Our Lady of Tepeyac, We Need You

Our Lady of Tepeyac

In this time when hearts continue to be revealed and people are choosing, I find the expressed wisdom of Annabelle Hazard to be heartening. As we pray for all who visit here and our families, let us continue seeking graces for the conversion of ALL in this hurting, troubled world. 

Our Lady of Tepeyac, Mother of Conversion, pray for us!

Converting Family and Friends

(Comment from Charlie: I always emphasize a light touch. I saw this piece by Annabelle Hazard in Catholic Stand and was so enamored of it, I decided to reprint it in its entirety here:)

The Secret to Converting Your Friends and Family

There’s someone out there you want to see safely home in the Catholic Church, right? Someone you know would be the next St. Augustine, if he found truth and decided to work for truth for the rest of his life.  You’ve been evangelizing to him by buying books and videos, posting articles on social media, even speaking directly on the stuff he’s missed. Still, he’s unmoved, probably  accused you of judging. So, you’re about ready to give up.

Please don’t!

Instead, work harder and change tactics. The thing about conversion is that it isn’t entirely up to you. The timing and the manner is purely an act of God’s grace. However, there are things you can do to cooperate and further God’s Will of performing miracles in changing hearts behind the scenes. Here are five secrets to converting your family and friends:

1. The Rosary. Pope Leo XIII’s Encyclical Supremi Apostolatus Officio declared the Rosary as an effective spiritual weapon against the evils afflicting society. St. John Paul II in Rosarium Virginis Mariae emphasized the importance of a family Rosary for the spiritual safety of its members when he said “the family, the primary cell of society, increasingly menaced by forces of disintegration on both the ideological and practical planes, so as to make us fear for the future of this fundamental and indispensable institution and, with it, for the future of society as a whole. The revival of the Rosary in Christian families… will be an effective aid to countering the devastating effects of this crisis typical of our age.” Catholic speaker and author Kathleen Beckman attributes her son’s conversion with the daily Rosary during Eucharistic Adoration, as a deliverance prayer.

2. The Divine Mercy conversion prayer: “O blood and water, which gushed forth from the heart of Jesus.” Jesus made a promise to St. Faustina in her Diary: “When you say this prayer, with a contrite heart and with faith on behalf of some sinner, I will give him the grace of conversion.” Our parish has been saying this prayer at every Mass and our priest can verify the return of fallen away Catholics to Church.

3. Fasting: Jesus taught in scripture Mark 9: 29, that there are certain demons in our lives that can “only be driven out by prayer and fasting.” The USCCB’s Pastoral Statement on Penance and Abstinence stress that “the need for conversion and salvation is unchanging, as is the necessity that, confessing our sinfulness, we perform, personally and in community, acts of penance in pledge of our inward penitence and conversion.” The same statement places first priority to abstinence from meat every Friday, but also, fasting includes self-denial like giving up tasty deserts, a favorite beverage, TV, internet, shopping. If you want proof of the effectiveness of fasting, look no further. The recent Supreme Court decision affirming religious freedom was a direct result of the USCCB’s campaign on penance and fasting.

4. Redemptive Suffering. Redemptive suffering is the teaching that human suffering, when accepted and offered up in union with the Passion of Jesus, can remit the just punishment for one’s sins or for the sins of another. St. John Paul II wrote in Salvifici Doloris “In bringing about the Redemption through suffering, Christ raised human suffering to the level of the Redemption. Thus each man, in his sufferings, can also become a sharer in the redemptive suffering of Christ. Pope Pius XII’s Encyclical on the Mystical Body revealed that the salvation (and conversion) of many souls depends on the prayers and voluntary penances offered by the Mystical Body for that intention. If you offer up your suffering, inconveniences and frustrations for the conversion of sinners and unite it with the Eucharist (the commemoration of the suffering of Christ), you can atone for the sins of others and give souls the opportunity to be opened up for grace to set in. “Suffering,” said St. Therese, “converts more souls than sermons.”

