From the Tomb

Stone-Rolled-Away

By Charlie Johnston

“Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal which comes upon you to prove you, as though something strange were happening to you.” – I Peter 4:12

 

I have always dreaded the interregnum between noon on Good Friday until the Vigil. There is a grey emptiness to it that hangs like a shroud over the hours. I didn’t like it even when I was a Protestant. Catholics emphasize that quality in a way that makes it into a deep ache, the shrouding of the Crucifix, the empty Holy Water fonts, the bareness of the altar. We are in mourning.

I have said many times that no one will be left untouched by the Storm, that each of us will have much to bear, will know sorrow, will know strife. Now I hear from people constantly who are suffering agonizing torments in their own families, amongst their friends and at work. I hear from some who thought they would be safe havens telling me of terrible upheaval within their ranks and among their fellows. We are all in need of purification. God purifies His own to prepare them to help others who do not know to reach out to Him.

I have told you that you are called to be signs of hope to those who have long past given up on hope – and to do this in a time of great trial, the greatest that has yet come upon the world. In a sense, you are called to be God’s special forces in these times. Can special forces be effective without training? Of course not. You must endure a touch of what multitudes must soon endure, that you may be strengthened to get outside yourself and focus on gathering God’s children back to safety.

When I was a young man, there was a period when our family was undergoing much stress and strain. For two of my young siblings, Steve and Kim, it was a very scary time. They were old enough to know things were not quite right and that there was constant tension all around, but too young to understand what it was or what to do about it. After she was an adult my sister told me that sometimes, she would lay fearfully awake at night, waiting for me to get home from work. Whenever I got home, I always went upstairs to look in on the kids. She said I would start telling her goofy stories and singing silly songs, laughing and joking with them. Then she would get to laughing with me and all would be okay and she could go to sleep. It struck a chord in me. I remembered during that time and how often I saw such fear and confusion in their eyes – and how I would pretend not to notice it and just do exactly what she had remembered. I could not have beguiled her from her fear with clever arguments and such. But I could be visibly joyful and jaunty. I could show how I loved them. And that was enough, in fact, far more effective than the cleverest argument.

I call on each of you, when trials come, when turmoil surrounds you and people you care for, trust! Do it with joy. Trust and joy, like faith, are acts of your will. You have no idea how many people you can inspire to new hope simply by living trials with steady trust and joy. Think, for a moment, of the centurion who was near the foot of the Cross and proclaimed, “Surely this was the Son of God.” We do not know that this centurion knew much about how Jesus lived. If he did, it was not enough to convince him of Christ’s divinity. It was seeing how Jesus died that convinced the centurion that Jesus was the Son of God. When trials come upon you it is an opportunity to give living witness to the hope you claim, not just a struggle or a setback. Live the witness of grace under fire because you trust in God and you will inspire multitudes, even some of your tormentors. Never waste the graces to be found in a storm.

People often want a shortcut, some easy, certain assurance that will grant them complete trust. There is none. If you want trust, you must trust. When you are suffering the greatest trials, that is when you have the opportunity for the most trust – and to build it into something rock solid. Trust when you have no reason to trust, when all seems lost and hopeless, and then trust becomes like a rod of iron you can count on.

Trust and faith are not about finding the right assurance, but are always an act of the will. We must each choose. If we have the fortitude to choose faith and trust, it becomes stronger in us over time. If we are never forced to choose under dire, fearful circumstances, it will never become strong in us. So if people choose a shortcut, they can only obtain the illusion of trust, an illusion that would burst under real trial. We need an army of faithful whose determination is to live trust until death, regardless of circumstances or appearances. That cannot happen if people vest their trust in anything outside themselves except God, His Saints and His angels.

When you look past the thin veil of the monstrous disorders that disfigure our culture, the central question of our time is whether life has any meaning at all. The progressive humanists who have achieved cultural dominance conclude it does not. Yet even they long for immortality. Having boxed themselves into believing life has no meaning, they greedily grasp for the dollar store knock-off of immortality; supreme power over their inferiors. They conclude, with Dostoevsky, that if God does not exist, all is permitted. Their pursuit of the transient meaning of raw power bursts the restraints of their narcissistic self-absorption. Untrammeled temporal ambition, clericalism, deceit, treachery, relentless attacks on anything that suggests the transcendant might be real are unleashed to preserve and advance their position and power. But the harvest of materialistic humanism is ever despair.

This, too, is a threat to the power of the atheist progressives. So they seek to distract those they would make their subjects by indulging their appetites with sensations. But each new sensation soon becomes mundane – and the central question bobs back to the surface: does life have any meaning at all? To continue to distract, new sensations must get progressively more bizarre and dysfunctional. Eventually a whole culture is dancing the masque of the red death, with all expecting nothing but death when the clock tolls midnight. The manic, hysterical quality of the dance is fueled by the quiet desperation that drives it; the closer people come to midnight, the more frantically they indulge disorder in hopes of casting a masque over their hopelessness. Behind the frenzied orgy of disorder one can sense the keening wail of a desperate question: is this all there is?

For the progressive elite to preserve their dollar store version of immortality – power – the answer must ever be yes – and all threats must be ruthlessly strangled. They do not fear traditionalists or conservatives, those toadies who are content with getting the best seats at the cultural surrender ceremonies. They do not fear scientists, who have shown an eager willingness to trade objectivity and method for long-term grants. They do not fear the religiosity of those who reduce the Gospels to pabulum to justify treating “the poor” as children of a lesser god – to whom they must minister…and command. They do not fear anyone who treats life as an exercise in self-actualization, for they understand that and know they can co-opt and recruit such toxic narcissism to their cause. They fear God and those who treat Him as the Reality He is rather than just a pleasant fairy tale, the opiate of the masses. They fear those who proclaim that life does have meaning, that that meaning is to be found in faith, family, freedom and fraternity. For if life has transcendant meaning, the foundation of their dominance is less than sand.

