A Word of Thanks to Alabama Governor Robert Bentley

jesus-carrying-the-cross

By Charlie Johnston

Alabama Governor Robert Bentley is in the midst of a great controversy because of a sex scandal right now. I have never worked for Bentley, nor even met the man. But he did something four years ago that I deeply appreciated and, I think, revealed his fundamental character.

My youngest brother is part of the Aviation Unit of the Alabama State Troopers. It is a small unit, just 11 people four years ago. Part of the Aviation Unit’s job is to take the governor to official meetings in different parts of the state. Four years ago, my mother died the day before Mother’s Day.

State troopers do not usually participate in funeral processions, but the Aviation Unit had decided to live solidarity with my brother by leading my mother’s funeral procession.

Governor Bentley had to go from Montgomery to Huntsville on official business on the day of Mom’s funeral, so several troopers had stayed behind to take him, hoping to get to my Mom’s funeral right afterward. Somehow, the Governor found out what was going on – and he called and told the commander so. He said he had made other arrangements for that day – and they should go take care of one of their own.

It deeply touched me. I have worked with and in proximity to many high officials. For most, it is always about them. The humility and grace of gently telling those troopers to “go take of your own” that day told me what a decent man Governor Bentley is at heart.

Alas, I know all too well the disorders that can crop up in the midst of the intense, passionate atmosphere of politics and government. It does not surprise me to hear that someone has stumbled. But I know that when Governor Bentley could have demanded he be taken care of first with no one ever the wiser, he told his people to “go take care of your own.” I will not forget it and I hold him in affection regardless of any stumble he may have made in his personal life.

*******

Many have contacted me about another episode of official thugs weaponizing the justice system to punish and persecute those who do not bow to the progressive line. It is true that California Atty. Gen. Kamala Harris, who is running for the U.S. Senate with the support of Planned Parenthood, ordered a raid on David Daleiden’s apartment yesterday seizing all of his computers and video equipment as part of a dicey search warrant. Daleiden exposed the practice of Planned Parenthood trafficking in the organs of aborted children. Certainly, it was a shock, when Daleiden and his attorneys have been cooperating with authorities on all legal matters. I am doing some research on the matter and will have a piece up this weekend.

Meantime, you can help with Daleiden’s legal bills by supporting either the Life Legal Defense Foundation , the Freedom of Conscience Defense Fund, or the Thomas More Society.

*******

Our friend Mark Mallett wrote a nice piece wrapping up his virtual Lenten Retreat yesterday. Unfortunately, he has faced some unusual financial pressures of late. I am alone, so easily able to deal with the pressures that come with living the sort of vocation I do. Mark has a large family still, so it is a lot tougher for him and he depends on donations. I appreciate any who can reach out to him.

*******

Finally, this marvelous piece by Monsignor Charles Pope on Revelation caught my eye today. As is the case so often with Monsignor Pope, it is deeply insightful and heartening. A hat tip to reader Jose, who directed my attention to it.

 

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Christian Persecution, Conversion, Culture, The Storm and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

166 Responses to A Word of Thanks to Alabama Governor Robert Bentley

  1. Simone says:

    You’re a decent man, Charlie.

    Simone

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Father Michael King says:

    Charity covers a multitude of sins

    Liked by 6 people

  3. Centurion_Cornelius says:

    Also, Charlie, Alabama–yesterday I was listening to our local Catholic AM Radio station while being out and about, and the hosts broke into a live feed from the floor of the Alabama House of Representatives on a resolution read by Representative Randall Shedd:

    very touching. brought tears to my eyes. venerated in the heart of the Bible Belt. the resolution passed unanimously!

    Liked by 10 people

    • charliej373 says:

      That is a very cool thing. I remember the Alabama of my childhood and Alabama now…what a difference a few decades can make.

      Liked by 2 people

      • jaykay says:

        Amen, Charlie. Same thing applies to my own hopelessly deluded country, almost unrecognisable now compared to what it was – albeit very imperfect – even 20 years ago. “Gadarene” comes to mind. We’re still struggling to form a Government, 6 weeks after the actual election. That’s the PR (proportional representation) system for yah. Yet, it seems, no matter what the complexion may be, it’ll still be bad news for the pro-life camp especially. Well, we’re steeled for that, that factor is a constant. But yet, we do take hope from you people of faith (and you are so many) in the US, because you really are still the last bastion, despite it all. The bulk of our Babylonian media/establishment nexus in the Anglosphere slavishly follows yours, but thank God for those aspects of it that still keep us aware and awake – I mean sites like TNRS and others.

        My Lord, if we still had to rely solely on the dead-tree media and the Baal-box (unfortunately too many still do)… how much worse would it be?

        Now, given it’s after midnight in my time zone, and there’s work the morrow, I’m just going to… set the alarm and T.D.L.

        It’s in His hands. God bless all. J.

        Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      Thanks for sharing, Centurion! Beautiful!

