St. Joseph and His Spouse

On this feast of St. Joseph the Worker, we pray for our TNRS community and families that anyone seeking employment would be granted a good job through the intercession of St. Joseph and his Spouse, Mary, by the power of their Son, the Child Jesus.

Dear Saint Joseph, you were yourself once faced with the responsibility of providing the necessities of life for Jesus and Mary. Look down with fatherly compassion upon _____ in anxiety due to inability to support his/her family. Please help him/her find gainful employment very soon, so that this great burden of concern will be lifted from his/her heart and that _____ is soon able to provide for those whom God has entrusted to his/her care. Help him/her guard against discouragement, so that s/he may emerge from this trial spiritually enriched and with even greater blessings from God. Amen.

Our Lady of Tepeyac

Also of note this day is the traditional dedication of the month of May to Mary. We gaze upon this image of Our Lady of Tepeyac in this post as this is how Blessed Mother wishes to be known in our times, for she *is* the Mother of Conversion and oh! how each one of us, our families and our world need to be converted.

Mindful that our readership is comprised of non-Catholics as well as Catholics, I share, again, Charlie’s elegant piece: Mary and the Saints – for Protestants as a tribute to Mary, the Mother of God, in this month of May. It will be such a joy to one day be united as one flock under one shepherd! Thanks be to God, He is already at work in His process of uniting us.

Listening to the whispers of this day, I am nudged to urge us all to either invite Mary more deeply into our lives or to, perhaps, invite her for the first time. God never forces. His Mother never forces. Our Mother’s adversary is the control freak. A first time encounter with Mary may best be engaged by asking her Son to reveal His Mother to you. I can only witness to the truth that upon asking Blessed Mother to bring me closer to her Son, I found myself in the richest relationship to Jesus through her. An Eucharistic Prayer in the Church conveys, “The Virgin Mother bore Him in her womb with love beyond all telling.” She WILL show you how to love Christ in this way. Ask and you shall receive. At the foot of the Cross, Jesus entrusted us all to her maternal care when He said to St. John: “Behold your mother.” But God doesn’t force us. It is we who must ask, invite Mary to be a mother to us.

We’ve spoken much on this site about choosing, choosing God, choosing to trust Him, choosing to believe He has a Plan. Choosing by our own power is puny compared to choosing empowered by God’s Grace. Mary is the Mediatrix of her Son’s Graces pouring upon us from His Cross – if we but ask for them. Mary our Mother awaits our asking. She is ready to intercede for all the graces we’ll ever need. Ask and you shall receive.

About Beckita

Beckita, widow, mother and grandmother, lives in Missoula, Montana. After more than thirty years of service, she retired from two careers: elementary school educator and director of liturgical music ministry in a local parish. Serving the Catholic Church in many capacities since early childhood, she now provides care for a nearly 90 year old priest of Chinese origin and collaborates with him in evangelizing the Chinese people. For more than twenty-five years, she has welcomed words from heaven concerning these sobering times in which we live and, like so many, takes seriously Our Lord and Our Lady’s call to intercede for the return of souls to God. Responding to heaven’s call for prayer, for her, included making pilgrimages to shrines in Europe, Asia and South America. She says these travels, added to her years as a Peace Corps volunteer in West Africa in the mid-seventies, have expanded her heart to hold dear all peoples of the world. She is a longtime member of TNRS community and when she began reading Charlie’s posts, immediately, she found that his mission and message harmonize well with Church approved private revelation of our times. In September 2015, she accepted an invitation to become part of TNRS Answers Team. As events of the Storm evolved, last fall (2016), she accepted Charlie’s invitation to become managing editor of TNRS should he need to leave the site. With great gratitude to and for Charlie, founder of TNRS, and with great respect and admiration for the lifelong experiences and God-given gifts he brought to bear on his work at this site - she knows we all know he’s irreplaceable – still, she considers it a great privilege to serve the TNRS community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

76 Responses to St. Joseph and His Spouse

  1. Joe Crozier says:

    It was confirmed to Conchita in Garabandal by our Blessed Mother that St Joseph is the greatest saint in heaven. No surprises there but special to hear it from the very lips of his wife. Yes, special indeed. Mary always tells the truth so her statement also suggests the She herself is something more and other than a saint. She is The Immaculata. More than ‘just’ a saint. Perhaps that is why we Catholics do not tend to call her Saint Mary. We are blessed by this affirmation about herself and this intimate show of affection for her husband, by this inclusion in the life of The Holy Family, The Son of God, The Mother of God, and The Guardian of God, husband of Mary, St Joseph, the greatest saint in heaven. Pray for us, greatest saint.

