Great Expectations

(Once I got back to the Conference yesterday, the Internet was not working properly, so I had to wait to get home to put up this fabulous short post by our friend and regular commenter, Michael Patrick. He gives us lots of special photos of his own design – CJ)

By Michael Patrick

I’ve been contemplating a couple of things and keeping folks in my prayers. One thing I wanted to share in general has to do with our TNRS blog family. I kinda think that this is what Charlie intended for folks to see/encounter upon arrival:

MP - front door

Probably some folks just see this:

MP - storm door

I suppose I see things with my own little twist:

MP - sweet door

(but then again, I came here looking for encouragement… and found it.)

Something to ponder.

God Bless!

(I had the good fortune to meet Michael when I was in Arizona. I hope you enjoyed his little reflection as much as I did-CJ)

 

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Discernment, Guest Columns and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

333 Responses to Great Expectations

  1. Littlelight says:

    MP it reminds me that verse saying something like focus on only all things beautiful and bright. It is just lovely, thank you.

    We have a bit of chicken-fox-neighbor drama out here in my rural-ish neighborhood. The grey fox killed 10 out 21 of our neighbor’s chickens, including the rooster. Well, we found out the foxy gentleman was Dad. Not only he, but his wife and their yearling had a gran ole chicken time.

    Understandably, our wonderful neighbor, who has freely, generously, over years, fed us with many eggs, plows our long driveway with no want of reward, etc. is angry and the war is on. Around here, the common folk who have roots here are proud of their firearms. He promises us to show us the efforts of his relocation program (wink, wink).

    I get it, but it makes me sad. I asked God and St. Francis if they could tell The Foxy Gentleman and his fine family the gig is up and he was a bit too greedy, move along! I’m too much of a chicken to share this with my wonderful neighbor. Instead, I acknowledged his dominion over the animals. There has to be some deeper double-meaning there, and not a good one(haha, me being chicken-like, the fox, ugh) arrrgh!

    Along those lines several nights ago I had a dream. In this dream one of the kids he employees was tying the culprit fox along with a pig? and some other animal I can’t remember around a tree. Continuing in my weird dream, the kid threw handfuls of a sawdust-like explosive followed by pouring gasoline over the poor animals. The me-of-my-dreams spoke out and (unlike real me) said: “you’re not gonna light those poor animals on fire are you?” Then the kid employee tried to, but the animals just spun around the tree, unharmed but frightened. The fire burned but didn’t touch the animals. The employee-kid ended up by freeing the animals, who learned their lesson. All ended well. I have crazy dreams!

    Liked by 5 people

    • Doug says:

      I was going to shoot the squirrels raiding my bird feeder, but then I found Charlie’s Web site. Nope. Can’t do it now! Sigh…

      Liked by 5 people

      • Chuck Dinovo says:

        You need to mix cayenne pepper in the bird seed.

        Liked by 3 people

        • Doug says:

          I’ll have to give it a try Chuck. Thanks!

          Liked by 1 person

          • lambzie37 says:

            Dare I ask what if anything the cayenne does to the birds?

            Liked by 2 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            Happy squirrels to you, oops, happy trails to you…..Lambzie, the cayenne pepper has no effect on the birdies. Since my mother entered the nursing home, I don’t have bird feeders. Even though I love the birds, the mice multiply causing me great concern. The squirrels don’t come, the mice and there larger relatives, rats do. Then there is the possum issue. There is a possum living under the house. I know because my son set up a camera under the house. As dumb as they are, they refuse to enter the Apple.laden trap, even with peanut butter. Who knew they were holding out for gourmet meals? There are entirely too many moochers living under my house. Then the gnawing in the middle of the night drives us crazy. I wish I could evict all of God’s creatures from under my house, or, at least get them to pay rent!

            Liked by 5 people

          • Doug says:

            This is great Deer. I think you have your own food supply for the storm living under your house 😊

            Liked by 2 people

          • deereverywhere says:

            All I need is Granny Clampet’s posum recipies. Those danggum varmints!

            Liked by 4 people

          • Doug says:

            Surely Charlie won’t object to eating possum. I may have use for my .22 after all during the storm 😎

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            I don’t like possum. I’ll catch a fish.

