Crosses in the Year of Mercy


(I am criss-crossing between a Conference and another Prayer Meeting this weekend. Those of you who have complained that I am overdue for the second installment of the Rules of Regency are now completely right. I get home late tomorrow afternoon. If I am worn out, I won’t put it up tomorrow. But Job One on Monday will be to get that up. Except for attending morning Mass, I will do nothing else before I have finished and posted that piece.

In the comments section, I have started getting some notes from Islamic apologists, explaining that Islam is a religion of peace and there is no violence in it. I have deleted them thus far. If you want to make a case on how Jihadists are mutilating Islam, I will be glad to print it. Even better, if you decide to offer real discussion of how to stop the violence flowing from Jihad, I will love to print it. But if the sum of your point is to ask people, on violence in the name of Islam, “Who are you going to believe; me or your own eyes?” it is not helpful and I am not interested in it. If you can’t acknowledge the facts on the ground when every week several major atrocities against ‘infidels’ are committed, your comments may be passionate, but they are not helpful.

I am also going to tighten up on comments that are based in mere assertions without evidence, leaning towards conspiracy theories. This, if you say that some holy Bishop – or even some dicey Bishop – is a freemason plant or whatever I will no longer patiently (or even tersely) argue the point with you. I will just delete the comment.

There are also many new readers here, some who like to pretend to an erudition they don’t have to make definitive statements based on some elementary reading that they have done – and often misconstrued, even then. We are a site welcoming to all of good will. Some of the most breathtakingly beautiful comments come from those of the simplest faith. We also have top professionals in almost every field here, both secular and religious. If you want to express an opinion, ask a question, share a story, it all helps build this little community up. Use the readings you have actually studied to bolster your case. But if you have merely read a few serious things and now want to show off an expertise you don’t actually have, this is SO not the place for that. Sometimes a reader who posits ‘gotcha’ questions or claims near Magisterial authority because they read an Encyclical or two reminds me of a man who vainly thinks that, because he bought an Italian-English dictionary, he is now fluent in Italian. He might get away with it a little – but as soon as he tries that schtick with someone who actually speaks Italian, he is recognized as a blowhard. Theologically speaking, there are a LOT of people who speak Italian here. Make your point, make your case, use the documents you actually have studied to bolster your case, but do not pretend to an erudition or authority you don’t have in a place where a lot of the participants actually DO have such erudition and authority.

The times are very serious now and we need serious, honest discussion. I loathe the idea of letting any who might have a mote of sincerity go unanswered or unacknowledged. But some of the abuses I mention above are distracting from the serious discussion we need in perilous times, so I am going to get more restrictive about them. All you regulars, whether you are a top scholar or a regular parishioner, you already know the tone and scope of how we speak honestly and openly, while building each other up in mutual affection. Just keep doing what you’re doing.

Janet Klasson, also known as Pelianito, proposed that this column she wrote in her ‘Joy of Penance’ website might be a timely guest column here. I completely concur. I know many families are suffering enormously right now. It does remind us how much we need God and Rescue – and for those who mourn and grieve right now, how much more your jubilance will be when we are Rescued!

By Janet Klasson

…Let us run with perseverance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus the pioneer and perfecter of our faith, who for the sake of the joy that was set before him endured the cross, disregarding its shame, and has taken his seat at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such hostility against himself from sinners, so that you may not grow weary or lose heart. (Hebrews 12:1-4)

As each day passes I hear of more and more people of faith being asked to carry heavy crosses. I believe this cross-ifying will intensify as the Year of Mercy draws to a close. What is the connection?

I believe there is a far deeper significance to this jubilee year than we can even imagine. What an extraordinary grace this year has been for us and for those we are praying for. Jesus told St. Faustina:

“Before the Day of Justice, I am sending the Day of Mercy.” (Diary 1588)

“He who refuses to pass through the door of My mercy must pass through the door of My justice.” (Diary 1146).

Jesus speaks of the “door of mercy” and as providence would have it, we have been gifted with holy doors in this Year of Mercy. This is an unimaginable grace. But why are we surprised? Where sin abounds, grace abounds all the more. The level of sin has caused the God of all mercy to shower unimaginable graces upon us. All glory to God, through whom even sin brings about His victory!