If life has transcendant meaning, the darkness of despair must recede from the light of that transcendance. The enemies of the light will ever shriek and attack that meaning, offering sensation in place of truth, appetite in place of love. We are called to be witnesses to the light, unshakeable in proclaiming that we were made to live with God in eternity; not to climb over the backs of our fellows for transient advantage, but to live in joyful communion with him, seeking his good as he seeks ours; to love our families more than ourselves; to act as creators in the image of God, not as mere consumers, and the right to enjoy and share the fruit of our labors. We are called to do that not in any over-arching, grandiose way – that is the way of the petty schemers. Rather, we are called to share the light as we do at the Vigil Mass of Easter, simply lighting the candle of the person next to us until the whole House is filled with light.

We are at the edge of a great battle between darkness and light. When things go well, give thanks to God and rejoice. When facing trials, give thanks to God and rejoice. When disaster looms, give thanks to God and rejoice, trusting that He will not let you to be put to shame so long as you hold fast to Him. We are the light of the world, called to carry the light of the Master to all ends of the earth, called to assure people with confident certainty that God made us, He loves us, and He calls us to love each other as true brothers and sisters – to participate in His love. Life DOES have meaning and it is this.

We have many trials yet to come. Yet today, the Lord of Life has come forth from the tomb. Let us come forth with Him, that it may be said for generations to come that the people in darkness have, indeed, seen a great light, and the light Is Christ, and it was carried forth by intentional disciples who endured until the light filled the whole world.

He is risen. Allelujah!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Christian Persecution, Culture, Family of God, Solidarity, The Rescue, Trust. Bookmark the permalink.

352 Responses to From the Tomb

  1. BlessedIam says:

    Amen. Alleluia!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Magdalene says:

    I wonder if that is what is going on in my spiritual life—a purification? I can live with that.

    Liked by 3 people

    • al chandanais says:

      Amen to realizing it is purification, Jesus says he did not come to Judge and still does not Judge, so all must be purification. It is wonderful, to be reminded so the evil does not take advantage. Thank you Charlie

      Liked by 3 people

      • al chandanais says:

        A couple weeks ago I requested prayer for the agony i was in from tendon injuries to my groin. I said I was at the end of my rope and needed prayer, well this is an update. That night I crawled into bed and pulled the same very sore tendon again but this time a charlie horse accompanied it. The pain so severe I could only scream O God O God, my wife laid hands on me and it settled enough to get up and request help from you. Two weeks have passed and most of the symptoms have passed, thank God but I held true to God and to His Glory I stand firm in him. I did not say why me, I did not curse the pain, I held strong and came for aid and Jesus answered our prayers. Praise God Thank you Steppers and Mother Nary and of course my only refuge Jesus.

        Liked by 7 people

  3. John OBrien says:

    Dear Charlie,

    I have puzzled a bit over your description of the role you have been asked to prepare people for. No more. Your article today answered my questions and clarified the mission. It must have been a very taxing piece to write! Thanks for all you do.

    Regards,

    John

    >

    Liked by 10 people

    • jaykay says:

      I agree, John. Thank you Charlie for that light-filled post. Mark Mallett has written for years now about the Trumpets of Warning. You’d need to be totally deaf, and clueless, not to hear them these days. But the same Trumpets will sound for the dawning. May we all be awake to hear them, with our lamps full of oil and ready for the Bridegroom. Which I think is what Charlie is saying here: hold tight, friends, and trust, do and love, even when the storm is at its darkest and you can’t even see your feet. Keep on the Way.

      Blessed Easter week to all, and: First Friday and Saturday coming up, then Divine Mercy on Sunday. God bless, J.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Bill Kish says:

    May we all meet Mother Angelica with Jesus and Mother Mary in heaven.

    With Christ,

    Bill

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Kim Sevier says:

    So beautiful and insightful, Charlie. Dear God, please help me be Your intentional disciple.

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Jennifer says:

    I used to think this attitude of joy amidst sorrow as “posative thinking” and write it off. But with my trials of late it has been clear that joy and trust are acts of the will some times. I was meditating on these themes too, pondering how bad things must have looked on Holy Saturday. I can relate! This article has been a very clear confirmation to me. Thanks. Now may God grant the grace to live it.

    Liked by 6 people

  7. tmbrune says:

    Therefor, let us hold firmly to our resolve to Carry the Light of Christ to all we meet…in season and out of season, In times of tribulation and in times of sorrow. Always bringing hope and joy to every situation. Depending on Christ our light and Mary our Mother for strength and the Holy Spirit for guidance and Wisdom. Knowing too that we are surrounded by a cloud of witnesses who are cheering us on. May we not look back but with courage continue to take a step forward until the day of our Rescue. How Blessed we are to be Children of the Light called by God to be alive in this time and to be recruited into the His Army. Father keep each one of strong with Your Strength.
    All Glory Honor and Praise To the Most Holy Trinity for leading us to Victory in the Triumph of Mary’s Immaculate Heart

    Liked by 8 people

  8. Kim Sevier says:

    I am reading Fr. Gaitley’s book, “The second greatest story ever told”. It is excellent – there are many quotes from St. John Paul regarding the fact that we are living in unprecedented evil times. It is an affirmation to me because some of my family and friends maintain that there have always been terrible things going on in the world and this time is no worse. NOT!

