In the Eye of the Storm

human-eye-storm

By Charlie Johnston

As this election season goes careening wildly towards its inevitable fiery conclusion three weeks from now, a little advice…

Large political campaigns get into a higher gear six weeks out. The last three weeks are an unbearable pressure cooker for those involved that I don’t think anyone who hasn’t been there can  imagine. I have seen more than a few candidates (on both sides) lose in those last few weeks because they said or did something out of frustration and the overwhelming stress of the process, itself. A rule I had was that we were to open no new avenues of attack or proposal in the last three weeks, but stick to the themes we had already established. As passions mount, people fail to vet what they desperately want to believe. Even when it is solid, judgment is diminished and it is likely not to be presented in a way that helps. Anything new is as likely to blow up fatally in your face as it is to help. There were some exceptions, but they were extremely rare. And every cycle I had partisans on my side desperately wanting to open up such an undisciplined course.

As passions rise, people tend to swing ever more wildly and frantically. At best, that is a formula for a catastrophic error. At worst, it leads one to behave dishonorably. Everyone is getting a little taste, this cycle, of what people inside a campaing feel in the final three weeks’ pressure. The solution is to be more deliberate than ever. Slow things down. Know that your judgment is impaired by your passion, so take extra time to argue against what you think is a good idea in the heat of that passion.

In the last three weeks, I also quietly would go each day to a Church, light a candle and pray. I would not pray to win, but that God’s will be accomplished. In a daily examination of conscience, I would check to see that I had done everything that could reasonably be done. Not that I had done everything perfectly (if I had, I considered that a negative for it most likely meant I had not done enough). I checked to make sure I had never lost sight of the humanity of the opposition – and that I had not failed to act out of timidity. It was a process of handing it over to God, even as I continued to keep what was in motion working at full tilt. (In one campaign, the scheduler – who scheduled both the candidate and had to keep tabs on me at all times, too – wryly told me she hoped I went to a different Church every day, for she did not know how it would play if the press found out the top aide was spending a half hour in Church beyond Mass each day). It would be good from now on in to pray the Surrender Novena and the Prayer of Miraculous Trust regularly to keep you grounded.

I have always encouraged you to do the things you normally would, while not counting on them. I don’t worry much about the outcome if election comes off. God has a different plan this time. But the election will say much about who we are as a people. The Wikileaks material on the Clinton camp confirms that she seeks to outlaw traditional expressions of faith entirely. Her campaign manager, John Podesta, has already started up false front “Catholic” organizations to try to subvert the Church from within. Philadelphia Archbishop Charles Chaput commented on those revelations with his characteristic blunt honesty. I say that the results of the election won’t ultimately matter, but living our duty well will matter enormously.

So advocate vigorously for your candidate, whether it be Trump or one of the third-party candidates. (I dismiss Hillary Clinton as an acceptable candidate for a faithful Catholic on any grounds). But let your advocacy not lead you to sin. The Republic is not dependent on this election. If it were, we would already be lost. It is dependent on all of us becoming, once again, a Godly people – and for that we are simply called to acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around us.

*******

Last Wednesday, the District Attorney (DA) for Orange County, California, Tony Rackauckas, filed suit against DaVinci Biosciences and DV Biologics for trafficking in baby organs for profit. It is the first salvo in local actions around the country. It won’t be the last.

Last year, David Daleiden, who produced the undercover videos (you can click on links to them at the right side of this website) which exposed Planned Parenthood’s (PP) ghoulish practices, put a premium on working with investigators and district attorneys to build the legal case. A key was getting the U.S. House of Representatives involved. It set up a select committee to investigate the charges. It was able to penetrate the fog of confusion, misinformation and attacks Planned Parenthood and its governmental and media enablers used to try to derail the fundamental point: the allegation that Planned Parenthood and some of its corporate partners were illegally conspiring to harvest the organs of babies to sell for profit. In Harris County, Texas, DA Devon Anderson and Asst. DA Sunni Mitchell went so far as to hijack a grand jury charged with investigating Planned Parenthood – and instead colluded with PP to manufacture charges against Daleiden and his partner in filming the videos, Sandra Merritt. California Atty. Gen. Kamala Harris (a candidate for U.S. Senate) made a show raid on Daleiden’s apartment for his supposed smearing of PP.

Daleiden’s patient strategy and steady resolve is paying off. The House Select Committee, solidly guided by Chairman Marsha Blackburn (R-TN) found compelling evidence of collusion between PP and other corporate partners to traffic illegally in infant organs for profit. A judge ordered one set of charges dropped in Harris County; the DA moved to drop the second set after their collusion with PP to hijack the grand jury was revealed. There have been no charges proffered by the California Attorney General’s office. It is looking more and more like a highly publicized fishing expedition that was designed to signal to PP that Kamala Harris would be their eager factotum. The evidence the Orange County DA’s office gathered locally confirmed the larger body of evidence the House Select Committee developed.

