Let’s Novena Together

According to Vatican Radio News, last week, it was announced that when Pope Francis makes his pastoral visit to the Portuguese town of Fatima on the occasion of the 100th Anniversary of Our Lady’s first apparition there, he will canonize two of the young shepherd children to whom Our Lady came: Blesseds Francisco and  Jacinta Marto.

Discovering a novena prayer with a litany which invokes Our Lady of Fatima and the young Blesseds Francisco and Jacinta has led me to ask you to consider joining in praying this novena, beginning May 4th, next Thursday, and ending on May 12th, the day before the anniversary of the first apparition. In addition to any personal intentions we each may have, let’s unite from wherever in the world we live, and pray, as well, for the intentions of every member of this community and our families, for no one has been immune to suffering and struggles in these days. Solidarity is both powerful and heartening.

 “Again, truly I tell you, if two of you agree on earth about anything you ask, it will be done for you by my Father in heaven. For where two or three are gathered in my name, I am there among them.” (Matthew 18:19-20)

“The Lord is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” (Psalm 34:18)

The novena begins with the following prayer and both litany and prayer can be found at the World Apostolate of Fatima, England & Wales website:

Most Holy Trinity, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, I adore You profoundly with all the powers of my soul, and I thank You for the apparitions of the most Holy Virgin in Fatima which have made manifest to the world the treasures of the her Immaculate Heart. By the infinite merits of the Sacred Heart of Jesus and through the intercession of the Immaculate Heart of Mary I implore You, if it should be for Your greater glory and the good of our souls to glorify in the sight of Your Holy Church Blesseds Francisco and Jacinta attaining for us, through their intercession, the grace we now implore… mention your intentions …Amen. Our Father, Hail Mary, Glory be…

Since first discovering this novena, I have received an invitation from a group from which I receive emails, Pray More Novenas. You may prefer to pray this novena to Our Lady of Fatima. Whatever your choice, please consider uniting with us at TNRS to pray for the intentions of every member of this community and our families, especially for the families with heartwrenching needs.

About Beckita

Beckita, widow, mother and grandmother, lives in Missoula, Montana. After more than thirty years of service, she retired from two careers: elementary school educator and director of liturgical music ministry in a local parish. Serving the Catholic Church in many capacities since early childhood, she now provides care for a nearly 90 year old priest of Chinese origin and collaborates with him in evangelizing the Chinese people. For more than twenty-five years, she has welcomed words from heaven concerning these sobering times in which we live and, like so many, takes seriously Our Lord and Our Lady’s call to intercede for the return of souls to God. Responding to heaven’s call for prayer, for her, included making pilgrimages to shrines in Europe, Asia and South America. She says these travels, added to her years as a Peace Corps volunteer in West Africa in the mid-seventies, have expanded her heart to hold dear all peoples of the world. She is a longtime member of TNRS community and when she began reading Charlie’s posts, immediately, she found that his mission and message harmonize well with Church approved private revelation of our times. In September 2015, she accepted an invitation to become part of TNRS Answers Team. As events of the Storm evolved, last fall (2016), she accepted Charlie’s invitation to become managing editor of TNRS should he need to leave the site. With great gratitude to and for Charlie, founder of TNRS, and with great respect and admiration for the lifelong experiences and God-given gifts he brought to bear on his work at this site - she knows we all know he’s irreplaceable – still, she considers it a great privilege to serve the TNRS community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

120 Responses to Let’s Novena Together

  1. Laurie says:

    Dear Beckita,
    I look forward to joining you in praying this novena and so appreciate the great good accomplished through this site.
    Laurie

    Liked by 6 people

  2. Good morning & blessed feast of St. Catherine~this is katey in OR and I do receive the novenas from Pray more novenas and I will add your special prayer daily and include all at TNRS in my intentions. You all and your needs & intentions are always part of my daily prayers before mass.
    I feel privileged to pray with you.
    God bless, Katey in OR

