Just One More Thing

me at capistrano

At San Juan Capistrano during my Pilgrimage

By Charlie Johnston

Gadfly Blogger Kevin O’Brien commented on Patti Maguire Armstrong’s piece about me on the National Catholic Register that I was lying about contacting him to correct his original article accusing me of collecting “millions” from the donations button of my website. and that if I walked at all, it was only a few hundred miles.

He is correct that I did not correspond with him directly. I was wrong that we had direct communication. Rather, the day after he posted the article, someone alerted me to it and asked me about it. I posted this comment on Sept. 3, 2015, in response to the question. This was attached to my post, “Live It,” which went up on September 2. (Comments can be made any time after a post is up – and WordPress date stamps all comments). Mysteriously, after I made this reply, O’Brien removed the accusation of raising “millions” and started upping his estimate of how far I physically walked. The former was just flatly and provably errant. On the latter, it probably dawned on him that since the archive of the Facebook Page remains up, enterprising people could check for themselves and see that he was just making it up as he went along. When he did not note that he had made any corrections at all – as journalistic ethics require when you make a substantive change to a post, I dismissed him as a serious person. I paid no more attention to him until the National Catholic Register and Patti Maguire Armstrong decided to use him as a reliable source at face value without vetting it.

I sent this information tonight and the supporting electronic documentation to the comment section at the Register. where it is awaiting moderation at the time of this writing. Given that both the Register and Ms. Armstrong have been singularly uninterested in what I have to say or any evidence I have to offer, I am not completely confident it will clear moderation there.

Of the people who told me that Armstrong was looking to do an article for the Register, several told me that she was candid that it would be a negative piece. Apparently that meant that anyone who came up with vitriol would be taken at face value and I would not be contacted at all for any response. If the plan was to publish a negative article, mission accomplished. Too bad the plan wasn’t to publish an accurate article. In the last two days, they have made several corrections to errors, including the erroneous citation in the headline that I am “banned” in Denver. Even so, the body of the article still contains that errant claim.

I do not intend to address this again unless they spew new allegations. If they are determined to talk ugly about me, that is their call. But there is one thing I must say, even if it troubles some of you. I think that sometimes I have gotten into avoidable confrontations because my agreeable nature occasionally leads some to mistakenly think I am a chump who is easily rolled.

A little over two decades ago, an Illinois newspaper chain decided it was going to destroy me to elevate the slate of candidates it preferred. In most jurisdictions, it is brutally hard for someone who is classified as a “public figure” to win a libel judgment. Illinois at the time was the toughest. To prove libel there, you had to prove that the publication had shown extreme reckless disregard of the facts AND their allegation must, at some point, falsely accuse the person of a crime. Otherwise, they could merrily tell any lies they want about a “public figure.” Their nearly year-long campaign did some damage to me, but it was not getting quite the traction they hoped. So they got more and more frantic. Finally, they accidentally stepped into an area that would have made me guilty of a misdemeanor, if true. That opened the door. They thought they were very clever by avoiding any allegations that were criminal, but once they unintentionally opened the door, all their provably false non-criminal accusations became evidence of actual malice on their part. Their refusal to ever call me to get my response became evidence of reckless disregard of the facts. Once their Chicago attorney finished his day-long deposition of me and found I would not crumble on the witness stand, they almost immediately began settlement offers.

As I noted in a comment, that newspaper group no longer exists. It was not the $24,000 settlement and apology that did them in, but their skyrocketing libel insurance rates that took a heavy toll. Publications do NOT settle libel suits with public figures unless they are forced to, for the nuisance suits that would follow would bankrupt them. My attorney told me I was only the third public figure in a decade to prevail in such a suit in Illinois.

Now, none of what the Register – or even O’Brien – has written is legally libelous, chock full of errors though it is. For a time (I know it was still there as recently as five years ago) I was on a register of the very few public figures who had prevailed in such a suit. It did not stop publications from criticizing me – and I wouldn’t have wanted it to. But it did encourage them to check their facts and check with me before running something negative. I figure since all of that was in the political realm, maybe the Register does not get that registry, even though their standards of fairness should be higher, not lower, than secular media.

Though they have not crossed the line into legal libel, they have already laid a foundation for provable actual malice and reckless disregard should they allow their frenzy to prove I’m a dirty guy cause them to slip.

If any publication should cross that line, unless it was clearly accidental, I would file suit. You may wonder what good that would do when the Rescue, itself, will likely have happened before any judgment could be entered. Very simply, it puts an immediate stop to the nonsense. When the suit is credible and filed by someone who has a history of prevailing even once – and only filing when it is credible – it almost immediately results in a steep increase in libel insurance.

So talk as ugly as you want. But if, after talking ugly without following the most basic standards of ethics, you cross the line, I will act. That makes it easy for me. I only have to correct the occasional substantive error – and if it goes beyond that, I will leave it to the lawyers. I’m an agreeable fellow, but I am not a chump.

Don’t think that I am “suffering” or any such thing. I know a few have written to console me. I have been fighting intense battles in politics and public life most of my life. These sorts of things are a minor annoyance that, if not dealt with clearly, can become major distractions. Things are too serious to not make the stakes clear.

I told a couple of Church officials I spoke with that I was a little surprised to find that Church politics is every bit as petty and self-absorbed as the real thing. The major difference is that, while religious schemers have all the attitude of the players in the real thing, they lack the skills. They think they are stealthy as ninjas as they come crashing through the brush like an armadillo.

I know that this will make some people uncomfortable, maybe even decide to look elsewhere. I try to avoid fights and treat people with respect for their humanity. I have never made it a secret, though, that I am a fighter when necessary. And as times continue to get tougher for people of faith, it is you who I will be primarily fighting for. Even if you talked ugly about me.