Right now, PP is desperately trying to keep out of the news until after the election, in hopes that Hillary Clinton wins and will make this all go away. They are terrified that the matter will be judged on evidence and merit. Well they should be. The evidence is compelling and mounting.

As regular readers know, both Daleiden and Merritt are friends of mine. It has been a great sign of hope to me that the biggest blow against the culture of death in my lifetime has been struck by careful, sustained and steadfast action rather than wild accusations, driven primarily by a young man not yet in his 30’s. God bless David Daleiden and Sandra Merritt – and all who worked with them for over two years to bring this to light.

*******

There are many people here, more than a few of whom are involved in public controversies and issue advocacy. Here is some advice I give to people who are dealing with public issues. It is good counsel in any situation.

Keep a blue collar mentality about your work. Once you start worrying about how important it is, you start going down a rabbit hole. Just focus on the work before you. When the day is triumphant, focus on the work. When the day has been disastrous, focus on the work. In life, you get many setbacks and some triumphs on whatever you do. Focus on the work without being overly distracted by either setback or triumph and you will do well.

Never worry about being great. Worry about being good. Worry about being true. Focus on the work of the day. If you do those things, you will help advance God’s will. That is all the greatness any of us need.

On speaking tours promoting his great book, Democracy in America, Alexis de Tocqueville often said that, “America is not good because she is great: she is great because she is good. When she ceases to be good, she shall cease to be great.”

There are many people today who think they are great with no concern for being good. Their day is almost at its end. Let us focus on being good – and the greatness of God will surely follow.

About charliej373

Charlie Johnston is a former newspaper editor, radio talk show host and political consultant. From Feb. 11, 2011 to Aug. 21, 2012, he walked 3,200 miles across the country, sleeping in the woods, meeting people and praying as he went. He has received prophetic visitation all his life, which he has vetted through a trio of priests over the last 20 years, and now speaks publicly about on this site. Yet he emphasizes that we find God most surely through the ordinary, doing the little things we should with faith and fidelity. Hence the name, The Next Right Step. The visitations inform his work, but are not the focus of it. He lives in the Archdiocese of Denver in the United States.
This entry was posted in Culture, Discernment, Musings, Solidarity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

285 Responses to In the Eye of the Storm

  1. Jean S says:

    If I weren’t a Christian, I’d be pretty seriously concerned right now about the results of this election. If polls can be trusted, I doubt Trump will win. However, knowing that God is in charge changes everything, and I look forward with hope no matter what the results are. The Israelites had some pretty serious defeats and yet they are still here thousands of years later. God made good even out of the Babylonian Captivity. So we may go into captivity for awhile. If we do, then God thinks it is what we need.

    On a personal level, I’ve fought the good fight, having done all I can in my little world to inform family and friends. It’s amazing how every election I get a true grasp of just how small and insignificant my voice is. For the average guy or gal, we have a platform of about a hundred people or less, and most of them ignore you.

    Having said all of that, I have created a Facebook profile called Abraham ofUr, the purpose of which is to call all Christians to unity in prayer for the Christian fight around the world. It is open to the public, so I am inviting all to take a peak and friend me there if you would like. We all know this battle is not going to end at the election regardless, so I am hoping to use that forum as a way for all Christians to organize in prayer and to communicate with one another. I hope eventually to set up a website since I know that is the better forum for what I want to accomplish. But that takes time, money, and talent and I am limited on all three where that is concerned.

    Charlie, I want to thank you for all you have done here and over the years for the Church. Honestly, you have given me reason for hope where I might otherwise not have had any at this point. It is a pretty sad commentary when I see the scenario you laid out before us as a better one than a total defeat to the progressive atheist hammer that is coming down on our heads. The reason is that despite the horror you describe with the battles before us, I will know that God is going to bring us through it into a much better world. For that reason, I can accept it all in His Will.

    Liked by 9 people

  2. Storm Tracker Ed says:

    On Sunday I attended the Closing Ceremony of the Men’s 133 Cursillo of the Diocese of Arlington, Va. The theme of the weekend was John 14:23 Anyone who loves Me will be true to My word, and my Father will love him; We will come to him and make our dwelling place with him.​

    The Spiritual Director ended with a story that is appropriate for this election season for all of us no matter what side of the issues we stand on.

    The Story of the Woodsman and the Stone

    “A woodsman lived in a cabin in the woods. One evening the cabin was filled with light and God spoke to the woodsman. “I have a task for you to perform. Tomorrow morning you will find a large and heavy stone in the yard in front of your cabin. I want you to put your shoulder to that stone and push with all your might.” With that the light went out.

    The next morning the woodsman awoke and sure enough there was a very large and heavy stone right in the middle of his front yard. He approached the stone walking around it and wondering how he could ever possibly move it because it was so large and heavy. He put his shoulder to the stone and pushed with all his might. Nothing. Couldn’t move it a half an inch. But all day long he kept pushing as hard as he could to move that stone. Day after day, week after week, year after year the woodsman pushed the stone with all his might with no results.

