True Comfort For the Storm

Winston-Churchill-and-the-Troops

By Charlie Johnston

I know people are edgy and need comfort now. The turmoil throughout the world has gotten so bad that only the most vainly self-absorbed and ambitious can ignore it. The stark division in families has become so great that it distracts some from how bad the world has become in their puzzled grief over how divided their family has become.

We have badly mangled the glorious liberty God bequeathed us through the many heroes who sacrificed, who lived lives of true martyrdom, that we might be free to love and serve God by loving and serving each other. This is what we have sown. Now we see, once again, what it reaps. Some are so captive to the feeding frenzy of their self-absorbed ambition they cannot see tragedy and chaos in any light except how they can manipulate it to make themselves seem more important without absorbing blame for it. I am often angry at such people, but more often I pity them. How empty a life without love must be! How desperately miserable a life devoted to proving itself a superior and entitled specimen of humanity when we are all such schlubs! How agonizing it must be to try to convince oneself of such things when one’s sins and failings are ever in one’s own mind, whispering to the arrogant from their own skull of their perjury! Unless they repent and turn back, it will go as hard for them as for Pharaoh’s Army.

Our societies – throughout the world – are crumbling. Like a once-vigorous 97-year-old man, they are so enfeebled a simple cold could kill them. No matter how devoted and pious we think ourselves, every one of us is complicit in this. We all killed Christ, whether by hammering in a nail or slinking away for cover instead of resisting effectively; whether by assaulting the faith or by ineffectively screaming instead of actually repelling the assault. If God were to leave us to our own devices, we would be doomed – and we would have well earned it. But God does not despise those He has created. As He has throughout Salvation History, He opens up a path back to Him. In His mercy, He allows the Storm we have brought on ourselves to proceed to collapse – that all the more might know how much they need Him, that as many as possible might be reclaimed to life, to Him.

In mid-May of this year, I was given intense instruction from the Lord over two days. He did not tell me when or how final collapse would come, but He did show me what would be the signs that I must act. He started out by rebuking me. It certainly isn’t the first time that has happened, but there has always been a gentle instructive character to His rebukes. Not this time. To put it charitably, He tersely chided me for being too gentle – that my purpose was not to get along with everyone, but to get as many safely to the shore of Rescue as I could, by whatever means I could.

Nine years ago, I was instructed to begin planning temporally for the period of Restoration – or Regency. Our Lord made it clear that I was accountable to Him for that period. Now some jump to the conclusion that that means I will be the Regent. That could be, but it could also be that I would act as an advisor to the Regent, or that I could continue to simply exhort people publicly on a larger scale. Or it could be by some means I cannot conceive of. God is a very tricky Fellow. You must be prepared for what the obvious is, at least in terms of our frail logic, but you learn to routinely see Him act in ways that never occurred to you – and even astonish you. What I know is that I am personally accountable to Him for this period. In all things, I am to carry the message of, “Be not afraid: God calls all men to salvation.” I reiterate that my three prime duties are to 1) defend the faith, 2) hearten the faithful and 3) defend the faithful. I am, in fact, to defend the Shepherds of our Church with vigorous abandon, even while being obedient to their lawful authority in all matters of faith and morals. The heart of my work is temporal, informed by my faith and joyful obedience to my Church. It has ever been. You have seen my work to hearten the faithful in preparation for the collapse – and many have thought it the heart of my work. It is, rather, the prerequisite. Yet as tough as what I am held accountable for is, you all have a tougher assignment. I only have to keep things temporally steady on the way to Rescue. Afterwards, you all have the responsibility of setting a permanent system that is fertile soil for the faith, but respects the freedom of all.

In God’s plan for Restoration, there is no violence – at least not from Christians (except perhaps for a few cases of actual self-defense – and most decidedly NOT aggression playing at self-defense). Oh, there is plenty of violence. We see it right now in places such as Milwaukee, Dallas, Orlando, Baton Rouge, Baltimore, France, Germany, the Middle East, Ukraine – just to name a few recent places. That is the violence incident to a dying culture going through its death rattle. We can’t help that. It must come and all we can do is to endure until it is complete. We had a part in it, but we have no part in it now if we have chosen to be participants in preparing the way for Rescue.

As I said, in mid-May I was given explicit instructions on when to act and how to begin. It shook me for a while. By any human reckoning, the instructions would have me walk defenselessly to my certain death. It was my son who soothed me in the first week of the aftermath when I told him of it. Recognizing my fear, he said, “Dad, don’t you know that is how God always acts? If you aren’t killed that will be a sign in itself to help give heart to people when they need it desperately.” He was right, but it did not completely erase my concerns. Oddly, my fear is not primarily over my own death, but that a premature death there would rob many of hope. Yet I am resolved to live obedience to the end, however scary it is.

There is a time for a captain to soothe his frightened troops, to put his arm around them and give them comfort. But that time is not after they have been called to battle stations. People are human – and can’t help but sometimes lose it in the face of terror if their temperament is not suited to it. But they can’t have arms wrapped around them when on the verge of battle. If they lose it then, they must get a grip or get out of the way and go back to their berth. We must stare death in the face and resolve, with Thomas, after hearing Jesus’ determination to go up to Jerusalem even amidst the mortal plots against Him, “Let us also go, that we may die with Him.” (John 11:16) Thomas was not convinced they weren’t going to their death, but He chose to go with Jesus until the end. For a time, that sort of resolve may be all we have to sustain our purpose.