    Liked by 9 people

  9. Jo says:

    Eish, Charlie – waiting is always so hard to do. Waiting “to be” purified ? “Christ with me, Christ before me, Christ behind me, Christ in me, Christ beneath me, Christ above me, Christ on my right, Christ on my left,……….” for all of us that we fall not into fear and despair.

    Liked by 5 people

  10. radiclaudio says:

    Excellent post. TY Charlie.

    It brought to mind below link to a short clip. I don’t know Tom Brandy and have no idea of his relationship with Christ. But when I hear him say there has to be more to life then this, it makes me pray he has a Catholic friend to guide him to his Yes. There is so much more!

    Watch “Tom Brady – There has to be more than this” on YouTube

    Much love to my TRNS family this Easter. Mother Anglica, pray for us.

    Liked by 4 people

  11. deereverywhere says:

    Happy Easter, everyone!!!! In our church, we have a new statue of St. Joseph. I had it in mind to light a candle for everyone here. When I approached a little boy ran ahead of me an I asked him if he would pick a candle to light, while his mother supervised. So, on this terrific day a child has lit a candle for all of us. How Good is our God. It’s Mother Angelica’s birthday to heaven!🍰 Who wants cake? Hit me with the tag line Crew Dog then it will be a perfect day! ( you may have already and I haven’t read that far)

    Liked by 13 people

  12. He is risen indeed! Happy Easter, Charlie, and the TNRSers!

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Hopenjoy says:

    During this past Holy Week, I joyfully witnessed a quiet miracle in my family…I posted about a week ago about my college son coming home and breaking down in tears about being depressed, struggling with grades, social issues, an injury, rainy dark weather…how he had experienced a “mini-illumination” from the Lord about some things in his life…and how he has been feeling drawn to prayer and Mass…and I asked for your prayers. Thank you, friends.

    During this week home, he spent a lot of time outside in the sun doing hard physical work on our property, I showed him how to read and use his long-ago Catholic youth Bible from Confirmation; he started a morning routine of tea, sitting in the sun and reading his Bible; I sent him a link about getting a daily Bible verse on his phone; he expressed great appreciation for my husband’s and my support in his life all these years; he happily attended Holy Thursday and Easter Vigil with me (we live in a rural area, our priest serves 4 churches so no Easter service in our area); and his demeanor and attitude slowly grew in hope and joy throughout the week. I thanked him for going to Mass with me….for years, I’ve been by myself in the pew…and he honestly said, “Mom, this sounds bad, and I don’t mean it that way, but it’s not about going to please you, it’s going because I want to be with God and please Him.” Parents, you’ll understand this and marvel: my child WANTS to go to Mass! When he was getting ready to head back to college, he was receptive to the idea of starting to go to the Newman Center on campus, staying in contact with another gal who is Catholic as a support, and the idea of going to confession for Divine Mercy Sunday.

    So this week, witnessing his conversion and return to the Lord and the sacramental life, after God breaking him down with stress and depression, then calling him with an “illumination” and my son responding in faith…has been such an indescribable blessing to this longtime praying mom. The Lord has promised me my family’s conversion, in fact about a year ago I got the impression that I would “no longer be alone in my home with my faith”….and this past Holy Week I literally had that come true with my son stepping out in his conversion. I literally cannot stop smiling deep within, praising and thanking the Lord for his faithfulness and mercy toward my family. Now I feel refreshed and renewed to continue the prayers for the conversion of my husband, two older sons, and daughter-in-law. Things are definitely happening in the spiritual realm, the bowls of prayers from the saints are getting full….it is a miracle to at least begin to witness results of this fruit in my family! Praise be to God! Jesus, I trust in You…Mary, take over.

    Liked by 22 people

    • charliej373 says:

      And now you know much more about Resurrection and Rescue than you did a week ago – and so your trust is being perfected.

      Liked by 7 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Hope and joy, what a joy to have that Holy Week Miracle. Thanks be to God!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Thanks be to God, Hopenjoy! Thanks for sharing your incredible story. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Your screen name has come to fulfillment in new ways. Hopenjoy. All Glory to God!

      Liked by 2 people

    • YongDuk says:

      Hope and Joy, thank you for sharing this with us–I am sure that I can speak for all of us who took your son into our hearts, that we are overjoyed for him and so happy for you!

      Share this with him as gently as you can and do not put a demonic spin on it, but let him know to not get isolated. As for you and a means to pray, know that Satan’s–especially in Youth–seeks to isolate or make them feel isolated (music, as JOJ–Happy Easter, JOJ, I was indeed praying for you–mentioned, etc.) even if in pockets of peer groups in which they get stuck. So, to counter that: Newman Communities and Daily Mass or prudent contact with Ecumenical groups for weekend activities excursions (hikes, dinners, etc.). Try to steer him to community. He doesn’t need to fit in with the different personalities, but they tend to want / desire to be wholesome and at least for an hour a day (t. zn. if Mass with Rosary) he will have at least that Community.

      Community is so important in our youth. From them, which having risen out of families, rise new families and new vocations.

      One cautionary note: Some Protestant Groups on University Campuses can be very radically anti-Catholic, as sincere and wonderful as they are in living their Faith life. At that age, youth can be very black and white, especially in this day and age. So, they easily, in their love for Scripture, become ardently biblically fundamentalistic and easy prey for anti-Catholic interpretations.

