Bulletin: Mother Angelica Has Passed

Mother_Angelica

I just got word that Mother Angelica has died today. I had been told that her condition had worsened as Lent began. Please go to EWTN for more information. As you undoubtedly know, Mother Angelica founded EWTN in Irondale, Alabama. Ironically I spent much of my first few years of life at my great-grandmother’s in Irondale. No one would have expected it to become the center of Catholic Communications for the world. But Mother Angelica made it happen. May she be taken into the Kingdom and intercede for all of us in this poor bleeding world until the time of Rescue.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Spiritual Heroes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

164 Responses to Bulletin: Mother Angelica Has Passed

  1. aj says:

    How beautiful it is when The Mercy of GOD triumphs! May our sister Mother Angelica be Glorified through CHRIST JESUS!

    JESUS we Trust in You!

    Liked by 4 people

  2. jnursester says:

    My spiritual director Father Joe James, who used to travel hearing confessions with Father Robert DeGrandis, met Mother Angelica shortly after her stroke and said ‘she is very sweet”. I love EWTN and I know that she is a great Saint, like JPII, not yet acknowledged but she will be! Pray for us, Mother Angelica! And thank you to the person who posted her childhood picture here. What a wonderful soul!

    Liked by 4 people

    • marcyc48 says:

      I was blessed to hear Mother Angelic speak at a Holy Toledo Charismatic conference in the late 80’s. She radiated the love of Christ.
      I know there must be thousands in Heaven today, and more who will enter because she legad them to Jesus Christ. Mother stepped out in faith to build the first and largest Catholic TV and radio network so she could share the love, forgiveness, and mercy of our Savior.
      I don’t know if it will happen in my lifetime, but l believe Mother Angelica wil be named the patron saint for Television and radio. Pray for us and our world Mother Angelica, that we may
      come to know, love and serve Christ with the deep belief and trust you had !

      Liked by 3 people

  3. How absolutely significant that she died on Easter Sunday. Just as our beloved Pope John Paul II died on the vigil of Divine Mercy, God often speaks meaningfully with His saints. And what a singular saint Mother Angelica was; a most unusual model, her biography by Raymond Arroyo was riveting. I recommend it to everyone.

    We know that at our judgement, it will be weighed how our every word and action was sent out as ripples in the universal pond to the rest of the world, affecting posterity until the very last day of the human race. Most of us feel that we have affected relatively little, although we will no doubt be surprised, for good or ill. But look at how greatly Mother Angelica affected the world — unbelievably! In just my own small, very insignificant walk, she supported me in my transition to the Catholic faith, and in my most tiny way, I attempt to send on what I got from her and her baby, the EWTN network. Ripples.

    Tremendous affect, while suffering much in her faithfulness and determination. God bless her, from my own heart.

    Liked by 10 people

  4. Patricia says:

    Rest in Peace Mother Angelica. Back in 1992, my city was renewing a cable contract. I wanted the city to include EWTN. Since it was relativity still unknown in the New England area at that time, it was not being accepted very well. As time got short, I called down to the monastery to ask if Mother could call the Mayor and put her two cents in. They said unlikely because she was in the hospital and coming home that day. I left various phone numbers just in case but hope was dashed.
    That evening while I was in a public meeting, the phone ran in the room. It was Mother Angelica. She tracked me down and told me she had left a message with the Mayor’s wife. No words can express the joy I felt speaking to her.
    Through out the years, Mother and EWTN’s programs were a lifeline for me through very serious trials. With so few people to share the faith that I had come back to via Medjugorje, the personalities on EWTN became my friends, so to speak.
    The end of the story regarding the contract is that we did pick up EWTN and as noted later the phone calls were on December 8th.

    Liked by 16 people

  5. motherjackie says:

    What a wonderful saint. May she rest securely in our Lord’s embrace.

    Liked by 4 people

    • TLM says:

      I truly believe Mother is a saint, motherjackie! She loved the Lord Jesus SO VERY MUCH, she wasn’t afraid of speaking His truth, and wasn’t afraid to call out those who were not. A true warrior for Christ in His Church! So many wonderful quotes from her that I remember, said with such love AND HUMOR! How could you not love her? The one that comes to mind is when she was encouraging people to offer up whatever trials they were going through to the Cross of Christ, and how much eternal good it would do for our own souls and the souls of others! She would often say: ” Wouldn’t you rather spend your purgatory here than later? I would!” and then one time she said: “Don’t just shoot for purgatory, WHAT IF YOU MISS??!! (LOL) You’ve got to shoot for a direct shot to Heaven!!” When God made Mother, he certainly did throw out the mold, but what a BEAUTIFUL mold he made! The only fear Mother had was fear of the Lord, and really was not afraid to speak her mind if she thought His Church was under attack! She was fearless! And at the same time, LOVING, COMPASSIONATE AND DRIVEN to do the Lord’s will. May she rest in the peace of Christ! To pass away on Easter Sunday, should tell us all A LOT!!

