Save Us O Lord; Carry Us Back; Rouse Your Power and Come

Children’s Rosary Prayer Group – Meets Daily in Pakistan

Surveying the condition of the world and its people, near and far, one can only imagine what the shape of things would be without Our Mother’s children, both young and old, offering her millions of penances and prayers, throughout the day, with an equal plentitude of loving next right steps to present to our Father at His Throne. Deo Gratias as hearts continue to cry, Maranatha! The screeching winds, swirling seas and violent lightening strikes bespeak the reality that the hour is late in this Time of Choosing. And within THE Choice for God are myriad choices to be made, day by day, moment by moment, to ensure we fall not prey to hopelessness and despair. Jesus, our Emmanuel, has never left us and He never will; it is we who are tempted to turn away in discouargement, losing heart – yet, we can choose, instead, to believe, to trust and to hope in Him.

We are pressed on every side by troubles, but we are not crushed. We are perplexed, but not driven to despair. (2Corintians 4:8)

Many of our commenters have expressed their choice to dial back on news intake and detach from additional life activities which trigger internal unrest and outright agitation. In understanding this choice, I’ve become very selective about what I read and view by seeking the wisdom of spiritual and temporal writers and speakers who bring depth of understanding and insight to the issues we face. To this end, I’ve long appreciated the writings of a great voice crying in the wilderness of our times, Fr. Dwight Longenecker. One of his recent pieces, Sparado, Straw Men and Scapegoats, is a well reasoned and piquant response to the article written by Antonio Spadaro (edit- the article is co-authored with Marcelo Figueroa), in  La Civiltà Cattolica, which some of our commenters have mentioned and many Catholic writers have analyzed. Excerpt from Fr. Longenecker:

“The article that everybody is talking about at La Civiltà Cattolica can be read here

The problem is that the authors are commenting on something they don’t know about from personal experience. It’s all theory from a few books they’ve read and perhaps a few conversations with fellow intellectuals in some coffee shop in Europe.

The American Evangelical scene is far more complex and crazy than these guys understand. Their snide comment, for instance about Evangelical fundamentalists being mostly “white men from the deep South” is a racist bigoted comment on the level of Obama’s famous and fatuous wisecrack about country folk who “cling to their religion and guns” or Mrs Clinton’s “basket of deplorables”…

But the main problem is that in the second half Spadaro and Figuerao attempt to throw Catholic conservatives into the same pick up truck as the “stupid Evangelicals”. They come up with a name “Catholic Integralists”. This shadowy group want to create a “theocracy” and go to war with the Muslims etc. etc. As others have pointed out, such American Catholics only exist in the imagination of Spadaro and Figueroa…”

Victor Davis Hanson is another writer and speaker who provides clarity amidst mass confusion. His piece, “The Fifth American War,” reflects exactly what Charlie has written and spoken about, extensively, after having revealed these things more than twenty years ago to his spiritual directors. Here’s a peek at Hanson’s beginning:

“The country is coming apart, and the advocates of radical egalitarianism are winning. The wars between Trump, the media, the deep state, and the progressive party — replete with charges and counter-charges of scandal, collusion, and corruption — are merely symptoms of a much larger fundamental and growing divide between Americans that is reaching a dangerous climax.

On four prior occasions in American history the country nearly split apart, as seemingly irreconcilable cultural, economic, political, social, geographical, and demographic fault lines opened a path to hatred and violence.”

Charlie has recommended Cardinal Sarah’s newest book and I, too, have been savoring this gem. Sweet silence, in contemplation and communion, restores peace and equilibrium in these days, nearly overwhelming with the noise of the Storm with its chaos, confusion and division. The holy silence provides opportunity to rest near the Lord’s Heart – as surely as St. John did while reclining at table – for us,  it’s reclining in the stern of the Barque of Peter, safe and resting in the Lord, a respite from raging waters, praying: Save us O Lord; carry us back; rouse your power and come.

