Recovering

I have been notably quiet when I was planning to get heavily to work. Sorry…shortly after I got back home, I came down with a rather nasty stomach flu that has gotten worse every day. It peaked today and now seems to be starting to recede (though I keep the Pepto Bismal handy). It has just been hard to do anything other than sleep or watch TV.

I am thankful this did not hit while I was on the road. I would have had to cancel appointments. Thanks for your prayers – and if you offer a few that I be at, say, 85% tomorrow, I could get in a reasonable day’s work.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in General, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

274 Responses to Recovering

  1. Diane says:

    Praying for God to speed your recovery. Love. I do. Diane

    Liked by 4 people

  2. Doug says:

    Rest well Charlie. We are grateful you are here!

    Liked by 5 people

  3. Feel better Charlie… Sending prayers🙏💕That’s comforting to know despite your illness you are using it for the good of others who suffer. Think it’s been a lot of little storms that are cumulatively beating up on us….stay hydrated, real ginger, and rest in Our Lady’s maternal care.

    JMJ

    >

    Liked by 3 people

  4. madkatmomma says:

    You are probably taking the next right step at a much quicker pace Charlie! Prayers that your personal storm clears soon.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Pat says:

    I hope you feel better. Prayers on their way!

    I was just watching the 2nd presidential debate and turned off the TV; I couldn’t stand it anymore. Please, oh please Charlie, don’t be one of those crack “prophets” we’ve all heard about and then nothing happens. Please be right – everything needs to fall apart so God can put it all back together for us. I’m ready for it, come what may. I trust God will take care of us.

    These two represent the worst of America. What have we become? We need God now more than ever and we just keep ignoring Him. I’ve never not voted for President. But this time around I can’t pull the trigger (for the record, I’ve NEVER voted for a liberal and it won’t start this year).

    Where has our country gone?

    Liked by 5 people

  6. Kathie Mattern says:

    I’m sorry you sre feeling under the weather. Prayers for recovery.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. jlynnbyrd says:

    Godspeed Charlie. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Prayers for your health!

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Prayers for a speedy recovery, Charlie.
    I am enjoying the new videos you have posted.

    Liked by 4 people

  10. Anne says:

    You have really been on the go over the last 16 months! So not really surprising that you need to recalibrate!! Rest up.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. Take good care of yourself Charlie, will be praying. Bon Courage

    Liked by 4 people

  12. Fred says:

    Hope you feel better soon. Said a prayer for you, Charlie.

    When you are up and around, please give some thought to addressing what Is going on with the Pope’s recent picks for US Cardinals. He passed over some very solid orthodox archbishops for at least one highly questionable selection (Cupich). I know you have said that he is the Pope of the Storm, but some of his actions continue to remain confusing and confounding. I personally had been getting to a much more peaceful place in my heart with him, but this nonsense with the Cardinal selections has me angry. It appears very plainly to be a rebuke by the Vatican to the voices in the US bishops conference who have faithfully battled the forces of cultural compromise and moral equivalence in the American Church in a time when few had the courage or willingness to do so. With all due respect to Pope Francis, more compromise on these issues is NOT what we need. This is a kick in the gut to those of us in the laity who feel like the Church has lost the will to stand against the forces arrayed against the Church on the very issues that Pope Saint John Paul II made a focus of his pontificate. Is Pope Francis that out of touch, or am I simply blind and too focused on the death of millions of innocent children and hell’s assault on the sacred institution of marriage? More signs of the times?

    I don’t want to be overly critical of the Pope, but this just looks and feels wrong.

    Liked by 5 people

    • Beckita says:

      Fred, Charlie did make some comments in the last post concerning the latest selection of cardinals. God bless you.

      charliej373 says:
      October 9, 2016 at 3:45 pm
      Regular readers here know I am not a fan of Cardinal-elect Cupich. The selection process in America has been notably weakened since Cardinal Burke was assigned to Malta.

      charliej373 says:
      October 9, 2016 at 3:54 pm
      I share your concern, Patricia, but I think I will avoid any significant comment on this. It seemed either Archbishop Chaput or Archbishop Gomez would have been more timely choices.

      Liked by 2 people

  13. Lilia Florentiae says:

    Prayers for you, Charlie.
    Thanks for your hard work and for your wise and compassionate guidance.
    Things are getting pretty confused in my country also. I hope we make it to the Rescue…
    Lilia from Italy

    Liked by 9 people

    • charliej373 says:

      God bless Italy and you.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Lilia Florentiae says:

        Thanks Charlie, I am proud to be one of your European outposts. I spread your message to my family and to some friends.
        Ready to diffuse it even further.
        Dad always asks me on the phone: “What is Charlie saying of late?”
        I try to man my post here, you see…

        Liked by 5 people

    • Beckita says:

      We’re with you in spirit, Lilia, united in prayer

      Liked by 7 people

    • Doug says:

      I was just in your country a week ago Lilia. I love it there! Such beautiful people I get to work with! God bless you!

