Confusion Rises

fr. jacques hamel

Fr. Jacques Hamel, the French Priest murdered by ISIS operatives this week

By Charlie Johnston


Yesterday, ISIS operatives murdered French Priest Jacques Hamel while he was saying Mass and critically injured a nun before being taken down by French police. In the last week, Jihadists have mounted five attacks in Germany. ISIS mounted a mass murder attack in Afghanistan that killed 61 people.

Pope Francis said today that the world is at war, a welcome acknowledgement of reality that the American White House steadfastly denies. But then the Pope went on to say that it is a war of interests, of money and domination, that has nothing to do with religion – because religions don’t want war. It made me thankful that Popes are NOT authoritative on matters of economics, political philosophy, diplomacy or military matters – because this Pope does not seem even reasonably well informed on such matters. I sometimes disagreed in perfectly good conscience on such matters with St. John Paul II and with Pope Emeritus Benedict, as I always knew those were matters in which the laity had primary prudential responsibility. I respected, though, that St. John Paul and Pope Emeritus Benedict took some care to know a little of what they were talking about before venturing opinions on such things. I dearly wish that Pope Francis would be a bit more reticent on matters on which he is not authoritative so that he does not dilute his authority on those matters in which he is. His frequent unconsidered pronouncements on such matters is adding to the confusion and doing damage to how some view the Catholic Church.

Pope Francis is, indeed, the Pope of the Storm. I love his often swash-buckling style of trying to gather people in. On his actual Magisterial pronouncements on faith and morals he is notably orthodox, even if he is not in his occasional off-the-cuff comments on the same. His often brash, ill-informed comments on politics, science, diplomacy and economics make me think that it must please God to make the Storm even more chaotic and stormier for a time. I have often said we must all concentrate on manning our own posts well in these times. That is probably good counsel for the Holy Father, too.

For all of us, I say what I have said from the start. When we in the West confront Islam intellectually and militarily with unambiguous resolve and candor, it will collapse far more quickly than anyone can imagine – and will, in fact, be converted en masse by Our Lady of Tepeyac. As long as we keep reciting the wishful thinking, the fantasy of Islam as a religion of peace that has nothing to do with the violent turmoil sweeping the world, we will be held to account by God for those martyred by our banal fantasies which deny the reality all can see.

I repeat today the piece I wrote last November, “Concerning Islam.” It was true then; it is true now. The tide will not turn until we live it. At the end, I print Fr. Dolindo’s Novena of Surrender. It is a Novena for our times – and I will put it up again.

Tomorrow, I will publish the second installment of the Rules of Regency.

Concerning Islam

joan of arc, william etty

By Charlie Johnston

People in all cultures reach out to God – usually in the way they are taught. It is instinctive to us to want to know, love and serve our Creator. Most people, even if errant, are sincere in that desire. We are all embedded with a desire for the good, as well. To care for each other, love our neighbor…so we have tools to approach the throne of God even if our basic knowledge and wisdom is deficient.

Most Muslims, like other peoples, want to reach out to God…and do so in the way they were taught. Most would like to do so without the bloodshed, coercion and oppression. In fact, I suspect that many Muslims who emigrated to America over the years came specifically because they wanted to reach out to God in a way that was familiar to them, but without the violence and oppression. America, a land that guaranteed human rights, must have seemed the perfect place to do that. But America betrayed them. In America rose a toxic notion of tolerance, a notion that first enabled, then celebrated and favored cultural practices that were inimical to the values of freedom. This new American “tolerance” empowered the very brutes those Muslims came to escape – and all in the name of tolerance.

Up until 9-11, I considered Islam one of the three great monotheistic religions. It was not the actions of the terrorists that roused my suspicions, but the silence or obfuscation of the rest of Islam on the matter. If a group of Catholics had done that, I knew my Church would immediately rise in righteous anger to denounce the terrorists, to condemn them and proclaim excommunication on any who adopted such poisonous doctrines contrary to the faith. That did not happen with Islam. About the best they could muster was the “street-gang” defense: “It wasn’t us.” – denying personal responsibility while remaining ambivalent – and often excusing – the act.

