A Couple Things…

By Charlie Johnston

I have been running quite a bit these last few days in my New England visit. I hope to get a solid post up tonight. Meantime, just a couple things. First, my next public presentation will be in Manchester, New Hampshire as follows:

Manchester, New Hampshire

7:00 p.m.  Tuesday April 5, 2016

The Yard Seafood & Steak House, Salon A & B, 1211 South Mammoth Rd., Manchester, NH  03109

Admission is free and no meal purchase is required

Contact:  Doug or Jacki

Email:  stormnewhampshire@gmail.com

I hope I get a chance to see you there. Apparently they had very little snow in New England this year until I arrived. Now it has snowed since I got here. Everywhere I go I bring joy, hope…and strange weather patterns 😉

*******

A couple of people, including a good friend, have suggested I was not charitable to the commenter I cited in my last piece, “I Proclaim a Rescue.” I sympathize with their sensibilities, and respect those who whacked me in trying to defend him. But I did exactly what I intended.

The gentlemen has the filter of having merely used a screen name, so he is not exposed to any general sting. But from his comments, it was clear that if he entered into accepting what I have said about the continued progression of the Storm, he was likely to go right back to the disordered hoarding response he lived last year. We are in very serious territory here. Some who I speak gently to are determined to rely on themselves to come up with a plan to outwit God, rather than just doing a little and trusting God to guide their little steps. That is a formula for disaster and painful rebuke from on high, at best. I figured if with tart bluntness I can shock a few into trusting to God instead of to themselves, it may save them a lot of grief. In any case, henceforth, when people tell me how they have made plans in their own home which would supply a battalion – or any other complicated scheme that does NOT rely on God, I will be tart at best. The main point of this Storm is to trust in God and rely on your neighbor while helping him as well. We have gotten to the point we have is because of our delusion that we are sufficient to ourselves and the master planners.

When I say the way forward is to acknowledge God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope, I mean it. I think I have been too gentle in failing to emphasize doing anything else could get you badly hurt. I will not fail to emphasize that further. Those who focus on what I say will happen rather than what I say to do whatever happens are going in a very wrong direction. I would much rather people ignore me altogether than  use what I say in a frantic effort to outwit God.

I can live with it if people think I am not nice. I cannot live with it if God says to me I have not warned people firmly enough and some who could have been recalled were lost because of it.

 

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

295 Responses to A Couple Things…

  1. Hi Charlie and everybody else on this list. I’m sorry to have missed you in Massachusetts, Charlie this past Saturday. I laid a fleece before the Lord wondering if I was meant to be there and wouldn’t you know things just kept popping up that we’re going to keep me from getting to your talk on time so I took it that the Lord just didn’t want me there on that particular day.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Oops. I’m still learning how to post here anyways it wasn’t meant that I attend your talk on Saturday.

    I read your post to the fellow in question and I didn’t hear abrasiveness in your tone of voice I just heard determination to get your message across to him which is what the Lord ask you to do. I’ve been reading all the posts from your friends here, and I’ve been thinking of how much I put my trust in the Lord every day for even the littlest things, like a gallon of milk, or to have enough money to pay a bill. I have always found that My Lord and Savior answers my prayers and he knows what I need even before I do.

    He has the most perfect timing of anybody I know! The Lord’s timing is perfect, he’s never late, he’s always on time. I don’t know how many times I’ve just said to the Lord, “Well I don’t know how you going to do it this time but it’s in your hands.” And he comes through every time. And I share all these with my friends and they marvel at how good God is to me. I am constantly pointing out to my friends that God is real and that they should take some time to get to know him!

    I noticed that you’re a fan of Kitty Cleveland. And I am too. I’ve been reading everybody’s posts here and her song is ringing in my ears the “Lord is my light my help my salvation. W hat should I fear, with God I fear no one. God protects me all my life with the Lord what should I dread. The Lord is my light, the Lord is my help the Lord is my salvation😉

    Liked by 7 people

  3. Laurie says:

    So grateful for your frank encouragement, Charlie. Reminded me of my confirmation!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Snowy Owl says:

    Charlie, you didn’t tell us you bi-located to the Caribbean Islands 🌴 yesterday! After you left, they got their first snowfall ever in recorded history! 😉 ❄✳❄
    http://iceagenow.info/snowfall-caribbean-islands-spring/

