New Winds, New Waves, Same Barque of Safety

By Charlie Johnston

I have seen the letter from Pope Francis suggesting that there are circumstances in which some divorced and remarried people can be admitted to communion. For what it’s worth, this is his interpretive conclusion, but has not been explicitly stated in any Magisterial fashion. I don’t agree with his interpretation on this, I don’t understand this, but I do trust in Christ’s promise that He will not allow His Church to fall into definitive error.

It doesn’t come as a particular surprise to me that, as chaos and confusion rises in every aspect of everyday life and in every nook of the globe, it should rise in the debate in the Church, as well. Some have suggested that this may be the “blunder” I foresaw. I don’t know, though I will concede it is the best candidate I have seen so far.

I appreciate – and in fact love – that Pope Francis deeply empathizes with how messy lives can be – and particularly how messy they get in as toxic a culture as ours. In this non-Magisterial personal letter, he comes as close as I have seen to indulging what is objectively sinful, rather than just pastorally accompanying sinners back to full Communion. Even so, he is the final Pope of the Storm, warts and all – and I have no doubt that he is growing with us even as he challenges us to grow.

So I will let the theologians and canon lawyers work to sort this all out and clarify it, while I will remain safely ensconced in the Barque of Peter, trusting that in the work of the voices that will rise in debate on this, the Lord will sort it out. More than ever, I feel the need to stick to my post, to do the little right in front of me that I can – and that getting entwined in even a legitimate debate on this will only distract me from what I need to do.

From the late 90’s, some of my Priests argued with me that the Shrine could not go at Mt. Meeker because St. Malo’s Retreat Center was already there. I would blithely chuckle and say that God always gets His way in the end. After a fire took the retreat center down while I was on my pilgrimage, some spoke of restoring the center. Then the floods and rockslides came and ended that hope. In the end, God gets His way every time. He will this time, too. If I am wrong, may the Lord show me. If the Pope is wrong in his interpretation, may the Lord show him. And may we all go forward in serene faith that the Lord of Hosts is Master of the Storm – and so continue to treat each other as the Family of God even in the midst of disagreement and controversy.  


A reader brought up the following old post yesterday as a source of great consolation. I took a look and thought it really is appropriate for right now for many.

The Fiery Trial of Love


By Charlie Johnston

“Beloved, do not be surprised at the fiery ordeal which comes upon you to prove you, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice in so far as you share Christ’s sufferings that you may also rejoice and be glad when His glory is revealed.” – I Peter 4:12,13

I am inundated these days with people who are going through agonizing trials within their family, among friends…things in their personal life that they just never expected. Many tell me they have lost their peace, that they can’t do much at all, and feel like a terrible failure. Whatever agitations are already there seem terribly sharpened, consolation seems terribly far away. People are having their personal world rocked even as the larger world seems to be teetering on the edge of a great abyss. Those of you who read the comments here can see that much of this spills over into that section as well.

I always pray for those who are in the midst of such trials and usually try to console them. Today, though, I want to call you a little deeper into what is happening. If you are suffering in such a manner, it is not just an attack from the evil one: you are also being given an audition by the Master. Many preach trust in God – and can trust in Him so long as it is only themselves who are affected. But if your trust crumbles the moment those you love are attacked, what good is such fair-weather trust? If you are suffering such sorrows right now, rejoice, for God contemplates that you might be a useful tool to spread the hope that is in Him.

Those who have suffered intense sorrows and endured are the most useful in helping others do the same in the midst of crisis. It is sort of a Divine Inoculation. Once you have been through fire and have chosen, with your active will, to trust with fortitude, it becomes much easier to trust through the next fire. Even beyond that, you have no idea how many people take inspiration – even change their lives – by your grace under fire, Even many of those who torment you will be changed.

I was often surprised when I was in politics how many of those who had been my public enemies would quietly come to me seeking help or comfort when they were under fire. In 1989 through early 1990, I was in the midst of a public controversy. A group of newspapers spent a year sliming me every week. It was nightmarish. They just made things up – horrible things – to smear me. At one point they wrote a horrific story to tug at the heartstrings about how I had abandoned my children, leaving them penniless. At the time they wrote this, they knew that I had sole custody of my children. It didn’t matter. For political reasons they wanted to destroy me – and Illinois then had among the loosest rules on libel of a public figure. You could tell any lie about a public figure, so long as it did not make them guilty of a crime and you did not reasonably know it to be a lie. It was hard to endure, as even people who had been friends began to have doubts because of the unceasing pounding.