Excerpt from Robert Cardinal Sarah’s newest book: The Power of Silence – Against the Dictatorship of Noise:

God carries us, and we live with him at every moment by keeping silence. Nothing will make us discover God better than his silence inscribed in the center of our being. If we do not cultivate this silence, how can we find God? Man likes to travel, create, make great discoveries. But he remains outside of himself, far from God, who is silently in his soul. I want to recall how important it is to cultivate silence in order to be truly with God. Saint Paul, drawing on the Book of Deuteronomy, explains that we will not encounter God by crossing the seas, because he is in our heart:

But the righteousness which is of faith speaketh on this wise, Say not in thine heart, Who shall ascend into heaven? (that is, to bring Christ down from above:) Or, Who shall descend into the deep? (that is, to bring up Christ again from the dead.) But what saith it? The word is nigh thee, even in thy mouth, and in thy heart: that is, the word of faith, which we preach; That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. (Romans 10:6-9, drawing from Deuteronomy 30:12-14, 16)

About Beckita

Beckita, widow, mother and grandmother, lives in Missoula, Montana. After more than thirty years of service, she retired from two careers: elementary school educator and director of liturgical music ministry in a local parish. Serving the Catholic Church in many capacities since early childhood, she now provides care for a nearly 90 year old priest of Chinese origin and collaborates with him in evangelizing the Chinese people. For more than twenty-five years, she has welcomed words from heaven concerning these sobering times in which we live and, like so many, takes seriously Our Lord and Our Lady’s call to intercede for the return of souls to God. Responding to heaven’s call for prayer, for her, included making pilgrimages to shrines in Europe, Asia and South America. She says these travels, added to her years as a Peace Corps volunteer in West Africa in the mid-seventies, have expanded her heart to hold dear all peoples of the world. She is a longtime member of TNRS community and when she began reading Charlie’s posts, immediately, she found that his mission and message harmonize well with Church approved private revelation of our times. In September 2015, she accepted an invitation to become part of TNRS Answers Team. As events of the Storm evolved, last fall (2016), she accepted Charlie’s invitation to become managing editor of TNRS should he need to leave the site. With great gratitude to and for Charlie, founder of TNRS, and with great respect and admiration for the lifelong experiences and God-given gifts he brought to bear on his work at this site - she knows we all know he’s irreplaceable – still, she considers it a great privilege to serve the TNRS community.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Save Us O Lord; Carry Us Back; Rouse Your Power and Come

  1. Karen says:

    Thank you Beckita! Let us all praise God Almighty for He pours out upon us Life Abundant through the words of His and Our Shepherds! Holy Archangel Michael, please protect them all from their enemies.

    Liked by 8 people

  2. Great article, B, interesting links, and beautiful picture at the top. I just came in from a Rosary walk along Rapid Creek — but it was a wandering, distracted prayer tonight. These Pakistani kids appear to put me to shame with their piety. “…whoever does not receive the kingdom of God like a child…”

    Other than touching base with the Drudge bulletin board or an occasional dose of Mark Levin for a Constitutional booster shot, I’m done with the preoccupied-with-Washington news hacks — the whole lot of them. Even liberal Fox News Radio infuriated me with their twisted, 20-second take on the crisis in Israel. They reported the events in reverse order, blaming the Jews on the recent violence because they installed metal detectors — rather than the real culprits: the murderous Muslims. Even our Pope called to both sides for peace and dialogue instead of solely condemning the evil doers. (note: I pray for Francis daily). So why should we bother watching news at all? I can see no reason why. Same old sh–…it is nearly all garbage. I just wait for the “big one” now.

    Sorry, the satan likes to interfere with my sleep, and that makes me very vulnerable to volatile anger, self-absorbed sadness, impulsiveness, and sin. I’ve slept terribly these past few days/ months/ years. It is, in fact, a sign of a lack of faith and trust. I try to imagine resting beside Jesus in the boat, asleep on the cushions during the storm (Mk 4:37-39), but the apostles keep waking me up.

    Liked by 14 people

    • Beckita says:

      So true, Patrick, that good sleep is critical as a foundation for mental choosing. I have followed a former educator turned brain researcher who has made a case for neuroplasticity based on the importance of each thought. She’s an evangelical who has based her presentations on Scripture and, while there are some theological differences from Catholicism, much of her findings and work ring true.

      We *are* the keepers of the gate concerning which thoughts we let into our minds for pondering and rumination. There are fascinating images revealing how each thought is stored in the brain. Our negative thoughts look like deciduous trees in winter with thorny nubs on each branch. When we dwell on the negatives – and memories are stored as thoughts – the nubs secrete substances such as neurotransmitters and hormones which circulate through our bodies, precipitating all manner of illnesses as well as leading us to emotional upset, blockage, anxiety, depression, addiction etc.