(Beckita said I should add this note to the main body of this article. Bishop Rene Gracida is one Bishop Ms. Armstrong cited as a former friend who is backing away from me. Today on his website, Abyssum, he reprinted this post – but gave it his own title: Libel is Libel Even When it Appears in a Catholic Periodical. Some backdown. But they should have known that a veteran old warrior like Gracida is not in the business of backing down. He, of course, does NOT endorse my private revelations. Whether or not they are fully authentic will be revealed soon enough. But he is a friend – and I am right glad he counts me as one, too.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Family of God, General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

420 Responses to Just One More Thing

  1. radiclaudio says:

    Hi all.

    Our dear friend Charlie can obviously still take care of himself, and we all have his back to help if needed, so be at peace (and don’t waste time throwing stones at satan’s dogs, there’s no winning that game, lol)

    Love to all.

    Rich

    Liked by 9 people

  2. Hi Charlie,

    I have been following you for well over a year now. Through that time I have had my ups and downs, fears and apprehensions. Today, I can easily tell you that I look forward to a new order and Our Lady rescuing us. I have been through judgement and persecution this fall and winter and I am keeping my head held high. I now understand what it means to truly TRUST. Your site has helped me a great deal. I look forward to the rescue so much now. Charlie your example of surviving and strengthening through persecution has been very helpful. God Bless you!

    Liked by 12 people

  3. Kris R. says:

    Charlie, don’t know if you ever met Mother Angelica but what a feisty team you two would make! Perhaps she too could be one of your “gals”?

    Liked by 6 people

    • charliej373 says:

      The only time I was offered a visit with her, she was sick and I chose not to disturb her. But by golly, I like it…and I think I will start calling on her as patron.

      Liked by 16 people

      • Jose says:

        YES! She had to fight and put up with so many things in her life. Just like St Teresa of Avila when she was trying to reform the Carmelite Order during the time of the Protestant Reformation and the Inquisition! Good patron saints for you!

        Liked by 5 people

      • God Bless you Charlie. You are a good example for us. I almost subscribed to the NCR because I thought I would get the truth and because it was affiliated with EWTN but now I’m not going to do that.

        Liked by 3 people

  4. deereverywhere says:

    “I told a couple of Church officials I spoke with that I was a little surprised to find that Church politics is every bit as petty and self-absorbed as the real thing.” Church politics have had 2000 years to hone their skill. Remember, St. Nicolas punched some Arian in the nose at the Council of Nicia. Pope Innocent told St Francis he smelled. The Borgia’s, the murders, the intrigue. If memory serves me correctly (I hope) No one really came to Pope Paul IV(you know the guy who wrote Humanae vitae) funeral. He was not liked very much. Chicago politics are mere babies when it comes to the churches politics. The evil one has had his hand in it from the beginning. He who is evil can’t stop now, he is fixing to be cut off, head first. Anywhere he can slow down a wheel, jam a gear or force a clog he will do so. It is the nature of the beast. At least you haven’t been accused of stepping over dead bodies (as the Pharisees did) lately. I really liked the lion picture that Centurion had yesterday, truth defends itself.

    Liked by 8 people

  5. vvtaranto@aol.com says:

    Persevere. God Bless you Charlie.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. Barb M. says:

    Well, Charlie. Here’s my personal take on everything. The numerous struggles and obstacles that you’ve encountered tell me that you’re on God’s “mailing list.”. In other words, you’re one of His friends. The Cross that accompanies the type of mystical experiences that you’ve had is large. Padre Pio once remarked something to the effect that people who have mystical experiences have great suffering that accompany such phenomenon. And most people wouldn’t want this. God picked you for a reason, and He’ll give you the grace to endure. Some of the people in charge didn’t really embrace His Son’s message very well either, so you’re in good company.

    Liked by 8 people

    • El ingeniero de Tepeyac says:

      “The numerous struggles and obstacles that you’ve encountered tell me that you’re on God’s “mailing list.””.

      And I thought you wrote – God’s “nailing list” especially when you mentioned Padre Pio who had the stigmata and God’s Son.

      God bless you and Charlie

      Liked by 6 people

  7. Lynne says:

    Charlie,

    When I read your writings concerning spiritual matters I am very much at peace. God does not want anything to disturb our inner peace because He can work much more effectively when we are at peace and trusting in His divine will. Please do not feel the need to defend yourself against these attacks. It is a distraction to what is important. Let God deal with it.

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Shirley Bachmeier says:

    Charlie, I am in total agreement with the positive comments of people that have felt the anointing of the Holy Spirit on you and your leadership at this crucial period in our lives. A prayer of St. Joseph while carrying for Jesus and Mary was given by Cora Evans in her THE REFUGEE FROM HEAVEN…as told by Mary as being words ever present on Joseph’s lips and in his heart…”Heaven grant that I may live so as to accomplish the Will of my God.” I sense, Charlie, that Heaven is granting you this grace and St. Joseph has the back of every one who desires to accomplish this as their own next right steps. We are so blessed to have been given a friend of St. Gabriel and St. Joseph, gifted with understanding, being prepared since youth to receive and be covered by your obedience, guidance, and love for God’s children. Thank you for being you, allowing us to be who we are and loved by the Spirit, Jesus, God-Man and Mary Immaculate, Mother of Jesus, giving us Hope to be molded into what fills us with what pleases the Father in his Divine Providence as we grow in our gifts and obedience. God, grant Charlie Your peace, joy, and love.

    Liked by 4 people

  9. Elena says:

    Thank You! For fighting for us! God Bless You!

    Liked by 4 people

  10. James Ignatius McAuley says:

    Charlie, in both the Latin Church and Byzantine Church today is the feast of the Holy Prophet Jeremiah:

    His Troparia: “We celebrate the memory of your Holy Prophet Jeremiah and through him we implore yo Lord to save our souls.”