      Like

  4. Annie W. says:

    Reading Msgr. Pope’s article reminded me to take a look back at Father Gobbi’s messages. Blessed Mother has a long description of the Book of Revelation and I haven’t gone back to it in years. Seems like a good time to read it again.

    I’m disgusted with the Atty. Gen. in CA for doing that raid. She’s running for office, big surprise! God help our state of CA.

    Liked by 6 people

    • YongDuk says:

      Yes, the Lord has been leading me back to Gobbi too. I mentioned that a few months ago.

      My Spiritual Director was once going through a loll with all his parish work and responsibilities for his Diocese. Praying, I said, just go back to your roots. The readings or devotions that spurned you on in the Beginning. It’s not sentimentalism, but a nice refresher. Gobbi was that for me. I remember as young as I was back then, asking the Lord if this was real and a small voice saying: Open the Bible. I did and it fell to John 19.

      oremus pro invicem,
      +Yong Duk

      Liked by 10 people

      • That is real nice, YD: ” oremus pro invicem” — let’s pray for each other. We really do that here at TNRS.

        A nice observation by Fr Mitch’s guest tonight about how prayer is continually (continuously?) being offered up throughout our church, at all hours, across the globe. He said imagine a grandmother in a small African town making her morning offering each day for “me”, then I make my morning offering for her, and how this unites us in prayer with the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass throughout the world. 🌍 How wonderfully mysterious!

        Sorry, I tried stepping into your realm. Just been working on my Latin and liked that expression you wrote. Maybe I should just stick with squirrel pix and bean recipes. 🙊

        Ora pro nobis, Sancta Dei Genitrix, ut digni efficiamur promissionibus Christi!

        Liked by 7 people

      • EllenChris says:

        Dear +YongDuk: I just now sent a reply to your comment to me at the Ikon of Divine Mercy which I posted on Charlie’s article, “I Preach the Rescue.” I hope you will read it at your earliest convenience. Many blessings of our Risen Lord Jesus to you. Ellen+

        Like

        • Ellen – I *love* your avatar — that image of Our Lady is among my favorites. It has an interesting history behind it’s discovery in Nazi Germany by a nun. No one knows who painted it, but it is surely Divinely inspired!

          Liked by 1 person

        • YongDuk says:

          Ellen, Thank You! Although our ecclesiological (theological) differences are grave and different and insurmountable on many levels and an understandable cause for discouragement, be assured I do understand and respect your soul as never before 🙂

          Liked by 3 people

          • EllenChris says:

            Good to hear back from you, YongDuk. I have not been discouraged by the theological differences themselves, but by how they have been referenced; our good Lord has us all truly in His own hands. What is impossible for people is entirely possible for God. We cannot cobble together a legal or political solution to differences, but God’s Grace truly does work wonders.This morning I was led to read Jeremiah 31 in its entirety. He Himself is gathering His Bride from all directions and preparing her without spot or wrinkle — which we do not yet see here. We can wait upon the Lord in peace knowing that He will accomplish His Will in us as we surrender more deeply to Him. I am confident in His Mercy that He will not let go of me. I am glad that you can understand God’s mercy in my life. So let us not reference the differences, but look for His grace and the love which unifies hearts. Shalom!

            Liked by 2 people

  5. Lee says:

    Respectfully, if the storm is coming soon, and the world will be brought back to God after the rescue, does Mr. Daleiden have anything to worry about? The wheels of justice move slow, and surely his case will be interrupted by the storm.

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Yes, Lee, but you know I emphasize that we are to live our ordinary lives steadily until God moves things otherwise, for we are the instruments through which God usually accomplishes His will. We are not to be mere observers, but participants with Him. It may well be that the ham-handed injustice and persecution with which the progressive governmental-media complex treats David will be part of what brings that house of cards down. Remember that Jesus – God Himself – went to be baptized by John. The Baptist was shaken, saying that he needed to be baptized by Jesus, not the other way around. Yet Jesus said to “allow it now, that all righteousness be fulfilled.”

      I tell you, Christians throughout the world are going to be held to account for not rising to aid their brothers who have been being butchered and murdered in a true genocide in much of the Middle East these last few years…Christians who told themselves that because Starbucks was still open and the Kardashians on TV that nothing was wrong. When grave injustice is being done systematically, we have to act to stop it lest we be counted among the offenders in the eyes of God.

      So you are almost certainly right in the smaller point, but I have said repeatedly that what is really happening with all this disorder is that God is proving us, to see where we stand. When all see His Mighty Hand moving, I sure would not want to explain to Him that I did nothing about the injustices because I figured He would take care of it without me. Act that “all righteousness might be fulfilled.”

      Liked by 23 people

  6. Becky-TN says:

    God Bless, Charlie!

    Becky-TN

    Liked by 1 person

  7. donna says:

    Hi Charlie and TNRS family….a large group of us on MOG are doing the 33 Day Consecration (your choice Gaitley or Louis DM) and beginning together on April 10 to finish on May 13, feast of Our Lady of Fatima. In light of the times, I would like to invite ALL interested to join us on that start date. We can be Our Lady’s Coalition….. God Bless!