    Liked by 9 people

  5. Ed Allison says:

    I’m a prepper from way back. I think I may have said before, but in the run up to Y2K, we had so much toilet paper, that when the end of Western civilization didn’t happen, we didn’t buy toilet paper until sometime in 2003. It’s hard not to fall back into that pattern. I do have preps, and will likely add to them in a couple areas as cash allows. Last year I planted 10 blueberry bushes. They were 3-4 year old bushes at the time of planting, and should produce pretty well this year. I love blueberries! But I’m willing to share. When I think of my preps, it is not with the idea that it’s all mine. God willing, I expect to feed the neighborhood. It won’t be fancy fare, but it’ll be filling and nourishing. Mostly Spanish rice and sourdough bread.
    I still have several things from my Y2K preps that may be useful as well. A grain grinder, and a water filtration system, with extra filters. If I remember right, I had enough filters to process up to 80k gallons. I’m sure they’re still good.
    Could I feed my family and the neighborhood til late 2017? No way. But there’s lots of squirrels, and I’m a good shot. And if somebody else doesn’t get them first, there’s deer that come through the yard on occasion.
    In 1999 I was depending on me. Now, whatever I have is only by the grace of God, and will be shared with those who need help. Who knows, maybe, like in the days of Elijah (1 Kings 17), the bowl of flour will not be exhausted, and the jar of oil will not run dry. Well, in my case, it’s a 5 gal bucket of coconut oil. 🙂

    Liked by 12 people

  6. mommaf8 says:

    Thank you for your calm voice of reason. I was trying to figure out how I was to prepare on a limited income & a husband who doesn’t believe in it, as well as rely on God like my heart was telling me. Your calm words made me realize that instead of trying to make ONLY my family safe & relying on ME, I was doing exactly OPPOSITE of what Good wants. I will do what I can, help the folks who are moving into the new subdivision ((we have a mini farm!)) & leave the rest to God!

    Liked by 6 people

  7. Cindy Baca says:

    If I may say Charlie, I do have 1 more thing to say or a few more. Those of us that suffer allergies and local honey does the trick, get a 5lb jar, that should do you. If you need inhalers, ask your doctor and start getting a few and you say, but my insurance will only says for…. Bypass your insurance – Ask your doctor, to get it for you from Canada, cheaper too. So you will have from your Insurance and then from Canada. Eculyptus Oil and a hand held vaporizer works wonders. I never suffered allergies till I moved to this City and it just took me now going into my 4th year to figure out what it was or is. Shaking the almonds, at harvest. I’ve lived here 16 years. Don’t want any of you to end up in hospital just for a breathing treatment. You may have your food stocked up, don’t forget band aids, toothpaste, those things. For upset stomachs, loose bowels ya never know when an emergency is gonna happen. How many remember looking snoopin when you was a kid those over 60 and knowing mom had some torn up white bed sheets cut up into strips? Your uncles WWII Navy blankets put away for an emergency?

    Liked by 3 people

  8. Jenny says:

    This is the first time I have responded to this site although I have been diligently following for some time. I was fortunate to be able to attend Mother Angelica’s funeral last week and I think she epitomizes the absolute faith and trust we must have in God through all of this. She was able to accomplish so much for evangelization against insurmountable odds by simply putting her faith and trust in God. Her biography is a good read and some may find it inspirational. Thank you, Charlie, for your consistency in the message.

    Liked by 5 people

  9. Charlie, It was absolutely wonderful hearing your talk in Holliston on Saturday. So powerful, yet simple. Loved it! However, I think your strange weather pattern followed me! 🙂 After your talk, my sister and I headed to Stockbridge for Divine Mercy Sunday. We drove through a wicked hailstorm, which was followed by 4 inches of snow the next morning, and 50 mph wind gusts during the outdoor Mass. It was strange indeed! … But what a wonderful weekend it was!

    Liked by 6 people

  10. madkatmomma says:

    I got the impression that the gentleman who was the uber prepper in your last piece was being facetious or maybe a troll. However, since I’ve only been following the blog since mid-Lent, I really appreciated the opportunity it gave you to re-explain what we all should be doing – storm or not. So God Bless him – he opened a door and you kindly walked through it. I wish I was more of a “prepper” I don’t know exactly what I’m going to do after I post this comment, let alone preparing for the rest of a storm that thus far has not killed me or caused me to miss one meal (which might do me some good actually). If I wake up dead tomorrow, I’m thankful that I heard your words, redoubled my efforts (lacking as they are) to trust in the Lord and found a great new prayer of Miraculous Trust (I ordered 20 prayer cards). Thank you Charlie and good night everyone.