    One day after many years trying to move that stone he grew discouraged. He was old and worn out. And he had failed to move the stone even an inch. He began to despair that he would ever be able to move the stone. On that day the Devil spoke to him saying “You have tried awfully hard to move that stone but you know it’s impossible. God set you an impossible task. Tell you what to do. Just take it easy. Just go through the motions a few minutes every day. God won’t know the difference and you’ll get a little rest at last.”

    The woodsman was tired and discouraged and despairing and he thought maybe he should take the Devil’s advice. But he thought maybe he should talk to God first about his situation and his apparent failure to fulfill the task God has set for him.

    That night the light reappeared in the Cabin. The Lord asked the woodsman “You called? Whats the problem?” The woodsman replied ‘Lord, I have pushed with all my might every day for all these years and I haven’t been able to move that stone even a single inch. I have failed the task you set me to do.”

    The Lord replied: “Woodsman you have not failed at all. I asked you to push against that stone with all your might. This you have done. I did not ask you to MOVE it. You have done all you were capable of doing and all I expected of you. Now I will move that stone.” With that the light disappeared.

    The next morning the woodsman awoke. The stone was gone.

    We have to be careful not to confuse what God asks of us and expects of us with God’s work.

    Anyone who loves Me will be true to My word, and my Father will love him; We will come to him and make our dwelling place with him.

    Our task remains to be true to His word. And leave the rest to Him.

    P.U.S.H.

    Pray Until Something Happens

    Liked by 22 people

  3. drea312 says:

    So true! He asks for obedience, not for results 🤔
    It’s also interesting that it wasn’t until the woodsman decided to finally talk to God that God stepped in. We rely on ourselves and try to do do the impossible without Him, all the while He’s just waiting for us to ask for help.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Mack says:

    A couple weeks ago Gov. Jerry Brown of California signed a law making whistleblowing in the medical field a felony. This bill was drafted with the aid of Planned Parenthood and its aim is to protect them from any other type of investigation similar to Daleiden’s.
    This really angers me and shows the corruption of the political class that makes access to abortion the most important thing. They will trample our constitutional rights to insure that. But thank God that he has another plan and this will be history soon!

    http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/440611/california-whistleblower-law-governor-brown-signs-bill-criminalizing-whistleblowing

    Liked by 3 people

  5. You wrote: On speaking tours promoting his great book, Democracy in America, Alexis de Tocqueville often said that, “America is not good because she is great: she is great because she is good. When she ceases to be good, she shall cease to be great.”

    It irks me to no end that HRC has adopted this as one of her mantras. “We are great because we are good.” Just hearing this come out of the mouth of someone who has completely sold us down the river as a country for personal gain, and who has no moral compass whatsoever, makes me want to hit my punching bag as hard as I can. But I can’t, because I severely pulled my hamstring. So, I pray my rosary and yell at the TV. That’s probably not the perfect balance, but it does feel good.

    Liked by 10 people

    • charliej373 says:

      I know. I once heard her say that and nearly gagged. But this is the same woman who blamed Abraham Lincoln for her serial dishonesty at a debate recently. There is no one she won’t slime, living or dead, in the pursuit of her quest for absolute power.

      Liked by 5 people

  6. Craig says:

    Charlie,

    I feel like I should tell people to prepare for the total collapse that’s coming but how do I explain it without being written off as nuts when I start saying … “An angel told this guy Charlie that…”
    I believe things are going downhill fast but since this wasn’t directly revealed to me there is a part that still doubts and I don’t want to tell people and then there is know major collapse and I have lost credibility, especially if people believe me and make financial and family moves that are life altering. Any thoughts? I’m sure you get questions like this all the time.

    Thanks,
    Craig

    Liked by 2 people

    • charliej373 says:

      You know, Craig, that I encourage people to do the normal little everyday things and trust God. I encourage you to jauntily share your certainty that God is good, He is there for all who sincerely call on Him, and He has a plan. That is sufficient. Let the light of your confident trust in God be the beacon that calls to them when the Storm reaches furious pitch.

      Liked by 7 people

    • jj says:

      Craig, when I’m talking to folks I seldom say much about Prophecy, I just use current events and the examples like China’s and Deutsch banks, not to mention the US’s, financial situation, and the sabre rattling around the world. If they seem receptive, I will casually mention Charlie. Right now I’ve got 2 steak dinner riding on the prediction that there will not be a peaceful transfer of power. I find that most people do not really require convincing, the litmus test is all they really need. Just planting seeds, that’s all.