    The introduction of Origen’s Homily 10 on Jeremiah 11.18-12.9″ “[i]f the oracles of God are in Law and Prophets, in Gospels an Apostles, it will be necessary that the one who is instructed in the oracles of God assign God as teacher. For, the who teaches men knowledge is God, as is written also in the Psalms . . .”

    The Roman Martyrology states that today is the day Jeremiah was stoned to death in Egypt.

    This Friday May 6 is the day of Holy and Long Suffering Job: His Troparia: “When the enemy of the Just beheld the wealth of Job’s virtues, he thought to destroy them: he attacked hi body, but could not touch hi spirit, for his pure soul was ready and strong. As for us, the same enemy stripped us and chained us. Wherefore, O savior, be on our side, protect us against he devil and save us.”

    A big hug, ole pal, and speak fearlessly like Jeremiah. Forgive these silly goofs (for at one time or another, we have all been silly pompous goofs) and we will all join you in praying for them.

    Liked by 5 people

  11. Christene says:

    Well, Charlie, I received a response;

    Blogger Kevin O’Brien said…
    OK, comments are closed from this point on. Those of you who don’t know Charlie and don’t care about Charlie have a real sense of the demographic he’s appealing to, thanks to the above comments.

    Christine, the bishops who have banned him are the archbishop of Denver and the bishop of Bismark. Read the article in the National Catholic Register – http://www.ncregister.com/daily-news/alleged-visionary-charlie-johnston-continues-ministry-despite-denver-archdi/.

    But this is not about reason, evidence or logic.

    This is about people behaving foolishly.

    I’m so sorry if I reflected badly on this wonderful community. St. Jerome, pray for me!

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      You did good, Christene.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Christene, I read the entire comment section and your comment was really good! So were many others there..really good!

      Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      Great job, Christene! IMHO closing comments is a sign of loss of control in the face of being challenged with truth. Look. O’Brien just misquoted the official statement by claiming a ban has been placed. You spoke truth, so please be at peace.

      Liked by 3 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Christene, I give you kudos for your courage and tenacity. I just happened upon Kevin O’s Twitter account, his 57 followers, and his last three tweets (as of now) and saw how diligent you and others have been in extending Acts of Spiritual Mercy to Kevin, to seemingly no avail.

      The Psychology of This: I honestly don’t think that Charlie Johnston’s followers believe him. They can’t. N… http://bit.ly/1razoOn

      Perspective on Charlie: This is from the comment section of Terry Nelson’s Abbey Roads blog. I am responding… http://bit.ly/1r9m78X

      Charlie Johnston Lies about Me – and I Admire Him for It!: Charlie Johnston is from Belleville. If you come f… http://bit.ly/21l2Cqv

      Liked by 2 people

      • Mary N says:

        Jen, I read these too. His determination to shred a fellow Catholic’s reputation borders on maniacal. I’m not sure I’ve ever seen anything quite like it. I haven’t tried to comment on his posts because I’ve seen bloggers like this in action and if you challenge them in any way it just feeds the fire. It also seems as if he is needling Charlie and trying to provoke him AND provoke those who read this blog.

        Liked by 3 people

        • jlynnbyrd says:

          Mary, it did seem from what I saw that he has a set one and two-line automatic response that he uses in his replies perhaps in a cut and paste capacity, even if the predetermined phrase does not address the topic. It is almost robotic in nature and sad as he seems so lost, hurt and/or angry. I will keep him in my prayers even though he stated having said so was equivalent to,
          “internet Catholic speak for “Go to hell!””

          Liked by 4 people

          • Beckita says:

            God knows your heart, Jen. Joining you in prayer.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Mary N says:

            Jen, that IS sad. I will pray for him as well. That he believes that praying for others is internet Catholic speak for “Go to hell!” says nothing about you and everything about him. Every person here knows how genuine you are and how often you lift up others in prayer. Let those prayers fly, Jen – the Lord loves a humble and sincere heart!

            Like

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Thank you Mary! My prayers are sincere and I do believe that when others offer prayers for Kevin, they are too, and so we lift him up in prayer. Kevin will also know the hearts of those who cared one day.

            Liked by 4 people

      • janet333 says:

        Comments section closed..He didn’t get many supporting him. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

  12. Jose says:

    In the meantime, miracle in Chicago! How curious that the weeping icon is that of St. John the Baptist! His mission was to tell people to prepare because the arrival of God was soon at hand, and shortly after, Jesus made His appearance on the scene! Is this coincidence, or am I reading too much into this?

    Liked by 6 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Repent! Repent! said John. So, I don’t think so, Jose. Repentance is an action word- to change! And that’s really a gift for them, for everyone! Wow!

      Liked by 4 people

  13. Deborah Seiter says:

    Charlie, thank you for responding to my question. I have to say I am disappointed in the Register for not expecting higher standards in journalism. I will write to them.

    Liked by 6 people

  14. Judy says:

    The article in question from the National Catholic Register has just made the headlines on Spirit Daily.

    Liked by 1 person

    • MarieUrsula says:

      An acquaintance of mine in another state (with whom I agree on many things) recently sent a link to this article to a BCC list which included me. She introduced the link, “Here is something I picked up off spiritdaily.com website regarding Charlie Johnston for your discernment:”

      I sent her an email reply which any of you might wish to borrow. Here’s my text:

      Subject: Re: Charlie Johnston’s next right step

      Hi, [my friend] ~

      I notice that you BCCed this to a lot of people, so perhaps you could forward my response to them as well.

