Preparing for Divine Mercy Sunday

Divine Mercy Sunday is celebrated, as Jesus requested and conveyed to St. Faustina, on the first Sunday after Easter. This year that date is April 23rd. About this feast, the Lord said:

Yes, the first Sunday after Easter is the Feast of Mercy, but there must also be acts of mercy. … I demand from you deeds of mercy, which are to arise out of love for Me. You are to show mercy to your neighbors always and everywhere. You must not shrink from this or try to excuse or absolve yourself from it (Diary of St. Faustina, 742).

The Divine Mercy Novena, which Jesus requested to be prayed in preparation for next Sunday’s big feast, is posted here. The novena actually began yesterday but I cannot imagine the Lord would reject anyone’s sincere effort to combine two days of prayer for a novena in order to be current. Additional instruction on preparing can be found at the website of the National Shrine of The Divine Mercy.

There are many apostolates, all over the world, which promote this devotion, given to us especially for these times but, certainly, it will be a spiritual treasure through the end of time. Much has been written about the power of the Divine Mercy Chaplet, comprised of words given directly from the Lord. Recorded in the Diary of St. Faustina are the dialogues between Jesus and St. Faustina, an inspirational read full of hope. Also in the diary are accounts of how people and situations were changed as a result of praying the Chaplet. Such stories have continued to be told to this day.

In the backdrop of our world scene, we need Divine Mercy as much as ever. Should some catastrpohic event unfold as part of this heightening Storm, the sure and certain truths of faith which Jesus reiterated to St. Faustina will be inspiration and encouragement for each of us who live TNRS way. These same words can hearten those around us as we support  and uplift others with His ever-present hope. God promises: “For surely I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for your welfare and not for harm, to give you a future with hope.” (Jeremiah 29:11) As sherpas, we need to remind others amidst every crisis of this Storm: God has a Plan. In these days, let us recall and share such spiritual gems as these:

“O my Jesus, You have tested me so many times in this short life of mine! I have come to understand so many things, and even such that now amaze me. Oh, how good it is to abandon oneself totally to God and to give Him full freedom to act in one’s soul!” (134)

“He who knows how to forgive prepares for himself many graces from God.  As often as I look upon the cross, so often will I forgive with all my heart.”  (390)

“Proclaim that mercy is the greatest attribute of God. All the works of My hands are crowned with mercy.” (301)

“‘I am love and Mercy Itself.  There is no misery that could be a match for My mercy, neither will misery exhaust it, because as it is being granted – it increases.  The soul that trusts in My mercy is most fortunate, because I Myself take care of it.’” (1273)

“I remind you, My daughter, that as often as you hear the clock strike the third hour, immerse yourself completely in My mercy, adoring and glorifying it; invoke its omnipotence for the whole world, and particularly for poor sinners; for at that moment mercy was open wide for every soul.  In this hour you can obtain everything for yourself and for others for the asking; it was the hour of grace for the whole world – mercy triumphed over justice.’”  (1572)

“The graces I grant you are not for you alone, but for a great number of other souls as well… And your heart is My constant dwelling place, despite the misery that you are. I unite Myself with you, take away your misery and give you My mercy. I perform works of mercy in every soul. The greater the sinner, the greater the right he has to My mercy. My mercy is confirmed in every work of My hands. He who trusts in My mercy will not perish, for all his affairs are Mine, and his enemies will be shattered at the base of My footstool”. (723)

Do you have a favored quote from Divine Mercy which steadies you amidst personal storms?

About Beckita

Beckita, widow, mother and grandmother, lives in Missoula, Montana. After more than thirty years of service, she retired from two careers: elementary school educator and director of liturgical music ministry in a local parish. Serving the Catholic Church in many capacities since early childhood, she now provides care for a nearly 90 year old priest of Chinese origin and collaborates with him in evangelizing the Chinese people. For more than twenty-five years, she has welcomed words from heaven concerning these sobering times in which we live and, like so many, takes seriously Our Lord and Our Lady’s call to intercede for the return of souls to God. Responding to heaven’s call for prayer, for her, included making pilgrimages to shrines in Europe, Asia and South America. She says these travels, added to her years as a Peace Corps volunteer in West Africa in the mid-seventies, have expanded her heart to hold dear all peoples of the world. She is a longtime member of TNRS community and when she began reading Charlie’s posts, immediately, she found that his mission and message harmonize well with Church approved private revelation of our times. In September 2015, she accepted an invitation to become part of TNRS Answers Team. As events of the Storm evolved, last fall (2016), she accepted Charlie’s invitation to become managing editor of TNRS should he need to leave the site. With great gratitude to and for Charlie, founder of TNRS, and with great respect and admiration for the lifelong experiences and God-given gifts he brought to bear on his work at this site - she knows we all know he’s irreplaceable – still, she considers it a great privilege to serve the TNRS community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Preparing for Divine Mercy Sunday

  1. jayatoups says:

    Praraphrasing my favorite quote, “They only have but to make the slightest movement toward My mercy and I will do the rest of the work.”