      Liked by 6 people

      • Yes it’s a balancing act depending on the audience with “the storm” discussion. Even after daily mass I change the way I’d present Charlie’s mission. Seems many fear the outward acknowledgment of the supernatural, even among believers. I think privately they are just waiting for someone else to say it’s “ok” 👍🏼…to consider the ways God acts supernaturally. It’s as if the last few decades has created a dismissive attitude in our church …that God coming to earth to interact is childish and simple faith. I know for me and family here we know just the opposite. But one visit to Fatima, Lourdes or other holy pilgrimage sites is such a shot in the arm…there are so many that love Our Lord and Our Lady. It’s seems like all we see is the atheists, agnostics and apostates that we forget an army awaits the rescue!
        This week while praying at 40 days for life vigil..another lady was close by privately praying . When the hour was up, we started to talk… she was like a sponge listening to the rescue of Our Lady form the storm. She was wide eyed like a little kid! in. Yes I’m in my 50s she in her mid 60s. Really could sense so much hope and relief. We talked about how similar journeys of our dads as they passed away from mesothelioma… the blessing we received of accompanying our parents in their suffering … and how this is so against the culture of death to allow these graces .
        Felt Like old friends …as we left she thanked me and said God always sends an “angel” when she was at the vigils. I told her that I felt exactly the same way,…find that when we show our faith our in the public square… So may people are yearning…the passerbys too!

        Liked by 5 people

      • Bob says:

        And I focus on the craziness of the election lately and even friends who follow politics are more willing to admit that there is little hope from the current crop of politicians and I plan to suggest to a friend that is is just as nuts to hope that either of the present candidates can make it better as it is to believe that God does have a better plan. I do not go into specifics as many are not ready for what Charlie predicts but if it does happen, the usual transfer or power failing that is, I will surely share what Charlie has seen and expect to get more response then since to our own American History that would be SO totally unexpected and unpredictable.

        Liked by 3 people

        • jlynnbyrd says:

          After this mornings mass and readings, I felt prompted to have an impromptu 🙂 meeting with my Pastor. This would be our first such formal meeting. He was generous with his time and dedication to me. I am in need of a SD and searching for one has been unfruitful. So I finally thought to speak to my Pastor. One topic led to another. To summarize a lively and 3 hour long meeting, the outcome was that I Really need to pray and discern and I am not allowed to speak of TNRS to his flock. On the other hand should he have a *revelation* I will be the first person he calls. I told him that I would obey what he has asked of me, and gave him a Prayer of Miraculous Trust prayer card in return. What a morning!!

          Liked by 2 people

          • Beckita says:

            Beautiful, Jen. Kudos on your agreement of obedience.

            Liked by 2 people

          • Thanks for sharing Jenn…I did it in email fashion with our pastor…no response. Hope he too will see as things unfold how uniquely positioned our physical parish campus is to help when needed 👍🏼
            Although our parochial vicars reply (as I also sent him the link and summary) was more in line with what I believe Is in the hearts of many clergy , (shared thus far with 5 priests, one who’s a very good friend & just left for Mexico to visit OLOG/Tepayac…and his brother a bishop in the next diocese up. He’s taking stock…😇)

            This was the reply of our current parochial vicar:🙏
            Dear Lisa,
            I am so glad that the bulletin motivates you to more reflection about the current situation in our society. It is true, God gives clear vision to some mystics. I have not heard the last one you mentioned. Many mystics in the world are not even recognized by the Church, though they reveal many messages about the current situation in the world. Let us pray and stick our eyes focus on Jesus Christ who shared His life on the Cross for our redemption. Blessings….,

            And this priest just returned from La Salette

            Liked by 3 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            I love that! ❤

            Like

  7. Annie says:

    Reblogged this on Annie.

    Like

  8. donna says:

    does anyone know what happened to MMBev?

    Liked by 5 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Sadly no. I tried to contact her several times, but got no answer. The last time she posted here was well over a year ago. I hope she is well.

      Like

      • Barb129 says:

        I’ve been thinking about her too and praying for her. I miss her and Petra too. I don’t think she’s been here for a while either. She was always so encouraging to me.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Mick says:

          Yes, Barb; I miss MMBev and Petra. I also miss NancyA, whose husband died quite suddenly a few months back. I’m sure that she and her five children (the youngest is 14 or 15, I think) could use our prayers.

          Liked by 3 people

          • Barb129 says:

            Thank you for the reminder to pray for Nancy and her children…may our dear Lord and His Blessed Mother surround them with their peace and comfort.
            I just can’t help but wonder what happened to all of them.

            Liked by 1 person

  9. The Eye of the Storm. “It’s the deep breath before the plunge.” “It’s as if the whole world was holding its breath.” I’m feeling this tension, Charlie, like pressure being exerted on a great branch in an ice storm, moments before it snaps from the tree. I think how the month of June had news story after news story of global terror and disaster, compared with these past few months of seemingly nothing at all but our pathetic election. The silence is deafening and is actually grating on my nerves. Even global events in motion seem to be in stasis, yet they too are building pressure….or maybe it’s just my mind interpreting things in this way because of the anticipated chaos.

    I’m praying a lot but it’s been difficult to hang on to clarity, to stay the course, and to not become engulfed in events beyond my reach. I’ve lately been a bit labile emotionally (beyond my baseline) as sleep has become frustratingly elusive. My prayers have been quite distracted and rather dry at times but still with the occasional consolation. My attention is scattered as I’m spending too much time idly watching media for signs of an Invasion of Poland while studying medicine in between. Ugh, plus the severe sleep deprivation (perhaps caused by my preoccupations and poor self discipline)….God knows how badly I need sleep.