    Liked by 7 people

  3. Chris says:

    Would love to pray the novena…count me in🙏🏻❤

    Liked by 6 people

  4. Tanya says:

    There is so much chaos in my family in the country and around the world I feel worn out. A novena is a blessing. I have started a consecration to out Lady of Fatima, even though I have already consecrated myself to her under the patronage of our Lady of perpetual help. Our Lady is the answer to so many problems,she is truly our Mother. Thank you Beckita for advising us to make this upcoming novena. God bless and watch over you, love Tanya

    Liked by 6 people

  5. Beckita, I will be sure to make this novena & Litany for all the TNRS steppers, their families & special intentions. The Our Lady of Fatima Novena is lovely as well. Perhaps I could manage do the both of them. The prayer need is so great these days. May God
    Bless you all richly! Betty

    Liked by 7 people

  6. Mike says:

    If I can remember (a bit squirrely these days) I will join the novena.

    Liked by 7 people

  7. moreen67 says:

    I got to do this!!! Wow what a time we live in and during this novena I will be turning 50 and I thank God for that!! Have a blessed day everyone. Maureen (Mo)

    Liked by 6 people

  8. omarie says:

    Pray More Novenas is a wonderful site! I’ve been getting their email novena’s for over a year now. I highly recommend it. What’s great about it is you can participate anywhere ( well just about) at any time of the day.
    I’ve already received notice of the Fatima novena from them ( they give you a heads up before the next one starts) and plan to participate.
    If your so inclined, give them a try.

    Liked by 7 people

  9. theresa323 says:

    I WILL BE IN MEDJUGORGE FROM MAY 1 TO MAY 15, I WILL TRY TO KEEP UP WITH THE NOVENA. I WILL REMEMBER ALL ON THE WEBSITE… PRAY FOR ME AND I WILL PRAY FOR YOU..

    Liked by 14 people

  10. jlynnbyrd says:

    I’m in! I love John Paul and Annie at Pray More Novenas. ❤

    Liked by 6 people

    • Joe Crozier says:

      Hi jilnnbyrd
      I like your likes. Thanks. May I ask where you come from?

      Liked by 4 people

      • jlynnbyrd says:

        Yes of course. I have spent my life in Illinois. The majority of it was in Chicago on the Northwest side. Go Cubs! Now I am blessed to live in a quaint village about one hour south of the *Big City.* My folks were orphaned at a young age, but I understand our heritage is Irish and German on my mother’s side and French Canadian on my father’s side. We lost our parents too soon as adults. My older sister has dabbled in our genealogy a bit and she was able to trace our family lineage back to Charlemagne and his great, great, great grandfather, Saint Arnoul, bishop of Metz, (c. 582-640).

        Liked by 3 people

  11. Carmel says:

    Happy to pray this novena with/for NRSteppers and their intentions. I also plan to read/pray the Virgin Mary in the Kingdom of the Divine Will beginning tomorrow May 1. This will be a first for me. Looking forward to it. Blessings to everyone🙏

    Liked by 6 people

  12. Joe Crozier says:

    I love your proposal for all at TNRS to agree to pray a novena for each others’ intentions through the intercession of Blessed Francisco and Jacinta. Thanks Becks. I’m onboard. My intention is that my nephew who is with the Scottish Highlanders fighting ISIS in Iraq right now will be a good soldier and be spared harm in body, mind and spirit and for his own sake but especially for the sake of his family. May he be safely delivered from evil and restored whole and intact to the arms of his mum my baby sister. He is her only son.

    Liked by 7 people

    • Beckita says:

      Great idea, Joe, to name specific intentions. Haven’t stopped praying for your dear nephew and will be happy to enfold him in the novena.

      Liked by 7 people

      • Joe Crozier says:

        Thanks Becks.
        Glad the idea of specific intentions is also acceptable – please don’t forget the other 2 billion unspecified items on my wish list.
        Yours sincerely
        Peter Pan

        Liked by 6 people

        • Joe Crozier says:

          I feel a story coming on.

