Mercies and Miracles –

addie in bed - lynch

Addie Moser

(I’m just about recovered from my ‘noreaster’ virus. It left me on the borderline of laryngitis, so I’m behind on returning calls. I appreciate those who sent me well wishes and concerns. Not to worry…I seem to catch every other virus that passes through, but my body is where viruses come to die. Thanks be to God, I rarely get sick when I have to do something public or important. Shoot, I walked across the country with my neurological problem and just would rest a day or two when it was needed. That’s why I call it ‘God’s leash.’ My illnesses seem to have little effect on keeping me from my work – except to remain perpetually behind – so I don’t take them too seriously. In any case, though I do not engage in presumption, resting when I need to, it is all in God’s hands. As long as I have work yet to do here and keep faith, I will muddle along right here.

Addie Moser, the brave little girl struggling with a deadly disease, passed last month. Dan Lynch is a good friend of those who cared for her and had written about her plight before. Today, he writes of the culmination of her struggle.)

By Dan Lynch

Our Lady of Guadalupe mercifully and miraculously appeared to St. Juan Diego in Mexico in 1531. She told him, “I am your Merciful Mother and the mother of all of you united in this land and of all mankind.” Through the merciful and prayerful intercession of Our Lady of Guadalupe, God mercifully healed Juan Bernadino, the uncle of St. Juan Diego, from his deathly disease and converted 9 million natives to the one true God, in the largest mass conversion in the history of the world.

This is the Jubilee Year of Mercy. We are called to practice mercy by our words, our actions and our prayers. I would like to tell you a story about mercies on earth and another merciful miracle from heaven. 

Addie Moser was a bright, creative and courageous 11-year-old girl who suffered for more than a year from incurable Gorham’s disease. Gorham’s disease is a very rare skeletal condition that can be life threatening. It is characterized by loss of bone and fluids, because of which it is commonly known as vanishing bone disease.

Addie’s suffering began when she was two years old when her mother died of cancer at the age of 38, after a long courageous battle, leaving five children under the age of 15. Her father cared for his children to the best of his ability, but he was no longer able to care for them. The children were often separated and cared for by friends and family. After too many moves back and forth, the Moser children were finally reunited in one home. 

My friends, Ryan and Michal (pronounced Muhkyle) Farley from Missoula, Montana, opened their home and their hearts and lovingly took Addie and her four siblings to raise them with their own three children. Michal was my daughter Maggie’s college classmate and roommate after college.

The new merged Farley-Moser family required a period of adjustment during which Addie maintained her happy disposition, flexibility, strength and resiliency. The Farleys later mercifully became legal Guardians of the Moser children. They treated the five Moser children just as they did their own three children.

Addie underwent many surgical procedures and was attached to a pump that drained fluids from her body and replenished it. As Addie’s Gorham’s disease progressed, it destroyed her bone structure. The Farleys took her for months of treatment to Children’s Hospital of Colorado in Denver, Missoula Community Medical Center and Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia. Addie was surrounded by loving and merciful care and prayer from her guardians, her family, her friends, her community and medical personnel. Eventually, Gorham’s disease and cancer took its toll upon Addie.

Finally, after months of living in hospital rooms, Addie was able to come home to her family where she had two brief days surrounded by her guardians and family before God took her to himself in heaven to join her mother and grandmothers. Addie died at age 11 in her home on March 17. I thank all of you who mercifully cared and prayed for Addie and for her healing. 

My daughter, Kate McLaughlin, sang Be Not Afraid at Addie’s Celebration of Life. She sang God’s merciful words for Addie, “You shall see the face of God and live. Be not afraid. I go before you always. Come follow me and I will give you rest.”

Addie was an inspiration to many. We read in Addie’s obituary that her “short life was rocky, rough and raw, but so amazingly beautiful, bright and bountiful. Addie was spunky, creative, bright and artistically and musically talented. She enjoyed spending time with people and loved animals, particularly her dog Kona. Addie loved playing and singing along to music, playing sports, being outside and surrounding herself with wonderful friends. Her smile lit up the room and her even more likable personality filled all the corners her smile couldn’t reach.”

