Be Not Afraid

god-has-a-plan

When pondering how God repeats a certain theme or message in the Scriptures to stress its importance, I found an information gem from an online reference source. The King James version of the bible includes the phrase, “be not afraid,” 29 times. The New American Standard Bible includes, “do not fear,” 57 times and, “do not be afraid,” 46 times. Some assert that, “fear not,” and similar phrases are present in the bible 365 times.

Pope St. John Paul II began his papacy with the cry, “Be not afriad!” An often repeated segment from a talk given by then Cardinal Wojtyla when he was in the USA in 1976 heralded our current struggle.

“We are now standing in the face of the greatest historical confrontation humanity has ever experienced. I do not think that wide circles of the American society or  wide circles of the Christian community realize this fully. We are now facing the final confrontation between the Church and the anti-Church, of the Gospel versus the anti-Gospel. This confrontation lies within the plans of Divine Providence; it is a trial which the whole Church, and the Polish Church in particular, must take up.

It is a trial of not only our nation and the Church, but in a sense, a test of 2,000 years of culture and Christian civilization with all of its consequences for human dignity, individual rights, human rights and the rights of nations.”

Recent headlines and news excerpts provide more evidence of this “greatest historical confrontation humanity has ever experienced,” this civil war being fought on societal and cultural norms.

Pyongyang launches 4 missiles towards Japan

Christians are the most persecuted religious group, according to studies

South Sudanese Bishops Call for Food Aid, Peace Negotiations

Somalia: 110 Dea from Hunger in the Past 48 Hours in Drought

Media Bias on Steroids Since Trump Election

Enraged Protesters at Town Hall Event

Trump, Sex Trafficking & How It Ties to Russia

Live Action Released Footage Showing That  Planned Parenthood Trained Employees on How to Identify Undercover Journalists Instead of Sex Traffickers 

Our country, our world and, as you all must see around you, individuals and families are going through severe trials. We must choose, in the face of pervasive evil, to fear not, to have faith and to embrace trust. I continue to hear accounts witnessing to the power of the Prayer of Miraculous Trust so I remind us all to reach for it and pray it with firm resolve to choose trust. As the ugliness vents, erupting and spewing all around us, remember the Surrender Novena and its fruit, bearing Christ’s Peace amidst great turmoil. Just yesterday, Pope Francis reminded us of another shield against evil which brings direction, consolation and strength: the Word of God. It has been said that reading the Sacred Scriptures is a powerful medicine. Anyone on maintenance meds knows the need for the daily dose(s). Our Holy Father suggests we treat the bible as we treat our cellphones: check our bibles as often as we check our cellphones.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

79 Responses to Be Not Afraid

  1. pvaldez7 says:

    Very appropriate reminder Beckita for these times. Thank you !

    Paul from Katy

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Account says:

    Great article – just in time. Thank you!

    Liked by 6 people

  3. Theresa Tamborine says:

    Just peaking in at this post. I am still back in February 25th, can’t keep up. SOOOO much to read! Keeping the Rosary part of Nineveh90 although I am not registered. Saw Beckita’s mention of her online group re Divine Will and thought I would include the following. Just received a copy
    of “it”s Time” newspaper (Regina, Saskatchewan) and there are 8 pages (printed so it can be copied on 8×11 paper) of the Divine Appeal – the King appeals to His children which includes ‘Disarm Divine Justice From 11AM – Hours of the Passion’ from a letter of Luisa Piccareta, October 7, 1915. Also included is the Hours of the Passion headlined – Jesus is Crucified, and with him we disarm the Divine Justice (177). My good Jesus, I see that your enemies lift the heavy wood of the cross, and then let it drop into the hole they had prepared in advance. And You, my sweet love, remain suspended between heaven and earth.
    The Editor states his Divine Will prayer group gather to pray the Disarm Divine Justice Hour prayers by saying the Joyful mysteries, then read the Hours of the Passion and finish with the Chaplet of Divine Mercy. This is one way.
    Decided to start this Disarm Divine Justice Hour with my Chaplet of Divine Mercy yesterday.
    I don’t know how you all keep up with everything. Slow reader, attention span not bad, comprehend BUT forget some,10 minutes after I have read it. Do love the video re Candle in the World. Hope that’s right, will take too long to go back and look right now.
    Praying for all here.