It was that disturbing episode that led me to study the Koran. It is not very large…only about the length of the Psalms. I was stunned. I had heard all the quotations “proving” that Islam was a religion of peace. It was a shell game. To simplify, the Koran has two very different sets of rules, one for fellow Muslims and another for infidels. All the quotations supporting the “religion of peace” fantasy come from sections on how to treat fellow Muslims with whom you are in conflict. The rules for infidels are that they must convert or die. The only wiggle room is how long you give them to convert before you kill them. Even more shocking, all manner of brutalities against them, including torture, rape and murder – even against children – are not forbidden but are, in fact, considered blessed acts. When Muslim terrorists attacked the Beslan School in Russia in 2004, I stunned some of my friends when I said the Muslims would torture and rape some of the children. They accused me of bigotry – until it happened. Then they asked how I knew. I told them it is in the Koran – and I had read it. My study of the Koran had led me to the shocking realization that the terrorists WERE the expression of authentic Islam.

To be sure, the Hadith are important in Islam. These are commentaries written after the Koran, by various Islamic scholars, purporting to give additional words of Muhammed not included in the Koran. Some of those scholars made attempts to try to soften the clear homicidal bent of the Koran towards non-Muslims. Yet the Koran remains – and it is binding, no matter how much some of the Hadith tries to square the circle.

The great Christian writer and historian, Hilaire Belloc, argued that Islam is not a unique religion at all, but a singularly perverse Christian heresy. Belloc was an occasional collaborator with G.K. Chesterton and was president, for a time, of the Oxford Union. While I think his case is somewhat overstated, it carries deep insight into the historical phenomenon which is Islam. Certainly Islam recognizes but one God, emphasizes that man is to serve him, and posits an afterlife. Other than that, the differences are more striking than the similarities.

In Islam, God is a distant, alien thing. There is –and can be – no kinship between man and God whatsoever. The relationship is that of master to a dog, with a master who encourages a brutal viciousness in his dogs. There is no spark of divine dignity in any human, even the holiest of Muslims. They are either good pets to their malignant master or they are not. People are ever treated like things. This is how you get “honor killings” of family members for various – mainly sexual – transgressions. But those sexual rules only apply to women. A sister who has been raped is “broken, like a plate,” as I heard one moderate Muslim man describe it. She is no good anymore and must be discarded. Islam is a religion of appetites, not transcendent aspirations. It is a religion of rules, not of principles of morality. There is no kinship between God and man. Even the supposed rewards of the afterlife are purely temporal in nature – and still treat women as things. The great Muslim warrior supposedly gets 72 virgins to do with as he will. What, precisely, does a Muslim virgin get other than a vicious man?

G.K. Chesterton once said that the man who is intellectually serious about his faith must “either ascend into Catholicism or descend into disbelief.” While that may be overstated, too, it presumes that a man starts from a spark of truth to begin his inquiries. If your image of God is not as Father, as the source of good, but instead as a demanding, petulant murderer, you are severely handicapped in your search. I have said – and maintain – that most Muslims honestly want to know, to love and to serve God in peace with their fellows. I have also said – and maintain – that Islam, itself, is a satanic deception. In that sense, Belloc is absolutely right that it is one of the greatest of the heresies.

Our challenge then is to evangelize Muslims where we can and defeat Islam where we cannot. Christians can be terribly naieve. We think we have been at peace with Islam for much of the last few centuries, with some sporadic hostilities. We have not. Islam’s aim has always been to conquer the world and wipe out any remnants who will not convert. It has occasionally been engaged in strategic armistices with the west, but has been at war with it since late in Muhammed’s life. Ultimately, it will only accept victory or death.