Michal Farley wrote to me and described Addie’s Celebration of Life “as a beautiful service; unique, different, and beautiful. The Priest Jim Hogan had provided me with an outline of what the service could look like. Ryan and I sat down with Addie’s siblings – Alex, Aidan, Anton, and Anna – and they primarily planned the service. The Gospel and homily by Father Jim was perfect. There was a very diverse crowd there, and his kind words about death, the resurrection, and life were beautifully said and greatly appreciated. Your daughter Kate sang Alison Moser’s favorite gospel song and did an amazing job – it was so beautiful.” 

Michal continued, “I have never been through such an amazing, sad, sacred, wonderful, trying experience in my life – fighting for Addie’s life and accepting that she would not live was difficult and surreal. Knowing now that she is at peace and free – with her mother and grandmothers in heaven sustains me each day. Very grateful for you and your daughters, Dan.”

You may see Addie’s Celebration of Life on Addie’s blog here

You may read Addie’s very moving obituary here.   

Miracles from Heaven is a movie based upon the book of the same name by Christy Beam, mother of Annabel. Like Addie Moser, Annabel suffered from a rare incurable disease called Pseudo Obstruction Motility Disorder. It is a disorder that prevents the sufferer from being able to adequately digest and absorb nutrients. It prevented her from normal eating. She had to be tube fed which led to many complications for which there were no cure.

annabel - lynch

Annabel Beam


Like Ryan and Michal Farley, the Beams mercifully took Annabel to many treatment centers and ultimately to the Boston Children’s Hospital. 

Annabel’s mother said, “Why? Why Annabel?  And how do you pray to the one true God, the ultimate healer, when your baby girl isn’t well for four and a half years?”

As her life ebbed away, nine-year-old Annabel told her mother from her hospital bed, “Mommy I just want to die. And I want to go to heaven and live with Jesus where there’s no more pain.”

After almost 5 years of chronic, progressive, incurable illness, and of hospitals, medications and continual suffering, Annabel had reached her limit, in spite of all the merciful love and care that she had received from her family, her friends, her community and medical personnel. 

Like Addie Moser, Annabel was sent home to die. As many people mercifully helped and prayerfully interceded for Addie, so did many people mercifully help and prayerfully intercede for Annabel. She received a miraculous healing. Addie did not. 

On December 30, 2011, Annabel climbed a giant tree in her backyard to a branch 30 feet above the ground. As she sat on the branch, it broke and she fell into a large hole in the trunk of the hollow tree and fell 30 feet to the ground inside the tree. There she had a near-death experience.

She said, “Heaven was very bright and it was very peaceful.” There was no pain, and that’s why I wanted to stay. And I sat on Jesus’ lap and I asked Him if I could stay.”  “He said, ‘No, Annabel, I have plans for you on Earth that you cannot complete in heaven, but whenever the firefighters get you out, there will be nothing wrong with you.’ ”

It took five hours for the firefighters to pull Annabel up the inside of the tree and out through the large hole. She should have been dead. However, she only suffered scratches and a mild concussion. 

Both Addie and Annabel were pre-teenage girls, both suffered from incurable diseases, both had loving family, friends, community and medical personnel mercifully caring for them and praying for them. Why did Annabel live and why did Addie die? This is a mystery of God’s Divine Providence.

Why does a good and loving God allow the suffering and death of innocent children? We know that God the Father allowed the suffering, crucifixion and death of his own innocent Son. Some of us are called to do likewise for our children and to accept this as a greater good than it appears. We need to have hope and to trust in God’s Divine Providence, no matter what our circumstances are.

God allows diseases for a greater good that we do not always understand. He works all things together for good. (See Romans 8:28). He allowed his only begotten Son, Jesus Christ, true man and true God to be the victim of evil through his crucifixion and death. However, he worked this evil for the good of his resurrection and his proof of his promise of eternal life for those who believe in him. 