    Liked by 12 people

    • tunaonfriday says:

      For a couple of years I’ve been asking & yearning for real devotion to St Joseph but thanks to your info about recent apparitions in Brazil, I think my prayer is being answered. Thank you so much, Beckita.

      Liked by 6 people

      • Doug says:

        Here is a St. Joseph prayer I recite almost every day before work. I started this to pray it for a friend who’s son is dealing with drug addiction. This prayer has become such a part of me now that I cannot stop. It was written by a very Holy Eastern Rite priest I know. I keep it on my smart phone; another good excuse to have my nose in my phone 😎

        Prayer to St. Joseph

        O Blessed St. Joseph, loving and chaste spouse of the Virgin Mary, and beloved protector and guardian of Jesus our Savior, protect and guide me. You are a splendid model of justice, humility, and chastity. Your burning love for God the Father motivated you to surrender yourself totally to his will. Your gentleness, purity of heart, and obedience were fortified by your interior life of prayer, fidelity to the word of God, and openness to the Holy Spirit. Teach me to be transparent so that I may always obey the moving of the Spirit in my life. Holy Spirit, renew and soften my heart, and transform and enlighten my mind that I may only seek Jesus and desire all that he wants for me. May I grow in all those virtues so evident in the life of Saint Joseph. May I die to sin, pride, and my false self so that I may live in Christ Jesus and discover my true self in him. May I be filled with a love of God and loyalty to my family. Bless me with a joyful and steadfast life and a peaceful and holy death. I offer this prayer in the name of Jesus, my Savior, whose heart is burning with love for me and through the intersession of Saint Joseph.

        Amen

        Liked by 8 people

      • leel004 says:

        I JUST heard a talk from Dr. Mark Maravelli (?) about St. Joseph.
        He said SO many things Iwas unaware of that are thought by the Church fathers about St. Joseph…one being that he, Joseph, is a terror tothe demons!
        He is second to Mary of humans that make the adversary tremble at his name!….so. SayJoseph, Joseph, Joseph!!
        And that because of hiis unique position as earthly stepfather to The SOn of GOD, there was a very unique stamp on Joseph’s soul to give authority over thr Son andthe Son’s acceptance and connection to Joseph. It was have been conflicting as a human to have authority over G od at times …. although priests do it at every Mass by waiting on the priest to utter the call for Him to come upon the alter…no matter what state teh priest’s soul is in!
        Truly amazing at the gems we have intheChurch! Thank you all for keeping this site of encouragement going. And if Charlie is peeking in occasionally, i send him (and you all) aloha during this Lenten waiting season. God bless

        Liked by 6 people

  4. PrayerPartner says:

    Thank you for this. One never knows the day when you feel defeated, discouraged, or just in need of some spiritual encouragement. Being able to come to this post and find some uplifting words as well as some meaningful prayers is just so valuable to me. Thank you so much. God bless you for your thoughtfulness on behalf of all of us here at TNRS.

    Liked by 13 people

    • nanannda2 says:

      I love those gentle, powerful, hope-filled words “Be not afraid” and “God has a plan”. They are a true anchor in this Storm, every moment of every day.
      As I was contemplating the reading yesterday about Jesus’ 40 days in the desert, a few thoughts came to me I thought I might share here. They helped me to envision a plan to follow Jesus’ example in dealing with the enemy.
      Jesus uses God’s words to conquer Satan.
      He destroyed the power of temptation with a declaration of faith in God’s words of TRUTH.
      Truth does have actual power over the lie, not arguing about the lie, but simply, steadfastly stating the truth in the face of it.
      Satan’s tactic: Repeat, repeat, repeat the lie until it pierces the soul.
      Our tactic: Repeat, repeat, repeat the truth until it penetrates the soul and fills it.
      Keeping the Word of God in our mind and heart, and speaking it in faith, empowers us to
      destroy the power of the lie to tempt, persuade or lead into error.
      Satan’s tactic: To use the lie as an appeal to reason and our human worldly desires.
      Our tactic: The truth enlightens our reason and appeals to our God given desire for the good.
      When Satan is forced by the power of Truth to desist, he goes away a loser. But he will surely return with a different tactic, so we need to be prepared for it with God’s Word.
      Satan’s tactic: Catch them unprepared.
      Our tactic: Always be prepared (armed).
      Our enemy will try to make us weary with his persistent, relentless pursuit.
      We will never weary if we persist in our pursuit of the victory, because our only effort is to believe and to speak God’s Word in faith, and the Word itself accomplishes it.
      God save all here!
      Blessed be God!

