Back on the Road, and a Reprise of the Shrine

Chapel on the Rock with Squirrel

By Charlie Johnston

I thought you might enjoy this particular picture of the Stone Chapel of St. Catherine at Mt. Meeker. Notice our mascot sitting in the foreground. The photo is courtesy of Lisa Jenkins from Facebook.

I have had a very restful and peaceful week, in preparation for leaving tomorrow for another month and a half trip around the country. I went up to the cabin immediately after my presentation in Denver. I spent time working on the very important piece, “All In,” that I put up yesterday.

I loved the Denver presentation. It was great to see so many people come in from around the country – and great to see so many friends from around Denver. We had folks in from Florida, California, Texas, Louisiana, Tennessee and Oregon – that I know of. So many of them visited Mt. Meeker while here that I put up the piece on the Shrine again below. There is a link that shows video of me playing my fanfare at the foot of the mountain before I went up into it for my final Novena completing the pilgrimage. (Yeah, I know I cracked a note). There is also a link to a great piece Channel 9 in Denver did on Mt. Meeker after the terrible flooding a few years ago. There’s something to be said for the occasional home field advantage. There was an older couple I had stayed with for almost a week right after my pilgrimage, before heading to my son’s house. Molly, the wife, told me a friend had spoken to her about me, asking what she thought, but not knowing we were friends. She said she chuckled and told the woman, “I knew Charlie before he was Charlie Johnston.” I howled with laughter. Good line.

I will put up a review of my West Coast visit with lots of pictures when I get a little down time during this latest journey.

Next week I will speak in Portland, Oregon and in Billings, Montana. Below are details of the visits and after that, a repeat on the story of the Shrine:

Portland, Oregon (Free Event)

Tuesday, August 30, 2016

6:30 pm:  Divine Mercy Chaplet;  7:00 pm:  Public talk

Multnomah Arts Center @ 7688 SW Capitol Highway, Portland, OR  97219

Contact Sister Marie Ursula at tnrs.portlandoregon@gmail.com

*******

Billings, Montana (Free Event)

Friday, September 2, 2016

6:00 pm:  Billings Elks Lodge, 934 Lewis Ave, Billings, MT  (Esquire Room in lower level)

Contact Marti at tnrs.montana@gmail.com

*******

The Shrine

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Prophecy, The Shrine, The Storm. Bookmark the permalink.

124 Responses to Back on the Road, and a Reprise of the Shrine

  1. Joe Crozier says:

    That wee fella looks quite at home. Must be Catholic.

    Liked by 8 people

    • Joe Crozier says:

      Good effort on the trumpet. I’d like to see a piper playing next to the squirrel. Prepare ye the way of the Lord. Says it all.

      Liked by 4 people

      • charliej373 says:

        Do you play the pipes, Joe?

        Like

        • Joe Crozier says:

          Sadly no Charlie I don’t play the pipes but I have managed to get at least one recognizable tune out of every instrument I have tried. I have not tried the pipes yet but a local doctor is a top player. I put utube videos of the best players during treatments for another old patient who is also an expert. He says he only comes for the music. He also tells me I am too old to learn – now there’s a challenge. They all use electronic tuners to get the right sound so it’s getting easier. And you can get electric chanters to practise which saves the neighbours ears. Now I just need to win the lotto to buy a set and the outfit and get up to scratch. Hoots mon. I’m getting more Scottish by the second. Beam me up Captain. Someone catch that haggis. Looks a bit like squirrel!

          Liked by 5 people

      • Doug says:

        Yes Joe. It will be the squirrel fife and drum core. MP, I bet you can make a great picture of that.

        Liked by 6 people

    • mellensequoia says:

      Actually, to me it looks more like a chipmunk than a squirrel. We have LOTS of chipmunks in Sequoia National Park.

      Liked by 4 people

      • moreen67 says:

        We have little chipmunks in Jersey too they are nicer than the Jersey squirrels – ha. My sister has a German Shepard mix and she always tries to get those squirrels and chipmunks – she’s not fast enough for them (although she got awfully close to a squirrel once – it’s like they challenge her). Blessings to everyone…Maureen

        Liked by 4 people

  2. Ren says:

    I enjoy reading your articles. Thank you for all your great work. Ever thought of coming to New Mexico?

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I would love to visit New Mexico. But I only go where I am invited and where someone steps up to coordinate and organize the visit. No one from New Mexico has.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Linda says:

        Have a great pilgramage Charlie. I’ll be praying for you and for your safety all along the way as I’m sure all of your family here will..and as Beckita says…we will build a bedrock of prayers of safety for you…..twist twist😊❤

        Liked by 5 people

  3. Beckita says:

    Thought of you, Charlie, as I walked the corridors of DIA after landing early this morning: all that flying with time away, continually sleeping in different beds and who knows how many other additional inconveniences. Talk about a life of reparation!

