by 5 people

          • BlessedIam says:

            Charlie,
            A curious thing happened today. A squirrel crossed my path at three different times in three different places.

            Then I trimmed a ginger plant and brought the flower in for my daughter at her new apt. She moved in yesterday and she had no vases. The only thing I could find was an old wine bottle her room mate had painted with flowers. I used that.
            The brand of wine …. MEEKER.

            God bless you.

            Liked by 6 people

          • charliej373 says:

            It could be your guardian angel teasing you. Love it!

            Liked by 4 people

          • BlessedIam says:

            Haha. Not such quiet whispers!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            Amazing, Blessed!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            No, no.. a better one- quicker ripper hair gripper 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Oh, I like that one. We will have to charge the shipping and handling.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Duct tape hair rwmover? Ouch! What is a whipper snapper anyway? I have used this term in the past, but now that I think about it, I never thought what the root is.

            Liked by 3 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            I remember the term being used by actor Walter Brennan on the tv show ‘the real McCoys”. No one spoke like he did. He, like Chester from ‘Gunsmoke’ had what is inown as a hitch in his get-a-long (also called a limp). When I tried to find the origin of young whipper snappers, one dictionary said it was a term used by old geezers. I am old enough to have gray hair, wear bifocals and be a geezer. Is our God not great! Mick, if you are reading this, ‘Mission Impossible” Peter Graves and “Gunsmokes” James Arness were brothers in real life, in case you didn’t know because I am an old geezer and you still have snap.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Ok. The dictionary has a definition. An unimportant, but very presumptuous person; especially a youg person. Origin around 1665. Blend of whips ter and snippersnapper (whatever that means)

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            Here’s but one source concerning the origin of the expression whipper snapper: http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/whipper-snapper.html

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Fascinating. Thanks Beckita. I guess sitting in the back of the class with my spit balls and being impudent makes me a whipper snapper. This grasshopper needs to learn humility.

            Liked by 2 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Deer and Snowy, my dear dad, God rest his soul, was a *John* (his name) of all trades. There was really nothing he couldn’t do in a handyman sense. Duct tape was a staple in his workroom. He used it as a q. “Get me the duct tape” would be a common call for action. So who thought until recently it could be effective on gossip too? I guess it really is a temporary *cure all* 🙂

            Liked by 4 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Deer and Snowy, my dear dad, God rest his soul, was a *John* (his name) of all trades. There was really nothing he couldn’t do in a handyman sense. Duct tape was a staple in his workroom as the go to temporary fix-it solution. “Get me the duct tape” was a common call to action in our house. Anyway, until now, who thought it would be effective on gossip and facial hair too? It truly is a temporary *Cure All*.

            Liked by 3 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Dad’s are wonderful. 17 years ago, today I lost my dad. It was especially hard for my sister because it is also her birthday. 16 days before my dad died, my father-in-law, who we and hospice took care of died here of liver cancer. St. Pope John Paul II declared 1999 the year of the Father. When I told my sister that, she said that God must need a lot of dad’s up there. I always invite them to mass with me. Father Tom said when mass is said heaven is there so I ask them to join me. I sit right behind the handicap pew so there is enough room for them. Dad’s are wonderful.

            Liked by 3 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Deer, what a fine tribute to your dear father, God rest his soul. Dad’s truly are a blessing and I have prayed a special prayer for your dad this day of anniversary.

            Liked by 3 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Thank you. Dad’s are truly wonderful. I said a pray for all our dad’s at mass yesterday.

            Liked by 4 people

          • YongDuk says:

            I’ll mail you a few, Charlie!