      Liked by 9 people

  5. dorothy duffy says:

    sorry….meant to say. “Hope you are not copying Mark Mallet’s writings”

    >

    Liked by 1 person

    • Beckita says:

      Not sure how “meant to say’ fits your concern, dorothy. I don’t read Mark Mallet’s writings. Sometimes I read a comment referencing him and quoting his work. God bless you.

      Liked by 1 person

      • nanannda2 says:

        I’m wondering if Dorothy was referring to your post or mine, Beckita.In any case I simply wrote these thoughts that came to me as I pondered the Gospel. I do read Mark, but he is a spiritual giant in my book, so if something I said resembles his writing I can only say the Holy Spirit was working overtime then! God bless all here.

        Liked by 3 people

  6. “Be Not Afraid” is the brother to “Don’t Worry,” which was the theme of last week’s gospel readings. I find this topic extremely important for our general sanity. Even beyond the obvious external big issues of the day, every person has a multitude of crosses they face every single day on individual matters. It can seem overwhelming.

    I don’t generally share my blog posts here (and if you do not wish that I do now, feel free to remove the link), but I wrote my thoughts on this after last week’s readings and I believe it fits in well with your post: https://catholicdiatribes.wordpress.com/2017/02/28/we-are-not-to-worry-but-what-does-that-mean/

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Leslie'sOwn says:

    Thank you…the Bible is so important! I only look at our family’s cell phone at the most once a day. I will have to pay more attention than that to my Bible! Thanks for the reminder!

    Liked by 4 people

  8. Theresa Tamborine says:

    Urgent Prayers needed! The daughter of our C.W.L. Diocesan President just had her ninth child
    (Ambrose Joseph) who is now with the Lord and the mother is having severe complications. Please pray for Helecia. Thank you.

    Liked by 5 people

  9. chris says:

    Very good articles, had a hard time sleeping though after reading the last two on sex trafficking. Breaks your heart knowing how human beings and children are being used, exploited, persecuted and starved. Trying to do the best I can with whomever God places in front of me today. Keeping them and all here in my prayers.

    Liked by 8 people

    • Beckita says:

      I share that heartache with you, Chris. Faced with this horrific reality of human trafficking, I lean into an adaptation of the aspiration from the Surrender Novena: “Jesus, I surrender all details to you, take care of everything.” God bless you, Chris, as we join together living the heart of the message proclaimed and fostered here.

      Liked by 8 people

      • Bob says:

        And we are so little when we look at such great evils in the world around us not to mention those times when God shows us our own hearts! Our only options are to pray and to trust and to do the little we can do ourselves. May help soon arrive!!

        Liked by 8 people

    • leel004 says:

      Over here in ‘paradise’ hawaii is aboutto set to legalise suicide. There are 5 bills to make it happen one way or another, and the ‘leader’ of this demonic idea is under thebanner of death withdignity isfrom a so called catholic. As it is currentlypassing from one side to the other ireadthat N..korea is about to have missile readiness for Hawaii.
      And i want to SCREAM…how can you NOT see the writings on the wall????
      God help us. So i got Mama Mary in my hand and ushering requests left and right on my rosary for conversions.and as JP2 made famius…BE NOT AFRAID!

      Liked by 3 people

  10. Littlelight says:

    Never give up! Never lose hope! Chose hope & life especially when facing darkness and death, always trusting in Our Awesome God and Our Queen to carry us through it all. Miracles happen then, when we first chose joy and life in the bleakest circumstances, being the first to extend our Trust in God’s unfailing goodness. It is true what all the Saints of our church say—the rosary is the weapon! Also, God delights in child-like faith/joy! I highly encourage all to read about Infant of Prague and ask Him to give this gift of grace (child like faith, joy, hope–so very powerful).

    So much is happening in my personal life, I can barely keep up. I haven’t forgotten about any of you. God is moving so very powerfully and many wonders are revealed in the relentless onslaught of vomit, in my own personal life. There is so many good outcomes happening it makes my head spin—thank you God & Blessed Mother! While it is exhilarating, it is also exhausting, and relentless, so I have little time to read. I just want to say y’all are in my prayers & I want to encourage you all. By the grace of God, with the intercession of the heavenly court I/we all will continue to chose hope & joy!