    Interestingly, my physical pain (neck, back, foot neuropathy) gives me one of the few pleasures in my life — maybe because it’s consistent and predictable like an old friend. I’ve also been showing more kindness toward others despite feeling cranky and out of sorts. My Love for God and for neighbor is growing in my heart despite my moodiness, judgment, and impatience.

    Well, a lot of my recent posts have been rambling like this one because I’m off my game. I’m sad that I have such a compulsive need to talk and be heard. I guess TNRS is my only real outlet.

    Well, I’m helping another woman set up a small refuge at her ranch. Gonna build a garden this week. That makes 3 in the area. I’m fixing to leave my apartment soon and live in my canvas tent for a few weeks to make sure it’s doable and find out what I might need. Getting away from my noisy neighbors might afford me that sleep I badly desire!

    Well, thank you, Charlie. I know you pray for me as you do for all of us. I will continue my prayers for you and for this beautiful bunch of very special people sharing a common struggle toward the Rescue. Thank you for giving us hope.

    Yours in Christ,
    Patrick

    Liked by 16 people

    • charliej373 says:

      Yeah, international events are mounting, but nobody seems to notice because of this cheap “reality” show of an election. N. Korea did another nuke test and has been testing ballistic missile launches. Russia is gathering forces to the west. China continues unimpeded in its makeshift claim of manmade islands as new territory and seizing shipping lanes. We are just numbed because of the sheer volume and frequency of truly fearful events.

      Liked by 12 people

      • Patricia says:

        Charlie,
        This election is revealing hearts, minds and souls. I am one of the electorate who think the polls are bought and paid for, never mind the media, and that the country is waking up to what has been happening in our land for quite awhile. If we did not know that God has a plan (and this revealing is part of it), then I would think that we are headed to a violent revolution with us good ole boys at the heart of it. But being assured that God does indeed have a plan, I am happily and gleefully looking forward to each new revelation and the final debate. As I said before, it must be the street fighter in me but I love this. Maybe it is sort of like being bullying for months in the school yard and finally our older brother caught a whiff of it and he headed over.

        Liked by 10 people

        • charliej373 says:

          And Patricia does have more than a touch of the tough, Boston streetfighter in her!

          Liked by 5 people

          • moreen67 says:

            I won’t mess with Patricia! Ha – in my family – I remember my dad who was very strong breaking up a fight between my 2 neighbors – 2 fathers duking it out – all my dad did was warn them and he pick the guy who was causing the most trouble and knocked him out – at least it ended the fight. My mom told me when she was a kid they a had a girl bully in her hood (Cramer Hill – part of Camden, NJ) mom didn’t go for that and she told the bully’s brother – here hold my eyeglasses (still makes me laugh for some reason and he held those glasses) and mom went in to take care of the situation. She taught my brother also to stick up for himself when he was being bullied…..he did what she said and he was never bullied again.

            Liked by 3 people

          • Patricia says:

            Well just to be clear, I only like to watch street fights, I do not participate in them.
            P.S. My mom would die if she read all this, she thinks I am a lady. 🙂

            Only 50 minutes left to the TKO.

            Liked by 5 people

      • SanSan says:

        It astounds me that this is the only place that seems “concerned” or “aware” of all the fearful events around the world brewing……..people around me say nothing……the sheer fact that all the mounting evidence against clinton and the WH, is met with “crickets”–is dumfounding……..that’s it!…….everyone is “DUMFOUNDED”……it’s like the walking dead.

        Dear Lord, it’s time to wake up your children! Lord have mercy on us all.

        Liked by 9 people

    • eightlambs says:

      I feel the same way about the uneasy quiet….just like the title of this blog post: The Eye of the Storm. It is quiet alright.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Diane says:

        I’ve noticed the uneasy quiet. My daughter has mentioned it for a couple weeks (she doesn’t read this site)….but senses something. It feels like the eye of a storm. No one is noticing the world rising up, with this inane political year engulfing us. Remember, a nation elects the leader it deserves. I remind my freaking out friends and relatives, who fret a Republican won’t win…”Put your faith in God not man and pray for His will and intervention”. Mary, Mother of God Pray For Us.

        Liked by 8 people

    • Mick says:

      God bless you, Patrick. 🙂

      Liked by 5 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Patrick, decades ago, a friend suggest when I could not sleep to pray that Our Mother Mary and our Lord Jesus are cradling me in their loving arms, and then picture that they are. It worked for me! I will pray for you to be comforted.