      It would be fair for readers to actually read Charlie’s response to this article that appeared in the National Catholic Register. Here is Charlie’s initial response to that article:

      https://charliej373.wordpress.com/2016/04/29/charlie-johnston-threat-or-menace/

      The NCR article, unfortunately, contains a number of inaccuracies, easily checked by reading Charlie’s blogs posted over the last two years. The reporter, herself, could have done that easily. The most inaccurate point is what the article stated about the Archbishop of Denver’s decision after his staff reviewed 20 years worth of Charlie’s archives, which one of Charlie’s priest spiritual directors had been keeping for just such a time as this. For more information about Archbishop Aquila’s ruling, please read Charlie’s post, The Gamaliel Option, from March 7, 2016:

      https://charliej373.wordpress.com/2016/03/07/the-gamaliel-option/

      Since we’re dealing with private revelation here, no one is required by our Catholic faith to believe what Charlie is saying ~ except that he insists on loyalty to the Catholic faith and that people stay securely within the Barque of Peter. However, the fact that people are not required to believe private revelations does not excuse the National Catholic Register from reporting accurately so that people can decide based on facts rather than the inaccuracies the NCR presented.

      God bless and keep you,
      [me]

      Liked by 2 people

  15. First, Charlie, I have read your blog (though I do not often comment) for a while, and I just read O’Brien’s whole thing about you lying about your pilgrimage, etc. I have to say – the difference in reading your writing and reading his is STARK, and not in his favor. As you know, just keep letting your life and your words speak for themselves. His whole post was angry and cynical – not a sign of the presence of God’s Spirit – and he all but said that no apparition or vision should ever be paid attention to. So…that leaves out Fatima, Guadalupe, Lourdes. Heaven forbid! I am flabbergasted by those who angrily claim that we never, ever should even consider the possibility of prophecy. Why – has the Spirit ceased to speak in our days? That certainly is not what Scripture tell us. I’m so sorry; I just can’t handle so many sour faced saints. Let us be joyful, peaceful, and open to God’s Spirit and how He wishes to speak to us, and yes, of course discerning. That goes without saying. God bless you, Charlie. It’s all for the good. Thank you for your faithfulness. And if it turns out things were not as you understood, well you certainly would not be the first. Look at Fr. Gobbi – I know he thought things would happen before his death. Look at St. Paul – they all thought Christ was coming imminently! Does that make them “false” prophets?! NO! It simply means that God will do as He wills. And we will receive it and be open to it, please God. May He bless us all with His peace.

    Liked by 9 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Thanks and welcome to the comments section, Daughter. We soldier on together.

      Liked by 8 people

      • If I may add another comment. I am not a chaser after seers, not at all. However, I attribute my own reversion to the faith to Medjugorje. My faith does not hinge upon Medjugorje being officially approved or not, but yes, I believe and I like to read the messages. I was amazed when I saw today’s monthly message to Mirjana. The whole message is beautiful, but a portion of it seems to address this particular issue of paying attention (in a discerning way) to prophecy or visionaries, and why we need authentic visionaries and prophets: “…These words of mine are familiar to you because they are the truth, and the truth does not change. It is only that many of my children have forgotten it. My children, my words are neither old nor new, they are eternal. Therefore, I invite you, my children, to observe well the signs of the times, to ‘gather the shattered crosses’ and to be apostles of the revelation…” I for one am happy to listen to this invitation. I am happy to do my part – Gospa, help us to gather the shattered crosses and be apostles of the revelation. Amen. Bless you, Charlie.

        Liked by 4 people

  16. Judith says:

    It would seem to be prudent for us to stop checking out Kevin O’Brian. nothing new there, folks.
    I appreciate the many comments here today. Turned my heart to prayer for souls everywhere.

    Liked by 6 people

  17. leslyek says:

    Heck, as I recently commented to one among us, to not do otherwise than Charlie’s outlining is — in light of the Rescue — to not only not participate in hastening the Rescue, but to even be just a spectator to it — even part of the problem!

    Liked by 3 people

  18. theresa323 says:

    ‘the National Catholic Register article is now on Spirit daily and elsewhere. Evidently as you said, because of your God given agreeable nature, some think you a chump and easily rolled.
    I do believe some thought that same thing Of Mother Angelica.
    I am asking Mother Angelica to intercede on your behalf. We are the Church Militant…
    May God give you the strength and graces needed and help you to resolve this situation.

    Liked by 6 people

  19. jayman92 says:

    Now you are probably going to claim that you never said a comet was going to strike us (a little humor to lighten the mood).

    Liked by 6 people

  20. Fera Henri says:

    We read in today’s evening prayers:

    1 Peter 2:21-24

    Christ suffered for you,
    and left you an example
    to have you follow in his footsteps.

    He did no wrong;
    no deceit was found in his mouth.’
    When he was insulted
    he returned no insult.

    When he was made to suffer,
    he did not counter with threats.
    Instead he delivered himself up
    to the One who judges justly.

    In his own body
    he brought your sins to the cross,
    so that all of us, dead to sin,
    could live in accord with God’s will.
    By his wounds you were healed.

    Liked by 8 people

  21. Arby says:

    Love you man, blessings and prayers.

    Liked by 5 people

  22. Armadillos crash through brush? I had no idea. Off to learn about armadillos.

    Liked by 3 people

  23. joe reynolds says:

    its actually Patti Armstrong and not patti mcquire. get it right…
    Posted by PATTI ARMSTRONG on Friday Apr 29th, 2016 at 12:00 PM

    Like

  24. MaureenM says:

    Thank you, Charlie, for your perseverance and tenacity. I am so disappointed in the NCR. I will be praying for you. Thank you to all those leaving comments. They lift me up and give me hope. I am sure it is the same with Charlie.