      And I’m not aiming this at you, Patrick. This information was especially beneficial to me as I went into meta-cognition mode in order to continue growing spiritually via self-knowledge. Also, many family members, friends and people seeking counsel and prayer have struggled in these ways so that these considerations became all the more interesting and beneficial to share.

      I have said before, and continue to imagine, that the work of rebuilding after the Lord has purified us will include assisting people in healing, strengthening and rebuilding the inner person. Co-creating with God in this manner, I think, will be a beautiful, spiritual work of mercy. God bless you, Patrick.

      Liked by 9 people

    • Hm. I just found a trick to recover an attempted post when there’s a glitch. I’ll have to remember that for Snowy, At any rate, and as B has kindly shown, there is indeed a great deal we don’t know but are learning about. I wholeheartedly agree that these things are resolved through a process of healing, strengthening and rebuilding. It takes time, and that’s the norm.

      Of course sometimes we need something in a pinch, so I just wanted to offer a nugget that I have found to be most helpful in this kind of struggle. Simply look to God and say something along the lines of, “Father, I am your child, I belong to you. I am yours!” And mean it. He loves you beyond measure.

      The last couple of times I did that there was a spiritual shock wave that cleared the area. And peace in His gaze. I don’t know how else to describe it.

      I’ve also added, “Patrick is my brother!” And meant it. So maybe I’ve already greased the skids for you.

      God Bless, Patrick.

      MP

      Liked by 9 people

      • M.P., I woke up at 3am and started a continuous Divine Mercy Chaplet until about 4, then I read your post. I followed your prayer (verbatim) and dosed off in minutes. Cool! A lot of people give great advice here, but your simple prayer of surrender did the trick. Thanks, brother, for your prayer.

        Musings on the Mind:

        A fellow named Roy Masters, a Jewish author who provides unconventional yet sound advice, spoke about mental problems. Essentially he believes the cause of most psychological disorders (unless a physical or biochemical reason exists) is when a person’s behavior conflicts with the purpose for which they were created. Basically, to quote the movie “Planes, Trains, and Automobiles”: “You’re going the wrong way!”

        Like many here, I worry if I will rise to the challenges of the Storm. Will I be an effective soldier for Christ and a hope to others? This gives me pause, particularly when I demonstrate that even during mild bouts of weather I seem to struggle and falter. Right now, I’m waiting for a decision from my school about whether or not I’m still in the NP program – a decision that should have been made three months ago. I made a dozen changes including moving back to Rapid City with the understanding I’m still in, but now life is in stasis as I wait, and things may suddenly change. This is very stressful (to me), and I’m kind of a wreck about it. Alas, God’s will, God’s will….

        So, about the mind. I need certain things in order to function at optimum. Exercise, and lots of it. I feel this physical demand, and my mind suffers when there is a deficit. When I get enough exercise, I feel better (less depressed), I sleep better, I think better, and I process food better. Memory also improves. 🤓

        Unfortunately I moved to a dinky apartment on the busiest street in Rapid, right at an intersection. Motorcycles, loud mufflers, semis roar all day. After life in the quite hills and pines of Custer State Park, this is a challenging transition. My apartment is hot, so I need a noisy air conditioner running all day that sits in a window at the foot of my bed. This interferes with sleep. 😫 I can’t win. Sigh.

        What can I control? I need to stop using my iPad before bed. And I must keep my iPad and phone in the other room rather that next to bed. I should pray and meditate for 30 minutes before sleep. I should go to bed at the same time every night to set that internal clock. I need to exercise. I need a schedule. I need discipline. Things like this.

        So I worry about my performance during the Storm. As long as I get plenty of exercise, ample amounts of nutritious food, peace and quiet during sleeping hours, and no other worries, I think I’ll do just fine during the heat of the Storm! But that’s not going to happen, is it. Reality is much less than ideal, and I’m not in Heaven yet.😇

        Time will tell. This is the period where I try to prepare physically and mentally for the challenges that lie ahead. Just some musings. Had more to say on this, but forgot a lot of it. I’ve been off my game. Perhaps that’s for the best. 😀

        Liked by 4 people

        • Doug says:

          You can borrow my red wagon if that helps Patrick. Take a ride in the woods.

          Liked by 2 people

          • Is it a Radio Flyer? Well, as tempting as that sounds, it’s probably best I remain where I’m at. Eventually I’ll acclimatize to the noise, so a trip through the woods might just set me back and make matters worse.