I never propose that Christians should act with coercive aggression, even with Islam. If an Islamic nation is willing to live within its borders and maintain peace with its neighbors, it should be left alone. But the robust vigor of St. Joan of Arc and the best of the Christian Crusaders is my model for how Christians should behave in defending their faithWhile yet a teenage girl, St. Joan of Arc was sent by God to rescue France from annihilation. and lands against military assault. Understand that Islam is starkly different than Christianity in how it defines the role of the state and the citizen to religion. In Christianity, individual conscience is respected. The state is expected to act justly, according to transcendent principles that guard human liberty. In Islam, religion, politics and ideology are inextricably entwined. There is no freedom of conscience, only religious rules that must be ruthlessly imposed in all walks of life.

I see myself quoted frequently as saying that Our Lady of Tepeyac is going to convert the Muslims en masse. That is true, but only half of what I have said about the matter. I say that Our Lady will, indeed, convert Islam, mainly through its women, but not until we in the west confront it seriously, both militarily and intellectually. Then it will collapse on itself quicker and more easily than anyone can imagine.

All democracies before America ultimately degenerated into chaos, then dictatorship. Because of our success, we have completely lost sight that democracy is one of the most unstable forms of government ever devised. The genius of the founders was primarily in introducing stabilizing elements into the mix, elements that we have systematically and slowly dismantled over the last century or so. The system I would adopt presupposes at least a temporary absolutism. We are headed in that direction. Pray that whoever the absolutist leader is is committed to faith, family and freedom – and that after clearing away the cultural, ideological and structural brush and deadwood that has accumulated, he will return to us a system that is based on our foundational principles.

This is what I would do:

  1. Declare America formally a Judeo-Christian country that is open and tolerant to all people of goodwill, whatever their faith. No unit of government and no official can ban public or private displays and expressions of Christian or Jewish faith. No institution shall coerce any non-Christian into participation of public expressions.
  2. Do not allow Islamic terrorists to hide behind human shields in their own countries any more. Protect civilians in hostile zones by giving them frequent warnings that if terrorists have embedded themselves among them, they need to eject them or get out – because we are coming.
  3. Forget about notions of proportionality. If hostile powers insist on targeting the west or western citizens, the only acceptable solution is their unconditional surrender or their destruction. Continue pounding them until one or the other has been accomplished.
  4. Send FBI agents to watch over every mosque in the country. If worshippers do not incite violence, leave them be. If they do, shut them down. In the 50s and 60s, some racial supremacists used churches as cover for their nefarious schemes. The FBI shut down such covers while respecting the right of innocents to worship. We have a much larger, malignant force using some mosques as cover. End it.
  5. Sharia law is incompatible with freedom and American principles. Outlaw it throughout the country. Remove it root and branch anywhere it appears. Deport any who scream about it.
  6. A false dualism has arisen over the matter of refugees. Taking them in here or leaving them to die are not our only options. We have had such situations before – and in the Middle East. We can work to set up refugee camps in the Middle East to receive and house the refugees without endangering our population in a time of war. If that is not sufficient, we can find geographic locations elsewhere where western citizens are not endangered and then commit to humanitarian assistance.

There is a great deal of confusion and misinformation being spread – and even shrewd people don’t seem to notice. I watched a segment of Fox News where a conservative host conceded a liberal guest’s point that current rules require two years before a Syrain Refugee can be integrated into the U.S. The next segment announced that 351 such refugees have been integrated into the U.S. this month – and it did not even occur to the host to ask how that could be since it has not been two years. Be deliberate. Don’t let emotion blind you to obvious questions. Bad information leads to bad policy. Steady on.