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            It’s hard to shoot fish with a .22 though unless, of course, they are in a barrel 😎

            Liked by 1 person

          • deereverywhere says:

            They are not easy to kill. There bone/skull is very hard. You may need to use a whole clip, or get a larger caliber like a .23
            (Okay, trying to be funny. I know there is no .23)

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            Ha Deer!

            Like

      • Snowy Owl says:

        Doug, I have a big wood feeder with open sides and roof that I hang from a branch and I fill it everyday for my squirrels and chipmunks (4 Red, 3 Gray and 4 black). I have an old wooden bench that I load up with sunflower seed, corn, oats etc. for the squirrels, rabbits, deer, turkeys, pheasants etc. When they mess with my actual bird feeders I walk out and tell them NO! and scold them up and down- they yell back and run lol. If they are in their own feeder or on the bench I stay quiet-do nothing and they don’t run. They have all learned this and are now leaving the bird feeders alone- but if I let them run out of seed the squirrels will scold and scold until I fill them haha and they will even knock my bird feeders out of the trees if I don’t hop to it- immediately!! (Brats!). Animals are very smart, you can train/tame anything if you take the time to do it. 🙂
        My point- you’re not ever going to win so give it up and give them their own feeder!

        Liked by 3 people

        • lambzie37 says:

          Can we get the scolding on camera? I am giggling picturing you on my porch having at it. Can’t wait until I am well enough to visit my pals again. Yup, all the critters have moved right in an are quite happy sharing all the food from out three feeders. N hey did a number on my planter full of dahlias. Moor things are deader than a door nail. They must pee in the pot or something. New have caught squirrels and chipies digging in it. Sigh, just like naughty children they are! At least they provide entertainment!

          Liked by 4 people

          • Doug says:

            The best part is sharing that time on the porch with you dear Lambzie. Watching and feeding our critter friends is icing on the cake. I cherish our moments together as we journey together in our faith each day whether the cross feels heavy or whether the cross feels light. All things are for a reason and all things are for a season.

            Liked by 4 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Lambzie, it’s so good to see you feeling better-finally! and commenting 🙂 If I had a camera I would try to get some of this on video for you! It’s hilarious but I just can’t bring myself to get a cell phone and I doubt I ever will. I would have an anxiety attack if my sisters started texting me…oh my gosh-ugh! lol.

            Liked by 3 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Lambzie, I am praying that you are well enough soon! ❤

            Liked by 4 people

        • Doug says:

          Snowy, I’m smiling. You have your own little family of critter friends. Saint Francis must be proud of you. See what squirrel anonymous does? It’s precious.

          Liked by 4 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Doug, St. Francis was my best friend for so many years- still is, I love him. Isn’t he the Patron Saint of squirrels anonymous? We better not mess with those squirrels! 😊

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            By gosh Snowy. He must be the patron saint of squirrels anonymous. I know the church says critters can not go to heaven because they don’t have souls, but that does not mean we will not see critters created in heaven. I think the church is silent on that. All I can say is love, love, love. God is love!

            Liked by 2 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Doug, I remember St. Aquinas and St. Augustine have things to say about this. You can do the research because my memory ran away a while ago and hasn’t come back to me yet. Maybe someone else knows what they said?
            Jesus said not even a sparrow falls with out the Father knowing. St.Paul- But, as it is written: That eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither hath it entered into the heart of man, what things God hath prepared for them that love him. 1Cor.2:9
            Everything He created is good and from His love and all love goes back to God. Whatever God allows for us in Heaven, it will be perfect and we will be eternally happy! I hope God allows animals in some way, with Him all things are possible..but that’s just me. I am very aware of what the Church teaches and so that’s that until..Heaven. 🐢🐏🐎🐧🐇🐈

            Liked by 3 people

          • janet says:

            Just as there are levels in Purgatory and heaven… according to the saints… so I think that animals will be on one of these lower levels…yet in some mysterious way seen by all. Can you imagine streams and rivers in heaven without fish swimming in them? Just sayin’… 🙂

            Pope Paul VI was said to have once told a distraught boy whose dog had died: “One day, we will see our animals again in the eternity of Christ. Paradise is open to all of God’s creatures.”

            Liked by 3 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Amen, Janet. I love what Pope Paul VI said, thanks for adding this!