    As ever, prayers rising for you as you live what you profess! So looking forward to finally meeting you in Montana.

    Liked by 15 people

    • YongDuk says:

      Quite a drive for you, Biscuitsnita! Are the Priests going?

      Liked by 2 people

      • Beckita says:

        Yes it will be a longer drive, YD. Really though that’s been the case with weekend ministry substitution in just the western regions of this sparsely populated state with vast territory. Starting out with Fr. W and meeting up along the way to bring another priest. A third is considering. (These from the western diocese. Have yet to hear about who’ll be there from the eastern diocese.) Plenty of time on the road for prayer and interactive reflection. All good! Turns out Joey Lomangino’s SIL will be attending at least one of the events. Looking forward to whatever is to be.

        Liked by 3 people

  4. Love the picture of the shrine, bon chance with your nest period. Prayers to St Joan are assured.
    Christus Vinci, Whoops just released another soul ! Deo Gratias

    Liked by 8 people

  5. I didn’t know that St Catherine of Siena was fond of squirrels too! Look what she got to guard her chapel!

    Liked by 9 people

    • Centurion_Cornelius says:

      …my eyesight isn’t the greatest, but isn’t that critter a five striped CHIPMUNK? (don’t ask me how I know that–2016 here in the Great Lakes region is the “year of the ‘Munk!” got hundreds of ’em here–never seen anything like it! it must be the result of the extraordinary acorn mast drop here the last few years. Oh, well, God always knows best and He provides. ALWAYS. For all creation.

      …close enough to the squirrel family, I reckon!

      Liked by 11 people

      • RJW says:

        Acorns are plentiful on our oaks in Kenockee Michigan!!

        Liked by 2 people

      • Kati says:

        I also think this is a chipmunk…which must be a cousin of the squirrel. 😉
        We have lots of squirrels and chipmunks in this part of Tennessee.

        Family is family!

        Liked by 5 people

        • charliej373 says:

          If it’s our mascot’s cousin, thank God he is taking up his post!

          Liked by 6 people

        • It’s a ground squirrel. This variety looks similar to the chipmunk with the stripes, but chipmunks also have the stripes on their head. Squirrels and chipmunks are different species, but both members of the squirrel family, so yes, cousins of sorts, but this one pictured is definitely a squirrel. Maybe it’s just me, but I think there’s a lesson there to ponder.

          Liked by 8 people

          • Thanks MP for the back up…I at first thought that as I took pic, but a littler chipmunk ran up alongside and saw the size differential. So told Charlie I believed it was a squirrel. Googled it got sure ….
            Funny thing back here in FL we have a Great Dane and we have to spell squirrel when spotting one while walking Bella for fear we may be dragged ala maramaduke 🐶😉

            Liked by 5 people

          • justsayin392 says:

            Hehehe. . . a squirrel by any other name . . .family

            Liked by 3 people

      • Hi all! I took the photo last week as I arrived at St. Catherine of Sienna (aka Chapel on the Rock) just as the sun was coming out from a rain shower this little guy appeared. Yes I thought first it was a chipmunk as the squirrels in Florida are mostly gray tree variety, but on my hiking/backpacking trips I found there are ground squirrels and chipmunks, (& marmots, pikas, weasels, minks etc). So this guy was bigger than chipmunk and actually have a video of one smaller chipmunk running up when this guy was chomping on grass.

        Here’s what the experts say….

        “Chipmunks are small mammals with distinct stripes, while the tree squirrel is larger and doesn’t have stripes. The ground squirrel has body stripes like chipmunks, but no head stripes. A tree squirrel is larger, has a longer tail and no stripes. They all have short fur and small rounded ears.”

        … in photo looks like his stripes aren’t on his head so I called him a squirrel😉 They’re all cute and Gods creation👍🏼🐿

        Liked by 10 people

        • ECO, I love your screen name!

          Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            Of course MP. You would be the first to like ECOs name 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • Thanks MP😊 I’ve seen your beautiful take of nature in all of Gods Glory! Love Gods design of the natural world to open us to His spiritual realm. Your posts do this.❤️
            So, you’re exactly spot on… It’s short for the ministry/venture we started in our Fl parish about 7 years ago….ECO Wellness ministry. We handed it off after a few years when moved to panhandle. But getting ready to start serving again.Cool you picked up on that.