    Liked by 17 people

  2. madkatmomma says:

    Beautiful Beckita and so true. For the past 10 weeks I have been in team formation for our women’s Cursillo weekend May 4-7. I have gotten behind in my TNRS reading. Please pray for our candidates and team as we take this walk with the Lord. I’ll be giving a Rollo (short talk) Sunday morning so, if you think of it, please say a quick prayer to the Holy Spirit that I don’t muddle the message.

    Liked by 12 people

  3. Thank-you Beckita, this is excellent. As a convert to the Faith it took me time to come to understand Mary’s role in my life. So glad that She and I persevered. And now, she is my mother, too. 💖🌹
    Looking forward to praying the novena together with you all. ~k

    Liked by 16 people

  4. pvaldez7 says:

    Beckita,

    Beautiful article and so timely with many in TNRS searching for the right job our Lord has designated for us. I will continue to pray for both myself and others in this situation.

    Thank you again !

    Paul in Katy

    Liked by 12 people

  5. Thank you Beckita so much for posting this tribute to St Joseph. I can vouch for this great Saints help in difficulties and would like to share my experience of his intercession.
    I have not really ever posted more than a few words, as I have been going through quite a trial of late but I would like to offer some encouragement and to acknowledge the efficacy of praying to St Joseph 💕
    It was our dear Janet Klasson, ‘Pelianito’ who shared the apparitions of St Joseph in Brazil in I think, the 1990s , with all of us in the ‘Peli’ family’ some months ago. In the apparition, St Joseph said that Our Lord desired that his ( St Josephs) most chaste heart be honoured.
    Jesus said that those who consecrated themselves to St Josephs most chaste heart would receive an abundance of extraordinary graces on the first Wednesday of every month.
    Well some of you may remember I asked for prayers for my dear mum ‘milly’ who was very poorly with end stage dementia. We thought mum was going to go ‘home’ last may as she got very ill. However with a lot of prayer and vigilance she pulled through but remained bed bound.
    Taking on board Janet’s prompting to practice this devotion I would make visits to the side chapel, in honour of St Joseph, at my local cathedral in the UK , and ask St Josephs assistance, especially for the grace of a happy and holy death for my mum.
    Well at the beging of April, mum took a turn for the worse and was sadly admitted into hospice care.
    Wednesday 5th April was the first wed. of the month, so I determine I would not go straight to the hospice but go to Holy Mass to ask St Joseph’s assistance and for that abundant outpouring of extraordinary grace!
    Well it just so happened that Mass that day was to be at the convent, which just happens to be called St Josephs in his honour : ) So I offered up my communion for mum and asked for St Josephs help.
    This done, I then dashed off to the hospice. Mum had taken a turn for the worse. I had already said to my family, also at her bedside that I thought mum would go at 3pm, as I have a devotion to the Divine Mercy and had said it many times at mums bedside whilst she slept.
    I just had this conviction that God would confirm the power of the chaplet. My father had died on D.M. Sunday 2005, the day after St John Paul the second had gone to his heavenly reward.
    Well although not 3pm I said a chaplet, it was clear our dear mum would ‘go’ that afternoon. At ten to 3 I said the Divine litany with the intention of saying another chaplet at 3pm.
    Just as I finished, just a few minutes before 3pm the door opened and a carer came in and said she needed to turn mum. I was taken aback thinking no not now! It’s just about to turn three.
    Orders were orders though, so we had to leave the room. By Divine providence the act of moving mum caused her death at 3 pm due to fluids blocking her airways. She was sedated so mercifully she didn’t know anything about it thankfully.
    I felt it was our Lord confirming her Calvary had finished, the same time as His, at 3 pm. I also feel St Joseph secured her death at that special time, the hour of mercy! My mothers second name also just happened to be Josephine.
    Mum had been anointed again the day before and she died wearing the brown scapular.
    Thank you Jesus Mary and St Joseph for all prayers answered.
    May my dear mum rest in peace and all those who have recently departed.
    Thank you Janet, and God bless you and thank you also to Charlie, Beckita and all of Gods next right steppers here at this place of extraordinary grace ! 🙏🌹❤️

    Liked by 21 people

    • Phillip Frank says:

      Being in construction myself, St Joseph has NEVER failed to answer my prayers to him. He is the go-to guy for my (and our) needs in this time. Remember, he blessed the world during the miracle at Fatima too so he is advocating for us along with his spouse Mary.
      St Joseph, pray for us!