5. Marian Pilgrimage. Pilgrimage is a personal act of devotion and sacrifice. Pilgrimage sites abound in graces. If your future, St. Augustine likes travel, bring him along on a Marian pilgrimage. There is a plethora of conversion stories through Mary’s intercession in pilgrimage places: models and nobility turned nuns, new agers turned Catholics, Atheist turned believers, drug addicts turned sober, actor turned revert (that would be Jim Caviezel). If however, only you get the chance to go, pray for the graces from Mary’s intercession to live a life that will be an evangelization tool in and of itself. St. Louis de Montfort wrote: “[Mary] attained an immense and inconceivable degree of grace. So much so, that the Almighty made her the sole custodian of his treasures and the sole dispenser of his graces. She can now ennoble, exalt and enrich all she chooses. She can lead them along the narrow path to heaven and guide them through the narrow gate to life.”

Conversion can occur immediately or gradually, during one’s life or the moment before his death. Your prayers and sacrifices for conversion of souls are always in God’s Will and will bear fruit at the appropriate time. So, don’t give up on your friends and family. Convert them in secret.

About Beckita

Beckita, widow, mother and grandmother, lives in Missoula, Montana. After more than thirty years of service, she retired from two careers: elementary school educator and director of liturgical music ministry in a local parish. Serving the Catholic Church in many capacities since early childhood, she now provides care for a nearly 90 year old priest of Chinese origin and collaborates with him in evangelizing the Chinese people. For more than twenty-five years, she has welcomed words from heaven concerning these sobering times in which we live and, like so many, takes seriously Our Lord and Our Lady’s call to intercede for the return of souls to God. Responding to heaven’s call for prayer, for her, included making pilgrimages to shrines in Europe, Asia and South America. She says these travels, added to her years as a Peace Corps volunteer in West Africa in the mid-seventies, have expanded her heart to hold dear all peoples of the world. She is a longtime member of TNRS community and when she began reading Charlie’s posts, immediately, she found that his mission and message harmonize well with Church approved private revelation of our times. In September 2015, she accepted an invitation to become part of TNRS Answers Team. As events of the Storm evolved, last fall (2016), she accepted Charlie’s invitation to become managing editor of TNRS should he need to leave the site. With great gratitude to and for Charlie, founder of TNRS, and with great respect and admiration for the lifelong experiences and God-given gifts he brought to bear on his work at this site - she knows we all know he’s irreplaceable – still, she considers it a great privilege to serve the TNRS community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

93 Responses to Our Lady of Tepeyac, We Need You

  1. Paul says:

    You mean Our Lady of Guadalupe?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. maryopl says:

    Thank you Beckita! Just the boost I needed to carry me through Lent and up to May 13th. Holy Mother, pray for us sinners, now and forever.

    Liked by 12 people

  3. If I may be so bold as to add another element to your wonderful list, that is, the intercession of the souls in the Church Triumphant and the Church Suffering. The holy souls are eager to help those who need their prayers, even aiding with miracles when necessary, as in the case with souls whom God wishes to raise to the altar of sainthood. Today, as we mourn the death of one of the Princes of our Church, Cardinal Keeler, let us pray for his eternal rest and may that “rest” include praying without cease for all of us in the Church Militant. Thank you, Beckita. Peace and blessings to all who remain here.

    P.S. I still believe in the Rescue.

    Liked by 19 people

  4. billbad42 says:

    This is an amazing article and very timely. It is no coincidence how each of us is attacked in different ways by the devil, and most of the time it is just a minor doubt planted (that proverbial little guy on my shoulder saying those little things won’t hurt) – this article gives me, and I am sure many of us, reassurance on our mission. Acknowledge God, take TNRS, and be a sign of Hope for others!

    A recent prayer a priest shared with me helps me readjust my will to God’s (at least redirects me the best I can in that moment):

    Suscipe prayer from St. Ignatius of Loyola:

    Take, Lord, and receive all my liberty,
    my memory, my understanding,
    and my entire will,
    All I have and call my own.

    You have given all to me.
    To you, Lord, I return it.

    Everything is yours; do with it what you will.
    Give me only your love and your grace,
    that is enough for me.

    Liked by 13 people

  5. SundaeGirl says:

    This article made me so happy!

    Liked by 6 people

  6. Susan says:

    Thank you for posting this article. I just came from Holy Mass and Adoration this morning because my daughter and stepson are in big need of conversion. For purposes of confidentiality, I can’t say specifically what the problem is, but it’s eternal life threatening! We have an ultimate family crisis of faith going on that started the beginning of Lent. I took this article to be a sign for me to put on the armor of God to start the battle and fight back. At least it helps me to feel that I can do SOMETHING for their conversion.

