Bayou Interlude

baton-rouge-baton-rouge-pole

Baton Rouge literally means “red pole,” which Indians used to navigate coming down the Mississippi. This is a Baton Rouge monument in Baton Rouge, taken during my pilgrimage five years ago.

(I expect to have a largely down day tomorrow, where I hope to get caught up – or a little less behind – here. I have been deeply heartened by the goodness of the American people as I have driven through the aftermath of the disaster here in southern Louisiana – and I want to tell you about it. Also, I have had almost a superstitious dread about publishing the last of the “Rules of Regency,” fearful that when I put that up it may be ‘Katie, bar the door’ time. At dinner with the Cleveland girls last week – Kitty, Beth and Caroline – near the end of dinner, Caroline told me it is time to hit publish. So I guess I will. I speak tonight in Lake Charles, Louisiana and then on Thursday in the Houston area.  Details are below and I will endeavor to give you some meat tomorrow.-CJ)

Lake Charles, Louisiana (Free Event)

Monday September 12, 2016

6:30 pm:  VFW Hall, Post 2130 at 5676 Lake St., Lake Charles, Louisiana

Contact Mary at lovedbyhim1026@gmail.com

*******

Houston, Texas (Free Event)

Thursday, September 15, 2016

6:45 pm:  Divine Mercy Chaplet,  7:00 pm:  Hilton Houston NASA Clear Lake, 3000 Nasa Pkwy, Houston, TX  77058

Contact Ed at tnrs.houston@gmail.com

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Speaking Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

152 Responses to Bayou Interlude

  1. victura98 says:

    What’s so odd is…I was thinking precisely the same thing as Charlie, about the third and final Regency post.

    Liked by 7 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I’m putting it up tomorrow night come what may! (It’s not that striking or big – but just as when I finish a visit, a big storm often comes through where I have been, I can’t help but wonder if finishing that piece is like finishing a visit).

      Liked by 14 people

      • One of the things we appreciate about you is your sense of timing. Whenever it comes. Whatever the topic. If it’s RRIII’s time, then RRIII it is. Just for the record though, I’d prefer something outdoorsy and heart-warming since my joints started aching about noon time. Clear blue desert skies today, but I can already see it building over the mountains.

        I joke, but my joints ached when you were here and a day after until we finally got hammered with monsoons that night. Let’s just hope were in for some cleansing rains.

        Liked by 6 people

        • charliej373 says:

          Oh dear, I don’t want it getting around that Charlie the bringer of storms is also Charlie the bringer of joint pain. What next? The heartbreak of psoriasis?

          Liked by 7 people

          • wpsahm says:

            For Lord of the Rings fans. …Charlie Stormcrow; )

            Liked by 3 people

          • charliej373 says:

            I’ll take that. Gandalf does prevail in the end. And without their stormcrow, things would undoubtedly have been much rougher. He doesn’t bring the storm, but comes to battle and calm it. Yet, to an observer, it would seem that he is also always harbinger of a storm.

            Liked by 4 people

          • wpsahm says:

            I figured you wouldn’t object:)

            Like

          • Ha! No worries. I just couldn’t resist contributing to the ‘storm lore.’ All joking aside, the monsoons did come unseasonably early to Arizona a day after your visit… for whatever reason. I even sat on the patio for the next two nights in the gusty winds, watching the epic lightning shows and chuckling in spite of the grit in the air that got in my mouth.

            From the early days of sniffing the wind –– and that goes back 32 years for me now –– I’ve often pondered Ray Bradbury’s, “Something Wicked This Way Comes,” a book that was published the same year I was born.

            “The seller of lightning rods arrived just ahead of the storm.” That’s ole’ Tom Fury, of course, and some might be tempted to draw comparisons there… but that’s not it. TNRS is not a mere lightning rod for house and barn.

            “First of all, it was October, a rare month for boys. Not that all months aren’t rare. But there be bad and good, as the pirates say. Take September, a bad month: school begins. Consider August, a good month, school hasn’t begun yet. July, well, July’s really fine: there’s no chance in the world for School.” I’ll bet NRS’ers can relate.

            Well, I don’t want to try to draw comparisons or ruin it for anyone who might not have read it yet, but here’s a final thought on characters:

            There’s the townsfolk of all ages who brought the storm on, getting suckered into dark’s pandemonium carnival with their fears and vanities. There’s Tom Fury, lightning rod salesman (and how many of us have peddled those at some point?). There’s the youths. There’s Charles Halloway. He’s the lead that helps defeat mr. dark, shattering the mirror maze with joy and and hearty laughter. He’s not alone though, partnered as he is with a couple of those yoots as they struggle against fear and death, encourage one another, build up love, and ultimately triumph. I like this life experience he shared with the boys earlier in the book, “…I found out you can’t wait to become perfect, you’ve got to go out, fall down, and get up with everyone else.”