There are scant few weeks left in the Year of Mercy, which concludes on November 20, Feast of Christ the King. If you have been asked to carry a heavy cross in the Year of Mercy, you, chosen soldier of Christ, have been given a field promotion, and have been equipped with a weapon that is tailor-made. For the battle is upon us. Souls are at stake.

Of course, in the battle for souls, God’s secret weapon is and always has been the cross. Archbishop Sheen described it in this way:

“Never ask what did I do to deserve this? Because Jesus may say to you what did I do to deserve the Cross? If God the Father permitted His Divine Son to feel the agonies of Calvary, it must be that Crosses fit into the Divine Plan. If your cross is mental, change your behavior, confess your sins, and make peace with God. If your cross is physical, offer it up in union with Our Lord on the Cross for the conversion of souls. There is a price tag on every soul. Every soul costs something. Some souls are bought by prayers; others are bought through the kindness of alms; but most of them are bought the way Our Lord bought us, through pain and suffering.”

In this Jubilee of Mercy, God is calling all those who bear his name to take up the arms he himself took up, the precious wood with which he conquered sin and death. This is our hour of decision. Our victory is assured, but make no mistake, there can be no resurrection without a crucifixion.

Several times a day we make the sign of the cross, touching our heads to show our belief in the Cross, our breast to show our love of the Cross, and our shoulders to show our willingness to bear the Cross. So, when Christ asks us to carry a cross, let us respond with complete abandonment and trust in the way of the cross which that holy sign signifies.

And let us not forget the Divine Mercy Chaplet in the Hour of Mercy, 3:00, am or pm. Jesus told St. Faustina, “Through the chaplet you will obtain everything, if what you ask for is compatible with My will.” (Diary 1731)

The Year of Mercy is the jubilee year of miracles and hope. Let’s not waste another minute of it but as soldiers completely abandoned to our General, carry our crosses with Christ, for souls, in the glory of God! Jesus I trust in you! Save souls!

Prayer: O my Jesus, in the Divine Will I offer you all the unused shards of suffering, including my own, all those treasures discarded from the time of the fall of Adam and Eve to the last man. I offer them as a spiritual bouquet through the Flame of Love of our Immaculate Mother in reparation to the Holy Trinity for all sins ever committed, for the conversion of all those whose hearts are far from you, for the fire of pure love to be ignited in the lukewarm, and for all the intentions of those here and in my spiritual territory. Jesus and Mary I trust in you. Take care of everything, and everyone. May this Jubilee Year of Mercy bear abundant fruit for the Kingdom. May your Kingdom come and come quickly! Amen.

From my other blog,

Matthew 5:11-12 “Blessed are you when people revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account. Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.”

“My beloved, do not imagine that the journey of my faithful ones is so different from the journey of their Lord. On the contrary, I AM the way and all paths lead through the cross. Remember, my children, that each cross is tailored to the soul. Each is unique, as unique as the soul that bears it. The only similarity in all crosses is that I am with you all in your passion. You need only turn to me and all the strength I had in my passion will be made available to you. This is especially true when one is being persecuted for my sake. Would I abandon that poor soul? Would not the Father see me when he looks at him? When I say that your reward will be great in heaven, do not imagine that I am being trite. Those who suffer on my behalf will be eternally grateful for what that suffering has purchased for them. Indeed, it will seem a far greater reward than the soul feels he deserved for it. In comparison, the trial will seem a small thing—even a large trial. My children, you cannot possibly imagine with what magnanimity your infinitely generous God can act. Be therefore consoled. All that happens in this life is as a passing shadow, over in the blink of an eye. Endure all with faith, fortitude, and great trust. I am with you through it all. Shalom.”