    I am requesting prayers for my daughter and stepson. Thank you for your help!

    Liked by 14 people

  7. Patricia says:

    Thanks Beckita for posting this. Reminds me of the importance of our daily rosary.

    Liked by 6 people

  8. StClare says:

    Beckita and company,
    Thank you for keeping the blog going. We haven’t been able to comment for awhile, this is a busy time of year for us. We enjoy each and every post.

    John and Sarah
    St. Clare Heirloom Seeds

    Liked by 13 people

  9. bandgmac says:

    Please pray for my son undergoing great trials now we are desperate.

    Liked by 8 people

  10. Julia says:

    What a treasure of an article.

    I usually say this very prayer, O blood and water which gushed from the Heart of Jesus as a fount of Mercy for us, I trust in Thee after the Angelus along with the prayer of Saint Gertrude because Jesus promised Saint Gertrude He would take 1,000 souls out of Purgatory each time the Saint Gertrude prayer is said. Now I can add a name to it and send invisible Graces to souls.
    The Saint Gertrude prayer:
    Eternal Father, I offer You the most precious Blood of Jesus in union with all the Holy Masses said this day; for all the poor souls in Purgatory, for sinners everywhere. Sinners in the Universal Church, sinners in my own home and for myself. Amen.

    Liked by 11 people

    • moreen67 says:

      Julia – The Saint Gertrude prayer I say every morning when I wake up as well as
      Michael, Michael of the morning, Fresh chord of Heaven adorning, Keep me safe today,
      And in time of temptation Drive the devil away. Amen. At night when I kneel and pray I talk to Jesus but I always pray a Hail Mary and the Archangel St. Michael prayer. Maureen

      Liked by 11 people

      • jaykay says:

        Another lovely one is: “Jesus, Mary and Joseph I give you my heart and my soul… “. I’m sure all know it. The nuns taught it to us as kids 50 years ago, to a simple little tune. God bless them. I wonder if present-day kids would be taught a prayer with ” assist me now and in my last agony” in it? Probably not – but they should be. Ok, we didn’t quite understand it all, but we had a very good idea of Heaven – and Hell. And we weren’t feeling terrorised, or in need of a safe space either! Damn few of those around in the 60s 😜

        Liked by 6 people

  11. Judith says:

    Mark Mallett’s comments on 22 March match up with this post. My heart has been anxious for the salvation of souls, especially family/relatives/friends/neighbors. And, heavy for the souls of priests.

    God, You are in control. Jesus, I trust in You. Create in me a clean heart, My Lord, to love like You. Mother Mary, Our Lady of Tepeyac, Mother of conversion, HELP! St. Joseph and all you saints, pray for us!

    My daughter contacted me this morning, asking me to be with her 13 yo son later this AM. I was planning on attending a noon Mass, still am. Both of them have broken from the Faith and live more and more of the world. She rejects any mention of God; he shows indifference. So I asked Jesus if I should go earlier or take him with me at !2:00. Then it struck me that this might be God’s timing for my grandson to start turning back and for me to not fear and to step out in love and faith. (we all need converting) Please pray for us to be open to Our Loving, Merciful God.

    Keeping all here in my prayers.

    Liked by 12 people

  12. Our Lady of Tepeyac says good morning.

    I stepped outside my tent around 6 am to enjoy a cup of coffee and the dim light of dawn on a perfectly still morning. The spring birds had arrived and were singing away across a field. At one point, I looked east and, through a very small opening in the pines, caught sight of the rising moon through the haze. It had just a sliver of light about the same size as the moon on the tilma, pointing toward the sun (Our Lady always points us toward her Son). I said, “Oh my” aloud.

    This reminded me to pray the Angelus. So I stopped drinking my coffee and prayed. “The Angel of the Lord declared unto Mary…”

    While I was praying looking at this beautiful sight, a most unusual phenomenon happened. A shooting star appeared immediately to the left of the moon, practically on top of it. What was curious about this was the very bright meteorite traveled perfectly vertically, straight down to the earth. It was also distinctly turquoise in color.