    Liked by 11 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks for bringing it up, Donna.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Susan Rineer says:

      This is wonderful Donna, we are doing the same at our parish in PA. We are doing it Tuesday evenings, so we will have to double up our last few days but we also will consecrate on May 13th. Friday the 13th what a great day to crush the head of the serpent. God bless your group, we will pay for you.

      Liked by 3 people

    • madkatmomma says:

      What is MOG? What is the 33 day consecration?

      Like

      • madkatmomma says:

        God cracks me up sometimes. So I picked up my Kindle a few about an hour or so after I posted the first comment and low and behold in my “suggestion” box was “33 days to merciful love” by Gaitley. So I’ll take that as a hint I should join in!

        Liked by 4 people

      • donna says:

        MOG is the Mother of God Forum, run by Padraig….a wonderful place of faith and sometimes heavy debate 😉 33 day consecration to Mary by Fr Michael Gaitley or there is also St Louis de Montfort’s consecration….Charlie provides a link to Mother of God forum on the right….

        Liked by 3 people

  8. Beckita says:

    If someone has no mercy towards another like himself, can he then seek pardon for his own sins?
    Sirach 28:4

    Liked by 5 people

  9. frank says:

    Charlie,

    I have shared your message with a small group of people. One friend has embraced the next right step message but others seem uninterested. I take TNRS message as one of great hope even though I know that there will be a period of suffering until the Rescue comes. Should we be using caution and discernment about whom we share the message with or should we be sharing it freely with friends, family and members of our faith community?

    I see nothing fantastic in your message. Again, I see it as a message of hope. And your advice to completely trust in the Lord is eminently sensible and absolutely unassailable.

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      People are reasonably leery about this whole subject. Every place I go, I get people who tell me that I was not at all what they expected – and they got a great sense of joy from what I say. Last night I had a Priest ask me how to tell people of these things. I told him don’t bother: instead, emphasize that we can trust God when we call on Him no matter how bad things look or get. Emphasize emphatically the recourse we have to God and people will try it when things unravel visibly for them – and they will turn to those places that give them hope. So mention it in the context that “God has a plan,” then let it go – and let them come back to you in God’s time.

      Liked by 17 people

      • Katherine says:

        This past fall I was at Mass while on vacation . . . I was so surprised when the Priest’s homily was “Trust in God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope to others.” Without specifically mentioning you he talked about what has happened in the Bible in the past when a nation has turned from God, things that have happened in history when a country has turned from God and then a general exhortation to return to God. He did mention that part of his job is to monitor what he called the “spiritual scuttlebutt”, and he said that the general consensus was that we are in for a difficult period in history, but not to loose hope no matter what happens because God has a plan. Now, at that time, I had JUST heard about you and you could have knocked me over with a feather. I thought you were a fringe interest, it was so neat to be at a totally random church and see that a Priest had taken you and your message seriously and was trying to prepare his sheep without driving them away.

        Liked by 18 people

      • Katherine says:

        oops, I think I forgot to put down “acknowledge God” when I was typing there. I was typing too fast, but I assure you, that was part of the homily

        Liked by 5 people

  10. Dennis Shea says:

    Charlie wrote: “Many have contacted me about another episode of official thugs weaponizing the justice system to punish and persecute those who do not bow to the progressive line. It is true that California Atty. Gen. Kamala Harris, who is running for the U.S. Senate with the support of Planned Parenthood, ordered a raid on David Daleiden’s apartment yesterday seizing all of his computers and video equipment as part of a dicey search warrant. Daleiden exposed the practice of Planned Parenthood trafficking in the organs of aborted children. Certainly, it was a shock, when Daleiden and his attorneys have been cooperating with authorities on all legal matters. I am doing some research on the matter and will have a piece up this weekend.”
    Speaking of PP and Abortion Supporters .. Get a Load of this ****:
    http://www.cardinalnewmansociety.org/CatholicEducationDaily/DetailsPage/tabid/102/ArticleID/4812/Wendy-Davis-Hypes-Benefits-of-Abortion-at-Notre-Dame-on-Feast-of-the-Annunciation.aspx

    In case you have forgotten!? Wendy Davis, AKA: Abortion Barbie, was the last Democrat Party “contender” for Guv of Texas and ND seems to think she is worthy of…???

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 12 people

    • charliej373 says:

      It is hideous. If that university in South Bend, Indiana is determined to be an anti-Catholic institution, I do wish it would change its name. It is an affront to Our Lady.

      Oh – and for people who wonder where CrewDog is…today he is posting under his alter ego of Dennis Shea. See, he took off his glasses and that is what the big red “S” on his chest stands for: Shea!

      Liked by 14 people

      • deereverywhere says:

        I agree, Charlie. I think it hurts Our Lady’s feelings.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Barbara says:

        AMEN, Charlie!!