    Liked by 6 people

  25. pineconejill says:

    Charlie,
    You helped me find courage when I was afraid and helped me to see that obsessing on my own survival was the opposite of what God wants from me.
    I changed my focus from worrying about what will be, to trusting God.
    This has given me such peace.
    I now understand St Francis, who when asked the question of what he would do if told the world would end today, said he would finish hoeing the row of beans.
    I dont care what happens in the future, I believe you are telling the truth as it will be if we dont repent. Oh, how I pray for repentance!
    God bless,
    pcj

    Liked by 8 people

    • Beckita says:

      Beautiful, Jill! God bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Joe Crozier says:

      Hi PC, Good to see you here. Your comment reminded me how short of true repentance I often fall. There is often a strong disconnect between repentance and trust in my life. I believe that one needs the other.
      God bless you too

      Liked by 4 people

      • pineconejill says:

        Hey Joe Cro!
        Glad to see you here too. I’m pretty busy most of the time but still like to chime in now and again. Spokane has been really good for our family, lots of healing happening. I’m grateful for every day.
        Gotta go get the dishes done
        Shalom and God bless!
        pcj

        Liked by 4 people

        • Beckita says:

          If you ever have reason to drive about 200 miles east on I90 and would like to/have time to connect, please shoot me an email, PC Jill: TNRS.Answers@gmail.com God bless you.

          Liked by 2 people

          • pineconejill says:

            We might be going through there this summer, my daughter is working at Yellowstone and we’re hoping to visit. It would be fun to say “hi” on the way through.
            We lived over in Hardin 2 years while my husband worked at the Custer Battlefield. Great people, I cried for months after we left, I miss them all the time (didn’t miss the weather tho’, -35 temps, giant hail, floods, just couldn’t hack it).
            God bless!
            j

            Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            The eastern part of the state has such different weather than the western portions. If ever you’ve got the time, please send a note. We do have a Mass at noon every day at the chapel except Sundays. God bless you!

            Liked by 2 people

      • Beckita says:

        You know, Joe, there is a power-packed gem in your comment: “There is often a strong disconnect between repentance and trust in my life. I believe that one needs the other.” Amen and Alleluia!

        I see so many people in our time struggle with repentance because of being locked in shame with the commensurate challenge of forgiving oneself and letting go of self-recrimination. How can one move forward but on the platform of dignity provided by Divine Mercy Himself via words conveyed through St. Faustina: The greater the sin, the greater RIGHT that sinner has to My Mercy.

        This pondering brings me to a way I am praying as we traverse the darkest darkness of the Storm. May our Mother, the Mediatrix of Grace, grant every grace needed so that each of Her children, as they are enlightened of their spiritual depravity, will choose to rise from the ashes of sins and take the risk to seek Her Son’s Mercy.

        It seems to me that as one musters all the repentance s/he has in the moment and sins are forgiven, repentance deepens, for this sacrament brings healing, and trust indeed abounds.

        Liked by 5 people

    • Judith says:

      PCJill
      I see myself in your comments. For a time I tried to set things up so I, and family, could survive the collapse and chaos. Finally, through a time of prayer, I questioned ‘who am I serving?’. I was ‘living for my family’ and yeh, for God, but not so much. So now I seek to live for God and serve the rest. [on the road. not there yet]
      I’ve preped a bit but with a mind on helping the yahoos who think themselves so immune from any difficulties, even and especially family members [sound familiar folks?].
      Jesus told Faustina that the thing that hurt Him the most was our lack of trust in Him. Finally dawned on me that trust means total surrender to His Divine Will, [slow journey – I keep trying to take things back]. The journey has become easier and more peaceful as I consider thoughts expressed on Charlie’s site.
      Thank you God. – and NRS folks
      Judy

      Liked by 7 people

      • pineconejill says:

        Yeah, in the beginning I was freaking out, planning to head for the hills and live on venison and wild…things. After some discussions here I thought “Wow, could I really hide with a bunch of stuff and watch my neighbors starve”?
        No way. I’d starve myself first.
        I do have some big bags of beans and rice and extra vitamins that I can share until it is gone and then, God will provide.
        He hasn’t let me down yet!
        God bless!
        pcj

        Liked by 5 people

  26. Rita Maes says:

    hi Charlie,

    I just read the summary provided by the Blessed Hope Website; i am curious, who is “menses” have you revealed that to us yet?

    On Sun, May 1, 2016 at 1:51 AM, The Next Right Step wrote:

    > charliej373 posted: ” By Charlie Johnston Gadfly Blogger Kevin O’Brien > commented on Patti Maguire Armstrong’s piece about me on the National > Catholic Register that I was lying about contacting him to correct his > original article accusing me of collecting “millions” from the” >

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      No…and I never will. I wish I had never mentioned him to anyone but my Priests. He plays a very minor role, though he thinks it is big. It will only be important after the Rescue, when he is revealed.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Joseph J says:

        I can’t imagine how difficult it must be to decide what and what not to reveal. I guess that’s why you have been given a lifetime of training.

        Liked by 4 people

        • charliej373 says:

          It sure is a lot easier in those things where I am not given latitude. But I am given a good deal of latitude and will be held to account for how I exercise it. I take it seriously, but will have to count on God’s mercy.

          Liked by 6 people

  27. lambzie37 says:

    My heartfelt thanks to you Charlie for continuing to fight for me, the TNRS community and most importantly for our dear Lord himself!

    Liked by 7 people

    • Doug says:

      Yes. Charlie, we are most grateful and Lambzie, I am most grateful to be beside you with our great and wonderful God, Jesus and the Blessed Mother.

      Liked by 7 people

  28. Pat says:

    Honestly, I was a skeptic at first and then moved to believe, with impunity of course. Now, I’m not sure where I am.

    A really big part of me expects a true visionary such as Charlie to be humble beyond reproach. Posts proclaiming accuracies of one’s prognostications run contrary to my expectation of humility. The multi-paragraphed protestations run contrary too. I would be happy with a simple, “These folks have it all wrong, let’s pray for them” type of response.

    We’re well in to 2016 and should know is Charlie is right very soon. There have been some unabashed and very bold predictions about the elections that are only a few months away. They are so bold, I can’t imagine any way to explain away the prophetic utterances if they fail to come true. Therefore, that is my test of Charlie.