    Moments later, a very small pine tree whose top was just to the right of the moon began moving back and forth like it was waving at me. No other trees were moving. I waved back, and finished the prayer.

    This has been a difficult Lent for me. The evil one loves to increase my trials and temptations every year at this time, and this year is no exception. This little sign was an indication that Our Lady is still with me during my trials, though I sometimes forget her.

    At the risk of edifying myself (I debated writing this at all), I felt the need to share this consolation with all of you. She is with us and praying for all of us without ceasing, especially during Lent and during this Storm. Be assured of this. Do ask for her assistance.

    And if you don’t already, please consider praying the Angelus every day. I can’t guarantee signs from Heaven, but Our Blessed Mother promises her heavenly assistance.

    Please pray for me as I pray for you this Lent. God bless.

    Patrick

    Liked by 23 people

    • Beckita says:

      Thank you for sharing this story of faith, Patrick. May it bless others as it has blessed me. Honestly, it’s been a most challenging Lent for me as well. May all who are suffering at this time be strengthened and consoled and may God’s designs for each of us be accomplished with whatever He is doing in each of our lives. Thanks for your prayers, Patrick!

      Liked by 16 people

    • maryopl says:

      Dear Patrick,
      Thank you for sharing this beautiful sign of Our Lady’s presence. How these small but miraculous moments hearten us, who are weighed down by many things, and brighten our days with the hope of God’s continuing benevolence. I love how God gives us moments that happen just when you least expect them and fill us to overflowing.

      Liked by 8 people

      • dolordee says:

        Hi Patrick,
        I thought I was the only one that waved to gently swaying pine trees. They are at the edge of my yard, and I usually watch them as I say my rosary and talk to Mary. Thanks for sharing that moment. God bless, prayers for you.

        Liked by 5 people

    • singingjuls says:

      Praying for you Patrick. Thank you for the beautiful witness of graces poured out. ~juls

      Liked by 5 people

    • dianebelvs says:

      Blessings to you Patrick. Thank you for sharing your beautiful story. God Bless You.

      Liked by 3 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Patrick, you and all our TNRS family are in my prayers. Thank you for sharing your beautiful experience with us. ❤

      Liked by 5 people

    • Mick says:

      Wow… how poetic, Patrick! I had to look back and check who was writing because it sounded so much like MP. Thank you for letting us share in the beautiful moments you experienced. Praying for you! 🙂

      Liked by 4 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Amen Mick! We now have three very gifted story-tellers here, MP, JoeCro and Patrick! And I wonder what Our Lord will do with this- I can’t wait to see! 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

    • janet333 says:

      Beautiful, Patrick. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  13. luvmercy5775 says:

    Marisa MendozaStar says: ” Today, as we mourn the death of one of the Princes of our Church, Cardinal Keeler, let us pray for his eternal rest and may that “rest” include praying without cease for all of us in the Church Militant. ”

    Upon reading this statement, I immediately contacted my friend Rabbi Alan Yuter who knew Cardinal Keeler personally. I asked him for a comment to post to this page. Following are his kind words of affection and esteem.

    “My synagogue bordered St Vincent’s and St Leo’s parishes, both of which serviced their flock with dignity, kindness, open minds and open hearts. Cardinal Keeler was a gentleman, a gentle man, and a religious scholar whose learning informed his ethics. He also came to my Synagogue, B’nai Israel of Baltimore. What impressed us at the Synagogue so much was that this Prince of the Church is, was also a prince of a man. May his life, like his memory, mission, and message to us remain a blessing for us. ”

    Rabbi Alan J. Yuter
    Emeritus
    B’nai Israel of Baltimore

    Note: Rabbi Yuter is a friend of many years. He is a Modern Orthodox rabbi who with his wife Linda, currently resides in Jerusalem. He’s one of the original signers of the Orthodox Rabbinic Statement on Christianity published December 3, 2015, by the Center for Jewish-Christian Understanding and Cooperation. Charlie posted the proclamation as a full feature article copied from Vatican Radio news. It was a groundbreaking event that went viral and garnered international attention. Rabbi Yuter and his wife Linda now reside in Jerusalem,

    Liked by 8 people

    • Thank you, luvmercy, for sharing this joyful memory. As Charlie constantly reminded us, the distinctions between religions won’t be so important as having good will towards all the people we encounter. Cardinal Keeler was ahead of his time and laid the groundwork for mercy to abound. They have just announced here in the Diocese of Harrisburg that he will be remembered in a very special way on Divine Mercy Sunday.