      Mother Angelica pray for us!!

      Liked by 5 people

  6. Robert Andrist says:

    I enjoy your messages I was wondering if they have heard anything about the missing priest yet?

    Sandy Andrist sandrist@verizon.net

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Sadly, there are unconfirmed reports that Fr. Tom was crucified on Good Friday. Again, there is no evidence yet and people sometimes get overwhelmed by the salacious. Certainly, though, it is the sort of barbarity that ISIS specializes in.

      Like

  7. Snowy Owl says:

    I remember when I first came back to the Church I was a little overwhelmed at how incredibly holy some of the Saints I was reading about, were… and I remember feeling insecure and that I could never be like them or live up to their standards. I kept praying about this and then one day I turned on EWTN and there was Mother Angelica saying in her snappy, humorous, eye rolling way (haha)..with a bit of impatience how the biographers of some of the saints would probably go to Purgatory for at least 40 days for making the saints seem so pious and so unreachable….she Hmph’d.. and sat back, slapped her knees and looked at the people. Of course her audience blew out laughing and she started giggling. Oh how I loved her and her spunk! Another funny thing I remember hearing was that she was Mother Superior over her own mom!
    “Young Rita Rizzo’s mother was opposed to her desire to become a nun. So she ran away from home to enter a convent under the name Sister Angelica, which nearly ended their relationship entirely. Several years later, her mother not only reconciled with her daughter, but became a nun herself. She was admitted into the same convent as her daughter, just as Sister Angelica was promoted to Mother Angelica. Reflecting on this turn of events, Mother Angelica recalls “I called my mother Sister and she called me Mother.”

    Liked by 11 people

    • Doug says:

      Mother Angelica was an ordinary Schlub just like Charlie. Down to earth and amazingly beautiful in at heart.

      Liked by 7 people

      • Snowy Owl says:

        Doug…not sure what that word means in your neck of the woods…looked it up and it’s not good. I know what you meant- were trying to say… but that word- YIKES!

        Like

        • charliej373 says:

          He meant schlub – and there is no harm in it. I have changed it.

          Liked by 2 people

          • YongDuk says:

            Thanks for doing that for Doug, Charlie! I know how hard you have said it is to go back and find threads

            Liked by 1 person

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Yong Duk, I promise that I didn’t do that to Doug and would never do that to anyone-( if you are referring to me sticking my fingers in a wound.) :/ and Doug, I was just trying to help. I’m sorry for the confusion! But I would do it again, because it’s better to get in trouble for a worthwhile thing than do nothing for fear of exactly this. Can we all be happy now?? 🙂

            Liked by 4 people

          • YongDuk says:

            You may have misread the comment thread, HNSE. I was poking fun at Doug in saying what I did.

            Poke with my finger Doug I did.

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            I got it…Bishop Yoda it is!

            Liked by 4 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Yong Duk, I’m sorry I assumed you meant that fingers in the wound comment for me, I just did because I was the one who started it. 🙂

            Like

        • Doug says:

          Uh oh. Your right. I did not fully comprehend this. Sorry Charlie. Now I won’t hear the end of this from YD 😕

          Liked by 1 person

          • YongDuk says:

            One shouldn’t stick fingers in another’s wounds, points of brokenness or tenderness and obviously your knowledge of Yiddish expressions doesn’t quite qualify, but tonight, I will save this up for a mulligan.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            By the way, Easter blessings to you YD!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            No worries, Doug. We knew what you meant.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Doug, Charlie fixed it- it was just a misspelling! No need to worry. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Hmm, very big misstep. Maybe good for 10 souls? Thank you Beckita and Snowy. Such saintly woman you two are.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            Oh, Doug. Thanks to your innocent ways, we are again praying: May all the souls of the faithful departed through the Mercy of God rest in Peace. Amen. Holy Souls, as we pray for you, please pray for us, especially our families, as so many embrace the suffering in these days. Amen.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            You are so kind Beckita.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Och, i’ll jist gang sit in corner again. Ah try tae be guid an’ help an’ aw Ah dae is cause disasters! at leest aam guid at daein’ ‘at! ye ken whit they say… A nod’s as guid as a wink tae a blind horse (me) Hahaha! 😛

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            Now Snowy, there are no short cuts to getting souls out of purgatory. You must have honest typos☺

            Liked by 3 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Ah check an’ didne fin’ a single typo! Sae whit exactly ur ye implyin’?