I know people need comfort. For a time, though, the only true comfort you will find will be that of comforting those around you. God DOES have a plan.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Culture, The Regency, The Rescue, The Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

889 Responses to True Comfort For the Storm

  1. Cheri F says:

    You guys are making me laugh with all these “Smiley faces” and “hearts”. They appear very large in my comments. 🙂 ♡

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Mack says:

    This is quite interesting: there will be a total solar eclipse in the US next year that will fall exactly 54 days before Oct. 13–the anniversary of the Fatima miracle. We often pray the 54 day rosary novena, so this seems significant to happen in the midst of the Storm, which undoubtedly will be raging full force by then:
    http://wdtprs.com/blog/2016/08/the-usa-solar-eclipse-of-2017-signs-in-the-heavens/

    Liked by 8 people

  3. SanSan says:

    Just want to share that a beautiful family of six children (one month to 9yrs) and their parents just moved back to their home in Colorado from San Francisco this past week. I will miss their angelic faces at the TLM Masses, the reaching into moms bag of rosaries to find their favorite during Adoration, and witnessing the first time the oldest son was serving on the Altar. The parents just beamed with pride. The children handed out Miraculous Medals to passerbys when the parish took Jesus to the streets. They headed up our Eucharistic Procession through the streets too.
    I sense the Lord’s hand in moving the family back to their home in Colorado, where they will be safer. I will miss them, they brought such Joy and Hope to everyone who encountered them.

    Liked by 10 people

  4. ykc says:

    I am listening to Glenn Beck on the radio. What he is saying is very much the same as Charlie, impending global war, economic collapse, chaos (and about Trump rising as a political “strong man” (dictator) should he be elected). I can’t help but think how many people Glenn would be able to reach if he only realized the truth of the Storm! He is a fallen away Catholic and is now Mormon, but I do think he has the heart of a disciple. Like many, he had no real formation in his younger years and was easily led away from Holy Mother Church. Let us pray for him to learn about Charlie’s prophecy and be able to help as many people as possible.

    Liked by 4 people

  5. Littlelight says:

    Good Morning Charlie and All. Today I got this email, and I received the author’s permission to post it here. This is so heavy on my heart, as families are under constant, relentless siege. I am watching my beloved husband look so very bone-tired, it is heartbreaking and scary. He has always been our rock. This is answer to my prayers. I just finished yesterday the 7th of 7 novenas for him. I know they are helping, & also know I can’t stop now! But my sails were deflated, tired. Then I got this email and thought: “Yes! I can do this! This is the answer!” Praise God! I thought of everyone here also enduring. So needed right now. God bless you all.

    Subject: Fwd: Praying in solidarity for our husbands – ladies only

    As the world continues to fall apart, my heart is heavy & I sense that God is calling me to pray more fervently for my husband, the spiritual head of our family.

    If you’re interested in strengthening your prayers for your husband, please commit to praying: 9 Memorares/day (daily novena) in solidarity with other wives.

    We could start with something like this:
    “I unite my prayers for my husband with the prayers of my sisters in Christ.” Then pray 9 Memorares.

    Pray these prayers at any time or in any place. If your friend is also praying these & you’re together, take a few moments to pray them when you get together or are on the phone.

    Spread the word & let’s storm heaven!

    Liked by 16 people

  6. maryopl says:

    Charlie, we cannot carry your heavy load but, with God’s help, we will walk beside you and offer prayers and love and encouragement.

    Liked by 7 people

  7. moreen67 says:

    I’m sure most on this blog have seen the news that Germany told its citizens to stockpile food and water (for at least 10 days) for civil defense….now I know that terrorists have been attacking but I would think that would mean that the German government knows of something big in the works – their grocery stores are emptied out I guess the German citizens are taking this seriously. Of course, I don’t see this being reported by our MSM on tv – but it is online @ Reuters, Israeli news sites, BBC, etc. Mo

    Liked by 6 people

  8. Susan Rodriguez says:

    Charlie
    When you mention the Lord chided you for being to easy on the troops was it because of how you present the storm as not to worry God has everything in control? Leading some people to believe its all going to be handled by God without any struggle on our part. So many people say oh I have faith in God without making any common sense preparation. Also could you help me clarify, I was under the impression you would be finsh after the rescue?
    God bless you
    Susan

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      Susan, some things you just have to contemplate – just as I have had to. God IS in control.

      I have always said that after the Rescue, having taken care of some mop-up, my work is done except for raising support for the Shrine. I have also said that if I keep faith and remain obedient, I will have some years here afterwards. So I really don’t quite get what your question is in that last part.

      Liked by 3 people

    • tinabarry says:

      Susan, I have been reading and hearing Charlie for a little over a year now. Quite on the contrary is the idea that there would be no struggle on our part. The human condition is a constant struggle and will always be till eternity. This struggle will intensify with the fullness of the Storm, but God will be at our constant side to help us. I believe we will see biblical miracles. I already am seeing that. God has already thrust our family in the Storm these last 2 years. I can tell you, the miracles we have seen make me cry. We keep an ongoing list now. We have also prepared physically with food etc. I know we will be feeding a lot of people, and we are very detached from these things. Charlie never said don’t prepare, he said be prepared to do good with what you have, take the next right step in your preparations, God will make flourish whatever is lacking. We will work harder then we have ever worked in our lives, and in America, even our poor are pampered so all this is relative. We will suffer, A LOT and we will find consolation from souls that we didn’t think it possible to find consolation. I will give you an example. We moved to the mountains, to a small community. In the middle of the winter I was in shock from the move, knew nobody, and my husband had to work 2 hours away and only came home on weekends. I was trying to keep my kids cheerful, keep one of my sons out of seizures and trying to learn to bake bread, make cheese (I acquired goats). I had a woman call me who lived across the lake. I had heard about her and her husband’s life style. They were swingers, they drank and use cocaine. She has however, a very kind heart. We talked and she told me she was raised on a farm. In the MIDDLE of a huge snow storm, she trudged through the snow and came over and taught me how to make bread, and we made several types of cheeses. It was wonderful. Since then we walk together. I pray for her daily. She recently came and told me her life was falling apart. I will be there with love when it crashes. She is known to be an atheist. She asked me to pray for her. I told her I loved her and prayed for her every day. My other sweet friend who is now going to Church with me, is praying the rosary everyday, is now going to have her children baptized and is covered with tattoos. She has been my dearest friend. She is only 32. You should see the miracles God has worked in her life since I got here. She has been an enormous consolation TO ME, though she would say I am to her. She has suffered enormously these last months. I never would have dreamed that coming out of suburbia and my tennis life with the ladies into a new life that these would be my friends. LOVE HAS TAKEN ON A NEW MEANING. It has not been easy!! It has been hard. I wouldn’t have traded this for anything! God is ridding me of my judgements and revealing things to me inside myself that are not godly. And, He is also showing me the enormous gifts I have. He has increased my compassion, discernment, kindness, and boldness. I did’t mean to write so much. I hope this helps.

      Liked by 15 people

  9. GB says:

    I remember awhile back Charlie spoke of a papal blunder – well, while we know the Pope’s said some off-handed things that, as filtered through the media SOUNDED blunderous, Charlie specifically mentioned the US visit in relation to the Pope’s blunder and the tone/tact he took while here. I wonder if this [I’m not endorsing the remnant, but that its having read this from the leaks of information from George Soros’s server further bolsters that conclusion:

    Pope Francis Visit – $650,000 (USP)
    Pope Francis’ first visit to the United States in September will include a historic address to Congress, a speech at the United Nations, and a visit to Philadelphia for the “World Meeting of Families.” In order to seize this moment, we will support PICO’s organizing activities to engage the Pope on economic and racial justice issues, including using the influence of Cardinal Rodriguez, the Pope’s senior advisor, and sending a delegation to visit the Vatican in the spring or summer to allow him to hear directly from low-income Catholics in America. The grant will also support FPL’s media,
    framing, and public opinion activities, including conducting a poll to demonstrate that Catholic
    voters are responsive to the Pope’s focus on income inequality, and earning media coverage that
    drives the message that being “pro-family” requires addressing growing inequality. By harnessing the Papal visit to lift up the Pope’s searing critique of what he calls “an economy of exclusion and
    inequality” and his dismissal of “trickle down” theories, PICO and FPL will work to build a bridge
    to a larger conversation about bread-and-butter economic concerns and shift national paradigms and priorities in the run-up to the 2016 presidential campaign.

    http://soros.dcleaks.com/view/?q=vatican&div=us [file name /usp may 2015 board book.pdf]

    I’m definitely NOT a Pope basher, I think he’s trying to get everyone on the ship [most of whom are in ignorance or at least lack bad will], and God is in control, but just think this is helpful to ponder in how all these things are developing, and how this may be part of a coming attack on the Pope himself — at the least to avoid being shocked when its spun via the anti-Catholic media. [It reminds me of a Mark Mallett piece – the True Christian Globalism to be established, led by the Pope, vs the fake Globalism that is corrupt and a crony system, led [apparently] by this Soros character).

    Liked by 1 person

  10. vkmir3 says:

    Calling all Chicago area people! I just learned of this event at St. John Cantius in Chicago this weekend.
    The website says: The tour of the world-famous International Pilgrim Virgin Statue of Fatima is a nation-wide call to prayer and penance for peace in our nation and conversion of hearts. That’s because prayer is more powerful than any army on earth. Our Lady promised, “in the end, my Immaculate Heart will triumph.” The tour and your prayers will create an outpouring of grace to allow Our Lady of Fatima to claim her dominion over our country through her Immaculate Heart.

    August 27, 2016 – August 28, 2016
    St. John Cantius
    825 N. Carpenter Street
    Chicago, IL

    7PM – Introduction and speaker, Fr. Richard Simon of Relevant Radio (He is very good!)
    Candlelight Procession
    Silent adoration until Midnight
    Sunday, August 28
    Masses – 7:30AM, 9AM, 11AM, 12:30
    Statue departs at 2PM
    Contact Fr. Joshua Caswell, 312-243-7373.

    There will be more visits in the suburbs and beyond Illinois throughout the year. The website for the tour is here: http://www.fatimatourforpeace.com/the-tour/
    Our Lady of Fatima, pray for us!

    Liked by 4 people

  11. susan0409 says:

    my people live in the day God has told us you not time or day be at peace love one another and forgive amen

    Like

  12. paulaokeefe says:

    And we all know at the end of the Jubilee of Mercy, the stars will show the Virgin, Virgo with a King in her abdomen for 9 months
    Kinda strange. But something only God can orchestrate.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. paulaokeefe says:

    Brother Lawrence practiced the Presence of God in daily routines and certainly St. Theresa
    Do everything for the love of God. Keep Him with you 24/7
    Let’s all do this.