        Liked by 2 people

      • This is one of the news items that had me particularly incensed yesterday. That is an affront to Our Mother. Also sad because that’s the hometown I grew up in. Many folks want to blame a faculty overrun with non-Catholics. Well, how about the Congregation of Holy Cross? How about the ones in position of authority? Simple solution: Catholics be Catholic… but, too many lack the courage and conviction because they’re chained to the world.

        Tough to endure, but I have no doubt that God is going to spit these out and get it done with the little unfettered ones who only cling to Him. God restores!

        Liked by 11 people

    • Beckita says:

      Oh, Super Shea, I caught this revolting news earlier today. Deliver us O Lord and have mercy!

      Liked by 4 people

    • deereverywhere says:

      I am happy to see the Tasmanian and the greatest tag line ever return!😀

      Liked by 7 people

    • Yeah, the tip-off was the signature Tazmanian Devil gravatar, the disturbing link, and the “GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!”. I find it fitting that ‘ole Crew Dog is also Fighting Irish at heart. I had to console myself recently with a reread of “Notre Dame vs. the Klan: How the Fighting Irish Defeated the Ku Klux Klan,” but I’m really getting tired of thinking of the University of Notre Dame in terms of its former glory(ies), and I’m not talking about the football program. With God’s help, maybe we can soon get a copy of “Notre Dame vs. PP: How the Fighting Irish Defeated Planned Parenthood.” I’ll welcome that victory any way it comes though.

      God Bless,

      MP

      Liked by 6 people

      • Doug says:

        If I am accepted to the diaconate, I will have to take some online courses at that South Bend school. It will be after the rescue though. So things should be different by then.

        Liked by 7 people

        • I’ll pray for it, but you might want to take a trip there. If they’re still playing football, we can catch a game. If not, we’ll just run around Knute Rockne Stadium for old times sake like a couple of squirrels!

          Liked by 8 people

        • deereverywhere says:

          Oh, how wonderful! You may be Deacon Doug. We can call you double D. I assume you know that St. Francis of Assisi was a deacon because he didn’t think he was worthy to be priest.

          Liked by 6 people

          • Doug says:

            Why thank you Deer. I had my application. Ready last year, but the diocese postponed the process for another year for the next class. Hmmmm. DD. Kinda like Dunkin Donuts….

            Liked by 1 person

          • deereverywhere says:

            I knew there was reason I liked you and it involves donuts!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            Ha!

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Ha, Deer! Double D sounds like a gang name: “Yo yo yo, Double D! Let’s blow this crib so you and MP can roll to ND to see yo’ Peep, Touchdown J! Word to the Mother; peace out.” (I have no idea what I just said; nevertheless, feel free to flash the aforementioned TNRS gang sign here.) 🙂

            Liked by 4 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Ha, Mick. I can see you saying all this and it cracks me up.

            You know, back when I was in radio, I would regularly have to record promos – little ads promoting the show. One of them was a 30-second rap. All I can remember of it now are the opening two lines: “My name is Charlie Jay…I’m sayin what the hey…” It was ridiculous…but the second most popular promo I ever had.

            Liked by 4 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            There was a Nickelodeon cartoon when my kid watched cartoons called, “Edd, Ed, and Eddy” one of those characters would call the other one Double D and for some reason it was funny, even though it was a stupid cartoon. As for gang sign, it’s the sign of the cross.😁

            Liked by 4 people

          • Doug says:

            I am not sure I would want to be referrrd to as double D due to its other female implications.☺

            Like

          • deereverywhere says:

            I understand, that’s one of the names my beloved calls me. But I still can only think of the cartoon. It is similar to having “Bohemian Rhapsody” stuck in you mind for a week. Guardian Angel, please wipe Queen from my mind.

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            Silly Mick ☺

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Charlie, do you remember back in the day on Rush’s Limbaugh’s show, when he had Bo Snerdley doing his “certified black enough to criticize Obama” schtick? Oh my goodness, those used to put me on the floor in paroxysms of laughter. Here is one:

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Rush used to do some great stuff. Probably still does, but I have no time for it any more. But that was a great meme.

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Mick, I remember and love that! My mom died in 1987. I was living on my own, close to my childhood home, and my dad blind and was on dialysis. Together my siblings and I cared for him. I happened upon Rush’s show one day and talked to my dad about it during one of our rides to his treatments one early morning before my work day began. I found out that Dad listened to him too. These were the first years of Rush’s show. I believe that his show not only gave my father something to live for but it also gave us a great material for discussions during some of dad’s darkest hours (days, months, years). I only listen occasionally now, as time allows. But the dial is still on WLS.
            Growing up, I would smell the coffee and listen to mom and dad talk and laugh over breakfast. I would rest in bed and soak it all in. In the background they listened to WGN on the radio. Soon I would have to get up as it was my job to press dad’s slacks and shirt for work each morning when I was in grammar school. At that time, I made a mental note that WGN = old age. So to this day, I still tune into WLS. I am not going to concede to WGN yet (if ever.) 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            What about for Cub games?

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Oh Charlie, I am only a fair-weathered fan of sports. I enjoyed the occasional game from the bleachers growing up. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Ernie Banks, Mr. Cub, was my childhood hero!