            Hey, Charlie Stormcrow works too, but a fella needs a good pipe and some Longbottom Leaf to really pull that off.

            God Bless,

            MP

            Liked by 3 people

          • bthanntrm says:

            Don’t say that Charlie, that is what I have been having so much trouble with psoriasis & psoriatic arthritis. Thanks everyone for all the prayers. I am better today have not felt this good in months. Your prayers are strong medicine. You are all in my prayers.

            Beth

            Liked by 2 people

          • charliej373 says:

            God bless you, Beth.

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Thanks be to God!

            Like

        • Mick says:

          MP: “RRIII”? Please explain; I’m terrible at acronyms.

          Like

      • BlessedIam says:

        Praying another doesn’t come thru down here again so soon.
        God Bless

        Liked by 1 person

      • dianebelvs says:

        oh….but Charlie …..we haven’t moved yet! Oh dear ….. Jesus I Trust in You….Jesus I Trust in You …. Jesus I trust in You.

        Liked by 3 people

  2. I have printed 1 and 2 and am studying them. Have you noted Franklin Graham’s tour, asking Americans to pledge to pray about running for office? I think it is a similar call to the one you are making to us, to prepare to serve. Praying for you as always. Ready for you to hit publish on number three, at least I pray I am.

    Liked by 5 people

  3. I know what you mean about that last piece. I feel like that, too. But, in the same breath, I can’t wait to read it because this particular one is where my heart is (that is if it’s on education, like you said before?).

    I’m about done tolerating all this mess out here, and I’d like to start digging out. So. Post away.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. James Ignatius McAuley says:

    You gave me a chuckle, Charlie – funny enough in the “Red Stick war” aspect of the War of 1812 people were barring the door! Prayers to all – as the rockers used to say in their concerts in the 1980s, “I love you all!” Back to manning my post!

    Liked by 6 people

    • Sean Sullivan says:

      James,
      In light of the war of 1812, a notable song, sung to this present day was written: The Star Spangled Banner.

      Via wikipedia
      https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Star-Spangled_Banner

      Cheers,
      Sean

      Liked by 1 person

    • Sarge says:

      “I love you all, God bless you, good night” was exactly how a certain 80’s rocker used to end his concerts.

      Apparently, judging by the timestamps, I was the SECOND person today to quote Ozzy Osborne in a comment on a Charlie Johnston post. I really am beyond words right now. For the rest of my life, if someone ever uses the cliche, “Well stranger things have happened.” I will think back to this moment and say, “Yes. They certainly have.” 😉

      Liked by 3 people

      • charliej373 says:

        Is he the one who used to bite the head off of bats?

        Liked by 1 person

        • ladyofquality says:

          Yes! Interesting…😄

          Like

        • Sarge says:

          Sigh…

          In my lifetime (and I don’t consider myself to be old) we’ve gone from a place where a rock musician known as the Prince of Darkness, who bit the head off of a bat on stage (in his defense, he thought it to be a rubber bat at the time) can end his concerts with the catchphrase, “I love you all, God bless you, good night.” to a place where a large segment of society, and soon quite possibly the government, thinks you are engaging in ‘hate speech’ if you espouse Christian principles, or even mention God.

          Is it any wonder I’m much more fearful that there won’t be a Storm than of any Storm?

          Liked by 4 people

  5. BlessedIam says:

    Stand tall.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. EllenChris says:

    Dear Charlie, I realize that publishing Regency 3 is very difficult and scary, but things are coming down to the wire, and folks need to get the whole picture. If this is what God is calling you to do, then put all your trust in Him, and take the plunge. Staying under Our Lady’s Mantle is the safest place anywhere — as you well know. I have pondered our recent conversations. Fear not, the Kingdom Comes! Love and prayers with you always.

    Liked by 13 people

  7. Linda says:

    Charlie… you lost a bunch of weight!!! lol You look MARVELOUS!!! Love you, Uncle Charlie!!! Praying for you all the time and for all the 7 billion of us dumb schlubs!!! 😉

    Liked by 9 people

  8. Karen Marrero says:

    I sure wish you were speaking in Baton Rouge!

    Like

  9. madkatmomma says:

    Yes! Post it before the culture, politics and football go further down the rabbit hole.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. cbrick1 says:

    Dear Charlie:
    You look very thin. Have you given up cupcakes and key lime pie? Hope not! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  11. Sarge says:

    Charlie,

    I really hope you are authentic, because I don’t have a lot of hope for humanity if God doesn’t hit the reset button pretty soon. A lot of what you say makes sense, appears to be in concordance with Church teaching and prophecy, and I just have a general feeling what you say is true. However, I’m open to the possibility that I feel what you say is true because I WANT it to be true, not because it is.