          It’s funny how this mind of mine works and the connections it makes. When I signed off in my last comment as Peter Pan it made me think how he used to crow when he was happy or proud of himself or when he had won a fight or even as a warning to his boys. This in turn made me think of a much loved song of my childhood – one of many my dad used to sing in the car on long journeys.

          One of the verses goes
          “My mother once told me that when I was born,
          The day that I first saw the light,
          I looked down the street on that very first morn,
          And gave a great crow of delight.”

          The song is called “Come back Paddy Reilly to Ballyjamesduff” and is about the driver of the man who composed the song, Percy French who also composed Galway Bay and The Mountains of Mourne. The story goes that Paddy upped and offed suddenly one day, drove his horse and cart to the train station, left them there and took the train to Dublin before emigrating to Scotland. The legend is that the poor horse wandered all over Ireland looking for his owner. Seemingly the composer was a bit lost without his driver. Eventually Paddy returned to Ireland and was laid to rest in Ballyjamesduff. The theme of the song is that though the grass may seem greener elsewhere, home is where the heart is.

          It made me think of another song that I had posted on TNRS “Bonnie Charlie’s noo awa'” whose chorus pleads “Will ye no come back again.” I look forward to the day when, like Paddy Reilly, Charlie returns to his online home and his online family, perhaps not in the same way or in the same role, but back all the same. I think of today’s reading and how Jesus appeared in a different guise on the road to Emmaus as the glorified Lord. The same Lord yet different. For the sake of our critics, no I am not saying Charlie is Jesus, but we are all called to become like Jesus. Despite accusations to the contrary from other sites he has been true to his promise and been absolutely obedient to the Church working away on other projects including pro-life, watching and waiting along with the rest of us.

          Because we have Beckita and Steve at the helm we are by no means lost but I have the feeling that Charlie is still sorely missed by many. Beckita and Steve have surpassed themselves in service to us. (Can I hear a crow? if so it will be our “great crow of delight” with them) Because of their work we have not merely survived, we have grown and thrived in heart, mind and spirit.

          I never knew until now where Ballyjamesduff was or even if it was a real place. I now find it is in County Cavan from where my maternal grandfather, John Kellegher, came. Like Paddy Reilly he emigrated to Scotland and rose from poverty to become a wealthy publican.

          When my grandmother escaped the slavery of childhood domestic servitude in America and made her way back to Scotland she married him. Granpa took granny round the world. He was regarded as a one man welfare system in his part of Glasgow and gave away much of his fortune to the poor which made Gran, who had come from poverty, very nervous. He left her his most successful pub which served her well all her life and still provides investment income for my mum. Sadly he died when mum was only 11. Mum was an only child.

          Once after she married my dad, mum crossed the sea to Ireland in search of her Father’s birthplace which she had visited briefly as a child. She found a ruined cottage with broken down furniture that she could still recognize from all those years ago. It made her very sad and she never returned there again. One of my favourite photos is off mum as wee girl, her hair in golden ringlets, traipsing down the street, hand in hand with her dad. Of course she has never let go of her dad’s hand.

          St Paul sees the whole of creation groaning in one gigantic act of giving birth. We are birthed into life on earth and are birthed into life in heaven. As I go through the pains of life and love I sometimes forget the promise of Jesus “Behold, I am with you always even to the end of time.” His hand in ours as when He raised Peter from the raging waters. We know the end times that are upon us can only end well if we never let go his hand but stay close and trust. We need each other in this endeavour.

          It was once suggested to me by my old spiritual director that the most important thing for a human being is not to belong but to love. Thank you Charlie for leaving this vehicle of love in such capable hands, a vehicle through which we can experience the joy of love as advocated by Jesus and Pope Francis and in which we will be changed forever to be perfectly at home in our perfect home.