The Novena
Given by Jesus to Fr. Dolindo Ruotolo

Day 1

Why do you confuse yourselves by worrying?
Leave the care of your affairs to me and everything will be peaceful. I say to you in truth that every act of true, blind, complete surrender to me produces the effect that you desire and resolves all difficult situations.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 2

Surrender to me does not mean to fret, to be upset, or to lose hope, nor does it mean offering to me a worried prayer asking me to follow you and change your worry into prayer. It is against this surrender, deeply against it, to worry, to be nervous and to desire to think about the consequences of anything. It is like the confusion that children feel when they ask their mother to see to their needs, and then try to take care of those needs for themselves so that their childlike efforts get in their mother’s way. Surrender means to placidly close the eyes of the soul, to turn away from thoughts of tribulation and to put yourself in my care, so that only I act. Saying You take care of it.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 3

How many things I do when the soul, in so much spiritual and material need turns to me, looks at me and says to me; You take care of it, then close its eyes and rests. In pain you pray for me to act, but that I act in the way you want. You do not turn to me, instead, you want me to adapt to your ideas. You are not sick people who ask the doctor to cure you, but rather sick people who tell the doctor how to. So do not act this way, but pray as I taught you in the Our Father: Hallowed be thy Name, that is, be glorified in my need. Thy kingdom come”, that is, let all that is in us and in the world be in accord with your kingdom. Thy will be done on Earth as it is in Heaven, that is, in our need, decide as you see fit for our temporal and eternal life.
If you say to me truly: Thy will be done. Which is the same as saying: You take care of it. I will intervene with all my omnipotence, and I will resolve the most difficult situations.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 4

You see evil growing instead of weakening? Do not worry, Close your eyes and say to me with faith: Thy will be done, You take care of it. I say to you that I will take care of it, and that I will intervene as does a doctor and I will accomplish miracles when they are needed. Do you see that the sick person is getting worse? Do not be upset, but close your eyes and say You take care of it. I say to you that I will take care of it, and that there is no medicine more powerful than my loving intervention. By my love, I promise this to you.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 5

And when I must lead you on a path different from the one you see, I will prepare you; I will carry you in my arms; I will let you find yourself, like children who have fallen asleep in their mother’s arms, on the other bank of the river.  What troubles you and hurts you immensely are your reason, your thoughts and worry, and your desire at all costs to deal with what afflicts you.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 6

You are sleepless; you want to judge everything, direct everything and see to everything and you surrender to human strength, or worse- to men themselves, trusting in their intervention,- this is what hinders my words and my views. Oh how much I wish from you this surrender, to help you and how I suffer when I see you so agitated! Satan tries to do exactly this: to agitate you and to remove you from my protection and to throw you into the jaws of human initiative. So, trust only in me, rest in me, surrender to me in everything.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 7

I perform miracles in proportion to your full surrender to me and to your not thinking of yourselves. I sow treasure troves of graces when you are in the deepest poverty. No person of reason, no thinker, has ever performed miracles, not even among the saints. He does divine works whosoever surrenders to God. So don’t think about it any more, because you mind is acute and for you it is very hard to see evil and to trust in me and to not think of yourself. Do this for all your needs, do this all of you and you will see great continual silent miracles. I will take care of things, I promise this to you.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 8

Close your eyes and let yourself be carried away on the flowing current of my grace; close your eyes and do not think of the present, turning your thoughts away from the future just as you would from temptation. Repose in me, believing in my goodness, and I promise you by my love that if you say You take care of it. I will take care of it all; I will console you, liberate you and guide you.

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Day 9

Pray always in readiness to surrender, and you will receive from it great peace and great rewards, even when I confer on you the grace of immolation, of repentance and of love. Then what does suffering matter? It seems impossible to you? Close your eyes and say with all your soul, Jesus, you take care of it.Do not be afraid, I will take care of things and you will bless my name by humbling yourself. A thousand prayers cannot equal one single act of surrender, remember this well. There is no novena more effective than this:

O Jesus, I surrender myself to you, take care of everything! (10 times)

Prayer to the Blessed Virgin Mary
Mother, I am yours now and forever.
Through you and with you I always want to
belong completely to Jesus.

Fr Dolindo Ruotolo
1882 – 1970
A Prophet of our Time

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Christian Persecution, Solidarity, The Storm and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

330 Responses to Confusion Rises

  1. little one in PA says:

    I think it is interesting that World War I (Great War) began on this date- 28 July in 1914….and the Pope mentioned the World is at War on 26 July 2016. Some say World War II began 7 July 1937 when Japan began fighting with China… even though the Allied powers participated on 1 September 1939. It appears that July is a volatile month.