    Liked by 2 people

  14. Earthquake just struck Norcia, Italy — precisely. No other earthquake activity for over 1,000 miles. This is all very unusual.

    Perhaps you’ve heard about the revival of St. Benedict’s monastery there:
    https://en.nursia.org/

    “Glorious St. Benedict who taught us the way to religious perfection by the practice of self-conquest, mortification, humility, obedience, prayer, silence, retirement and detachment from the world, I kneel at your feet and humbly beg you to take my present need under your special protection (mention here). Vouchsafe to recommend it to the Blessed Virgin Mary, and lay it before the throne of Jesus. Cease not to intercede for me until my request is granted. Above all, obtain for me the grace to one day meet God face to face, and with you and Mary and all the angels and saints to praise Him through all eternity. O most powerful Saint Benedict, do not let me lose my soul, but obtain for me the grace of winning my way to heaven, there to worship and enjoy the most holy and adorable Trinity forever and ever. Amen. (From the Novena)

    Liked by 6 people

      • Mick says:

        Just saw that a 6.8 hit in Myanmar and was felt hundreds of miles away.

        http://www.foxnews.com/world/2016/08/24/powerful-earthquake-shakes-central-myanmar.html

        Prayers for the people of Perugia, Italy, and those of Myanmar.

        Liked by 3 people

        • Greg says:

          Yes we must pray for our Italian brothers and sisters; whew! It is interesting that Luz de Maria just a week or so ago, said that Our Lord told her, “Pray, My children, pray for Italy, the volcanoes become active, the ground shakes and the People will suffer terror.” This is the second thing she prophesied truly about; the first was the terror attack in France. So I am becoming open to possibility that she could be authentic. But she says many other things as well. Lord, bring your people home! The human race has lost its way. But if that is what it takes to wake us up, then so be it.

          Liked by 1 person

      • ykc says:

        When I heard about the earthquake in Italy this morning, I once again thought of how Charlie tells us that we can prepare (prep) all we want, but that we can’t outwit God. It can all be taken away in the blink of an eye- fires in CA, floods in LA, earthquake in Italy. I live in NC, where we are always under the possible threat of a hurricane this time of year. Devastation can happen to any of us at any time. I see the threat of war from N. Korea as significant. Perhaps their nuclear warheads can’t reach the US, but I’m sure others can. Global war is imminent. And George Soros is leading the pack. If he’s not the anti-Christ, he is at least in bed with him.

        My young son is home on leave from the Marine Corp for a couple of weeks. I have been telling him of Charlie’s prophecies. Yesterday I gave him a brown scapular and tried to convince him to never take it off. I also asked him to go to confession, if not now (and I know he won’t go now), then at least when he sees that everything is escalating. I pray that he will.

        Speaking of brown scapulars, I just read that there are three conditions that must be met in order to receive the graces of Our Lady. I was not aware of these conditions until now.

        1) To be enrolled in the Scapular Confraternity once, and to wear the Scapular at all times;
        2) To be pure, observing the 6th and 9th Commandments;
        3) To pray each day the Little Office in honor of the Blessed Virgin Mary. (An authorized priest may change that to five decades of the Rosary daily.

        Are there only special priests that can do this or can it be any priest?

        Liked by 3 people

        • Thank you very much YKE for the reminder about the requirements for graces with the Brown Scapular. I think any priest in good standing can authorize either prayer.

          I will pray for your courageous son, especially that he go to confession. Semper fidelis.

          Well, today I bought a 12’x14′ Wall Tent with stove. Yes, it’s the final part of my prep, but I realized that if need be, I must be ready to let it go and give it to a family in need. And if I do use it myself, since I will be in the Black Hills National Forest among the pine beetle trees, I must be ready to let it go if God wishes to burn it down or drop a large branch on my head. Being prepared includes more than just having supplies.

          (Actually, I heard creepy Geo. Soros thinks he’s the Messiah. At his age, why doesn’t he just go retire? (or go curl up and…) He obviously sees his mortality in the mirror (*shudder*) and might realize what a worthless waste his life has been. I do not say any of this lightly. It’s frightening how driven evil people are, clawing desperately to the bitter end, shaking their fist at God as they spit on his Creation. They are unrelenting, like satan and his minions…)

          Liked by 4 people

        • Mick says:

          Ykc, the Blessed Mother herself gave the requirement for gaining the ultimate grace from wearing the Brown Scapular: “Whoever dies wearing this Scapular shall not suffer eternal fire.” The three requirements that you list are for the gaining of a different grace called the “Sabbatine Privilege,” whereby the Blessed Mother will release from Purgatory, on the Saturday following their death, those who have fulfilled those three requirements. My understanding is that any priest who has faculties in his diocese may substitute the Rosary for the Little Office. If I’m wrong about this, somebody please correct my error. 🙂

          Your son, and all the members of the US military, are in my daily prayers.