          Liked by 9 people

          • Joe Crozier says:

            Liked by 5 people

          • Beckita says:

            God bless you, Joe. Grateful for you and all who make TNRS a second home. I remain a believer that the day will come when those who have remained as regulars will be about the work of welcoming back those who have taken a break and welcoming new folks who will need the ever-present solidarity expressed here in the truth that God has a Plan, He is our Hope and Mercy and, together, we can make this transition through the most difficult days of the Storm. Together, by God’s Grace, we will leave behind the old ways, rotted by the culture of death, into a New Beginning where God is welcomed, adored and worshiped as the Center of every life and acknowledged as the Source of All Goodness while His Mother is duly venerated as the Highest Honor of our Race, the Preeminent Coredeemer, the Intercessor Extraordinaire who can bring us to places in her Son’s Sacred Heart we could never know without her as we rebuild a Civilization of Love.

            Liked by 8 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Crowing with and for Beckita and Steve for you Joe! Thank you for sharing your inspiring stories. Much love to you ❤

            Liked by 4 people

          • singingjuls says:

            Prayers going up for your nephew and family Joe.

            Liked by 4 people

          • Cock-a-doodle-doooo!
            God bless you abundantly as you have blessed us, Joe!

            Liked by 3 people

          • SteveBC says:

            Joe, your kind words about Beckita, who carries this site so well, and for me, are balm to our hearts. Thank you. 🙂

            Liked by 6 people

          • Mick says:

            Thank you for another excellent comment, JoeCro (JoeCrow?). 🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • popefrancisfan says:

            Wow Joe! What a wonderful story. Thank you 🙂

            Janet

            Liked by 1 person

        • Beckita says:

          Ha! Your 2 billion with the 2 billion of each of us at TNRS is not too much for Our Lord and Our Lady. Christ’s Redemption is infinite, our Co-Redemptrix’s Heart is inseparable from Her Son’s and nothing is impossible for God. Alleluia!

          Liked by 4 people

    • jlynnbyrd says:

      Joe, I will keep you nephew in my prayers. ❤

      Liked by 4 people

    • Praying for your dear nephew, Joe. Praying he stays safe. Betty from Connecticut.

      Liked by 2 people

  13. Kris R. says:

    Thank you, Beckita, for keeping this blog going and guiding us so well.
    I’m sure it is no easy task but you are succeeding well. I haven’t written much as of late but I still check in to see how my NRS family is doing. Thanks too, to all who do write…
    I learn so much from your comments. My heart and prayers are with all.

    Liked by 7 people

  14. MaryT says:

    Love it Beckita! I am in for doing the Novena! Thank you for all you do here and keeping us Steppers informed and in Spiritual shape.

    Liked by 6 people

  15. dianebelvs says:

    What a wonderful idea Beckita! I will gladly join in this Novena! Thank you for bringing this to our attention! Gods Blessings to All and especially our TNRS Family!

    Liked by 5 people

  16. maypeacebe says:

    Count me in, Beckita!
    On a side note, it was wonderful to put a face to your warm, extremely generous and faith-filled heart, from the video you shared in your last post. About a year or two ago I commented here that I hoped to meet you one day on Mt Meeker, and to be prepared for some crazy lady (me) to randomly give you a hug… even if you had purple hair, various body piercings and tattoos! Well, ever since then, that’s what I imagine you to look like. So now, i must admit… kinda disappointed that you don’t! 😀

    Liked by 6 people

  17. PrayerPartner says:

    Count me in as well. Blessed to pray with everyone here.

    Liked by 8 people

  18. Mick says:

    Count me in, too, Beckita. Could one of our “official” intentions also be for David Daleiden and Sandra Merritt?

    Liked by 7 people

    • Beckita says:

      Love it, Mick. Let’s do it, Family. God bless David and Sandra, keep them safe and bring the finest fruit from their work.

      Liked by 5 people

      • jaykay says:

        Absolutely – heroes, both. So, I’m in for the Novena as well, and could I gently – no, urgently – ask that people might please also remember my country, Ireland, where active steps are being undertaken to undo our Constitutional protection for the unborn. I think we may be one of the only ones in the world to have such, and “they” can’t wait to have it dismantled as an example to other “unenlightened” countries. Looks like a referendum next year, now that the risible, rigged “Peoples’ Convention” has finished its biased work with a recommendation to introduce incredibly liberal abortion laws. Unbelievable. I regret to say that during the Obama regime even the US Embassy here was involved in encouraging “progressive” causes such as this, surely an egregious abuse, but our supine politicians didn’t protest – because they agreed, the filthy hypocrites. God judge them!