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha! Keep trying, just keep trying….

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            They’re watching you Doug.. 👀 meany 😭😲☹

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Me? Meany?

            Liked by 1 person

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Yes, you! You wouldn’t let my typo-filled Scots-gibberish release any Holy Souls.( I just needed an excuse to use those funny paranoid eyes lol.)

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Uh oh. Yikes, now I’m in trouble with Snowy and YD…….

            Liked by 1 person

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Doug, you’re never in trouble with me! and I’m always in trouble with YD too. I think we need hair-shirts made out of course squirrel hair and we can wear them and repeat ‘I will not act squirrely on the blog ever again for the glory of God- over and over until we faint from exhaustion and itching lol.
            Or we could just grill squirrel and tomato kabobs.. 🐹🍡🍅🍢

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Mick, I fell in love with this half Scottish/English mix with James Herriot’s books long ago! All things Bright and Beautiful etc (he was a country Vet)… such a wonderful series, have you ever read them? If not, I highly recommend them!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            But YD, if my name was Thomas, would it not be ok to stick fingers in wounds? ☺

            Liked by 3 people

          • Mick says:

            Och, Snowy… that was like reading a George MacDonald novel, or the incredible Catholic classic “The Outlaws of Ravenhurst.” 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • Mick says:

            Snowy, I tried reading James Herriot when I was a kid. His books literally bored me to sleep. I’d like to give them another try, but I just don’t have much time to read these days.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Snowy, here is my take on the typos. When Jacki and were dating before we were married and the planet was still forming, we went to our favorite fast food restaurant and we were happy with the food and service. They had a survey box with cards and I filled out a survey card saying how nice the food and service was. Now, some time later, I got a thank you card in the mail and along with it was a certificate for a free meal. What a nice surprise. Now, a greedy little thought came to me. The next time Jacki and I were at the restaurant, I filled out a half dozen surveys giving the restaurant a glowing review on each one. To my dismay, nothing ever showed up in the mail. It was a valuable life lessons for me about our disposition and prayers.

            Liked by 2 people

  8. Yes, Our Lord called Mother Angelica on Easter Sunday, also the third day of the Novena to Divine Mercy: “Today bring to Me all devout and faithful souls …” Mother was certainly counted among the “devout and faithful souls” and as the late Fr. John Hardon, S.J. used to say to me: “the word ‘chance’ is not in God’s vocabulary.”

    Mother Angelica, pray for us!

    Liked by 10 people

  9. docallanw says:

    May she rest in peace! O Blood and Water, Which gushed forth from the Heart of Jesus as a Font of mercy for Mother Angelica, we trust in You!

    Liked by 6 people

  10. Dan Cheely says:

    Mother Angelica was a a true heroine, an example of “the way things ought to be.” I had a number of wonderful personal experiences with her. I can’t wait to talk about her on my radio show this weekend on Relevant Radio! I will feature her in the segment “Heroes Who Light Our Way.”

    Liked by 5 people

  11. Deacon Rick says:

    I just finished reading Fr. Frank Pavone’s wonderful tribute to Mother Angelica. https://www.lifesitenews.com/opinion/fr.-pavone-mother-angelica-taught-me-many-things.-but-these-are-the-greates
    One paragraph in the article illustrates, I believe, how Mother took the Next Right Step, and how we can apply that same advice in our own lives:
    On another occasion, I asked her, “Mother Angelica, how does one do great things for the Lord?” Her answer has been a guiding light for me ever since. She told me that the secret is to walk through the doors of opportunity that you have today, with courage, while you do not know how the plan will unfold tomorrow or the next day. She said that too many people will not take the first step unless they have a five or 10 year plan, and that this is a mistaken desire to have too much control and certainty. We have to trust in the Lord and do good today while we have the opportunity. Once we go through an open door, then God will show us what the next door is.