      Liked by 5 people

      • Lilia Florentiae says:

        Thanks for the blessing and for your compliments about my country.
        Where have you been?
        Coming to Tuscany anytime soon?
        We wait for you…!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Doug says:

          Hi Lilia, I was in Cernusco right next to Gorganzola near Milan. We have an office there. I have traveled to Venice and Rome on the weekends for some of my visits. I like to go to the Vatican and pray with all the former Pope’s and attend Mass. I have been to San Giovani where the shroud is in Torino and celebrated mass there on Penticost. When I walked in there, I knew in my heart that the shroud is real. What a blessing to have the head of the Catholic church in your back yard. I hope I get to go back. I’d love to visit Tuscany and a few other places there. God bless you again!

          Liked by 3 people

    • Yes praying for you and your country Lilia. Praying for all the world to make it through this the rescue .
      We , our diocese, just sent our beloved, young priest, Fr. Dominic Buckley, from our parish to go live in Rome to study for a doctorate in moral theology. He’s a bright holy young priest that has so much promise in a new order. He was so blessed to get a up front seat for St. Mother Teresa of Calcutta and wound up sitting next to St Gianna Molla’s grown daughter Gianna Emanuela!
      I pray he’s stays safe

      Liked by 5 people

      • Lilia Florentiae says:

        Thanks embracingchrist! My country and its youth really deserve a rescued world, where it is possible again to find a job, to form a family. We badly need it. May God bless our respective countries again.
        Rome is a beautiful city, I think Father Dominic will enjoys his stay.
        We also have a new young priest, don Matteo. My region has very few vocations, so I’m comforted by this young man’s brave choice.

        Liked by 5 people

    • Ella Cammina says:

      Lilia, tante preghiere per l’Italia. Ho molti parenti e amici in sud Italia. Da quale provincia sei? Sono dalla provincia di Matera

      Liked by 1 person

      • Lilia Florentiae says:

        Ciao cara, io abito in provincia di Livorno, in Toscana.
        I have never been to Matera, but I would like to visit the town, reckoned so beautiful, that it was chosen to film The Passion of Christ.
        My husband often goes to Basilicata for work.
        You’re the first Italian I meet on Charlie’s blog! Piacere di conoscerti!
        God bless you.

        Liked by 3 people

        • Ella Cammina says:

          Come fai a sapere così bene l’inglese? Hai vissuto fuori dall’Italia? I’ve only visited the Tuscany region once but found it to be breathtakingly beautiful.

          Oramai sono più americana che italiana, è da molto che vivo negli stati uniti. Mi manca moltissimo l’Italia eppure sono molto grata per la mia vita qui in America.

          If only I could bilocate I would live in both! 🙂

          Liked by 2 people

  14. Susan Werner says:

    Feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Katherine says:

    Feel better, Charlie. Have a good rest. I think we may be at a point where we”ll have to act and choose soon, so, rest up, gather your strength. Your suffering, offered up, might be worth more to us now than a new post. AND you get rest. (God does like to economize, doesn’t He?) I have young children and sometimes I long for the days when I can just rest when I’m sick. It’s very hard to lie down as a parent. Someone always either needs help or wants to sit on your head. Anyway, get well soon!

    Liked by 4 people

  16. Billy Franz says:

    Prayers for you brother!
    Billy from Plano,Tx

    Liked by 2 people

  17. Diane says:

    Yes, I will pray but….Charlie, I notice you get sick quite often. How is your diet? Do you eat many carbs? They cause a lot of inflammation…so do sweets of course but you probably know that. Whenever I feel like I am coming down with something, I take “Defense” sold by RockyMountainOils.com and it knocks it right out. Then again, it may be God’s way to get you to get some rest. Be well..your sister in Christ who loves you and lives in Maryland.

    Liked by 4 people

  18. maryopl says:

    Sorry you are not feeling well. Prayers for a holy endurance and a quick recovery. Remember the BRAT diet is helpful (bananas, rice, applesauce and toast). God bless.

    Liked by 3 people

  19. theresa323 says:

    Prayers and hope you are feeling better today.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. theresa323 says:

    I am commenting on the Pope’s new appointments of 3 Cardinals in the United States. Archbishop Cupich of Chicago who is in the Progressive camp, while bypassing the Archbishops of Philadelphia and Los Angeles, who are in the Conservative camp.
    Pope Francis has reshaped the character of the most senior level of the American hierarchy.
    It certainly looks like we are back to the Bernardin seamless garment, which means Abortion and Euthanasia are on the same playing field as Immigration, concern for the environment, the death penalty and concern for the poor.
    As serious Catholic voters, there are 5 non negotiables: Abortion, Euthanasia , Embryonic stem cell research, Human cloning and homosexual marriage.
    Is the Pope inserting himself into American Politics, by making this announcement on the brink of our elections.
    I know Charlie you did say, there would not be an inauguration and neither candidate would be president… Perhaps there will not even be an election.
    I am looking forward to the rescue, Heavenly intervention is the only answer.
    “O Mary conceive without sin pray for us who have recourse to thee.”

    Liked by 5 people

    • Rick says:

      Liberal priests, bishops, and cardinals seem to be growing in number and influence. I am aware of some of the damage they have done to faithful priests and their missions, but I also believe that God allows the injustice to further purify and fortify the souls of these holy men. It appears that the storm is what is needed to shake the liberal clergy back to the reality of true Catholicism, based on traditional faith rather than modernist interpretations and pursuit of power. For the life of me I cannot understand why Pope Francis is doing this as I doubt he is completely in the dark about the heterodox beliefs and actions of some of the men he promotes and admires. Clearly God has a plan that most of us cannot understand or foresee at this time.