      Thank you again for sharing your joy!
      +

      Liked by 8 people

      • Beckita says:

        True wisdom, YD. Amen. Amen and Alleluia!

        Like

      • Hopenjoy says:

        Thank you so much, I will be seeing him next weekend and plan on discussing this…and to help him be ready for things to get rocky as he starts this personal walk with Christ and His Church!

        Liked by 3 people

      • Joj says:

        Thank you, thank you, you Grace, YD! I should have guessed someone was praying for me as I had special graces during my retreat this week! Your prayers are powerful! 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        • YongDuk says:

          Ha! All but for myself 😉

          Like

        • YongDuk says:

          (Forgive me, I did not mean that snarky at all… Yes, God has greatly blessed me, but like St Paul of the Cross and Bl. Mother Teresa… I am happy to simply serve. Pray that I be faithful, sometimes I get like Charlie gets accused of being.)

          Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            YD, it’s ok. We love you.

            Liked by 1 person

          • Joj says:

            Accused of being? Ah, a sign of contradiction. Then you are truly representing Christ, YD! How awesome to be despised by the world! Yes, I am already praying for you; He is a tough act to follow. I much prefer obscurity over your heavy burden. But keep hold of His words: My grace is sufficient for you.

            Liked by 2 people

    • Dolly says:

      Thank you for this, Hopenjoy. Hope and joy is what it gives me as I still wait for that outward answer to my prayers for my children. Your sharing has allowed me to witness God’s love and mercy for a suffering soul.

      There was a time when reading the account of your joy for prayers answered, would have turned the knife in my heart and made me cry out, “Lord, what about me? What about my prayers?” Not anymore. Prayer has given me the ability, through grace to trust, to trust in God, to trust in His love for me and my children. I believe the moment I cried out to Him in pain, He heard. He will not ignore a mother’s prayer for her children. I am learning to take delight in other’s testimonies of answered prayers. If not for them, how on earth could there be any hope? I know He is answering my prayers as I type this. The outward sign of His answer to my prayers for my children may not be obvious to me yet, but the interior peace that I have, is real. Should I not expect Him to be working interiorly with my children too? Yes!, yes I do! I whole heartily share in your hope and joy!

      Liked by 7 people

    • wpsahm says:

      HopenJoy, I rejoice with you! As it stands now I have 2 grown sons away from the Church and am relying on getting my 18 yo daughter to Mass through obedience to me and her father. I do concern myself with the conveyance of my own soul when I depart this earth, but my real anguish and worry is for my children. I spent so many wasted years lapsed from my Catholic faith, and if I did not know what was coming, I would be patient for their return.

      But I am a silly goose, for GOD knows all these things and I fully place my trust in Him to draw them to Himself in His time. So even when I try to worry, I really can’t because of my complete trust in the triune God. So let us praise and glorify, marvel and wonder at the greatness of our God!!!

      Liked by 5 people

  14. Mack says:

    Very encouraging post, Charlie, especially as the Storm deepens. I just saw reports that Fr. Tom was indeed crucified by ISIS and this is sickening. Yet he is a martyr and now on heaven. May he intercede for us as things darken. May God use the sacrifice of his life in union with Jesus to bring about conversion of the Muslims.

    Like

  15. Hi My name is Veronica Shankar. I need prayers for my brother Ian Pio Chua. He had an enlarged heart and had it repaired some time back and recently had a stroke and is undergoing physical therapy. He emailed me yesterday and said he feels he is going to die. Can you please pray for him? Thank you, Charlie. My husband’s name is Charles too. My 3 sons are Shawn, Shane and Shaye. Thank you, I will pray for you too.

    Your ‘messy’ sister in Christ Peggy Veronica Chua Shankar

    The Shankars+

    Like

  16. Susan Werner says:

    Happy Easter, Charlie

    Like

  17. Doug says:

    Very profound and deep Charlie and right on target.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. CrewDog says:

    It appears that Father Tom, kidnapped by Islamic Terrorists, was crucified by these evil animals at Eastertide. We have another Saint to intercede for us.
    RIP Father Tom and thank you for your service! AMEN!!
    “BREAKING: Fr. Thomas Uzhunnalil was crucified by ISIS on Good Friday ~ Cardinal Schönborn confirmed the priest’s martyrdom during the Easter Vigil”
    http://www.catholicanada.com/2016/03/27/breaking-fr-thomas-uzhunnalil-was-crucified-by-isis-on-good-friday-cardinal-schonborn-confirmed-the-priests-martyrdom-during-the-easter-vigil/

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Like

  19. Charlie says:

    Dear Charlie!
    What you say is filled with Heavenly Wisdom and all praise and honor to our Lord for that! Six month ago I had to relocate to Florida from South Dakota for a job opportunity. During this time away from my wife, which was profoundly difficult, I was also separated from a small group of Catholic brothers in Christ, and the intimate and life giving faith sharing we enjoyed weekly. So, taken from these gifts of life, I was led into a desert, you might say, and was tested. I mean I was tested in ways I have never known before. I have not had a “night of the dark soul” but numerous “nights of the dark soul” where I truly felt vanquished at times. On the outside I was buoyant and good worker to all. Always one to come to the support of others and do the best I could in my professional capacity. But on the inside I felt as if I was dying and suffocating in the land of exile that I felt myself in. In a way I begin to understand our Blessed Jesus’ loneliness while he was away from His Father while on his salvation mission to us.