    Praying for our dear Pope and all priests who serve in these dangerous times.

    God Bless all here!

    Liked by 5 people

  2. Sue says:

    Charlie, did you say this election will definitely not happen, or maybe won’t? I understand my civic duty as well as my moral, Catholic duty is to vote—– but not for a pro-abortion candidate. Well, that seems to eliminate Hillary and Trump. When asked, I tell people I’m going to vote for Pope Francis, as a write-in candidate. I’m only half- joking. What are we supposed to do? Does voting for a write- in candidate ( whether legitimate or fictitious) mean I’m giving a vote to Hillary, which someone told me (God forbid)? Or is all this angst I’m going through a moot point because we won’t have an election?


    • charliej373 says:

      My definitive statement was in this piece. If we do have an election, vote as your conscience allows.


    • johnjwblog says:

      Trump is not pro-choice, he is anti-abortion and has been since 2011:
      Any reporter or TV journalist could have easily search on _ on the issues sites and see where all candidates stands of issues. Before writing the above, he could have seen Trumps stands on abortion since 1999. He has been right to life since 2011 . Here is a list :
      Millions are helped by Planned Parenthood, but defund it. (Feb 2016)
      Planned Parenthood does great work on women’s health. (Feb 2016)
      Defund Planned Parenthood. (Oct 2015)
      Planned Parenthood is important, but abortions must stop. (Aug 2015)
      I have evolved on abortion issue, like Reagan evolved. (Aug 2015)
      Ban late abortions; exceptions for rape, incest or health. (Jun 2015)
      Undecided on embryonic stem cell research. (Apr 2011)
      I am now pro-life; after years of being pro-choice. (Apr 2011)
      I changed my views to pro-life based on personal stories. (Apr 2011)
      I am pro-life; fight ObamaCare abortion funding. (Feb 2011)
      Pro-choice, but ban partial birth abortion. (Jul 2000)
      Favors abortion rights but respects opposition. (Dec 1999)

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Richard III says:

    I had to disagree respectfully with his holiness here too, but tried to do so the way St. Pius X commanded. Pope Francis is mistaken that this isn’t a religious war, but he’s right that it’s a war, and it was good to hear that much. I’m not worried about him or disappointed. Knowing the truth about papal infallibility has spared me a lot of stress. Viva il Papa! Vive la France Catholique!

    Liked by 7 people

    • charliej373 says:

      God bless you, Richard.

      Liked by 2 people

    • janet says:

      “Pope Francis is mistaken that this isn’t a religious war,..”

      Maybe if we could define exactly what a “religious war” is or is not Richard. I am getting conflicting answers to this from the internet.


      • Richard III says:

        I always understood a religious war to be one between two different religious groups. Islam is attacking Judeo-Christian cultures, so we do have a religious war, and our side needs to do more fighting back,

        I understood Pope Francis to be implying that the terrorists are Muslim in name only or “Cafeteria Muslims”. Experience and research, however, implies that it’s the other way around, with the “Cafeteria Muslims” ignoring many of the Koran’s teachings, and the “Rad Trad” and “Orthodox” Muslims following the Book of Allah to the letter.

        His Holiness believes the war isn’t a religious war because he believes that the terrorists are violent Arab agnostics or else not part of the Muslim mainstream. I can’t read hearts and souls and know which terrorists are devout and which just have blood lust and rage issues, but I disagree respectfully with the Pope because the Koran encourages and commands violence against all infidels, and promises heavenly rewards to the faithful, making it difficult to tell the difference between a “Rad Trad” Muslim and violent Arab agnostic, and history tells us in red ink just how tolerant and peaceful Islam as whole isn’t.