O my Jesus, help me not to get caught up in my daily trials, big or small, but help me to link all trials to the cross so that I may in some way participate in your redemptive act. O Jesus, in your mercy, give me grace, faith, fortitude and ever-greater trust, that I might endure all trials with great love for your glory. I love you Jesus! Amen.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Conversion, Discernment, Guest Columns, Solidarity, The Storm and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

281 Responses to Crosses in the Year of Mercy

  1. joncraft84 says:

    Reblogged this on Handicap and commented:
    This is so true, we are so self centered on ourselves that we sometimes forget the true reason why we are here. We are here to serve the Lord not just to serve ourselves. We have to remember that or this whole world is going to end up going up in flames, not literally a fire. God is not going to let us continue to do this without punishing us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • al chandanais says:

      Joncraft, I’m not so sure about that, We are going to be given a last chance to get it right. I take this as to care and tend to what is in front of us with a full knowledge that God is real and there is only one God. That the Queen of Heaven will come to our rescue allowing all to see the true religion is Catholicism. I also believe that Lords Mercy will fall like sheets of rain upon us and we his children will seek to help others bringing comfort where it is needed. I don’t think this is punishment but a great gift of Mercy to give the world an opportunity to be brothers and sisters in the true fashion our Lord has always wanted with Him as our Father, Jesus as our Redeemer and the Holy Spirit as our Guide and Reminder. Mother Mary will finally be honored as she was always meant to be and all the know it all’s will find how know nothings we truly are. A great gift is given us if Charlie is correct, which I believe he is and we will find ourselves at the end saying, “Wow, that was Magnificent, what an honor to see it through”.

      Liked by 4 people

      • charliej373 says:

        A wise, insightful perspective on it all, Al.

        Liked by 2 people

      • joncraft84 says:

        That is basically what I am saying too, is that we will all become Catholics and all become Christians. Maybe God will help us, maybe he will do it himself, maybe we will have to help him. I don’t know God is always a mystery, that is the part I like the most about him. We will never know when our time is up, we will never know if he is around, if he is watching, how many people he saves. If our faith is really working or not until we get up to see out Creator up in Heaven when he judges us. He will grant us Mercy or tell us we have some work to do and send us to purgatory or hell. He might even send us to the place we don’t’ know enough about and that is hell. But I believe have a merciful Heavenly Mother that will guide us along with her son. We will all be in the great promised land sometime with eachother and I don’t know how it works. I think there is a way out of hell but I don’t know how it works. I don’t think I know everything and I am not saying everything and I am not trying to say I know everything. I am just leading people onto the right path, and they have to have a reason do it. It is all interpretation, interpretation, interpretation. It is all in how we look in things, nobody is right or wrong. It is how they look and believe in things. We don’t know our purpose on this earth. We don’t have to know our purpose on this earth. We just have to live day to day like God wants us to live, be happy witho ourselves, and be happy with what we do. Live each day like it’s our last on this earth. Who knows it might be our last day, last hr, last minute. We will never know. The whole point is we will never know until we get up to see our creator, until we get our final judgment. Nobody knows on this earth how that can go, so nobody can judge others on what they think or what they say. like so many people try to do and that is not being neighborly or even Christianly. I like seeing other peoples view, I do see your point of view. I am not trying to say you are wrong just trying to make you see my point of view. As I have said before your friend in Christ, JOn.


  2. Tim says:

    I am a sixty-four year old grandfather, a cradle Catholic, and a father of three. I have been in the financial planning and commericial and lending industries for twenty-fiver years. Before that I was an English and History teacher. In the time I’ve spent in the finance arena, particularly in the commerical and residential lending part, I’ve come to realize, and agree with you, that the system is completely corrupt. There isn’t a market out there that is ‘free’. And from most of the crony capitalism has stemmed the burden and weight of what I call ‘monetary slavery’. Particularly for those of us who are peons; in the middle and lower classes. I cannot believe that the system has not already imploded. My question comes from your statement the other day of ‘letting “them” up easy’. Won’t the banking and financing industries rise again in just the same form, the same manner as they are today if there is nothing to alter behavior? That most of the top echelon of people, who should be in jail, in these industries have committed not only fraud on an unbelievable, massive scale but are part and parcel of the largest ponzi scheme ever. It makes Madoff look like Snow White. Or am I missing something? Or will everything, including finance, be completely different?