    Your speak about trusting in God; yes, I know exactly what you mean, and it was through the shedding of many many tears, after having received our blessed Jesus in Holy Communion, that I begin to see what true trust in His saving will is all about. Now, by God’s grace, I am returning to South Dakota where I believe our Heavenly Father wants me to resume the mission in my life that begin in 1987 amongst the Lakota Sioux people. So I return with an ardor and vigor for my life in Christ that could only come about after been through lessons about trusting in God that are essential to following Christ as one of his disciples. It’s an age ole thing that begin with John the Baptist most eloquent yet simple words that have echoed down thru the ages for all those who truly want to follow Jesus to Calvary and rise with Him on Easter: “HE MUST INCREASE AND I MUST DECREASE”.

    So, from one Charlie to another Charlie, all praise and honor to our Most Holy Triune God for with what great Love they have loved us!!

    Liked by 8 people

  20. Cindy says:

    Much gratitude Charlie for this post. I, like many, have close family members who have becoming increasingly hostile to me for no apparent reason. Covert persecution is now becoming increasingly overt and my only explanation is the increasing spiritual divide. For those of us who have a faith and trust in God, attempting to live our lives accordingly; we now are the symbolic threat. Yet as you so eloquently put it, the true threat to the scattered sheep is their own confusion and fear in the face of perceived random meaninglessness. This post reminds me that my job is NOT to defend myself but to be a steady vessel of faith, joy, trust, and calm. The test of my grit is how I model these choices especially when under direct personal attack. It is a tall order but I am willing to try for it is all I can do with these small hands. With God’s help all things can be done for His Hand is far reaching and beyond measure! Thank you again Charlie for confirmation of our current reality and guidance as to how to proceed. Your words shored up my Easter walk.

    Liked by 8 people

  21. Beckita says:

    While Phoenix received what sounds like a sweet Easter card with a squirrel image this weekend, my little city received news of an indoor trampoline park being built. Apparently, these sorts of centers have been erected all over the nation. Ours is billed as “massive” and, more noteworthy than that, it is called FLYING SQUIRREL MISSOULA!

    The hyped ad brags: “Imagine a club with no gravity combined with lasers, black lights, strobes and fog machines,” Schueler said. “Bounce to the beat of our resident DJ as he spins the latest tracks making our universe the place to be. Your heart will beat with excitement to experience a night at Neon Lights.” All I could think was this experience will pale in comparison to the heart-beating experience of living through the intensity of the Storm.

    Liked by 3 people

  22. narnialion says:

    Charlie and all Friends,
    Pelianito’s message from Easter dovetails so beautifully with yours, Charlie.

    From Pelianito:

    I left the tomb empty. Then do not return to it to sit weeping in the dark…

    Luke 24:12 Peter got up and ran to the tomb; stooping and looking in, he saw the linen cloths by themselves; then he went home, amazed at what had happened.

    “My beloved, can you even imagine such a moment? My servant, my friend Peter, traumatized by the horror of my death, now had to somehow accept this unimaginable reality—I had risen! You too are immersed in a world that gives birth to horror and terror at every moment. I come to give you great hope. Just as the resurrection was an unimaginable joy to the disciples, so too will the era of peace be to all who are now traumatized by the horrors all around. Be not afraid. I left the tomb empty. Then do not return to it to sit weeping in the dark. I have come to set the captives free and I will do it. The glory to come is unimaginable to you. Trust in me. Pray for sinners. Children, I am near, so near!”

    O my Jesus, thank you for these words of hope! Our hearts are breaking over the sin and suffering in the world. Jesus we trust in you. We give you all souls in the Divine Will so that your mercy will act on them as it so longs to do. We immerse them in the ocean of your mercy. Jesus, Mary, and Joseph, we love you—save souls!

    To all my dear friends, I pray that the glorious light of Easter will shine forever on you and yours. I treasure your presence, thank God for your faithfulness, and pray for you each day. I thank you for your prayers for me and mine as well.

    He is risen indeed! Alleluia! Maranatha!

    https://pelianitoblog.wordpress.com/2016/03/26/5164/

    Liked by 3 people

  23. Ray says:

    There is something comforting about realizing that what is inflicting pain and suffering to oneself or a close loved one is purification whether it is from the evil one or self inflicted . It helps to realize , I am not just simply going nuts. I am having similar experiences as many others , I hope this is just not the old misery likes company attitude. I do not know of one family today that is not dysfunctional and is suffering some kind of ( purification). I Pray every day that, that is what is happening and it strengthens Hope and builds faith
    God bless you Charlie , You are making a difference.
    Raymond

    Liked by 7 people

  24. KMA says:

    Absolutely beautiful,Charlie, and so needed. I think one of the greatest misconceptions we have is that our feelings are our faith, and that our thoughts and feelings are the truth of how God sees us. Ha! A trick of the enemy, leading to complacency or despair. I have begun to understand acts of the will and thank God for them. There have been many times in my life that I have said “Jesus, I trust in you” through gritted teeth. What I thought were words uttered in hypocrisy, the priest directing me at the time said was a great act of faith. I had it completely turned around.I am learning. More and more I understand and love St. Terese, and your counsel, and see the connection between them. No wonder she is your/our patron Saint. The life and death of Mother Angelica help me to realize that God is working powerfully in these times, and that fumbling, stumbling sinners like me can know that we are loved as we are.