      Liked by 4 people

      • That’s beautiful, J. I’ll have to try it. What I usually do is imagine I’m on the bottom of the boat in the stormy seas sound asleep next to Jesus – praying the Apostles don’t come down and wake us up.⛵️Doesn’t always work tho. I’ll try your method tonight. 😊💤

        Liked by 4 people

        • Mick says:

          When my kids can’t sleep, I tell them to get in be and to pray five decades of the rosary. I don’t think any of them has ever been able to finish it. 🙂

          Liked by 5 people

          • mvislander says:

            This is the way I go to sleep and it usually knocks me out. I think it is the sense of peace that it brings when you concentrate on the prayers. The worldly problems are then blocked out. A splash of melatonin may help also. Sweet dreams to all, better days are on the way.

            Liked by 3 people

    • Peace be with you Patrick….might I add ditto to all you’ve so openly shared. The distractions and dryness has hounded me a while as well…I’m accepting this as a gift as best I am able …that God recognizes our desire to pray to him and He cares not the words, but rather the intention. Reading the Iives of the saints really aids in this surrender to His Will, so many struggled with this. St. Mother Teresa of Kolkata is my go to 😉 Ending with the words of St. Peter… asking Jesus…”Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.”

      So intense rotator cuff shoulder pain just appeared , knees and hips all feel like I’ve been in manual hard labor in a camp… without reasons as my activity level has curtailed much. And sleep,too. Many wild dreams that are as real as you and I upon recalling them.

      Praise God for these trials…he’s looking for those as Charlie tells us that won’t collapse under panic and be that sign of hope! Keep in keeping on Good man! We will too👍🏼😊

      May The Sacred Heart of Jesus fill your heart with love and peace… and may the Immaculate Heart of Mary comfort you in these days 🙏

      Liked by 6 people

      • “So intense rotator cuff shoulder pain just appeared , knees and hips all feel like I’ve been in manual hard labor in a camp… without reasons as my activity level has curtailed much. ”
        Check for Lyme?

        Liked by 2 people

        • Huh didn’t occur… but few years ago a friends daughter had similar problems and was diagnosed. She lived in Alabama in wooded area. We are in central Fl. Back up the the econolohatchee river / state forest
          Mosquito central usually but summer was drier. Last night however we were swarmed with them. Post Mathew standing water in back conservation area. Swatted 4 that got in house too. Thanks quiet for this😊👍🏻

          Liked by 3 people

          • Oops just realized that lymes is from tick bite which makes even more sense. We do orienteering meets spring and fall …and I was in thick palmettos looking for control as my husband called the coordinates. We usually check we’ll. Also walked our Great Dane Bella out in Econ trails before full heat of summer. 🤔

            Liked by 1 person

      • Joanne says:

        A father was listening to his little girl’s nightly prayers. But instead of saying a prayer, she sang the alphabet song. When she finished, the father asked her way she sang the alphabet song. The little girl replied, “I can’t think of the right words, so I’m giving God all the letters. He’ll know what I mean.”

        Liked by 10 people

    • zeniazenia says:

      I’m watching the possibility of civil war breaking out in one European country then spreading like dominoes through others.

      Liked by 6 people

    • moreen67 says:

      Patrick – I’ve never been a great sleeper but I noticed when I can’t these days my mind is racing as well as my heart. I feel (read) the commonness of emotions as I’m going thru this blog and I think that’s a natural reaction. It’s like we are on heightened alert while others (even though all the information Charlie mentioned in his reply to you is out there) are acting as though nothing is different or changing in the world. I think it’s going to hit them like a bus when things are so apparent you can’t miss it – while we have experienced these emotions to what is happening in our world – almost as a preparation for us to say ok this is reality – God has this – we need to be the light to others. As a professional worrywart (it’s my nature – geez if I only did get paid for it – ha) I can say you are not alone but I also think that we will hang on to the Rock and know that we are (will be) ok. God bless! Maureen

      Liked by 6 people

    • Theresa says:

      Patrick, I too find myself unable to sleep. Not sure if it’s nerves (like before a big test) or if our Dear Lord needs our prayers in the middle of the night – maybe both. Honestly, it will probably be a while before any of us sleep well through the night again (at least until late in 2017). Offering my middle of the night prayers for you and all here! Pax Vobis!

      Liked by 7 people

    • Beckita says:

      Patrick, thank you for your openness. I’m so glad you’re here… that we’re all here, preparing and going through this process together. And it is a process, isn’t it? One with all our idiosyncracies and personality traits duly activated.

      How often, I’m sure, we’ve all been encouraged by spiritual wisdom imparted to just “be” with God in Sacred Silence. I also think of how often Charlie has exhorted us to contemplate these things as surely as Our Lady pondered everything in Her Heart.

      In my spiritual meanderings, I’ve come across a priest who ministers to college kids and I am enjoying his short video talks sponsored by Ascension Press. Fr. Mike makes some fine points of what can happen as we carve out time for silence and engage in a process of self-awareness and allowing God to enter into whatever it is that comes up.