        This is a war of Islam against the West, be it specifically against, secularism, Judaism, or Christianity. At least one side is religious, and the other side needs to get religion and grab its guns. Pope Francis is our spiritual and religious leader, and while it would be good if he studied the nature of Islam more deeply, I’m more concerned about our temporal leaders doing so, since it’s their job to protect their people from physical and economic harm, and they’re failing at it.

        Liked by 4 people

  4. Richard III says:

    Thank you, Mr. Johnston.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Goldensun says:

    These are serious times. I see a need to reach out to priests in friendship. I don’t really know how to go about doing that. As a woman, I’m not looking to stir up trouble, but it seems to me that priests need to know that we’ve got their backs!

    Liked by 4 people

  6. janet says:

    “When I speak of war, I speak of real war. Not of a war of religion, no. Some may think: ‘He is talking about a war of religion.’ No. All the religions, we want peace. Others want war…”

    For anyone who had trouble understanding the Holy Father’s meaning in his remarks on a “war of religion”, these images really help get to the heart of what he was saying.

    He sparks the question: Who are we, and what do we say to Jesus? Do we say, “But this is a Muslim! But this is a woman! But this is a Jew! But that is a Hindu! But THEY are not us!”

    No, of course, “they” are not. “They” are not Catholic. But “they” are humans loved into being. “They” are not lessers — not mere reductions to “this” or “that”, easily negated with a label.

    “They” are not undeserving of the notice, and the kiss, of Peter, who — as we read in Chapter 10 of the Acts of the Apostles — is a witness to their humanity, and Christ’s Vicar, meant to love “them” with Christ’s own love.

    And so, no, religion is not the reason for war. Truly religious people want peace. “Others want war…” The people who would use religion as a cover for what is dark and broken and nefarious in their own hearts and minds.

    – See more at:

    Liked by 5 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Amen, Janet!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Doug says:

      You know Janet, maybe Pope Francis is is setting the stage for the mass conversion of Muslims when God intervenes. The Muslims may understand there is an open door to the Catholoc church because of how the Pope has responded. Maybe Francis knows something we don’t. He could see an angel or have mystical insights as well. If he did, I would not imagine he would make it public or be vocal about it. I’m not saying it occurs. I’m just saying we never know what the Holy Spirit is doing with him. God has called him to be Pope. I think David and Johnathan and Saul. David recognized Saul as God’s chosen one and respected that to the point where he would risk dying. I’m not saying the Pope is like Saul, but I look at David’s faithfulness which is a model example. God bless you!

      Liked by 3 people

    • Christene says:

      A thousand AMENS Janet!! Beautiful!

      Liked by 3 people

  7. Gia Underhill says:

    Charlie Johnston For President!

    Liked by 5 people

  8. ronandoherty says:

    Nice piece Charlie. I really appreciate your honesty with regards to Pope Francis’ off the cuff and non-authoritative (if they can be called that, since everything the Pope says should carry authority) remarks. I have seen so many other Catholic writers, out of a good place of trying to defend the faith and Catholic doctrine, trying to justify and interpret in a way that fits neatly into Catholic doctrine those types of comments from the Pope. However, like you said, we need to simply call out that some of the things the Pope says are at best misguided and at worst just plain wrong. All this, while at the same time never wavering from our faith in the infallibility of the Holy Father when he speaks ex-cathedra and always supporting and praying for him.

    I do question this sentence in your post, though:”…that it must please God to make the Storm even more chaotic and stormier for a time.” I’d be surprised if God would be pleased at chaos and confusion.

    Otherwise I agree with everything you said. God bless!

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      God allows chaos and confusion when it serves to shake people from their smug complacency that they are sufficient to themselves…and is pleased when it accomplishes that aim.

      Isaiah 19:14 – “the lord has mixed within them a spirit of confusion”
      2 Thessalonians 2:11 – “..and for this cause God shall send the strong delusion…”
      Exodus 23:27 – “But the Lord your God will deliver them before you, and will throw them into great confusion until they are destroyed.”