    Liked by 5 people

  11. madkatmomma says:

    PS. Please come to Southern California, the El Nino turned into La Nada and we missed getting great amounts of rain. So, bring your torrents, we would all like to be able to bathe this summer.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. MarieUrsula says:

    Years ago I attended a pro-life conference where Fr. Augustine Di Noia spoke. I will always remember his gorgeous opening statement:

    “Into the darkness of human misery, sin, and death, God spoke the words: ‘Hail Mary, full of Grace.'”

    Liked by 9 people

  13. Anne says:

    I love you Charlie….. But I cracked up when I saw your hope to have solid post up tonight!
    The world of political promises not quite gone yet. God took the people out of Egypt to take Egypt out of the people…….. he is doing the same for us, me included and oh what a job that is!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Bill Wright says:

    Charlie, I think you and your comments are spot on. We should rely and trust in God completely if a storm is coming or not. Live this in your every day living. You are terrific and I look forward To your messages. Y.B.I.C. Bill

    Liked by 5 people

  15. Doug says:

    Thanks Charlie. Always good to be reminded to keep a proper perspective and focus. Blessings!

    Liked by 3 people

  16. Sylvia says:

    Hi, Charlie, I want to ask you if by chance you know personally Padraig? His blog mother of God is a total propaganda forum for Ted Cruz and the liberal establishment. I know this may be silly for you to answer cause you are constantly reminding us that the politics don’t matter right now, but I’m curious. I know some of these websites that adhere to Christians may very well be a liberal entity (CIA) to confuse Catholics. Our own Church, as you well know is infiltrated as well.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I have corresponded extensively with Padraig. He is a lot more open on his website and less focused on a particular focus, as I am here. I value it because it is a rare place which encourages and allows people to discuss serious matters that are not well-discussed in many other places. I once described it as sort of a “wild west saloon,” which tickled Padraig. If you read the various forums there, some are bitingly traditional, others give vent to progressive nostrums, and still others are relentlessly political. I have not found it to be, at all, propaganda for the liberal establishment or for Ted Cruz. More frequently, I have seen people there talking about Donald Trump as a savior and, at times, an almost “burn the heretics” sort of traditionalism.

      At its best it brings light to bear on certain important subjects. At its worst, it can turn into an extended food fight. But always it gives outlet to ideas that have little outlet anywhere else.

      Liked by 6 people

  17. Sylvia says:

    Thanks Charlie for responding. I laugh when you mentioned Trump as a savior. I know what you mean, but you have to admit things are getting interesting. First time since Reagan have I witnessed the “establishment” running scared and in such disarray. The Donald is responsible for this. and that’s a good thing Charlie. There’s a great book out there called the 4th Floor written by American Ambassador Earl Smith. It clearly tells us who the powers of be are and how corrupt our own government is. I do like a lot those advising Trump. He may not be the Ronald Reagan classic act, but he may be what we need right now to unveil a lot.

    Like

  18. Christopher J says:

    Love your work Charlie! Thank you for all you do and may Almighty God continue to bless you and your efforts. I’ve been following this site regularly since July of last year after a friend sent me a link to the Birmingham video. The message of simplicity hit me between the eyes and I was hooked from that moment. Speaking of simplicity, our local Perpetual Eucharistic Adoration Chapel has a selection of reading material and I found The Story of a Soul, St Therese of Lisieux autobiography. (Thanks again Charlie!) I only read the chapel’s copy and leave it there for me and others to read in the physical presence of Our Lord’s Body, Soul, and Divinity. So profoundly wonderful I can’t possibly describe it here, but I digress. The reason I wanted to post this, my first comment, was because of an article I read regarding the ‘outing’ of a barely-legal and corrupt operation that was set up to hide untold billions, and more likely trillions of offshore dollars. One doesn’t have to believe in crazy conspiracies (military bases on the moon etc.) to believe that there are lots of very dark financial operators out there. I’m not talking about the so-called “to big to fail” banks. I’m talking about the big BIG players and many of you know who I mean by that. This linked article is NOT speculative conspiracy stuff. All very factual reporting by writers that do a great job of reporting such issues. My point is this: Things are truly starting to unravel even at the very highest levels in the world of quasi criminal finance. The rats are starting to turn on each other and devour their own. The Panama-based law firm who, for years, have been setting up shill entities to hide offshore money has been outed for what they are. To put this in Johnstonese, everything outside of God that they thought would give them security is being taken away from them. Sure, others will take their place and they too will be ruined. This article goes pretty deep into the weeds of international finance and money laundering but here it is for anyone interested in such topics. WARNING! A few of the commenters tend to get a little ‘salty’ with their language so if you would rather avoid that, just read to the end of the article.