      Liked by 8 people

    • Anne says:

      Thank you for sharing such a beautiful story. May your mum and dad pray for all of us here!!

      Liked by 6 people

    • Joe Crozier says:

      Thank you morningglory2 for sharing this extraordinary experience with us. Annointing, brown scapular, Divine Mercy and attended by St Joseph and a loving daughter – does not get much better than that. Thank you.

      Liked by 8 people

      • Thank you Joe and all of you for your kind words they are very much appreciated.
        It really was a bitter sweet moment. Mum could have gone on for some time longer but Jesus in His mercy and through Our Lady’s and St Josephs intercession shortened mums and my family’s agony.
        There was also the ‘grace ‘ of getting mum into the hospice, the doors just ‘opened’ for mum to be admitted, and although mum was originally admitted to a small ward of three, another hospice resident who was in for a medication review gave up her private room so we and mum could have some privacy. Such a kind and unselfish thing to do.
        I had noticed when mum was on the ward that one of the ladies had a visit from a Christian chaplain . Having some leaflets in my hand bag I went back to see her to tell her that mum had just gone, as she had been praying and asking after her.
        I mentioned to her that I had see her visit with the chaplain and that she must be a Christian. The lady, Florence, confirmed she was.
        I took a Divine Mercy leaflet from my bag and told her it was a powerful prayer and explained briefly about the hour of mercy and that I had been saying it for mum, and that she had just died at 3pm. She smiled and said thank you for the leaflet , and agreed that God was with us and that His mercy is great.
        I hope the Holy Spirit got to work and the Divine Mercy chaplet is now being said by a few more souls 🙏
        Please say a prayer all, for Florence , Patricia and Jean the lady who gave up her room. May St Joseph keep them wrapped in his mantle and may he lead them to the safe harbours of the Sacred and Immaculate heart of Mary. Amen! ❤️🌹

        Liked by 9 people

        • Oops two typos! Should of course had read the Sacred heart of Jesus and the Immaculate heart of Mary !
          Then I have managed to like my own comment trying to comment! iPhones 😉

          Liked by 5 people

          • Beckita says:

            Laughing with you, morningglory, at liking your own comment. So many of us have done so. That and the typos prompt the great prayer: May all the souls o9f the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace. Amen.

            Liked by 7 people

        • Beckita says:

          Uniting with you, MG, in praying for Florence, Patricia and Jean. What a beautiful witness of faith you have given to those near and far!

          Liked by 3 people

        • jlynnbyrd says:

          morningglory, I have prayed for Florence, Patricia and Jean. ❤

          Liked by 2 people

        • Joe Crozier says:

          My mum is 88. She is well but because of cardiac history could go any time. Your sharing helps me to prepare for this and accept it inevitability, hopefully not for many years. Prayers said for Florence, Patricia and Jean.
          May the Holy Family lend you special support in this difficult time.
          The prayer I was taught as a child was
          “Jesus, Mary and Joseph, I give you my heart and my soul.
          Jesus , Mary and Joseph, assist me in my last agony.
          Jesus, Mary and Joseph, may I breath forth my soul in peace with you, Amen.”

          Liked by 8 people

          • Thank you Joe for your prayers, I know each one counts. I’m sure Patricia, jean and Florence would be so pleased if they knew that people were praying for them. They were lovely ladies, bearing their troubles with great grace. God bless them and their loved ones.
            Cherish every moment with your dear mum, every little chat and happy time, they are so precious. Prayers for you and your mum too, that every help and grace be yours along the way. ❤️

            Liked by 2 people

        • Mick says:

          Morningglory, I will pray for the people you mentioned, and for your dear mother.

          Liked by 2 people

    • Beckita says:

      WOW, morningglory! Thank you for sharing this beautiful story faith with all its details brimming with faith. To die at the Hour of Mercy is amazing. Loved the way St. Joseph interceded. Praying for the repose of your mum’s soul, asking her to intercede for us and praying for you, morningglory, and all who love your mum as you embark on the mourning journey. .