    YD and our dear priests here, know that you are loved, appreciated, and prayers prayed for daily. Your presence here just makes me feel safe. No small thing. I know that even though I may never meet you on Earth, I have Jesus and Mary’s beloved sons praying for me. What a beautiful consolation! I have loved reading the stories of all of the NRS’s and their memories of priests. I say invite them over! I am sincere when I say the times my husband and I have done so are some of the best times we’ve had! Lots of fun and laughter. They are regular guys who have extraordinary responsibility before God and big, fat, targets on their backs because of who they are. We try to make our home a “safe haven” for them- a place where they can set down the weight of the office and of souls, and let themselves be loved and served. We are blessed by their presence.

    Prayers for all here.

    Liked by 7 people

  25. totustous says:

    Charlie , I’m reading your post and am so grateful for it especially tonight as I sit opposite my 31 year old daughter visiting before leaving to live in England for 2 years. She was a devout child and lived close to the Lord, working in his vineyard in youth ministry, until 4 years ago she suffered burnout from so much pressure from herself and those above her. She left the Church, and Jesus to “live her life”. It meant that I was to be avoided and blamed at all cost ( because I had shared with her the messages of Akita, a mistake in hindsight as she was too sensitive) and I now walk on eggshells in fear of saying the wrong thing. She is very hostile to me, but then I get a glimpse of a breakthrough with her. It is hard to not take it personally but I don’t bite back. Your posts redirect my heart back to the Cross and give me hope. Thank you, I’m so grateful the Holy Spirit guided me here, I feel all here are a true family. Love and prayers and Happy easter

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Pray, Totus…offer up your sorrow over her up for her – and believe that you will see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living with her in God’s good time.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      Praying for you and your daughter, Totustous, and for all families, in petition and already in thanksgiving for the great day of relationship healing which comes with Rescue, As I understand it, holy order will be restored with each one’s primary relationship, that with the Lord, healed with focus on Him in such a manner that we all love one another in greater depth. God bless you.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Mick says:

      Prayers for your daughter and for your, Totus.

      Like

    • ann says:

      Dearest Totustous–Your words resonate with me. I too have children who have left the faith far behind and I too realize I spoke words to them that were better left unsaid. (in hindsight) Now I keep silent (I know all about walking on eggshells) and don’t “take the bait” but I do pray (and pray and pray) and trust and trust and trust. I do believe as Charlie quotes the psalm “I will see the bounty of the Lord in the land of the living” however I still berate myself sometimes for keeping silent. It’s a hard balancing act–knowing when to speak and what to speak. Begging the Holy Spirit to be the guard at the gate of my words to speak when necessary and to keep silent when necessary. A fine priest told me once to talk less to my children about God and more to God about my children. 😉

      Liked by 4 people

      • charliej373 says:

        Shortly before she converted, my sister told me she had long wanted to be like me. I was startled and asked what she meant. She said that I didn’t browbeat anyone and was glad to treat all as a friend, but I would take no attacks on my own faith – that I was perfectly happy with who I was and glad to be anyone’s friend, but don’t mess with my faith unless you wanted to get told. She said she would love to be that comfortable and confident in her own skin and generous with everyone else. It was a nice thing for her to say – and I think if you can live that, you can give heart to many.

        Liked by 5 people

      • Beckita says:

        Thanks for this, Ann: “A fine priest told me once to talk less to my children about God and more to God about my children.” God bless you and all here!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Doug says:

        I hear you Anne. I have a daughter who has walked away from the faith and she gets all the prayers and causes the most worry. I’m trusting God.

        Liked by 1 person

  26. Anna L says:

    Prayers are needed for my son and his family who have been going through rough times.

    Liked by 2 people

  27. Hidden flower says:

    I will continue to fight on and do my upmost to be a soldier for Christ, regardless of how I feel. I seem to recall St. Faustina struggling with her feelings and she was my “first Saint”. This is an article that is now printed out and ready to be read and contemplated over and over. Happy Easter everyone! All remain in my prayers daily.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Joj says:

      A friend told me she found it annoying that St. Faustina was emotionally turbulent, but I actually felt attracted to her for that very reason. I guess people think saints should be confident and solid, but that is not the reality for most of us, and we are all called to be saints. Anyway, HF, I’m glad to hear you refer to that with St. Faustina.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Doug says:

        Oh yes Joj. When I read her Dairy, I could see the insecurity and as I got deeper, the trust and confidence emerged as she learned more and more about how much she (us) is loved and how she more and more trusted in God’s mercy.

        Liked by 1 person

  28. bthanntrm says:

    It was about 17 years ago God started me through a test. I failed got up and failed again. finally I just realize that I couldn’t but God could. My Husband left, I was conned( a time I failed), lost my home, started having autoimmune problems, a sleeping disorder, Lost all my adopted children to hate from them, was raising a grandchild from birth and he was taken from me by my son and his new g-friend when he was six. They don’t let me see him very much. I went through a 14 year dark night no feelings about God at all but I Knew he was with me. Your blog and the comments from you all gave me so much comfort it helped me get through these hard times. It is still very hard and I’m still going through it but I don’t get so upset even when I get hit again, Which seems to happen often for me. I told God I would suffer if he wanted. Watch what you agree too. But THANK YOU ALL for your faith and laughter you probably will never know all the people you have helped by this site until you reach heaven. God Bless you All. I keep you in my prayers!