      I could go on, but you get the point. It has often pleased God to send confusion and chaos among men to shake them from their complacency and draw them to Himself – or to their destruction if they persist. God uses all tools at His disposal, save interfering with our free will, to rescue His people and to shake people from complacency…including sending chaos and confusion. Interestingly, He does that most frequently in times of grave crisis.

      Liked by 7 people

      • Mack says:

        That’s a very interesting point, Charlie, I hadn’t really thought of God sending confusion for some purpose. But it does make sense. It actually helps me understand pope Francis. Whether people agree with him or not, there has been a lot of confusion and disturbance over various things he has said. I was having a hard time reconciling that with what you had said about him being the pope of the Storm. But if the confusion in the Storm is part of God’s plan, it all makes better sense. Maybe God chose him precisely because he is often confusing.

        Liked by 3 people

      • Beckita says:

        Profound, Charlie. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kati says:

        2 Thessalonians 2:11 – “..and for this cause God shall send the strong delusion…

        THIS scripture had been on my mind a great deal lately. I see evidence of it everywhere (in this nation…particularly at the Conventions)!


        Liked by 6 people

      • Mary Ann Parks says:

        The Hebrews kn ow only the active voice. What God permits, He does. What we bring about by our sins, He sends. Confusion is a sign of the adversary, and comes about because of our sins. God now and then leaves us to the effects of our sins. He does not send confusion or chaos, really, he allows them because we choose them.

        Liked by 3 people

      • ronandoherty says:

        Thanks for your reply Charlie, I don’t think I can disagree with that!


    • Andy14 says:

      I grew up in a large family. It always struck me how my siblings would not always agree on the facts of certain events we all witnessed, or the interpretation of something that was said. All of us are are biased in some degree by our physical senses and our own experience as to how we perceive and interpret (the 4 Gospels are a good example of this).
      And if I were to poll everyone posting, what percentage of frequency does the word “often” have, some would say 50% of the time is often, some would say 70%, and still some would say no “often” means like 90% of the time.
      That’s why it’s always important to look at the sum of pope Francis, not just his words but his actions and words (yes even the off the cuff homilies). When you look at all that pope Francis has said and done, I don’t think there is any doubt that God chose him to steer our ship through these times.
      God bless you Charlie!

      Liked by 3 people

  9. Judy says:

    Actually, there are those who would feel very complacent with the pope’s remarks. It just depends what one’s world view tends to be.

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Andy14 says:

    I come from a large family and I am often amazed at how when an event happens or one of my siblings says something, it’s very rare that all my siblings agree on how the event happened or on the interpretation of what was said.
    If I say something happens “often”, and then polled people what percentage of the time that means, some would say 50% is “often”, others 70%, and still others would say no 90% of the time is what “often” means.
    That’s why it’s always important to look at people’s actions as well as their words. If we look at pope Francis’ actions and words (and his off the cuff homilies too), I think there can be no doubt that God intended him to lead us through these times.

    God bless you Charlie!

    Liked by 3 people

  11. CrewDog says:

    Anybody want to guess how much negative BlowBack this Guy gets!?? ….. Oh!! … I mean from in the ranks of The Sheep in Sheep’s Clothing Types within The USA Church “Leadership”!! ;-(

    “Catholic Priest to Planned Parenthood: History ‘Will Lump’ You With ‘Slave Traders, the Nazis, the Communists”


    Liked by 2 people

  12. Christene says:

    Well this is very interesting Charlie. The Muslim Reform Movement, which has had a web page since December 2015 and was up as of yesterday has mysteriously vanished.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. CrewDog says:

    Considering the sad state of affairs in USA (EU) perhaps Amorphophallus Titanum should become the National Flower? ;-(

    “Worse than one thousand pukes’: fetid corpse flower overwhelms New York”


    Liked by 2 people

  14. Tara says:

    Thought I’d share the closing song from last night’s vigil Mass, which both spoke to me very personally, as well as screamed ‘Storm/Rescue’ theme song in nearly every word 😉 We thank you, O Jesus, for such a kiss of joy, encouraging our weary hearts to carry on… +