    Liked by 10 people

  12. zeniazenia says:

    Vatican City, Mar 28, 2016 / 02:54 pm (CNA/EWTN News).- Benedict XVI had a special response to Mother Angelica’s death falling on Easter Sunday: “it’s a gift.” I agree 🙂
    Eternal rest, grant unto her O Lord and let perpetual light shine upon her. May she rest in peace. Amen.
    May her soul and the souls of all the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace.
    Amen.

    Liked by 9 people

  13. theresa323 says:

    Dear Mother Angelica, she always said, we are family, and indeed Mother always made you feel that way.
    She definitely suffered her purification here on earth, and I would say she is smiling down on us this very day. Mother Angelica pray for us.

    Liked by 5 people

  14. Jeanna says:

    Rest in peace Mother. We miss you and the world seems a little colder and more formidable without you. Here is an old video of her (before the Vatican released the 3rd secret of Fatima) with what seems to be a very similar message as your Charlie.

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Julie Hutchinson says:

    God Bless Mother Angelica!

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Patricia says:

    This is a great short film about three people. One of the men, who was a successful model, also gay, was secretly watching Mother Angelica. These guys are so funny. I kept thinking I know them but I don’t. Don’t miss it.
    https://everlastinghills.org/movie/

    Liked by 3 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Patricia, I read about Darrow and how he was sneaking and watching her- they called her the Pirate nun because she had just had her stroke and was wearing an eye patch. Ha! Such a good story!

      Liked by 3 people

      • Beckita says:

        Oh My Goodness, Snowy and Patricia! I haven’t viewed the movie yet but it sounds wonderful. The moniker, Pirate Nun, caught my attention. I was a Pirate during my first year in college as I had surgery to correct amblyopia. Yep! One major cross (both truth and pun) in childhood was being teased, sometimes mercilessly, and called cross-eyed monkey on many an occasion. As an 18 year old, I decided to address the issue with eye surgery which was becoming quite common. My poor, anxiety-ridden dad tried to fear talk me out of it. I proceeded. Guess what? As I was walking across the library at the old Franciscan Briar Cliff College, it seems my patched eye drew the attention of a young man who had just returned from duty as a Marine, serving during the Tet Offensive of the Vietnam War. This guy actually leaned across a table and told a friend: “See that girl? I’m going to marry her.” I thought he was a bit crazed at first but you know what else? I married him and I’m still catching his attention, asking him to intercede for all of us and our families.

        PS HIS mother actually pierced one of his ears when he was an infant and middle-named him for a cowboy star she loved. Our children have always loved to inform their friends that their mom was a pirate who married a gypsy. (Now, no offense meant to any ethnic group as I defer to another definition of the word “gypsy:” One who follows an itinerant or otherwise unconventional career or way of life.”)

        Liked by 4 people

        • charliej373 says:

          Ha, Beckita…we are polite and affectionate here – but we most assuredly are not “politically correct.”

          Liked by 4 people

        • Snowy Owl says:

          Beckita, what a wonderful story! I love hearing people’s stories! (Sorry you had to be called names by the wee brats, I always feel bad for kids who get picked on! )
          Beautiful story about you and your husband- wow! My Grandpa said the same thing when he saw my Grandma walk across the road! He had never seen her before but he leaned over to his friend and said see that girl, I’m going to marry her, do you know who she is? Sigh 🙂 ! Marriages made in Heaven!

          Liked by 3 people

          • Beckita says:

            How very dear for your grandparents, Snowy! So much good came from being picked on. It shaped a lot of my pro-active guidance and responses to children’s interactions when I was teaching.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Beckita, yes, that is really what God can do if we let Him- bring good from bad. BUT I still think it was sad 🙂 I was a tiny thing yet if I saw kids- especially boys- picking on other kids I used to go and start fights with them..sometimes I’d punch their lights out or whomp them on the head with my books! I was a scrapper 🙂 my poor mom…lol

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            What a champion you were for the wee ones being picked on, Snowy! You’re still a champion and I’m so glad you’re in this family! XO

            Liked by 2 people

        • YongDuk says:

          Charlie… a couple of things:

          I went with my friends’ family and I discovered why children’s movies are less than 90 minutes and only a couple are released a year: Kids love to sit on your lap (a.k.a. leg for Doug’s sake). They squirm. Squirmming is very uncomfortable. I mean really uncomfortable. I mean excruciatingly uncomfortable, but you don’t want to kick them off as they are adorable and are having fun. And then the credits role and you stand up and can safely let out a sigh of relief as you limp out to the mini-van and say to the the family who invited you duplicately / [evilly] knowing that one of the two parents would have one of their legs spared, “Yeah, I would love another movie sometime” thinking to yourself the next Ice Age movie might never be released due to the Storm.