    Regardless, whether Charlie knows it or not, whether he is right or wrong in his predictions, he has changed me for the better. At one really low spot a couple of months ago I cried out to God, totally abandoned to His will (my daughter was dying). She recovered and I believe my abandonment totally to God and God alone is what made the change; my hope was totally in God.

    ….and for that, I will be forever grateful to Charlie.

    Liked by 8 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Thank God for your daughter, Pat. As for the rest, all will soon see. I did not put up my accurate assessment of two years ago to brag, but that you might have confidence that I am telling you true. Only a few know how single-minded my focus really is. I am called to give you heart to endure, but also to carry all to safety. It is sufficient that I defend against attacks which would blunt that effectiveness without obsessing on them, but it is absolutely necessary that I do protect that effectiveness. You are right though, we have entered the times of fulfillment now.

      Liked by 7 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Pat, Thanks be to God for you and for your daughter in her healing!

      Liked by 2 people

    • vicardwm says:

      There are different ways of being holy, Pat. Charlie is not really of the “meek” temperament. He’s more of the stomping sherpa temperament, which strikes out against any danger to his mission and/or his journey. You can find both types (and many more) among the saints, and thank God for that.

      Liked by 3 people

    • Doug says:

      Wonderful Pat. Abandonment to God is what matters most. How beautiful it is to throw oneself into the hands of an all merciful, all loving, all caring God!

      Liked by 3 people

  29. Kayla says:

    As Mother Angelica would say, “If you’re not a thorn in somebody’s side, you’re not doing Christianity right.” Prayers for your fortitude, Charlie. God bless.

    Liked by 4 people

  30. Dear Charlie

    I read the NCR article.

    Do not be discouraged or frustrated. Those who follow you will not view things any different.

    God bless

    Lawrence

    Liked by 3 people

  31. Daniel O'Connor says:

    I am afraid Michael Brown posted today’s headline on SpiritDaily in haste. There is no “debate” here. The Medjugorje seers, whom he strongly (and rightly, might I add) promotes, have been far more restricted in their ministry than Charlie has been, and yet they (again, rightly) continue it; albeit in unwavering obedience to the directive of the Bishop to not speak on Church property in their diocese.

    Liked by 6 people

  32. mbrandon8026 says:

    Dear Charlie et al

    You have been very careful with us, IMHO, to make TNRS the focus, and not specific predictions.

    Frankly, looking at the world we live in, with my university educated and street smarted understanding of economics, there is only so long entities can go on printing more cash in their basements with no actual assets to back it, before something serious gives.

    How long can God and His world stand by and let more than 2 million people a year be sold into economic or sexual slavery? And how much longer can Our Loving God allow the sexual revolution and its fruits to continue? And let’s not get started on the worst martyring of believers in the history of the world.

    We are out of time for the status quo, and only the blind cannot see it.

    I know nothing about dates and times,and care not a whit about them. I care about the salvation of souls, mine, my beloved wife’s, our children and their loved ones, and all those around us, near and far.

    I care deeply about acknowledging God, a God who loves me more than I can ever imagine, and Who I want to love in return with every breath I take.

    I care deeply about taking the Next Right Step, which is only possible after acknowledging God, and doing my best to discern it, through prayer and the resources the Lord has put in my path, and to trust in the peace that God gives me as I take it, regardless of the wrinkles that come along the way.

    And I care deeply about being a sign of hope for all those I encounter because in this crazy, mixed up world we are living in, God knows we all need signs of hope.

    The concept of TNRS is so simple, but great minds have not been able to put it together. Yet, it is basic to the teachings of Jesus Christ in scripture and in Sacred Tradition.

    If perchance, Charlie were wrong about specifics of the presidency, he is not wrong on the train wreck that is our world. It is only a matter of time, not a matter of if. Every cause has an effect, and we are up to our wazoo in bad causes, some I listed above.

    Regardless of what those who fear the fruits of our sin want to believe we are in the Storm, and it is nowhere near its zenith yet. There are no political solutions for where we are at, there is only God.

    This sums up my takeaway from all I have learned from Charlie.

    I am all in, in large part because TNRS has strengthened my prayer life, my love of all those God has put in my life, specially my family, and it is bearing abundant fruit in my life and in my ability to share Him with those I encounter.

    I say this while I am traveling at the moment in the interior of British Columbia bringing one of my daughters, Melinda, back home to Ontario to live, knowing that this time with her is a time to strengthen her weak but growing faith, to love her as He does to the best of my ability. She is learning to acknowledge God, trust in Him for her next right steps, and is working on how to be a sign of hope particularly for her younger sister who we had to leave in Vancouver.

    But, for my daughter Molly, who we left in Vancouver, our hearts are saddened by a situation we saw in her relationship with a young man that we are largely powerless on our own to help save her from. There is a lesson for Melinda and for me as well, in trust, and committing to prayer, and taking the Next Right Step to help her find her way back out.

    God Bless all who go here.

    Michael Brandon

    Liked by 6 people

  33. Ann says:

    It was heartening to see Glenn Dallaire’s comment to the Armstrong article regarding how to interpret the Archbishop’s statements about Charlie. Her whole perspective hinges on whether the Archbishop’s words are neutral or negative. Her unsubstantiated premise is that Charlie is understood to be false by the powers that be. Furthermore, she never addressed whether media figures were shying away from Charlie because they discerned his messages to be false or as a matter of caution (or some other reason).

    For what it’s worth, I find Charlie’s brashness and boldness to be refreshing. It seems like public discourse nowadays consists of either mean mockery or mealy-mouthed, self-serving posturing.

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Ha…as for boldness…I figured out when I was 16 that if I was to be condemned, it would darn well be for what I actually do believe rather than some pale expression of what I don’t. I’ve been happy with that outlook all my life since then.