    http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2016-04-05/cat-out-bag-interview-mossack-fonseca-founders-admit-its-over-rothschilds-delight

    Liked by 2 people

  19. deereverywhere says:

    Has anyone heard from Crew Dog lately?

    Like

  20. RJW says:

    Dear Charlie, I agree with this summation.  I see a lack of faith in this hoarding response. Last summer I fully intended to hoard vegetables from my garden and can everything I could from the garden. I have an arbor at the entance that my husband built and he carved into the wood; “Give us this day our daily bread”. Well the garden didn’t provide anything extra.  After the rabbits ate through my green beans, leaving us 5 plants….we had just as many beans on those as we could eat, but not enough to can.The potatoes were a failure,  but the squash fed us and the neighborhood. I told God that never again would I worry about hoarding. If food is scarce we will fast and offer it up to save souls.  Americans tend to be fat and spiritually lazy. Perhaps our sins of gluttony will be a way for God to chastise us back to redemption. Anyway, Charlie,  like children we sometimes need a scolding. You have helped show me how to live this life in dependency on our dear Savior and His tender Mother.I particularly love the story about your visit from the most wonderful Angel Gabriel.  My daughter Maria named her firstborn son Gabriel.  Isn’t that special.  I consecrated Maria to our sweet Blessed Mother at her birth. Maria is very active in her Catholic faith and even proclaims the Word at Sunday Mass. More precious than gold is this to me.xoxoRita

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    Liked by 7 people

    • charliej373 says:

      God bless you, RJW. As for the rabbits that ravaged your garden, well, rabbits gotta eat, too. You know, once during my pilgrimage I was in pretty solid wilderness for almost two weeks. Walking hard and carrying my 75-lb. pack, I made do with little more than a couple of handfuls of trail mix each day. While trail mix is not my favorite (I had to eat way too much of it while I was walking) I came out convinced that it is absolutely GREAT survival food packed with energy.

      Liked by 5 people

    • What a beautiful image that “if food is scarce offer it up to save souls.” As often as we pass a cemetery, I ask my kids to join me in an Oh my Jesus for the souls. I think we are making friends and it reminded me of the song ” Make new friends and keep the old, one is silver and the other is gold.”

      Liked by 5 people

  21. Cheryl says:

    Will you be speaking in Rhode Island? It’s an itsy bitsy state, but still very nice. 🙂

    Like

  22. Louise says:

    One thing that I have felt called to do is to purchase ten copies of the CATECHISM OF THE CATHOLIC CHURCH. Surely there will be very scripturally literate non-Catholic ministers, etc. who will have a great desire to know more about the fullness of the faith.

    Liked by 4 people

  23. Judy Sandalis says:

    Charlie All I have to say isjudys I Love you. And your doing the best you. God Bless you Charlie!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  24. Another Karen says:

    Dearest Charlie, thank you so much for coming to our state….it was wonderful to see/hear you again, and I was grateful that my husband was willing to come to hear you as well. He especially appreciated the Q & A session.
    Dearest Doug, Thank you AND your wonderful group for pulling the meeting together – you all did an amazing job, and I truly appreciate your efforts on our behalf. Great turnout in comfy surroundings. with tasty treats, no less. Good to see you again, and meet members of your group.
    YD, Doug must not have followed your dietary suggestions because he was not green. He was wearing green though, so hopefully that counts!
    Finally, there will be a Marian Procession on May 7th at 2:30 at St. Mary’s Church in Newmarket, NH, organized by the president of the NH chapter World Apostolate of Fatima and featuring the International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Fatima. I will email the poster for the event when I receive it.