      Liked by 6 people

      • Thank you Beckita, mum had just turned 91, she was a mother to five a devoted wife and mother. She was blessed with a very saintly husband Brian who was her ‘rock.’
        The last couple of years were really difficult but I knew what God was about, saving souls! My last words to mum whilst she was conscious was that all that was left was that ‘crown of glory’ and that daddy and all the family were waiting for her and she managed to whisper “yes.” A heart wrenching moment. It really had been a Calvary for me watching the mum I adore slip away.
        Mum had pretty much lost the ability to talk which was a cross as she loved to chat. In fact she once said a Irish nun at her school , had said in exasperation “Mildred O’Shea yar always talkin’!” ☺️
        Mums name means ‘gentle strength’ and that she had in buckets.
        I miss you mum, you were an angel and heavens gain is our sad loss. May you rest in sweet peace. God bless you always and thank you for all your love. You were my ⭐️ 💕

        Liked by 7 people

        • Beckita says:

          MG, a holy death is a great and lasting gift upon entering Eternal Life, a gift for the dying one and a gift for those who accompany the one making that Final Journey Home. From all you’ve written it is evident you carry on your mum’s legacy of gentle strength. We are honored by your sharing. Thank you so much.

          Liked by 9 people

    • PrayerPartner says:

      What a beautiful story and testimonial to the power of good St. Joseph. May you be comforted knowing that your mum was carried to heaven at this most sacred hour of Our Lord. She is surely with Him in heaven.

      Liked by 9 people

      • Thank you prayerpartner I feel the Lord did confirm to me that mum was in heaven. I asked through tears, for Jesus to confirm to me through the Diary of St Faustina that mum had gone straight to heaven, as I couldn’t cope with the thought she might be in purgatory!
        Well I wasn’t sure how Our Lord was going to do this through the diary but he did!
        I opened it on a page where St Faustina was writing about a Jewish woman who was dying and whom she wanted to be baptised. Her fellow nun, who was nursing the lady said it would be difficult as the family were always at her bedside.
        St Faustina had an image of Divine Mercy which she then venerated calling on Gods mercy and prayed the chaplet for the dying woman.
        Suddenly the woman took a dramatic turn for the worse and her family scattered, running to fetch the Dr.
        The sister took her opportunity and the woman was baptised through the mercy of God!
        At that moment St Faustina was given a glorious vision of the woman’s soul rising straight to heaven! Giving confirmation of the power of the chaplet and the image.
        I have an image of Jesus, Divine Mercy, that was invested by my priest and that has been used at Divine Mercy Sundays services.
        It was in mum room when she died, given pride of place, with a vase of deep pink and white roses, the only ones that had been available and which I later realised symbolised beautifully the blood and water which “gushed forth” from His most Sacred heart!
        So I feel at peace that my mum has gone to her reward. God is good!
        Mum did her purgatory on earth for the last twelve years of her life, separated from her beloved husband and suffering stoically the cognitive decline that comes with dementia and all that brings. When my mother got married she says that she made s vow that she would never complain if God in return would protect her family. She was indeed the most umncomplaining person I knew and God has kept His end of the bargain 🙏
        One last thing, I have just remembered that when the new parish church was being built that my mothers father paid his men to dig the foundations. The name of that church, St Josephs!’ 😊🌹

        Liked by 7 people

    • My mother in law is also called Milly and she too is suffering from dementia so I can understand what you went through . I also pray to St Joseph regularly every morning.

      Christus Vinci

      Liked by 8 people

    • Karen says:

      mg02, I am so sorry for the loss of your mum “milly”. I guess this loss has been gradual for you as your mother journeyed further into her illness until the end. Thank you St Joseph for taking over with the best of fatherly care when we can do no more for our loved ones!

      Liked by 6 people

    • madkatmomma says:

      What a lovely tribute to St. Joseph and your mother. Walking with a loved one who has dementia is a special grace. God bless you and keep you.

      Liked by 6 people

  6. jlynnbyrd says:

    Morningglory, what a blessings for your mum and family. I will keep you all in my prayers. I am grateful that you shared your beautiful witness story. ❤

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Thank you for your words about St. Joseph and our lady. I am renewing my consecration to Mary through the 33 days of Morning Glory ending on May 13th. I have grown closer to Jesus through Mary. St. Joseph also is becoming my go to Saint for my husband and my son. He helps me do so many household tasks that use to overwhelm me.

    Liked by 7 people

  8. Morningglory, what a sweet/sad/sweet story. Thank-you. I ask St. Joseph’s intercession daily for the return of our 6 sons to the Faith. He has always been good to me so I trust him to offer all to Jesus through Mary’s hands. Jesus, I trust in you.
    For all who request prayers – yes, praying.
    Attended a funeral today for a priest very dear to me, to us. He was 88 and was a Benedictine monk so the funeral was at the Abbey. He was such a character and will be missed.
    +RIP+ Fr. Cosmas White.
    God bless, k

    Liked by 7 people

  9. mbrandon8026 says:

    Wonderful Beckita

    I have also recently felt the call to turn to St. Joseph. In particular, Last night I turned to him for my step son, son in law, and the young men in the lives of our other 4 daughters.