Annabel’s mother said, “My message to people now is, in your times of trial and darkness, look up. Get your head up. Get it out of the darkness. Quit looking down because you’re going to see what propels you forward and gives you the hope that you need to get through and keep fighting to see what is the plan, what is on the other side of that mountain.” 

These are the mysteries of merciful love, redemptive suffering, death, eternal life and miraculous healings in the Divine Plan of Merciful Love in which both Addie and Annabel now partake. 


lynch profileDan Lynch is the Director of Dan Lynch Apostolates promoting devotion to Our Lady of Guadalupe, Jesus King of All Nations, Our Lady of America and St. John Paul II. He is an author, public speaker and a former judge and lawyer in Vermont. He has appeared many times on radio and television and has spoken at conferences throughout the world. You may learn more about Dan here.


About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Call for Help, Prayer, Solidarity, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Mercies and Miracles –

  1. SteveBC says:

    Thank you, Dan. That is quite a remarkable pair of children and of stories.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Beckita says:

    Beautiful tribute and reflection, Dan! Thank you.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Joan says:

    Sometimes we get the exact message we need at the exact moment we need it. This story of mercies and miracles is my very own mercy and miracle for today. How blessed I am and how blind. Our God is an awesome God!

    Liked by 3 people

    • anniecorrinne says:

      Yes that is so true. My dh and I had a very hard time today with his care. I lost my patience several times and said things I shouldn’t have. Ten years of this is a long time, but no excuse for my looking at the dark ….as the article says. Thank you so much for posting this, Charlie. I know God has me and dh in the palm of His hand…..I just wish
      He would rearrange things sometimes. 🙄

      Liked by 8 people

  4. YongDuk says:

    I remember praying for this young lady when we were both in Philly about the struggles with her faith.

    Be assured of my prayers for the repose of her soul and for her loved ones.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. says:

    Hi Charlie, I don’t know if you will get this but can you pray for my s


  6. Chris says:

    May the soul of this precious child rest in peace.

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Kathleen from New Jersey says:

    “Like a sheep he was led to the slaughter, and as a lamb before its shearer is silent, so he opened not his mouth. IN HIS HUMILIATION JUSTICE WAS DENIED HIM. Who will tell of his posterity? For his life is taken from the earth.”
    This was taken from the Gospel reading on Thursday, April 14th and the words IN HIS HUMILIATION JUSTICE WAS DENIED HIM struck me profoundly. Interiorly what came to me is that justice does not belong to souls, but to God the Father. Mercy belongs to Jesus who gave it to us in his flesh (oh blood & water). And who will tell of his posterity? We will.
    God Bless you Dan for telling us about Addie and Annabel’s posterity.
    Never never leave the foot of the cross – being there is mercy itself.

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Julee says:

    Thank you for sharing these stories. It gives me hope to know there are families like the Farley’s who so generously and lovingly opened their hearts and home to Addie and her siblings. This is an example of love and mercy in action! A child suffering is particularly hard to understand, yet Addie touched this family and many others because of it, inspiring people to spiritual and corporal works of mercy and teaching us to trust and accept God’s plan. Annabel’s suffering and miraculous cure also gives hope and teaches us to stay in the light, keep praying, and trust in God’s plan.

    Having a child with profound disabilities and constant seizures has opened my eyes, heart, and soul to the joys and blessings that come in the midst of sorrow. My son’s challenges have presented me with a choice to either trust in God’s plan or live a life of stress and sadness. My husband and I have chosen (through God’s grace) to recognize the love and joy in our lives. Granted, there are times when I falter in my trust and worry about my son passing or conversely worry about him outliving us. So many families who we’ve met on this journey have suddenly lost their children, but each and every one of those precious souls have inspired mercy and brought an abundance of pure love into the world. I see the change in people who come into my son’s life all the time…just recently his relatively new music therapist commented that Justin was making a believer out of him…I’m not sure what he meant, but I can see he is touched by getting to know him. So, yes, i believe there is suffering for a greater good and we are called to trust in HIs plan.