            Liked by 2 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Ernie was a darling gentleman and so kind to the fans! My brother, John, got the sports fever. He and his lovely wife have surrounded themselves with athletes, sports and memorabilia most of their adult lives. He now hosts a Big Ten Network (BTN) sport treasure hunters program and travels throughout the nation meeting athletes and fans and collecting and trading memorabilia. They knew and loved Ernie too!

            Liked by 1 person

          • JLB, WGN is still a staple in my house, so I guess that makes me an old fogey.

            The Cubs were just in town and my son said to me, “you’re right dad, there’s more Cub’s fans here than D-backs fans.” Outside of Wrigley Field, Chase Field in the desert is the only ballpark that can draw a Cub fan base that dwarfs the hometown crowd.

            I love Ernie Banks! He was also known as “Mr. Sunshine.” The first time I took one of my boys to see the Cub’s play was for spring training out here. We grabbed a couple of dogs (everything, no peppers) under some shade by the concession when I noticed the one fella standing next to us –– Fergy Jenkins. Interesting, but he connected right off with my boy (who was 4 years old at the time), and these many years later my son is a serious pitcher shooting for the big league.

            I know… there’s probably some folks eye-rolling at the sports talk. I understand. You’d be surprised though, how many times I’ve been able to share the Faith with my boy by starting with mere baseball talk. I’ve also been hedging lately by working squirrels into the conversation.

            Mick, I’m not going to let him know what you said about rooting for every team that plays Notre Dame. He’s loaded with my Irish genes, so he’d take those as fightin’ words. I know you’re still looking for a Mt. Meeker Squirrels shirt, but I just might have to send you the 2016 version of “The Shirt” from the ND bookstore first.

            God Bless,

            MP

            Liked by 2 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            MP, my folks were in their early 30’s when sassy me equated WGN to their old-age. Well 50 is the new 30, (or so I’ve heard)
            The pastor from my last Chicago parish, Fr. Dan McCarthy is a die-hard fan. He planned yearly vacations to see the Cubbies in training in AZ and may still do that in his retirement. Ernie Banks, Billy Williams, Ronnie Santo and Fergie Jenkins are a few names of players I got to meet at games growing up. They were all so genuinely kind with the fans. God bless and rest their souls.
            God-willing we may see a major leaguer in our own NRS family through your son.

            Liked by 1 person

          • deereverywhere says:

            MP, I am a Pirates fan. My dad was a great fan and in his day could have played, but I am sure he is playing and watching in heaven. He hated tell Braves because they bought all the Pirates best players (when Ted Turner owned them) I married a Brave’s fan. My step-son is a die hard White Sox fan. Now, see how God can make life interesting!!! 😯 (my dad loved cigars)

            Liked by 2 people

          • Mick says:

            Ha, MP! When I wrote my quip about rooting for anyone-but-ND, I almost included a preemptive apology to you for offending you sensibilities. And I will say this: If you were to at any point send me “the shirt,” I would wear it in your honor. Trust me… there’s no other way I would ever wear ND gear; but if you send it, I will wear it (shudder). 🙂

            Like you, I use sporting analogies when discussing the faith with my kids (I was about to say “my boys,” but my 16-year-old daughter is as huge a sports fan as her brothers are). Just this morning, my 6-year-old and I were discussing 1 Corinthians 9:24 because he saw it on his brother’s T-shirt. Putting St. Paul’s words in the context of modern sports helped him get the big picture.

            Liked by 2 people

    • Let me take a wild guess…during Wendy’s courageous presentation to tout the magical wonders of abortion, she most likely failed to mention that abortion leads to a dramatic increase in breast, cervical, and uterine cancers; that it overwhelmingly leads to an increase in substance abuse; that post-abortive women have deep emotional scars that never heal, such as PTSD commonly suffered by combat soldiers; that abortion often leads to a sense of worthlessness and promiscuity, which in turn increases risk of STDs. How about selling baby parts for profit? How about all the women who die during a procedure that is more dangerous than childbirth? Or after 8 weeks that baby feels pain and suffers? Or that minorities are disproportionately targeted? I bet her “gum drops and sunshine” talk failed to cover how a *MAJORITY* of abortions are coerced, over 60%, by bosses, husbands, or family — so much for “choice.”

      Wendy: “…a passionate advocate for women’s healthcare…” “…a single mother from humble beginnings…” Such insidious manipulation of language!

      Chant with me: “CHANGE THE NAME, NOTRE DAME! CHANGE THE NAME, NOTRE DAME!” Give it to Franciscan University in Steubenville.

      Steam is blasting out the old ears again. Calm down, Patrick, breathe, nice and easy…..Maran’athah. O my Jesus…

      Liked by 9 people

    • Yay, Crew Dog! We have missed you!

      Liked by 3 people

    • Mick says:

      Ha, most venerable Mr. Dog! When I saw “Dennis Shea” at the beginning of this comment, the first thing I thought was, “Hmm… I wonder if he’s related to CrewDog. Maybe I’ll ask him.” 🙂

      Oh, and in every sport (football, basketball, you name it), I always root for whomever is playing Notre Dame. Their invitation to and slobbering over Obama a few years back was the last straw for me.