I was at a convenience store once during this time to pick up a few things when a woman – a stranger –  recognized me and starting ripping into me for my callousness to my children. The kids were right out in the car. I told the woman so and asked her to step out for a moment with me. When we got out, I introduced her as someone who was worried about them. “Who do you live with?” I asked the kids. My daughter looked at me like I was crazy and said, “We live with you, Daddy.” We chatted a little bit about things and some plans for a day trip. The woman was silent and we went back into the store. “How can the paper say these things,” she asked me in horrified wonder. “They lie,” I responded. We talked a little about it, with her offering profuse apologies and saying she was going to tell all her friends. It was not the only time this happened, but it stuck with me because the kids were right there and I could easily demonstrate the lie without having to drag the kids through the horrific allegations.

Many people got caught up in the feeding frenzy. But when I sued the newspaper for libel (they made a technical error that allowed us to move forward – and once they opened the door, the whole year’s worth of slime was let in to demonstrate a ‘pattern of malice.’), I kept it very narrow and did not agree to having my attorney list any others as co-conspirators, though there were about five who could have been so charged. I even protected one of my tormentors from having his drug-addicted teenaged child dragged through the mud. Newspapers are notorious for refusing to settle libel suits, for fear of opening themselves up to never-ending assaults. After depositions, the newspaper and its insurance company settled in my favor. I was told, but never checked it myself, that mine was one of only three instances in the previous decade where a newspaper in Illinois paid any settlement at all, much less a significant one. After it was all over, one of my neighbors told me that for months he had feared hearing a gunshot at my house, it was so brutal and humiliating. He did not know how I was able to bear it.

Some interesting things came in that ordeal’s aftermath. All the serious political people regarded it as the most brutal, sustained public mauling they had ever seen – and were horrified by it. But after that, when a crisis came and I helped them, it calmed them tremendously. They had seen what a storm I had been through – and ended with my dignity intact – enhanced, in fact. People were more willing to do bold things if I was involved, for they had already seen graphic evidence that I do not fold under pressure.

Amazingly, almost all of my tormentors took great pains to treat me with genuine courtesy and affection in the year after the suit was settled. Only one actually apologized…said he just got caught up in the frenzy and didn’t really understand why he had done it, but considered it the most shameful thing he had ever done. Several became steadfast supporters of my work. All wanted my forgiveness, even when they did not directly ask for it. They would fall all over themselves trying to show me a kindness or do me honor.

Inspiring words have a powerful use – and I use them. But I have found that the thing that has the greatest transformative power I know of is the ability to publicly suffer with grace and magnanimity. That does not mean to be a doormat. I did sue the newspaper and win; I did fight on in my political battles – and almost always won locally. But to let those who torment you up easy, to deal with their humanity even as they make a mockery of yours…that is the stuff that lights a long fuse to transform lives and outlooks.

I hate infantile “prosperity gospels,” that silly outlook that if you are just good enough, God will keep you from any fundamental sorrows. That is a childish, self-absorbed fantasy that makes God into a mere genie to give us what WE want. I have seen far too many seemingly pious people crumble into bitterness when they find that the rain falls on them, too. God is in the business of calling His children to the safe harbor He is, to carry them to safety in eternity with Him – and He is ever on the watch for people who will participate in doing the same. The ordeals many of you now suffer with great intensity are, in part, an inoculation against the greater trials to come. Trust now when all seems haywire and your trust will become tempered through the fire. It will not fail in the great crisis. Even more important, this is an audition – an audition to take your place among the Troops of God and His Missionaries of Mercy. If you can suffer with grace and dignity, staying steady and not panicking, always keeping first things in mind, you will win many souls to Christ. Among them will be many of those who now torment you. When suffering, you cannot help but agonize and lament. In the midst of that, think to thank God for this extravagant invitation He has extended to you to participate with Him in winning souls to eternity. Don’t fail to fight when you must – and do it with vigor and fortitude. But remember in the midst of it that those you are fighting against are also souls you are fighting for.

Onward, Christian Soldiers! God is preparing you well for the battle ahead. Trust Him!

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Church Governance, Family of God, Prayer, Solidarity, The Shrine, The Storm and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

307 Responses to New Winds, New Waves, Same Barque of Safety

  1. Kris says:

    I just thought I would plug Mark Mallett’s latest post on the Bishops of Canada and their response to the Popes words. It is the only faithful response.