            Actually, I think my sleep problems have less to do with the noise and more to do with the world chaos and the uncertainty of my future. I was up all night again last night, worrying about nothing (Washington) and forgetting thoughts as soon as they leave my mind. I feel a rambling lecture coming on, Doug, so I best button my lips now….🙂

            Liked by 3 people

          • Doug says:

            Yup! Radio flyer! Nothing but the best in red wagons for you Patrick! 😎

            Liked by 2 people

    • Janet says:

      ..”….So why should we bother watching news at all? ” Oh I so agree with you here, Patrick. I remember just a few decades ago when newscasters were not allowed to voice their own opinion. That’s all changed now. The majority distort the news for their own agendas..letting their own personal opinions seep into the coverage.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Gosh, that’s right, Janet. Sensationalism and ratings, biases and agendas, unnamed sources and isolated statistics, and lots of dumbed-down repetition. Every talking head is now an expert. You and I are forced to dig through so much rubbish if we wish to find pertinent, useful facts (especially about the world outside the US/UK). But I’m really tired of the digging; feels useless at this point.

        When things really start to head south, though, facts will become a commodity and opinion will be meaningless.

        I pray you are well, Janet. 🙂

        Liked by 4 people

      • Doug says:

        Well, I think that is ok as long as opinions are founded in truth and reason surrounding the faith. Trouble is most opinions are about the secular progressive left. Not worth watching. Good to hear from you Janet!

        Liked by 2 people

  3. Gail Pawlik says:

    Very strongly suggest the book “TRUMP PROPHECIES” by Mark Taylor & Mary Colbert.
    When I started reading it, I never put it down until I completely finished it. Shows how Trump was prayed into the Presidency by conservative Evangelical Christians and Catholics and how God’s prophecies are unfolding….that America will flourish as never before and will be a light to the world, along with Israel. The “swamp will be cleaned up” and the New World Order will soon be over.

    Liked by 6 people

    • Beckita says:

      Interesting, Gail. And for all anyone has been shown, no one can fully know who, what, how, when, where God’s Plan will unfold in its fullness. HE is the Source of Goodness and His Imagination is Infinite. May each of us remain open to receive what He is doing and bringing. May each one be ready for every blessed NRS as God calls us into action.

      Liked by 5 people

  4. Dear Bekita, I thank thee, dear lady, from the “deeps of my heart”, for your writing. It gives me great consolation, and direction for my life. In thanksgiving, I offer you a beautiful song, a lullaby written by Steven Foster, that gives me the sense of what you say. It is performed by Alison Kraus and Yo Yo Ma. I listen to this song as if Our Blessed Mother herself is singing it to me personally.

    God bless you, Bekita,
    Robert

    Liked by 6 people

  5. flora potter says:

    On Sunday July 16 we in the NeoCatechumenal Way, sent 250 people out to the western states in teams of 2 & 3. They went without money or cell phones. They carried a bible, a breviary and a list of parishes to visit and evangelize. They met with people in the streets and priests and bishops. They slept wherever they could, they ate if food was offered and they walked miles and miles. They prayed for you and all of us. Yesterday they came back and they were full of joy…they unequivocally experienced that God exists and He is a loving, merciful God who took care of all their needs. Today they and we celebrated the Eucharist (Mass) together. They have experienced life changing gifts from the Lord.
    May we all receive the graces of His love and mercy in our lives as we take the path of resistance, following His footsteps, for the sake of our brothers and the salvation of souls…especially those in most need of His mercy.

    Peace
    flora

    Liked by 15 people

  6. Monica says:

    Thank you, Beckita! What an encouraging post. The picture of those childen praying so fervently–what comfort and hope it brings me! I find myself crying out more frequently during the day this very simple prayer, “Save us, Lord! We are perishing!” I have come to love the Chaplet of the Holy Face during this time, too. It is good to know that so many are praying throughout this land for the Lord to rise up and make His enemies flee from before His face. God bless you for your faithfulness in posting such beautiful and helpful messages.

    Liked by 8 people

  7. Tarja says:

    Thank you, Beckita, for this article! It was such a comfort to me…
    I add only one word here: Hesychasm. Meaning:

    Hesychasm is a mystical tradition of contemplative prayer in the Eastern Orthodox Church. Based on Christ’s injunction in the Gospel of Matthew that “when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray”,[1] hesychasm in tradition has been the process of retiring inward by ceasing to register the senses, in order to achieve an experiential knowledge of God.