    Liked by 7 people

  2. Snowy Owl says:

    “Tell me all, My child, hide nothing from Me, because My loving Heart, the Heart of your Best Friend, is listening to you.” (Jesus to St. Faustina) 💘

    Liked by 6 people

  3. “My daughter, do you think you have written enough about my Mercy? What you have written is but a drop compared to the ocean. I am Love and Mercy itself. There is no misery that could be a match for My mercy, neither will misery exhaust it, because as it is being granted –– it increases. The soul which will trust in My mercy is most fortunate, because I myself take care of it.” — Diary, Notebook IV

    When I go into the wilderness or run to the mountain, I rarely have a plan –– other than to just go and immerse. Often, I find myself covering some of the same ground, but there are always new… revelations. Silly words. They speak about this in Heaven with a Light and Love that would have us fainting straight away.

    Liked by 7 people

  4. steve1310 says:

    Thanks for spreading this apostolate.

    Liked by 5 people

  5. Doug says:

    Happy Easter all here!

    Liked by 6 people

  6. Snowy Owl says:

    I found this website by the Texas Nuns a while back, and they are posting the 9 day Novena, daily, as well. The pictures and music are beautiful! I really love their website!
    https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/4967225/posts/1418646908 if this link doesn’t work, hopefully this one will:
    https://blog.texasnuns.com/2017/04/14/divine-mercy-novena-day-1-4/

    Liked by 5 people

  7. Theresa says:

    I believe it was Janet Klassen and someone else commenting well over a year ago they were going to start a perpetual Divine Mercy Novena. I prayed about it and asked God if I was to do that. I “randomly” (sure) opened the Diary the next day and had my answer:
    “When a great storm was approaching, I began to say the chaplet. Suddenly, I heard the voice of an angel: “I cannot approach in (137) this storm, because the light which comes from her mouth drives back both me and the storm.” Such was the angel’s complaint to God. I then recognized how much havoc he was to have made through this storm; but I also recognized that this prayer was pleasing to God and that this chaplet was most powerful.” (1791)
    And I have had the honor to pray this chaplet while someone was dying. The second I started saying “Eternal God,….” the dying person’s dog thru his sad little head up looking right behind me, quietly woofed a few times, and kept watching. Nonetheless, I had tears pouring down my face (of course, I should have been flat on my face at that point…), but made it thru the chaplet. Ginny died a couple of hours later, peacefully.
    I love this chaplet; we’re truly blessed.
    Blessed Easter to all; Christ has risen indeed!

    Liked by 8 people

  8. jaykay says:

    Thank you for this, Beckita. I’m just back (well, via the local pub… cough!) after our Parish Easter Vigil, where we had 4 Confirmations, Deo gratias. We finished, as always, with a rousing “Regina Coeli”. Back singing tomorrow for the Easter Mass, finish of a quite beautiful Triduum. Anyway… preparation for Divine Mercy Sunday well underway. Our local Dominican church set up a lovely Divine Mercy shrine a few years ago, and they’ll have a great celebration of the Feast there next Sunday. So much to be grateful for, in these particularly trying times. Could I recommend a very good book on St. Faustina’s life by Eva Czaczkowska (pronounced “shazhkovska”, I think, correct me please!) “Faustina: the mystic and her message”. Some beautiful pictures, especially one rare one of her before she entered the convent. She was beautiful, in the conventional sense. But it’s a great, detailed, account of her life. It’s available on Kindle, and very worthwhile reading – at any time, but particularly now.

    Regina coeli, laetare, alleluia. Quia quem meruisti portare, alleluia, resurrexit sicut dixit. Alleluia. Ora pro nobis Deum. Alleluia.

    Blessed Easter and Divine Mercy to all. J.

    Liked by 8 people

  9. Bob says:

    I was thinking tonight during the Vigil Mass and wondering if God’s love and light can even pierce the darkness that is North Korea? We all know the answer to that. May it soon be so Oh God! I suppose this comes under the heading of prayers for Mercy.

    Liked by 9 people

  10. Mick says:

    He is risen! Happy Easter, everyone. 🙂

    Liked by 8 people

  11. jlynnbyrd says:

    St. Faustina’s diary is filled with favored words from our Lord and prayers of mercy. It seems that each day when I read the Divine Mercy daily meditation from thedivinemercy.org it is my new favorite. 🙂

    An Easter Greeting for you and yours this blessed day ~

    http://www.jacquielawson.com/ecard/pickup?code=6836150083089&source=jl999&utm_medium=internal_email&utm_source=pickup&utm_campaign=receivercontent

    Liked by 8 people

  12. luvmercy5775 says:

    For the sake of your sorrowful passion. Have mercy on us and the whole world. Don’t let the enemy triumph over us.

    Liked by 4 people

  13. I hope you all had a beautiful Blessed Easter.

    Janet

    Liked by 5 people

  14. What a beautiful card and lovely music, Jen. Happy Easter week everyone!

    Divine Mercy Quotes:
    During Adoration, Jesus said to me, “My daughter, know that your ardent love and the compassion you have for Me were a consolation to Me in the Garden.”(of Olives) (Diary, 1664).

    My Power
    “In the Host is your power; It will defend you.” (Diary, 616).

    Liked by 4 people

Leave a Reply