      Liked by 7 people

      • omarie says:

        I LOVE this guy! Well, I mean priest. I suspect he’s a good teacher. He meets his students where they are, relates the lesson to what they already know about the topic and leads them to the final point of the lesson at the end. I really liked his video’s on the reason/why (as Catholics)we make the sign of the cross and why we genuflect….. Excellent videos

        Liked by 5 people

      • Maryj says:

        Ah Fr Mike was my parish priest shortly after he was ordained, he has been given quite a gift hasn’t he! One of the kindest and funniest persons I have ever had the pleasure of knowing.

        Liked by 3 people

    • Another Karen says:

      Patrick, I appreciate your ramblings, so please do continue! And your neighbors, etc., are fortunate to have you near as the storm approaches despite your self -described testy temperament at times – I share that trait which I always bring to my weekly confession. You will be in my prayers, and I hope you are able to get some sleep!

      Liked by 5 people

      • Thank you, Karen. Here’s a ramble: Once, one of my penances was to simply say “hi” to this one bothersome fellow that’s been waking me up. (I sometimes shamefully ignore people that I don’t like.) Father Dillon said he’s probably lonely (true) and I might be the only one to show him the love Christ has for all of us. So, a day had passed when I went to check the mail, and I saw this neighbor had stepped outside and had his back to me. As I approached, like a wise guy waited until I was two feet away and burst out with a loud, “Hey, there!” and scared the dickens out of him. He jumped but tried to play it off and said “hey” back as cool as he could muster (…priceless). And I scurried back into my apartment stifling a laugh. That was probably not exactly what Father had wanted, so the next week…back to confession….😇

        Liked by 6 people

    • Bob says:

      Yes Patrick I am awake at night more often lately and I think God has it so as I can often pray more fervently on my bed when the house is quiet, but when I know it is time for some sleep I either pray decades of the Rosary or repeat a number of times. “Jesus I trust in You” reminding myself that God is God and can manage while I sleep. Psalm 127 Vs. 2 does have a word for us of the place for sleep.

      Liked by 4 people

    • janet says:

      God Bless you Patrick..I pray you get some badly needed sleep.

      Liked by 3 people

  10. CrewDog says:

    Can anyone here convince me that we are not living in such Days as Isaiah spoke of some 2700 years ago or that much of what we see, all about us … every day, has no reasonable explanation other than satanic influence!?? A World, Truly, Turned Upside Down …… Catastrophic … and BoobLand USA is at The Mall ;-(
    Chap 5:
    20-Woe to you that call evil good, and good evil: that put darkness for light, and light for darkness: that put bitter for sweet, and sweet for bitter.
    21-Woe to you that rue wise in your own eyes, and prudent in your own conceits.
    22-Woe to you that are mighty to drink wine, and stout men at drunkenness.
    23-That justify the wicked for gifts, and take away the justice of the just from him.

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 13 people

  11. Pingback: In the Eye of the Storm | Handicap

  12. Dawn Marie says:

    Dear Charlie,

    Back in 2007, my husband and I started a new business that looked promising the first few months. But then we were hit with a severe recession in our area and our growth tanked so we only had enough money to pay the employees and barely cover rent. We had signed a personal guarantee so we had bankruptcy hovering over us for two years as we used all of our savings. We also went into this while I was pregnant with our seventh miracle blessing baby. Truly she was a blessing at this time for how could I be pregnant and God forget me? The Lord showed his providence through the generosity of so many good people who were mostly strangers, but because of them we were able to pay our bills, eat food, and have clothes to wear. A lady even gave us her season tickets to see Godspell as the Muny.. It was a passing desire in my heart and I was blown away when I got those tickets for my family .One of the things that got us through that time and kept us sane and happy was found written on the cardboard box of eggs sold at shopn’save grocery. It said “today is the day which the Lord has made, rejoice And be glad in it.God did help us. No bankruptcy, we sold the business, and my husband got a great job working for a religious order. But I will never forget the lesson to be grateful and to praise God constantly for his goodness. So dear people please don’t lose sleep or worry. Praise God for all of the sweetness he gives you today and do not worry about tomorrow or how any of these things will be filled. bless you all

    Liked by 8 people

  13. Craig says:

    Charlie,

    Do you think those of us who have followed your message will be able to discern who Menses is when things get really bad?

    Thanks

    Like

  14. Dawn Marie says:

    Thanks so much for your encouragement. Blessings to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. LB says:

    Great insight Charlie.

    What you said about being great vs being good struck a chord with me. Our country no longer seeks to be good. We have been overtaken by those who seek greatness at all costs. Our holy church in her great wisdom talks about the means not being justified by the end. That notion comes from the desire to be good, which can only be done properly with God leading us. But Our society has rejected God and thus our moral compass for what is good. Yet we have still maintained our ambition (which in and of itself is not bad). It leads to misguided passions and drives. It leads to people who think ending the lives of children is ok because it supposedly allows for great outcomes for the mothers (??). It leads to greed that erodes the desire to help our neighbors.it leads to us raising kids who put more into excelling in school and extracurricular vs putting more into developing character and sharpening their souls !! It leads to GREAT doctors who can explain every stage of human development but literally argue about if a human at conception is actually a human !!!The goodness in their hearts is hardened towards the sanctitiy of life but their academic and professionals conquests are indeed great .