    Liked by 7 people

    • Picket Fence says:

      Justin is one of God’s perfect creatures among us. It is a privilege to know him, and you, his parents, show great love and grace. The three of you shine with God’s love! Thank you for showing us how to trust in His plan.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Julee says:

        Thank you, Picket Fence! Had I known God’s plan beforehand I probably would’ve been worried about a bunch of things that didn’t even matter, but instead I got to meet my baby, fall in love, and take things one day at a time. I’m trying to keep that in mind about world events–too much speculation about the future and I’ll miss what’s important about today. God’s got the plan and I’m thinking he reveals it to us on “a need to know basis” when were best able to accept and cooperate (even though it may still feel like we’re being blindsided while at the same time being asked to radically trust).

        Liked by 5 people

        • Picket Fence says:

          You’re welcome!
          Had I known God’s plan beforehand in my life I would have run the other way a time or two! Seeing your great trust helps me to trust in Him as well with that which is totally out of my control – which is everything. It is so much easier to leave it all to Him in His great mercy and love.

          Liked by 2 people

  9. Kim Sevier says:

    So touching Charlie. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. janet333 says:

    Little Addie is safe with Jesus now…no more pain.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. little one in PA says:

    I always like to say is that the miracle of Addie’s was not of healing but inspiring so many various Christians to pray together for a worthy cause. Addie in her special way is helping with the re-unification of all Christians. Way to go Addie!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  12. anne ovari says:

    Thank you Dan for sharing such a beautiful and uplifting story. Yes, God’s ways shall always be a mystery to us.It is so hard for us to accept all the tragic things that happen to us in this life but as you said it is all part of the Divine Plan of Merciful Love. I have learnt to look at all the blessings that come from all the difficulties and to thank God even in the darkness(although that can be very hard at times). I have experienced this with the loss of a baby and then having a seriously ill baby whom God allowed to live( Joseph is now 14 years old). I feel blessed to have one of my children safely in heaven and a prayer warrior for our family and the whole world. I feel blessed that God allowed Joseph to live and allow us to grow closer as a family and meet so many wonderful and caring people. I will pray for the repose of Addie’s soul,her family and all the people who are involved in taking care of sick children. God bless

    Liked by 5 people

  13. So beautiful, and so sad. Prayers for her family and for Addie.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. donna says:

    Dan thank you for this beautiful story and God bless the parents of Addie and Annabel


  15. Doug says:

    What a moving post. Thank you Dan and Charlie.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. madkatmomma says:

    Thank you Charlie for posting this and Dan for writing such a touching piece. Also I rank all of you in a few short weeks this site–bother the messages and the commentary have touched my heart and profoundly changed my life. Ever since I learned about St. Faustina and the Divine Mercy a few years ago I have been trying to understand how to trust in God’s Mercy. I’m kind of a do-it-yourself error person so letting go and letting God is no easy for me. I’m so grateful God led me here, and grateful to all the participants for their insight and support. I am curious about the storm but not panicked or prepping. I have been able to give it over to God and for me that’s no small thing.

    Liked by 4 people

  17. madkatmomma says:

    I apologize for the auto-correct, I thought I had proofed this. The second sentence should read –
    I thank all of you for in a few short weeks following this site — both the messages…. sheesh. and then I’m not a do-it-yourself “error” person (although that may be true) it was supposed to be do-it yourselfer…

    Liked by 3 people

  18. Vivi says:

    Beautiful Child of God is now so near Him! Courageous girl ahe accepted the suffering wow how many souls her pain helped for their conversions!

    Liked by 2 people

  19. Anne says:

    So …. Thank you girls! You should remind us all of a song…… What the world needs now is love, sweet love.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