    And this explanation:
    Metropolitan Kallistos Ware, a distinguished scholar of Orthodox theology, distinguishes five distinct usages of the term “hesychasm”:
    “solitary life”, a sense, equivalent to “eremitical life”, in which the term is used since the 4th century;
    “the practice of inner prayer, aiming at union with God on a level beyond images, concepts and language”, a sense in which the term is found in Evagrius Ponticus (345-399), Maximus the Confessor (c. 580 – 662), and Symeon the New Theologian (949-1022);
    “the quest for such union through the Jesus Prayer”, the earliest reference to which is in Diadochos of Photiki (c. 450);
    “a particular psychosomatic technique in combination with the Jesus Prayer”, use of which technique can be traced back at least to the 13th century;
    “the theology of St. Gregory Palamas”, on which see Palamism

    I am translating a book about Igumen Hariton, leader of the Valaam monastery (first in Russia, then in Finland). He was a hesychast and a teacher of Jesus Prayer. It has been a privilege to read excerpts of his diary and translate them into Finnish. As a igumen he had a very hard “job” and he had to endure a lot of persecution and insults during a very difficult historical period… He wanted to live in hermitage as a recluse monk but could do so only for short periods. Most of the time he was in spiritual battle AND had simultaneously to fight with all sorts of difficulties in his position as an igumen, leader of the monastery. But God never abandoned him and Jesus prayer carried him through all those enormous troubles.

    Liked by 8 people

  8. radiclaudio says:

    Excellent post. TY Beckita.

    God’s strength and peace to us all.

    With love,

    Rich

    Liked by 4 people

  9. erin483 says:

    Your articles come at the right time. Thanks for a beautiful post.

    Liked by 3 people

  10. jj says:

    I’m not sure where I found this link, it may have appeared in this blog. I have trouble keeping track of it all these days 😨

    These celestial events are remarkably similar to the celestial events that occurred during the Nativity. Of course, it could be a coincidence.

    (edit: initial link removed; substituted this link to read about the astronomical event: https://www.romancatholicman.com/revelations-12-sign-begins-day-year-mercy-ends-2/)

    Liked by 5 people

    • Beckita says:

      This news has been shared here some time ago, jj. Thanks for the reminder.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Mick says:

      Jj, I was just thinking about this issue a couple of days ago, but wasn’t sure where to find the article. So I’m very thankful that you posted the link. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • Phillip Frank says:

      After reading this article from Mr Archibold. I agree with him in that it is confined to his opinion, not just on the soon to occur luminary alignments but even on much of his ideas on the scripture passages he quotes.
      I think it wise for us to be reminded of the writings of St. Mary of Jesus (Agreda) and her volumous writing, The City Of God.
      As a mystic, she was lead through the life and mystical experiences of Jesus and Mary by Mary herself and then, after each particular vision, would be instructed by Our Lady on the lesson of each vision and given some hindsight and reason concerning each event. This is similar to how Jesus gave the apostles the meaning behind His parables. St. Catherine Emmerich had a similar experience, and much of what she saw corroborates with the Agreda account.
      Agreda was told that the star of Bethlehem was not an astrological event devined up by three astrologers, but a miraculous event, similar to what the shepards saw, created by an angel and that the “star” was an angel that lead them clear to the manger, not just to Bethlehem, descending down into the place where He was and hovering over the manger. This tradition can be further reflected on as to why some families put an angel over the manger scene or on top of the Christmas tree instead of a star!
      Angels, in their very nature are God’s messengers. It is therefore most appropriate and logical to believe that this revelation to the Maggi was from an Angel and not just a random celestial configuration plus we have the words of a canonized saint and some long standing tradition to help us remember that God is with us as only God can be in this miracle.
      A portent is not a random physical event, but a heavenly sign. We must discern between the two or be lost in a world only interested in explaining “faith” through reason, no matter how puerile and not believing in mystery no matter how inexplicable.
      ” and for those without faith, no explanation is possible but for those with faith, no explanation is necessary”.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Beckita says:

        Thank you, Phillip. I must apologize for missing that the link provided was from The Remnant Newspaper. For whatever any of us discern concerning the difficulties within the Church, at this time, I have observed The Remnant Newspaper is so far right in their agenda, it reminds me of how the Lefebrists’ Society of St. Pius X devolved into their schism from Mother Church. The original link has been replaced with another source for reading about this phenomenon.