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      The Storm and the Rescue WILL alter most people’s behavior. In any case, I am not arguing against standards, but for them…but I think people have a hard time sometimes understanding how life-altering the events of the next year and a half are going to be for all.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Simone says:

        Ugh. I fear I am one of those who just doesn’t “get it”… how big this change will be. Prayers for us ostrich. Should we add that to the menagerie of animals we have on here?

        Liked by 4 people

        • Beckita says:

          No time for fear, Sweet Simone. Absolutely no one on the face of this earth knows exactly what will happen in detail. We ALL will need to walk by faith and trust. In the years, months, and days before my husband was diagnosed with advanced cancer, if someone had told me exactly all the suffering both he and I would endure, I would have been anxiety-ridden. It was a time that was so sad, so sorrowful, so suffering-filled.

          But do you know what? God’s Grace was there at every turn, in every moment and every complication and every sorrow and through every tear. We walked his Via Dolorosa with dignity, love, trust and hope in a life-giving way on so many levels. Through it all, in new ways, I fell more deeply in love with this man with whom I had shared my life.

          The graces we need for tomorrow are not yet here. Tomorrow they most surely will be. God’s Grace WILL indeed pour forth in all the moments of the Storm and when we don’t FEEL like it. We simply CHOOSE to believe. We CHOOSE to trust. We CHOOSE to rely totally on Him. Simone, you are, we all are, in the best of hands: our God’s Perfect Hands with His Mother interceding all the way, in every detail. Isn’t it great to be so loved?! (Sorry. Not meaning to shout. It’s the only way to express emphasis here.)

          Liked by 14 people

          • janet says:

            Thank you Beckita..That was beautifully stated!

            “Through it all, in new ways, I fell more deeply in love with this man with whom I had shared my life.”

            Ah… this so touched my heart.

            Liked by 7 people

          • Doug says:

            Jesus, I trust in you!

            Liked by 5 people

          • al chandanais says:

            Thank you dear Beckita, the more terrible the pain , the Greater the Graces.

            Liked by 5 people

          • dianebelvs says:

            Thank you Beckita….that was so lovely. God Bless You.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            That is so beautiful, Beckita!! Thank you!

            Liked by 2 people

          • lambzie37 says:

            So beautiful Beckita, said with grace and childlike faith, honesty and simplicity. I really was bolstered tonight by reading your comment. I really needed to hear all of what you said again (as we all do) as I am feeling so dry right now in my walk. I am very much walking by faith not by sight, not understanding much of what is happening to me and our family right now. I needed to be reminded to look for all the graces God is pouring out on us especially when they are not easy to see.

            It is like walking through an old attic. You move piles of stuff aside and are amazed at the treasure you find tucked hidden beneath all those layers of useless stuff. You especially smile once you clean the treasure off from all those years of dust that collected on it. Then you polish it and perhaps you even find yourself smiling at your reflection as you take the treasure to a spot where you can put it on display. To the world you are saying, see I knew it was here all along. I just had to find it. Thanks again for all you do for so many.

            Liked by 10 people

          • Beckita says:

            Oh Lambzie! Empathizing with you that the walk is dry right now. Holding you in prayer and asking Our Lady to wrap Her Mantle around you and wash you in consolation. I love your poetic imagery of walking through an old attic. Even when it’s darkest, I continue to cling to St. Julian of Norwich’s phrase: All shall be well. Praying it for you tonight, Lambzie.

            Liked by 5 people

          • Doug says:

            Lambzie is a keeper 😊

            Liked by 4 people

          • Doug says:

            Dear Lambzie, I used to think I chose you to journey through life together, but then our dear Lord infused in me that HE gave you to me as a gift and brought you to me to entrust and care for you and your soul and HE taught me how valuable you are. It is a joy and honor to have you in my life. It has given me a greater understanding of how loving our God is and how beautiful you are deep, deep down in your soul. I would not change anything.

            Liked by 5 people

          • janet says:

            💑 Beautiful! 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

        • Sarge says:

          Kind of on this topic, and I think it illustrates a point, so I will try to make a long story short:

          My wife and I have been praying for what I’ll call Intention XYZ.