      Liked by 4 people

    • madkatmomma says:

      I am a huge fan of Archbishop Chaput, and was thrilled to find out he was the great uncle of my daughters BF. Having said that, I think we need to respect the Holy Father’s choice, even though I wish it were different. There is room in our church for many different voices. Jesus loves his church and in these difficult times the Barque of Peter needs all hands and many gifts of the Holy Spirit on board. He will not abandon us.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Greg says:

        Well, if Charlie is correct, then there might be a deeper meaning to this. If all of Christianity is to unite, then there would need to be wider allowance for diversity within the Church. We would need more priests to serve the influx of pilgrim Christians; likely they would be ordained married men, coming from the pool of former Protestant ministers. There would need to be additional rites, or at minimum, added spiritualities within the Latin Rite of the Church, similar to the Pastoral Provision for Anglican priests coming into the Church, through which they are permitted to say a more Anglican styled mass. Of course all this would need to be grounded in Truth, but ones that would highlight various facets of the Truth. So, maybe this more liberal choice of cardinals is a sign of the things to come, when all come home, and all are “one” (John 17:21). I myself am more on the orthodox-conservative side, but I am open to potential surprises our Lord might be up to. We will see.

        Liked by 2 people

        • charliej373 says:

          Actually Greg, I know a lot of former Anglican Priests throughout the country. What is notable about their celebration of Mass is NOT that it is Anglicanized, but that it is most notably Orthodox. I have found that to be the case every time – and I have been to at least 30 Masses celebrated by former Anglicans.

          Liked by 6 people

        • jj says:

          Greg, Our former pastor was originally Jewish, then an Anglican Priest (married, with children, then divorced), then a Catholic Priest. As Orthodox as the day is long, and an absolutely brilliant theologian. Bedside manner of a brick through a plate glass window 😀. But we can’t expect anyone to be perfect, including priests, or perhaps especially Priests.

          Liked by 5 people

          • Greg says:

            JJ, I never said that going forward we’d drift from Orthodoxy. I said that we might possibly broaden our Catholicity. In other words, when looking at a diamond, we see many facets. And it is not a problem to focus on one facet more than the other ones, but there are other facets. And truthfully, over the years, the Church has drifted into to dominantly focusing, or emphasizing, particular facets of the Truth, when maybe we can open that up a bit with more broader minded bishops. In the early Church there was a very evangelical aspect to the Church that we since have lost. So maybe going forward we might regain that. As far as the new cardinals, I would hope God gives them the increased grace necessary to see where that freedom begins and ends.

            Liked by 2 people

          • jj says:

            Greg, I understood your point, it was well written, my response was not well written. My point was that this man, now diocesan Priest, had practiced Judaism, Protestantism, and ended up a very Orthodox Roman Catholic Priest, I don’t believe the Church will need to modify its position at all. I think the Church will only need to educate all of the faithful, including Catholics, about the true Faith. I think the real problem is with false teaching and erroneous beliefs.

            Liked by 2 people

    • leslyek says:

      Well, if they really look at Card. Bernadin’s take on Seamless Garment idea, he at least reportedly said one is not to equate abortion with war; but many did and do, anyway. Maybe this Year of Mercy they’ll reconsider before Storm fullness.

      Liked by 2 people

  21. I am asking the LORD to send St Raphael to your bedside right now.

    Liked by 3 people

  22. MarieUrsula says:

    Prayers for enough comfort and enough rest for you.

    Liked by 1 person

  23. JJ says:

    Charlie, Hope you are feeling better today.
    Question regarding Discernment, How does one discern “Discernment”?
    Since I personally have no real spiritual gifts at least not that I can tell, I have always relied upon my wife’s spiritual discernment. Those who have seen my previous comments realize, at least for the present, that is not an option. While I do have a couple of friends that may be able to help, I am unwilling to be as forthcoming with them as would be required since it would expose my wife (possibly) to public ridicule and I am absolutely unwilling to do that, ever. If it were only a matter of exposing myself to ridicule, I would be perfectly willing to take that route, especially since I wholly deserve it for my part in this disaster.
    This question is prompted as I read the “Surrender Novena” recommended by Charlie over the weekend, I am unsure how to interpret the day 2 instruction against “Worried Prayer”. Does that mean continue to Pray but don’t worry (is that even possible?) or that I don’t even need to pray for specific intentions (a very large percentage of my prayers are indeed due to my concern for my wife and family)?
    This question led me into another, much larger issue, How do I discern “The Next Right Step” with any certainty especially considering my propensity to be prideful. Pride got me into or at least increased the depth of the pit I find myself and my family in now. I find myself fearful of doing more than the simplest activities required to care for my children’s immediate needs, interacting with my wife at all is incredibly painful, mostly with sorrow and grief, but also immense fear that I will screw it up even further because I have absolutely no idea what to do in this type of situation.
    Any advise from you folks would be greatly appreciated.