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Michele Doonan says:

    Dear Charlie
    I just want to say thank you for bringing Mark Mallet’s plight to your wide audience.
    He made an excellent point when he said we could invest in precious metals etc, but invited us to invest in souls instead. That’s a powerful idea.
    God bless you Charlie and all who accept to toil in the vineyard.
    MTM

    Liked by 10 people

    • cathyg2015 says:

      Mark’s plea has been weighing on me as well, Michele. I contribute what I can to him on a monthly basis but it seems his plight is much worse than realized. Mark and his family have sacrificed so much to evangelize and lead good Catholic lives. Mark’s mention of Charlie is what led me to the NRS. My first thought was maybe someone/I could start a go-fund-me type of fundraiser. On MOG I noticed a new thread on this with some donating directly to Mark’s site but I wonder if setting a specific fundraising goal would be more effective. I feel called to do more to help. If anyone else has other ideas please weigh in.

      Liked by 3 people

      • deereverywhere says:

        One day I looked out the window. An emu was walkng down our road. If you think watching people try to catch chickens is funny, you should see them trying to catch an emu that just wants to be free.😀

        Liked by 4 people

      • deereverywhere says:

        I don’t know how to do that fancy stuff with the up start stuff. In the message that I included I remembered when St. Maximillion Kolbe became indebt and was horrified and went before our Lady and prayed. As he rose from his prayer at our Lady’s feet was the exact amount of money to the penny which he owed. So I plan to ask St. Max to help increase my small gift hundred fold.

        Liked by 8 people

      • homehelper says:

        Yay! We got to help Mark and his family. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, Charlie!

        Liked by 2 people

  12. BUFFALO EVERYWHERE:

    This post has nothing to do with +Mother Angelica, Job, David Daleiden’s plight, or the Book of Revelation. I’ll simply classify this under the catch-all “God’s Creation”. Probably not many of you get to see Buffalo — sorry, buffalo — but I was driving to take stuff to my storage unit yesterday when I happened across these guys about 1 mile from our refuge in Custer State Park.

    https://prayforthedying.files.wordpress.com/2016/04/image29.jpeg?w=1400&h=&crop=1
    https://prayforthedying.files.wordpress.com/2016/04/image31.jpeg?w=1400&h=&crop=1
    https://prayforthedying.files.wordpress.com/2016/04/image33.jpeg?w=1400&h=&crop=1

    Makes me happy to see these beasts roaming the grasslands in substantial numbers once more. Let me just say, you stay IN your vehicle.

    https://prayforthedying.files.wordpress.com/2016/04/image27.jpeg?w=1400&h=&crop=1

    The herd I saw numbered about 50. Have you ever tried a medium rare buffalo ribeye? Let’s just say: it beats squirrel hands down!

    Liked by 10 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Love it, Patrick…kind of your own “Musings” column.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      Awesome, Patrick! Beautiful photo and buffalo meat is so healthy!

      Liked by 4 people

    • deereverywhere says:

      Really nice photos. Really elegant beasts in God’s creation. Good eye! Thanks for sharing.

      Liked by 3 people

    • LukeMichael says:

      Oddly enough Patrick I live in a New England town where a neighbor about one half mile away was raising a small herd of buffalo (6 or 7 head) on 2 or 3 acres of land. Most homes here are on a half acre. They were an odd but impressive group!

      Liked by 6 people

    • Susan Rineer says:

      This is wonderful Donna, we are doing the same at our parish in PA. We are doing it Tuesday evenings, so we will have to double up our last few days but we also will consecrate on May 13th. Friday the 13th what a great day to crush the head of the serpent. God bless your group, we will pay for you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • And buffalo wool is soft for spinning. A very expensive luxury fiber. I’ve read that some ranchers actually shear them like sheep. Brave!

      Liked by 3 people

      • deereverywhere says:

        Really, I have always wanted to card and spin but my hands don’t work right anymore. I saw this one brave lady milk a water buffalo.
        She was making cheese to sell to some expensive restaurant. She was using goat milk also. The restaurants really wanted her cheese because the animals grazed on berry bushes, which apparently made good tasting cheese. We have wild blackberry bushes everywhere. We used to have wild blueberry bushes but some kind of fungi or bacterial disease wiped them out in the late 1980’s and they have never come back. The blackberry bushes just keep growing.

        Liked by 4 people

        • Deer, spinning is a very relaxing hobby, once you get the hang of it (warning: the learning curve is frustrating). It puts the mind in a calm, meditative state. Good for prayer and contemplation.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Doug says:

            I don’t know. When I spin, I get dizzy and need to sit down.☺

            Liked by 2 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Oh, singingflowers, how lucky you are to be able to do that. I assume you use a spinning wheel. I saw a girl once a long time ago just using a weighted spindle. I was totally fascinated. I crochet but I can’t for any length of time anymore. I taught myself off-loom bead weaving. It, too has a hard learning curve. But I enjoy it. It takes me a really long time to complete something though. I haven’t done anything for awhile. What material have you used in spinning?