          Liked by 5 people

        • Beckita says:

          Any priest can enroll someone, ykc. Here’s some rephrasing and another option for #3 as noted on a Carmeilte website:
          1. Wear the Brown Scapular continuously.
          2. Observe chastity according to one’s state in life (married/single).
          3. Recite daily the Little Office of the Blessed Virgin OR Observe the fasts of the Church together with abstaining from meat on Wednesdays and Saturdays OR With permission of a priest, say five decades of Our Lady’s Most Holy Rosary OR With permission of a priest, substitute some other good work.
          http://www.sistersofcarmel.com/brown-scapular-information.php

          Liked by 2 people

        • I was enrolled by a parish priest and from what the Sisters of Carmel explained in scapular instructions that a priest could enroll you and to use the prayers that were included with the scapular I also read that if you replace a worn or lost scapular there is no need to re enroll as the graces carry from the original act. Hope this helps….peace be with you

          Liked by 2 people

    • Lilia Florentiae says:

      Unfortunately the earthquake struck not only Norcia, but many other villages, the most damaged are Accumoli, Amatrice and Pescara del Tronto. Some had typical ancient buildings, houses made with stones, some are in rural or mountain areas and it took rescuers time to reach the place, some roads had been damaged by the earthquake.
      In Amatrice, most part of the old town has collapsed. The churchtower remained standing and the Mayor declared in tears it’s a sign of hope.
      There seem to be still many people under the fallen houses, because the tragedy happened at 3.36 a.m. and families were sleeping.
      Please pray for all involved.
      Thanks, Lilia from Italy

      Liked by 6 people

    • SanSan says:

      I was just in Norcia in April and spent Holy Thursday and Good Friday with the Monks there. Heartbreaking to see the devastation of this beautiful area. Praying for the sweet and welcoming Monks and all people affected.

      Liked by 5 people

      • SanSan says:

        Happy to report that none of the Monks were hurt. In fact, Norcia was the epicenter, but most all of the worst damage was outside the town. 120 lives lost and so many homeless and hurt. Devasting time for all.

        Liked by 2 people

        • SanSan says:

          247+ died. But, after 17 hrs a 10 yr old little girl was pulled out of the rubble alive. May God save all.

          Liked by 3 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Sansan, miracles, blessings, and graces to accompany the signs of the times. I saw on Senator Bill Cassidy of Louisiana’s FB page just how thoughtfully people are coming together as community to help each other rebuild, as as stories coming out of Italy. It is happening and heartening!

            Liked by 2 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Patrick, I bought their CD a while back- Monks of Norcia, it’s beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Snowy Owl says:

    YongDuk, you wrote a comment on St.John and his Gospel- what you said, how you say it, how you teach us is so beautiful, there were so many lessons taught in this. Prayers answered. Thank you. God bless you, you are very gifted (and humble and funny) and we are blessed to have you here with us. A true gift from God.
    “See that you all follow the bishop, even as Jesus Christ does the Father..” St. Ignatius.
    The Epistle of Ignatius to the Smyrnaeans.

    Liked by 4 people

  16. David Gibson says:

    I am going to put an add in the Parish bulletin:
    “Next Right Step
    Google: Charlie Johnston
    Go to: Start Here
    Call: phone number ”
    What do you think?

    Also I want to get the Knights of OCTOBER involved. Have a Next Right Step coordinator. They are a perfect organization for the storm and recovery.

    Liked by 8 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      David, I believe that you should go for it and then leave it in God’s hands for the rest. Face-to-face interaction and being an example by TNRS are still the best method.
      My baby brother, could not understand my love of Christ and the Church earlier in my life when I returned whole-heartedly to the faith. He was/is a sports aficionado and the analogy I used to explain my “Jesus freak” stance was that if he came across a Bab Ruth rookie card in mint condition that he purchased for his collection, he would go out and tell the world about his precious find. His love for such things is the same as mine for Jesus and I too want the world to know. Sadly, the world is not always receptive. It is fine then just to plant the seed. 🙂

      Liked by 5 people

      • Doug says:

        The person that lead me to Christ tried to witness to me and He saw I had no interest and as such, did not push him on me. He however remained my friend as well as his life emanated joy. When I actually started searching and wanted to know about God, he was the first person I went back to. He planted the seed and watered it with his friendship and God caused it to grow.

        Liked by 4 people

      • jlynnbyrd says:

        I do not know about the collectible world, however I am thinking a Bab Ruth card maybe more rare than an actual Babe Ruth card. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      • Doug says:

        By the way, I figured out a good way to get secular folks to read Charlie’s Web site. Instead of saying “oh. You should read this…”, I say, “I read about this guy who says Obama is not going to make it through his term” In other words, I detach myself from Charlie (sorry Charlie) and it piques their interest. If they want more info, I will provide the link. Basically, I will leave it to the other person to discern.

        In my parish, I printed business cards with “Take the Next Right Step and be a sign of Hope” along with Charlie’s link, my email and gave them to friends and anyone who was interested.

        Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      Sounds like a great beginning, David. Extending a personal invitation is another great way to gather those who may not yet understand that God has a Plan. Praying for your efforts to be richly blessed.

      Liked by 2 people

  17. Bob says:

    Wikileaks is showing the effects of more money being funneled to support leftist and “progressive causes in the church. May God soon provide some good stones to counter the Goliath:

    https://abyssum.org/2016/08/24/tontos-utiles/

    Liked by 1 person

  18. CrewDog says:

    The Horror Show continues!!! …… Remember!! …. 70 Years ago we convicted and hung Murderous Monsters at Nuremberg for crimes against humanity … like this!!