      Liked by 4 people

      • luvmercy5775 says:

        Dear Marisa, Thank you for your response and further information regarding tributes to Cardinal Keeler. Yes, he was a man ahead of his time. Reading his bio I noted that he was especially known for his outreach to the Jewish community.

        However, what many reading this may not be aware of is the fact that the Orthodox branch of Judaism has not participated in interfaith exchanges until very recently. The event I wrote about took place in the spring of 2006, Rabbi Yuter inviting him to address the congregation after a Friday night service was literally a “FIRST” that took a measure of courage on the part of Rabbi Yuter. Seems it often takes a battering ram to break down walls that have stood for centuries.

        As for Cardinal Keeler, at that time he was not only 80 years old but in very frail health. For one thing he had undergone brain surgery in 2006, after a car accident. In spite of this, he made the effort to attend and addressed what amounted to a “standing room only” crowd. Rabbi Yuter noted at the time that while his health was failing his mind was still sharp as a whip. I’ve read that shortly afterwards, Cardinal Keeler was no longer able to speak and spend his last years in silence.

        From a spiritual standpoint, I believe this event was a reward from the Lord to both men. To Rabbi Yuter for having the courage to step out and issue the invitation and to Cardinal Keeler for his years of pioneering work that helped bring about this occasion.

        A glimpse of things to come. A glimpse of the promised land. Letting him know that while his earthly life might soon be over, his past efforts at reconciling the Church and the Jewish people had not been vain. A confirmation that his work would be rewarded, and bear much fruit in the future. For indeed the church does teach that when all is said and done we will once again be united as one family in our One Lord.

        His peace and blessings be with you.

        Liked by 3 people

    • Here is the information regarding the Divine Mercy Sunday remembrance. Perhaps you can share this with Rabbi Yuter, in case he might want to travel to Cardinal Keeler’s home state for the memorial.

      Bishop Gainer invites the clergy and lay faithful of the Diocese of Harrisburg to remember prayerfully William Cardinal Keeler with the traditional Month’s Mind Mass on Sunday, April 23 at Saint Patrick Cathedral. This custom remembers the faithful departed one month after their passing from this world.

      Invoking the redeeming love and consolation of the Divine Mercy, the celebration will begin with Exposition of the Most Holy Sacrament following the 12:15 PM Mass. At 3:00 PM Bishop Gainer will lead those gathered in the solemn praying of the Divine Mercy Chaplet concluding with Benediction of the Most Blessed Sacrament. At 4:00 PM a solemn Mass will be celebrated for the repose of the soul of William Cardinal Keeler.

      All priests are invited to concelebrate the Holy Mass vested in alb and diocesan chasuble and stole. Deacons are invited to vest in alb and white stole. Vesting will take place in the Rectory of the Cathedral.

      All services are open to the public, particularly those in the local community who have been impacted by the ministry of Cardinal Keeler while he was a priest and bishop in the Diocese of Harrisburg.

      Reverend Joshua R. Brommer, STL
      Rector & Pastor of the Cathedral Parish of Saint Patrick
      212 State Street
      Harrisburg, PA 17101

      Director of the Office for Divine Worship
      Diocese of Harrisburg
      4800 Union Deposit Road
      Harrisburg, PA 17111