    Liked by 4 people

    • charliej373 says:

      You don’t discern it with certainty. You make the best decision you can and take responsibility for it. Sometimes it will be wrong. Always acknowledge God and when you are wrong, you won’t let your pride prevent you from adjusting to a better way. Recognizing your faults is always a good way to begin compensating for them. But you get no certain answers. You must do the best you can, take responsibility for it – never abandon it out of fear of ridicule nor hold to a bad course out of pride – and the Lord will begin to bring a bountiful harvest through you.

      “I do believe. Lord, help my unbelief.” That is the beginning.

      Liked by 11 people

    • Beckita says:

      JJ, I’ve been rereading some of Charlie’s old posts and came upon this segment which is the longer version of what Charlie has just conveyed to you:

      I constantly tell people to, acknowledging God, take the next right step and be a sign of hope to those around them. People ask how to know they are taking the next, right step. It is easy. Just acknowledge God and do the most right thing you can think of. Act. You will screw up a lot, but so long as you acknowledge God, He will draw fruit even from your errors. When you cease to acknowledge Him, even your seeming triumphs will turn to ashes. So you can act with complete confidence, even knowing that you are not competent and will screw many things up. Think of a child that takes on a project too big for him and asks your help. You help him and correct his errors, even as you take pride in his initiative. Your child is still not competent to do it on his own. If he tried, it would be disaster – but he trusts you to guide him and correct the many mistakes he makes. Do you think God is any less of a loving Father? God wants your initiative. When you acknowledge Him, He will baptize your incompetent efforts with abundant fruit. But you must both act and acknowledge Him. Do not wait for certain knowledge. Choose the most right thing you can think of, then act. Trust God, not yourself. But He wants you to act, not to cower like the man who buried his talent and told the master he was too scared to risk it.

      From: https://charliej373.wordpress.com/2014/01/14/10/

      Liked by 9 people

      • jj says:

        Charlie and Beckita, thank you for the response, I love consistency, your response (Charlie) is perfectly consistent with what Beckita quoted that you wrote 2.5 years ago. I’m less thrilled by being uncertain, but, as I am so fond of saying, “It is what it is”. And consistent with everything I have seen that you have written. Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more…

        Liked by 5 people

      • Doug says:

        I love this excerpt Beckita. It really resonates with me. It helps relieve worry. So packed full of wisdom.

        Liked by 4 people

      • moreen67 says:

        Just a comment because I was thinking today even though the fullness of the Storm and hardships to come will be difficult for all – the Rescue will be a new beginning for us all to get things right with God again. I (even though things are not easy for me now) have much hope and joy inside of me but I can tell you if I thought we were going to stay on the course that we are currently on with how things are going I would feel depressed. I just pray that I can stay strong and positive thru the Storm to the Rescue because I know so many people that don’t even want to acknowledge where this world is currently at or people who just don’t have faith. I want to be positive when things seem down and out so they can see Him who is in control of everything. I’m sure a lot of people here feel that way. God bless everyone. I always feel better after reading this blog – it continues to give me hope when otherwise I would feel hopeless. Maureen

        Liked by 7 people

    • Doug says:

      Love JJ. Just love and leave the results to God. I used to try and fix my wife (I’m a fix it guy) and the Holy Spirit let me know she most often just wants me to listen and not try and fix her problems. She wants me to empathize with her. I hope that helps. God bless you!

      Liked by 5 people

      • Littlelight says:

        I love this, Doug.

        JJ, after being utterly broken down, I realized I needed to figure out what it meant to love with Jesus’ radical love my loved one (remember my post about [the impossible situation]?)

        In my case, I recognized the terrible sin of pride—-mainly my own—was the culprit. I pondered the Blessed Mother’s radical humility. I remember our wonderful Catholic faith teaches us Humility is the only antidote to Pride, and The Queen is the only one who modeled this perfectly. That is why she gets to crush the satan’s head. It’s her awesome Humility.

        I realized it was right and proper and a blessing, albeit an extremely painful purgation of sorts, that I needed to attempt to model radical humility to atone for my sins. In my case this meant to walk away from arguments, and be as silent as possible. The only words I tried very hard to utter were: “I love you, I’m proud of you.” I would try hard to silently pray and walk away during times of duress. I tried hard to let my actions show my love. Actions do speak louder than words. In my case this meant not to nag, but also not to give up and retreat. Because it is not loving to withdraw one’s emotional support just because one is prone to pride/anger/temper. The good Lord wills we try to overcome these things. It is this walking on a razor’s edge that is not humanly possible, truth be told. But He can Do All Things. Go to Her, The Queen. Keep praying the Surrender Novena. Don’t worry about your worry. God is not keeping a tally score list about how well you surrender your worry! He is a Loving God! It would be cruel of Him to expect a baby to run a marathon. We are babies when it comes to releasing worry and trusting Him. We cannot yet run a marathon. He knows. Keep trying. Ditch the temptation to despair over your efforts.

        I saw my efforts could only ever be bumbling and laughable, but as Charlie has said, God would allow them to bear fruit, because He loves us so very much! He did. As I said before, He answered those prayers with a Job-like generosity. I’m confident He will do this for you and yours, too, +praise God!+

        God Bless you! Keep on keepin on!

        Liked by 7 people

        • Beckita says:

          Beautiful witness to faith, hope and love, Littlelight!