        Liked by 4 people

    • Karen says:

      As Jesus has said, he does not leave us orphans – He gives Himself to us in Holy Communion until the end of time, and He sends us the Holy Spirit to us to help us discern the signs of the times, among other things.

      Like the Star of Bethlehem, which we have been shown in the DVD of the same name is not so much a ‘star’ but a conjunction of heavenly bodies (of particular note) which involves a retrograde motion, we are now in the midst (beginning November 20, 2016 – the last day of the Year of Mercy) of what the book of Revelation calls ‘The Great Sign’ which also involves not only stars but other heavenly bodies (again of particular note) and again a retrograde motion.

      Again also in this current astronomical story, displayed in all it’s heavenly glory by our Abba Father, we have pertinent dates which really only mean anything to Catholics who are watching what is happening and who are open to the Holy Spirit, and who love Our Blessed Mother. That is not meant to be an exclusive statement but one that recognizes that those who are responding to Her Call have the great fortune to be in the ‘front row’ of this great spectacle. Are there any of us here who at one point did not wish we could have been at the Cova da Iria on October 13, 1917 to see the Miracle of the Sun?

      Any here who are members of the Marion Movement of Priests will be very familiar with terms like ‘The Great Sign’, ‘The Woman clothed with the Sun’ and ‘Lift Up Your Eyes to Heaven’, etc. This last one is the title of Reading #480 given on October 13, 1992, which tells us in (a) they are the words Blessed Mother said to little Lucy at the end of the last apparition and then she (Lucy) turning to an immense multitude, invited all to look toward the sun.

      Blessed Mother also says in (i) of that reading:
      “Lift up your eyes to heaven, because your liberation is near.
      From heaven, there will come to you the new era of light and holiness.
      From heaven, there will come to you the definitive defeat of satan and his whole powerful army of evil.
      From heaven, there will come to you Christ, in the splendour of His glory, riding on the white horse of his divine power.”

      jj, we have a saying in Australia that applies here “Wouldn’t be dead for quids!” (quids being an old monetary term).

      Liked by 2 people

  11. madkatmomma says:

    Several years ago at Mass, our priest was talking about prayer and hearing God’s voice. He said we often need long periods of silence. This was a news flash to me, and transformative. To me prayer had mostly been memorized recitations. Of course I still pray the traditional prayers because they are a quick way to speak with God. But they are like fast food versus an elegant dinner. I will get Cardinal Sarah’s book. I am so whipsawed not just by world events, but the infighting and ugliness coming from our spiritual leaders in Rome and elsewhere is most troubling to me. I don’t have the proper vantage point or experience to ascertain who is right but I truly wish the Roman Curia and the Holy Father would get their collective acts together. It’s embarrassing, disheartening and demoralizing.

    Liked by 3 people

  12. theresa323 says:

    Thank you Beckita and Patrick of SD. The reply to Patrick was really helpful.. The news is so negative. It does not matter if it is coming from Rome or Washington.. The beautiful children praying with their hearts, as the Blessed Mother says. Pray with your hearts.
    It is time for silence, I can no longer listen to the noise. Charley Gard’s parents had to let him go, his condition deteriorated to the point of no return. How sad, that the parents wishes were disregarded.

    Liked by 3 people

  13. Phil Mals says:

    Charlie, a friend of mine told me about a post from today by Peter B., a theologian from Europe. It has been taken down. Can you repost it. Thank you, Phil

    Like

    • Beckita says:

      Hello Phil. Not quite sure where the post from Peter B. was originally found. The only link related to Peter B at TNRS is found in the side bar of the site’s page under the title, Books. Here’s the link if it helps. Other than that, there have been no comments made on site by Peter of Which I am aware. God bless you.

      Like

  14. Bob says:

    This is again worth posting. Pope Benedict’s talk to the Curia. Excita Domine….” An advent prayer calling on God to rouse His power and come to our aid:
    http://w2.vatican.va/content/benedict-xvi/en/speeches/2010/december/documents/hf_ben-xvi_spe_20101220_curia-auguri.html

    Liked by 3 people

  15. Came across this today. There is no point in preparing, other than by striving to conform our will to His.

    “We ought to conform to God’s will in all public calamities such as war, famine and pestilence, and reverence and adore His judgments with deep humility in the firm belief that, however severe they may seem, the God of infinite goodness would not send such disasters unless some great good were to result from them.”