    God Bless all who come here.

    Michael Brandon

    Liked by 7 people

    • Beckita says:

      Great to hear from you, Michael. Amen to your prayer. Because of a personal friendship with a priest cousin of St. Andre, I have prayed similarly for the men in my family, both biological and emotionally adopted family. Since God is in the Eternal Now, I love to ask St. Andre to mystically anoint the guys with oil from the lamp burning before St. Joseph. In this is the type of practice St. Theresa of Avila advised: the use of images to stir fervor in prayer. Blessed be God. Joining you in prayer that St. Joseph intercede for your guys and also asking that he intercede for all the men in our TNRS community.

      Liked by 9 people

  10. moreen67 says:

    Our Lady’s latest message from Medjugorje…..May 2, 2017 Message to Mirjana

    “Dear children, I am calling you to pray, not to ask for, but to offer sacrifice – sacrificing yourselves. I am calling you to reveal the truth and merciful love. I am praying to my Son for you, for your faith, which is all the more diminishing in your hearts. I am imploring Him to help you with the divine spirit, as I also desire to help you with my motherly spirit. My children, you must be better. Only those who are pure, humble and filled with love sustain the world – they are saving themselves and the world. My children, my Son is the heart of the world. He should be loved and prayed to, and not always betrayed anew. Therefore, you, apostles of my love, spread the faith in the hearts of people by your example, your prayer and merciful love. I am beside you, I will help you. Pray for your shepherds to have all the more light, so as to be able to illuminate all those who live in darkness. Thank you.”

    After I read this I thought of the urgency for us to do as she says – sacrifice ourselves and pray for our shepherds. Maureen

    Liked by 10 people

    • Snowy Owl says:

      Amen, Mo! You know this made me think of something i heard… I was half watching this strange but pretty good movie yesterday, called 10,000 BC, I think… anyway, I was doing other things and then I heard one of the men say, “A good man draws a circle around himself and cares for those within; his woman, his children. Other men draw a larger circle and bring with them their brothers and sisters. But some men have a great destiny and they must draw around themselves a circle that includes many, many more.”
      I perked right up when I heard this because of what Mary says above.. and also Charlie and TNRS! 🙂
      (Oh kinda silly 🙃 yes I know, heehee, but I thought it was well said- especially coming from a movie!)

      Liked by 8 people

  11. Joe Crozier says:

    The feast of St Joseph the Worker made me think of a prayer card given to me by my dad. It said,
    “God give me work til my life shall end and life til my work is done.”

    Liked by 11 people

  12. Snowy Owl says:

    “Listening to the whispers of this day…” So beautiful Beckita! 💖 Amen! Amen!

    Liked by 3 people

  13. The Lord Jesus knows our every need, before we even ask it of Him. I would encourage everyone who has yet to do this, to draw close to Him. He wants to know each one of us, in our heart, in our inner most being. Just as Jesus said to us;

    “Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me.”

    When we eat a meal with someone, we know them afterwards in an intimate way that we didn’t before. The same with the Lord Jesus, when we ask Him into our heart, we will know Him. And, of course, He wants us to come and ask Him for anything that we are lacking, including our financial needs.

    “The Lord is at hand; do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.”

    “Since then we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus, the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession. For we do not have a high priest who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses, but one who in every respect has been tempted as we are, yet without sin. Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

    Dave

    Liked by 11 people

  14. zsa says:

    Beckita, thank you for reminding me of a few prayers I’ve asked of St. Joseph. As a widow when our sons were just 10 and 2 and a half, I often asked the dear foster father of Our Lord to watch over the boys–just as he did for Jesus. And my mothering skills were at times…well…downright shameful, if not totally lacking. So I asked Our Lady to be a good and loving Mother to our sons and to teach me and help our family. All prayers were answered. No, my boys and I are still very far from where we should be. Under duress from those we live with, I told my oldest son that he needed a job by the end of May or he’d have to live elsewhere. (Not that I wanted that! I don’t know what I’d have done if he didn’t find a job in the time limit.) So I again turned to the Holy Parents. First my youngest son got a job. Then before the end of April, my oldest son got a job at the same place. I thank Our Beloved God for hearing the prayers of His saints. They DO pray for us, and God hears the prayers of those He entrusted to raise Himself as God Made Man. How astonishing to think of that! If He would honor them in that way, who are we *not* to. 🙂 ❤ God bless all here. Jesus, I trust in You.

    Liked by 9 people

Leave a Reply