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      May the Lord watch over and keep you, bthan.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      Praying for you bthan. Taking you with me in prayer tonight to my Tuesday evening Adoration time. God’s Peace and Blessings!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Hidden Flower says:

      Bthanntrm, thank you for sharing a bit of your story with us. I understand what overwhelming can feel like. I read recently about placing your children or whom ever you are praying for, into one of the wounds of Jesus… It touched me and I will place you, from His pierced side into his Sacred Heart. I really think you have always already been there, however. You have inspired me to keep going. I think there must be something really special, awaiting people like you, who have suffered relentlessly through life without feeling much of the joy people talk about. I don’t think we can even really imagine what awaits…!

      Liked by 4 people

    • Mick says:

      God bless you, Bthanntrm. I will pray for you and for those you love.

      Like

    • Snowy Owl says:

      bthanntrm, God bless you! I will keep you in my prayers. Jesus loves you dearly. I thought of this reading your post.
      Pray always in readiness to surrender, and you will receive from it great peace and great rewards, even when I confer on you the grace of immolation, of repentance and of love. Then what does suffering matter? It seems impossible to you? Close your eyes and say with all your soul, Jesus, you take care of it.Do not be afraid, I will take care of things and you will bless my name by humbling yourself. A thousand prayers cannot equal one single act of surrender, remember this well. There is no novena more effective than this:
      O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything!
      http://tonyhickey.org/surrender-novena

      Liked by 2 people

      • bthanntrm says:

        It is God speaking through you. I just finished the surrender novena. Thanks Jesus and God bless you and everyone on this site.

        Liked by 4 people

        • Snowy Owl says:

          bthanntrm, Oh I’m so happy to hear from you again and that you were able to finish the Novena- how I love this Novena!! I hope everything is going better for you? God bless you! 💙💖💜

          Liked by 2 people

  29. Joj says:

    What a hugely important message, Mr. Charlie! “When trials come upon you it is an opportunity…, not just a struggle or a setback….Never waste the graces to be found in a storm.” I have been so inspired by the truth you express in this statement as in various articles and testimonies here that I’ve read in the last couple of weeks. I have been waiting for years for my trials to pass, and finally I see they are rather something to be embraced. I cannot look at myself as an example of anything to anyone, so I don’t know about being a sign of hope just yet, but I can at least be content that the good Lord is working in me through the trials He sends. That is enough to keep me plodding along. I know very well that He surely accomplishes whatever He intends. And so now I see I must simply surrender to Him in all this. My Jesus, I trust in you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  30. I have been having quite a trial with my son. Gods ways are not our ways and
    I had a humbling moment that brought me to my knees and got me to make a change in our family relationships and in my relationship with my husband and children.

    I love how unexpected God is and how his message always come in loud and clear if you are open to it. Otherwise despair can set in.

    Just wanted to tell you hat today on a forum for support of parents with kids with autism I encountered a woman who gave me this quote.
    “Life isn’t about waiting for the storm to pass…It’s about learning to dance in the rain.”

    I found it very fitting for our group and a great sign that I am now learning to dance in the rain. I feel inspired to help others now and to be a sign of hope to other families with children with autism in my diocese (will be joining a committee to help promote awareness amoung the 200 parishes) and parents that may not know Jesus.

    I loved your Easter blog charlie. Thank you for that. Very fitting for our experiences and trials going on right now.

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Mack says:

    This link is from a secular website (Martin Armstrong) but it reminds me of what Charlie has often said God told him, “When I act, it is done.” I was just thinking about how things seem to be dragging on and never changing, but this is a good reminder to always be ready (video of an exploding star; an object that has been around for millions of years explodes and dies in just a few minutes):

    https://www.armstrongeconomics.com/armstrongeconomics101/basic-concepts/phase-transitions-in-nature-an-exploding-star/

    Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      Awesome footage, Mack, to highlight the point. Thanks, too, for the Armstrong link because I was trying to remember his name to do a quick check-in the other day and it totally escaped me. God bless you and all here.

      Like

  32. Chris says:

    bthanntrm, thank you for sharing. I have similar problems.My daughter hates me and doesn’t let me see her three children. It’s been two years now since I have seen these beautiful children I’ve helped her raise and they only live a few blocks from me. Like you, I told God I would suffer if He wanted and there were many sleepless nights of crying, waking up in the night with my heart racing wishing it were all a dream.Sometimes the pain is so intense I ask Him how much more does He think I can take and then He does something wonderful to let me know He’s still there and He lets me know that one day it will be better. It will be better for you too. I am sorry for all of your losses and I will keep you in my thoughts and prayers as we bear these sufferings together and i offer them to Our Lord Jesus who died and suffered so much for us. We can thank God for the people He puts in our lives to comfort us through this journey, those who are not related to us by blood but are family all the same here at this website. You are so right, they will never know all the people they have helped until they reach heaven. I pray I will see you there one day too. God Bless You. I will keep you in my prayers.

    Liked by 8 people

  33. Debbie Connelly says:

    Charlie, let me first say how much I enjoy your writings, and appreciate all you are doing. You are truly a sign of hope, as I strive to be with those I come in contact with. I’ve been a reader of yours for almost a year, but this is my first time writing on this blog, so I’m sharing my thoughts which I’ve been saving up for a while. I have no great insights to offer, perhaps, but just those of a wife and mother watching events unfold. When you speak of no one being left untouched by the storm, I think of so many families we know who have had so many difficult trials, including sudden loss of loved ones. We are parishioners in a large parish in Valrico, FL, and have seen so many sudden deaths, especially of young people in their teens or twenties, many in very tragic circumstances.