    Liked by 6 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Wonderful, thank you Karen. It was a great chat in Manchester last night!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      **What great news, Karen, all around… the gathering and the upcoming Marian Procession! What a beautiful way to honor Our Lady in the month of May.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Another Karen says:

        It is great news Beckita, but I take no credit whatsoever for the Marian Procession…it is the work of a wonderful and holy woman from my town who is the president of the NH chapter of the World Apostolate of Fatima. I will be there and help process people in and help out that day, that is about it. She did all of the organizing. I do hope that advertising it here brings others to join us. I do agree that it is a beautiful way to honor Our Lady, especially in the month of May, and I remember May Processions during my catholic school grammar school years in the 60’s. Very fitting to be reviving that! Pray for nice weather!

        Liked by 4 people

    • Doug says:

      Why Karen, it was a blessing to see you. I am so glad your husband was able to make it. Maybe he will drive you to the storm dinner now. It was a treat to be able to sponsor Charlie. We have a great team of folks here who I give all the credit to. Everyone pitched in and did something to help pull it together.

      Charlie, we are very grateful for your visit and willingness to talk. Feedback I hear was there were many folks that were greatly encouraged. We continue to pray for you as you continue your travels and meet other wonderful folks. I wish we could keep you around, but that would be like hoarding. You belong to everyone here. We will treasure your time here.

      God bless you!

      Liked by 5 people

    • Doug says:

      Hi Karen, yes we had Charlie come out here so we could have all the tasty treats. Seriously though, it was as much a blessing to see you and for us to see Charlie as well. I had a wonderful conversation with our assistant pastor today (he did the opening prayer at the talk) and he has fresh resolve to continue with facilitating a Thursday night adoration and Rosary as we go through the fury of the storm. God bless you again Karen and I hope you can join one of our storm dinners. Next one is Saturday, April 16. If anyone is interested in more details, you can email me or Lambzie at stormnewhampshire@gmail.com

      Liked by 2 people

  25. Barb Watry says:

    I was reading an article about the movie God’s Not Dead – 2 (on Spirit Daily). Michael Brown ended his article with:

    “For instance: In the midst of the persecution — facing the loss of her job, publicly humiliated, ready to lose the court case — Grace cries out to God and wonders why He is being silent.
    She brings this up with dad, who in a memorable line tells her that as a teacher she above all should know that during a test the Teacher is silent.”

    So many times I cry out to God, also wondering why He is silent (or seems to be). I pray that we all pass the test.

    God bless all here.

    Liked by 7 people

    • Beckita says:

      Hi Barb, I’ve been praying for you since reading this comment. You touched my heart with your exxperience of crying out to God in His seeming silence. An author from whom I’ve learned so much is Servant of God Luis M Martinez. He has real wisdom to share concerning God’s seeming remoteness. http://www.amazon.com/When-God-Silent-Luis-Martinez/dp/162282220X God bless you and every last one of us!

      Liked by 2 people

      • Barb Watry says:

        Dear Beckita, Thank you so much. I so much appreciate your comments and insights. And even when I don’t expect a comment to something I say (since I don’t comment very often), you very often will have something to say to me. I know that it must be our Lord revealing Himself to me, through others, so that I need to pay attention. So I will look up this Servant of God. I wish we could meet and talk in person, but that may not be for a while, unless I decide to take a road-trip to Montana.
        God bless you Beckita and God bless all here.

        Liked by 5 people

        • deereverywhere says:

          Hey Barb! I read that article, too. It keeps going through my head, about the teacher being quiet in Pat Boone’s voice and with that Pat Boone look in his eye. I haven’t seen the movie. I didn’t know there was a first one let alone a second one. I hope to see them both one day. Did you read the one that Michael wrote about “Concussion”? My husband rented it at the red box. It was good. Will Smith even used Mathew Kelly’s line of ‘the best version of myself’. Of course I am assuming you know Mathew Kelly. We have Lighthouse media cd’s in the back of church for three dollars. He is an Aussie who now lives in Ohio, and gives really great Catholic information in talks. That was one of his talks. He has a great sense of humor. But getting back to Pat Boone and the teacher line is so appropriate. We walk by faith and not by sight! Aren’t these exciting times!!!!

          Liked by 3 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Deer, I love Matthew Kelly! I just discovered him via DynamicCatholic.com last year at Advent. I enjoyed his Advent and Lent video series and I am still reading the his book “Rediscover Jesus, an invitation” that was given away at churches last year and is free at his website. He is on fire for the faith.