    That said, I can only go in 90% for what you say because of statements like the one you just made. Maybe you intended it as a throwaway joke, so I’ll give you the benefit of the doubt.

    Yesterday, I basically told a commenter, who was questioning whether everything that needed to happen could happen within the alotted time, that if God desires there to be a Storm/ Rescue, it will happen when God wants it to, and in His due time.

    Similarly, if God really desires to unleash the full fury of the Storm we have brought upon ourselves, I highly doubt the Almighty One is waiting for Charlie Johnston to finish writing a blog post before He does it.

    God bless you and your work.

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I understand Sarge, but long ago I decided if I was going to do this at all it would be with my sense of humor AND my ordinary fears. Now while that gives you pause, do you have any idea how many people are relieved about their own irrational fears because I have a few, too? I know many expect this ever serene, commanding guy if it is to be authentic…just like Jonah. Ooops, he sulked and pouted and got swallowed by a whale. Maybe like Jeremiah. Oops, he complained and wailed all the time. Maybe Moses. Oops, he killed a man and then, after he had taken leadership, first broke the tablets in a fit of pique then struck the rock in a fit of pique when he had not asked first.

      I know you can undoubtedly name some serene people called to jobs too big for them, but most of the authentic ones were subject to fits of doubt, fear and anger. I’m pretty ordinary – but stubbornly persist at what I promised to do. If you insist I do it elegantly, you demand more of me than God does.

      Liked by 29 people

    • madkatmomma says:

      Hi Sarge: God has waited around for me to do something many times, and then either showered me with graces or let me stew in my own mess. For example, I often postpone difficutl tasks or reaching out to someone thinking that it will be too hard, so I fret and fret then, when I finally do what I should have done, hours, days, weeks or years earlier, suddenly the flood gates of grace opens and the good stuff that God had waiting suddenly rushes down. I don’t think God is waiting for Charlie to post his piece, but given what he (Charlie) has seen and been through all these years, I think he has a pretty well developed sense of God’s timing. But, we will find out together won’t we?

      Liked by 6 people

  12. Bob says:

    it is about time we have some red meat to gnaw on. How about a few bones with it for us beasts!!

    Liked by 7 people

  13. Sarge says:

    And I’m not trying to be flippant. If you were making a joke, and I read into it, I sincerely apologize.

    The fact that I really have put so much hope in the Storm probably speaks more to my lack of faith than anything you’ve said or done. I guess I lash out when I feel that that hope may be dashed.

    I once heard an interview with an unlikely source for discussion in this forum, heavy metal singer Ozzy Osbourne. When asked about some of the despair that could be gleaned from his lyrics, he remarked, “I guess I just feel how bad does it have to get down here before you come back and save us Jesus Christ?” I’m kind of at that point.

    Liked by 7 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Oh no, Sarge, I know. You have been a wonderful contributor here – and I deeply appreciate your contributions. I know everyone is a little on edge these days….me, too…just saying. Ha! I always have my hiking boots with me these days, so I am as prepared as I’m ever going to be! But you keep right on keeping on. We bear with each others joy; let us bear with each other’s edginess as well.

      Liked by 13 people

      • Sean Sullivan says:

        I always found in the thickest ‘stress’ a colleague would chime in with a revelant pun. It provides a relaxation of the tense muscles and always a source of joy later. Besides, who wants to follow a stiff.
        Thanks Charlie!

        Liked by 5 people

        • Sarge says:

          Sean,

          I totally agree. The best leaders I’ve ever had were often the ones who had a great sense of humor – and it was often gallows humor as you point out.

          That’s the problem with written communication vs. actually listening to someone speak – you can’t always pick up the tone. I wasn’t sure if Charlie’s comment was an attempt at humor or if he was perhaps taking himself a bit too seriously. If it was the former, great, but if it was the latter, that would have given me pause.

          I gave Charlie the benefit of the doubt, and he confirmed that it was in fact a joke (and he was kind enough to not point out that it went totally over my head). No problem. Misinterpretation on my part. Immediate apology.