    “Video Confession: UNM Official Confirms that Aborted Baby Brains Were Dissected by High School Students”

    http://www.operationrescue.org/archives/video-confession-unm-official-confirms-that-aborted-baby-brains-were-dissected-by-high-school-students/

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Like

  19. CrewDog says:

    Somebody posted this over @ MOG and it sounds like good advice to me …. for
    “These Days”!!
    “Do not leave Peter because of Judas”
    https://matthewsix25to34.wordpress.com/2016/08/23/do-not-leave-peter-because-of-judas/

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 5 people

  20. CrewDog says:

    The below is another sad SIGN that all is not well. The EU was already ahead of US in the “Don’t Believe in God Anymore” Department … we are catching up! ;-(
    I’m sure I’m not the only guy here PRAYING that The Lord reveal Himself soon … and in a BIG WAY!!! …. and as The God of Mercy, Peace, Healing and Joy .. Maranatha!!!

    “Pew: Americans giving up on God, miracles”

    http://www.washingtonexaminer.com/pew-huge-surge-in-americans-who-no-longer-believe-in-god-miracles/article/2600066

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 6 people

    • omarie says:

      Here’s the thing, Crew Dog…. Those percentages stated are based on the individuals who participated in the survey only. And yet the headline leads us to believe that “the majority of Americans” no longer believe.
      Well, this girl is not buying what their selling. Yes, there has been a decline in church attendance, and some have embraced other beliefs. however, there are soooo many who still believe, who still pray, who still teach their young to know God. It’s just, IMHO, an effort to dishearten all us Christians, in the hope that we will just throw up our hands and say “what’s the use”. Do you see any such survey for Islam, Buddhism, Judaism? Of course not. If it’s proof of anything, it’s that there is truly a war (spiritual) on us Christians.
      Please don’t pay attention to their nonsense. Take heart❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  21. bamahikingdude says:

    Charlie:
    Many of us in our metro area have been following you for about 15 or 16 months and saw you when you visited in late Spring (and I am new to posting). We have strong faith that God is about to intervene in our world and give us the correction you and many others have been preparing the world for. We KNOW God has a plan. However I have a dilemma and would like to obtain feedback from you and the community.

    I am in between employers and have been searching most diligently for several months for a position – permanent, contracted, whichever. We have prayed more Novenas (St Joseph, Sacred Heart, St. Monica, St. Theresa, etc) and Rosaries for this (and many other intentions) than I can count as well as the Prayer of Miraculous Trust (once as directed). I know many others who have been praying for guidance to TNRS with great depth in a mindset of utter dependence upon God’s providence. Like me, the response feels like an eerie silence. At least no doors, windows or otherwise have opened.

    To make a long story short, in one of your comments in Stormy Transition you stated:
    “In the weeks before an anticipated battle, it is good to soothe, to exhort, and encourage. On the eve of battle, people need to step up regardless of their fears – because there are a whole lot of people who are going to depend on each of us to act with merciful, but sure, resolve.”
    My wife and I have the means to remain in place for several more months before we will be forced to make a decision to consider a move where more opportunities are available. We love our community. We have had many meetings of friends and prayer groups ascertaining our roles in the Storm and recovery and how we can form to help our communities best.

    I have endured considerable angst applying for job after job for it to hit a dead end (which is unusual as I have had a considerably successful career). I know you’d likely counsel to follow where the Spirit leads, but in these most uncertain and increasingly turbulent times – on the eve, the cusp of “battle,” would it not be wiser to remain in place, weather the employment issue with patience and simplicity and remain to be a sign of hope to my neighbors and community? With the weight of providing for my family, I just feel without direction, treading water with respect to what the next right step really should be regarding employment. Honestly, in the scheme of what is about to unfold, economic collapse, and what is likely mass unemployment and breakdown of structures, it almost feels like a fool’s errand to even try to go about “getting a job” as if tomorrow is just another day…

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      It is a decision you have to make, Bama. The thing is, often when God closes something off He is prodding you to something better – or where you are more needed. So I say make the best decision you can for your family without regard to the Storm. Wherever you are, God knows. If you try to trim your decisions based on what you think is inside information, your decisions will be bad. Wouldn’t it make more sense for me to stop traveling when things are unraveling so quickly? From a temporal standpoint, sure. But when the final crash comes, I want God to find me manning my post with fidelity and no presumption.

      You take care of your family, the best way you can. God will see it and be pleased. Your call is to provide for your family. If that means moving, do it and trust God for the rest.

      Liked by 4 people

  22. audiemarie2014 says:

    Charlie, I was in the Denver area when you spoke this past weekend. I knew I wouldn’t get to see you again, but was satisfied with having seen and heard you speak before here in MN. I did mention you to our good friends my husband and I were visiting and they were very interested in the TNRS. I was a bit nervous about going anywhere right now, but remembered what you said that God knows where we are. Veil of Veronica, Susan Skinner, had asked God to bless or block her trip, so I did the same. Our trip was blessed! The one thing I wanted to do was to see the Chapel on the Rock. Our friends, who are Lutheran (as is my husband), drove us out there! What happiness and peace! We didn’t stay long, but long enough for me to say a prayer of thanksgiving to our Lord and for conversion of souls. I’ve just read your latest piece and some comments. It all brings water to my eyes, sorrow for those who suffer, but also joy in knowing that God has this. Will offer my Rosary for all here tonight. Thank you, Charlie, and God bless all here.

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Isn’t that site, the Chapel on the Rock at Mt. Meeker, gorgeous, majestic and peaceful? I thoroughly enjoyed the Denver crowd. It was great to see so many people from around the country and people I knew. Homefield advantage isn’t all bad.