          The other day, completely out of the blue, Event ABC occurred. Now if you had asked me to list all the different permutations of how I could see this situation playing out, Event ABC would not have made the Top 10. I am not sure Event ABC would have made the Top 100, simply because it was beyond the scope of my thinking. Never in a million years did I ever consider that this scenario could happen. I am sure that, up to 48 hours before the event, if I had said to my wife, “Honey, let’s forget about XYZ and look into ABC instead.” my lovely bride would have hit me with a frying pan and told me to get my head out of the clouds.

          It was confusing, hectic, and stressful. But after the dust settled, it occurred to me that Event ABC fulfilled the request for Intention XYZ. It was just in a way I never thought possible or imagined. Not exactly what my wife wanted…but it technically fulfilled the request. I’m sure that in a few weeks, we’ll look back and realize that ABC was actually superior to XYZ, and maybe it’s a good thing we didn’t get XYZ.

          If Charlie’s predictions are authentic, I imagine we’ll find it to be very similar. When God acts, it is done. If He wills for there to be a Storm and for humanity to be renewed, we should stop worrying about details, and just get out of His way. If He wants us to assist Him, He will make it clear to us how we should act (I think this is where “the next right step” part comes into play.) And then, when the dust settles, we’re all going to step back with gaping jaws and say, “Holy crow…I never thought of that… that actually works perfectly.”

          God Bless.

          Liked by 16 people

          • charliej373 says:

            Now here is GREAT wisdom, Sarge. It took me nearly a decade of intense instruction to learn that – and I still struggle with it sometimes. Brilliantly insightful.

            Liked by 6 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Almighty Father, knows almighty best!! 😉

            Liked by 5 people

          • Beckita says:

            SO well said, Sarge. I LOVE God’s Infinite Imagination!

            Liked by 5 people

          • CrewDog says:

            I’ll reply with my Mantra for Prepping ……….. God is in control and directing the Op …. but He, as near as I can figure, uses Human Hands for most of His Work! Somebody showed up with a sack of Loaves & Fish to multiply, somebody provided jars of H2O for the miracle of Cana and Apostles/Disciples were needed to Spread THE WORD …. and Jewish Warriors and, later, Crusaders were needed to defend The Faith & Faithful …………. soooooo … The Lord may be counting on Your Hands, Stuff, Faith and Fortitude …
            Get On It!!
            GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

            Liked by 6 people

          • Simone says:

            Ya. Especially on the worrying part. Jesus asked Peter to go fish and pull out the 4 drachme from its mouth to pay the temple tax for Himself AND for Peter. He is taking care of every single one of our needs. However, I learned that we need to do what He asks, even if it sounds like the stupidest act ever.

            Liked by 4 people

      • Tim says:

        Thanks for the quick resonse. I know I have a difficult time, at best, thinking about what is and will be going on in the near term. I’ve come to think of prayer and doing what little I can do for the family as the solution. Turning everything over to the Blessed Mother.

        Liked by 9 people

  3. Goldensun says:

    Thank you for this! I loved each word of this post.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. avaeadie says:

    “Before the Day of Justice, I am sending the Day of Mercy.” (Diary 1588)
    “He who refuses to pass through the door of My mercy must pass through the door of My justice.” (Diary 1146).
    Jesus speaks of the “door of mercy” and as providence would have it, we have been gifted with holy doors in this Year of Mercy. So often over this year, I have gone back to the words in the Diary ( 83) and reread them: Before I come as the Just Judge, I am coming first as the KING OF MERCY…I have repeated to myself over and over, this Jubilee year must be what that is referring to, and I confess I was hoping for something far more VISUALLY LITERAL…

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Cheryl says:

    Can someone explain to me what actual “Holy Doors” are? I know our Cathedral has them open sometimes. I know several families that have taken the time to pass through them…. Our family hasn’t done that yet… I assume it is a tangible, symbolic way to beg for God’s mercy.


  6. Mary Anne Greene says:

    Thank you Charlie Johnson. Soldier on!


Leave a Reply