    Another source of positive encouragement is the Christian Radio ministry K-Love. I’m not sure what the local stations are, but if you have it in your listening area, tune in! So many powerful stories of grace under fire, renewal, and God’s goodness revealed. He is working powerfully there, to reach any/all who have ears to hear. I can’t say enough good about it, God bless them, and us all!

    Thank you Beckita, Charlie, Steve, Doug (wonderful news about your applying for the Deaconate!), All TNRS’s. Let’s all keep on keepin’ on everyone!

    Liked by 10 people

  11. BD says:

    So true Beckita, God does have a plan. I pray everyday that I may live faithfully within the confines of his Plan…

    Liked by 3 people

  12. CrewDog says:

    The below, sadly, is exactly what we have been seeing since 8 Nov unfold on a daily basis. Apparently set-up last Summer. There are many here who believe that Civil War II could not possibly happen in “Modern” 21st Century USA. I’m guessing that there were many who had similar thoughts in 1860. Pray & Prepare!!

    #OBAMAGATE: EXPOSING THE OBAMA DEEP STATE –
    Obama’s third term has begun. Our Republic is in danger.
    http://www.frontpagemag.com/fpm/266022/obamagate-exposing-obama-deep-state-daniel-greenfield

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 5 people

    • Beckita says:

      Aware of the contents of this article via other reporting sources, I find the title of this piece very interesting, CD.

      Liked by 3 people

      • moreen67 says:

        You know Beckita I couldn’t vote for either (I wrote in Bush ((low energy))) Trump to me was the same Trump I was aware of for decades but calling himself a Republican now, however, now I’m wondering if the things in his personality I don’t care for (more the not taking pooh from people) is/are what God is going to use to expose the agenda of the left side (of course I can’t even begin to know the mind of God) but now I’m at least being more open minded about Trump and of course praying for him (I try to always pray for any president). CD – had to share your article with my bible study teacher – I’m sure it will make for interesting discussion amongst a few of us that attend the class.

        Liked by 2 people

    • nanannda2 says:

      Very interesting that an article I read this morning on MSN, in reference to the President “quietly” putting people in place in 100’s of government positions, used the term “shadow government”, imply that he is doing this secretly and with ulterior motives. Ironic to say the least.

      Liked by 4 people

  13. Doug says:

    I have my Bible on my cell phone. So I have a good excuse to check my cell phone 😎

    Liked by 6 people

    • Beckita says:

      Then you should consider entering the Diaconate, Doug. Oh! Wait!

      Liked by 4 people

      • Tarja says:

        Thank you for your thorough answer, zeniazenia! I hope I understood everything in the right way (because of my lack of language skills). I am unfortunately unable to in-depth discussion for the same reason…. There would be so much to say but I just could not formulate my sentences so I would like to. In any case it’s interesting to share thoughts of our Faiths.

        Just today I got to my e-mail this little article of Connie Rossini. I admire her and with pleasure read her “musings” and teachings. This one seems to fit Lent very well.

        How can you know what your disordered attachments are?

        Tomorrow is the feast of the great Carmelite Doctor of the Church, St. John of the Cross. I will be giving a talk tomorrow morning on Spiritual Detachment: What, Why, and How? Here is a small sample from that talk, on discerning what disordered attachments you have in your life.

        When you want to know what your attachments are so that you can work to remove them, ask yourself the following questions: What is it hard for me to give up?
        If I give up coffee for Lent, do I break down half-way through and drink it? Do I avoid giving up sweets, because I know it would be too hard?

        Maybe there are things I can successfully do without for forty days, but when Lent is over, I can’t wait to indulge in again. Could I give up TV for life, if God asked it of me? Could I live without novels? Would I grumble if I had to suddenly reign in my spending?

        What is keeping me from doing my duty? Do I ignore my kids so that I can spend more time on Facebook? Do I skip my prayer time to go out with a friend? Do I think about what would make the other people in my life happy, or am I mostly catering to myself?

        What distracts me? When I pray, am I thinking about Monday Night Football, instead of Jesus? How about that great dinner I just ate? When other people are talking, am I composing an email in my head (or actually texting), instead of listening?

        Do my activities glorify God? Can I go straight from surfing the net to prayer, or does it make praying harder? Do my radio-listening habits naturally lead me closer to God, or farther away? Is talking on the phone a near occasion of the sin of gossip? Does my reading material make me angry or more peaceful?