          Thanks for your support last week and God Bless you.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mick says:

          I have a friend who is like your colleague, Sean (not to name names, but her initials are Quiet Person). More than once, she has made me laugh with a humorous quip during a time of stress. Thanks, Quiet! (P.S. You wouldn’t have one of those funny quips up your sleeve right about now, would you?) 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

      • Sarge says:

        Yeah, it’s kind of like watching your house burn down. At first, you hope the firefighters can save it. Then you give up on it not really being an emergency, and you’re hoping that there is only a little smoke and water damage in the back corner. Then at some point – for me it was a few months back when a sports commentator lost his job for suggesting that people born with male anatomical features use the men’s room… AND THE MAJORITY OF PEOPLE THOUGHT THAT THIS WAS OK BECAUSE THE COMMENTATOR USED ‘HATE SPEECH’ AND SHOULD LOSE HIS JOB – you just realize it’s a total loss and accept it. It’s really the best option. Burn it to the ground. We’ll be out of doors for awhile. It’ll be rough. But we’ll rebuild. That’s where I am now. I hope the house comes down (fullness of the Storm) so God can build us back up. Just don’t leave me with half a house. I’d rather sleep in a tent for a year while the new house was being built than continue living in a fire damaged building.

        God bless.

        Liked by 15 people

        • Snowy Owl says:

          Sarge, lol! I’m thinking an igloo or a grass hut would suit me just fine! ( no dusting or vacuuming (dirt floor) 😉 Burns down or melts? No problem- build a brand new one in a few hours. Heck, I’ll settle for a cardboard box… but only if I get to 🎨 the walls- err sides. 🙂

          Liked by 5 people

        • SteveBC says:

          Sarge, you are so right: I really don’t want to end up with half a house. A lot of pain for not much gain. It’s why I have said a number of times here that when the Collapse comes, I’m going to go to bed and sleep for a week. Of course, I won’t actually do that, and the reality of the Collapse will be difficult and scary. However, the Advent of the Collapse *will* give me a YUGE sense of relief. 🙂

          Liked by 8 people

          • Mick says:

            I see what you did there, SteveBC. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

          • Littlelight says:

            “However, the Advent of the Collapse *will* give me a YUGE sense of relief. 🙂”

            I’m a runner, not a especially fast or talented one, just a plain ole one. In any event, I use it to help me manage anxiety, which I am prone to. Around here, we are blessed with many trails. Last summer, I went during a particularly nasty, oppressively hot and humid day. This was when I was still hoping for the fire to be put out, haha.

            Well, it poured. I was bringing all this misery to God, begging that it not be so, and the heavens opened up. Anyone who runs can attest to the rare joy of running in cooling downpour on an oppressively hot day. It was then I dared to believe that maybe, just maybe, it may be a relief for many of us. But then Charlie said it will be so bad that: “All will lose hope” So I don’t know.

            Upon further reflection it seems the two aren’t mutually exclusive. I know God is Tender, very Tender and loves me so. He has spent the last 21 years of my life schooling me in this reality. +Lord I will praise you always and forever!+ I do believe the unleashing will be a relief for those of us who hear His voice, in mysterious and wonderfully tender ways we can’t fully comprehend now. These solaces will give us something to hang our hats on when we all will need to fake hope. Praise God! I believe Charlie when He says: “God will never leave us bereft!”

            Liked by 9 people

          • Beckita says:

            Beautiful Littlelight! (Love that moniker) Keep us in your heart of prayer as you run.

            Liked by 2 people

        • jayman92 says:

          Sarge, I have been edgy and anxious for a few weeks now. I think your statement about putting so much hope in the storm pretty much sums up why. Up until I read your post, I couldn’t pinpoint the reason. I agree with you. Let’s rip this band-aid off and get to the business of healing.

          (Yes, I know it’s a bad metaphor – you can heal just fine with a band-aid on. Maybe I should have typed “Let’s rip this band-aid off and get to the business of regrowing the leg hair that stuck to the band-aid.” No,That’s much less inspirational.)

          Anyways, thank you for your comment, Sarge. I love that the comment section of Charlie’s blog is iron sharpening iron. I need all the sharpening that I can get.

          YBIC

          Liked by 4 people

          • Beckita says:

            Love it, Jayman!

            Liked by 3 people

          • ann says:

            Sarge and Jayman–I love the bandage analogy. I use the analogy of a stomach flu. You feel like crap and you just try everything you can to not throw up even though it’s all going to get better once you do so you hold off and try so hard not to let it happen and then….oh well. You’re in it! And it runs its course and you feel better–and Steve BC you sleep for a week. (smile) but I’m where you are. I want it to be over. It is getting so dark out there. the only thing that keeps me praying for time is the souls I love so much who are so out of touch with what is happening. I’ve said it before but I’ll quote it again. St. Anthony of Egypt told his followers that at the end times men would be utterly insane and they would say to believers “You are MAD. You are not like us.” We’re livin’ it folks.

            Liked by 3 people

          • Beckita says:

            Love this, Ann!