            Liked by 1 person

  42. Sr Lorraine says:

    Dr Mark Miravalle has just done a wonderful book on consecration to St Joseph. I had never heard of that but this month is the perfect time; his feast day is March 19. This link at the divine mercy page has the prayers one can say for nine days to prepare for this consecration. It goes hand in hand with the Marian consecration:
    http://www.thedivinemercy.org/news/Nine-Days-to-Joseph-Consecration-Day-6234

    Liked by 3 people

  43. Bob says:

    Pope Francis on doing simple things and where our trust should be:
    http://www.news.va/en/news/pope-we-are-not-saved-by-political-or-clerical-par

    Liked by 3 people

  44. little one in PA says:

    I like your moritoreum on politics. I think the circus/chaos is part of the ploy of the evil one to distract folks from their daily prayers! he doesn’t want us to pray! the evil one wants us to fight, argue, etc. I suggest a black out or partial blackout aka fast from the news. It will give clarity of mind and respite for the spirit. And allow time for what is truly most important.

    Charlie under your tutelage amazing things are happening! The extent of which even I can’t fully see. A profound yes to the Lord sets about miraculous things great and small. But even in small things the abundance is overwhelmingly wonderful. Things are happening at such a great pace..trial and joy almost on top of each other in happening.

    It is my hope that the Lord gives you glimpses of the wonderful things happening for consolation and to sustain you in your darkest hours. When the Lord calls me home Charlie, please be sure that I will be one of your greatest advocates on the other side of the veil! You will suceed in your mission!!!

    Peace, Hope and Love!!!

    Liked by 7 people

  45. Kim sevier says:

    Yeah! Visited with my mom a bit tonight. When the debate came on I said I needed to go home and get to bed!

    Liked by 4 people

  46. Phyllis says:

    Charlie, I hope our paths cross at the Jericho March as they are expecting many people! I’ll miss Fr. Bill’s funeral, but I’m going to the vigil service and rosary for Fr. Bill Friday evening. See you soon God willing! I’ll be wearing a yellow scarf in memory of Fr. Bill who gave them out to his March 4 Life group in 2015, the first year I attended such an event. What an experience!

    Liked by 1 person

  47. Homehelper says:

    Charlie, could you describe Jesus a bit more? What’s He like? Thanks.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      Home, I have done some in the archives, but as regulars can tell you, I am very reticent about discussing matters of such curiosity. These are deadly serious times and anything that is primarily a matter of curiosity or speculation I am spare with, for it takes away from the central focus of what Jesus wants of us right now. We are on a battle footing now and need to stay very focused. That said, I discuss such things a little in the videos, particularly the Birmingham Video.

      Liked by 2 people

  48. Charles Walther says:

    As of late, the daily readings at Mass seem more and more in almost complete sync with the news and events of the day. A reading of Jerimiah on Feb 25 seems to speak directly to the high emotions and unruly passions regarding the elections. Jer chptr 17:5-10 “Cursed be the man who trusts in human beings, who makes flesh his strength, whose heart turns away from the Lord……..
    v.9 ..More tortuous than anything is the human heart, beyond remedy; who can understand it? v.10 I, the LORD, explore the mind and test the heart, giving to all according to their ways, according to the fruit of their deeds.” Certainly we need to be prudent voting citizens, but HEED well, we must not presume that human beings will solve any of the problems the world faces, Jer.17 v. 7″ Blessed are those who trust in the LORD, the LORD will be their trust.” I for one will heed Charlie’s words, there is no political solution to the increasing intensity of the Storm. Only a spiritual solution and a promised Marian rescue before 12/31/17. Pray for each other and for Charlie!

    Liked by 3 people

  49. Amy says:

    I think I missed all the hullaballoo Charlie. I have been busy being sick and taking care of sick kids which is par for the Lenten course at my house. I don’t have television so I miss a lot of the inflammatory stuff. I guess I have Coastal Georgia and the pine pollen from Haedes to thank for extricating me from the vicious (news) cycle. 🙂 God always gives us a way out! Haha! I think we may have delivered a few purgatorial souls this week. Last year it was Norovirus. Anything but that. Tea with honey and lemon anyone?

    Liked by 4 people

  50. Amy says:

    Thank you dear Beckita! You are a sweet soul. I daresay my little ones have been delivered from the pestilence now. 🙂 Praise the Lord and pass the hand sanitizer!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