          Liked by 4 people

        • Doug says:

          Very nice Littlelight! As an aside, Barb421 is interested in exchanging emails with you. She has contacted me at stormnewhampshire@gmail.com. if you are interested to contact her back, email me there and I will forward her email address to you and vice-versa. God bless you!

          Liked by 2 people

        • Littlelight, a amazing revelation that you have shared….truly this is indeed a cross I am familiar with …I hope to continue carrying it better each day to healing and trusting our Lords assistance. We want the best for our loved ones… but pride, perfectionism, and desire to control make stumbling blocks to Gods desire fo our submission to His Will.
          Thanks you for the beautiful words and shining the light where darkness wants to sit
          Love to all the TNRS family as we share our yokes together 💕
          Yes Doug, trying not to fix it here with extended family and at home
          …thanks for the heads up👍🏼
          Remember Most Compassionate Virgin Mary…🙏…that never was it known…

          Liked by 2 people

      • JJ says:

        I’m right there with y’all Doug and Light, I have always been very proud of my ability to fix literally anything. It is very humbling to be chastised in the form of a situation that I am utterly incapable of even understanding, much less fixing. It is, I think, not a coincidence that my Confirmation Saint (from oh so many decades ago) is St. Joseph and I recently came across the story of the dedication to St. Joseph’s Most Chaste Heart. I have been praying that I can be (I’m not sure of the correct way to say it) given or instructed or something like that, how to have the heart of St. Joseph. He cared for the Holy Family selflessly and in near obscurity, he was not willing to allow the Blessed Virgin to be shamed after the Annunciation, resolving to take the shame upon himself before the Angel came to him. I have no expectation that I can be anything but a dim shadow of the Man St. Joseph is, but I pray for the grace to be enough to do the job that is required of me during and after the storm.

        On a more hopeful note, although it may seem a strange transition, just before my wife left us a couple of months ago I asked her why she married me… her response without hesitation or even blinking was and I quote “Because God told me to marry you.” This is a woman who has, or at least had, the gifts of discernment and word of knowledge. It gives me great hope that God knew all along that this situation was going to happen and He has a plan for us. The few friends and family who actually know what is happening in our lives think I am absolutely nuts for refusing to do anything but the actions that Charlie advised me to do several weeks ago; Prayer, Penance, Reparation, and (paraphrasing) Patience…But, like St. Joseph, 2019 years ago, it seems like the next right step.
        My prayers are with y’all Doug, ‘Light, Maureen, Beckita and all here at TNRS…

        Liked by 7 people

        • Beckita says:

          Praying for you always, JJ!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Doug says:

          JJ, our prayers are with you too.

          Funny you mention St. Joseph. I pray the following prayer almost every day:

          Prayer to St. Joseph

          “O Blessed St. Joseph, loving and chaste spouse of the Virgin Mary, and beloved protector and guardian of Jesus our Savior, protect and guide me. You are a splendid model of justice, humility, and chastity. Your burning love for God the Father motivated you to surrender yourself totally to his will. Your gentleness, purity of heart, and obedience were fortified by your interior life of prayer, fidelity to the word of God, and openness to the Holy Spirit. Teach me to be transparent so that I may always obey the moving of the Spirit in my life. Holy Spirit, renew and soften my heart, and transform and enlighten my mind that I may only seek Jesus and desire all that he wants for me. May I grow in all those virtues so evident in the life of Saint Joseph. May I die to sin, pride, and my false self so that I may live in Christ Jesus and discover my true self in him. May I be filled with a love of God and loyalty to my family. Bless me with a joyful and steadfast life and a peaceful and holy death. I offer this prayer in the name of Jesus, my Savior, whose heart is burning with love for me and through the intersession of Saint Joseph. Amen”

          It was written by a very Holy Eastern rite priest whom I admire and respect. God bless you!

          Liked by 5 people

        • JJ prayers for you and such a beautiful surrender to Gods providence….st Jospeh is exactly the intercessor you can ask….he’s a wonder worker and considered most Holy after his wife. I believe his true glory will be seen too in the times ahead as the model for families. What else can we do but turn to Our Lord and Our Lady. Try to give her all your worries and she will take them to her Son…, all polished up and presented on a gold and jeweled platter. She knows what you need more than you or any of us do. How reassuring that we have a God who wants our happiness ultimately and has given us the Holy Family here on earth to “parent us” in this Vale of tears

          Liked by 6 people

    • Prayers to strengthen you, JJ. Don’t forget that God is merciful.

      Liked by 5 people

  24. Mitch Rennix says:

    Charlie,

    A wise man once told me that “stomach flu” looks a lot like “burning the candle at both ends”…..

    He appears to be wiser than I thought! Praying for a far better result than 85%.

    Blessings

    Deacon Mitch

    Liked by 6 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Well I have had a restful (if somewhat convulsive week), so the candle is well rested. And when it is time to burn again, I will do whatever it takes. I trust God to give me the energy and health I need to do His work – when I need it. God bless you, Deacon Mitch, for you faithful fortitude and leadership.

      Liked by 5 people

  25. Mary Ann Parks says:

    A relative in St. Augustine said to tell you that your three step plan works just dandy in a catastrophe.