            Like

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Thank you for the giggle jayman! 😀

            Liked by 2 people

        • Mick says:

          I’m right there with you, Sarge; at this point, the thought of there being no Storm is scarier than the thought of having to go through the Storm. So, let’s get on with it:

          Liked by 2 people

        • All of you must be very young……I want the storm too…..except that keep,thinking I should be doing more to bring about change instead of hoping God will do it…..oh well….
          But you know what frightens me a bit…..years ago I begged God to take my DH before it gets really bad…..well he is still here and I wonder if I have enough I me to take care of him or enough in me to surrender at the right time…….
          Does that make sense to anyone???? 🙄🙃😳🤔 ⛈ ⛈ ⛈
          Signed ‘feeling old with no hiking boots and very bad knees’

          Liked by 2 people

    • deereverywhere says:

      I never listened to Ozzy or Black Sabbath(?that was his group, right?) It is surprising that he would say something so profound. It is a test, Sarge, you get to pass it. Remember the Medjugoria message of 4/25/15, “April 25, 2015″Dear children! I am with you also today to lead you to salvation. Your soul is restless because your spirit is weak and tired from all worldly things. You, little children, pray to the Holy Spirit that He may transform you and fill you with His strength of faith and hope, so that you may be firm in this battle against evil. I am with you and intercede for you before my Son Jesus. Thank you for having responded to my call.” 04/25/2015″

      Don’t worry, it will get worse before it gets better. Our new young priest has been reiterating a good point, we are to carry our crosses (here is the zinger..) with joy. So, I must work on joyfully carrying my cross. It ain’t easy but the Lord loves a working man (or woman) …..I will now have to submit myself to the potty police for discrimination against the separation between men and women….I want the ladies room, selfishly, to remain for ladies.

      Liked by 4 people

  14. RichB says:

    Charlie, looking forward to your next post to see who is on the other side of the door.

    God bless all here…..

    Liked by 9 people

  15. Mary Ann says:

    Very well said Charlie. God Bless you

    Liked by 5 people

  16. Dale Perrine says:

    Speak from your heart and remember the words you tell us. Take the Next Right Step . . .
    We need to hear whatever God wants you reveal to us.
    He will give all of us the strength to handle the fire.
    In Christ love and peace,
    Dale (Mrs)

    Liked by 6 people

  17. Monica Joseph of the Blessed Sacrament, OCDS says:

    Well, Charlie, it’s ok with me if you delay the Regency post. 🙂
    On a more serious note, this situation about divorced and remarried receiving Holy Communion as referenced in the letter to the Argentinian bishop from Pope Francis has me disheartened and confused, as it appears to have confirmed to be authentic.:( I was wondering if this is the big blunder. (Not that I have been looking for one) 😦

    Like

    • Littlelight says:

      “Well, Charlie, it’s ok with me if you delay the Regency post.🙂”

      Yep, agreed, LOL.

      It is so very hopeful that Charlie shares his humanness. Charlie, I’ve read what you’ve said about being hopeful all unleashes before the Doors of Mercy shut—and that makes a lot of sense, I get it.

      On my part, I feel bad about hoping it will all unleash much later, as late as possible would be great!!!! It is me selfishly(gulp) wanting my kiddos to have the holidays kinda normalish, (no one here snort—as if this were possible, I know, I know!) me hoping my college kids can finish this fall semester, (the oldest one is in her senior year and so close to her dream, the boy is in his 3rd semester, 1st one officially in mechanical engineering, and he is also, like his big sis, working his heart out) me hoping if it is later, the brutality of winter may be a tad bit less. I know this is baaad of me, so baad, so prayers would be great…please. On a brighter note, I have internalized Charlie’s beautiful hope that: “Nothing is wasted in God’s economy!” How that thought keeps me from despairing especially when I think of my college kids and their efforts. 🙂

      For me TNRS means living my life as if all were normal, making daily plans for the future as if it were coming with no catastrophic interruptions. Practically for me, manning my post means planning curriculum for next year, planning for modest holiday celebrations for my 8 kiddos, Dear Husband, and some extended family. Cleaning house, and planning for what clothing I need to get for my growing kiddos so they won’t be nakey in the next few seasons, planning for a camping trip next summer, etc., etc. Manning my post for me means continuing to move forward in love and hope, doing all those things a homeschooling Mom needs to do to bring joy and hope to my family. Of course, also very much tending to the spiritual—which means for me attemping a daily family rosary 7 outta 7 days, etc. etc.

      In doing these things, I see it keeps me steady, and that steadiness is noticeable to others in the wider community. How I know this is because of comments people have said to me in these past few months. Uplifting comments about how they so appreciate me & my family in these crazy times. So I take that as affirmation I’m on the right path.