      Liked by 3 people

  14. Just a sojourner says:

    Whether this is the right place for this I do not know but I was inspired to write this now. CANT SEE THE FORREST FOR THE TREES! In actually, the trees only have full understanding in the context of the forest in which they thrive just as prophesy is only fully revealed in the total context of the history of revelation throughout the history of God working with mankind. Scripture is composed of endless cycles of obedience, falling away from God, repentance, restoration and falling away again in the continuing history of man. Yet there is a growth as each cycle brings God more fully into the affairs of man with the eventual fully coming of the Kingdom of God on earth as Jesus instructed us to pray for in the Our Father. In my cycles of reading through the entire bible each year, I could not understand why the Israelites ignored the prophets call back to God or face doom until I noticed there were also false prophets that kept reassuring them that all was well, God would not punish them. Little has changed today as human nature continues to be tempted to refuse to face the unpleasant truths. More recent prophesies have different focuses. At Fatima, Our Lady gave us a choice, repent, pray the rosary, consecrate Russia to my Immaculate Heart or Russia will spread her errors through the world, nations will be annihilated. At Medjugorje, Our Lady calls us to repent, pray, fast and turn back to God with only indirect allusions to consequences. In many prophesies over the last century, there are some stark warnings of catastrophes to come even to the annihilation of up to 3/4 of mankind such that the survivors will envy the dead as reflected in the Book of Revelation. Those kinds of things we don’t like to face. Charlie’s words focus on calling us back to God, acknowledge God, take the next right step, and be a sign of hope to those around us. Rather than focus on aspects of the collapse, he calls us to faith and trust in God that whatever will come, with God’s help, we can endure and will be finally rescued. It is that belief in the rescue that will enable us to carry on. I believe that all of Charlie’s guidance over the years has been meant to prepare him to give us enough information that we should believe and be saved. Why we are being tested by the snafu over the inauguration, only God knows. Do not allow yourself to be distracted. There are enough indications in all the other prophets and messages that Charlie is on the right track and is a true guide. Whether we live through the coming increasing challenges is less important than that the end result shall be eternal happiness with God in Heaven. With the guidance of the Holy Spirit, we must continue to pray for each other and help each other. The time is getting ever shorter every day as things make less sense and common sense is even less common than ever before.

    Liked by 10 people

    • Beckita says:

      Yes, sojourner. Your comments with the excellent closing exhortation fits any and every thread. And I would add that Charlie came amidst many already Church approved messages, such as Divine Mercy. Fatima, Maria Esperanza, Akita, Amsterdam, etc. to highlight the core message: Acknowledge God, take that next right step and be a sign of hope, that we would have concrete action to take when the chaos, confusion and division would be at its height, accompanied by all manner of crumbling, collapsing events. Charlie always exhorted that the broad sweep of things to come could be dismissed for through a glass darkly we continue to see what Heaven forewarned and now continues to unfold. It is precisely our core message, synonymous with St. Therese’s Little Way, which will enable us to be of help to those around us when purification seems nearly overwhelming, both now in our personal storms and in the near future when all seems lost.

      Liked by 10 people

    • Chris says:

      Love, love, love this post Beckita.Thank you Patrick for your beautiful story and for keeping us updated, we enjoy hearing about your adventures. Praying for you Susan, my family is also in spiritual crisis so I am right there with ya. Many people are needing help these days, I am doing my best to help wherever I can, it helps me to hang on to the last bit of sanity I have. Yes, come quickly Our Lady of Tepeyac, we need you!!!!!

      Liked by 7 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Thanks for writing this, sojourner. Beautiful ✝True 💜 Amen! 🕊

      Liked by 4 people

  15. ElizabethMarie says:

    I was so reassured when I read this article, that there is much hope for my children, raised in the faith, yet sadly drifted far away. I surrender them to Jesus on a daily basis. Last week, I was blest to bring them to Jesus in prayer in front of the Blessed Sacrament at the Church of Our Lady of Guadalupe in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I am home safe and sound now, but my heart yearns for my loved ones who have strayed to some day be safe and sound in our eternal home.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Beckita says:

      God bless you, ElizabethMarie. Happy to hear you had a beautiful pilgrimage. Praying in union with all who are concerned about the conversion of dear ones.

      Liked by 2 people

      • jaykay says:

        In the context of conversion, I’m so glad I learned of the Flame of Love of the Immaculate Heart, actually through this blog. The “addition” : “spread the effect of grace of thy flame of love over all of humanity…” is so important for conversion, I think. Anyway, when seeing requests for prayers from those here for fallen-away family, friends etc. I’ve mentally prayed the Hail Mary with it. And added the ” O blood and water… ” prayer.