    Liked by 6 people

  26. Sylvia says:

    Magnesium chelate with vitamin B-12. And then of course a spoonful of collagen. All bought at the Whole Foods. Take care Charlie. Be well.

    Liked by 2 people

  27. singingjuls says:

    Charlie, may the Holy Spirit send his healing and renew you in body, mind and soul. Looking forward to your next piece, but when you’re well. Blessings!

    Liked by 4 people

  28. Mack says:

    Charlie, what do you think about the three new American cardinals, especially Cupich? I read some commentary saying they will push the Church in a more liberal direction. But given that we are headed into the fullness of the Storm, it might not really matter. I would be interested to hear your take on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  29. Christene says:

    Rest, recoup, and rejuvenate! Praying you have rounded the corner and are enjoying the day!

    Liked by 2 people

  30. justsayin392 says:

    Sigh. . . . thanks for climbing up on the Cross for souls, Charlie. God must be pouring out an abundance of Graces right now – lots of opportunities for ‘Theresianesque’ sacrifices. Of course, your TNRS Houston Team is praying for you.

    Liked by 4 people

  31. Kathi Weston says:

    Praying for a speedy and complete recovery Charlie.

    Liked by 1 person

  32. As the clock ticks down to this election, and as things get positively vitriolic, I am feeling such pressure on the proverbial shoe drop. I’m dreading it just as much as I’m praying for it.

    Every day I think “It just can’t be that bad out there,” and every day as I realize yes, it IS that bad, I have to thank God for His mercy to be sheltered from such evil.

    I’m so sick of the division and nastiness, and the gulf is SO wide. There’s no reaching across the aisle, because they’ve destroyed the aisle, too. Uncle. I just want it over so we can start to pull together. I can deal with so much more if we’re all in this together and not ripping each other apart.

    Liked by 3 people

  33. Linda says:

    Oh dear Charlie…I am so sorry to hear this and rather suspected this since your newest piece wasn’t up yet..Im so sorry…stomach flu is HORRIBLE 😢 Praying to St Raphael to heal you asap…hang in there buddy..God bless you dearest Charlie😇

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Mary Kerman says:

    Rest, Charlie! God knows you need a break! <3Mary

    Liked by 1 person

  35. Mary Kerman says:

    Rest, Charlie. God knows you need your rest. ❤
    Respectfully, Mary

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Patricia says:

    Gosh for the people who shut off the debate and thought it was horrible. I must be really far down the rabbit hole because I was mesmerized. I look at Trump as a King David, someone who was a murderer and an adulterer, yet God brought him around to do good things. Trump is nothing if not the fly in the globalists/ elites’ ointment and for that I love him. All will soon enough see God’s plan but in the meantime this is great drama.

    Liked by 6 people

    • chantal says:

      I must say that knowing these candidates won’t be the new leaders gives me peace. Meanwhile, I feel like I’m watching a good drama unfold. Take out the popcorn and watch the show! We know the ending. God wins! I’m not American so I’ve got no say anyways.
      I am actually happy to know the “elites” are quivering.

      Liked by 4 people

    • We have a Balrog,
      who stands and draws their fire
      their flanks he splays to briefly reveal
      their darkness and hidden desire

      But the battle is not for the Balrog
      whether he succumbs or not is naught
      but all must see the darkness exposed
      for this is why the battle was fought.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Mick says:

      King David repented of his sins and asked God to forgive him. Unless I missed something, I’m still waiting on a report that Trump has done that. In fact, the last thing I remember him saying (it was in an interview several months ago; can’t remember with whom) was that he’d never asked God for forgiveness because he didn’t think he’d ever done anything that he needed to ask forgiveness for. Granted, I’ve been on a self-imposed news blackout (well, as much of a blackout as one can be on when one’s husband works in politics and one’s children are political animals); but I have seen nothing that gives me confidence that Trump is actually sorry for his past life and has asked God to forgive him and to help him turn over a new leaf.

      I’m not trying to judge the man, his soul, or his eternal destiny; but our Lord did tell us, “By their fruits you shall know them” and, “Bring forth fruits worthy of repentance.” The old fruit is obvious, and I’m still looking for the new fruit that shows me that I can safely trust Trump to lead this nation in a Godly way. I’m just not seeing it.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Patricia says:

        Well Mick, Trump did give a public apology Friday night. But even if he had not, the Evangelicals are behind him. I do not think they would be if he was the repulsive, disgusting, immoral man that he appears to have been in the past. I am good friends with one of the leading Evangelicals in this state and he said on Saturday that Trump’s apology was a good start but he has yet to hear a word of contrition come out of the mouth of either Clinton for any of their assorted wrong. I suspect Trump has asked God for forgiveness with the Evangelical leaders long before Friday night though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Patricia says:

        oh, and he has four great, great kids so I think we can count those as fruits.

        Liked by 1 person

    • bthanntrm says:

      I like and pray for Trump, we know and see all his warts. Then forgive and pray for him; and the elites are so afraid of him and the people who follow him. It makes me smile.😂😁Ok, gloat a little. He is of course only a man.

      Liked by 1 person

  37. Littlelight says:

    I sure hope you are feeling better!

    If I may, I have two questions. I tried to find the relevant post, but I can’t remember where I saw it. I thank you in advance and understand if you are not able to comment.