      Conversely, doing all those things I listed above feels a bit schizophrenic. I mean, it kinda seems petty and ridiculous, right? However, my I am no Sun, just a very, very little light, easy scared and extinguished. But if I focus on the how’s and why’s and all the intense change coming, I get paralyzed. I can’t let myself go down that rabbit hole, so back to living as if all were normal,constantly praying “Jesus, you Take Over” added in with: “Lord can I still have some hair dye? Oh, can I also keep my babies around me? Can I keep up the running?” and a bunch of other very human selfish things like that I know are ridiculous the moment the prayer forms in my mind. But then I think, maybe God will let us have some Teddy Bears on this Great Rescue Camping Trip!! So I offer them in the spirit of a very small child pleading with the parents, knowing, trusting in God’s Tender Mercy. He will take care of it. All. Praise God!

      I get the greatest surge of hope when I sing that song that is my moniker here, when I do the stupidest littlest cleaning task that brings more cleanliness and order to our living space. If you could see how many things need fixing/are broken in our home, you may better appreciate the humor here! 🙂

      The song’s lyrics are perfect for this time: “There’s a big black cloud in the sky, I don’t know why, and the leaves are all falling from the trees, there’s darkness everywhere, but I don’t care, ’cause there isn’t any darkness in me! I’m gonna shine, shine, shine, gonna let my little light shine, shine for everyone to see-ee-ee! It’s better to light one light, then curse the dark of night, so I’m letting Jesus shine His light in me! It goes on. I’ll put the link below. I got this cd, oh about 15 years ago, and my kids all have it burned in their memories, LOL. I just dusted it off a few months ago, and now the littlest two (9 and 5) have it down to memory. The older ones bear it as graciously as possible–which lessens with every repetition, LOL.

      Here’s the promised link. God Bless you All:
      http://www.carolfisher.com/ecommerce/hug-me-jesus.html

      Liked by 9 people

      • charliej373 says:

        God bless you, Littlelight…you do very well.

        Like

      • Snowy Owl says:

        Sigh :), LittleLite, I absolutely love your post and I especially love that you want one more “normal” Christmas for your kids. I feel exactly the same way. I live for Christmas..so do my kids and grandkids. We are planning to celebrate this Christmas with a special love and joy this year- come what may! (even if it ends up just being in out hearts!) God bless you.

        Liked by 5 people

        • leslyek says:

          I always remember Mother Angelica — the year she had strokes and was lopsided-faced in a sorrowing world say ‘ maybe your Christmas can’t be Merry, but it is always blessed and can be joyous’!
          Amen

          Liked by 3 people

  18. Linda says:

    Charlie’s going to want to start walking again..hahahhajaha

    Like

  19. Linda says:

    BTW my sis told me she heard Obama may postpone election due to Hillary’s health.. Look out

    Like

  20. Beckita says:

    God bless you, Charlie, for being true and telling us true.

    When I was driving home from Billings I thought of how much fear I can sometimes perceive here. I thought more about the challenge of letting go of control to totally trust God as we make our way into the darkest part of this intensifying Storm. This led me to recall I had considered trying to skydive – at least at one phase in my life – I’m way past this now.

    It seems as we move into this next phase of the Storm we may well be launching into something like our first skydiving experience. People who take the risk and try this experience are usually encouraged to make that first jump a tandem one – with an experienced diver. How perfect it will be to just jump with Jesus. Hmmm. I like that: Jump with Jesus!

    Oh Baby! There will be quite the free fall for each of us. But here’s the thing, with the experienced Diver attached to the neophyte diver, that newbie is accompanied all the way: coached, mentored, instructed, supported and encouraged through the entire jump while being guided – all the while taking responsibility for every Next Right Step – to a safe landing. Enter the Rescue by Our Lady at the end of 2017. As sure as the sun rises and sets, She will be miraculously visible to all. She will.

    The best part: wherever that experienced Diver goes, She goes. Jesus and Mary are inseparable. I remain ALL IN and am about as ready as I’ll ever be to Jump with Jesus when He say: It’s Time.

    Liked by 16 people

  21. Mack says:

    About the time line, the other day I happened across that line from. Malachi, “and suddenly there will come to the temple the Lord whom you seek, and the messenger of the covenant whom you desire” The “suddenly” stuck out for me. We can wait and wait and then God does it. Of course that prophecy was about the child Jesus coming to the temple. Imagine how Simeon must have felt–he had been waiting so long and suddenly the Messiah was there. I imagine we will feel the same when the fullness of the Storm hits.