        Bless all, mid-way through Lent. The tough part. About time for me to start on Lord of the Rings, I think, which I love at this time of year. I’ve been reading a great book on it and Tolkien by Stratford Caldecott. So, keep on the winding road, Hobbitses! My Preciouses! But we misses our ring… ooops, coffee, yessss, we does. ☕

        Liked by 6 people

    • Mick says:

      Praying for your loved ones, ElizabethMarie.

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Mack says:

    Thank you, Bekhita, this is very timely. The failure of repealing Obama care reminded me of what t Charlie said before, that we can not trust in politicians but only in God. It troubles me that the entitlement mentality is more firmly entrenched in our country. That’s hard to reverse, no matter what happens with the law. I believe that only the final collapse and crash can change things now.

    Liked by 3 people

  17. Joe Crozier says:

    I wonder what God was telling me. I set off on Saturday morning to buy some paint. I have put off painting my bedroom ceiling for two years. On the way there I stopped to give a hitch hiker a lift – the thought came into my mind that it was the right thing to do. Recently a new patient began attending my clinic, a very pleasant middle aged gent who is a keen surfer, a film set constructor and landscaper. He lives near a part of the coast which is famous for its surf. I had a great friend who lived in the same area.

    Turned out he was a great friend of this friend of mine who was an excellent osteopath but had to stop working after sustaining brain damage from a hang gliding crash. No sooner was this friend of mind starting to cope with his condition when his wife died from cancer and he was left to take care of his two children. My friend’s name is Dave and despite visiting him frequently in hospital and even praying with him in the hospital chapel (at his request) I lost touch with him.

    Dave is the spiritual rather than religious type. He had a very sensitive radar for the slightest hint of conversion talk. I was concerned about certain aspects of his life and tried without success to help. My help was not wanted so I left him to it. Some call it tough love. I wonder how honest that is.Dave is still taking care of his children, has moved and is now working as a music therapist.

    The hitch hiker asked what I did for a living. I told him I was an osteopath and asked what he did. At this stage I noticed he was extensively tattooed. For some reason I had not seen this at first. he told me he was studying music therapy at a local technical college. I told him about my friend Dave who was not only his friend but who had been his mentor and employer. The hitchhiker’s name was Jesse. Jesse had become very close to Dave and his wife and his family after he had spent 10 years in jail. He had been a great help to Dave and his family. Was this a better kind of tough love – love that is tough in the doing.

    Jesse and I talked about music and I dropped him off at the main bus station from where he could get home. I understand the theory but perhaps my lesson was that letting someone reach rock bottom is not the best way to help. Perhaps I should have stayed in touch with Dave and not been so afraid of the demands that this friendship may have brought. Jesse had coped and coped well.He had not judged. I had judged Jesse by his tattoos but when I heard about his 10 years in jail my first reaction was surprise. He did not have that look or sound of a convicted time served criminal. I did not ask him what his crime had been but simply said he was better out of jail. He heartily agreed.

    Later on the day I was going to the movies and because of a big event in town was diverted from my usual route. I should not really have been going to the movies as there was work I should have been doing. In Garabandal Our Lady placed great importance on performing our daily duties well. Tough love but good tough love. She even deprived one of the visionaries of a visit because she had been disobedient to her parents. I hate being late for movies and was becoming very impatient with the long diversion.

    Suddenly a service vehicle pulled out across my path as I was overtaking it. I narrowly missed him as I pulled out of his way but had to go on the wrong side of the road. Fortunately there was no oncoming traffic. The driver of the service truck did not realize what was happening and pulled out infront of me again. I slammed my foot ion the brake and managed to slip behind him but skidded back to the wrong side of the road. I slid to a halt with my bonnet (that’s the front part of the car) on the edge of a ditch. I got out and angrily remonstrated with him for not signaling before he had turned. He was actually quite calm and gave me directions that would get me to the cinema on time. Neither vehicle or driver was harmed. We could both have easily been killed. I should have listened to that still small voice earlier and got on with my work. Tough love on myself – for my good. (to be continued)

    Liked by 6 people

    • Joe Crozier says:

      Continued from above:

      Today the homily focused on the themes of not judging a book by its cover and our priest talked about how the rigidities of stereotyping and prejudice blind us to the potential in others of doing good. We think they are not capable of doing good. That’s what prejudice is. That is what prejudice does. It pre-judges. Those who reject Pope Francis in their rigidity have made the same mistake and committed the same offense. They have judged before seeing the whole truth.