        Everything that God created is good. But when we make anything other than God an end in itself, we make it into an idol. We are breaking the first commandment. We must strive to make everything in our lives a springboard towards a closer relationship with God.

        Connie Rossini is one of my “Catholic riches”.

        Thank you for sharing! Tarja

        P.S. I try now without those links.

        Liked by 3 people

        • zeniazenia says:

          What beautiful questions, Tarja. With Jesus and His Love, we become the salt of the earth, the lamp which reflects Jesus’ light for all to see, the family member who wisely sold everything to buy the pearl of great price then built her family a home on the rock. 😊

          Liked by 2 people

      • Doug says:

        You are too funny Beckita.

        Liked by 1 person

    • leel004 says:

      Killing two birds …oops actually three birds with one stone…
      1. Checking phone
      2. Reading the bible
      3. Obeying the Pope

      Youo e bad dude Doug…and i do mean that in a nice way! Aloha

      Liked by 2 people

    • madkatmomma says:

      I have the Laudate App which is a treasure – two versions of the bible, daily readings, prayers liturgy of the hours, rosary/chaplet podcasts, stations and my personal favorite a confession checklist that helps you with the examination of conscience and gives you notes to take into the confessional 🙂 Is it a sin to use a cheat-sheet in confession?

      Liked by 3 people

    • zeniazenia says:

      That was my first thought too Doug. I would be much more upset if I couldn’t access the Holy Bible.

      Liked by 2 people

  14. nanannda2 says:

    Good Lenten morning to you all. I pray your Lent is going well.
    For all you people with OCD out there, whether minimal or otherwise, I think I found a way to maximize the disciplines of Lent by adding this to your list : Resist the impulses that come to you throughout the day, offering it to God for the sake of love and of penance. Some of us have 100’s of opportunities every single day and some might have thousands (but who’s counting ?– pun intended 🙂 ! Seriously though, I’m finding it very effective in turning my mind and heart toward the Lord many times a day in a way that causes me to pause, think about my action and the choice I have to say “no”, resisting that impulse and using that to say “for love of you, Jesus”. The little pains are worth it !
    God bless all here.
    Blessed be God in his angels and his saints.

    Liked by 6 people

  15. Pat Maranda says:

    This is a great word. Thank you for encouraging me to trust God with all of my heart. Yes, we are indeed in a ferocious battle with evil and we must depend on God wholeheartedly. We know that Jesus died for us and has conquered the devil.

    Liked by 5 people

  16. Sean Sullivan says:

    Be not afraid… I found myself reading an article Charlie wrote in 2014. It fits quite well here. I like how he ends with a Marian devotion 🙂

    https://charliej373.wordpress.com/2014/07/29/hopes-eternal-spring/

    Liked by 3 people

  17. elongo2015 says:

    Hello–I just wanted to say that though it appeared to be a “peaceful transfer of power” on Jan. 20, 2017, we now know that in truth, it was NOT. Obama has mobilized, through his “non-profit” OFA (Organizing for America) around 32,000 protestors, rioters, and anti-government “volunteers” that are in essence, dedicated to making our nation ungovernable. Obama may have, on the surface, relinquished his rule, but in reality, behind the scenes, with his faithful cronies and the overt help of the MSM and the majority of Democrats are creating upheaval and turmoil throughout our nation.

    We are in a “soft coup” as we speak, and it will be getting worse, not better, until our nation returns to God.

    President Trump WAS from outside the political channels–he was never a politician, never an elected leader prior to this past election.

    Charlie Johnston, in his humility and obedience to Our Precious Lord, stopped his public ministry, but I do not believe he was “wrong” or deceitful in his prophesy. I DO believe, however, just as St. Joan of Arc and other saints have interpreted visions and locutions incorrectly in certain details, that Charlie may have gotten some interpretation details wrong.