      Liked by 6 people

  34. Bob says:

    This is what I Posted on NCR blog in response to their article:
    Bob on Monday, May 2, 2016 12:42 PM (EDT):
    “A few thoughts as I have been reading Charlie’s blog for some time and have met the man when he spoke in the St Louis area last year. First as I have commented on his Blog several times regarding his specific prophecies of Obama not completing his Presidency, the rescue in late 2017,etc. “We will see” and we can never be certain of the reliability of any alleged seer until things develop but I believe he is a faithful Catholic and not doing this for personal gain. Other impressions, He calls the “spirit of Antichrist” the belief our societies have developed that we can create a happy society without reference to God and that cannot happen per John ch 15. Branches cannot long have life apart from the vine, and this applies to societies too. And he has said that as our society continues to fragment apart from God, people will lose hope in our worldly system and will be more opened to hope in God. And I believe this is true whether the collapse of our increasingly Godless society happens sooner or later, unless, of course we have a major societal conversion to God, which seems unlikely without some disruption to bring our world and it’s leaders to their knees, ourselves included.”
    I didn’t post this but the title itself says a lot about the bias involved.
    http://www.ncregister.com/daily-news/alleged-visionary-charlie-johnston-continues-ministry-despite-denver-archdi

    Liked by 3 people

  35. Bob says:

    I have posted several additional comments including Mark Mallott’s recent post on Revolution.
    http://www.markmallett.com/blog/on-the-eve-of-revolution/ to show how there are more than one voice sensing danger and change as well as opportunity for those of faith.
    Is it possible that this “controversy” is one more way God is beginning to make more people aware that “something is up”?

    Liked by 3 people

  36. Cheryl says:

    I read an article today entitled, ” The Culture Was Overthrown by Small Acts of Cowardice” ~ or something similar to that. The jist of the article was that it has been the small acts of cowardice found in everyday life that has undermined our culture to the point we are at today. Most of us have refused to stand for what is right and just, because it is to difficult to speak up. Most of us will refuse to say anything when we see men enter the changing room, bathroom, shower room occupied by women and girls alike because it’s to difficult to risk a confrontation. It’s been to difficult to demand accountability in our schools when parental rights were being eroded and trampled ( how many pulled their kids from schools when the administration decided that parents do not have the right to opt their children out of ‘health’ classes that teach the hows, the whats and the where of sexual perversity). Its much easier to say and do nothing than stand up. Evil men ( and actions ) prosper when the just refuse to speak. I believe that some journalists, including those in the Catholic blogosphere, have been allowed free reign without accountability, and have done considerable damage to good people’s credibility, reputations and lives. It has become a rarity to see any form of courage. Rarer still to see anyone taken to task for unrepentant wrongdoing. So, it may come as a bit of a shock when a courageous man stands up and holds a writer accountable. But, in the end I think it is an incredible act of charity. We either correct our mistakes here in this life or atone for them in the next. Better to face a lawsuit for libel now than whatever form of purgation awaits in the next.

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      It is a marvelous article by David French, writer for the National Review, Cheryl. I am going to use it in a piece. I am in the last few days before my son’s wedding so things are very busy, but that is a key piece I intend to use. I’m glad you cited it before I used it.

      Liked by 5 people

    • janet333 says:

      Wow! I so agree with you, Cheryl. I’ve been saying for years that unless we stand up for what is right and protest against the wrongs we are acting in a cowardly fashion and will one day reap the consequences.

      Too many are contented to sit on the fence 😦

      Liked by 5 people

    • Mick says:

      Cheryl, I agree with nearly everything you said here. The one quibble that I have is your example of people’s pulling their children out of school rather than leaving them in schools which trample on parents’ rights. In my mind, this is not the parents’ choosing “to say and do nothing than stand up.” This is the parents’ protecting the minds and souls of their children. As a mother who has homeschooled for 16 years (kindergarten through high school with now 2 high-school graduates), I know from experience that taking one’s children’s education upon oneself is a massive endeavor. It is more than a full-time job, especially when one is teaching multiple children at different grade-levels while running a household and chasing a toddler (which is par-for-the-course for many, perhaps most, Catholic homeschooling families). Rather than spending my time and energy re-fighting battles that parents before me have been fighting for years and have largely lost, I’m spending my time and energy home-educating the next generation of faithful Catholics who will be prepared to lead and excel in the fields of their choice. This is true of all the Catholic homeschoolers that I know: we are not being fearful and we are not running away; we are taking the bull by the horns. To me, that is “stand[ing] up.” 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

      • Doug says:

        Bravo Mick! I would add I can choose to do battle with my kids in public school, but do I really want to win at the possible expense of my kids? All my kids went through Catholic school. This was my wife’s and my choice early on and boy, we struggled financially at the time, but God provided in miraculous ways. I give hats off to all home achool Moms (hey. That’s you Mick)!

        Liked by 4 people

        • Doug says:

          Home school moms…… I guess another soul gets out and my non-home school edumacation is showing……

          Liked by 4 people

        • Snowy Owl says:

          Doug, some of us had to make that choice battling the Catholic Schools as well… I pulled mine from one that was teaching very bad things! I started a fight with them over this and they did start taking it out on my kids. So oneday I was at a meeting with my spiritual group reading through a really great book and my SD suddenly stopped the meeting and looked and said why not homeschool? I laughed and immediately.. poof 💨 pulled them out and we were off! Oh what joy we had all those years! Such a blessing it was! One very annoying though, that I recall and still laugh about today, was my son milked his lunch hour for all it was worth- he loved ramen and would eat it with a fork …even the broth which took forever! 🍜 He was such a 🍑! 😊

          Liked by 6 people

        • lambzie37 says:

          Boy did we eat a lot of Mac & Cheese, ten boxes for a buck!