          Now, I realise that I mentioned I would love to be in the Kid’s Section in Heaven with St.John and Pope St. Pius X, but I figured the would each have their own seats, if not, I am doing the “Back of the Classroom” thing with Beckinita and Doug (you know, the barely-got-in-here-for-taunting-me section :-P).

          Liked by 3 people

          • charliej373 says:

            I was the oldest of six kids – in fact, the oldest of my generation on either side of the family. I babysat for almost all of my cousins. I raised two kids on my own, kept the grandkids a lot…I just love kids and almost never tire of them. I love watching their neurons start to fire. I have this absurdist, teasing way of arguing with them that completely engages them and can make stories up on the spot to amuse them. Once, my adult daughter was in the front as I was driving and my little grandson was in the back. We were play arguing – and reached one point where he was completely flummoxed at something I said. My daughter burst out laughing…and I asked her what was up. She laughed and said, “You used to do that to us…it is hilarious to hear you go on as an adult.”

            Liked by 4 people

          • YongDuk says:

            Yes, Charlie, they have the right to my hair extensions and my Chair and Baldachin… I am playing being so critical.

            It’s like Jesus says in the Divine Mercy Novenna, Innocence makes you smile and forget the sufferings and which just happens to be today:

            Sixth Day
            Today bring to Me the Meek and Humble Souls and the Souls of Little Children,
            and immerse them in My mercy. These souls most closely resemble My Heart. They strengthened Me during My bitter agony. I saw them as earthly Angels, who will keep vigil at My altars. I pour out upon them whole torrents of grace. I favor humble souls with My confidence.

            Most Merciful Jesus, You yourself have said, “Learn from Me for I am meek and humble of heart.” Receive into the abode of Your Most Compassionate Heart all meek and humble souls and the souls of little children. These souls send all heaven into ecstasy and they are the heavenly Father’s favorites. They are a sweet-smelling bouquet before the throne of God; God Himself takes delight in their fragrance. These souls have a permanent abode in Your Most Compassionate Heart, O Jesus, and they unceasingly sing out a hymn of love and mercy.

            Eternal Father, turn Your merciful gaze upon meek souls, upon humble souls, and upon little children who are enfolded in the abode which is the Most Compassionate Heart of Jesus. These souls bear the closest resemblance to Your Son. Their fragrance rises from the earth and reaches Your very throne. Father of mercy and of all goodness, I beg You by the love You bear these souls and by the delight You take in them: Bless the whole world, that all souls together may sing out the praises of Your mercy for endless ages. Amen.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Beautiful YD. Thank you. Sigh. My only regret is I wish I had more children….

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            Haha, YD! Love your story. Yours, too, Charlie!

            I was raised as one of ten lively human beings: 5 boys and 5 girls we were. My mother tells me we were ALL colicky babes and I was the queen of screaming as the 5th child chronologically yet the most colicky baby of all. You should have seen the likes of us driving to Minnesota for a family vacation, 10 children of various sizes packed into a station wagon with parents. My “spot” was lying on the top of the grocery boxes, with j-u-s-t enough room to be smooshed between boxes and interior ceiling, in the back end of the vehicle for 5 hours and 14 minutes. I think it qualifies as a purgatorial event.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Oh Beckita. That sounds line good family fun!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            WAY too funny, YD! 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • Doug says:

            Maybe St. Plus X and St. John will be sitting on your lap. When my son was in cub scouts, he/we made Larry the cucumber pinewood derby car and he got 1st place. Love those veggie tales.

            Liked by 2 people

        • Mick says:

          Beckita, I love the story about how you and your husband got together. Wow!

          Liked by 3 people

          • SusanMI says:

            Ha.. I should have read the comments first before posting in the prayer requests. YD beat me to commenting on the sixth day of the Divine Mercy novena. It brings a warm smile to my heart to think of our Heavenly Father as he delights in the pure sweetness of these little ones.

            Liked by 3 people

  17. Bob says:

    And today is mother’s funeral. She was a lady who, with God’s help, took many Next Right Steps!!

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