            In essence, Stewardship for Gods Creation … a outdoor way to worship our Triune God in the beauty of Gods gift of the outdoors. We live next to the Econlockhatchee State Park (aka little big Econ)…and also out parish property backs up toTrail walks, adopt a trail, Hail Mary hikes and praying while paddling…
            To be honest our hearts have always been in the west …with the peaks and beautiful vistas. Bilocation to the beach and mountains would be cool! padre Pio pray for us!

            Liked by 3 people

          • YongDuk says:

            Never heard of a ground squirrel before. You sure that’s such a thing? Not a gopher? Prairie dog? Groundhog? Burro?

            Liked by 1 person

          • charliej373 says:

            Google it, YD. It is such a thing. God’s wonders never cease!

            Liked by 3 people

      • Boy! You’ve got that right about chippies Centurion. And squirrels too at least in our neck of the woods. I keep saying to my kids….might taste close enough to chicken in a long lean winter, although there’s not much meat on the little guys. Might make for a pretty little jacket or throw blanket though if you get enough of them. Hah! Good heavens….don’t anyone show this to PETA!!!

        Liked by 6 people

      • Centurion_Cornelius says:

        Thank you all! I stand corrected–the critter’s face has no stripes like a chippie. It’s got to be a squirrel.

        P.S. Long story short–years ago researchers here at Kent State University were fooling around breeding squirrels and they actually bred a few solid black ones, which promptly escaped and now run around and breed within a 25 mile radius of campus! We even have a Black Squirrel Festival each September for the past 40 years.

        Liked by 7 people

    • justsayin392 says:

      Hehe opportunistic little critter looks more like he just looted a little something!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Theresa says:

    Thank you…St. Catherine’s Chapel and Mt. Meeker look so beautiful and peaceful. I hope to visit there someday after rescue! Blessings to you and safe travels. P.S. love the little watch dog (squirrel) out front. 💛

    Liked by 3 people

  7. I so desire a place of retreat and refuge. The adversary is landing a few punches on me this week. This warrior needs a re-charge. If you can spare a few prayers and sacrifices during your trip for me and others like me, active in the Church, I promise I won’t waste the grace. May I walk with you spiritually? I have already asked my angel to accompany you if you need extra angelic help.

    Liked by 18 people

  8. maryopl says:

    Looking forward to meeting you next Tuesday, in Portland!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Kati says:

    Gee Charlie, I wish I had known that someone from Tennessee was going to that presentation. I would have tried to work something out to accompany him/her/them! ;-o

    I reread the piece on the shrine….and have the entire thing printed in color and am eventually leaving it with my daughter, Rebecca, with instructions to organize all of our five children and several grandchildren to visit this shrine to give thanksgiving when all is ready. I had written to you of this daughter a few years back because I was concerned about her having left the Church to join the Unitarians and that she had become deeply steeped in relativism, paganism, etc. She’s still there…but I have absolutely NO doubt now that she will become one of the Lord’s most faithful promoters. By the way, thanks again for the kind words you gave me regarding this daughter. 😉

    Liked by 2 people

  10. Barb421 says:

    today is the feast of St Monica, she is the mother of St Augustine, who led a life of sin before converting to the faith, I think this is especially timely for those of us here who have been mentioning that we want to draw our children back to the Lord God. Here is a prayer we can say to her that my diocese posted:
    St. Monica,
    I need your prayers.
    You know exactly how I’m feeling because you once felt it yourself.
    I’m hurting, hopeless, and in despair.
    I desperately want my child to return to Christ in his Church but I can’t do it alone.
    I need God’s help.
    Please join me in begging the Lord’s powerful grace to flow into my child’s life.
    Ask the Lord Jesus to soften his heart, prepare a path for his conversion, and activate the Holy Spirit in his life. Amen.

    Liked by 13 people

  11. Chris says:

    Seeing this post today made my heart skip a beat. It still seems surreal that my husband and I were able to be there with you, meet the wonderful people of Denver and TNRS family members like Narnialion and her beautiful family, Also Bob, please thank him for his incredible hospitality and tell him we love him dearly.
    Mount Meeker and the chapel were absolutely beautiful. We climbed the hill to the statue of Jesus and sat there to pray the rosary. Such a peaceful place,it was hard to leave. Coming down, we met Fran, Jay and Nancy who opened the chapel and allowed us in to pray and take pictures.Such a blessing! Words can not describe the beauty of it all. It was well worth the 1600 mile drive from Louisiana and we’d do it again in a heartbeat. I am in awe of God’s goodness for allowing this pilgrimage. Praying for you Charlie as you travel to Oregon and Montana and keeping the light on for your visit next month in Louisiana.