            Liked by 2 people

      • Doug says:

        Well, if you are in the middle of the city of Buffalo, NY and looked around, you would probably say “buffalo everywhere”. ☺

        Liked by 3 people

      • Mick says:

        Hey, Singingflowers, do you spin? If so, with a wheel or a spindle? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Doug says:

    Thanks Charlie!

    Liked by 2 people

  14. julia60 says:

    I am at a loss to figure out how God thinks I can do anything about the plight of Christians/Martyrs in the daesh territories. I believe we can only pray for them. And if requested contribute towards sending emergency aid.
    I have wondered why the Holy Father has not called on the USA, UK, France, the Arab countries to bring an end to their part in the killing, so the Syrians do not need to flee for their lives.
    Surely the governments who have fed, financed, trained terrorists and led this chaos need to be called to question. The can of worms that has been opened is spilling out into Europe, and elsewhere. And the Holy Father is asking us to open our arms, our hearts and our homes to an alien culture which only wants to destroy and devour us and drag us back into pre civilised conditions like they seem to have in those muslim countries. Or am I not understanding what is going on.

    It seems we are being asked to embrace the idolatory of islam. Why? Washing their feet must be giving them a good laugh at our naivety.

    Like

    • Beckita says:

      I totally disagree with this, Julia: “It seems we are being asked to embrace the idolatory of islam. Why? Washing their feet must be giving them a good laugh at our naivety.” It’s not at all naivety on the part of the Holy Father, Julia. It is an act of pure love.

      “Indeed, God did not send the Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through him.” (John 3:17)

      Oh that we all might love with the profound humility expressed by our beloved Pope Francis, as he upholds the truth of our faith and, truly, loves each sinner while hating the sin. Our Holy Father did call us to welcome the refugees AND he cautioned concerning the risk of terrorist infiltration in those ranks. http://www.jpost.com/Christian-News/Pope-says-risk-that-terrorists-could-sneak-into-Europe-with-Mideast-refugees-416159

      These are difficult times with complex problems requiring wise solutions discerned on a bedrock of prayer, love and truth. When fear ramps up so does the danger to dismiss the humanity of those caught in the cross hairs of this battle in the heavens. Would I like to die at the hands of a Muslim terrorist? Not one bit! At the same time, while I did everything I could to defend myself and those around me, I would rather die in this way than to die in a state of fear which fosters bitterness and hardness of heart towards my brothers and sisters be they Christian, Buddhist, Hindi, Muslim, atheist, etc.

      You certainly wrote with wisdom, Julia: “I believe we can only pray for them. And if requested contribute towards sending emergency aid.” The requests for contributions have been going out through many agencies. Here’s one in which 100% of the contributions go directly to assisting persecuted Christians: https://www.kofc.org/uns/en/christianRelief/index.html

      By the way, Julia, are you aware of how interested Jesus is in the welfare of the Muslim people? He loves them just as they are: human beings who are Muslims. So much so that He is appearing to many Muslim men and calling them to Himself while His Mother appears to the women and encourages them to believe in her Son. As Fr. Mitch Pacwa of EWTN expressed on Charlie’s Birmingham Dinner video, Africa has gone from a predominantly Muslim continent to being predominantly Christian, all in God’s loving Plan. You can search for such news online. Fr. Mitch commented that 6-8 million Muslims a year have been converting to Christianity. Blessed be God! You can also find information about Muslims who remain secretly Christian for now as publicly proclaiming Christ would bring about certain death in their current environment.

      God bless you and all here!

      Liked by 14 people

    • I wonder if there’s just a lack of will. Europe is broke and run exclusively by pacifists, and Arab countries don’t want to mount an aggressive fight against other Arab nations. I believe they even secretly endorse these attacks on Christians. And in the US, it was like pulling teeth without anesthesia just to get the Secretary of State (“Lurch”) to admit that genocide has been and is still going on. (I was frankly surprised Kerry it did at all because that statement was at odds with the Obama administration’s agenda).

      Sadly, no one is being held to account. It’s a monumental humanitarian disaster, but the greater crime is that few in the world are responding to help. (Auschwitz-Birkenau comes to mind). True, at least we can make donations. We can also pray for an increase in those miraculous visitations of Jesus and Mary that we’ve heard about, and that God will bring to a rapid end the genocide of Christians and Muslims in the region.

      I think that the Pope’s washing of Muslim feet — and other faiths — proclaims loudly who we Christians are and was indeed the right thing to do. They laughed at Jesus too.

      Liked by 9 people

    • deereverywhere says:

      I have a little red wagon which I must pull. In that little red wagon are my duties according to my state in life which, currently are daughter, wife, and mother. I have a hard enough time doing these things that I can offer to my God, every day, and show the people that I love, love and not pinch their irritating heads off which is truly what I want to do.