    This reminds me to examine my life and see if there are any areas where I seek to be great verus good. I confess I have done this ! I have been so humbled by the storms I have encountered in my life and hope to one day be able to focus on doing good (vs doing great or WANTING to be perceived as great).I am making a conscious effort to write a book long response so I will stop here for now lol!

    God bless!

    Liked by 3 people

    • charliej373 says:

      The whole political realm has become an exercise in self-actualization instead of service. I think it is because once the elite class lost their faith in God, they desperately sought some form of immortality – and settled on the Dollar General version of imposing their will on others by force. I think the preening vanity is a mask over a great despair.

      Liked by 4 people

  16. Lance Redden says:

    Hey yall a big shout out from deep east texas . …how yall doing….I just have a quick question for charlie…after the rescue do you think…there will be more vocations to the religious life…was just thinking….thanks charlie….

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Pat says:

    Charlie, I am a new follower to your site and I have tried to read as much as possible. The problem I have is that you often say that events happening now you were told about years ago but you seem to be ambiguous about what event you are talking about. The only specific instances you do mention are the coming elections on November 8, 2016 where you say neither Trump or Clinton will win the presidency. I wish you were as “specific” about all (or some) of the other predictions you say you were told about and have actually come to pass. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    • charliej373 says:

      I am sparse on specific detail here. I maintain that authentic prophecy is primarily a call to action for specific times, not mere fortune-telling. In fact, I suspect (actually know) that getting people to think of prophecy as fortune-telling has been a tool of the satan to distract people from what they are called to do by tickling their ears with supposed inside knowledge. So I stick largely to broad currents.

      Having said that, this piece covers the few specific things I have given. Meanwhile, this piece gives some details on the prophetic experience – and how much more difficult it is than just a linear timeline.

      Finally, I have never said neither Clinton or Trump will win the presidency. I have said they will not serve. The key date is inauguration, not election day.

      Liked by 4 people

  18. CrewDog says:

    As more of this leaks out it will not bode well for future relations between Catholics and others … especially conservative Christians/Jews. Just more SIGNS of unpleasantness to come! Something else to consider/plan for at the local level when the finger pointing & scapegoating occurs, seeds of “Civil War” are being planted …. EVERYWHERE!!! ;-(

    “Hillary Clinton Campaign Forwarded Plan to White House to Promote Iran Treaty Using Catholic Prelates’ Influence”
    http://www.breitbart.com/big-government/2016/10/22/hillary-clinton-campaign-forwarded-plan-white-house-promote-iran-treaty-using-catholic-prelates-influence/

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Like

  19. As we approach the election, a thought occurred to me, and I had to get it out. As always, please don’t post if inappropriate to too dire.

    When a rude child realizes that, despite his best sleight of hand,
    he is still about to lose the game, he will throw it.

    He may invent special rules, blame everyone around him, sweep the board clean.
    He may devise an emergency, so the game can never be finished.
    He may accuse the other players of cheating, and inflict a child’s fury of destruction and screaming.
    He may defame the other players, and banish them from his house.
    He may destroy the game, that no one can play it again.

    But the game has grown, and the players have all chosen sides,
    and the stakes have grown to match civilization itself.

    Liked by 3 people

  20. pslmfortysix says:

    Thought I’d share a recent moment of peace here in the eye of the storm…
    Last night my husband and I attended an exhibition at a local Catholic Church titled “Relics: Treasures of the Church.” It was a BEAUTIFUL presentation and a wonderful experience to be in the “presence” of so many saints. It was very well attended, with many families and young children present. Gave me some peace in these crazy days! 🙂

    From their website: http://www.treasuresofthechurch.com/

    “Treasures of the Church is a ministry of evangelization of the Catholic Church. Run by Fr. Carlos Martins of the Companions of the Cross, its purpose is to give people an experience of the living God through an encounter with the relics of his saints in the form of an exposition. Each exposition begins with a multi-media presentation on the Church’s use of relics that is scriptural, catechetical, and devotional, leading to a renewal of the Catholic faith for many people. After the teaching those in attendance have an opportunity to venerate the relics of some of their favorite saints.”
    The exposition involves some 150 relics, including those of St. Maria Goretti, St. Therese of Lisieux (the “Little Flower”), St. Francis of Assisi, St. Anthony of Padua, St. Thomas Aquinas, and St. Faustina Kowalska. The supreme highlight is one of the largest relics of the Church’s claim to the True Cross in the world and a piece of the Veil that, according to sanctioned tradition, is believed to have belonged to Our Lady.

    The exhibit will be moving on to Illinois and Michigan next. Not to be missed if you have the chance to go!

    Liked by 3 people

    • Mick says:

      Ooh… Michigan! I’m going to have to check out the website and see where the exhibit will be. I hope it’s near here; we could make it a “field trip” for homeschooling (call it religion and history classes for the day). Thanks for the heads-up, 46. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