    Liked by 2 people

  15. Terry Omalley says:

    Charlie I am very confused by pope open up Poland the Immigrations. More Christians will be behead as open door policy at Polish World Youth Day. Why not have Immigration camp at the Vatican This will show how the muslin camps to behead The Christians will experience from the pope mistakes. I was told by priest that the Koran is the devil bible. I’m agree with his comments on Koran. St Francis was told not go to Africa as be Killed. We need read history to learn from Mistakes in our history. Terry Omalley

    Sent from my iPhone



    • charliej373 says:

      And yet St. Francis DID go to Africa…and even got permission to set up some monasteries. Do not give counsel to your fears. Be prudent in all things. I do not excuse Islam for the things it actually teaches, nor will I condemn all for things it does not do. I would suggest you get a copy of Fr. Peter Armenio’s marvelous “History of the Church” from the Didache Series for a marvelously thorough but concise overview – and it includes material on St. Francis amazing relationship with some Muslims. I should note that, though I think this is the best short history of the Church I have ever read, the author is a dear and old friend of mine.

      Liked by 4 people

  16. janet says:

    Leaving the terrorists radical views aside..Is Islam, the so-called moderates practice, non-violent?


    • janet says:

      Pope John Paul II “My brothers, when I think of this spiritual heritage (Islam) and the value it has for man and for society, its capacity of offering, particularly in the young, guidance for life, filing the gap left by materialism, and giving a reliable foundation to social and juridical organization, I wonder if it is not urgent, precisely today when Christians and Muslims have entered a new period of history, to recognize and develop the spiritual bonds that unite us, in order to preserve and promote together for the benefit of all men, ‘peace, liberty, social justice and moral values’ as the Council calls upon us to do (Nostra Aetate 3).

      Liked by 1 person

      • jlynnbyrd says:

        Janet, that warms my heart! Thank you for sharing hope and good will with us!!❤

        Liked by 3 people

      • moreen67 says:

        Of course the Lord can take an awful event and bring people together for good. Maybe something touched those Muslims who attended the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass…..God does work in mysterious ways. Thanks for sharing Janet. Maureen

        Liked by 3 people

      • Snowy Owl says:

        Janet, this is so beautiful, so incredible! Now we can see what Pope Francis is talking about when he defends the good Muslims. I think now we need to pray for these Muslims because the Jihadi’s are probably going to try to exact revenge.

        Liked by 2 people

    • leslyek says:

      …the terrorists radical views, as you sadly probably rightly say, are some of those in the Koran and reportedly in it’s companion book, the Sunna. And it’s hard to reconcile it all, as there’s no transforming ‘new testament’ in it; except for the fact of most Muslims not living it — that way.

      Liked by 1 person

  17. This may have already been posted above, but I think it is a most precious story of attempts at peace, forgiveness & reconciliation


  18. Alphonsus says:

    Here are four translations of the Surah Maryam 19:23 which concerns the Blessed Mother and the birth of Jesus.

    Asad : And [when] the throes of childbirth drove her to the trunk of a palm-tree, she exclaimed: “Oh, would that I had died ere this, and had become a thing forgotten, utterly forgotten!”

    Malik : The pains of childbirth drove her to the trunk of a palm-tree. She cried in her anguish: “Ah! Would that I had died before this, and been long forgotten!”

    Pickthall : And the pangs of childbirth drove her unto the trunk of the palm tree. She said: Oh, would that I had died ere this and had become a thing of naught, forgotten!

    Yusuf Ali : And the pains of childbirth drove her to the trunk of a palm-tree: she cried (in her anguish): “Ah! would that I had died before this! Would that I had been a thing forgotten and out of sight!”

    No matter how it is translated, this is not the Blessed Mother that we know from Scripture, Tradition, or Magisterium.

    If you were the devil and were permitted but one lie to tell about Mary, would it not be that she had the same wish as you, that she had died before giving birth to Jesus?

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