        Ok, rant over 😎 The 50th anniversary of my 1st HC is on 13th May, same day and all! Another reason to rejoice! I love rejoicing… in many ways *cough*.

        Liked by 6 people

        • SteveBC says:

          JayKay, I would like to suggest you start brewing some kind of Irish ale and call it “Rejoice.” I’m sure God would help you make it a great success if you would dedicate half the profits (of which there would be many!) to fighting those who would take your country down such a dark path. And once you and God prevailed, there would be even more excuses to “Rejoice” with the other half of the profits. 😀

          Liked by 4 people

          • jaykay says:

            Cool, SteveBC – as ever! What’s not to like about your suggestion, combining as it does beer and the Catholic principle of subsidiarity, as in a micro-brewery, as opposed to the soul-less multinational combines that unhappily dominate much of brewing, even unto the Blessed Black Brew itself, sadly. And I could have “Gaudete semper!” as the motto, from St. Paul (St. Peter’s “semper sobrii estote” – “be ye ever sober” – just mightn’t cut it – ahem!).

            But thanks all, for the good intentions for Ireland. I think it is so important, as we are serving as somewhat of a test case for those who would seek to tilt the world that little bit further into evil. Remember the international jubilation a short while ago when “Catholic” Ireland was deluded into voting for the marriage abomination? Well, if they get their way on abortion, it will be worse. And I also think it will be a crucial tipping point for Ireland as well, into judgement. While I know I posted recently about the good results coming to light in the door-to-door canvassing being done by pro-life people here, the struggle remains relentless, as the other side will be backed to the hilt by big, foreign, money and they will really pull out all the stops with this one. We’re expecting the flood-waves to start as soon as the official announcement is made about the referendum.

            Anyway, enough of this. Now, where were we? Yes, beer. Did you know there’s actually an official blessing for beer in the Rituale Romanum? Yep! “De Benedictione Cervisiae”. I have it framed at home. No, really… :)_

            Liked by 1 person

          • Beckita says:

            Here’s to St. Joseph, J. A dear friend told me of this particular brew.

            Adapting an invocation from a litany:
            St. Joseph, terror of demons, pray for Ireland in this, her time of great need.

            Liked by 4 people

          • jlynnbyrd says:

            Ha! Well if our studied family genealogy is correct and I am a descendant of the French St. Arnoul, Bishop of Mertz, he is the known as the Patron Saint of beer brewing which appeals to our Irish heritage. 🙂

            Liked by 2 people

        • jlynnbyrd says:

          Happy Anniversary! I will pray for your beautiful country and for us all to honor the Culture of Life. ❤

          Liked by 3 people

          • jaykay says:

            God bless yah, jlynnbyrd! Metz is in current-day France but back in the (Catholic) day it was all part of what’s now current-day Belgium, more or less. I think. Medieval history is, umm, fluid (hah!). Lovely Belgian Trappist beer, up to 9%. Ummm…

            Just like me to de-rail a thread about Fatima into beer… orate pro me! 😛 🍺

            Liked by 1 person

        • Jaykay, I will pray, also, for your country, Ireland. My father’s mother and father come from County Cavan & County Leitrim and my mother’s father also from County Cavan. My other relatives come from France, as I mentioned to Pascalou, and from England. They arrived from England to America in 1640, on the ship, the Angel Gabriel. (settled in CT)
          My mother’s mother was a convert from the Episcopal Church to the Catholic Church. So, I am a little of everything. : ) Betty

          Liked by 5 people

        • Beckita says:

          Love the Irish spice you bring to our comments, jaykay. Happy Anniversary with prayers aplenty!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Mick says:

          Praying for dear Ireland, Jaykay. Happy First Communion Anniversary! (May 13 will be the second anniversary of my youngest son’s First Holy Communion.) 🙂

          Liked by 3 people

  19. Kris says:

    I am in as well. So much going on and so much peace needed in our hearts to trust God in these times. Please keep me and my family in your prayers as well.