    In any case, I would ask all of you to ask the intercession of Our Blessed Mother, under the title of “Our Lady of America”, for prayers for Charlie and his family, friends, and fellow Christians. I would ask all of you to entrust our entire nation, and especially POTUS Trump, VPOTUS Pence, and their families and cabinet to Our Lady of America, and also to pray for our Pope Francis, and Pope Benedict XVI.

    http://www.ourladyofamerica.org/wordpress/

    Prayer to The Immaculate Conception, Patroness of Our Land (Written at the behest of Our Lady, October 5, 1956 by Sister Mary Ephrem)
    Oh Immaculate Mother, Queen of our country, open our hearts, our homes, and our land to the coming of Jesus, your Divine Son. With Him, reign over us, O heavenly Lady, so pure and so bright with the radiance of God’s light shining in and about you. Be our leader against the powers of evil set upon wresting the world of souls, redeemed at such a great cost by the sufferings of your Son and of yourself, in union with Him, from that same Savior, Who loves us with infinite charity.

    We gather about you, O chaste and holy Mother, Virgin Immaculate, Patroness of our beloved Land, determined to fight under your banner of holy purity against the wickedness that would make all the world an abyss of evil, without God and without your loving maternal care.

    We consecrate our hearts, our homes, our Land to your Most Pure Heart, O great Queen, that the kingdom of your Son, our Redeemer and our God, may be firmly established in us.

    We ask no special sign of you, sweet Mother, for we believe in your great love for us, and we place in you our entire confidence. We promise to honor you by faith, love, and the purity of our lives according to your desire.

    Reign over us, then, O Virgin Immaculate, with your Son, Jesus Christ. May His Divine Heart and your most chaste Heart be ever enthroned and glorified among us. Use us, your children of America, as your instruments of peace among men and nations. Work your miracles of grace in us, so that we may be a glory to the Blessed Trinity, Who created, redeemed, and sanctifies us.

    May your valiant spouse, St. Joseph, with the holy Angels and Saints, assist you and us in “renewing the face of the earth.” Then when our work is over, come, Holy Immaculate Mother, and as our Victorious Queen, lead us to the eternal kingdom, where your Son reigns forever as King.

    Amen
    (200 days)
    Nihil Obstat: Daniel Pilarczyk, S.T.D.
    Imprimatur: +Paul F. Leibold, V.G.
    Cincinnati, Jan. 25, 1963

    Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      Elongo, many think and feel as you do. However, Charlie set the criterion for his entrance into his watchful retirement. When I contemplate all that has transpired and what we see unfolding before us, I often reread this passage from Charlie’s piece, “Reality Check.”

      “Sometime in the next year, I will be significantly wrong about something. It won’t be the Rescue, but it will be something. When it comes, it will not be a test of me, for I already know that God is good and seeks our reclamation. It will be a test for some of you, to see whether you have put your faith in me or your faith in God. If it is in me, your faith was always ill-placed. God is good, all the time, whatever the circumstances – and works to call us all back to Him. When I am wrong, I will accept the correction with gratitude and more wisdom. I will not leave the scene unless it is one of the fundamentals, and then, in full obedience to Holy Church, I will wait on the Lord, knowing that He will strengthen my heart and that it serves His purpose to call all His children back to Him.”

      Thank you for reminding us about Our Lady of America and seeking her intercession for our country. May all her American children return to her Son. God bless you.

      Liked by 5 people

    • BD says:

      elongo, I met with Sister Millie several times in the late 80’s or so and she told me directly that devotion to Our Lady of America would not blossom until the entire world had undergone a horrible conflagration. I think we’re very close to that time now…

      Liked by 4 people

  18. madkatmomma says:

    I have a question for the group. Popping up on Facebook and Twitter are a lot of negative articles about Pope Francis. Usually when I look up his actual comments, it’s easy to see the report is taken way out of context. For example, I read recently Pope Francis said priests in poor countries can marry. Research showed that he did not say anything like that. *sigh* Now I’ve been seeing a lot of articles that imply that there is something sinister going on in the Vatican because Pope Francis has fired all the members of some committees. I’m assuming he plans to replace them with people he thinks are more in line with the direction he wants to take the church. Trump is doing the same thing – like any new boss they like to have their own people in key positions. Does someone know what is really going on? I know a lot of conservatives are claiming the Holy Father is a socialist or communist, especially since Amoris Laetitia. I know that some cardinals have asked him to clarify (dubia) but the fact that he didn’t do it “on demand” doesn’t mean he won’t. Or, it could mean that he thinks they should take what he wrote at face value. I’m pretty conservative but I see Pope Francis as echoing the teaching of Christ – with special emphasis on compassion for sinners. Could anyone who knows more about this whole fracas explain in as neutral a way as possible what all the fuss is about? I’m really sad for our church that in these troubled times we are fighting with each other.