    1. You mentioned that it is permissible to either not vote, vote for Trump or a write-in/third party candidate—with the caveat of (if memory serves me correctly)—as long as we are prepared for the consequences of that choice. Pls. correct me here if I got it wrong. My question: do you mean prepared as in a judge-righteous-judgement kinda way, as in Our Dear Lord is searching our hearts for our underlying motivations of our choices?

    2.You’ve shared with us your hopes and dreams for your well deserved retirement after the rescue. A thought came to me that maybe you could write a brief piece about that in which us readers could prayerfully consider what our hopes/dreams for a post-rescue could be and share that in a spirit of Godly hope. Would this be frivolous/dangerous or helpful?

    Background on #1. I avoid politics as much as possible after a few years where I delved deeply into research and participated in limited local politics (testifying for life causes as a staff RN, raising local awareness to Sustinet before it became codified into law, etc). During that time it was very easy for me to go down rabbit holes of despair and anger. I recognized back then politics was a dead man walking. After giving it my best action attempt—which was a distraction from my primary vocation, I felt I could tell the Lord I did more than pray, I tried. During the following quiet years, I learned the TNRS message. Two years ago I came upon your wonderful site. I know and believe you are 100% telling us straight because much of your practical advice I have learned to be true on my own.

    Last night I watched the debate. It was our son’s 19th b-day and the first presidential election he is eligible to vote in. He is young and idealistic—- thinks there can be a political solution and passionate about voting an educated Catholic vote. Anyhow, I was surprised at how much I wanted to vote for Trump. My reservations about him turning into a totalitarian dictator were dwarfed by my utter joy at seeing him put Mrs. Clinton and our former president in their place. It was a pot-meet-kettle moment for me. I also enjoyed the discomfort of the pbs political commentators after the debate. From my perspective, it seemed as if they were astounded that Trump did not behave as they had dictated he must. They were truly perplexed.

    I am worried that my glee at seeing the deplorable progressives squirm is a baaaad motivation to base my vote on. I am worried that perhaps I need to write in Jesus, or you Charlie, or as I saw on a neighbor’s yard “My Dog Pete”. I am worried that I am not judging-righteous-judgement, and that Our Dear Lord, watching all hearts, will give the hearts desire, as He did with the Israelites and ?King Saul.

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Don’t over-worry, Little. It is a passionate thing. I did not give the counsel you cite in item 1 as a “judge righteous judgment” thing. Rather, faced with an impossible situation, I was simply citing options that can be chosen honorably.

      As for worrying that some of your motivation is “glee,” don’t refrain from doing what is honorable just because some all too human motivation accompany it. I always took a little private glee when an annoying sharpshooter inevitably shot themselves in the foot. I didn’t help the process along unless their scheming was hurting good, honorable people…but I always savored a little private glee when it came. I let it go quickly…and even was helpful in the rare cases where the schemer seemed seriously repentant.

      The point is that far too many people seek rescue from the political system. But it is we who are the problem. If we were a moral and religious people, neither nominee would be nominees – because a moral and religious people would not even have thought of selecting either of these two. I do not worry near as much about Trump being a totalitarian as I know Clinton has already revealed her fascist preferences. She is already trying to destroy freedom of speech, of assembly, of self-defense; she has perverted the justice system into a mere mob enforcer for the progressive agenda. She treats any who disagree with her as enemies to be destroyed and considers herself above any law. She is classic totalitarian material. Trump is simply a narcissist bumbler. His bullying temperament could be a significant problem, but he does actually believe in the idea of America.

      If I thought either of them were going to be our leader, I would be despondent. But I know God has a plan – and what that plan requires is that we become a moral and religious people again. You see, the leaders we get do not actually lead us. They are, properly, our servants and are called to administer a limited job. But they are, fundamentally, a product of who we are. Take care of the little things, and the big things will follow. Do the most honorable thing you can as you would under normal circumstances. But know that neither Donald Trump nor Hillary Clinton nor any other political “leader” is going to right this listing ship. Only you and I and many of us acting together can do it. We do it by acknowledging God, taking the next right step, and being a sign of hope to those around us. When the time of the old order is in full collapse, God will intervene – through those who have chosen, even under duress, to follow Him.

      If I am wrong after being right on so much, we have already entered a new dark ages, consigning our children to misery and grinding poverty, a new dark ages that will only be lifted by violent revolt – after who knows how many years of misery and want. But I am not wrong. God has another plan. Endure and wait for Him. He will strengthen your heart if you hold fast to Him, and deliver us from the great evil we have brought on ourselves.

      Liked by 19 people

  38. Kris R. says:

    Charlie, do you need me to deliver some of my Elderberry tincture? 😊

    Like

  39. Kathy Lopez says:

    Prophets being the WORD of God..they don’t make it…they are only responsible for delivering the WORD…never kill the messenger..I’m thankful for men like Charlie!!