      In contrast the first reading today tells us as ” Do not look on his appearance or on the height of his stature……..man looks at the outward appearance but the Lord looks on the heart.” The chosen one of God was a young boy called David and his father was Jesse. Jesus was the root of Jesse born of a simple and humble handmaid of the Lord, our Blessed Mother. No tougher love was this than that of Mary for Jesus and that of Jesus for His father. None more tough, none more tender. None more true. Tough on the one who loved – no greater love is there then this than to lay down your life for your friends. This is the true meaning of tough love – tough on the lover and the loved. It was not hard for me to walk away from Dave. It was not love.

      Our Lady revealed to St Bridget that when Her Son was nailed to the cross and left hanging by the executioner she came closer to the cross to be near Him in death. She said to St Bridget “I did not leave Him but stood nearer the cross.” A true Mother.

      The movie I went to see was called “life” but it was all about death from beginning to end. Not a great movie. It showed how precious life is but the lesson was learned too late. One crew member broke with protocol – disobeyed – and all perished. I wonder where I have hard that theme before! And here I was with a Jesse and a David in my life and in our readings. And my life had just been spared – again. What to make of it indeed.

      Today at Church we fare-welled the Sisters of Mercy who have been active in our Parish for over 100 years. There were only two aged nuns left. So many moving tributes were made in the farewell speeches. Towards the end the last two nuns needed meals prepared every day for them. These were provided lovingly by the parishioners. The nuns had cared for others for so long. At the end they needed care themselves. They had started St Joseph’s primary school and generations of former and present day pupils stood and applauded them after mass. The present Principle was taught by one of the aged nuns. And now they have sold their convent and moved on. We had a celebration lunch and said goodbye with flowers and food and fond memories.

      The Jubilee year of Mercy has come and gone. The Sisters of Mercy have come and gone. Am I reading too much into all of this? Who knows! God knows. But it is clear “the times they are a changing.”

      Liked by 9 people

      • Beckita says:

        God bless you, Joe. It sounds like you’re pondering God’s whispers all around you. Praying for you as you sort these things out. Especially asking Christ to imbue you with His Peace while thanking God for keeping you safe. Praying, too, for Dave, his kids, the hitch hiker, and the good sisters. All around us we see things that evoke the cry: Come Lord Jesus!

        Liked by 4 people

      • jaykay says:

        Joe, I just love your posts generally but this one: wow. Won’t even try to do a take on its many profound (you mightn’t know it, but you are) themes except for this one: “In Garabandal Our Lady placed great importance on performing our daily duties well.” Yep. Saint Thèrese said that as well, I think. Not that I know much about that dear little Saint but… yes. No grandstanding, just go and do it, and then fade away – really fade, no waiting around for the applause, even the applause of the approving nod or whatever. Just… fade. And keep on doing, like St. Faustina at the gate, the garden, the kitchen, wherever she was sent.

        Oh look, I’ve gone and done a “take”. So I’ll fade. But, while the year of Mercy has gone… it hasn’t really. It was so much needed and the seed of its effects remain and are bearing fruit. I firmly believe this. Et Veritas (et Caritas) Domini manet in aeternum.

        God bless you, David, Jesse (prophetic, those two names together, Virga Jesse floruit) and all here. J.

        Liked by 7 people

  18. Just a sojourner says:

    When I don’t have time to do the long version, I finish the Hail Mary with “Holy Mary Mother of God, flame of love and our mother, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death, amen.”

    Liked by 2 people

  19. charack says:

    I find myself currently in the situation of “working” to bring a dear friend of mine into the Catholic faith. By “working” I mean, talking to her about my faith as often as possible, and sharing the wonderful riches of our faith, and praying, and trying to get a priest to find time to visit her in her home (because she is severely handicapped, and going out is very difficult for her). I think she is very close, but is holding on so tightly to some of the deceitful lies of this world that she is afraid to let go, and fall into this “ocean of mercy” that is at the heart of the Catholic faith. I know that this is something the Holy Spirit will make happen, not I, and I am trying hard to allow the Spirit to work through me, and not become impatient or discouraged. Thank you for reminding me of those extra steps I can take to be a more powerful instrument of God!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