    Liked by 6 people

  22. Meriadoc says:

    Goodness, I’m glad I looked at the Houston location–I was just going to head over to the Hilton on Post Oak in the west loop!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Charlie, it’s just another example of a woman telling you what to do, eh? 😉 We miss you already, Charlie Larry! -Caroline

    Liked by 4 people

  24. It’s definitely ratcheted up….each day lately I can admit there has been a real feeling of dread coming over me…it is like the rush of fear, loneliness and revulsion all at once… so much division that our world has succumbed to.
    Certainly seems that many of us….the TNRSs loving family here is suffering. We all pray for you especially our priests, bishops, Charlie, and for each other…the trench and foot soldiers. It’s time ….we all must strengthen our resolve now . This fortitude and faith is crucial, we will all need it to persevere.
    Charlie says, we all will lose hope and he will too. Let’s commit to be strong for God and feign hope even if it’s hidden for a time. Soon, there will be “enemies” who will ask our help, sinners who will repeat, persecutors who will convert, times we will need to ask help of others who maybe we havent loved…..but the tide will turn thanks to Our Lord and Our Lady. Don’t we want to be living the most two important commandments Jesus gave us? Loving God with all our heart, soul and mind ….and loving our neighbor as ourselves.

    St. Mother Teresa has really helped in her words:
    People are often unreasonable and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.
    If you are kind, people may accuse you of ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.
    If you are honest, people may cheat you. Be honest anyway.
    If you find happiness, people may be jealous. Be happy anyway.
    The good you do today may be forgotten tomorrow. Do good anyway.
    Give the world the best you have and it may never be enough. Give your best anyway.
    For you see, in the end, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.
    ― Mother Teresa

    Liked by 10 people

  25. pineconejill says:

    What I thought of when I read bayou interlude…

    Yeah, I know it’s supposed to be Roy, but I love the muppets–and Linda.
    As for the rest, I refuse to worry anymore. God put us here for this time and He will give us what we need to endure or take us home.
    And I keep my hiking boots under my bed. I’ll probably add some candy bars and warmies once the weather turns cold.
    God bless!
    pcj

    Liked by 5 people

  26. pslmfortysix says:

    Hi Charlie,

    An interesting thing happened tonight while I was reading this post and the comments…

    When I saw there was a new post, I was eager to see if it was anything encouraging, maybe even “meaty.” Short post. So I looked to the comments for inspiration.

    I had followed the link in the comment by “Veil of Veronica” and read the post on her site. I found it to be helpful. I hadn’t really visited her site before, so I was moved to go to her first post to see what she was all about. WOW! I was really touched. I decided I needed to get a little more serious about some of my own “work” on myself. My prayers have been taking me in that direction lately. After I had browsed there a bit, I decided to go back to TNRS to finish reading comments.

    Funny thing though, when I clicked back to TNRS on my browser, it took me right to your post from January 30th, “The Fiery Trial of Love.” It was strange, because the side of the post had all of the latest comments and the current list for your most recent posts. Hmm. I have had little snags with word press before, but this was different…
    What a coincidence!

    I have been particularly struggling with so many things recently, like so many others here!
    I had just had a really crummy day, overloaded schedule at work, called in to meet with my boss (ugh!), and obstacles every step of the day including “inexplicable” computer issues at work. I ended up working 2 hours late and made it home just in time to greet my teenage son at the door as he returned from sports practice, starving. I wanted to cry. But instead I made blueberry pancakes for dinner. I figure that was the next right step!

    Now I have printed “The Fiery Trial of Love” to read again and meditate on. I’m sure this was one computer glitch that will prove to be helpful today!

    Thanks for all you do 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  27. wpsahm says:

    https://scontent.fphx1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/14364642_10210522812610726_5149177933414931109_n.jpg?oh=af0c37d5e92ab9cd1b142debd2fff5fe&oe=584326D1

    Hopefully this will work. It’s a beautiful window at my daily Mass Church. I’m now seeing ‘take the next right step’ messages everywhere I go.

    Liked by 7 people

  28. Jacquie says:

    This is my story and I am sticking to it:

    “Pippin: I don’t want to be in a battle. But waiting on the edge of one I can’t escape is even worse.”

    Hey Charlie! We are still here but often lurking in the background.
    You take good care.
    J

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Love you and Ron, Jacquie. Where’s my lasagna?

      Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Hi, Jacquie!

      Like

      • Jacquie says:

        Hey Mick!!!
        Get ur garden in yet? Mine was a bust this year compared to other years.
        That is probably good cause I’m sick of canning. ☹️
        Take care

        Liked by 1 person

        • Mick says:

          The garden was a smaller this year. The only reason it’s producing anything is because Kids #2 and #3 have been busy in it. Kid #1 is busy with college classes and a job, so he’s not around a whole lot. Kid #4 wants to help, but he mostly slows the others down when they’re in the garden. I’m busy with Anne-Marie who is impossible to take into the garden, so I’m not spending much time in it, either. So I guess it’s good that the garden is smaller and not as productive this year. But we’ve got a good bit of work coming up in the next month or so, with the harvest of our potatoes, onion, winter squash, and garlic (we planted WAY too much garlic–about 160 row feet. YD, want some?).