    Liked by 6 people

  40. Cheri F says:

    Praying for your health. I hope you found some good tv to watch. “The Munsters” are on COZI TV station. I love it. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  41. Francis is trying to save the civilisation itself from the chastisement & prevent the third world war. He knows this is not going to happen much in the same manner Abraham could not save Sodom & Gomorrah from their fate, yet still tried. Either way in his understanding of the world it is conservatism that has brought this world to total ruination & the brink of Hell itself which is why he has cast out many conservative cardinals believing them to be of a Pharisaical mindset & has brought in those with liberal tendencies. Do not be alarmed at this as this will change. Francis believes in the supernatural & understands the preternatural, he also understands the times in which we live.

    Liked by 4 people

  42. Charlie, while yes it’s been hard for us to not be caught up in all the election absurdity …we believe the message you give that it’s irrelevant. It actually makes it easier to watch the circus unfold before us. And as I prayed about what is and would happen to our country if election went off…the same conclusion you mentioned was placed on my heart…that this truly will be a age of darkness going forward. I choose the light and hope!

    Had to smile from a bit of comic relief this past weekend. Oct 1 weekend we were supposed to travel to Grand junction Colorado for a bike event… but our brother in law died unexpectedly in St. Louis so we flew instead to attend his funeral mass. In retrospect a blessing for all concerned despite his passing. Carl, who was a Vietnam vet with a Purple Heart and bronze star had full honor motorcycle Vet guard as well as a military gun salute send off. The priest had married his grown children and baptized his grandchildren. We had the joy to serve as EMHCs and be a part of his funeral mass … the family reunion/reception was tearful yet joyful. So after that we decided to ride in a local bicycle festival here in central FL last weekend to get outdoors and enjoy October a bit to escape the worlds heaviness. Then enter Hurricane Mathew. I shuttered my moms home, brother/wife/dog evac to our central Fl home. We rode out the storm with only a little landscape damage. Everybody got power on and went home. The bicycle festival was cancelled for FRI/Sat, but they had rides doe Sunday. The hilliest we have in Fl. Known as sugarloaf Mt. In clermont (312′- short but 13% grade ). My body needed to suffer so we offered it up

    There’s a guy who lives at the top of sugarloaf is a local vet known for opening his home to aid stations and he provides, water, Gatorade, bananas, oranges PBJ, trail mix, candy Also this man and his wife are PATRIOTS👍🏼😊🇺🇸…the Fenstads. He had a few great political signs up that made both me, my husband and many cyclists smile and proud to get a pic of.😉 Thought we’d share. Finished the day with beautiful evening mass at our parish …

    JMJ

    >

    Liked by 3 people

  43. Michael Fitzgerald says:

    I hope you get better soon Charlie. I have to ask you though, are things going more slowly than you thought they would by this time. The country is less than 30 days from the election. Trump is self-destructing. Hilary Clinton will likely win without having to resort to stealing the election. While there appear to be rumblings of a fraying world economy (Deutsche Bank and China) no one is talking about an imminent collapse. Russia appears to be a bigger threat to U.S interests now than China or North Korea, and thankfully neither the United States nor Europe has suffered a major jihadist attack with mass casualties in more than a month. It seems the wolves are being kept at bay. Is the constant intercession of Our Lady holding it back, is God having second thoughts or is the Devil himself holding it back because he knows if all Hell does break loose, he’s going to lose a lot quicker. I don’t know. I want to believe what you say, but it seems like it’s death by a thousand cuts rather than a major bleed out at this point.

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      No Michael. I don’t impose much in the way of expectations because I have too much experience in the way God likes to act on the things that are definitive. I know almost everyone else can’t help imposing their own temporal expectations on things and then judging by the timetable THEY have imposed. It doesn’t bother me, for heaven knows I did much the same for decades, and still sometimes get caught up in it. I sometimes call God the original drama queen (or king), for He loves to let us sweat it out, then move decisively. That is not out of some perverse intent, but because we internalize the lesson best when we think that all is lost, or that things are not happening like we thought – and THEN see that He is always true.

      The only thing that has surprised me has been how long the financial system has limped along – and that is solely because from a purely temporal standpoint, it should have started a serious cascade at least six or seven months ago. That is surprising as a man whose heart stopped 37 minutes ago still breathing.

      Liked by 8 people

    • bthanntrm says:

      My Mortgage is on it’s third Bank as the other two have gone bankrupt don’t let a little quiet deceive you.

      Liked by 2 people

  44. Mack says:

    Now it’s come out that Clinton’s campaign manager, John Podesta, actively worked to start “catholic” groups with the purpose of subverting Church teaching. Yes, the unmasking is still going on:
    http://ijr.com/2016/10/712323-wikileaks-email-clinton-spokesman-mocks-catholics-and-evangelicals/

    Liked by 2 people

    • BD says:

      Mack. I am in awe at the information being extracted/hacked from the elites. Now they understand having their emails and electronic communications read by total strangers is no fun. (“But why should these elite care if they have nothing to hide Lol.”) Back door technology works both ways…

      Liked by 2 people

  45. aprolifer says:

    What do you think of the “Benedict Option” as described herein?
    http://ct.dio.org/bishops-column/message/unprecedented-and-challenging-election-ahead/read.html

    Liked by 3 people

  46. Beth Beatrice says:

    Try some probiotics for stomach ailments. These can help immensely.

    Like

  47. Paul Nadeau says:

    Charlie provides valuable guidance to a large segment of Christians who are concerned about the
    spiritual direction of our nation.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