    Liked by 9 people

  12. MarieUrsula says:

    That’s a golden mantle ground squirrel ~ one of the main types of squirrels where I live, and the most tamable. Little kids LOVE being able to feed them peanuts. ❤

    Liked by 3 people

  13. MarieUrsula says:

    We have actual chipmunks here, too. Both golden mantle ground squirrels and chipmunks have stripes and they’re about the same size, but the golden mantles have orange-ish heads and are always more easily tamed.

    Charlie, safe and happy trails.

    Liked by 3 people

  14. Glad to hear you are getting some rest Charlie. I don’t even dare say ‘down time’ lol! Thank you for the photo of St.Catherine Chapel. After a tumultuous month of August, my hubby plans on whisking me off to Estes Park for a bit in September. Good Lord willing and the creek don’t rise, I will pray for you and all the NRSteppers at the foot of Meeker when I get there. If I can get my old bones up Twin Sister’s I will take a photo of Meeker and post it.

    Also wanted to mention how delighted I was, right off the bat, with the title of your last post, “All In”. My family has has a summer cottage in northern Michigan for many years and it is named All In. (Yes, we name our cottages in MI). And All In we were…..Mom, Dad, eight kids, pets and Grandpa ….without running water or electricity for many years. We were All In for each other back then and remain so to this day. It was a really positive connection for me.

    Liked by 11 people

  15. Diane says:

    Hi family – I’m in GreenBay visiting my mom – if feel like I’m on retreat. Daily mass at my baptismal church – Latin traditional – confession before mass the first day – yesterday my Aunt & uncle and mom & I visited the Shrine in Champion – had lunch at a country family restaurant – weather could not be better! Mom is still able to live by herself – dementia is still in the early stages – my brothers that live here are doing a good job watching over her – thank you for your prayers – oh and I walk to mass in the morning – how blessed I am this visit – love. I do. Diane

    Liked by 4 people

  16. Josh says:

    Hi Charlie, I have another question regarding the “26 million casualties”, which is one of your prophecies.

    If it comes to happen, will it be during the period of what you call the “Final Collapse” (between Nov. 2016 – Nov. 2017), and will it be related mostly with the conflict with China?

    The reason I ask you this question, is that if I happen to comment it with other people (which I haven’t until now), they will certainly ask me to be more specific about a time frame and the general circumstances.

    Thank you in advance for your answer.

    Like

    • charliej373 says:

      I am not being supercilious, Josh, but I just wouldn’t worry about that. Historically, estimations of fatal casualties vary wildly. That is only significant for two reasons – that this is serious and how small it could ultimately be for such a global conflagration. At this point, every rational person who is not in denial knows we are a very serious precipice.

      Liked by 4 people

  17. Linda says:

    Charlie., i got to go to confession this morning @ the Sorrowful Mother Shrine in Bellevue ohio.. i met a beautiful woman named Mary Brum who worked there..told her about you and she cried..then she came around the counter and said..is it about Our Lady of Fatima and 100 year anniversary? I told her yes i believe so and proceeded to tell her about rescue. .she cried again and then hugged me again but this time when she hugged me electric current went all through my body like i was going to go out in the spirit….whoa..then i told Rick Finneran (one of 13 children from the most holy parents you can imagine) and he bought me a prayer book…. I think you’ll be hearing from them both soon,,, told them both all about you. .so much work yet to do Charlie…so many yet yo tell..?

    Liked by 6 people

  18. Linda says:

    Meant exclamation point @ end of sentence..not question mark…purgatorial still???

    Like

  19. Deborah Seiter says:

    Dear Charlie and all who follow here. I am writing to ask if you would PLEASE pray for ALL the priests who have been falsely accused of sexual sins. I just finished reading a blog called These Stone Walls by Fr. Gordon Macrae. I encourage you all to read his blog. Fr. John Neuhaus and the late Cardinal Avery Dulles encouraged him to write. His story was truly gut wrenching for me. I now have another part of my call to pray for our priests. Our priests are sitting ducks and NOT (in many cases) supported by their bishops and diocese. Since this Judas moment, as it has been referred to as began so many years ago there have 26 priests who have taken their own lives. I make no judgement as to their guilt or innocence, I simply ask that you all say a prayer from the heart for ALL our priests. May God have mercy on each one and may He give strength, courage, and Divine Mercy to us all .

    Liked by 11 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I link to Fr. MacRae here, Deborah. His is the most baffling case, for even the authorities who prosecuted him know he was innocent – yet no one in power does anything to right this terrible wrong.