          See you next month in South Bend! 🙂

          Liked by 3 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Ladies, Jeff and I were just talking about how our crops are not plentiful either. Our hot peppers and herbs never let us down though. We have chives in our veggie and floral gardens and the strays we pot and give away. It is a gift that keep giving, in more ways than one as it has an aroma that stay with you too. 🙂
            We are also looking forward to gathering in South Bend again next month!! I would love to be able to visit Jackson, MI in November for Charlie’s visit too, God-willing!! 😉

            Liked by 1 person

          • Jacquie says:

            Think I’ll pass on the garlic!😉 It’s the one thing that produced a bumper crop!!
            Yes, see you at the regional meeting. God willing and the Creek don’t rise.
            God Bless
            J

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Oh, Jen, it would be so awesome if you and Jeff could come up in November! You could come and check out the Funny Farm, too (that’s what I call our place). 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Mick, it would be our joy!

            Like

          • Does it come with Anchovies?

            I didn’t figure an incognito way, Mick…

            Liked by 1 person

          • Mick says:

            Bummer, YD! I was really hoping that I’d get to meet you during your Michigan trip. If you ever do figure out a way for us to meet while maintaining you incognito-ness, I will make sure to supply you with both some anchovies homegrown garlic. 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  29. Nicky says:

    The waters have risen and severe storms are upon us, but we do not fear drowning, for we stand firmly upon a rock. Let the sea rage, it cannot break the rock. Let the waves rise, they cannot sink the boat of Jesus. Homily by St. John Chrysostom from today’s office

    Liked by 6 people

  30. Joanne says:

    I just finished reading “My Heart Will Triumph” by Medjugore visionary Mirjana Soldo. I recommend it highly. The BVM wants us to pray and be a witness for Jesus, yes, but to pray and witness joyfully. To be joyful in Jesus will attract others to Him much more than our scared and worried faces. I must admit to feeling more like a child anticipating the joys of Christmas morning than of one of dread. I can hardly wait to see the BVM as she rescues us all. I want to see my Mom! I realize we must go through a terrible ordeal, and I pray to be a failthful and joyful example of endurance to my family. God Bless Charlie and all here. Be joyful brothers and sisters in Christ.

    Liked by 7 people

    • Beckita says:

      Love this, Joanne. Meditating my way through this book right now. God bless you and all here.

      Liked by 4 people

    • vkmir3 says:

      I just finished this book as well! What a blessing and so much to digest. It took me back to when I was I was so fortunate to be in Medjugorje in 1990 with my Mom. It also was a great reminder of how she and the others endured unbelievable persecution. Great example for us. I also highly recommend this book. Pray, fast, Daily Mass, confession…..Blessed Mother gives us the way to acknowledge and trust in God, take the next right step and be a sign of love and hope!

      Liked by 4 people

  31. Judith says:

    From Spirit Daily: words of Bill about Hillary: ” She works like a demon.” fair assessment, truth be told.

    Liked by 3 people

  32. CrewDog says:

    HullyGee!! Why do I get the feeling that the HeartLight Folks are “Targeting” me today!!??

    HeartLight Daily Verse – 13 September

    1 Peter 3:8
    Live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble.

    Thoughts on today’s verse:
    Unity and harmony are no accident! They happen because of intention and submission. But more than just states of being, they are commanded by God. How do we have unity and harmony? Peter reminds us that we must have three commitments 1) actively share concern with those who grieve; 2) share love just like a healthy family does; and 3) show compassion rather than arrogance as we deal with others failures toward us.
    Prayer:
    Father, I confess that I have let my own over-sensitive self be wounded, and have reacted with pettiness when my brothers and sisters in Christ have not treated me as I felt I deserved. I know Jesus was treated so rudely and shamefully by those he created, so I know I shouldn’t be surprised. But Father, please help me to know when to challenge those who wound me with a loving confrontation and when to just ignore the barb and find a way to minister to them because of some deeper wound in their life. Father, let me be an instrument of your peace, harmony, and unity. Through Jesus I pray. Amen.
    Visit heartlight.org for more

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 7 people

  33. Jacquie says:

    To clarify my earlier post. Insert the word “storm” for battle.
    I still think of this coming storm as a battle. With myself, spiritually with the evil that still reigns thru Gods strength. Mentally, to remain calm in the face of chaos with Gods help.

    Liked by 2 people

  34. leslyek says:

    Though I think children are always a game-changer, I think those living objectively in sin but discerned to be an exception to receiving Communion albeit ‘reservedly’should be given it privately in the Rectory; this would also signify the full scope of their situation: in objective sin but discerned to be able to receive but still broken from the community so therefore broken from the Communion line.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