    Liked by 4 people

  2. janet says:

    THE confusion these days stemming from the Synod on the Family, and the subsequent Apostolic Exhortation, Amoris Laetitia, is reaching a bit of a feverish pitch as theologians, pundits, and bloggers go back and forth. But the bottom line is this: Amoris Laetitia can only be interpreted in one way: through the lens of Sacred Tradition.

    Enter: the Alberta Bishops of Canada.

    In a new document that cuts through the sophistries and mental gymnastics of those who wish to use Amoris Laetitia as an instrument to undermine Church teaching, the Alberta and Northwest Territory Bishops issued Guidelines For the Pastoral Accompaniment of Christ’s Faithful Who Are Divorced and Remarried Without a Decree of Nullity. It’s a brilliant and simple stroke of clarity. It embraces both the important vision of Pope Francis to become vessels of God’s mercy to our broken generation, while showing them the only path forward: the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

    Below, I link to the entire document, which is brief. However, I will quote the most lucid and critical passages, which should form a working document for colleges of bishops throughout the world.

    It may happen that, through media, friends, or family, couples have been led to understand that there has been a change in practice by the Church, such that now the reception of Holy Communion at Mass by persons who are divorced and civilly remarried is possible if they simply have a conversation with a priest. This view is erroneous. Couples who express it should be welcomed to meet with a priest so that they hear proposed anew “God’s plan [pertaining to marriage] in all its grandeur” (Amoris Laetitia, 307) and thus be helped to understand the correct path to follow toward full reconciliation with the Church.

    …The gentle and clear guidance of the pastor as he helps the couple to form a right conscience will assist them greatly to live in accordance with their objective situation. Should the tribunal process result in a declaration of nullity, they will understand the need to proceed toward the celebration of the Sacrament of Matrimony. In the case where the tribunal upholds the validity of the first union, obedience in faith to the indissolubility of marriage as revealed by Christ will make clear to them the actions that must follow. They are bound to live with the consequences of that truth as part of their witness to Christ and his teaching on marriage. This may be difficult. If, for example, they are unable to separate for the sake of the care of children, they will need to refrain from sexual intimacy and live in chastity “as brother and sister” (cf. Familiaris Consortio, 84). Such a firm resolution to live in accordance with the teaching of Christ, relying always on the help of his grace, opens to them the possibility of celebrating the sacrament of Penance, which in turn may lead to the reception of Holy Communion at Mass. —from Guidelines For the Pastoral Accompaniment of Christ’s Faithful Who Are Divorced and Remarried Without a Decree of Nullity, September 14, 2016, Feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross

    To read the entire document, click here: Guidelines For the Pastoral Accompaniment of Christ’s Faithful Who Are Divorced and Remarried Without a Decree of Nullity

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Todd Gessner says:

    My take on Pope Francis is a little more positive. In fact, many of the things that the Holy Father has said and done lately have served to convince me not only that you, Charlie, are telling the truth, but that the Pope truly is the pope of the rescue, and he knows what is coming. If, after the rescue, all the world will again be united in one Church, then there will be BILLIONS of people in irregular situations who must be integrated into the Church. I believe the Holy Father is trying to prepare us for this. How shall those people be welcomed? How will they keep their families together? A conversion to the faith on this scale is unprecedented, and unprecedented ways of welcoming people to the sacraments are inevitable. When Pope Francis said recently that priests must be able to see gray, I think this is what he meant. I believe he knows well his mission, and he is already figuring out how to fulfill it.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Paige Dyer says:

    I taught RCIA for a period of 16 years and did a lot of work helping with annulments. What I found is that the Church attempts to discern if the marriage was ever a “Sacramental” one.I had no idea regarding that. I think a lot of people are not aware of that. One of the keys was honesty. Did the couple really believe this was a life long commitment and if they did NOT, than they actually were lying under oath. If a couple planned to never have children, this was not a Sacramental marriage. Obviously, if there were other serious pieces of information such as someone gay marrying and not telling their spouse, they entered into this marriage with a lie. So, I guess what I am saying is, it helped me a lot to understand the Sacramental aspect of the annulment process. How many young people live together for years before marrying and they are actually taking their vows in a state of mortal sin!? Would that be valid? I don’t think so.
    “I yield to the wisdom of the Church.” Jesus promised that the gates of Hell would not prevail over His Church. We can be sure His Word is true.
    I hope this helps some of you regarding what the Pope meant when he said that he felt a great number of marriages were invalid.
    I welcome any comments.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