    Like

    • Beckita says:

      Madkatmomma, it is heartbreaking to see the confusion and division which is prevalent within the Chruch. Our Lady of Akita forwarned us these days would come if we, as a collective human race, didn’t return to her Son. Her words were: “The work of the devil will infiltrate even into the Church in such a way that one will see Cardinals opposing Cardinals, Bishops against other Bishops.”

      We have often discussed this problem on site. You can actually find “Pope Francis” in the tag word collection on the side of this page and read what Charlie has had to say about him. He *is* the Pope of the Storm. Even before he was elected Pope, our Church was divided in many ways.

      I live in residence and provide care for a nearly 90 year old priest who is as orthodox as one can be. Father says it best: “We’ll only fully understand what God is doing in this papacy in hindsight.” I say what Pope Francis is doing reminds me of Jesus telling Peter to throw the net on the other side and voila! What a catch Peter made by following Jesus’ instruction. Both Father and I discuss how this Holy Father is doing everything he can to bring people back into the Barque of Peter. Nevertheless, how often we have acknowledged here that Pope Francis has people scratching their heads and rolling their eyes. Still, he has not and will not change doctrine and dogma. He *is* the Vicar of Christ and deserves our respect, love and prayers.

      Liked by 8 people

    • MarieUrsula says:

      madkatmomma, I can’t give you any in-depth insight. I will say that, from the beginning of his pontificate, I have noticed a disturbing trend in some media and other circles to distort Pope Francis’s statements (or reports thereof) to support agendas contrary to the authentic Catholic position. This started happening immediately after his election ~ in contrast to the treatment of Pope Benedict XVI’s statements, which were often distorted in the opposite direction. Consequently, when I read a headline or even go deeper into an article, I often wonder what Pope Francis REALLY said. And, honestly, I don’t expend a lot of energy worrying about it. Should I?

      Liked by 4 people

      • Beckita says:

        Amen, Sr. Bear.

        Liked by 2 people

      • moreen67 says:

        I agree with you Sister Bear. At first I want to get upset when I read what was supposedly said by Pope Francis and than I’m like no trust God and don’t be worried about it – it’s our confusing times and the evil one wants to cause this anxiety especially within Our Lord’s Church so pray pray pray like Paddy sings….https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HZZ-f9ZYsSM

        Liked by 4 people

        • Doug says:

          Yes. The evil one wants to generate confusion in the church so people do not know what to believe and will walk away. It is the same confusion the progressive far left uses by generating fake news. I think we all know where confusion comes from and it is not God. Blessings!

          Liked by 4 people

      • Doug says:

        “I don’t expend a lot of energy worrying about it.”. Amen sister bear! I trust that God is in control of the barque of Peter. God will protect his church. I endeavor to do my little part by praying an loving those in front of me.

        Liked by 5 people

      • zeniazenia says:

        Amen MarieUrsula, Good morning madkatmomma,
        Perhaps this is the reason Jesus gave St. Faustinà the prayer for the end times, ‘Jesus, I Trust in You.’ For the generations following her life, especially here in the enlightened western civilization, we upheld the Ten Commandment Covenant as our way of life. We did not bear false witness against our neighbor. Those days are gone– and so quickly, as we watched the culture fall apart.
        Deceit is a way of televising and broadcasting news communications media. The prophesied civil wars I was expecting is about the question, What is Truth and who can we trust? Eastern Europe encountered this with Communism when Sr. Faustinà received the message of Mercy. This is the evil our Lady of Fatima spoke of. We are in the thick of her battle.
        We must trust only in Jesus. Let ‘Repent- turn back to the Covenant’ Be our battle cry. Do not listen to the voice of the evil one! How can we tell the difference? We must clear our minds of the culture and follow His voice. Now!
        ‘My sheep will hear My voice’. He made the promise. Prayer, Liturgy, Sacraments and Adoration will keep us out of the foul culture. ‘Fear is useless, what is needed is trust.’ Trust and Mercy. 😊 Love — ZJ

        Liked by 5 people

      • madkatmomma says:

        I think it’s harmful to spread dissent within the church. The latest story is that Obama forced Pope Benedict to resign. Patrick Madrid tweeted a story in Breitbart, which I think is as sketchy a source as Huffpo. I wish someone with knowledge would do some fact checking on Vatican stories.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