            Liked by 3 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            You must be feeling better Jlynn, as your gravatar is beautiful. Did you get to keep the pearls the squirrel was wearing? I thought that to be an extra nice touch. Don’t give up that Cadillac walker that you can sit on. If you only take it to Wal-Mart to sit down in line at the checkout it is worth it. Why do the build fifty checkout counters and only have four open? Why don’t theyjust build three at each door because it stupid to have fifty.

            Matthew Kelly really is great. Our pastor gave out the book “Rediscover Catholicism” two years ago. I am glad to hear it is free on his website because that is the book that I was trying to adjust the font to, to make it darker and bigger, then I remembered that it was a real book and I couldn’t adjust the font…😊…

            Liked by 4 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Deer, I am back to wearing my medals around my neck. 😉 I am not driving yet and do not get out without my DH and scooter/walker, or as he calls it, my dragg’n wagon. I lift my left knee to the seat as I am not able to bear any weight on my foot, and just scoot around. The adorable fire engine red contraption has brakes and a basket, will travel. The doc at my last appointment said he did not want to have to get out a radar detector to force me slow down and rest!!

            Liked by 3 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            So, your doctor would put an ankle bracelets on your healing foot. That is kinda funny. It is really hard having to depend on other people, especially when you know that you can do it better and faster and you understand the process and they don’t do it the way you would so they don’t do it the “right” way. It is one of the lesson our Lord teaches us. He slows us down in order to teach patience and generosity of others, to be dependent on others as we are supposed to be dependent on Him. We have to swallow our frustration and change it into love. A story from Mother Angelica’ s show where a father and children took care of the mother who was totally paralyzed from something. She died. The son said something like it was hard because he was so used to caring for his mom. The dad said “but she had the harder part, she had to receive our care.” I am still thinking on that.

            Glad you have your medals back on. I can’t wear stuff on my neck because I get those horrible skin tags.so I have made bracelets with medals on them. In fact, the one that I dedicated to St. Benedict came apart so I must fix it. Slow down and learn what Our Lord is trying to teach you. If you learn it now, maybe you won’t have to repeat this course. Thank you for all that you do for this site. It is greatly appreciated💙

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Point well taken Deer. 😉 You have no idea and I would not believe it myself if it wasn’t happening to me how much control and anxiety I have relinquished in total surrender and trust. Depending on others and delegating are still works in progress. I learn best when I have no other choice.

            Liked by 2 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Jen, it isn’t easy giving up control. I just have a few years and a few more surgeries before I was hit over the head. It is hard. You will pass the test. I have faith, little princess!🙆👰

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Both movies were wonderful! Lamzie and I saw the 2nd one this past Sunday.

            Liked by 2 people

  26. Cindy says:

    I never seriously considered hoarding. Probably because deep down I figured I’d hoard one thing and ultimately need something else for survival! Similar to the idea of jumping to one’s death only to wake up to being paralyzed. Let’s face it. It is just a bad idea to try to figure out God’s Ways and Movements. He is way, way too big. So I just am giving today and tomorrow to Jesus. It’s all His and there is nothing more important than staying in the present moment with Him and His Grace. Thanks again Charlie for your reminder that we all need to relax, take a deep breath, and focus on the next right thing.

    Liked by 3 people

  27. Since I have no idea what the future holds in concrete terms, I have been putting a lot of things aside. I don’t know if I’m being foolish or prudent, given the state of things. But I have 5 grown children, their 3 spouses, and 13 grandchildren who will be, I imagine, descending on us should the situation warrant it. I am concerned that some folks might be expecting manna to fall from the sky for us – although that COULD happen! – but I feel it would be presumptuous of me to expect that of the Lord. Charlie, perhaps you can give me some perspective on this.

    Like

  28. audiemarie2014 says:

    Just wanted to stick this in here somewhere…about the “Rediscover Jesus” book by Matthew Kelly. A couple of priests at a nearby church gave a Lenten talk each Saturday during Lent on this book as we studied it at home during the week. It was so good! A Protestant pastor even wrote to the local newspaper saying how these books are in every(?) Catholic church and that all Christians (everyone?) should read it! One of my favorite parts is where he tells us to say this: “I am the son/daughter of a great king. He is my father and my God. The world may praise me or criticize me. It matters not. He is with me, always at my side, guiding and protecting me. I do not fear because I am his.” Love.

    Liked by 6 people

Leave a Reply