      Liked by 7 people

      • Hi,
        Just got back to Florida after a glorious week trip to see you and hike in Colorado! If I could figure a way to post pictures of chapel on the Rock, know the TNRS gang would smile. A squirrel posed on rock in foreground when I was snapping pics. A rain storm had just started clearing out to reveal Mt.Meeker off hwy 7… and the chapel. I’ll try a post on the FB site👍🏼
        It was a blessing getting the chance on 8/20 to attend the talk and meet you Charlie, even though I had to leave after the talk before the Q & A …as I was traveling with a friend and had borrowed her car. So happy I was able to chat briefly with you in the lobby with the folks from Riverside CA. Everyone I talked with, such good loving Christians. This is the glue we will use to endure. To listen to your talk in person and meet so manyTNRS folks in Denver😊💕, it was good for me to connect face to face…it conveys well when spreading the message back here to Acknowlegde God, Take the Next Right step and Be a sign of hope! Thanks for that👍🏼
        What a week of Blessings… after I arrived in Denver from Orlando 8/18 …on way to up to Estes park …drove hwy 7 to see Mt Meeker & Chapel on the Rock in rain, which turned to sun as I got out of car🌤.I last visited this particular area of the mountains 10 years ago…never saw the Chapel before…stunning and Awesome.
        Then, made my way to meet a friend in Estes park. On Friday 8/19 awoke and went to confession at Our Lady Of the Mountains and prayed the rosary with the people as penance. Next we hiked Gods country in RMNP and that evening gave my Christian friend (needing much prayer for trials) a newly blessed rosary and miraculous medal ( the implements of my own reversion) . Next day, on Saturday drove south to hike Longs peak approach to chasm lake…Amazing & heavenly. Got a great chance to recite rosary & DM chaplet on hike up. Made it by 10am to Chasm lake. Gods creation is beautiful. Mt. Meeker is majestic and one can easily visualize a Shrine dedicated to Our Lady rising from the broad shoulder base. (Visited Lourdes for the first time last Oct 2015 and admired the Pyrenees backdrop. Hiked the cog trail above Loudres to see the valley in which it Sat) Very similar feeling at Mt. meeker environs…✝💕

        Sorry to have missed the Q & A as I had to get borrowed car back to my friend .,.but met amazing people and know this group loves our Lord and Our Lady! We will endure this together from Florida or wherever God chooses to place us👍🏼
        I pray for you Charlie and your mission, as well as each member of this community as we approach the impact of the storm and prepare to help and make it through with our fellow brothers and sisters all over the world.

        Peace be with you!
        Lisa Jenkins
        Central Florida

        Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      Beautiful, Audie.

      Liked by 1 person

  23. Vickie Rogers says:

    The thing to remember is that we have to have a childlike trust in our Lord – the storm hit me personally almost 3 years ago when I had 3 back to back allergic reactions to antibiotics that have left my body allergic to pretty much everything under the sun – including the sun – I’m down to only being able to eat 3 foods – not including water – But through it all – the Lord has sustained me – at first I lost a ton of weight, but now I’m gaining again – I almost have to cut back my eating – lol – but through dental work and other medical issues, the Lord and His sweet Blessed Mother have brought me through every time – so again – we have to have childlike faith and trust – and stay very close to Jesus – I’m not saying it’s easy – it never is – but sometimes we have to let go of our thoughts and fears and just Let God – so that’s my two cents worth – God Bless you Charlie and the NRS family.

    Liked by 2 people

  24. radiclaudio says:

    What the heck Charlie? Over 700 comments on this post. I’ll have to go back and read it more closely to see what i missed. lol

    TJTM

    Rich

    Liked by 5 people

  25. SanSan says:

    Praying for all of our brothers and sisters caught in natural disasters.

    Liked by 4 people

  26. joanne1950 says:

    Charlie, I think you should remember Hope and find it where you can. Look at Baton Rouge. It took the government at least 5 days to respond, meanwhile the people through there churches mobilized themselves in one day (as reported on Fox). A Baton Rouge Navy of local people has emerged. I say WOW. So many doing the next right step. So many followers of Christ with no hesitation to act and take care of their neighbors. I see Hope everywhere is those acts.

    Liked by 2 people

  27. Cheryl says:

    “The safest place to be is within the providence of God even if it’s in the crossfire.” ~ Father T.

    Liked by 5 people

  28. Anne Reedy says:

    This letter in itself was a comfort to me Thank you

    Liked by 1 person

  29. CrewDog says:

    Today’s verse/prayer is a reminder that each of us has a part to play in life …and Christian Duties to perform in the uncertainties to come!

    HeartLight Daily Verse – 26 August

    Romans 12:4-5
    Just as each of us has a one body with many members, and these members do not all have the same function, so in Christ we who are many form one body, and each member belongs to all the others.

    Thoughts on today’s verse:
    One of the key realities of Christianity is belonging. I belong! I belong to God. I belong to Jesus. I belong to Jesus’ body the Church. I have a place and a purpose in that body. I belong!
    Prayer:
    Help me, Father, to find the place where I’m suppose to fit in your body. Until then, I pledge to try all sorts of ministries so that your Spirit, and not just my own preference, will guide me into your place for me to serve. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.
    Visit heartlight.org for more

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 4 people

  30. Fan says:

    For weeks I have wanted to ask this, but was embarrassed I guess. Is it ok to take salt to my pastor, have him bless it, and then put it around our property? I also thought put it around our town. This desire isn’t out of paranoid compulsion, but this maternal desire to protect our house and land and the other souls out there. I wish I could gather everyone and hold them close and protect them. I love interceding for souls through the rosary, but this is in addition. Please don’t think I’m a nutball. If in our Catholic faith we have been given sacramentals, if put into use out of love, is that not trust? Thank you, Charlie, for your gift of self.