    “Consider how many souls may be saved through tribulation which would otherwise be lost, how many persons through affliction are converted to God and die with sincere repentance for their sins. What may appear a scourge and punishment is often a sign of great grace and mercy. ”

    “As far as we are personally concerned, let us meditate well on this truth of our faith that the very hairs of our head are numbered, and not one of them will fall except by the will of God. In other words we cannot suffer the least harm unless He wills and orders it. Relying on this truth we can easily understand that we have nothing more or less to fear in times of public calamity than at any other time. God can just as easily protect us in the midst of general ruin and despair as He can deliver us from evil while all around is peace and content. The only thing we need to be concerned about is to gain His favor, and this is the inevitable effect of conforming our will to His. Let us therefore hasten to accept from His hand all that He sends us, and as a result of our trustful surrender He will either cause us to gain the greatest advantages from our misfortunes or else spare us them altogether. ”

    Trustful Surrender to Divine Providence by Father Jean Baptiste Saint-Jure

    Liked by 5 people

  16. Kris says:

    I am reading Cardinal Sarah’s book and I mean reading lines, sometimes paragraphs at each setting, then praying, being in God’s presence to let God solidify the words I read,. It is truly a gift to the church today. Just one thought for the day today was: “It is necessary to impose silence on the labor of thought, calm the agitation of the heart, the turmoil of cares and worries, and eliminate all artificial distraction. Nothing makes us understand listening better than the correlation between silence and listening, attention and the gift. Thus, Saint John writes in the Prologue to his Gospel: ‘The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it’ (Jn 1:5). The silence of listening is a silent heart-to-heart conversation.” pg 81 And one more: 141 “It is a case of true amnesia: Catholics no longer know that silence is sacred because it is God’s dwelling place. How can we rediscover the sense of silence as the manifestation of God? This is the tragedy of the modern world: man separates himself from God because he no longer believes in the value of silence. 142 Without silence, God disappears in the noise. And this noise becomes all the more obsessive because God is absent. Unless the world rediscovers silence, it is lost. The earth then rushes into nothingness.” pg 80
    I liked the comments of Fr. Longenecker. If one can only realize that many people are speaking of what they do not know and all we are hearing much of the time is noise to fill the gaping hole of ignorance and powerlessness and lack of truth (God), then we can peacefully keep moving on day to day trying to keep the volume turned way down. I have learned that peace is so easily disrupted with too much of the blaring noise of this world today. Trust in the Lord is the only answer. He has a path set before us. Chose death or chose life. But so hard to do.

    Liked by 4 people

    • audiemarie2014 says:

      Kris, I really enjoyed your comment. I, too, am reading Cardinal Sarah’s book. We are blessed to have his wisdom. Yesterday, I read a bit (like you, I read a small portion and then meditate on what I’ve read) and then awhile later read some news articles. There was a stark contrast to how my spirit felt after the very two different sources of what I fed my mind, which also affected my “heart”. On another note, we are finally getting rid of our TV satellite service. The men in the family enjoy sports, especially football, but are tired of the politics that are pushed and there really isn’t much on anymore. Might be a quiet winter in this house. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      • Kris says:

        Amen to that. I visit my families homes and am bombarded with noise from the tv all the time. Sad I even see this in the act of going to Adoration. Some of my family who cannot stand silence will spend all the time in adoration reading a prayer book or saying repetative prayers. Never just a silence in the presence of God. I find that the more I sink myself into this grand silence I also have more control over what comes out of my mouth. St. James called our tongues a rudder of the ship. It can set the world on fire. The connection between silence in Gods presence and the ability to curb the force of talking all the time, many times with no real purpose, is powerful.

        Liked by 4 people

    • Annie W. says:

      Kris, I love the line “Catholics no longer know that silence is sacred because it is God’s dwelling place.” I have a little framed card in front of me on the desk, a quote from St. Elizabeth of the Trinity. “There in the depths of my heart, in the Heaven of my soul, I love to find Him, since He never leaves me.”

      Yes, Catholics have forgotten silence and it breaks my heart. I’m so sad at church that I can’t even go early to say my Rosary because people sit talking as though they’re waiting for a movie to start. We can only try to set an example, but will it work? I do get discouraged. Well, the Lord knows my heart; we just offer it up as the good nuns taught us eons ago! 🙂

      Liked by 3 people

  17. Anne says:

    Kris…. Thank you….. Some gems please. Books are so expensive here….. I really appreciate this.

    Liked by 2 people

  18. Anne says:

    Thank you Beckita. Just read….. Wonderful.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