    My husband and I were confirmed in the Catholic Church on Divine Mercy Sunday 2010; then my sister Barbara was confirmed in July 2010 while she was at home with hospice, when she received all her sacraments, and then went home to Our Lord 10 days later. Our daughter followed us into the Church a year later in 2011. Incidentally, my oldest sister Sandy converted to Catholicism back in the 60s or 70s (she passed in 1992). Of my mother’s three daughters, raised in the Methodist church, all three of us converted (Mom is now 100 years old, living with me; sometimes she thinks she’s at the Catholic church more than at the Methodist – we’re not going to think about conversion, she’s good right where she is). I am the only daughter remaining and pray that God will keep me around to care for her, and bring me through health issues which have suddenly cropped up since January (first a broken shoulder and now spiking blood pressure of unknown origin).

    In our family, we have had many trials, many involving alcoholism, but with our immediate family it started about 15 years ago and involved our daughter Carla. Her story is one of God’s incredible Mercy, and I love to share with others when possible – she is an alcoholic but has been in recovery for 5 years now, and she has turned her life completely around (CNA, wife, mother and now taking college courses).

    Things seemed to smooth out for a couple of years, then a huge blow hit us in January 2014 when our 22-year-old son Ian committed suicide at college in Indiana. It has been incredibly devastating to us, but I am so thankful that God put us where we are now, in a beautiful community of faith. They have lifted us up in so many ways. And we have had some experiences that I cannot help but call miraculous. Our Lord and Our Blessed Mother have been walking with us. I still have many questions, and it continues to be hard, but I thank God for all the hope and love that have been shown to us.

    There are many blessings which surround Ian, even in his death, one of which is that he was preparing to be confirmed in the Catholic Church at Easter 2014. His college was Catholic, run by the Missionaries of the Precious Blood. So I’m thankful for all those blessings, and that he truly was surrounded by faithful people and good friends. Unfortunately, even in those types of good surroundings, the recreational use of alcohol is very prevalent. I wonder if he had fallen victim to that scourge of alcoholism or depression which seems to run in my family? It never even occurred to us. We may never know, and when we see him again it won’t matter. As you speak of the Storm, which is upon us even now and increasing, I find myself almost thinking that Ian is in a safe place, which sounds horrible but I know many understand. Ian was an officer candidate in the Marine Corps – perhaps Heaven had need of him.

    I am wondering how God might be able to use our family, in the midst of that tragedy, to help others. Even though we haven’t always felt strong, many have told us that they have been so amazed and inspired to see us continue on with our lives and our faith, in the midst of terrible trial. I do know for certain that that strength does not come from us. God definitely has a plan, which we cannot always see. We try to trust and to be hopeful.

    Thank you, Charlie, for all you do in working to prepare us to acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around us. Even though hard to hear sometimes, your words do boost us up as I share them with my husband and others. Please keep us in your prayers, as we will do for you. I hope you will make it to Florida some time soon.

    God bless you!

    Liked by 8 people

    • charliej373 says:

      God bless you and welcome, Debbie. When you can be such signs of hope in the midst of such trials, you are like Jesus carrying His cross – and consoling the women He met on His way even in the midst of His own agony. There is so much sorrow right now because there is such emptiness at the center of our culture. But you have already found what almost all will find over the next few years – that life DOES have meaning; profound, transcendent meaning. So even in the midst of trial, people will find renewed hope in each other. Yours is a foreshadowing of that renewal for all.

      Liked by 7 people

    • LukeMichael says:

      Praying for you and your family Debbie!

      Like

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Debbie, what an incredibly beautiful and powerful witness to the Faith and the love and mercy of God you are! Your comment went straight through my heart! God bless you and your family. So many families are suffering in this way, you are such a sign of HOPE! Thank you!!

      Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      Welcome to commenting, Debbie. Thank you for sharing part of your story with us. Praying for the repose of your son’s soul as well as the repose of the souls of all in your family who have passed. Praying for you and all the living members, asking the Lord to strengthen and console you and thanking Him as you are a sign of hope to us all. God bless you.

      Liked by 2 people

    • narnialion says:

      Dear Debbbie,
      Your story is amazing. Thank you for sharing it. You radiate the beauty and love of Christ.
      I am so hopeful after reading it. It reminds me of the Scripture we chose for our marriage, Romans 8: 25-28

      We also have gone through the fire, although both of our sons were brought back to life at very point of death (one in a deep coma from alcohol, the other actively suicidal from drugs) It was this community that gave me hope since we did not have a community here where we live that we could share with. I am so glad you have a supportive community.

      May God bless you and keep you and your family as the apple of His eye. May you live beneath the shadow of His wings. I have said the Prayer of Miraculous Trust for you and your family, esp. Ian. I will keep you in our prayers.

      Love, Narnia

      Romans: 8
      35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword? 36 As it is written * , For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter. 37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us. 38 For I am persuaded , that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present , nor things to come , 39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

      Liked by 4 people

    • Barb129 says:

      I prayed for the repose of Ian’s soul and for your family at Adoration tonight, Debbie. May Ian rest in peace and may our dear Lord and His Blessed Mother surround all of you with their peace and comfort.

      Liked by 1 person

  34. Bob says:

    An article in Crisis on how Muslims are likely to misinterpret his multicultural footwashing. That said God can still find ways to make use of what is done in good faith:
    http://www.crisismagazine.com/2016/the-problem-with-multicultural-foot-washing

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joj says:

      According to his reasoning, Bob, Christ also made Christianity look like a weak religion by submitting to His crucifiers. That is the paradox of Christianity, no?

      Like

Leave a Reply