      Our holy father has a giant red super wagon. His wagon is filled with the love of Jesus’s Sacred Heart through the love of Our Lady’s Immaculate Heart. I suppose, one day he read that line in the bible about loving your enemies and chose to pull that one out of the bible to hold up to us as an example to us, to show us how to love, and be humble.

      If you choose to listen to the whispers on your shoulder that our holy father’s act of charity and mercy was anything other than an example of charity and mercy, I think you may be tuning into the wrong channel.

      These things that must come to pass are coming to pass. Your mission, should you accept it, is to follow the example. These Muslims did not have machetes. If they had machetes, the story would be different. Remember the Swiss guards have pikes which are a bit larger and more intimidating than a machete. Would not the love that filled our holy father penetrate the souls of these twelve who were up close and personal with them. If these twelve, receiving that benefit of love, start to change their hearts and minds, doesn’t the Shepherd leave the flock and go to find the lost lamb?

      Did you know that every day we are to pray an Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory be for our holy father’s intentions. Every day. Did you know that Fatima as the name of Mohammed’s favorite daughter? Is it coincidence? Please rethink this Julia because Jesus may be knocking on that door that has no doorknob on His side. He just may be looking for you.

      Now I have to think about dusting……….😷😵

      Liked by 7 people

  15. Joseph77 says:

    Thank you Julia for pointing out what is so glaringly obvious: We are to greet the satanic, muslim hordes with love and kindness, kneel down, kiss their feet and be raped, tortured and murdered if we do not convert to islam. God have mercy on us!.

    Like

  16. docallanw says:

    From today’s Office of Readings:
    “Because you have kept my plea to stand fast, I will keep you safe on the time of trial which is coming on the whole world, to test all men on earth. I am coming soon. Hold fast to what you have lest someone rob you of your crown.” Rev 3

    Liked by 8 people

  17. docallanw says:

    A sign of hope in Vancouver:

    Liked by 1 person

  18. zeniazenia says:

    Let’s remember to pray today for California Atty. Gen. Kamala Harris, and those who carried out the raid she ordered yesterday. I ask our Lord for conversion for anyone who touches David Daleiden’s computers and video equipment. Of course let’s pray for Daleiden, the Life Legal Defense Foundation and the Thomas More Society. St. Thomas More — pray for us.

    Liked by 9 people

  19. jlynnbyrd says:

    Jane, I will keep all in my prayers. Lord have mercy for all concerned in this modern day David and Goliath battle over the culture of life vs. the culture of death. In deed I have been posting the videos provided on the NRS home page each week on social media and expanding my network reach. I pray we do not sit back until this battle is won!

    Liked by 4 people

  20. Tom Sullivan says:

    There will be a Eucharistic procession on the campus of Notre dame this Sunday in front of the Basilica after the 11:45 Mass. Not all is bad coming out of Notre Dame.Tom

    Liked by 7 people

  21. jlynnbyrd says:

    **Tom that is a delight to hear and thank you for passing along this information. Bless you and the Eucharistic Procession scheduled for April 10th on the campus of Notre dame. (Go Irish and Jesus!) 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  22. zeniazenia says:

    Let us pray that God’s healing and mercy may be super active going forward, through the teaching of Holy Father Francis’, The Joy of Love, Let us try to envision the myriad of unusual ‘non-western’ circumstances in relationships in the future Church, that we are called to heal around the world.
    (Vatican Radio) 08/04/2016 The Vatican on Friday published Pope Francis’ eagerly-awaited Apostolic Exhoratation on the family, drawing together almost three years of consultations with Catholics in countries around the world. The lengthy document, entitled ‘Amoris Laetitia’, or The Joy of Love, affirms the Church’s teaching that stable families are the building blocks of a healthy society and a place where children learn to love, respect and interact with others.
    At the same time the text warns against idealizing the many challenges facing family life, urging Catholics to care for, rather than condemning, all those whose lives do not reflect the teaching of the Church.
    In particular the document focuses on the need for “personal and pastoral discernment’” for individuals, recognizing that “neither the Synod, nor this Exhortation could be expected to provide a new set of general rules, canonical in nature and applicable to all cases”.
    Saint Rita of Cascia — pray for us. Guardian Angels –pray for us. Props for the great photo!! 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  23. AN AMUSING MUSING (True story):

    OK. So I went to the VA today for a physical therapy appointment. While there, I stopped by to see my friend, Sue, about a financial matter. She’s an attractive, married blond woman, about my age, who’s always bubbly and upbeat.

    I knocked and stuck my head in her door, “Hey, Sue! You got a sec?”

    She smiled and said, “Sure, Patrick!” then she added gleefully, “I have lots of secs!”

    Her comment hung in the air between us for what seemed like forever. Both our mouths hung open.

    Then we blushed furiously and simultaneously burst out laughing. The whole time visiting with her I just couldn’t stop giggling. I thanked her for making my day and excused myself.

    Dear Jesus, I try to be holy and think clean thoughts, but sometimes…oh, boy!

    Liked by 6 people

Leave a Reply