      Liked by 8 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Deborah, I will keep our Shepherds that have ben falsely accused in my prayers. When I was a member of the Chicago Archdiocese Parish Council, in the midst of the scandal, we had a 2% rate of “accused” priests, not yet convicted. The Catholic Church was at the time the sole institution that was scrutinized and had records/stats on such abuses for decades. I was a statistician for much of my career life and boy how numbers can lie. Lord have mercy for all concerned.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Amen, Deborah. Have been praying and will continue.

      Liked by 2 people

  20. Murt says:

    Nice pic Charlie. Such hard stone as man creates structure to his god. Yet the squirrel gives back wonder of creation. If you have a notion a few pic’s of inside that place would be nice. Fare thee well Charlie, fare thee well…………..Aye.

    Liked by 4 people

  21. Deborah Seiter says:

    Forgive me all, I just now went to the side bar to click on the Surrender novena and saw that Charlie already has These Stone Walls posted to go to . I should pay closer attention to detail. Thank you Charlie and God bless all here. Mater Dolorosa, Causa Nostra Laetitiae, Ora pro nobis!

    Liked by 3 people

  22. Deacon Joe Murphy says:

    Charlie. Spoke to you once on the phone. Still following your posts. Let me know if you ever get to South Jersey area of Philly of course. Stay well. Should be in Arvada octoberish visiting grandkids.

    Liked by 2 people

  23. Are you still coming to Omaha, NE?

    Like

  24. Donette says:

    Charlie, Every time you say something like: “That is only significant for two reasons – that this is serious and how small it could ultimately be for such a global conflagration. At this point, every rational person who is not in denial knows we are a very serious precipice.”, I get shivers up my fused spine. It makes me think of something far worse then World War III although that’s bad enough. A global conflagration, a term that you use, can be caused by the “Ball of Redemption”, or Comet or some other such horrible happening that we read about in various Private Revelations, or Pole Shifts and movement of magnetic poles caused by a passing planet. The other day we wake up to headlines claiming Nibiru has been seen over Pittsburgh skies. I had to look that one up.

    Why are we reading about planes headed for one airport who have to change routes to some other airport due to reasons known only to the the medias? We are having floods in places where floods don’t usually occur. We have volcanoes huffing and puffing while others just blow their tops and here in our area we have had the longest and hottest temperatures for the entire summer and it looks like it will continue into the fall…no need for heavy knitted sweaters for the football games…;
    all of those things occurring without touching on the civil unrest that we see in our streets.

    Now here you are pointing out the shrine on Mt Meeker in Colorado and you don’t say if it is there because it is on one of the high peaks of the mountain… …talk about being on a high precipice… above any flood damage that might take place. I read what you write and I do so with an eye of trying to understand if God is helping us by any hint you might give or make comment on.

    Of course people who have no close association with you are reading every line you write. They would be dumb not to in their effort to discern from which side the angel who had been talking to you was from. And in addition to that, if I ever was around you when one of these apparitions? locutions? occurred I would flood you and everything around you with Exorcised Holy Water just to make sure no mealy mouth, lying demon was around.

    Fiat!

    Like

  25. Mary Deming says:

    Hi Charlie. Love your site. It has given me so much hope during the storm. I am from Minnesota. Will you ever get the chance to come to Minnesota? I’d be there. How can we get you here?

    Like

  26. Josh says:

    Thanks for your answer, Charlie. From time to time, it is good that people ask you questions. I just mentioned your site to my best friend from Canada, he is now a priest in France. He is the first person who talked to me about the whole thing of the “Illumination of consciences” (and from there my efforts on my own to find information – which also led me to discover your site).

    PS. If there is a collapse coming, the only solution that I see for me now, is try to improve those areas in my life that would need improvement, even during normal times.

    Liked by 4 people

  27. victura98 says:

    I just flew into the Denver airport, right past Mount Meeker which I recognized from photos here.
    I offered a prayer for Charlie, and the entire squirrel brigade. 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  28. jlynnbyrd says:

    Very clever Doug! Your busy schedule seemingly has not taken the pep out of your step!! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  29. DPH says:

    Charlie, Out of the wikileaks came information that J Podesta, Hillary, and others may have been involved in satanic rituals. There is a lot of innuendo/circumstantial about heinous crimes against children too. About how some of the global elite meet to practice the occult. One such place is Bohemian Grove, CA. What I found interesting was that Bohemian Grove is located at a place called Camp Meeker. I immediately thought of Mt. Meeker where the shrine is to be built. Almost like an ironic repudiation of the evils that go on at Bohemian Grove. Just found that interesting and maybe not a coincidence.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