          Liked by 5 people

      • Cheryl says:

        Hi Mick, I am a homeschooling mom of 8 ~ ages 17 yrs. – 8mos little baby ( 2 in high school), mountains of never ending laundry ( 5 boys so my washer is usually filled with swamp water, mud and sand). A house that usually looks like a cyclone hit it, because it is difficult trying to juggle teaching, cleaning, laundry, cooking, grocery shopping…. I am not sure you have a quibble with me. I don’t think you understood what I was saying, and I am not entirely certain I understand what you are saying. To clarify, I am saying that pulling a student out of a school that refuses to respect parental rights is an act of courage that needs to be encouraged. I am saying that the minute a school administration decided that they had more control over what was taught to my/your children (funding themselves with my/our tax dollars to boot ) is the minute there should have been a mass exodus from the schools, with the school committee, superintendent etc. fired and voted out of office. As example, my friend’s public schooled ( I think she was 6th grade )Goddaughter came home with her friend who then proceeded to ask the mother how she felt about ‘masturbation’ having learned it, “in detail” ( read: planned parenthood style) in ‘health’ class. That same minute that school dept. should have received a phone call telling them that they could take their class and shove it, and they would never see my child again. (The consent waiver form that was sent home with the students at the beginning of the year did not mention anything about sexual instruction). Instead, my husband is now a ‘controversial’ religious ed. instructor, because he is teaching Catholic moral theology to these same students who have spent 11-12 years being indoctrinated in sexual perversity. As another example, parents have forgotten how to use the word, “NO!”. No, you will NOT listen to “Lady” Gaga (or any other of satan’s prostitutes using music to sell sex), you will NOT watch that television series, you will NOT wear anything that disrespects your body, or the souls of the people around you. People want to complain about the kids today… kids today have parents. The kids are who they are because the parents have completely capitulated to the culture and refused to take a stand for their children ~ small acts of everyday cowardice that have resulted in generations of beautiful, beautiful children raised by satan for hell. It’s on us. We did it. God help us, because we deserve what we get.

        Liked by 4 people

        • charliej373 says:

          You are right, Cheryl. I suspect it was just a matter of semantics, for I don’t see much of any daylight between yours and Mick’s positions. Let’s just say that you are “vigorously” agreeing with each other!

          Liked by 3 people

        • Mick says:

          Cheryl, you’re right (I did not in fact understand what you meant); and Charlie is right (you and I do agree, and the misunderstanding is almost certainly a matter of semantics). My bad.

          By the way, have you been peeking in the window of my house? Because the description you gave sounds like my house to the T (with the small exception of the swamp water in the washing machine. We have “barn residue” in ours.). 🙂

          Liked by 5 people

        • Doug says:

          I’m with you all the way Cheryl. I was in high school in the 70s and it was on the bleeding edge of that. I remember well the health ed teacher teaching that. When I became Catholoc, thats when my wife and I vowed my kids would never go to public school. We could not afford it in Mass. where we lived on one income. So we picked up and moved to a much more afordable area. I do realize many Catholic schools have issues too. We were very fortunate to have good Catholic schools in our area. Thanks for the clarification.

          Liked by 4 people

  37. Bob says:

    And the way the prevailing media and culture handles things I often ask what is the best way to respond to evil as with evil so often being glorified in our culture acts of resistance are now painted as being “discriminatory, reactionary, hateful,” etc. In the din of the media shout down of resistance to evil, how well can acts of courage be seen as good acts? We clearly need to pray for great wisdom and prudence on how to respond for if we allow ourselves to respond out of anything other than God’s way, I fear that few will listen or be touched.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doug says:

      But if the Acts are done on the other side, they are made out to be heros . Lord have Mercy on us!

      Liked by 2 people

    • Bob says:

      We won’t have much space to discuss this above ? here but I am sure Francis is right. if we just condemn what is disordered we will easily be branded as “one of them” and marginalized. So we will need to make the case for what is truly most good and noble and show how the disordered is less than it can be. Many still have not totally lost the ability to appreciate the truly good but sadly the voices of disorder are these days so loud that merely critical voices will easily be drowned out and silenced. I am busy this weekend and I am sure Charlie is too with a wedding and such. so let’s discuss these issues more as how we present truth is truly important.

      Liked by 2 people

  38. Fera Henri says:

    Two days ago, I suddenly found myself understanding. I understand what it means the “Rescue”. I understand why Our Blessed Mother in Medjugorje said that whoever will wait till the sign appears to repent, it will be too late for him. Charlie is speaking the truth and the apparitions of Medjugorje are authentic, the Church will never condemn it.
    “The Dawn from on High shall break upon us,
    to shine on those who dwell in darkness and the shadow of death,
    and to guide our feet into the way of peace:”

    Liked by 3 people

  39. Fera Henri says:

    How Doug? Can you tell me how do you think I can rescue others?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Doug says:

      Hi Fera, it’s not like there is any magic formula or anything like that. Its all about living your own calling and doing the right that is in front of you. As Charlie has alluded to many times, it’s being joyful in spite of your circumstances. It’s a deep interior understanding of knowing how much God loves you personally that allows you to emanate joy and happiness. It will be like a magnet to others and hopefully give you the opportunity to explain why you can be happy when everything is crumbling around our culture. It’s not necessarily about telling about Charlie, but it’s telling about God’s love. It’s about the faith you live and the love you give. Only the Holy Spirit can change the heart and the best way to communicate it is to live it. If the other person converts, then we rejoice for another soul preserved for heaven and we gloriously celebrate. Hence, this is a rescue. It’s one soul at a time. I hope this helps. God bless you Fera!

      Liked by 4 people

  40. jlynnbyrd says:

    Barb, that is just so beautiful! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  41. Antoinette White says:

    Right on Brother

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