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Of course it is, Fan. I was with a Priest just last weekend who blessed salt for some farmers – three boxes worth. Go for it. Sacramentals are wonderful.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Kat says:

      Fan, a priest I went to Medjugorje with uses the Old Roman Rite to bless his holy water, salt and candles. He says it is a stronger prayer than just the regular blessing. Fr. Amorth, the exorcist agrees from what I’ve read. I asked my parish priest to bless salt and candles for gifts I gave to all my family members for Christmas along with blessed St. Benedict medals. I brought the prayers to my priest. He didn’t want to use them, he just wanted to use his own but after several minutes of discussion, he gave in and put on his purple stole and used the prayers I brought. 😊 Many of my family members are away from the church, but they all willingly accepted my gifts. I figure when things start to happen, they have sacramentals in their possession. I’ll list the prayers here if anyone else is interested. You can also find the prayers online but make sure it’s from the old Roman rite. Also, our Medjugorje priest always adds a little blessed salt to holy water.
      Blessing salt prayer
      “Almighty God, we ask you to bless this salt, as once you blessed the salt scattered over the water by the prophet Elisha. Wherever this salt (and water) is sprinkled, drive away the power of evil, and protect us always by the presence of your Holy Spirit. Grant this through Christ our Lord. Amen”

      Exorcism Blessing for Candles
      (Priest vests in surplice and purple stole)
(In order to increase the power of the original blessing for candles, the author has added text from other official Church exorcism blessings for sacramentals)
      P. Our help is in the name of the Lord.
R. Who made heaven and earth.
P: The Lord be with you.
R: May He also be with you.
      P: O candles, I exorcise you in the name of God (+) the Father Almighty, in the name of Jesus (+) Christ his Son, our Lord, and in the name of the Holy (+) Spirit. May God uproot and cast out from these objects, all power of the devil, all attacks of the unclean spirit, and all deceptions of Satan, so that they may bring health of mind and body to all who use them. We ask this through the power of our Lord Jesus Christ, who is coming to judge both the living and the dead and the world by fire.
      R: Amen
      P: Let us pray. Lord Jesus Christ, Son of the living God, light of everlasting life, you have given us candles to dispel the darkness. We humbly implore you now to bless (+) these candles at our lowly request, and hallow (+) them by the light of your grace. By the power of the Holy (+) Cross, endow them with a heavenly blessing. May the blessing they receive be so powerful that, wherever they are placed or lighted, the princes of darkness shall flee in fear, along with all their legions, and never more dare to disturb those who serve you, the almighty God. Let the entire building in which these candles are kept, be free from the power of the adversary, and be defended from the snares of the enemy. Grant we pray, that those who will use these candles may be protected from every assault of the evil spirit, and be safeguarded from all danger. Through Christ our Lord.
      R: Amen.
      (Priest sprinkles the candles with holy water)

      Liked by 3 people

    • II Kings 2:20-22

      Elisha said, “Bring me a new bowl and put salt into it.” When they had brought it to him,
      he went out to the spring and threw salt into it, saying, “Thus says the LORD: I have purified this water. Never again shall death or sterility come from it.” And the water has stayed pure even to this day, according to the word Elisha had spoken.

      Why would we not use the gifts of God given to his Church like blessed salt or holy water? A few thoughts on sacramentals below:

      FATHER ARTHUR TONNE (TALKS ON THE SACRAMENTALS. Imprimatur: Most Rev. George J. Donnelly, S.T.D. Bishop of Kansas City in Kansas)

      1. A sacramental is a sacred object or religious action which the Catholic Church, in imitation of the sacraments, uses for the purpose of obtaining spiritual favors especially through her prayer. A sacramental is anything set apart or blessed by the Church to excite good thoughts and to help devotion, and thus secure grace and take away venial sin or the temporal punishment due to sin. . .

      2. The sacramentals are numerous and varied, according to the directions of Mother Church..

      3. The sacramentals do not produce grace directly and of themselves–they produce grace indirectly by disposing and preparing the soul for this divine gift. . the prayers used in the sacramentals merely ask God to produce certain effects and to grant certain graces. . . We might divide the sacramentals into prayers, pious objects, sacred signs, and religious ceremonies. Some sacramentals are a combination–they fall into two or more classes. The Rosary, for example, is a pious object and a prayer. The sign of the cross is a prayer and a sign. The crucifix, pictures and statues are pious objects.

      Liked by 3 people

  31. Deacon Rick says:

    Update on my prayer request:
    A short time ago we heard that Denise’s MRI was negative. We are rejoicing at God’s goodness. I would like to thank everyone who prayed for her and offered kind words of support. Being lifted up and supported by such kind and caring people is a tangible sign of God’s love for us.

    Now we can prepare in earnest for the surgery on her left knee later next month. It’s a good thing I’m the chief cook and bottle washer, so she can just focus on healing and getting moving well again.

    Liked by 10 people

  32. Ann D Fons says:

    Charlie, I heard you say at one point, or you wrote, that God promised you that you would survive the Storm. So even if what He is asking you to do seems very risky, He will be faithful and keep his promises to you. God bless you and thank you for you words, your faith and your courage

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