    Liked by 6 people

  20. littleone says:

    Thank you! Great idea to unite together on this novena! May the prayers of our hearts be offered and purified through the most Sacred Heart of Jesus in union with the Sacred Sorrowful Immaculate Heart of Mary and the pure, chaste heart of St. Joseph.

    Liked by 7 people

  21. pslmfortysix says:

    Count me in! 😊

    Liked by 5 people

  22. Pascalou says:

    I join with you from France, and will pray this novena with/for NRSteppers . Please pray for my country! Many turn away from God and from the Church.. May the Immaculate Heart of Mary and the pure heart of St. Joseph intercede to the Sacred Heart of Jesus for us..
    With Francesco and Jacinta, and sister Lucia, may we pray the rosary every day.
    Pascalou

    Liked by 5 people

  23. Debbie says:

    I will say the novena also. I signed up to receive emails from pray more novenas a couple weeks ago after seeing them on EWTN. The Ninevah 90 will be ending soon. Thankful for all the opportunities to join together in prayer. So many things going on in thevworld & in our country.
    Thank you for continuing this site.

    Liked by 5 people

  24. singingjuls says:

    “Let’s Novena Together” Love it! Beckita when I read the title of this post it sounded like a dance. I’m in with doing this dance together with all the steppers here and Our Lady! 😉 Stepping up the prayers for all the intentions mentioned here and the ones in our hearts.

    Liked by 6 people

  25. audiemarie2014 says:

    I’m in as well. I love praying novenas! 🙂

    Liked by 5 people

  26. Beckita says:

    OK so this has nothing to do with novenas but everything to do with TNRS. It’s a chorale comprised of all kinds of ordinary people, making music in solidarity, with lovely harmony as each one mans his/her part post, using ordinary hands and legs to create something exciting, while joy is flowing all around. Sounds like TNRS to me.

    When I lived in West Africa, my home was 4 degrees north of the equator and when the tropical rains fell they could be torrential. With metal roofs, all people could do was sit together as the rain made music on the roof. I could hear talking drums many a night and, oh yes, there were wild dogs crying out in the night. And bless the rains we did. OK I’m dating myself with sharing this old tune but I can’t resist.

    Liked by 9 people

  27. Cheri F says:

    I’m in. I, too, love novenas. Grateful to all here. Amen.

    Liked by 4 people

  28. Monica says:

    I’m in on the novena, too. Let’s also pray for a hastening of the triumph of the Immaculate Heart of our Lady.

    Liked by 4 people

  29. Anne says:

    May our novena help to hasten the Triumph in all hearts!! Come Holy Spirit come ….. Renew the face of the earth.

    Liked by 5 people

  30. Linda says:

    I’m “all in” on this novena Beckita😊 Sure do miss Charlie..but know we are ALL united by TNRS😇

    Liked by 2 people

  31. CrewDog says:

    More interesting news coming during Eastertide 2017.

    “Shroud of Turin coins may finally have been identified”

    http://aleteia.org/2017/04/26/shroud-of-turin-coins-may-finally-have-been-identified/

    GOD SAVE ALL HERE!!

    Liked by 1 person

  32. jtbrannigan says:

    I’m in. Ready to start.

    Liked by 1 person

  33. I’ll be praying the novena and I am inviting others to pray too!

    Liked by 1 person

  34. Cindy Baca says:

    I’m in on this…. At one of the churches, that I visit, from now till May 13th every Monday, Wednesday and Friday, at 3 pm a Rosary to our Lady of Fatima. I know that we all have a laundry list of intentions… So, I have taken a moment to include everyone at TNRS and Abram’s Journey for your intentions, just as I will when this other Novena, comes up. So we all should be tucked in prayers.
    God Bless you all, thank you for praying for me.

    Liked by 3 people

Leave a Reply