            Liked by 3 people

          • YongDuk says:

            And here, Janet, began the Dialogue of the Green Squirrel…

            Liked by 3 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Doug, I was sitting outside today praying my Rosary, watching the animals at the bench feeder..there was a momma deer with her twin fawns and another Doe with her one fawn and the 3 momma turkeys with their collective mobile feathered nursery of 14 poults, 2 squirrels, one bunny and one very upset Bluejay and three Cardinals..all eating together side by side. I felt like I was already in paradise! I thought of this conversation and laughed and had a little chat with God about His wonderful critters and nature. What a gift He has given us!

            Liked by 3 people

          • BD says:

            Snowy Owl. You forgot to mention there was also an owl outside too. 😉

            Liked by 4 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Funny, BD. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

          • janet says:

            It does sound like paradise Snowy…I’m coming to live with you.🐏🐓🐤🐞 🙂

            Liked by 4 people

          • Snowy Owl says:

            Oh, you bet! Just hop in a 🚣 and come on over! Shouldn’t take long! But watch out for the 🌊 & 🐋 & the Kraken!🐙

            Liked by 3 people

          • janet says:

            On my way…and as us Brits like to say..Get the kettle on! ☕ 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • lambzie37 says:

            Count me in You two! Maybe we should get our own little red wagon. What say you?

            Liked by 3 people

          • janet says:

            I say we all meet at Snowy’s..or you can all come here. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

    • Yes, that’s a real pickle, Littlelight, but it’s good that you’re praying. Henhouse, family of foxes, farmer, neighbor, firearms… maybe there’s even a pie in there somewhere (sorry, Anne), and Doug mentioned squirrels as usual.

      Critters are just as intent on living as all of us are, but I know folks rarely start there. Sometimes they don’t even consider it. Often it doesn’t get past the little issues right at hand, with very little patience applied… knee jerk reactions rather than careful deliberations.

      What does God think? Do folks ask? When we get an answer, are we listening? When we’re listening, do we follow His will? How far are we willing to go to do His will?

      Chickens, foxes, pigs. I don’t have the answers, but it seems like there’s a much bigger lesson there.

      Thanks for giving me something to contemplate. I’ll pray too.

      God Bless,

      MP

      Liked by 6 people

  2. Gabriella says:

    This is wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. margaret Mandeville says:

    dear Charlie I am confused about one of your quotes that was on the Mystics of the Church that if Clinton or Trump doesen’t get in that an evil man will get in and you said in one of your talks that a good man will get in for a time so can you see my confusion I hope you can clear this up for me thank you and I enjoyyour posts

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Margaret, the Mystics article is solid, but the comments include all sorts of people “quoting” things I have never said. My actual comments have been completely consistent on this – including when they were entirely private to my Director Priests. We may have some chaos for a short period where there are several national leaders…but then the man God has appointed will rise to carry us through the temporal part of the Storm.

      Liked by 8 people

      • James says:

        Hi Charlie, I read this:

        August 2, 2015 at 9:30 pm
        Donette, I said bluntly on the Birmingham Video that President Obama will not finish his term. I said that he would be eledted [elected] before he received the nomination to my priests, that he would lead us into the fullness of the Storm, that he would leave office in chaos and disgrace before his term was finished, and would live to convert in the end.

        You mean a sequence like this?

        -Obama lead USA into the fullness of the Storm (our current days, quiet before the storm).
        -Obama stop being the leader before 20th January, 2017 = The storm breaks loose.
        -Period of chaos (fullness of storm).
        -A leader from God emerge to carry USA (fullness of storm).

        I ask this to be sure to have understood correctly. Thanks!

        James

        Like

  4. lambzie37 says:

    What MP, where are Charlie’s brownies. I’m sure Doug is quite content to trap some pie (Apple please) on his way to get the red wagon! Nice job.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Margaret Noecker says:

    Charlie, are you coming to Lincon Ne or Omaha, Ne soon? There is a group who would like to see you if you came to Hastings, Ne. It’s about 100 miles west of Lincoln.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Joe Crozier says:


    Look what I found on MOG. Next they will be stealing charitable quotes about Pope Francis from TRNS.

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Frank says:

    Is Am***n a forbidden word at TNRS? I’m trying to determine why my sharing about a Catholic novel that had a discussion about squirrels didn’t pass muster. Of course my comment may have been so irrelevant (though I thought squirrels were always relevant here) that there was no point in publishing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Doug says:

    MP, I still love this.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

